Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection.XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10 mm thick with a 2 mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions
 | 
50 Answers
Overall rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Can 10MM XP Alexandria be laid directly over ceramic tile-or do we need to use leveler to smooth the groutlines?

Asked by
BobL
Weymouth
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 11, 2015
Tile is combination 1 inch by 1 inch, 2 by 2 and 1 by 1.5....
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
April 16, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can install laminate over tile without removing the tile. A moisture barrier should be used between the tile and the laminate if there is a concrete subfloor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Alexandria Walnut non glossy? I am not looking for a shiny floor as it shows too much.

Asked by
Rose
Florida
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 23, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Alexandria Walnut is a textured floor, it is not a high gloss floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

where was this pruduct made?

Asked by
nate
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 2, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors are manufactured in Garner, NC. All Pergo engineered hardwood and laminate flooring products meet CARB Phase 2 standards for Formaldehyde emissions. We check regularly to ensure all products remain compliant with the CARB Phase 2 requirements.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Did the flooring interlock as advertised or was any glue or nails needed to assist in the installation?

Asked by
BruisedThumb
Worcester, Ma
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 19, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Pergo floors are created to fold and lock into place. We do not recommend gluing the joints or using nails.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kbcoch
Rome, Georgia
March 12, 2015
It snapped together quite well. A minimum of tapping.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this stand up to moisture?

Asked by
Boisetrader54
Boise, ID
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 17, 2015
I'd like to put it in our kitchen.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bart
Arizona, USA
February 17, 2015
I have had it in my kitchen for 1 year without any damage from water from the sink or dishwasher. I do wipe up any spills but it seems to do well. Just a sliight warning though, the quality controll is really bad. I had a minimum of 4 boxes that had lamination defects in the boards. Inspect each board carefully. Nothing worse than having to take up flooring you just laid down. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sound insulation/barrier

Asked by
Zipadelli
Pa
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 10, 2015
I'm installing the Pergo XP in a bedroom on the second floor. Could I use something for sound insulation like roofing paper over the subfloor before installing the laminate or is there something else out there I could use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 11, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo DOES NOT recommend that you add extra padding to your laminate floors with padding already attached. This would void the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do i still need a vapor barrier on concrete if i have radiate in-floor heating

Asked by
beaver
fargo nd
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Orange,Calfornia
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 1, 2014
Any concrete subfloor/slab where a laminate floating floor system requires a vapor barrier for it.

With that said, even with a radiant heat underfloor system, I'd recommend to choose an underlayment that has a built-in vapor barrier included,

However, since your laminate floor has an existing pre-attached underlayment, you can just opt for a 4 mil vapor barrier plastic sheeting.

As long as the thermostat and radiant floor system was installed correctly, placing a vapor barrier down shouldn't be an issue.

Joseph
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kurt
Oshkosh
January 22, 2015
Since Pergo XP has an attached pad you'll need nothing if you're installing on a wood sub-floor...ask your HD associate...if you're installing on concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be installed over very short pile carpet ?

Asked by
monkey156
roseto pa
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 2, 2014
No, NEVER install laminate or any floor for that matter over any carpet.

The carpet and padding plus the glue will be removed. While I realize this is time-consuming, it will give your laminate a firm base.

It also won't void any warranty you'll have with it.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bart
Arizona, USA
February 17, 2015
I would'nt do it. Itappears that the joints and the material will not withstand that type of verical movement. Best if there is little or no flex in the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The sample I picked up has the underlayment attached. Will it be the same when I purchase it by the pallet?

Asked by
marchgirl
Cedar Park, TX
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 15, 2014
Yes, the underlayment is included on the pallet cartons as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to get a sample.

Asked by
Kaybella
Snohomish, WA
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 10, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can order a sample here:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pergo-XP-Alexandria-Walnut-Laminate-Flooring-5-in-x-7-in-Take-Home-Sample-PE-882878/203190394
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The recommended quarter round for the per go XP alexandria walnut flooring does not appear to match the flooring

Asked by
andre
memphis
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 30, 2014
I have chosen the Pergo XP Alexandria Walnut laminated flooring and would like the model number of the matching quarter round and T section only.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 31, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. I have included a photo here showing the matching quarter round next to a plank of Alexandria Walnut.

The matching Quarter Round number is 31149 and the matching 4in1 transition is 36068.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kbcoch
Rome, Georgia
March 12, 2015
Generally, I avoid the over priced moldings like the plague. You can buy oak and finish it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wear rating is AC-4 is this good for high trafic areas?

Asked by
logger
Idaho
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 15, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. The AC4 rating is the highest, non-commercial grade, flooring we offer. It is very well suited for high traffic areas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rick
New Orleans, La.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
This flooring is actually warranted for commercial use, the floor is very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the carb rating of pergo?

Asked by
alangski
washington
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
October 8, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. This floor is CARB 2 compliant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is weight of a carton

Asked by
bob299
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 19, 2013
They are approximately 24.35 lbs. per carton.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
candyt71
Sun Prairie, WI
March 16, 2014
I would guess 40-50 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a baby grand piano. Can Pergo XP withstand the weight of the piano?

Asked by
Pianogirl
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 21, 2013
There are specific weight distributons that are required to have a Baby grand Piano

Pergo XP flooring is very durable against most common damages.
There are many variable to consider, such as total weight and wheel dimensions to accurately answer your question.
For such heavy application, the minimum protection would be to use large floor protectors to distribute the weight off more than just the wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AskMrJay
February 7, 2013
Hey there Pianogirl,

The Pergo XP flooring is rated for 1200 pounds per sq. in. Not knowing just how heavy your piano is, it's tough to say if that will work. Most home pianos will work just fine and be well under that limitation however.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BALLYPINBALL
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
February 8, 2013
I do not have a baby grand,however the surface of the Pergo XP in harder than most any,if not all conventional hardwood flooring.I would think that the subfloor would be more of a factor than anything. On a concrete slab yes,over a conventional floor that would be a factor. Pianos are not often moved and can sit on pads. Dispusing thier great weight and lessening the chance of dimpling the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live in a beach resort area.We have sand and high traffic areas will this floor show scatches or wear after time. Also is it moisture resistant?

Asked by
Beach miss
South New Jersey
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BOBDIYER2013
Ohio, USA
February 12, 2013
I TOOK SOME SCRAP ENDS OF PERGO XP AND TRIED SCRAPING IT AND WAS IMPRESSED WITH WHAT IT TOOK TO DAMAGE IT. I WOULD RECOMEND GETTING A FREE SAMPLE AT H.D AND TRYING THE SAME THING.TO SEE THE DURABILITY. YES IT WILL HOLD UP TO DAMP CONDITIONS WELL.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 16, 2012
Yes sand will cause scratching. There is not a flooring made that "will not" show scratches or wear in a beach resort area.
Pergo flooring is warranted to resist water if the topical water is removed with 30 minutes and all MFG install guidelines are followed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I need a threshold for Pergo XP Asheville Hickory.

Asked by
bg
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rrunnr73
November 13, 2012
Threshold in same area where you purchased the flooring. Four in one kit from pergo.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
August 2, 2012
4N1 transition for Ashville Hickory is model 36371.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would the addition of a separate laminate floor pad underneath this product cause it to flex too much and damage the edge locking?

Asked by
reg_psu
Pennsylvania
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
July 18, 2012
Yes, additional padding can cause joint damage.
The only additional underlayment approved is a moisture barrier, and this is only used if installing over concrete subfloor.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rick
New Orleans, La.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 24, 2014
The only subflooring needed is a vapor barrier. Additional padding will cause the flooring to flex and sound hollow.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there anything I can do to protect the floor from the weight of a treadmill or is a laminate floor just not a good idea under a treadmill?

Asked by
CAUTIOUS
MYRTLE bEACH, SC
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 15, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bart
Arizona, USA
February 17, 2015
There are rubber mats you can use to prevent the treadmill from moving or you can use a sheet of underlayment plywood or particle board.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
June 16, 2012
The product will hold up to the weight.
Most damage will come from debris or the movement, that can than cause scratches; we recommend using some type of rug or/or mat to protect the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a threshold that we can purchase? We need a hard surface reducer.

Asked by
Buddy
Los Angeles
about XP Alexandria Walnut 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
June 6, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. I have included a model for you to view. I hope this is helpful. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
 
Products related to my answer
Old World Dark Oak 78-3/4 in. Length Four-in-One Molding Kit
3 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
June 13, 2012
The coordinating 4N1 will make up a hard surface reducer. The MFG model number is MG000301.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »