Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Highland Hickory offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection. XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10mm thick with a 2mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions
 | 
218 Answers
Overall rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

What about pet accidents?

Asked by
krazykatlover
Indianapolis
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 20, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mi92me
July 24, 2012
We have had many cleanups and have not noticed any problems. :)
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
July 23, 2012
The product is water "resistant" not water "proof", The warranty does not cover damage caused from standing water that remains on the floor longer than 30 minutes. This includes Pet accidents....
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
its okay as long as its cleaned up right away urine is very strong and you dont want it seeping thru the seams ullure ultra might be better until the animal is properly potty trained
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
January 29, 2013
Although water will bead up on the surface, the seams are not water proof and excess moisture will cause the flooring to de-laminate over time. This is true of any laminate except those like Dupont vinyl, which is available at Home Depot, at least here in Aiken, SC and looks very much like wood. It is a highly rated alternative to Pergo.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I had water waste juice and it wipe up very easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Carl
Costa Rica
November 7, 2014
We have 5 dogs and they have had there share of accidents and it cleans up well and still looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a large dog. Does this flooring scratch easily. If so, can scratches be repaired?

Asked by
Sandy
Commack
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 4, 2013
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BPhoenix
Phoenix, AZ, USA
August 28, 2013
this flooring does NOT scratch easily. Our Lab has been prancing around on it all weekend and I don't see a single scratch. Also, while marking for a cut, I couldn't find a pencil, so i reached for a large screw to scratch the cut line into to plank. I had to really push and TRY to scratch it just to make a legible mark. I think it's going to be great for large dogs.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
I have 2 beagles who run and slide across it everyday - no scratching so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joem
northern nj
January 10, 2014
should be ok with dog nails "the reason I purchased it " however tapping into place and hard blows result in easily chipped edges
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
July 7, 2013
Laminate floors hold up to dog scratch's better than most floors, but are not warranted against the scratch's.
If the dog does scratch them, you can fill with a finishing putty. The key to protecting the floor from the dogs is to maintain the dog nails regularly and use walk off mats to keep the debris from getting in the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
wolf
July 15, 2013
Pergo xp should not scratch from a dog, It has a pretty durable finnish
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Hockeyfan
Knoxville, TN
December 5, 2013
It doesn't scratch easily but it is slippery for our dog.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Frank
Sevierville, Tn.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
September 15, 2014
I have 2 Great Pyranees and the sale man at Home Depot ran his pocket knife across a sample at the store which convinced us to give it a try. We at first kept the dogs calm and kept them out of the house longer than normal and noticed no marks. We decided it was sort of silly buying this flooring and be afraid to let our pets in. It has been over a year the dogs are in with their nightly wrestling matches and chasing each other around, not a scratch. Our sons went off to College and were lonely so we went to an animal shelter and got a male Pyranees, who was 153 pounds when we first got him. After seeing how loving this gentle giant was we went back to the shelter and got a female. Smaller at only 93 pounds these 2 entertain us as they wrestle even bumping the sofa or love seat sliding them around and not a mark. The only mark in the almost 2 years in installation was when I dropped one of my guns off the table after I finished wiping it down. These floors are unbelievably tough. Don't hesitate if you have a dog anoint scratches. Our male is tall enough to take something off the kitchen counted flat footed, which we found out shortly after getting the male and seeing him finishing our chicken dinner in front of the TV when we had left the kitchen. So get Pergo XP , then go to your local shelter and adopt your new best friend.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do i need the underlayment under this product

Asked by
vints
evans ga.
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2012
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jonathan
Killeen tx
January 21, 2012
It already has the padded backing so you will not need the padding but it does require the additional plastic moisture barrier if you are laying it on concrete.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
January 16, 2012
No, this Pergo XP products come with an attached underlayment. The only extra underlayment that can be added is a moisture barrier. However, the moisture barrier is only required if installing over concrete subfloors.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
the only other underlayment needed is if you are installing on concrete subfloors it is the 6mil plastic and its located in every home depot this floor already has premium underlayment attached sometimes in high rise condos and regular condos associations require a sound proof underlayment which would be cork underlayment some home depots sell it instock call the manufacture before installing to make sure it wont void any warrantys hope that helped ;)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes especially if in area being use where water.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does dust show on this color highland hickory floor?

Asked by
bir44
New York, New York
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Karen
November 19, 2013
No, it does not seem to show anything. Cleans easily with a swifter.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
Yes, but you can either sweep it with a broom or use a Swiffer for fast cleanup.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
November 18, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Dust is no more likely to show on this floor than on any other type of wood-look floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hockeyfan
December 5, 2013
Yes, which we find to be a good thing because if we see it we can clean it. We frequently go around with the hand vac which is no trouble at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
moonchild
January 10, 2014
not bad due to the texture of the flooring.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Chikadie
Honesdale, PA
January 24, 2014
Dust absolutely shows!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
PickyMe
Garden Grove, CA
November 2, 2014
It depends on the lighting in the room. When I see dust on the floor I sweep it. It amazes me that I always sweep up way more than I see.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Which Pergo XP surface is best for pets +kinds -smooth, textured, handscaped

Asked by
Charles
Wash DC
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 16, 2014
For hiding scratches etc, which surface is most forgiving? Or does't matter?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BT02
Wintersville, Ohio
March 17, 2014
I would suggest the handscraped Pergo would be the best for pets. We have a 100 lb. Rotweiler and a 70 lb black lab and the floor has held up very well so far. It was installed for about 7 months.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
Here's my .02 cents - We put "Highland Hickory" down on the entire first floor of our home (700 sq ft.) - Although my kids are grown, I do have a dog - 45 lbs. The Highland Hickory isn't a slick smooth surface, which is one reason I wanted it - I guess its more of a hand scraped look.

This flooring has made the cleaning super easy - sweep, vacuum, or damp mop with a micro fiber towel. the flooring itself has a 25 year warranty - and so far the durability will exceed the warranty.

Its easy to DIY - although after a few days on my hands and knees I was a bit sore.

My choice for Pergo was also persuaded by the fact that Pergo already had the cushion underlayment - but you still have to use a vapor barrier.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chickster
Philadelphia, PA, USA
March 18, 2014
It doesn't matter, the Pergo is so scratch resistant that it will hold up very well
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bill
Chester WV
March 27, 2014
we have hand scraped highland hickory only been installed for 3 months but so far no dog marks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
My opinion is the rougher the surface to start the less you will see a scratch.
So I would use hand scraped.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Sammi
June 10, 2014
I think the textured or hand scraped is best as it doesn't show rainy paw prints, etc. I have hand scraped with three dogs and they come in from outside directly onto it, I put a little mat in front of the door to prevent sliding (entrance is a doggie door) and I have no problems with looking dirty when they come in and out. The hand scraped hides things well!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is your recommondation on floor vents?

Asked by
Sarah
CO
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 31, 2012
Would I use our metal vents or is there a corresponding vent used with Highland Hickory?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DIYDiva
Loganville, GA 30052, USA
April 13, 2013
I installed metal decorative vents that are a bronze color and they blend in perfectly with the flooring. I think it's a matter of what you find aesthetically pleasing.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Becca
Eagan, MN, USA
September 1, 2012
We used a brownish colored metal floor vent and special order metal wall vent rather than the standard white or off-white. It certainly doesn't stand out as much. As far as I know, Pergo doesn't make a special floor vent.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
September 3, 2012
There is not a coordinating floor vent available to order.
You can use a metal vent or purchase a unfinished wood vent and stain to match.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BethT
December 15, 2012
I used the black metal ones, look great!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
January 29, 2013
Home depot sells unfinished wood vents that can be stained to match the Pergo, or simply paint metal ones in a contrasting or complimentary color.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You can use the metal one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Juliep
Sequim, washington
August 24, 2014
I used bronze metal vents. They look great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
yes use the metal vents on home depot.com they do offer wood look alike vent covers but not the exact color highland hickory but finding one closest to the floor wont stick out as much as a bright white vent if you order it online home depot is great when it comes to returning it if it dont work out its usually a 15%restocking fee anything custom made is non returnable but they are not custom they are pre-fabricated
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you care for the flooring?

Asked by
josie
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 16, 2013
I wiped up the floor with just water and the flooring seems to have streaked. The floor was just installed and this was a shock to see. I have the darker oak laminate.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 18, 2013
We recommend a 1/2 cup of vinegar in a gallon of water. Apply from a spray bottle and remove with a clean cotton or disposable cloth. Also suggest cleaning in the direction of the pattern.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 2, 2013
I just use a slightly damp cloth or mop but follow up with a clean dry towel before the floor dries and there are no streaks. If you do not dry it, it does seem to show streak marks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
McDonald
Concord, NC, USA
April 6, 2013
If your water is hard it can leave streaks. Also if the wipe you used had any detergents in it streaks will appear. Try vinegar and distilled water or Bona floor cleaner. I have hard water and plain water will always leave streaks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I use a steam machine and its done in second and when dull I use floor and shine because it can be use on laminate
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Juliep
Sequim, washington
August 24, 2014
I use Bruce laminate cleaner. Just dust mop it or sweep, then use cleaner where necessary. A damp cloth also works well. I spilled an entire quart of yogurt on the floor and it just wiped up with a clean cloth.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what cleaning method and products do you reccommend?

Asked by
jan
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 21, 2012
For general cleaning, use a dust mop, vacuum with the hard-floor attachment of your vacuum cleaner, or wipe occasionally with a slightly damp cotton cloth or mop.
For heavier cleaning, use a mixture of 1 cup apple cider or white vinegar to 1 gallon warm water. Put the mixture in a spray bottle, mist the floor lightly, let it sit 3-4 minutes and wipe up with a dry cotton cloth or mop or a dry micro-beaded mop like a dry Swifter.
For disinfecting or removing haze from your Pergo use 1/3 cup non-sudsing (white) ammonia to 1 gallon warm water, with the same spray bottle procedure as above.
Do not use soap or detergent-based cleaners, wax-based products or any type of polish on Pergo floors, as they leave a dull, filmy residue.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dave
round rock
February 23, 2012
we use the swiffer sweeper,works good.First we swift then we sweep.Leaves no marks behind,this is why i love using th swifer/sweeper.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
the best cleaning methods really is sweep up any dirt or soil and then your ready to apply a laminate cleaner,the best mop is a flat microfiber mop and whats great is you can remove the cover and throw in the washer a bucket and long strand mop is wayyyy too much water for wood or laminate i recommend a cleaner in a spray bottle a mist of cleaner is enough to clean at least a 5'x5' area at a time and many laminate cleaners have refil gallons i like bona laminate cleaner for multi floors,henry multi floor cleaner and bruce laminate cleaner bona does make a cleaner and high gloss topical if you ever want to make the floor a little bit mre shiny hope this helped ;)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I use a damp mop and I use a steam cleaner but not on high
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the highland hickory laminate floor underlayment have an IIC rating?

Asked by
lb
vail
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
April 14, 2013
Yes, the Highland Hickory does have an attached underlayment.
And the ICC rating is 60.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 14, 2013
The IIC (Impact Insulation Class) rating of any floor/flooring material is a function of the floor that it is installed on. Even the floor joists and drywall thickness of the ceiling below affects the sound transmission on an upper level installation and most manufacturers, including Pergo, do not publish IIC ratings for their underlayment attached flooring. Having said that, Highland Hickory does have a 2mm attached underlayment and the product is almost a half inch thick in total. This keeps sound transmission to a minimum. Like all laminates, the sound and feel of the floor is different than a solid or manufactured wood floor but I have found Highland Hickory and all of the Home Depot Pergo XP flooring to be superior in feel and sound to almost every other product that I looked at. The most important thing you can do to minimize noise is to be sure the underlying floor is level.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

when we walk on the floor it creaks any ideas why

Asked by
scotty
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 27, 2012
we let it set in side for two days , left border around all sides the end seams are buckiling all over , and iT has only been down two weeks. store manager said never heard of this , we had ageneral contractor put it down to make sure no issues , used 10 mil vapor barrier
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
it should be 3 days minimum for acclumation and do not remove floor from case just stack on top of each other in there case in each area to be installed, 1/4 gaps all around the perimeter of the whole room, no glue no nails 6mil vapor is sufficient enough to protect from subfloor and you must still use an underlayment if an underlayment is not already attached to product and the 6mil must cove up the walls on all side and should be cut after job is done should not be installed in bathrooms and must be careful in kitchens ,creaks are usually a subfloor issue and should be taken care of prior to floor install, base molding and quarter rounds do not nail into floor must nail into walls and each other hope this was helpful
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
May 28, 2012
This is usually an expansion issue. We suggest contact your local Home Depot to have them set up for an inspection to determine the best course of action.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Not sure why that happening I know sometimes different floor creak more at a certain time of the year.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
wolf
July 15, 2013
I like this one. I know exactly why this is happening. The locking system is terrible. It will break when walked over. good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can highland hickory be used in the bathroom

Asked by
dave
san diego,ca
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 29, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 30, 2011
Yes, Pergo laminate is an option for any room.

Please note: Bathroom installs require more details when installing and upkeep.
Water warranty states water must be removed within 30 minutes.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
no!!!!! bathrooms have way to much mouisture allure ultra is recommended for wood lookks and is waterproof and lifetime residential warranty and 10 year commercial hope this was helpful ;)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You use it in any room but in the bathroom or kitchen I would use the highest vapor barrier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Base boards are white can I use white 3/4 quarter round or should i use the matching quarter. Matching quarter is quite exspensive for 7 ft.

Asked by
glenn
baytown texas
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
November 20, 2012
It is a matter of taste. The "real" wood flooring that the builder installed in part of our home has white baseboards and white quarter round, with a darker floor. It looks very crisp and clean. Personally I would not pay for the matching trim from Pergo for quarter round.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AskMrJay
November 8, 2012
Hey there glenn,

That's completely preferential. If your baseboards though are white, I would stick with that and keep your moulding white as well. If you did decide to opt for the matching quarter-round moulding, then I would suggest changing the baseboards as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I use white molding very beautiful got so many compliments on the way it look
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
November 12, 2012
Yes, use any 3/4 molding you like.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
magic
Dauphin, PA, USA
January 1, 2013
Yes, thats what I did. I bought the primed painted pine wood 3/4 round by 12ft. long trim. Nailed the trim down and used painters tape to tape it off. Filled cracks and nail holes with calking and paited to match baseboard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Chris
March 25, 2013
It's a matter of personal preference, but I prefer the white to match the baseboards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Speckledtrout
Raleigh, NC, USA
July 8, 2014
Any generic toe moulding that suites your taste will work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I lay down Pergo XP over linoleum or should I remove it?

Asked by
Tom
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 13, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 14, 2012
The answer depends on your subfloor and how many layers of Linoleum you have.
1) One layer over a wood subfloor, than yes.
2) One layer over a concrete subfloor, requires a moisture barrier between the Linoleum and the Pergo flooring.
3) If you have multiple layer of Linoleum, best to remove and install over subfloor. Which might include asbestos removal procedure.
For full install details please visit pergo.com/installation tab/ install essentials link.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lilysmom
Michigan, USA
October 2, 2012
We layed it down right over. It was great. No issues at all!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
January 29, 2013
It should be fine if the linoleum is flat and securely fastened to the floor below. If not, you either have to remove it and level the floor, or use an underlayment such as luan.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
yes you can sheet vinyl acts as a great barrier from the subfloor,depending on how many layers are underneath that should determine if you want to remove because of height difference,but!!!very important if you are thinking of removing be very careful if you dont know how old this vinyl is because if its from the late 70's or older there can be possible asbestos which if not propery removed from the home can get you and your family sick!!! so before removing look in the yellow pages for a certified contractor who can test and determine free from aesbestos and lead but if not removing then yes it can go on top if this is a kitchen you may need floor mats infront of the sink,fridge and dishwasher(not recommended for bathrooms) laminate is not waterproof and will damage if water sits ontop for long periods of time allure ultra flooring is a waterproof plank floor for kitchen and bathrooms
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
March 25, 2013
Yes as long as the linoleum is securely attached to the floor and flat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
You can lay it over tile, linoleum as long as your floors are level
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

number of patterns in the xp highland hickory

Asked by
kitcat
delaware
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
In the batch that I received there was 8, and was packed 8 per box. I laid them out and they were all packed in each box the same.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Magaw
Fort Worth, TX
March 31, 2014
Ours was installed about a month ago and we couldn't be happier! The flooring is so realistic and "pattern" so random, there is no way to count any repeats. Just be sure you mix the boxes and lay random lengths. You will love this floor.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Speckledtrout
Raleigh, NC, USA
July 8, 2014
I installed in a 12x13 room and find it difficult to make out repeating patterns. A very natural looking pattern. I don't think you will be disappointed.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
March 31, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. I am not sure what you mean by the number of patterns in Highland Hickory. Please call our support line and they will be happy to assist you. 800-33-PERGO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill
Chester WV
March 31, 2014
I did not see any pattern. I just laid as I took flooring out of box. Floor looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Sammi
June 10, 2014
I tried to count the repeat patterns in my 1000 sq ft but they are so random I am unable to tell. It is definitely not easy to notice repeats even when looking for them. I know this doesn't answer the question but hope it helps to know this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a puppy trying to house break,he has accidents will this stain this?

Asked by
meme
springdale ar
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 21, 2014
could you tell me a flooring that won't stain if I spill liquid or my puppy has an accident
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lynn
Minnesota
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 23, 2014
Hi, I can't tell you about urine but I have two cats. One has a sensitive stomach and will throw up occasionally. I came home to several areas that were dried. They cleaned up fine and no stain.

I bought this floor specifically for the shades, the deliberate markings and was also told by the installer a wood stain can be used on areas that are marred badly.

I am very happy with the floor. It cleans well and has held up nicely.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Karen
Massachusetts, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 23, 2014
It is guaranteed not to stain, but I have not tested this myself. The wetness would be my concern. It will seep through, and could warp the product if left too long.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
annie
Baker City, OR 97814, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 24, 2014
I love this floor and haven't had a stain yet. The patterning of the laminate would make a stain difficult to see and, so far, my large springer spaniel Sam hasn't been able to scratch it. I would be more worried about liquid staying on the floor for an extended period of time if you don't happen to see the pup accident right away. From what I understand, all laminates have this weak spot of liquids = warping if not cleaned up right away. I did have a whole glass of water spill, cleaned it up right away, and so far so good, I don't see any warping or lifting. As far as ease of installation, my daughter (26# and I #51) with absolutely no experience put this floor down and it turned out beautifully. Couldn't be happier :) Hope this helps your decision making.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
August 26, 2014
While laminate floors are resilient and water resistant, they are not urine-proof. We typically recommend that any moisture-related incident (especially pet accidents) be cleaned up within 30 minutes to avoid permanent damage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PickyMe
Garden Grove, CA
November 2, 2014
No worries. This Pergo laminate will be great for that. Even if you don't see it at first it and it dries up it is easily wiped up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Carl
Costa Rica
November 7, 2014
We have 5 Dogs and they have tried all different ways to mark this floor. They have had accidents on it and it cleans right up with out showing any marks. I have used the Pergo Flooring. Excellent !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product being discontinued in the foreseeable future?

Asked by
Aaron
Troy, Ohio
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 27, 2013
I noticed that this flooring is "out of stock online". I am able to find enough at the stores around me but I want to ensure that the out of stock online status is not because it is planned to be discontinued at some point. Hopefully it's just such a popular flooring that they can't keep it stocked.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
February 28, 2013
There is no way to determine the life expectancy/or popularity of a design.
However, since this product is sold in stores, Pergo will keep the stores in stock before making it available to the on line assortment.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chris
March 25, 2013
Home Depot's online inventory is flawed and never accurate. Their in-store inventory is not much better. You would be better off doing a special order.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
It's very popular
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

do you need to have the quarter round moulding

Asked by
cat
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 14, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BethH
Voorhees Township, NJ, USA
June 23, 2013
We did not use quarter round but we did remove all the baseboards, laid the floor and then replaced. We did; however, use qtr round around the fireplace and beside kitchen cabinets, not in front though. There we removed the "kick strip" and reinstalled. Our old original Pergo Floor, 15 yrs. old, was put down with qtr round. Too many small pieces became an his sure for me so we spent the extra money for new baseboards.
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
You need something to cover the expansion space you have around the edge.
I didn't use quarter round because I removed my base moulding, and then reinstalled it when I was finished with the floor.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
May 14, 2013
Quarter round is not a required part of the installation.
However, the 3/8" expansion around the entire perimeter is required.
Any type of wall molding would provide a finished look to the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
It depend on where you're putting it I use molding
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
kboy1953
San Diego
June 10, 2013
No, Depending on the room I use baseboard for most rooms If I understand your question right. As far as I'm concerned I think the quarter round would be used for mostly for gaps and coverage between the height of the floor and your existing baseboard if you don't remove the baseboard prior to your floor install. . I just re-use my existing baseboard and re-install it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Speckledtrout
Raleigh, NC, USA
July 8, 2014
Floating flooring systems depend on an expansion gap around perimeter of room to allow for temperature and humidity changes. Assuming you have baseboards installed, the only other option would be to remove the baseboards which would allow planks to be installed up to wall. The gap under the dry wall should be enough to meet the expansion gap requirements. Then install baseboards and you won't be able to see the gap. In that case no toe moulding would be required. I like the finished look toe moulding gives.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Okay for kitchen use?

Asked by
greg
Puyallup, WA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 11, 2013
Doing a remodel on a small condo where kitchen and front room are essentially the same. Already purchased the Highland Hickory and now wondering if it can be used in "Wet" areas? if so, does it need a moisture barrier as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
June 23, 2013
The Pergo instruction sheet says to not allow liquids to stand on the floor and to remove moisture within 30 minutes Damp mop only - no wet mopping.

If you use it in a kitchen, I would use a sink mat on the floor in front of the sink as well as a mat in front of the oven to protect the floor. In an ideal world, other flooring options are better but with careful attention to liquid spills, it could be used. If a hot pan or hot liquid comes in contact with the floor for any length of time it could damage the surface but this would be the case for hardwood as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
May 12, 2013
Yes, Pergo Laminate flooring can be installed in the kitchen/ wet area.
See kitchen installation detail at pergo.com/installation tab/ install essentials "link" for full detail.
A moisture barrier is required over any "concrete" subfloor, including living areas.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes make sure you put down vapor paper before installing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Juliep
Sequim, washington
August 24, 2014
I have this throughout my home,. Living, dining, kitchen, bedrooms, hallways, all laminate to maintain flow. Laundry and bathrooms are vinyl tile.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Carl
Costa Rica
November 7, 2014
Works great in any room in the house and it cleans up well if you spill anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Item Pergo xp Highland Hickory Model#00317 Internet# 202882882. When you say free shipping. Does that mean to my home?

Asked by
popeye
Mesquite, NV
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 14, 2011
Question on item:
Simple Solutions 78 3/4 Length four in one Molding Kit
Model# 36442
Internet# 202216289
Store SKU# 241919
Does this Molding Kit match or go with Pergo xp Highland Hickory??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 15, 2011
Home Depots website state free shipping with exception of Hawaii or Alaska
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
November 15, 2011
Yes, at this time Home Depot .com is offering free shipping on this product with exception of shipments to Hawaii or Alaska.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1inamillion
long beach ca.
September 23, 2012
the matching molding is model#36412 sku#627463 4in1molding,and the quarter round model#311334 sku#211822 hope that helps =)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a coordinating wall base for Pergo Highland Hickory? If not what is the closest match?

Asked by
CC
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 27, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
January 29, 2013
Model 303334 is the coordinating Wallbase for Highland Hickory
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
January 29, 2013
I do not know of any coordinating wall base. There are transition pieces for the edges (carpet/tile/sliding doors) at Home Depot, branded as Pergo, in Highland Hickory. I suggest you take a sample (available free at Home Depot, or a scrap piece if you have already purchased) and see if there is a prefinished wall base that would be suitable. If not, the paint department can sell a stain for use on unfinished wood. There are stains such as Cabot that are tint-able to match nearly every color. I used white for my Highland Hickory as it matches all of the baseboards in my home. It looks great!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »