Looking for Answers about LG Electronics 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
LG Electronics 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR

LG Electronics 4.0 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity TurboWash Washer with Steam ensures ample space for washing sizable laundry loads using your choice of its 12 flexible wash cycles, and with LGs revolutionary TurboWash feature, you can now wash those larger size loads up to 20 minutes faster with the same great, outstanding cleaning performance. The Allergiene and Sanitary cycles are certified to deliver the utmost hygiene cleaning performance. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLEX3470V or Gas Dryer model DLGX3471V. Also available in White model WM3470HWA.
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions
 | 
212 Answers
Overall rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for LG Electronics 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR

Question

Can the anti skid pads be used in combination with a drip pan under this washer?

Asked by
AnniesVision
Denver, CO
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
April 16, 2014
I see the anti skid pads are included in the accessories that come with the machine.
What are the dimensions of the pads?
What material are they made of? How stiff is the material they are made of?
How thick are they?

I want to put the machine inside a drip pan that will be approx 1/2-3/4" bigger in diameter than the base of the machine because it will be sitting on hardwood floors. I currently have a machine sitting in a plastic drip pan on the hardwood floors and it works great! I can't risk a washing machine leaking water and ruining my hardwood floors.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
Englewood, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 17, 2014
Hello AnniesVision,
In answer to your earlier question I believe I answered this question, but just in case that did not get through, I'll repeat some of what I answered there. The feet on the washer are not set as wide as the base of the washer, so much that if your drip pan is wider by 1/2" to 3/4", then you should not have any problems with the washer, along with anti skip pads on it, sitting in the confines of the drip pan. While I do not have the measurements for the anti skip pads, they are not that wide that they would exceed the width of the base. They are designed so that the feet sit securely and firmly on them. If you really need to know the dimensions, you can call an LG parts Distributor, MCM Electronics at (800) 824-9491 or visit their website at www.mcmelectronics.com. The part number for the LG anti skip pads which fit many brands and models of washers and dryersis 4260ER4002B. These are interchangeable with LG parts, 4620ER3001A and 4620ER3001B...IFV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where to find Anti skid pads for LG front load washing machine

Asked by
AnniesVision
Denver, CO
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
April 16, 2014
I posted a question earlier here about using anti skid pads with a drip pan under this washing machine which would be placed on hardwood floors. LG tech who answer told me the correct term was "anti skid pads"
HOME DEPOT DOES NOT sell "LG anti skid pads"...they only sell "GE anti vibration pads" for a washer.
1. Where do I get LG anti skid pads?
2. What are the dimensions of the anti skid pads?
3. Can the anti skid pads be used in combination with a drip pan the washer would sit in? So I would guess the anti skid pads would have to sit under the feet of the washer and fit within the anti drip pan the washer is set inside. Home depot makes "washing machine drip pans" that would fit the dimensions of this washer. I currently have a drip pan that my washer sits in to protect the wood floor if the washer leaks....From the reviews of this washer seems fairly likely it will leak at some point and I want to protect my wood floors if possible.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
Englewood, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 17, 2014
Hello again AnniesVision, thank you once again for your continued interest in the LG 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in White.
The anti skid pads or anti vibration pads as you would prefer to call them can be ordered online from an LG parts distributor, MCMELECTRONICS.com or you can call them at (800) 824-9491. Unfortunately, I do not know nor have the dimensions for the pads, but if you elect to call MCM Electronics by phone, I'm sure they will be able to provide you with the requested dimensions. The pads are designed for the feet to be able to fit onto them but if your drip pan is as wide as the washer, then the feet with the anti skip pads will be sitting in the pan since the feet are not set as wide as the unit is...IFV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can anti vibration pads be used with a drip pan with this washer?

Asked by
AnniesVision
Denver, CO
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
April 15, 2014
Is it possible to use the anti vibration pads with a drip pan?
Will the anti vibration pads fit inside a drip pan?

I have hardwood floor in my laundry room and would need a drip pan and from the reviews it is suggested to use anti vibration pads.

Does LG recommend using anti vibration pads on hardwood floors?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
Englewood, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 16, 2014
Hello AnniesVision, your interest in the WM3470HWA 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer is greatly appreciated. If I may, I am going to refer to what you term the "anti vibration" pads by the correct term, "non-skid" pads, as in your owner's manual so as to avoid misinterpretation. LG's recommendation as stated on page 16 of the owner's manual is that if you're placing the unit on a slippery surface, which your wooden floor would qualify as, then you should use the non-slip pads under the leveling feet to prevent the machine from being moved by excessive vibrations.
As for using a drip pan, there is no mention within the owner's manual as for the need for one except for when cleaning the drain pipe filter should the washing machine fail to drain. At that point, you would use the drip pan to drain any excess water remaining in the drain hose. You also want to ensure that the water is completely drained from wash tub to avoid an overflow of water when the drain pipe is opened. Operating the machine with the drain pipe filter incorrectly assembled or without a filter after cleaning it will result in leaks or in the washing machine malfunctioning. IFV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come with the drying rack?

Asked by
Kelly
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
November 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rodelaracer
el paso texas
January 19, 2014
it sure does but i myself have no use for it .its very sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
November 28, 2013
Thank you for your question!

This LG Washer Model # WM3470HVA doesn't come with a Drying Rack.

The matching LG Electric Dryer Model # DLEX3470V comes with the Drying Rack accessory.

Use RACK DRY with items, such as wool sweaters, silk, and lingerie, that should dry flat. RACK DRY can also be used with items that should not be tumbled dry, such as gym shoes or stuffed animals.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Cold vs Tap Cold temp setting

Asked by
Genesplitter
Oakland, CA
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
December 6, 2013
What is the difference between these two WASH TEMP settings, and why would you choose one over the other. On a related note how does the COLD WASH (tm) option map to the WASH TEMP setting?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 16, 2013
Saving energy, COLD WASH™
Adding the COLD WASH™ option reduces energy usage and
provides the same washing performance as a warm water
wash.
By using 6 different washing motion (Tumbling, Rolling,
Stepping, Scrubbing, Swing, Filtration), fabrics get the
cleaning benefits, without the energy usage.

- When you select the COLD WASH™ option, wash time
will be increased up to 10 minutes.
- For high wash efficiency, it is recommended to use
less than 8 pounds.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Beau
Maryland
February 25, 2014
The tap cold setting accepts the water temperature as it comes out of the tap. In the northern climates, this could be quite cold. The cold setting mixes the tap water with a little warm/hot water to raise the temperature to a minimum level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How high will the water supply for the washer and vent for the dryer need to be from the floor?

Asked by
Gamarel
Athens, Ga
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
December 2, 2013
Trying to do the rough in for a stuck up unit and need to know the dimensions. Thanks!
The unit will be instal on the left side of the laundry room. Dryer on top of the washer of course.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 16, 2013
The water for the dryer can be supplied by its Steam Feeder in the upper left drawer. Here is a video, explaining the steam features:
http://youtu.be/pTDoXASxFNQ
For measurements in the back of the unit, please visit LG Live Chat:
https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support
Thank you,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Stacking with other LG Dryers

Asked by
PaintedLady
Denver, CO
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
November 29, 2013
Is it possible to stack the WM3470HWA Washer with the DLEX2650W Dryer? Usually this 4.0 cubic ft washer is paired with the DLEX3470W Dryer...but all the dimensions of both dryers appear to be the exact same. Will they stack just the same?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
December 13, 2013
Yes, you can stack those two units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this fit through 27 3/8 inch opening?

Asked by
Bonda
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
November 26, 2013
Is the 27" dimension accurate enough to trust that the machine will fit through a 27 3/8" opening?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Robert
November 27, 2013
Yes. Mine fit through a 27 inch doorway, after I removed the door. I'm not concerned with a few scratches. I lost a little paint from the doorway, but the washer got through.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Laundry Tub/Sink Mandatory?

Asked by
chick
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
November 11, 2013
Does this unit need a sink to drain into? I do not have a laundry rub in my laundry room. That requirement would be a deal breaker.

Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mikeybob
Sacramento California
December 10, 2013
No, you do not need a laundry sink/tub. You will need a drain pipe that the washer drain will connect to. Picture shows the washer drain line connected to the drain pipe.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
November 11, 2013
A standing pipe is fine too.
See manual page 15:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/16/16112a7d-76b1-40df-9e7f-30f20d95fee4.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I reverse the doors on the washer and dryer?

Asked by
Micki
Columbus ohio
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
September 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
September 19, 2013
Hi Micki, unfortunately you can not change the door on the washer. However you can reverse the door on the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lionshare
New Jersey, USA
January 28, 2014
Absolutely, your installer should be able to do it fairly easily. Instructions are provided in the installation guide or owner's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the door reversable?

Asked by
Phil
Dublin Ohio
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
September 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kitt61
Texas
September 20, 2013
Yes, it is. Some models do not have reversable doors so be sure to check for sure before you make a purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
zach
September 20, 2013
No. if you look there is no spot for the hinge bracket on the other side. However the matching dryer that goes with it does have the reversible door. If you are having the same problem we did and your place is hooked up so the doors would swing into each other. The hoses for the dryer and washing machine are long enough to reach if you swap them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
zzero2
September 20, 2013
I believe it is. I think it comes with instructions to change the position of the door opening. Good luck doing it.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much clearance is needed between appliance and counter above

Asked by
C.C.D.
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
September 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
September 8, 2013
No installation clearance for above the unit is specified. Only make sure you follow the instructions in the manual :)
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/55/555de59b-0dab-4463-9b24-eac36205c9a2.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a homemade "green-eco friendly" liquid detergant be used in this machine?

Asked by
northwoods
Michigan
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
September 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kitt61
Texas
September 5, 2013
I don't have experience with any detergents other than those made for these machines - they carry the "he" symbol on the bottle. Personally, since these machines are expensive and you may void the warranty, I would never use a homemade product. I did meet someone while shopping one day who said their 2 yr. old washer had to be replaced because of rust and other issues. When I asked about the soap they were using and if it was "he", she said she'd never heard of that type. My guess is that using the other type of soap ruined the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
September 3, 2013
Please feel free to contact LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000 or visit the support section of our website at www.LG.com/us/support/ for assistance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What to do if the drain hose is too short?

Asked by
neesielaine
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
October 17, 2013
I just bought this washer and the drain hose is too short to reach into the laundry tub to drain. LG customer support (via online chat) told me there was not a longer hose and no way to make the hose longer. I find it hard to believe that there's no way to extend the drain hose on this machine, it seems pretty short. Looking for any suggestions...moving the laundry sink and pump seems like a lot of trouble and expensive!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cms2k
Indianapolis, Indiana
October 21, 2013
Use regular PVC pipe from your local hardware store and connect it to the hose with a flexible rubber coupling. It's basically a rubber sleeve and two hose clamps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
October 19, 2013
Unfortunately the drain hose is a specific distance and can't be stretched any further, the manual (page 15) calls for a maximum height and distance requirement (the link to the manual can be found on Home Depot's product page):
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/16/16112a7d-76b1-40df-9e7f-30f20d95fee4.pdf

Please feel free to contact LG Live Chat https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support or call LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this machine have a small load setting (like the 4.3 cu.ft. WM4070)? Can't I wash small loads in the WM3470?

Asked by
ahoi
me
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
October 5, 2013
I often have just a couple handwash-items, which I'd like to wash in this machine as well....but wonder if this machine needs a minimum load for 'heaviness' so the water-level sensors and whatnot actually work?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DLMS
Illinois
October 8, 2013
Yes the Maytag 4200 does have a small load setting, it's just different than the older top load machines. It's called Rapid Wash and it's specifically for very small loads. Or you can use the delicate cycle. The manual that comes with it has a chart which I've found very helpful while getting to know the machine.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Beard5
Wilmington, NC
October 20, 2013
Yes it has a load sensor and automatically adjusts cycle time and amount of water used based on the weight of the load. It also has a Quick Cycle for washing a few items very quickly.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LGAnswers
October 7, 2013
It has a SPEED WASH cycle for lightly soiled clothing and small loads (ca. 15 min.), also the HAND WASH/WOOL for items labeled “hand-washable” (ca. 55 min.)
Both of these would be a good option for those really small loads :)
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can i wash only one o two clothes?

Asked by
georgy
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
July 4, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rodelaracer
el paso texas
January 19, 2014
dont really recommend it shakes violently lg recoommens half drum /i myself wash a items /uniforms and i set it in delicate which they are not but seems to soften the vibration
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
zero2
NJ
July 5, 2013
You can, but I would wait until I had enough laundry to fill this large washer. If you want to wash a couple of garments, you can use the speed wash cycle. It can be used for a few pieces and it only takes about 25 minutes. You can add more or less time to the cycle depending on how many garments you are washing. I have used it many times and it works just perfectly.

I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does anyone have a problem with mold with these front loaders?

Asked by
ToniA
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
June 21, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Andrew
Michigan
June 22, 2013
The key to this is after a load is done, you can't shut the door completely. Just closed it enough until it hits the magnet on the unit to keep the door from swinging open. That way, the unit is able to be be aired out and dried out. You don't want all that moisture locked in there load after load. That's how mold occurs and it's impossible to get that nasty small out.

Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
3boysmomma
June 22, 2013
No mold, but I always keep the door open and the detergent door open as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
zzero2
September 6, 2013
In the 5 months I have owned this washer, I never had a problem at all. If you buy this washer, you will love it. It washes well, saves money, is quiet and never misses a beat. You have to dry the gasket after each wash, but that is the price you pay for efficiency. It washes huge loads of clothes and they come out clean, even using the cold water wash cycle. Remember to use a good HE detergent and you will be fine. This washer has cut my wash load in half. It really does wash lots of clothes at one time.

Buy it, and you will love it.

Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
zero2
NJ
June 26, 2013
I have had this washer for nearly 3 months now, and I have not encountered any smell of any kind at all. You really need to follow the instructions LG gives you concerning front loaders. They use so little water, the drum may have residue left behind. You always need to wipe down the door and gasket after EVERY cycle. If you can, leave the door open all the way after a cycle, but always leave it open at least a bit after a load of wash. I have used the tub clean cycle only once, because LG says to do it once a month. I didn't think I had to, but LG said to do it so I did.

Always use HE detergent and follow what LG says and you should never smell mold. This is one a great washer.

Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Turbowash -why not use for all cottton cycles? Does it not work as well? Is it harder on clothes? Use more water?

Asked by
Krissy
AZ
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
May 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
May 16, 2013
Apologies, I'm not sure what you mean. Can you please explain your question? Do you mean you would like to use the cotton cycle for every load? Please clarify. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
zero2
NJ
May 28, 2013
The Turbowash works for most cycles, but not all cycles. It works well with the cotton cycle as well as the permanent press cycle. I find no difference in clean, fresh wash using Turbowash. It reduces the time of the cycle about 10 minutes. Also, I find it no harder on my clothes and it definitely doesn't use more water. Remember this washer calculates the size of the load you put in it, so based on the amount of clothes you put in, it can take more time or less time to finish a cycle. I can also recommend the cold water cycle, press the button and the washer will wash in all cold water. It adds a bit more time to your cycle, but you save on hot water and will notice no difference in your wash. Please make sure you are using a good HE detergent, like Tide or All. Since this machine uses so little water to wash clothes, you need to use a good HE detergent.

Try using the Turbowash cycle, you will be very pleased with the results.

I hope this was helpful to you.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this wash waterproof fabrics like jackets and mattress covers?

Asked by
AZMom
Gilbert AZ
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
June 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chester
Houston, TX, USA
June 24, 2013
I think the answer depends more on if the item is machine washable not on the washer itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Maab
June 25, 2013
I have successfully washed a mattress cover with a waterproof liner. The cover itself was washable as instructed by the cover's manufacturer.

I have not tried to wash something like a blue tarp. I suspect that one side will stick to the other and not all the surfaces would get exposed to soap and or rinsed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the side of this washing machine, washes how many KG of laundry? or what's the drum type of this washing machine?

Asked by
tomdavid106
about 4.0 DOE cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Load Washer in Graphite Steel, ENERGY STAR on
March 31, 2013
Normal washing how many Liters of water does it use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
April 2, 2013
Hello Tom David,

The sides are the same material/color as the front.
It can hold 4.0 cu.ft. of laundry (weight various by fabric/items).
Drum type: NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum with LG's Lifetime warranty!
It uses 3.3 gallons for each cubic foot of laundry (one of the reasons it's in the "most efficient" category of the CEE/Consortium for Energy Efficiency: Tier 3)
...and it received the honors of MOST EFFICIENT model of 2012 by Energy Star.

Thank you, we appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
zero2
NJ
May 28, 2013
The size of the washer drum is 4.0cu. It is huge compared to most machines. I don't know how many pounds or KGs you can put in it, but it washes massive loads compared to my old washer using very little water. LG says to leave a hand's width above the laundry in the tub without pressing down on your laundry, and you are good to go. It is a front loader so it is very efficient with regards to detergent and water.

If you own this washer enjoy it. If you don't, buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »