Looking for Answers about GE Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black?

Customer questions and answers for
Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black

With 5 powerful sealed burners, the GE 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range offers the versatility you need to prepare a wide variety of your family's favorites. The range's 17,000 BTU PowerBoil burner delivers intense heat for rapid boiling, while its easy-to-clean non-stick griddle makes it easy and fun to whip up pancakes, bacon, sandwiches and more. A 5th oval-shaped center burner easily accommodates most odd-sized cookware.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions
 | 
24 Answers
Overall rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black

Question

I am considering purchasing this range at my local Home Depot, it has a considerable scratch on the top, do you have something to cover the scratch?

Asked by
Debbie
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
February 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 26, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest in our GE Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black Model # JGB605DETBB.

This range features a One-Piece Upswept Porcelain-Enamel Cooktop. While appliance touch-up paint is available, we do not recommend repainting ranges or cooktops because they are a baked on porcelain enamel surface. When exposed to heat, painting such a surface will result in cracking and peeling after a period of time, the paint will not adhere to the porcelain.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE ADORA Control Lockout - Child Safety

Asked by
safety dad
Seattle
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 3, 2013
We recently bought the JGB605DETWW model that has the "Control Lockout" button. After pressing the key for 3 seconds, it does lock the buttons up on top of the stove by the clock but it doesn't seem to lock the knobs in front that control the gas burners on the stove (that are in reach of our two year old boy and of most concern). Does this model have a lockout for the stove burners and if so, what are we doing wrong to initiate the lockout option?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 4, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Congratulations on your new range!

The Control Lockout feature on model JGB605DETBB will only lock the control panel of the range so it cannot be activated.

The Gas/Control Lockout feature, on some models, will lock the surface burners, oven burners, and control panel so they cannot be activated.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Owners manual for JGB605SETSS

Asked by
Paula
Oregon
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
July 31, 2013
I didn't get an owners manual, where can I get one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 1, 2013
Hello Paula,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora Convection Gas Range model # JGB605DETBB.

I apologize if the manual was missing with the new range. The use and care manual can be downloaded off the GE Appliance website or you can have a manual mailed out to you through the Contact Us page on the GE website.

Should you have any product questions on the operation of the range that we can assist with, please let us know. We are always happy to help!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I recently purchase a JGB605DET2WW gas range. I didn't think I would be needing to convert to lp, but am now moving to a place where that is the

Asked by
CC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
March 18, 2013
only option. We found 4 of the orifices (the small color coded ones). The one missing is the front right power boil burner. Also the delivery person gave me something if we were ever going to convert and I can't find the package. I was wondering what we are missing. Also do the oven and the broiler need to be converted as well and if so what is needed? Thank you
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CC
March 19, 2013
Thanks to both answers-especially West Alabama because I believe now what I am missing is the 1" brass extension as well as the orrifice that was attached to it. Those would be for the power burner which is what we need.

Donna with GE-when you say the oven and broiler need to be converted...what parts are needed for that?

Thanks so much for the quick responses!!

CC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
West
Alabama, USA
March 19, 2013
Everything you need to convert to LP should have been included with the range. The orifices that you found are what you need to change for LP conversion. You should have found an orrifice that was attached to a 1" brass extension. That orrifice and the extension are for the power burner on the front right of the range. Changing the orifices is easy using a ratchet with the appropiate size socket. You simply remove the old orifices and replace them with the LP orifices making sure to include the brass extension for the power burner orifice. The users manual includes instructions for turning a switch on the back of the range to complete the LP conversion. The whole process should take less than 5 minutes but if you are uncomfortable doing the conversion you can have a technician from your LP gas company perform the conversion and install the range. My LP company charges around $60 for performing the conversion and installing the range. To me that's a small price to pay to ensure the range is correctly converted and installed and not leaking LP gas.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
March 19, 2013
Hello CC,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora Gas Range model # JGB605DETBB.

General Electric recommends that a qualified installer put in the gas range and convert it to the proper gas supply. The LP Conversion kit does come with the range if needed. The instructions are located in the installs, Mini-manuals or screwed onto the back just above the pressure regulator.

Yes, the oven and broiler would need to be converted. Please consult the Owner's Manual or Installation Instructions to obtain information regarding any additional parts you may need to purchase.

If something is missing, please contact Home Depot.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am shopping for a ge jgb605detbb gas or lrg3093sb gas do these gas stoves have to be vented ?

Asked by
Shirley
Plano, texas
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
February 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 22, 2013
Hello Shirley,

Thank you for your interest in the GE gas range model JGB605DETBB. Model LRG3093SB is another manufactures range.

The range itself is not vented. GE recommends to install a vent hood above to filter the cooking odors. This can be vented or non-vented with a recirculating charcoal filter.

The vent hood is not a requirement by UL.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I get a new white Plastic knob for GE Gas RangeModel #JGB605DET2WW ?

Asked by
whtels
Chesterfield, Mi
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
January 28, 2013
It was dropped and cracked the knob
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 28, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear about this issue with your new Adora
gas range model JGB605DETWW.

Following are the part numbers for the 2 differnet knobs on the range.

4 Knobs - # WB03K10314

1 Knobs - # WB03K10316

Please contact the Home Depot Parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Warrenty Info

Asked by
Kingtoad
Ashville NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 21, 2012
I was told that ,if I had my Adora GAS range converted to propane gas and had my gas co hook it up, that it would void my warrenty from GE,and my extended warrenty that I paid extra for.Is this true? And if so what can I do? We have no other kind of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
West
Alabama, USA
December 28, 2012
GE provides the LP conversion kit with the range. Having it converted and installed has by your propane company will have no effect on your warranty. GE wouldn't provide the LP conversion kit if it voided the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 21, 2012
Hello Kingtoad,

Thank you for choosing the GE Gas Convection Range model # JGB605DETBB.

No, converting the range to LP would not void the warranty. The LP Conversion Kit is included
with the range.

General Electric recommends that a qualified installer put in the gas range, oven, or cooktop and convert it to the proper gas supply. The AGA (American Gas Association) requires that these kits be installed by a qualified distributor or installer.

Please consult the Owner's Manual or Installation Instructions to obtain information regarding any additional parts you may need to purchase.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

griddle

Asked by
kingtoad
NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 22, 2012
Can I use a Lodge revesrable griddle on the middle grate of my range.It is larger than the one that comes with the range.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 23, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range model # JGB605DETBB.

The griddle that somes with the range is used in place of the center grate. To insert the griddle, the grate is removed and the griddle is put in place.

If you are using another brand griddle, it would need to sit on top on the grates.

Should you have any further questions please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

other brand products.And bad reviews.

Asked by
kingtoad
Asheville, NC.
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 20, 2012
I had a range from a co. that starts with Ma. sent it back and got a GE adora gas range ,can I use the broiler pan for my GE range? Also Where can I find the reviews good and bad for this range? I have read a lot of bad for GE products.,as I have for all brands.Was this range made in the USA if not where.was it made? And can I use a cast iron griddle ontop of the grates on this range ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range model # JGB605DETBB. This is a great range.

1. Broiler pans are available through the parts department. The part number is # WB48X10056. The part number for the roasting rack is WB48X5108.

2. Yes, there are reviews for this model on the Home Depot website under Reviews. GE has no control over who wants to write a review.

3. This range is manufactured globally. GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

4. This range offers a Non-Stick Griddle as a feature. it is ideal for pancakes, bacon, sandwiches and more, the large non-stick griddle is convenient and easy to clean.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What outside venting range hood would be good for my Adora gas range,horz -wall venting.

Asked by
kingtoad
Asheville NC.
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 4, 2012
Hello Kingtoad,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help.

The GE Adora Gass Convection range # JGB605DETBB is a great range!

I would suggest to consider models JV635HBB or JV535HBB.

The JV635HBB offers 4 speed fan control and the JV535H offers 2 speed.

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I season the grates? And what can I coat the burner liners with so food wont stick. Adora gas range.

Asked by
Kingtoad
NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
September 1, 2012
Some one said paste wax.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Kingtoad,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Adora 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range in Black Model # JGB605DETBB.

The grates are a heavy cast iron material. Heavy Cast are prcelain enamel on a heavy cast iron (w/ rubber feet) which offers a commercial look & feel. They do not need to be seasoned or coated.

Non-stick griddle: Ideal for pancakes, bacon, sandwiches and more, the large non-stick griddle is convenient and easy to clean.

GE does not recomemnd coating the liner with a past wax.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you season the grates and grittlepan so food will stick less?

Asked by
King toad
Asheville nc.
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
August 31, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 1, 2012
Hi,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Gas Convection Range model # JGB605DETBB.

Yes, this model offers the non-stick griddle. The griddle accessory is made of aluminum and coated in a non-stick finish. It does not need to be seasoned.

The griddle is ideal for pancakes, bacon, sandwiches and more, the large non-stick griddle is convenient and easy to clean.

I hope this helps!

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

You said the oven can't be lit without electricity. What if the electric power was turned off after lighting the oven? Would it stay lit then?

Asked by
Peggy
Saluda, NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
February 20, 2012
What I'm looking for is a gas range that can still be used even if the power is out. If there's a way to work around the electric ignition in the oven, I'd like to know what that might be. For example, if I could use my generator when lighting the oven, then turn the generator off, to conserve fuel, that would be an acceptable work around. I know this is getting kind of technical, and I appreciate your patience in answering these questions.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 20, 2012
Hello Peggy,

Thank you for your inquiry on the gas range.

GE cannot reommend to light the oven in a power outage at all, only the surface burners.

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Thanks for your answer. For clarification, I'd like to know if it is possible to manually light the oven, in the case of a power outage.

Asked by
Peggy
Saluda, NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
February 16, 2012
Our primary reason for switching to gas is so we will still be able to cook during times of no electricity. I'm hoping this range is designed to allow for that.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 16, 2012
Hello Peggy,

GE Adora 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range in Black Model # JGB605DETBB

In the case of a power outage, you can light the surface burners on your electric ignition gas range with a match. Hold a lighted match to the burner, then turn the knob to the low position. Please use extreme caution when lighting the burners this way.

The oven of your gas range is lit by electric ignition, eliminating the need for standing pilots. Current gas ovens cannot be lit without power.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If my electric power goes out, as it sometimes does in the winter, can I still light the stove burners and use the oven?

Asked by
Peggy
Saluda, NC
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
February 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 14, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for contacting us. This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you.

In case of a power failure, you can light the gas surface burners on model JGB605DETBB with match. You will not be able to use the oven.

Hold a lit match to the burner, then push in and turn the control knob to the lite position. Use extreme caution when lighting the burner this way.

Surface burners in use when an electrical power failure occurs will continue to operate normally.

Note: If the Gas/Control Lockout is in use at the time of a power failure, the surface burners cannot be lit.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can a cast iron griddle be purchased to replace the non stick griddle on the jgb605?

Asked by
timba
kalamazoo, mi
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
January 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 30, 2012
Hello Timba,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Adora Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection Range model # JGB605DETB. This is Donna wtih GE and I am happy to help.

The Chef's griddle or cast iron griddle cannot be used on this model. This griddle is designed to be used with the left rear and frnt burner of a specific model. It is placed on the top fo the greates and the feet fit between the grates.

On model JGB605, the reversible cast iron grill/griddle is a great feature. The non-stick coated griddle provides an extra-large cooking surface for meats, pancakes or other food usually prepared in a frying pan or skillet. The griddle will discolor over time as it becomes seasoned with use.

Following are some tips for caring for the griddle.

* The griddle is to be used over the center burner only.
* Do not clean the griddle in a dishwasher. Wash with hot, soapy water after each use
while using a sponge or dishcloth.
* If oil or food residue is left on the griddle, further cooking will harden the residue and
cause sticking over time. In this case, use a non-abrasive cleanser such as Bon Ami® or
one of the soft scrub cleansers. Apply with a sponge, Scrunge® or other cleaning pad labeled safe for non-stick pans
* Use only plastic, nylon or wooden utensils or SilverStone® kitchen tools to prevent
marring of the coating.
* Never use knives or cut food on the griddle.

Thank you for consider GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you choose to cook with convection or not

Asked by
j
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
November 25, 2011
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SteveHomeowner
Metro Atlanta, GA
January 24, 2012
Yes. There's a button to start it in convection mode and a separate button for regular baking mode. Convection mode automatically reduces cook temperature by 25 degrees, but I've found that settings cooks to the right time for recipies.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 27, 2011
Hello J,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Adora 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Convection range model # JGB605DETBB.

This is a beautiful range. Yes, you can choose regular bake or convection.

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the burner control knobs on the GE JGB605 made of plastic or metal?

Asked by
Al
Sacramento
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
November 17, 2011
In the store I could see that the stainless steel model had matching steel knobs. BUT, are the knobs on the Black model JGB605DETBB plastic or painted metal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 17, 2011
Hello Al,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to you with your question on the GE gas range model JGB605.

The knobs are made of a durable plastic. The only gas knobs made of metal are in the GE Cafe line gas ranges.

I hope this helps! Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The GE Adora Ga range JGB605DETBB has a price of 718.20 on pg chosen for you. Click on stove and price is 809.10

Asked by
Gary H
Lake Orion, MI
about Adora 5 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Convection Oven in Black on
October 3, 2011
What is correct price?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rambo
Vermont
October 27, 2011
I paid the 809.10 with taxes. If it was less I would like a rebate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
October 4, 2011
Hello Gary,
Thanks for your question. The current retail price for Model # JGB605DETBB, Internet # 202911072 in your area (Lake Orion, MI 48360) is $809.10 each. This item is currently offering free shipping.
Also, please keep in mind you can Save up to $300 on select GE Adora appliances.
Receive an instant discount on select GE Adora appliances purchased between 8/25/2011 and 10/12/2011. Buy two and receive an instant discount of $75. Buy three and receive an instant discount of $150. Buy four and receive an instant discount of $300. Maximum discount $300. Includes models GHDT108VWW, GHDT108VBB, GHDT168VSS, DFSF9VKBWW, DFSF9VKBBB, DFSS9VKBSS, DSHF6VGBWW, DSHF6VGBBB, DSHS6VGBSS, JB710TTWW, JB710DTBB, JB710STSS, JGB605DETWW, JGB605DETBB, JGB605SETSS, DVM1850DMWW, DVM1850DMBB, DVM1850SMSS. This offer is valid on single receipt appliance purchases (not including sales tax) in The Home Depot stores in the U.S., Puerto Rico, USVI, and Guam. This offer cannot be combined with any other coupon offer.
I hope this helps! If you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 of 1