Looking for Answers about Cadet 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater?

Customer questions and answers for
Cadet 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater

The durable Cadet 5000-Watt Garage Heater requires a NEMA #6-30 240-volt receptacle (not a standard 120-volt outlet) to provide your garage or workshop with powerful warmth on cold days. It features two heat setting positions for versatility in either low or high wattages. It also offers a built-in fan-only switch that provides comfortable air circulation without producing heat during the summer months.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions
 | 
43 Answers
Overall rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Cadet 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater

Question

Fan & BTU

Asked by
Orchidjunky
Florida
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 30, 2016
Will the fan turn off with the thermostat when it has reached desired temp? And how many BTU?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
February 4, 2016
This product is 17,060 btu and will turn off when desired temp is reached.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
February 1, 2016
Thank you for your question.

The fan on the RCP 5,000 watt garage heater will not turn off immediately after the heater has reached the desired temperature. The fan will stay on for approximately 90 seconds after the element shuts off to push out any residual heat.

On the low setting this heater produces 9,100 BTUs and on the high setting produces 13,650 BTUs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you hang from ceiling with the supplied handle or base?

Asked by
dennis
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 31, 2016
It is not recommended to hang this product from the ceiling.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 22, 2016
Hi Dennis and thank you for your question.

The RCP garage heater is not approved for ceiling mounting. Please see the Installation Instructions on page 3 of the Owner's Guide below.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/f0/f0583b1f-c9b1-4aab-8a2f-afd932b0c6fd.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the CFM of the fan? It's not specified.

Asked by
Debenny
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 31, 2016
This unit has no CFM rating to report.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 21, 2016
Thank you for your question.

Unfortunately, we have not tested the RCP 5,000 watt portable garage heater for CFM and are not able to provide that information.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a danger of combustion from dust?

Asked by
JBlack
Utah
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 21, 2016
Are the coils exposed? Would it be a problem using this in the woodshop with the sawdust?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 31, 2016
This product can be used in wood shop but needs to be cleaned often if using near sawdust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 22, 2016
Thank you for your question.

We recommend cleaning the RCP garage heater at least every six months, but in a woodshop with sawdust you will want to clean it more often than every six months to help maintain the longevity of the heater. Please see page 5 of the Owner's Guide for maintenance instructions.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/f0/f0583b1f-c9b1-4aab-8a2f-afd932b0c6fd.pdf
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this heater be wired with a remotely located wall thermostat?

Asked by
Allen
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 30, 2016
No, this product is a plug in device.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 21, 2016
Hi Allen and thank you for your question.

The RCP 5,000 watt portable garage heater should not be wired to a remotely located wall thermostat because it is a portable heater. This garage heater was designed to control temperature using the built in thermostat on the unit. Altering this heater will void the warranty and the UL approval.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will a 30 amp breaker with 10 gauge wire be adequate for this 5000 watt heater?

Asked by
Getty
White Lake, WI
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 23, 2016
That is my question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 25, 2016
Thank you for your question.

The RCP 5,000 watt heater is a portable heater that plugs into a receptacle and was not designed to be hard wired. Hard wiring this heater will void the UL approval as well as the warranty.

The receptacle required for the 5,000 watt heater is a 30 amp NEMA #6-30R. Please see page 3 of the Owner' Guide below.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/f0/f0583b1f-c9b1-4aab-8a2f-afd932b0c6fd.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i wire to my garage box that has i believe is 220 volts? or are all feeds in a house at 240 volts and split to make the 110-120 volts?

Asked by
dennis
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 21, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
January 22, 2016
Hi Dennis and thank you for your question.

The RCP portable garage heater is designed to plug into an electrical outlet and should not be hard wired. Hard wiring this heater will void the UL approval and also the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Cadet- can it be ceiling hung/mounted

Asked by
mitchell
chicago
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
February 2, 2014
I have 9'-6" ceiling in a two car attached garage - non heated - approx. 400 SF- is this the right unit and can it be ceiling mounted/hung - with the included stand ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
My garage is exactly the same size and it heats my garage very well. it should heat your the same as long as you don't have a lot of drafts. It should be wall mounted.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 3, 2014
Hi Michell, this is a great little heater. However it is a hot one. You can not ceiling mount this unit. It generates too much heat.

You can wall mount with a 12 '' inch clearance from the top of the heater to the ceiling. Also this is 240 volt and requires a 30 amp circuit for this model.

Check out the instruction/assembly guide on pages one and two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If we want the location to be centered in the garage, is there any reason why we cannot ceiling mount it on a bracket the drops the unit 6 to 8 inches

Asked by
Diane
chicago, Illinois
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
February 2, 2014
the specifications state that it should not be mounted to the ceiling.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
The mounting bracket is made in such a way that it should not be hung from the ceiling.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 3, 2014
Hi Diane, this heater generates a lot of heat. That is why you can not ceiling mount this unit.

This heater runs on 240 volt 30 amp circuit. You can use the bracket supplied to wall mount this heater. You have to have a minimum of 12" inch from the top of the heater to the ceiling.

Check out pages 1 & 2 of the instruction assembly guide.This will get you more information of the distances required between the top, sides and back of the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the heater be hung from the ceiling?

Asked by
Jim
Pa
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
October 3, 2015
With the mounting bracket supplied can the unit be safely hung from the ceiling?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
It is not recommended to be hung from the ceiling only from the wall because of minimum clearance from combustibles.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
October 5, 2015
Thank you for your question.

We do not recommend mounting this heater to the ceiling, it can restrict air flow which will prevent it from operating properly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

dimensions?

Asked by
Karie
warwick ny
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
October 20, 2015
it says the unit is 15.75 in high and 17.5 in wide but the picture looks like it is higher than it is wide. i
m planning on mounting it with the bracket attached to the wall, and i want to be able to tilt it down. it comes with the bracket and cord as shown? can the fan be run in hot weather without the heat being on?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
The unit is 17.5 " high and 15.75" wide including the mounting bracket. It needs to wall mounted and can be tilted down by just loosening the knobs on the side of the mounting bracket. It does have a power cord so it does not need to be hard wired. The fan can be set to manual so it will run without the heat on or it can be set to automatic and it will run when the heat is on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
October 21, 2015
Hi Karie and thank you for your question.

The dimensions of the RCP502S heater are actually 17.5 inches high x 15.75 inches wide. We have updated the website to reflect the correct dimensions.

This heater does come with the bracket and the cord as shown.

You can also use the fan by itself for air circulation only. Please see the link below for more information.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/f0/f0583b1f-c9b1-4aab-8a2f-afd932b0c6fd.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a thermostat

Asked by
SeeMe
Springfield, MO
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
October 27, 2015
Does it have a thermostat? If so what is the temp range?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
Yes, it has an internal thermostat that works very well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
October 28, 2015
Thank you for your question. This heater does have a built in thermostat that ranges from around 45 to 80 degrees. Here is a link to the installation guide: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/f0/f0583b1f-c9b1-4aab-8a2f-afd932b0c6fd.pdf
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a 1 car non insulated garge do you think this will help heat it?

Asked by
rich23
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
November 24, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RW
Akron,OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2015
Yes, it will heat your 1 car non insulated garage very nicely. It heats my 2 car non insulated garage very well. However, if your garage is not sealed very well you will lose more heat and the heater will run more frequently. Also, I will mention that it will take an hour or more to get the garage to room temperature if it is very cold outside.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
November 25, 2015
Thank you for your question.

We generally recommend anywhere from 5-10 watts per square foot depending on your needs. If you are looking to heat your garage to livable conditions we would recommend the upper range of 8-10 watts per square foot. But if you are only looking to take the edge off you would be okay in the 5-7 watts per square foot range.

Depending on the square footage of your garage you may only need the 4,000 watt model.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Cadet-5-000-Watt-Portable-Garage-Heater-RCP502S/202909808
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i live in Canada does it have and testing approvals marks or labels such as CSA. for insurance purposes.???

Asked by
Scott
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
November 10, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
November 11, 2015
Hi Scott and thank you for your question.

The RCP502S heater is currently not CSA approved. At this time, Cadet does not offer a portable garage heater that is CSA approved.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HighPriestess
Riverton NJ
November 11, 2015
I do not know, I know it was rated for the US but it is now mounted high up in the garage and can't even get a ladder to go check for you.
Sorry - it does heat very well!
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

how many sq. ft. will the cadet 5000 heat

Asked by
Al Eason
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 29, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
The brochure shows 400 sq ft.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PTBarbara
Rio Rancho, NM, USA
November 24, 2013
We put it in our 3-car garage. That's 20x30 with 8 ft ceilings. Two walls are insulated, as is the ceiling. One wall is mostly garage doors. The final wall is 2X4 with no insulation. It warms the space up nicely, easy to work on mechanical objects and handle tools without freezing your hands.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
Vancouver, WA
January 29, 2013
Hello, thanks for your interest in the Cadet Portable Garage Heater. There are many factors that determine how large of an area this unit will heat, primarily how well the room is insulated. As a general rule, this heater will heat a mid to well insulated garage or room that is 400 to 600 square feet.

We appreciate your question
+11points
12out of 13found this answer helpful.
Question

Plug type for the 5,000 W heater: Model # RCP502S Internet # 202909808

Asked by
Al
Olympia, Wa.
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
August 11, 2013
The online info. picture shows a 6-20P plug. The brochure and 1 answer says/shows a 6-30P plug.
I need a 5 K Watt heater to plug into my 6-20P outlet having a 240 v 20A double breaker . Will some form of this heater do that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
The instructions show a NEMA #6-30R. It is huge.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
Vancouver, WA
August 12, 2013
We apologize for any inconsistencies in our information, the website has been updated with the correct information. The RCP502S heater requires a 240 Volt, 30 Amp receptacle. According to NEC standard, any 5000 watt heater requires a 30 Amp double pole breaker. Using a 20 Amp breaker, the maximum you can install is a 4000 Watt heater. I have provided a link below to our 4000 Watt CGH model.
 
Products related to my answer
CGH Series 4,000-Watt 240 Volt Portable Garage Utility Heater Red
2 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many BTU's does this unit put out?

Asked by
Marty
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
January 30, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
This heater puts out 17000 BTUs.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
Vancouver, WA
January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your interest in the Cadet RCP502S Portable Garage Heater. When trying to determine the BTU's for a heater, there is a simple formula (Watts X 3.412 = BTU's). Because this heater is 5000 Watts, it puts out 17,060 BTU's.

Thanks for the great question.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this unit be safely left on 24/7?

Asked by
Hunter
Central NY
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
October 26, 2013
My wood working shop is 12 x 8 and un-insulated. During the coldest winter months here (central NY) It can get down to or below the teens. I'd like to keep some heat on in the shop for the sake of both tools and especially material. Wood doesn't like drastic temperature variations and nor do paint, poly and glue.
Thanks in advance.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
I believe it can be left on with no worries. Keep distance from combustibles. It is a quality unit and as long as your wiring is adequate there should be no issues. It does have a thermostat and two speed fan.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 30, 2013
All cadet heaters are designed to be safely run 24/7. However, the cadet RCP502S garage heater is not recommended for this room because it is too small. This shed is only 96 square feet, and this is too much heat for this space. We suggest you use an in-wall fan heater such as the Cadet Register - RMC162W and a wall thermostat such as the T410B. This has an off switch and a lower temperature range of 40 -80 degrees.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what type plug will work for the Cadet 5,000-watt heater Model RCP502s

Asked by
ch1124
Texas
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
December 5, 2013
I have a Nema 6-30R 250 volt 30 amp plug in my work shop. will that work on this heater. the plug looks the same as the Nema 6-30p but it is 250 volt instead of 240 volt.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
Here's a picture of the plug. It is huge. A marking on it is 'YP-91L'. I don't know if that helps. I can tell you that Home Depot doesn't have it. I went to an electrical supply house and they got me a receptacle to convert my 220 outlet. Then I had to get a new matching plug for my 220V air compressor which they also had. Easy and cheap.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
Vancouver, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 6, 2013
Yes, that plug should work for this heater.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would this product be ok for a basement where I have a large TV, bar and pool table?

Asked by
Ernesto
Ann Arbor, Michigan
about 5,000-Watt Portable Garage Heater on
November 20, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rich
Brookhaven, PA, USA
January 21, 2015
If your basement is typically around 50 degrees or more, this may be a little overkill. I believe there is a slightly smaller model that may be a better choice. Having said that, this has an adjustable thermostat, so it would work just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CadetCustomer Support
November 24, 2014
Thank you for your question.

This heater will work in a basement. But keep in mind that the heater is designed for garages and workshops where heater noise is less of an issue than it might be in your basement while watching TV.

I would suggest that a wall heater like our Com-Pak might be a better fit for your needs in this room.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Cadet-Com-Pak-2-000-Watt-240-Volt-Fan-Forced-In-Wall-Electric-Heater-in-White-CSC202TW/100012248
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »