Looking for Answers about MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)

M. S. International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Wall Tile is a Natural Stone Slate with a brilliant mix of rust and white/gray tones. With a large selection of sizes and accessories to choose from, this tile can easily be laid in a pattern or single layout and is suitable for residential and commercial installations. NOTE: Inspect all tiles before installation. Natural stone products inherently lack uniformity and are subject to variation in color, shade, finish, etc. It is recommended to blend tiles from different boxes when installing. Natural stones may be characterized by dry seams and pits that are often filled. The filling can work its way out and it may be necessary to refill these voids as part of a normal maintenance procedure. All natural stone products should be sealed with a penetrating sealer. After installation, vendor disclaims any liabilities.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions
 | 
70 Answers
Overall rating:
4.215 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for MS International Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case)

Question

I have painted exterior basement wall, can I use Liquid Nails to adhere panels to wall?

Asked by
Wetochwink
Livingston NJ
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 27, 2015
Since HD is going to save me money on the panels, I thought a quick solution would be to use liquid nail adhesive on my exterior painted basment walls (base of house). Thoughts?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
August 31, 2015
Thank you for your question. In general Liquid nails is recommended for use as a wall adhesive for Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am installing ledger stone around bar on cement board. Do I need to use Alkali-resistant glass tape between cement board panels?

Asked by
Alborlen
NJ
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 25, 2015
I am installing ledger stone around bar on cement board. Do I need to use Alkali-resistant glass tape between cement board panels?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
August 27, 2015
Thank you for your question. Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile can be installed with the help of grout, backer board, regular thin set and the installation tools. However Alkali- resistant glass tape can be used for enhanced long- term performance in cement applications and increases joint strength and structural integrity.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I remove excess, dried grout from our MS International Ledge Stone? It has been sealed!

Asked by
CJWOK
OK
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
July 14, 2015
Our installer was in a hurry and he sealed the rock without cleaning it properly. We power washed it and scrubbed with a brush but there is still a grey haze on the rocks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
July 15, 2015
Thank you for your question. In general these Ledger Panels do not require grout for installation, however to clean access grout there are grout film removers offered on homedepot.com that can be tested on an isolated area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is it possible to see the baqck of the panel to see what I am going to be working with?

Asked by
nimasonry
Hayden, ID
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
June 17, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
June 19, 2015
Thank you for your question. In general the Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile features the same characteristics on both the sides of the tile. Please contact your nearest Home Depot store customer service for further assistance to partner with us on this request.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much weight does this add, I'm looking to get this done on almost 160 sq ft rectangular wall..?

Asked by
Khan
Chantilly, Virginia
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 21, 2015
How much weight does this add on the wall? 4 level townhouse condo, this will be on the 3rd floor.

I will be adding felt paper nailed to studs, wire mesh nailed to stud, then scratch coat with thinset mortar, wait 24 hours, butter the stone, add mortar to wall and stick it on.. What do you guys think?

Added a picture of the wall before drywall went up, and how it sits with drywall.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
April 28, 2015
Thank you for your question. Each tile of Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile weighs approximately 10.83lb which means each case would approximately weigh 65lb.Other items used in installation may have variable weights therefore the given weight is just an approximate. However it is recommended to be consulted to a Professional installer/ designer for determining the installation/maintainability/suitability of the item for this particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you cut edges of the tiles at 140 degree angle

Asked by
bbww
minnesota
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 13, 2015
Our fireplace is in the corner and is not a 90 degree angle. Can you cut these tiles to make a clean edge?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
April 14, 2015
Thank you for your question. The Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile can be cut using a wet saw to get the required size. However it is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining and installing the item for a particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product be installed over a glossy ceramic tile?

Asked by
Stephanie
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 6, 2015
I am looking for something to put over the existing tile around our fireplace without removing what is there now.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
February 6, 2015
Thank you for your question. In general installation of Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. requires a flat surface, however it is recommended that a professional installer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation for the project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Direct to Brick

Asked by
Randy
Maryland
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
October 22, 2014
We have a very porous brick fireplace, not glazed or smooth by any means. Do I still need to install lathe or backer board?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
October 23, 2014
Thank You for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be applied over prviously painted stucco surface. The surface is structurally sound and clean?

Asked by
ProjectManager
Los Angeles, CA
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 27, 2014
Is there any height limit on how high you can go? Its a two story building?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
August 28, 2014
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Install video shows how to install outward corner with L shaped pieces. How does one install panel with an inside corner?

Asked by
Wetochwink
Livingston NJ
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
August 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
August 5, 2014
Thank You for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I install this product on the curve/arc surface

Asked by
Aston
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
July 24, 2014
I would like to install this to the front porch.

1. How do I prepare the surface? Do I just apply mortar and install on it? Or I need to install the backer board first.

2. What do I do with the curve/arc area?
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Aston
July 29, 2014
Dear Friend,

Would the stucco strong enough to hold the stone panel? I am afraid that the stucco might fall off on the archway because of the gravity...

Aston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 26, 2014
Hi Aston,

Since this (appears to be stucco?) surface can accept tiles, I would first recommend to make sure the area is clean before applying the mortar.

As for the arc, you'll most likely need to make beveled cuts with a wet tile saw in order for it to successfully curve without the use of grout joints.

With using grout joints, the tile can be curved with no problems. I'd recommend to consult a stone mason/tile installer, who can guide you through more specific steps.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

One Box

Asked by
jean
hollywood, los ángeles
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
May 17, 2014
I am having a hard time finding one box of this itim in Los Angeles. How can i order it? the website doesn't allow me to order this item.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
May 19, 2014
Thank you for your question. Please contact the Home Depot Customer service for further assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I place these over a brick wall and then mount a TV with a TV mount onto it? If so, is there a strong type of adhesive that anyone would suggest?

Asked by
Esil
CT
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
March 11, 2014
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted for determining the suitability, maintainability and installation of the item for a particular installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come in any different color?

Asked by
loudounresident
ashburn, VA
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSISupport
February 10, 2014
Thank you for your question. Please find the below link for the additional colors in ledger panels....

http://www.homedepot.com/p/MS-International-California-Gold-Ledger-Panel-6-in-x-24-in-Natural-Slate-Wall-Tile-5-cases-20-sq-ft-pallet-LPNLSCALGLD624/204373982

http://www.homedepot.com/p/MS-International-Arctic-White-Ledger-Panel-6-in-x-24-in-Wall-Tile-6-sq-ft-case-LPNLQARCWHI624/204396308
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this discontinued

Asked by
Betty
Eagle Id
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
January 12, 2014
I would like to purchase this product but can't tell if it is just out of stock or discontinued. Could I order through my store in Eagle Idaho
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
January 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in early February with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install this with only mortar over a painted brick fireplace?

Asked by
wesr1979
WV
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 9, 2013
The paint is a semi gloss and I don't see how I could get it off
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RSN1
April 30, 2013
You need to get a special thinset with a polymer additive. Its like adding epoxy to the thinset mortar. I used cement board on the bottom half of the fireplace and then had painted sheet rock on the last 3 feet. I roughed up the paint with wire brush and went right over the top of the sheet rock with it. I tested it after the first the first coarse went up on the sheetrock. You cant pull it off without tearing out the sheetrock with it. You having brick underneath should have nothing to worry about. In your case I would still put up cement board so you have a flat even surface to work with or you'll pull your hair out trying to adjust the thinset to get the stone to lay flat. Bought fortified thinset in the 50lb bag that is used for stone much cheaper than a bag of regular thinset and a bottle of additive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 11, 2013
personally i'm no pro - but I did install this product myself onto cement board... I read a lot of reviews at the time and they claim that is the easiest install / right over existing brick.. you just want it to be rough enough so the mortar has something to adhere to. worst case, you could use paint thinner to remove the paint from the stone and then apply but I think it should be fine. Make sure you get the mortar in the seams of the bricks and I'd "back butter" for extra strength, i used a 3/4" trowel. used a wet saw to cut the stones too just be careful because they are liquid nails together so its very fragile and be sure to buy 3-4 boxes more than what you need because they often come broken - just return what you have left to home depot afterwards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What would you use to cut a hole in the middle of the stone?

Asked by
Melissa
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
April 1, 2013
For instance, if an outlet falls in the middle of a stone piece, how could you cut out that square in the middle of the piece?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
Not sure what others would do, but personally I'd use a stone hole saw, gently drill the 4 corners of the box, then get the diamond tip jig saw blade and work away at it...if you use the jig saw, dont spray water on it!! worst case, separate the stones (they are glued together with liquid nails, so use a utility knife) and cut them out around there the box would be, then cut the stone pieces with a tile saw and then place them back into the stone with your thinset - i dont think there will be a gap, but hopefully someone else gives you their opinion too!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
creative natural stone
Longview TX
April 2, 2013
you can use a diamond blad on a drimel. or any wet saw blade. If u do not own either of these u can call local stone companies and they could do it for you for free or cheap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Install mantel before or after tiling with the stacked stone?

Asked by
JTM
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
February 20, 2013
I'm refacing a brick fireplace with these stone tiles. I plan on attaching a mantel as well. Do I install the mantel first, and then tile around with the stone, or do I tile with the stone first? It would seem to me that the more "complete" approach would be to install the stone first, but then how do you mount the mantel without having a slight gap where it meets the stone due to the irregular height of the stone pieces?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
Not sure if you still need an answer - but I did my mantle AFTER.. yes there is a small gap, I personally dont like the look of it but my wife does.. If i had the time I'd take the mantle down, and chisel out the wood where the irregular height of the stones are so it fits tighter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
journeywork
Dallas, TX, USA
February 20, 2013
I installed my mantel first. Our projects may differ quite a bit though. I made a mantel with a 2x10, cement board and tile. My tile on the mantel goes under the stacked stone. The top and bottom of the stone is fairly flat, but the surface of it varies quite a bit. Good luck.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSISupport
February 20, 2013
Thank you for your question. It is recommended that a professional installer/designer be consulted to determine the Suitability/maintainability/installation for a particular project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you need grout for the tiles? It looks like the seams are tight enough to not need it, but how does that look?

Asked by
Matthew
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
I did not grout - just 3/4" trowel thinset on the cement board and back buttered the stones. they fit together great.. Here/there you may want to use a shim to hold it in place nice and tight so there is no sagging in the stones until the modified thinset dries - then just pull out the shims
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gerald
March 28, 2013
For indoor decorative no. But I am very particular and used it inside bc it just so much better. Outside you would have to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mars
IL
March 14, 2013
No grout needed. Seams are tight and it looks beautiful
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
journeywork
Dallas, TX, USA
March 14, 2013
No grout needed. I fact it would look really weird with grout since each panel contains 9-12 separate stones pre-mounted together, grouting between each panel wouldn't work.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
homer
March 14, 2013
No grout. The tiles fit tightly to each other and look like individual stone stacked on top of each other. Check out the pics on this site.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can extra boxes be returned ?? I want to buy more in case of broken tiles.

Asked by
Debbie
Illinois
about Golden Honey Ledger Panel 6 in. x 24 in. Natural Quartzite Wall Tile (6 sq. ft. / case) on
March 21, 2013
Can extra boxes be returned, even if they are in good condition ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jimboo61886
New Hampshire, USA
April 2, 2013
YES!! I bought 6 boxes, 4 1/2 of which were destroyed in shipping so ended up returning 5, then used the credit to go ahead and bought 8 more which then 3 or 4 were destroyed so I returned all my extras... it was great, home depot was fantastic about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gerald
March 28, 2013
Yes as long as within the normal return time. Read the receipt generally 90 days
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSISupport
March 21, 2013
Thank you for your question. Please contact the Home Depot Customer service for further assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »