Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Highland Hickory offers an ultra-realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection. XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10mm thick with a 2mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions
 | 
160 Answers
Overall rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

number of patterns in the xp highland hickory

Asked by
kitcat
delaware
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
March 31, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. I am not sure what you mean by the number of patterns in Highland Hickory. Please call our support line and they will be happy to assist you. 800-33-PERGO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
Chester WV
March 31, 2014
I did not see any pattern. I just laid as I took flooring out of box. Floor looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Magaw
Fort Worth, TX
March 31, 2014
Ours was installed about a month ago and we couldn't be happier! The flooring is so realistic and "pattern" so random, there is no way to count any repeats. Just be sure you mix the boxes and lay random lengths. You will love this floor.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
In the batch that I received there was 8, and was packed 8 per box. I laid them out and they were all packed in each box the same.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which Pergo XP surface is best for pets +kinds -smooth, textured, handscaped

Asked by
Charles
Wash DC
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 16, 2014
For hiding scratches etc, which surface is most forgiving? Or does't matter?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BT02
Wintersville, Ohio
March 17, 2014
I would suggest the handscraped Pergo would be the best for pets. We have a 100 lb. Rotweiler and a 70 lb black lab and the floor has held up very well so far. It was installed for about 7 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chickster
Philadelphia, PA, USA
March 18, 2014
It doesn't matter, the Pergo is so scratch resistant that it will hold up very well
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
Chester WV
March 27, 2014
we have hand scraped highland hickory only been installed for 3 months but so far no dog marks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
My opinion is the rougher the surface to start the less you will see a scratch.
So I would use hand scraped.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
Here's my .02 cents - We put "Highland Hickory" down on the entire first floor of our home (700 sq ft.) - Although my kids are grown, I do have a dog - 45 lbs. The Highland Hickory isn't a slick smooth surface, which is one reason I wanted it - I guess its more of a hand scraped look.

This flooring has made the cleaning super easy - sweep, vacuum, or damp mop with a micro fiber towel. the flooring itself has a 25 year warranty - and so far the durability will exceed the warranty.

Its easy to DIY - although after a few days on my hands and knees I was a bit sore.

My choice for Pergo was also persuaded by the fact that Pergo already had the cushion underlayment - but you still have to use a vapor barrier.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a Dyson DC 44 slim safe to use on my highland hickory Xp floor? And i also have a Dyson DC 41 animal is it safe?

Asked by
Bobbie
Fisher west virginia
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
February 25, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. It is safe to use vacuum cleaners on hard floor settings (without beater bar).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
I have a Dyson DC 26 - and just turn off the beater bar when I vacuum - works perfectly.

Saying that, I seriously doubt the beater bar would do any damage. I have an English Pointer, and his toe nails haven't done any damage
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The safest and best way to clean my XP Higland hickory floors?

Asked by
Bobbie
Fisher west virginia
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MaxS
Madison WI
February 25, 2014
I use a vaccum on the lowest setting to the floor to get big stuff, then I use a swiffer with a wet cleaning towel for a deep clean. Seems to work pretty wel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
February 25, 2014
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Here are the cleaning instructions for your floor. To clean, an occasional damp (not wet) mop, quick sweeping or light vacuuming with the hard floor attachments are usually all it takes. When damp mopping, an Ideal solution is a combination of 1 gallon of water with 1 cup vinegar or ½ cup of ammonia. Be sure to squeeze the water out of the mop thoroughly before mopping, and rinse the mop frequently. A spray bottle with the same water and vinegar/ammonia solution mentioned above is a great way to spot clean between moppings.

Pergo floors must never be waxed, polished, sanded or refinished and never use a steam, wet or jet mop when cleaning. Do not use soaps, detergents, or cleaners with wax because they may leave a film, dulling the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
For me cleaning is straight forward and simple - sweep or vacuum - then damp mop with a microfiber towel.

a soft drink was spilled on my floors - and not cleaned up properly, leaving behind a sticky mess. I discovered this weeks later. I simply sprayed on some window cleaner and let it set for abut a minute, got a few paper towels, and the mess wiped up, leaving behind a nice factory fresh shine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this product a special order laminate included in the $397 installation promotion that is currently running until january 2014 for Lady Lake Fl?

Asked by
Beth
summerfield fl
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many specialty department professionals at your local Home Depot store. For any other questions, please visit your nearest local Home Depot store or call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cavs
Pennsylvania
January 14, 2014
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chikadie
Honesdale, PA
January 24, 2014
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I lay this in a bathroom over ceramic tile?

Asked by
Mark
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
January 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
January 6, 2014
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors can be installed over wood, concrete, ceramic tile, tile, and vinyl sheet. Please let me know if you have any further questions!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joem
northern nj
January 10, 2014
no . not recommended for bathroom use at all
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Magaw
Fort Worth, TX
March 15, 2014
Our install was over ceramic tile in the whole house. The tiles were in good condition and none were loose. We used a premium underlayment as suggested by the professionals at Home Depot. Even in our guest bath and kitchen. No problems with it - just clean up any water spills quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Support a 4.5' x 9.0' Billiards Table

Asked by
Dave
Westminster, MD
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 3, 2013
I am considering this Pergo XP flooring. Our application is over a concrete floor in a dry basement. Can it support a billiards table? The table has 4 support feet that are each about 4" wide. If so, is there a specific installation approach we need to consider?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
December 5, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Pergo floors can withstand a static load of approximately 870 pounds per square inch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
It should support it - I have two heavy sofas and they are fine. I would recommend you buy felt adhesive to place under the 4 support feet to protect the floor. This will also allow you to move the table if necessary without scratching the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does dust show on this color highland hickory floor?

Asked by
bir44
New York, New York
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
November 18, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Dust is no more likely to show on this floor than on any other type of wood-look floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Karen
November 19, 2013
No, it does not seem to show anything. Cleans easily with a swifter.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hockeyfan
December 5, 2013
Yes, which we find to be a good thing because if we see it we can clean it. We frequently go around with the hand vac which is no trouble at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
Yes, but you can either sweep it with a broom or use a Swiffer for fast cleanup.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
moonchild
January 10, 2014
not bad due to the texture of the flooring.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Chikadie
Honesdale, PA
January 24, 2014
Dust absolutely shows!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is his flooring scratch proof

Asked by
Bernie
Brook Park, Ohi
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
November 4, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. No laminate floor is entirely "scratch proof." However, this floor has an AC4 wear rating and a layer if PermaMax, our enhanced surface protection.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BT02
Wintersville, Ohio
November 5, 2013
No, it will scratch if you drop something on it or slide furniture without installing felt pads. Large dogs will also scratch the laminate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
No, I recommend you buy felt adhesive pads to place on the bottoms of your chairs and heavy furniture in the room where you have the Pergo installed. On the plus side, once you do, it becomes very easy to slide your furniture around in the room
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joem
northern nj
January 10, 2014
Far from it . it is tough but certainly not scratch proof . in fact certain things like a rock on your shoe or moving a couch across the floor will result in scratches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
January 15, 2014
The flooring is not "Scratch Proof" - no floor is - this floor is scratch resistant - cpmpare this product to other prducts with the same thickness -
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Only up to 51 decibels allowed. Is this product quiet to walk on without cork sub flooring?

Asked by
Ter
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
August 17, 2013
With the attached foam backing, this flooring is extremely quiet and solid to walk on. I have over 1500 square feet installed on a concrete floor and it is very quiet. Any sound transmission on a wood sub floor will be a function of how solid the sub floor is and also how level it is. If the laminate flexes due to an uneven sub floor there will be noise due to the click lock connection between pieces. You always have the option to add an underlayment beneath the Pergo for additional sound insulation. Having said that, walking on any laminate floor in high heels or wood heels will of course make noise, just as it would on a ceramic tile floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MC68
Richmond, VA, USA
August 27, 2013
I only used the attached underlayment and a moisture barrier and my floor is very quiet. My old floor you could tell it was a laminate, but this floor feels and sounds like real wood to me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BPhoenix
Phoenix, AZ, USA
August 28, 2013
this floor is very quiet. no "odd" sounds, clicks or echoes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how level does the subflooring have to be to lay the pergo xp ? I read it has to be level within a 1/4" per 10 L/F is this true?

Asked by
Confused
White Hall, MD
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
August 5, 2013
The installation guide states: "Remove bumps or peaks in subfloor and fill depressions with floor leveling compound to ensure no more than 1/16" unevenness per 3-foot span". If there are "bumps" in the subfloor, the pieces will rock on the peaks of the bumps and you may feel movement as you walk on the floor, and it may even creak or squeek. If the variation is more of a depression than a peak, the floor pieces may very well span the depression without problems. However, to be safe, use a self leveling compound.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BethH
Voorhees Township, NJ, USA
August 5, 2013
Yes, that is correct. We had an additional, unknown floor below my "old" floor. In order for the floor to lay flat in between rooms and avoid a strip we had to pull everything up right down to the base flooring. More work and more money to the installer but a beautiful flow from room to room. Well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
August 12, 2013
Thanks for your interest in Pergo. I am attaching a link to our Installation Guide. Check out the section on preparing the Sub-floor. http://na.pergo.com/Images/how_to/Install_Essentials_Guide.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
joem
northern nj
January 10, 2014
I would say it should be close . so long as when your walking there isn't a noticeable dip in the sub flooring your ok if its gradual your ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a large dog. Does this flooring scratch easily. If so, can scratches be repaired?

Asked by
Sandy
Commack
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 4, 2013
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
July 7, 2013
Laminate floors hold up to dog scratch's better than most floors, but are not warranted against the scratch's.
If the dog does scratch them, you can fill with a finishing putty. The key to protecting the floor from the dogs is to maintain the dog nails regularly and use walk off mats to keep the debris from getting in the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wolf
July 15, 2013
Pergo xp should not scratch from a dog, It has a pretty durable finnish
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BPhoenix
Phoenix, AZ, USA
August 28, 2013
this flooring does NOT scratch easily. Our Lab has been prancing around on it all weekend and I don't see a single scratch. Also, while marking for a cut, I couldn't find a pencil, so i reached for a large screw to scratch the cut line into to plank. I had to really push and TRY to scratch it just to make a legible mark. I think it's going to be great for large dogs.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hockeyfan
Knoxville, TN
December 5, 2013
It doesn't scratch easily but it is slippery for our dog.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
DanO
Delaware County PA
December 10, 2013
I have 2 beagles who run and slide across it everyday - no scratching so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joem
northern nj
January 10, 2014
should be ok with dog nails "the reason I purchased it " however tapping into place and hard blows result in easily chipped edges
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Should the attached underlayment be removed when installing on stairs

Asked by
shu
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 23, 2013
It is not necessary to remove, but it is may be easier to align the stairnosing piece if you do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BethH
Voorhees Township, NJ, USA
June 23, 2013
I believe the foam would insulate from sound and eventual "creeks".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
June 23, 2013
I would not remove the underlayment, for a number of reasons. First, it provides a flat surface on the bottom of the flooring. Second, it would not come off easily and could cause damage to the underside of the flooring. It is glued on with a reasonably strong adhesive. Third, it provides sound deadening and a slight cushion effect when walking on the floor. On stairs, the flooring should be secured against movement to insure safe installation. This could be done with flooring adhesive applied with a trowel or it could be perimeter nailed with small nails. Stair edging should be used to protect the exposed edge as well as provide traction. Home Depot sells a number of metal edging options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
wolf
July 15, 2013
Yes, Then use adhesive on all parts of the stairs. High traffic area. you want them things solid
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NC10735285
Concord, NC
March 18, 2014
The simple answer is yes, saying that I installed directly over a vinyl without ANY problems.

I guess it would depend on how thick the underlayment is and what the Pergo matches up with in a transition with other flooring
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the composition of this product? is it plastic /,real wood?

Asked by
lockup
Fla.
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BethH
Voorhees Township, NJ, USA
June 23, 2013
Laminate. Similar to your old countertops but tougher.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BPhoenix
Phoenix, AZ, USA
August 28, 2013
I believe it is a composite material- polymers with wood fiber. Whatever it is, I started with a brand-new 10in saw blade, and it was dull from the cuts i made for an install in a 10ft by 12ft room. Very hard material.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
June 10, 2013
This and all laminate flooring is essentially a high definition photograph of real wood printed on a base material that is very hard so that it is extremely durable, on top of an attached softer underlayment to deaden noise and provide a more "wood like" feel underfoot. It is coated with multiple coats of a clear sprayed on coating to make it scratch resistant. Pergo Highland Hickory is dimensional and not flat on the top as it is made to look and feel like real wood. I found it to be the best looking and most well made laminate flooring available and most people that see my floor are amazed that it is not real wood. The XP line is exclusive to the Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 10, 2013
This Pergo XP Laminate floor has:
latex attached underlayment
melamine backing
HDF core
3 layers of Digitally enhanced Décor paper
All protected with a AC 4 PermaMax (patented) protection layer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

do you need to have the quarter round moulding

Asked by
cat
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 14, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
May 14, 2013
Quarter round is not a required part of the installation.
However, the 3/8" expansion around the entire perimeter is required.
Any type of wall molding would provide a finished look to the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
It depend on where you're putting it I use molding
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
kboy1953
San Diego
June 10, 2013
No, Depending on the room I use baseboard for most rooms If I understand your question right. As far as I'm concerned I think the quarter round would be used for mostly for gaps and coverage between the height of the floor and your existing baseboard if you don't remove the baseboard prior to your floor install. . I just re-use my existing baseboard and re-install it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BethH
Voorhees Township, NJ, USA
June 23, 2013
We did not use quarter round but we did remove all the baseboards, laid the floor and then replaced. We did; however, use qtr round around the fireplace and beside kitchen cabinets, not in front though. There we removed the "kick strip" and reinstalled. Our old original Pergo Floor, 15 yrs. old, was put down with qtr round. Too many small pieces became an his sure for me so we spent the extra money for new baseboards.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
None
Spring Grove, PA 17362, USA
April 7, 2014
You need something to cover the expansion space you have around the edge.
I didn't use quarter round because I removed my base moulding, and then reinstalled it when I was finished with the floor.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Okay for kitchen use?

Asked by
greg
Puyallup, WA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 11, 2013
Doing a remodel on a small condo where kitchen and front room are essentially the same. Already purchased the Highland Hickory and now wondering if it can be used in "Wet" areas? if so, does it need a moisture barrier as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes make sure you put down vapor paper before installing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
May 12, 2013
Yes, Pergo Laminate flooring can be installed in the kitchen/ wet area.
See kitchen installation detail at pergo.com/installation tab/ install essentials "link" for full detail.
A moisture barrier is required over any "concrete" subfloor, including living areas.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South Carolina
June 23, 2013
The Pergo instruction sheet says to not allow liquids to stand on the floor and to remove moisture within 30 minutes Damp mop only - no wet mopping.

If you use it in a kitchen, I would use a sink mat on the floor in front of the sink as well as a mat in front of the oven to protect the floor. In an ideal world, other flooring options are better but with careful attention to liquid spills, it could be used. If a hot pan or hot liquid comes in contact with the floor for any length of time it could damage the surface but this would be the case for hardwood as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a certin way you install pergo on stairs

Asked by
Jackson
USA
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
April 14, 2013
Yes, the laminate floor is glued to the tread and riser, then a over mount stair nosing is installed to cover the edges. It is best to have the stair nosing on site before installing the planks to insure proper placement of planks.

Please review install instructions at pergo.com/installation tab/install essentials "blue" link before starting the project.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hockeyfan
December 5, 2013
Home Depot told us it couldn't be installed on stairs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the highland hickory laminate floor underlayment have an IIC rating?

Asked by
lb
vail
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
April 14, 2013
Yes, the Highland Hickory does have an attached underlayment.
And the ICC rating is 60.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 14, 2013
The IIC (Impact Insulation Class) rating of any floor/flooring material is a function of the floor that it is installed on. Even the floor joists and drywall thickness of the ceiling below affects the sound transmission on an upper level installation and most manufacturers, including Pergo, do not publish IIC ratings for their underlayment attached flooring. Having said that, Highland Hickory does have a 2mm attached underlayment and the product is almost a half inch thick in total. This keeps sound transmission to a minimum. Like all laminates, the sound and feel of the floor is different than a solid or manufactured wood floor but I have found Highland Hickory and all of the Home Depot Pergo XP flooring to be superior in feel and sound to almost every other product that I looked at. The most important thing you can do to minimize noise is to be sure the underlying floor is level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install Pergo Xp over tile? The floor is now level or do I have to remove the tile?

Asked by
charles
yucca valley ca.
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 2, 2013
The most important thing is for the floor to be level so you should be fine in that regard and will not have to remove the tile unless it is loose. Be sure to follow directions regarding a vapor barrier if installation is below grade (i.e. in a basement or on a slab).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
What I did was put a sub floor down over my tile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
April 4, 2013
Yes, you can install over any finished floor, except carpet/pad/tack strips, that need to be removed.
A moisture barrier may be required especially if your subfloor is concrete.

We suggest reviewing with professional installer, or at least read full install directions at pergo.com/installation tab/install essentials link, to insure all site related issues are addressed .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you care for the flooring?

Asked by
josie
about XP Highland Hickory 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 16, 2013
I wiped up the floor with just water and the flooring seems to have streaked. The floor was just installed and this was a shock to see. I have the darker oak laminate.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 18, 2013
We recommend a 1/2 cup of vinegar in a gallon of water. Apply from a spray bottle and remove with a clean cotton or disposable cloth. Also suggest cleaning in the direction of the pattern.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JMCarolina
Aiken, South carolina
April 2, 2013
I just use a slightly damp cloth or mop but follow up with a clean dry towel before the floor dries and there are no streaks. If you do not dry it, it does seem to show streak marks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
McDonald
Concord, NC, USA
April 6, 2013
If your water is hard it can leave streaks. Also if the wipe you used had any detergents in it streaks will appear. Try vinegar and distilled water or Bona floor cleaner. I have hard water and plain water will always leave streaks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Claudette
Laurence Harbor, Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
June 4, 2013
I use a steam machine and its done in second and when dull I use floor and shine because it can be use on laminate
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »