Looking for Answers about MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)

M. S. International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Wall Tile is a Natural Stone Slate with a brilliant mix of rust and white/gray tones. With a large selection of sizes and accessories to choose from, this tile can easily be laid in a pattern or single layout and is suitable for residential and commercial installations. NOTE: Inspect all tiles before installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
60 Answers
Overall rating:
4.177 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)

Question

How do I install this product on the curve/arc surface

Asked by
Aston
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
July 24, 2014
I would like to install this to the front porch.

1. How do I prepare the surface? Do I just apply mortar and install on it? Or I need to install the backer board first.

2. What do I do with the curve/arc area?
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Aston
July 29, 2014
Dear Friend,

Would the stucco strong enough to hold the stone panel? I am afraid that the stucco might fall off on the archway because of the gravity...

Aston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 26, 2014
Hi Aston,

Since this (appears to be stucco?) surface can accept tiles, I would first recommend to make sure the area is clean before applying the mortar.

As for the arc, you'll most likely need to make beveled cuts with a wet tile saw in order for it to successfully curve without the use of grout joints.

With using grout joints, the tile can be curved with no problems. I'd recommend to consult a stone mason/tile installer, who can guide you through more specific steps.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

One Box

Asked by
jean
hollywood, los ángeles
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
May 17, 2014
I am having a hard time finding one box of this itim in Los Angeles. How can i order it? the website doesn't allow me to order this item.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
May 19, 2014
Thank you for your question. Please contact the Home Depot Customer service for further assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I place these over a brick wall and then mount a TV with a TV mount onto it? If so, is there a strong type of adhesive that anyone would suggest?

Asked by
Esil
CT
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
March 11, 2014
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come in any different color?

Asked by
loudounresident
ashburn, VA
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
February 10, 2014
Thank you for your question. Please find the below link for the additional colors in ledger panels....

http://www.homedepot.com/p/MS-International-California-Gold-Ledger-Panel-6-in-x-24-in-Natural-Slate-Wall-Tile-5-cases-20-sq-ft-pallet-LPNLSCALGLD624/204373982

http://www.homedepot.com/p/MS-International-Arctic-White-Ledger-Panel-6-in-x-24-in-Wall-Tile-6-sq-ft-case-LPNLQARCWHI624/204396308
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this discontinued

Asked by
Betty
Eagle Id
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
January 12, 2014
I would like to purchase this product but can't tell if it is just out of stock or discontinued. Could I order through my store in Eagle Idaho
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in early February with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install this with only mortar over a painted brick fireplace?

Asked by
wesr1979
WV
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 9, 2013
The paint is a semi gloss and I don't see how I could get it off
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RSN1
April 30, 2013
You need to get a special thinset with a polymer additive. Its like adding epoxy to the thinset mortar. I used cement board on the bottom half of the fireplace and then had painted sheet rock on the last 3 feet. I roughed up the paint with wire brush and went right over the top of the sheet rock with it. I tested it after the first the first coarse went up on the sheetrock. You cant pull it off without tearing out the sheetrock with it. You having brick underneath should have nothing to worry about. In your case I would still put up cement board so you have a flat even surface to work with or you'll pull your hair out trying to adjust the thinset to get the stone to lay flat. Bought fortified thinset in the 50lb bag that is used for stone much cheaper than a bag of regular thinset and a bottle of additive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 11, 2013
personally i'm no pro - but I did install this product myself onto cement board... I read a lot of reviews at the time and they claim that is the easiest install / right over existing brick.. you just want it to be rough enough so the mortar has something to adhere to. worst case, you could use paint thinner to remove the paint from the stone and then apply but I think it should be fine. Make sure you get the mortar in the seams of the bricks and I'd "back butter" for extra strength, i used a 3/4" trowel. used a wet saw to cut the stones too just be careful because they are liquid nails together so its very fragile and be sure to buy 3-4 boxes more than what you need because they often come broken - just return what you have left to home depot afterwards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What would you use to cut a hole in the middle of the stone?

Asked by
Melissa
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 1, 2013
For instance, if an outlet falls in the middle of a stone piece, how could you cut out that square in the middle of the piece?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
Not sure what others would do, but personally I'd use a stone hole saw, gently drill the 4 corners of the box, then get the diamond tip jig saw blade and work away at it...if you use the jig saw, dont spray water on it!! worst case, separate the stones (they are glued together with liquid nails, so use a utility knife) and cut them out around there the box would be, then cut the stone pieces with a tile saw and then place them back into the stone with your thinset - i dont think there will be a gap, but hopefully someone else gives you their opinion too!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
creative natural stone
Longview TX
April 2, 2013
you can use a diamond blad on a drimel. or any wet saw blade. If u do not own either of these u can call local stone companies and they could do it for you for free or cheap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Install mantel before or after tiling with the stacked stone?

Asked by
JTM
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 20, 2013
I'm refacing a brick fireplace with these stone tiles. I plan on attaching a mantel as well. Do I install the mantel first, and then tile around with the stone, or do I tile with the stone first? It would seem to me that the more "complete" approach would be to install the stone first, but then how do you mount the mantel without having a slight gap where it meets the stone due to the irregular height of the stone pieces?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
Not sure if you still need an answer - but I did my mantle AFTER.. yes there is a small gap, I personally dont like the look of it but my wife does.. If i had the time I'd take the mantle down, and chisel out the wood where the irregular height of the stones are so it fits tighter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
journeywork
Dallas, TX, USA
February 20, 2013
I installed my mantel first. Our projects may differ quite a bit though. I made a mantel with a 2x10, cement board and tile. My tile on the mantel goes under the stacked stone. The top and bottom of the stone is fairly flat, but the surface of it varies quite a bit. Good luck.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSISupport
February 20, 2013
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted to determine the Suitability/maintainability/installation for a particular project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need grout for the tiles? It looks like the seams are tight enough to not need it, but how does that look?

Asked by
Matthew
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
I did not grout - just 3/4" trowel thinset on the cement board and back buttered the stones. they fit together great.. Here/there you may want to use a shim to hold it in place nice and tight so there is no sagging in the stones until the modified thinset dries - then just pull out the shims
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gerald
March 28, 2013
For indoor decorative no. But I am very particular and used it inside bc it just so much better. Outside you would have to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mars
IL
March 14, 2013
No grout needed. Seams are tight and it looks beautiful
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
journeywork
Dallas, TX, USA
March 14, 2013
No grout needed. I fact it would look really weird with grout since each panel contains 9-12 separate stones pre-mounted together, grouting between each panel wouldn't work.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
homer
March 14, 2013
No grout. The tiles fit tightly to each other and look like individual stone stacked on top of each other. Check out the pics on this site.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can extra boxes be returned ?? I want to buy more in case of broken tiles.

Asked by
Debbie
Illinois
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 21, 2013
Can extra boxes be returned, even if they are in good condition ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
YES!! I bought 6 boxes, 4 1/2 of which were destroyed in shipping so ended up returning 5, then used the credit to go ahead and bought 8 more which then 3 or 4 were destroyed so I returned all my extras... it was great, home depot was fantastic about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gerald
March 28, 2013
Yes as long as within the normal return time. Read the receipt generally 90 days
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSISupport
March 21, 2013
Thank you for your question. Please contact the Home Depot Customer service for further assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the mortor or glue to use over backer board

Asked by
fred
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
modified thinset is what I used to adhere the stone to the cement board... I back buttered the stone and put a 3/4" trowel on the cement board
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gerald
March 28, 2013
Depends where u live. Humidy and temp can play a big role. Generally type s or n
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
saas
March 28, 2013
Fred, you can use any thin set suitable for 'stone'. Use the one which has high 'tack' so that it sticks well. You may also use good construction adhesive but you will need to apply a lot to cover 80% of the tile - This will not be a cost-effective approach unless you have a small are to tile . Hope this helps?

Asif
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
March 28, 2013
fred,

There are a number of different thin-set mortars to be used a top backer board products, but one such product that tends to be a catch all for most every job is the VersaBond product linked below.

- Jay
 
Products related to my answer
 
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is used as a face plate to cover electrical plug in on back splash in kitchen? Are matching stone face plates available?How do you install facest

Asked by
lvtobuild
south dakota
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 29, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ChrisFixit
March 29, 2013
There are a number of faux stone finish faceplates availible on The Home Depot website. A search of the site with the term "stone wall plates" will help you find a color/texture to match your stone work. Other than the "look", the wall plate installs just as you would any other switch or outlet cover.

When you use stone for the wall remember that the deeper wall depth means that the gang box the plug or switch resides in will need to be brought forward as well or else the wall plate will float well above the outlet. I hope this helps and I've included a couple of covers below to give you an example of what's availible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do I need to use to cut this type of slate wall tile panel?

Asked by
Wardo
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
July 10, 2012
Specifically this is the piece MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Slate Wall Tile. And im not sure if I will need a tile saw or if I can use something else to cut the tiles?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
A wet tile saw is an ideal power tool!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ryan
December 30, 2012
You will need to use a wet saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
seiders
July 20, 2012
think your best approach would be the tile saw, they can handle delicate cuts at a slow cutting speed. detail cuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MSISupport
July 11, 2012
Thank you for your question. It is recommended to get an advise from a professional installer/tile saw vendor for your particular project. In general, one can use a wet tile saw to cut these ledger panels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the best way to install over an indoor wall? My exisiting wall is painted drywall.

Asked by
DIY-DCH
Arroyo Grande, CA
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 4, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Best pratices calls for instaling a thin cement board which will ensure a lasting result!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ryan
December 27, 2012
Remove any lose or flaking paint using sand paper. Apply "Pre-Mixed Ceramic Tile Thin-Set Mortar for Tile & Stone" directly to the wall. Then, use a trowel to create groves in the mortar on the wall. Finally, apply a bit of the thin-set to the back of the stone and press firmly against the wall. This worked well for me and created a strong adhesive bond to the wall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SteelToes
Chicago IL
August 6, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question.

Painted drywall is really not an acceptable substrate for the natural stone tile,especially if you're intending on going over an entire wall.Typically a cement board is installed as a backer board for this type of tile.

In the past I've successfully used OmniGrim mastic made by Custom Building product for small back-splash stone tile installations over drywall, however i still advise to install a cementious backer-board for the full wall installations.

Hope this helps.
 
Products related to my answer
 
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of mortar should I use with these panels? I plan on taking the advice of installing them on cement board.

Asked by
DIY-DCH
Arroyo Grande, CA
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 6, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Any good quality tile adesive is adequate. ( shoud state suitable for stone)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ryan
December 30, 2012
I used Simple Set Pre-mixed Tile & Stone Thin Set Mortar which worked perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Kelly
Holly Springs, NC, USA
November 19, 2012
you don't need mortar really. We put ours up with liquid nail adhesive. Worked great!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteelToes
Chicago IL
August 7, 2012
Hello again.

For over the cement board applications I would recommend using FLEXBOND crack prevention mortar.This product is readily available in stores and its designed for setting heavy tiles and stone veneer.FLEXBOND is available in white and gray, FYI color of the mortar will actually reflect show thru some tile and stone making it appear lighter or darker. Also it would be advisable ,if you're doing a full wall installation, to spread it in a two day installation to prevent stone from sagging.

Hope this helps and if you have any additional questions regarding your project, you can also post your questions on our How-to-Community forum.

www.community.homedepot.com

Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

trying to lay wall stone over my painted fireplace...what mortar should I lay over the paint so that the stone won't fall?

Asked by
crs
559
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Try to scratch as much paint as you can with a wire bruch ( make sure the paint does not contain lead!!) and apply a scratch coat with mortar and let it dry for 24 hrs. Install the tiles using the same mortar but use less mortar to prevent mortar oozing out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kelly
Holly Springs, NC, USA
October 16, 2012
If it's just painted drywall, don't use mortar, use Liquid nails. We just redid our master bathroom and my husband and I used liquide nail adhesive to apply it directly to our painted drywall. It worked perfectly and no mess!
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSISupport
August 24, 2012
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer be consulted for this particular project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this tile be used in a shower? Also, after installation, does it require to be grouted?

Asked by
Jeremy
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
November 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
These stone tiles are rated for interior and exterior use so using them in a shower should be ok! Although there in no requirement for grouting, i would recommend filling any large gaps with the tile adhesive and then using a high quality stone/grout sealer!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ryan
December 30, 2012
I would not install this stone in a shower. There are too many small crevices for water to make it way behind the stone, and the stone is not meant to be grouted.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
creative natural stone
Longview TX
November 19, 2012
Yes it can be used in showers if u are using it in a shower tho grout would be a must have
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kelly
Holly Springs, NC, USA
November 19, 2012
Yes, we put ours all over our bathroom including the shower. We didn't use grout, but put it up with liquid nails. It looks fantastic and is doing great. Finished our project about 3 months ago. Of course, you need the proper cement baker board for bathrooms- no drywall in the shower- obviously.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Id like to use this as a backsplash. Can that application be directly over drywall?

Asked by
Jay
CT
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
December 29, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Yes it can! Although installing a 1/4 inch durock will gaurantee long lasting results and the cost/labour is minimum! Please make sure that your use a quality tile/grout sealer to ensure that no staining occurs on the stone :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ryan
December 30, 2012
Yes. Apply thin set mortar to the wall and use a trowel to make groves in the mortar. Then apply a little bit of thin set to the back of the stone and press the stone firmly against the drywall. This technique will ensure strong adhesion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm planning to install in my sunroom over painted rough sawn. What adhesive do I use & is cement board recommended?

Asked by
Khloe
Michigan
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
January 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Cement/durock board is highly recommended for a lasting install! If you decide to go ahead and install cement board then standard tile adhesive will suffice. Otherwise strong construction adhesive will work on rough sawn :)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSISupport
January 14, 2013
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can this natural slate tile be installed on exterior surfaces of a wood frame home?

Asked by
silverlining
New Richmond, OH
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
saas
March 5, 2013
Yes! As long as you install a weather rated cement backerboard.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSISupport
February 18, 2013
Thank you for your question. In general Three Rivers Gold Slate Pattern Natural Gauged Tile can be used outside a brick fireplace. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted to determine the suitability/maintainability/installation for a particular project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »