Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection. XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10 mm thick with a 2 mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented Perfect Fold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions
 | 
64 Answers
Overall rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Can Pergo be used on stairs?

Asked by
KayJay
Nebraska
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 22, 2015
We have nasty carpet on our entry stairs and would love something that can withstand some higher traffic and is easier to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
December 23, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors can be installed on stairs. For installation instructions, you can watch our YouTube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-gNAesm9Jw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Pattern repeat

Asked by
Jschole
St Petersburg
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 10, 2015
How many patterns are there in the Alexandria walnut. We are doing bedrooms that are medium size and want to avoid getting repeat patterns too close together
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
YardGal
Janesville, WI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 10, 2016
I'd say there are at least 4 different patterns, but they are still fairly similar so it's just a matter of analyzing the pieces as you are putting them down. I think even if you should get 2 exact pieces next to each other, because the boards are staggered it still won't be a big problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 14, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Laminate flooring is made from a giant photo pressed onto a core board. That core board is then cut into roughly 15 planks. So in any particular decor there should be roughly 15 different designs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

concerned over connections between pieces

Asked by
drjk
new jersey
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 23, 2015
just had 800sq feet installed of Alexandria walnut XP and noticed that not all pieces snapped together evenly and could cause a problem later on with chipping or bubbling at connection...am I being to critical or is this something to worry about ?...was a real hassle to move things around and expensive to install...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Frustrated
December 22, 2015
Not too critical at all. Take it back and ask for new flooring from a different run. Give them the production date/time stamp on the box. Don't except anything from that run. Had same exact problem with likely the same run of floor from the manufacturer right before Thanksgiving. We had hired Home Depot's installations services and installer said it was defective flooring. We had a lot of run around to get it resolved, but flooring installed today at least doesn't have near as many of those faulty edges as we had originally dealt with around Thanksgiving. Report it so they know it's a problem with the run. It's a quality control problem with the beveled edge style of Pergo.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
November 30, 2015
I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing trouble with your floor. If the joints are not locked together properly, it can cause problems down the road. I would suggest you contact your store and ask to file a warranty claim.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Alexandra walnut come in greater than 5 inches

Asked by
Brenda
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 11, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Alexandria Walnut comes in only one width at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

pergo flooring

Asked by
oldsalt
Boynton Beach Fl.
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 5, 2015
how much do I need to cover 1,000 feet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. There are 13.1 square feet in each carton. We would recommend you purchase at least 77 cartons to cover 1000 square feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 8, 2015
You will need 84 cases to cover 1000 sq. foot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Finish Staris

Asked by
Trish
San Francisco
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 25, 2015
With what do we finish stairs (stairnose)?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
August 26, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors can be installed on stairs. You will need a stair nose molding. For installation instructions, you can watch our YouTube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-gNAesm9Jw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

packing

Asked by
Jing
California
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 27, 2015
how many pieces in each box? I have a small closet to finish, need 14 pieces. Can I buy individual piece?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
July 29, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. There are 8 pieces in each carton of Alexandria Walnut. We do not sell individual planks of flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this tongue and groove or click?

Asked by
bean
california
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
July 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. This floor uses tongue and grooves to click together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can 10MM XP Alexandria be laid directly over ceramic tile-or do we need to use leveler to smooth the groutlines?

Asked by
BobL
Weymouth
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 11, 2015
Tile is combination 1 inch by 1 inch, 2 by 2 and 1 by 1.5....
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
June 15, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. You can install Pergo directly over Ceramic Tile. We would recommend that a vapor barrier be used between the tile and the laminate if there is a concrete subfloor beneath the tile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
April 16, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can install laminate over tile without removing the tile. A moisture barrier should be used between the tile and the laminate if there is a concrete subfloor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Alexandria Walnut non glossy? I am not looking for a shiny floor as it shows too much.

Asked by
Rose
Florida
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bubba
vassar Michigan
September 8, 2015
It's glossy but not as much as my pe go gun stock oak
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
March 23, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Alexandria Walnut is a textured floor, it is not a high gloss floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where was this pruduct made?

Asked by
nate
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 2, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors are manufactured in Garner, NC. All Pergo engineered hardwood and laminate flooring products meet CARB Phase 2 standards for Formaldehyde emissions. We check regularly to ensure all products remain compliant with the CARB Phase 2 requirements.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Did the flooring interlock as advertised or was any glue or nails needed to assist in the installation?

Asked by
BruisedThumb
Worcester, Ma
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kbcoch
Rome, Georgia
March 12, 2015
It snapped together quite well. A minimum of tapping.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
February 19, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Pergo floors are created to fold and lock into place. We do not recommend gluing the joints or using nails.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this stand up to moisture?

Asked by
Boisetrader54
Boise, ID
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 17, 2015
I'd like to put it in our kitchen.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bart
Arizona, USA
February 17, 2015
I have had it in my kitchen for 1 year without any damage from water from the sink or dishwasher. I do wipe up any spills but it seems to do well. Just a sliight warning though, the quality controll is really bad. I had a minimum of 4 boxes that had lamination defects in the boards. Inspect each board carefully. Nothing worse than having to take up flooring you just laid down. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sound insulation/barrier

Asked by
Zipadelli
Pa
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 10, 2015
I'm installing the Pergo XP in a bedroom on the second floor. Could I use something for sound insulation like roofing paper over the subfloor before installing the laminate or is there something else out there I could use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 11, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo DOES NOT recommend that you add extra padding to your laminate floors with padding already attached. This would void the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do i still need a vapor barrier on concrete if i have radiate in-floor heating

Asked by
beaver
fargo nd
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kurt
Oshkosh
January 22, 2015
Since Pergo XP has an attached pad you'll need nothing if you're installing on a wood sub-floor...ask your HD associate...if you're installing on concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Orange,Calfornia
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 1, 2014
Any concrete subfloor/slab where a laminate floating floor system requires a vapor barrier for it.

With that said, even with a radiant heat underfloor system, I'd recommend to choose an underlayment that has a built-in vapor barrier included,

However, since your laminate floor has an existing pre-attached underlayment, you can just opt for a 4 mil vapor barrier plastic sheeting.

As long as the thermostat and radiant floor system was installed correctly, placing a vapor barrier down shouldn't be an issue.

Joseph
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be installed over very short pile carpet ?

Asked by
monkey156
roseto pa
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bart
Arizona, USA
February 17, 2015
I would'nt do it. Itappears that the joints and the material will not withstand that type of verical movement. Best if there is little or no flex in the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 2, 2014
No, NEVER install laminate or any floor for that matter over any carpet.

The carpet and padding plus the glue will be removed. While I realize this is time-consuming, it will give your laminate a firm base.

It also won't void any warranty you'll have with it.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The sample I picked up has the underlayment attached. Will it be the same when I purchase it by the pallet?

Asked by
marchgirl
Cedar Park, TX
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 15, 2014
Yes, the underlayment is included on the pallet cartons as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to get a sample.

Asked by
Kaybella
Snohomish, WA
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 10, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can order a sample here:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pergo-XP-Alexandria-Walnut-Laminate-Flooring-5-in-x-7-in-Take-Home-Sample-PE-882878/203190394
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The recommended quarter round for the per go XP alexandria walnut flooring does not appear to match the flooring

Asked by
andre
memphis
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 30, 2014
I have chosen the Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut laminated flooring and would like the model number of the matching quarter round and T section only.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kbcoch
Rome, Georgia
March 12, 2015
Generally, I avoid the over priced moldings like the plague. You can buy oak and finish it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. I have included a photo here showing the matching quarter round next to a plank of Alexandria Walnut.

The matching Quarter Round number is 31149 and the matching 4in1 transition is 36068.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Wear rating is AC-4 is this good for high trafic areas?

Asked by
logger
Idaho
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
New Orleans, La.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
This flooring is actually warranted for commercial use, the floor is very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 15, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. The AC4 rating is the highest, non-commercial grade, flooring we offer. It is very well suited for high traffic areas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »