Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Highland Hickory offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection. XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10mm thick with a 2mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions
 | 
196 Answers
Overall rating:
4.604 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

Support a 4.5' x 9.0' Billiards Table

Asked by
Dave
Westminster, MD
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 3, 2013
I am considering this Pergo XP flooring. Our application is over a concrete floor in a dry basement. Can it support a billiards table? The table has 4 support feet that are each about 4" wide. If so, is there a specific installation approach we need to consider?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
December 5, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Pergo floors can withstand a static load of approximately 870 pounds per square inch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
It should support it - I have two heavy sofas and they are fine. I would recommend you buy felt adhesive to place under the 4 support feet to protect the floor. This will also allow you to move the table if necessary without scratching the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a Dyson DC 44 slim safe to use on my highland hickory Xp floor? And i also have a Dyson DC 41 animal is it safe?

Asked by
Bobbie
Fisher west virginia
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
February 25, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. It is safe to use vacuum cleaners on hard floor settings (without beater bar).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
I have a Dyson DC 26 - and just turn off the beater bar when I vacuum - works perfectly.

Saying that, I seriously doubt the beater bar would do any damage. I have an English Pointer, and his toe nails haven't done any damage
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a certin way you install pergo on stairs

Asked by
Jackson
USA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
April 14, 2013
Yes, the laminate floor is glued to the tread and riser, then a over mount stair nosing is installed to cover the edges. It is best to have the stair nosing on site before installing the planks to insure proper placement of planks.

Please review install instructions at pergo.com/installation tab/install essentials "blue" link before starting the project.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hockeyfan
December 5, 2013
Home Depot told us it couldn't be installed on stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a coordinating wall base for Pergo Highland Hickory? If not what is the closest match?

Asked by
CC
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 27, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 29, 2013
Model 303334 is the coordinating Wallbase for Highland Hickory
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
January 29, 2013
I do not know of any coordinating wall base. There are transition pieces for the edges (carpet/tile/sliding doors) at Home Depot, branded as Pergo, in Highland Hickory. I suggest you take a sample (available free at Home Depot, or a scrap piece if you have already purchased) and see if there is a prefinished wall base that would be suitable. If not, the paint department can sell a stain for use on unfinished wood. There are stains such as Cabot that are tint-able to match nearly every color. I used white for my Highland Hickory as it matches all of the baseboards in my home. It looks great!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use professional laminate floor cleaners on XP Highland Hickory flooring?

Asked by
URGENTCARE
GA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 23, 2014
I just had my laminate flooring replaced due to water damage and selected this flooring. I want to know if it is safe to use cleaners/polish designated for laminate flooring (like Bona)?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Juliep
Sequim, washington
September 24, 2014
I use Bruce wood floor cleaner on my HighlandHickory laminate. It works well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
September 25, 2014
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Here are the cleaning instructions for your floor. To clean, an occasional damp (not wet) mop, quick sweeping or light vacuuming with the hard floor attachments are usually all it takes. When damp mopping, an Ideal solution is a combination of 1 gallon of water with 1 cup vinegar or ½ cup of ammonia. Be sure to squeeze the water out of the mop thoroughly before mopping, and rinse the mop frequently. A spray bottle with the same water and vinegar/ammonia solution mentioned above is a great way to spot clean between moppings.
Pergo floors must never be waxed, polished, sanded or refinished and never use a steam, wet or jet mop when cleaning. Do not use soaps, detergents, or cleaners with wax because they may leave a film, dulling the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What length do you make cuts so the Pergo pieces are offset properly.

Asked by
Flipper
Willard Utah
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 30, 2014
None of the videos explain this fully. One said to cut the piece 8 inches. Another said 32 inches. No video or presentation shows how to offset each row. I am confused.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 15, 2014
We recommend a minimum 12" offset on the planks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 30, 2014
It depends on the size of the room you want the Pergo to be covered that will determine how offset they will be.

You can choose from varying lengths, but start with your first row, and at the 2nd row, if done properly, you can gauge how much is needed to give it that staggered effect.

Joseph
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product a special order laminate included in the $397 installation promotion that is currently running until january 2014 for Lady Lake Fl?

Asked by
Beth
summerfield fl
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many specialty department professionals at your local Home Depot store. For any other questions, please visit your nearest local Home Depot store or call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cavs
Pennsylvania
January 14, 2014
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chikadie
Honesdale, PA
January 24, 2014
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what molding do I use with highland hickory

Asked by
ninasf
downey
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 28, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 29, 2011
Highland Hickory coordinating moldings:
94" Quarter Round: Model 311334
78.5" 4 n 1 (Carpet Reducer, T molding, End Molding, Hard Surface Reducer kit): model 36412
94" Wallbase: Model 303334
78.5" Stairnosing: Model # 35412
Sealant: Model 46407
Putty: Model 45639
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
highland hickory does offer coordinating quarter round and transitional pieces some home depots have them instock and available for order this is a great time to update your base molding with a larger profile which is in style
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You can use the mold that go with the highland hickory round I use regular white molding beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can highland hickory be used in the bathroom

Asked by
dave
san diego,ca
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 30, 2011
Yes, Pergo laminate is an option for any room.

Please note: Bathroom installs require more details when installing and upkeep.
Water warranty states water must be removed within 30 minutes.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
no!!!!! bathrooms have way to much mouisture allure ultra is recommended for wood lookks and is waterproof and lifetime residential warranty and 10 year commercial hope this was helpful ;)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You use it in any room but in the bathroom or kitchen I would use the highest vapor barrier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When will it be available on line. There is not enough available at stores near us.

Asked by
BNCH6
LaGrange Ohio
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 13, 2012
Product is selling above expectations, therefore unable to provide date for online stock status.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
it is currently available online
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You could have the store where you go call other stores and see if they have any in there store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install radiant heating under this flooring? (Pergo XP Model # LF000317)

Asked by
tjlang
Pine Bluffs Wyoming
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 29, 2012
Yes, Pergo Flooring can be installed over radiant heat.

However, there are specific guidelines that must be followed.

Please review "Install essentials" link at pergo.com before installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kboy1953
San Diego
February 28, 2012
Yes you can, but it's not cheap though. The wifes room was 187 sq. ft and it would have cost 1500.00 for the materials for the heating materials. I will bite the bullet and install it downstairs with my next floor in the living room but like I said it's not going to be cheap. Great luxury though!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this sealed laminate, can I use my Floormate to clean this?

Asked by
Diana
AZ
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 10, 2012
The surface of the product is sealed. However, steam mop and floor cleaning machines can force steam and moisture into the jointing system causing damage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
i would recommend contacting the vendor,i usually recommend a flat microfiber mop and a good laminate cleaner bruce laminate cleaner,henrys floor cleaner works on multiple surface and bona laminate is multi surface just a mist is enough for a 4'x4' area over saturation is not good for wood or laminate most of those steam cleaners are okay but again every manufacture is different and a simple phone call will save you time
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I use my shark steam cleaner
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a stair nose for this flooring for highland hickory.

Asked by
Tina
Roanoke, VA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 1, 2012
I have a friend who laid this flooring and she had a stair nose. She is unsure of the ordering information. I found Millstead Hickory Dusk that is similar in color and am Not sure if I can use the stair nose with Pergo XP.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
June 8, 2012
Hello Tina and thank you for your question.

The team at Pergo told me that you should use the SimpleSolutions 78-3/4 in. x 2-3/8 in. x 3/4 in. Stair Nose Molding (Model # 35412 - Internet # 100661613 - is also Store Special Order SKU # 241919) to coordinate with your Pergo XP Highland Hickory Laminate Flooring.

Best wishes on your project.
 
Products related to my answer
Highland Hickory 3/4 in. Thick x 2-3/8 in. Wide x 78-3/4 in. Length Laminate Stair Nose Molding
4.5 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
June 13, 2012
Yes, You can use any piece of stairnoising. However, Pergo offers a coordinating stairnosing, the MFG model number is 35412.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
pergo use to offer a 5 in 1 product but i dont see it available but!! i did find a stairnose that is pretty similar if not almost exact to this color keep in mind dye lot color model#35412,internet#100661613 sku#241-919 or just look up simple solutions stair nose home depot does allow you to order some items that arent custom made and can be returned at a 15%re-stocking fee so maybe order one and see if you are happy with the match hope that helps good luck ;)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product being discontinued in the foreseeable future?

Asked by
Aaron
Troy, Ohio
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 27, 2013
I noticed that this flooring is "out of stock online". I am able to find enough at the stores around me but I want to ensure that the out of stock online status is not because it is planned to be discontinued at some point. Hopefully it's just such a popular flooring that they can't keep it stocked.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 28, 2013
There is no way to determine the life expectancy/or popularity of a design.
However, since this product is sold in stores, Pergo will keep the stores in stock before making it available to the on line assortment.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chris
March 25, 2013
Home Depot's online inventory is flawed and never accurate. Their in-store inventory is not much better. You would be better off doing a special order.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
It's very popular
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is emition of the formaldehyde?

Asked by
Lidia
Peekskill, NY
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2012
could you please provide the safety sheet on the product
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 16, 2012
Full MSDS is available though manufacture customer service.

"Reconginized by OSHA that 0.75 ppm TWA should not present a significant risk to users"
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
in the process of m aking the floor sometimes products admit voc into the air volatile organic compound which is sometimes that new smell for some people this can be strong people with asthma, there are legal regulations from state to state on how high that level can be and vendors are sometimes required to list so you as the consumer are aware some products are green certified to be low voc home depot does offer carpet and carpet padding in low voc and i belive some wood flooring and laminate are certified as well as low voc it will have a green label called cri green label plus which means the floor has been put thru a checklist to be certified green and low voc,if al ready installed to improve air quality in the house keep your central air filters clean and change accordingly you can also add air purifiers for better indoor quality
 
Products related to my answer
True HEPA Air Purifier
4.2 out of 5(97)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Speckledtrout
Raleigh, NC, USA
July 8, 2014
This information is available at manufacturers web site.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install Pergo Xp over tile? The floor is now level or do I have to remove the tile?

Asked by
charles
yucca valley ca.
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
April 4, 2013
Yes, you can install over any finished floor, except carpet/pad/tack strips, that need to be removed.
A moisture barrier may be required especially if your subfloor is concrete.

We suggest reviewing with professional installer, or at least read full install directions at pergo.com/installation tab/install essentials link, to insure all site related issues are addressed .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
What I did was put a sub floor down over my tile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 2, 2013
The most important thing is for the floor to be level so you should be fine in that regard and will not have to remove the tile unless it is loose. Be sure to follow directions regarding a vapor barrier if installation is below grade (i.e. in a basement or on a slab).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the highland hickory laminate floor underlayment have an IIC rating?

Asked by
lb
vail
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
April 14, 2013
Yes, the Highland Hickory does have an attached underlayment.
And the ICC rating is 60.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 14, 2013
The IIC (Impact Insulation Class) rating of any floor/flooring material is a function of the floor that it is installed on. Even the floor joists and drywall thickness of the ceiling below affects the sound transmission on an upper level installation and most manufacturers, including Pergo, do not publish IIC ratings for their underlayment attached flooring. Having said that, Highland Hickory does have a 2mm attached underlayment and the product is almost a half inch thick in total. This keeps sound transmission to a minimum. Like all laminates, the sound and feel of the floor is different than a solid or manufactured wood floor but I have found Highland Hickory and all of the Home Depot Pergo XP flooring to be superior in feel and sound to almost every other product that I looked at. The most important thing you can do to minimize noise is to be sure the underlying floor is level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Only up to 51 decibels allowed. Is this product quiet to walk on without cork sub flooring?

Asked by
Ter
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BPhoenix
Phoenix, AZ, USA
August 28, 2013
this floor is very quiet. no "odd" sounds, clicks or echoes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MC68
Richmond, VA, USA
August 27, 2013
I only used the attached underlayment and a moisture barrier and my floor is very quiet. My old floor you could tell it was a laminate, but this floor feels and sounds like real wood to me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
August 17, 2013
With the attached foam backing, this flooring is extremely quiet and solid to walk on. I have over 1500 square feet installed on a concrete floor and it is very quiet. Any sound transmission on a wood sub floor will be a function of how solid the sub floor is and also how level it is. If the laminate flexes due to an uneven sub floor there will be noise due to the click lock connection between pieces. You always have the option to add an underlayment beneath the Pergo for additional sound insulation. Having said that, walking on any laminate floor in high heels or wood heels will of course make noise, just as it would on a ceramic tile floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be installed in a basement with cement floor

Asked by
Tyle
Brroklyn, NY
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lori
Manassas, VA, USA
June 13, 2014
The floors I installed on were part of a ad on to my house. The floors were cement that the previous owners (I think superglued) put vinyl tile over. I have han no problems with the floors. Install was easy andquick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
billp
Bracey Va
July 10, 2014
do a moisture test first. tape a 2 ft square to the floor. 24 hours no moisture and yes you can install in a dry basement
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Karen
Massachusetts, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 23, 2014
That's where we installed it. Make sure you use a vapor barrier. I also use a dehumidifier everyday.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this flooring work in a Northen Michigan cottage that is routinely closed up for winter?

Asked by
Dave
Grayling, MI
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 15, 2014
I am thinking of installing this flooring in a cottage in Northern Michigan. We close up the cottage during each winter (i.e. heat, water, etc. are all off) and use the cottage for 3 season use.

Will this flooring be ok during the cold of the winter months?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lynn
Minnesota
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 15, 2014
Hi Dave -

I just installed it here in Minnesota. I can't imagine that there would be issues. I was also recommended to ensure that transition pieces were in walkways and I think that would be helpful for you (to address expansion and contraction issues with weather.)

Lynn
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Randall
Hutchinson, KS
July 16, 2014
We asked a lot of questions from flooring people, the only thing that any/all of them made any reference about was moisture. Clean up spills quickly, don't use in bathrooms or other places where their might be moisture problems. They all said it was fine to use in kitchens just clean up any spills. Didn't think to ask about cold, but I assume it would be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
annie
Baker City, OR 97814, USA
August 24, 2014
Pergo has a recommended minimum temperature (can't remember exactly what it is but I'm thinking 55 degrees# so you'll need to check the installation guidelines. Water and humidity seem to be the biggest factor and ,by floating the floor with a gap between the flooring and wall #hidden by baseboard), this allows the floor to expand and contract with humidity changes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »