Looking for Answers about Pergo XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Pergo XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Kingston Cherry offers an ultra realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. Scratch Guard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection. XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10 mm thick with a 2 mm attached underlayment and 4-7/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented Perfect Fold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
46 Answers
Overall rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Pergo XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case)

Question

In stock date?

Asked by
dhhe
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
August 25, 2015
Is there an estimate on when this will be back in stock? I am in need of about another 20-30 cases.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RichyBob
North East
August 27, 2015
That is a question that can only be answered by The Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
August 27, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Kingston Cherry is due back in stock on August 28.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much overage do I need for a flight of stairs?

Asked by
movinonup
southern CA
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
October 3, 2015
I want to see if I can use a whole pallet or go with a set of cases. I'm at about 420 sf for my floor but also have a flight of stairs where I will do the steps in Pergo and the risers in decorative tile.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
October 5, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. A typical stair case uses one plank as a stair and one as a riser. We recommend as a standard 10% overage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i get more than a pallet for the $2.46 a sq.ft.

Asked by
Russ
florida
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 16, 2015
can i get more that a pallet for $2.46 sq.ft. I need 900sq.ft. Will it all come for the same dye lot
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 18, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. The discount applies only to pallet sizes. There are no dye lots in laminate flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am interested in ordering this flooring but I am concerned about maintaining lot numbers if I were to order a larger amount.

Asked by
Floored
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
September 6, 2015
I would be needing about 680 square feet which is larger than a pallet. Can I specify maintaining lot numbers with a pallet plus extra boxes order?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
September 9, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Laminate flooring is not made in lots. There is no need to specify lot numbers or dates as all materials should look the same regardless of date.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does This Product contain Formaldehyde

Asked by
JMNihon
New York
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
May 15, 2015
Reading about laminate flooring and was wondering what the exposure to my family is with this product
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
May 20, 2015
Thank you for contacting Pergo. Pergo floors are manufactured in Garner, NC. All Pergo engineered hardwood and laminate flooring products meet CARB Phase 2 standards for Formaldehyde emissions. We check regularly to ensure all products remain compliant with the CARB Phase 2 requirements.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I buy a sample square?

Asked by
tnbalto
baltimore, Md
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Anonymous
New Jersey
February 10, 2016
You can get a free sample square at Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Talegadon
Dana Point CA
April 28, 2015
Yes, I ordered one online. Check the store first they might have some. I think they are $3.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
March 13, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. You can purchase a sample of Kingston Cherry via Homedepot.com at http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pergo-XP-Kingston-Cherry-Laminate-Flooring-5-in-x-7-in-Take-Home-Sample-PE-882895/203190411
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does base molding need to be removed? How do you use spacers with the base molding still there?

Asked by
sbfpsoprano
Rochester, NY
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
February 15, 2015
On the installation video on the Home Depot website, it shows an example leaving the base molding in. I'm in favor of this as it will save considerable work, but does one just place a spacer angled under the molding and against the Pergo boards?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RealEstateByBrian
Corrales, New Mexico
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 4, 2016
Can't answer why HD video shows base molding in place...however you need to remove it....just common sense to get a clear understanding of the amount of expansion room you have to the solid wall. I kinda had your mentality when I started the project and then quickly learned I had to remove them.......the molding helps cover up the board to board gap differences also.....you will understand...trust me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
raulr
rosenberg,texas
March 4, 2015
I did not remove base molding the outcome seemed to work fairly well, I am done with the one room and am satisfied with the results I am going to use quarter round molding around the base molding tried,a sample looks nice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
February 16, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. It is not necessary to remove the molding unless it is lower than the height of the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this floor be installed up to a gas fireplace?

Asked by
Jake
Jacksonville, Florida
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 5, 2015
I currently have tile in front of my gas fireplace but I would like to remove it instal this instead all the way up to the fireplace. Would that be OK?

Jake
Jacksonville, FL
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
March 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Yes, you can install this up to a gas fireplace, please maintain the 3/8" expansion space around the fireplace.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I move a 500 pound refrigerator across this floor?

Asked by
gnj411
Knoxville, TN
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 6, 2014
Flooring will be installed after the cabinets are in position but before the appliances are put in place. French door fridge weighs over 500 pounds. Can this be moved the 10 feet from the entry to its placement without scratching the floor or breaking chips off the end pieces of flooring?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RichyBob
North East
August 27, 2015
sure just don't scratch it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
December 8, 2014
Thank you for your intererest in Pergo. We do not recommend sliding the fridge across the floor as this could damage the planks or joints. The floor should be lifted into place when possible.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this laminate flooring installed over a concrete slab support a grand piano without splintering or cracking?

Asked by
Stein
Wichita Falls, Texas
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 17, 2014
Total weight of piano=750 pounds and rests on three legs; each leg is terminated with a small brass wheel that I estimate to be 1 square inch or less. Worst case scenario, can this flooring support 750 pounds per 1 square inch?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RealEstateByBrian
Corrales, New Mexico
January 4, 2016
can't answer pouds per sq inch......but for you application.....absolutely.....I would always use a weight distributor piece however...even if you used a 3 by 3 inch square of the same flooring.....under each leg...make sense? This takes the sq inch and obviously distributes it somewhat evenly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
July 29, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. The short answer is yes - the floor can support the weight. I would caution you against moving the piano on the floor as the brass caster could break the joints.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can individual cases be ordered instead of an entire pallet?

Asked by
Gene
Richmond, Me.
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
June 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
June 20, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. Here is a link to the carton page for purchase:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pergo-XP-Kingston-Cherry-10-mm-Thick-x-4-7-8-in-Wide-x-47-7-8-in-Length-Laminate-Flooring-13-1-sq-ft-case-LF000338/202882895
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how many cases for a 14x16 room?

Asked by
Angelam8975
Belle river , La
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
May 14, 2014
17 plus you need at least one extra for waste and any damaged in shipping or miscut. I'd say at least 18 total. Better yet 19!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
April 11, 2014
Hello Angelam8975 and thank you for your question.

Your room is 14 feet x 16 feet = 224 square feet
Add 10% overage for cutting and future repairs = 22.4 square feet
224 + 22.4 = 246.4 square feet needed

There are 13.1 square feet / case
246.4 square feet needed / 13.1 square feet / case = 18.81 cases

You will need to purchase 19 cases of the Pergo XP Kingston Cherry Laminate Flooring for this room.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm searching for the threshold model number to order. The model 36209 seems to be unavailable. Is there a new number?

Asked by
Holly
Ocala, FL
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HandyGirl
Minnesota
July 18, 2014
Depending on what you're looking for these are the coordinating trims that I used

- Kingston Cherry 7/16 in. Thick x 1-3/4 in. Wide x 72 in. Length Laminate T-Molding
Model # 0137221626
- Kingston Cherry 9/16 in. Thick x 3-1/4 in. Wide x 94 in. Length Laminate Base Molding
Model # 013041626
- Kingston Cherry 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/8 in. Wide x 94 in. Length Laminate Stair Nose Molding
Model # 0137541626
- Kingston Cherry 1/2 in. Thick x 1-3/4 in. Wide x 72 in. Length Laminate Multi-Purpose Reducer Molding
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
April 23, 2014
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. There are two options one is a reducer:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded-Kingston-Cherry-1-2-in-Thick-x-1-3-4-in-Wide-x-72-in-Length-Laminate-Multi-Purpose-Reducer-Molding-0137621626/204201995

One is a t-molding:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded-Kingston-Cherry-7-16-in-Thick-x-1-3-4-in-Wide-x-72-in-Length-Laminate-T-Molding-0137221626/204201994
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

the bevel on the floor seems sharp. Can anyone tell me how it feels when you slide bare feet or feet with socks on it?

Asked by
tg
folsom
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
midwesterner
Indiana
October 12, 2013
I can't tell the difference between plank. However, you do need to make sure that you use other tool to make sure they are tight as they can be, you can't just use your barehand to lock the planks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
July 15, 2013
Thank you for your interest in Pergo. When the joints are locked together, the bevel is hardly noticeable to the touch. I would encourage you to visit a local store and view a display board to see for yourself what the joints together would feel like.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How wide is each plank in each plank?

Asked by
redhead
Honeoye, NY
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 7, 2013
In a reviewers picture it shows planks to be more than 2-3 inches. Does that explain my question?
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
midwesterner
Indiana
October 12, 2013
5 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
July 7, 2013
Pergo XP Kingston Cherry Laminate Flooring
10 mm Thick
4-7/8 in. Wide
47-7/8 in. Length
13.1 sq. ft. / case
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this suited for commercial application with heavy traffic?

Asked by
bird
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
July 3, 2013
What mm do we need for commercial?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cseematter
Kansas, USA
December 13, 2013
Yes, I am a licensed daycare provider and have 9 children in my home. ages from 14mo. to 11 and the children love the floor for pushing cars truck and even riding toys it has held up very well, no scratches of any kind. I believe it would be great for commercial use and easy to keep up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
Garner, NC
July 3, 2013
A specific thickness does not determine commercial application.
This product is light commercial rated, as in a small doctors office.
Pergo 's Commercial division will have products designed for high traffic rated products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Pergo Kinston Cherry made in the USA?

Asked by
je
Arizona
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
April 19, 2013
I know some Pergo is made in the USA. I want to verify that this particular color/style is. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RichyBob
North East
August 27, 2015
axe pergo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
April 20, 2013
Most XP designed are made in North Carolina.
However, some overflow could have been produced in Canada/ North American Made..
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Will you be getting more of this? If so, do you know when?

Asked by
lakelady
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
March 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MountainHiker
Angel Fire, NM
May 7, 2014
I have already ordered my second pallet!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pergo
April 1, 2013
Order using:
Model # LF000338
Internet # 202882895
Store SO SKU# 539518
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pergo
April 1, 2013
XP Kingston Cherry can be ordered using the individual item number:

Model # LF000338, Internet # 202882895, Store SO SKU# 539518
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pergo
April 1, 2013
This item is available, just not under this "pallet" item number at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Rubber backed rugs?

Asked by
RyanP
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
December 25, 2012
I just purchased the Kingston XP and notice in the warranty it says you must place walk off area rugs or mats at all doors. Can you use rubber backed rugs on this laminate? Is there any type of rugs that can't be used that will void the warranty?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
December 30, 2012
You can use any type of rug.
Please note: it is important to check under any rug periodically to insure moisture is not being trapped, moisure can cause damage not covered by most MFG warranties.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
Atlanta, GA
December 27, 2012
Hello Ryan P and thank you for your question.

You can use rubber or latex backed rugs on Pergo laminate as long as the rug is periodically moved and the floor can “air out.” Woven rugs and those made from natural fibers may scratch the laminate and should have a gripper (“waffle weave”) pad placed under the rug (and over the Pergo).

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

High pressure or direct pressure?

Asked by
heather2934
Michigan
about XP Kingston Cherry 10 mm Thick x 4-7/8 in. Wide x 47-7/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (13.1 sq. ft. / case) on
November 21, 2012
Is the Kingston Cherry XP a high pressure laminate or direct pressure? What is the AC rating on this floor? Also are there matching floor transitions available for this product?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pergo
November 24, 2012
This product has an AC4 rating for Residential and light commercial use.
Order Transitions using these MGF model nembers
4N1: 36209
Quarter Round: MG000450
WallbaseMG000451
Stairnosing: 350209
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »