Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection.XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10 mm thick with a 2 mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions
 | 
37 Answers
Overall rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Can this be installed over very short pile carpet ?

Asked by
monkey156
roseto pa
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 2, 2014
No, NEVER install laminate or any floor for that matter over any carpet.

The carpet and padding plus the glue will be removed. While I realize this is time-consuming, it will give your laminate a firm base.

It also won't void any warranty you'll have with it.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The sample I picked up has the underlayment attached. Will it be the same when I purchase it by the pallet?

Asked by
marchgirl
Cedar Park, TX
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 15, 2014
Yes, the underlayment is included on the pallet cartons as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to get a sample.

Asked by
Kaybella
Snohomish, WA
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 10, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can order a sample here:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pergo-XP-Alexandria-Walnut-Laminate-Flooring-5-in-x-7-in-Take-Home-Sample-PE-882878/203190394
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The recommended quarter round for the per go XP alexandria walnut flooring does not appear to match the flooring

Asked by
andre
memphis
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 30, 2014
I have chosen the Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut laminated flooring and would like the model number of the matching quarter round and T section only.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. I have included a photo here showing the matching quarter round next to a plank of Alexandria Walnut.

The matching Quarter Round number is 31149 and the matching 4in1 transition is 36068.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wear rating is AC-4 is this good for high trafic areas?

Asked by
logger
Idaho
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 15, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. The AC4 rating is the highest, non-commercial grade, flooring we offer. It is very well suited for high traffic areas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rick
New Orleans, La.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
This flooring is actually warranted for commercial use, the floor is very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the carb rating of pergo?

Asked by
alangski
washington
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
October 8, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. This floor is CARB 2 compliant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is weight of a carton

Asked by
bob299
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 19, 2013
They are approximately 24.35 lbs. per carton.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
candyt71
Sun Prairie, WI
March 16, 2014
I would guess 40-50 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a baby grand piano. Can Pergo XP withstand the weight of the piano?

Asked by
Pianogirl
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AskMrJay
February 7, 2013
Hey there Pianogirl,

The Pergo XP flooring is rated for 1200 pounds per sq. in. Not knowing just how heavy your piano is, it's tough to say if that will work. Most home pianos will work just fine and be well under that limitation however.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
February 21, 2013
There are specific weight distributons that are required to have a Baby grand Piano

Pergo XP flooring is very durable against most common damages.
There are many variable to consider, such as total weight and wheel dimensions to accurately answer your question.
For such heavy application, the minimum protection would be to use large floor protectors to distribute the weight off more than just the wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BALLYPINBALL
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
February 8, 2013
I do not have a baby grand,however the surface of the Pergo XP in harder than most any,if not all conventional hardwood flooring.I would think that the subfloor would be more of a factor than anything. On a concrete slab yes,over a conventional floor that would be a factor. Pianos are not often moved and can sit on pads. Dispusing thier great weight and lessening the chance of dimpling the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live in a beach resort area.We have sand and high traffic areas will this floor show scatches or wear after time. Also is it moisture resistant?

Asked by
Beach miss
South New Jersey
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BOBDIYER2013
Ohio, USA
February 12, 2013
I TOOK SOME SCRAP ENDS OF PERGO XP AND TRIED SCRAPING IT AND WAS IMPRESSED WITH WHAT IT TOOK TO DAMAGE IT. I WOULD RECOMEND GETTING A FREE SAMPLE AT H.D AND TRYING THE SAME THING.TO SEE THE DURABILITY. YES IT WILL HOLD UP TO DAMP CONDITIONS WELL.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 16, 2012
Yes sand will cause scratching. There is not a flooring made that "will not" show scratches or wear in a beach resort area.
Pergo flooring is warranted to resist water if the topical water is removed with 30 minutes and all MFG install guidelines are followed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I need a threshold for Pergo XP Asheville Hickory.

Asked by
bg
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
August 2, 2012
4N1 transition for Ashville Hickory is model 36371.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rrunnr73
November 13, 2012
Threshold in same area where you purchased the flooring. Four in one kit from pergo.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would the addition of a separate laminate floor pad underneath this product cause it to flex too much and damage the edge locking?

Asked by
reg_psu
Pennsylvania
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rick
New Orleans, La.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
The only subflooring needed is a vapor barrier. Additional padding will cause the flooring to flex and sound hollow.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
July 18, 2012
Yes, additional padding can cause joint damage.
The only additional underlayment approved is a moisture barrier, and this is only used if installing over concrete subfloor.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there anything I can do to protect the floor from the weight of a treadmill or is a laminate floor just not a good idea under a treadmill?

Asked by
CAUTIOUS
MYRTLE bEACH, SC
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 15, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
June 16, 2012
The product will hold up to the weight.
Most damage will come from debris or the movement, that can than cause scratches; we recommend using some type of rug or/or mat to protect the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a threshold that we can purchase? We need a hard surface reducer.

Asked by
Buddy
Los Angeles
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
June 6, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. I have included a model for you to view. I hope this is helpful. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
 
Products related to my answer
Old World Dark Oak 78-3/4 in. Length Four-in-One Molding Kit
3 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
June 13, 2012
The coordinating 4N1 will make up a hard surface reducer. The MFG model number is MG000301.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If I were to get the Alexandria flooring and water was not picked up right away would there be an expansion / bubbing of the floor?

Asked by
Lynn
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 3, 2012
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
May 4, 2012
Hello Lynn and thank you for your question.

The care and cleaning instructions for the Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut Laminate Flooring state that you should not allow liquids to stand on the floor and that spills must be immediately wiped up. Moisture should not be allowed to the on the floor for longer than 30 minutes.

Best wishes with your project.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
May 10, 2012
There is a chance of bubbling or expansion with any hard surface flooring product.
Laminate MFG warrant against stain, fade and wear through to core.
Water must be removed within 30 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have dogs that stay in the house while we work during the day. How does this hold up against a prolonged exposure to dog urine?

Asked by
NKYguy
Alexandria, KY
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 31, 2011
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 2, 2012
There are no floors that are indestructible to pet use. Walk off mats and grooming of the dogs nails are suggested. Pergo floors have a very durable protectant; however pet urine is not covered by the stain, fade, and wear thru warranty.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
armyrn
Ponchatoula, LA, USA
February 25, 2014
It will not hold up under any prolonged water exposure.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how do i get a scratch repair kit for alexandria walnut laminate

Asked by
ack1
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 16, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
December 19, 2011
456900 is the Putty finishing kit model number that is available at most Home Depot retail stores or on line.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

with Pergo XP, do I use roofing felt, or nothing over 1x6 tongue n groove and 3/4" t&g subfloor (different, but connected rooms)

Asked by
Greg
New Mexico
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 11, 2011
there is also an adjoining 8x8 hallway of 1x6 t&g that is about half covered in levelling compound 1/4" thick. Thank You
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
December 12, 2011
Pergo XP comes with an attached underlayment, no other underlayment is required over wood subfloors. Subfloor must be within 3/16" tolerance over 10" area.

If the leveling compound is concrete bases, a moisture barrier would be required. Insure you follow the instuctions and guidelines for the leveling compound regarding cure time and if Laminate is okay to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SteelToes
Chicago IL
December 12, 2011
Hi there and thank you for your question.

Greg above selected product Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10mm Thick already has an underlayment attached to it.Should you use felt or not really depends on your geographical location and structure of your home.We would need to know a little bit more about your home in order to give you a real and sensible answer in regards to vapor barrier (felt) installation. I would recommend visiting our How-To-Community (www.community.homedepot.com) and posting this question. I'm positive that one of our in house experts will post back to you shortly.

Hope this helps.

George How-to-Community.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What color stain should I use on oak moulding to match the Alexandria Walnut.

Asked by
Greg
New Mexico
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 11, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
December 12, 2011
Stains vary depending on the actual molding purchases. We offer a "coordinating" line of molding designed to complement your floor:
94" Quarter Round: Model #31149
78.5" 4 n 1 (Carpet Reducer, T molding, End Molding, Hard Surface Reducer): model #36068
94" Wallbase: Model 30349
78.5" Stairnosing: Model # 35068
Sealant: Model 46405 or 45406
Putty: Model 456900
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
My3sons
Taylor, PA, USA
February 22, 2012
Colonial Maple is a great match to this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What extra installation steps are required where water is a concern? Is a kitchen considered an area of concern?

Asked by
Shirley
Illinois
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 9, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ricepilof
NH
May 22, 2012
I wouldn't put this in a bathroom. I just installed this in our kitchen. If any water splashes on the floor, just be sure to wipe it up as soon as possible.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 11, 2011
Kitchen, bathrooms, laundry room and exterior doors are all considered water areas.
If the subfloor is concrete, a 6 mil vapor barrier is required.

No matter what the subfloor is:
The perimeter expansion area must be filled with 100% silicone sealant. Minimum is 36" in any direction from any water source. Bathrooms requires full perimeter silicone protectant. Kitchen can benefit from full perimeter sealant, in case water travels past the 36" protection requirement.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how does this stand up to water spills?

Asked by
john
california
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 5, 2011
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dianapipana
Mount Dora, FL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 10, 2014
We have puppies and there have been many accidents along the way... Everything wipes up nicely even if we don't catch it right away. Hopes that helps... We couldn't be happier with Pergo XP!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 6, 2011
Pergo Flooring warranty covers resist water damage if promptly removed within 30 minutes. It also cover stain, fade, and wear for the life of the product for the original owner. As with all laminates, the product is not water "proof", Extra installation step are required for installing in bathrooms or other areas, where water may be a concern.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
armyrn
Ponchatoula, LA, USA
February 25, 2014
It will not stand up to water spills.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »