Looking for Answers about Maytag 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
Maytag 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

Everything you want is right there with this ENERGY STAR qualified refrigerator. The full-width refrigerator compartment makes it easy to find your groceries, and the side-swing freezer door opens and closes with ease. Spill-Catcher shelves ensure clean up will be easy, while gallon door bins allow for convenient large container storage. This model fits in a 30-inch opening, and the included ice maker will ensure you have cool drinks for everyone.
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions
 | 
125 Answers
Overall rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Maytag 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel

Question

does it come with ice maker

Asked by
sharon
slatington
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
February 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
February 15, 2012
sharon,
This Maytag Bottom Freezer does come with a factory installed ice maker. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Home Appliance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
Yes, it comes with an ice maker. It has not filter and is fairly noisy.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jalt332
Arlington Heights, IL, USA
February 28, 2012
Yes the ice maker comes installed. It is a little loud when first filling the ice bin.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Engineer65
March 3, 2012
Yes mine came standard with an ice maker
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pogotrixiemom
Florida, USA
June 22, 2012
Yes, but requires extra tubbing for water hook-up
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There are no pics of inside.....how is the inside shelves and bottom freezer configured?

Asked by
cowodg
medford oregon
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 28, 2011
Would like info on the inside of this refrig. Does the bottom freezer have pull out drawers? I would like to know before buying sight unseen on the internet. Thanks.
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 29, 2011
cowodg,
Thank you for looking at this Maytag Bottom Freezer. The freezer portion of this refrigerator is a Glide-out wire freezer basket which offers easy access to your frozen foods.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
barbara
January 24, 2012
Bottom freezer has a shelf with (unwanted but uncancellable icemaker) and a big pullout wire drawer. Plenty of room for us. And it has a nice shelf on the inside of the freezer door for OJ etc...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
The freezer has a swing-out door. There is a shelf inside the door and another under the ice maker. There is a large wire pull-out bin. I will attach photos.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HDesign
October 9, 2012
The fridge compartment shelves are completely adjustable, even the door is customizable. You can see photos of that compartment on the main page for this product by clicking "more views." The freezer is a swing door with a pull out basket for a drawer, and the ice maker takes up around 50% of the top shelf (including ice container). Another user posted photos of the freezer (including the door) in the reviews. Here is one of the freezer interior.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Bottom a Pull Out Drawer or a Swing Out Door?

Asked by
cowdog
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 30, 2011
And is there a website to go to see what the inside of the frig and freezer look like?
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 31, 2011
cowdog,
Thank you for your question and interest in Maytag. The product page does have an additional image of this bottom freezer. It shows the fresh food portion. For the freezer portion, it is a swing out door and has a wire basket that slides out for easy storage and removal of your frozen food items.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
barbara
January 24, 2012
pull out drawer and swing out door- I love this type of freezer option.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
I have uploaded some photos to help. I was frustrated that there were none of the freezer on the website for Home Depot or the website for Maytag.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HDesign
October 9, 2012
The freezer has a swing door. The basket is a pull out draw. I don't have a photo of the door, but I do of the basket. Another user posted photos of the freezer with door in the reviews section. You can see the photo of the interior of the fridge compartment on the main page for this item, just click "more views"
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the handles reversable on the maytag model mbf1953yeb?

Asked by
ED
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 16, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
November 17, 2011
ED,
The doors and handles are reversible on this Maytag Bottom Freezer. You can view detailed instructions on this process by clicking on the More Info tab, then clicking on the Instructions document. We look forward to having you as a Maytag customer.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
barbara
January 24, 2012
Yes, the delivery guys did this and I tipped them too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
The handles are reversable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HDesign
October 9, 2012
The handles seem to be reversible as there are screws and place holders on both sides of the top & face.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the finish on outside textured?

Asked by
Rhonda
Waterloo
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
January 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
January 8, 2012
Rhonda,
This finish on this Maytag Bottom Freezer is smooth. This is information is listed on the product page by clicking on the Specifications tab if you would like to research further. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Home Appliance. We appreciate the opportunity to answer your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
barbara
January 24, 2012
yes, very classy looking (black)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
The outside is textured. If you live on or near a dirt road, the dust accumulates in the spaces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HDesign
October 9, 2012
For the model in black, yes, it is textured.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the door handle be mounted on the right so the door opens right to left?

Asked by
Steve
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 15, 2011
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
November 16, 2011
Steve,

Thank you for considering this Maytag Bottom Freezer. This particular model on comes with a right to left door swing. The model number is noted as MB"R"1953YES, the "R" dictates the way in which the door swings. However, we do have a model that does have a left hand door swing as you are requesting. That model is MBL2258XES. It is larger in capacity and is a bottom freezer. This model is available for you to view and is attached to this answer. Also, there is the MBF1958XES, this model is capable of having the door and handle reversed to suit your needs also.
-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Southerndog
Palm Springs
October 9, 2012
I appreciate the links and explanation, but the model number provided (for the right hand mounted handle) is for a different refrigerator with a 33" width) the original left side mounted handle has a 30" width. Very confusing to potential buyers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MegM
Spring Hill, KS
November 10, 2012
Don't listen to that other guy that said you have to buy the reversible door model (at a higher price).

This one can be reversed. During checkout, the option to have the door reversed will be offered along with whether you want your old frig hauled away and the other options. The delivery people will reverse the door for you when they deliver it. I too, needed the door switched to open from right to left, and when mine was delivered, the delivery guys switched it when they installed it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I'm concerned about the depth. Current one is 31 yrs. old (Hot Point) top freezer. It's not

Asked by
Midge
Mpls., MN
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
January 15, 2012
flush to the wall. 23.8 w/o door, 24.2 w/door & approx. 30" w/handles. Maytag MBF 1953YEB is 33.375 in depth. The space between the wall & refridge is approx. 3". Please advise...will it work in my space?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
January 18, 2012
Hello Midge and thank you for your question.

I do not think that this model will work in your space. It looks like you have 33” depth available. The Maytag MBF 1953YEB is 33-1/8” deep with a minimum additional 1” for ventilation.

The installation manual recommends: To ensure proper ventilation for your refrigerator, allow for 1/2" of space on each side and at the top. Allow for 1" of space behind the refrigerator. (These are minimum spacings.) When installing your refrigerator next to a fixed wall, leave 2-1/2" minimum on the hinge side (some models require more) to allow for the door to swing open.

Best wishes with your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Midge
Minneapolis, MN
January 19, 2012
Thanks for responding. I'm disappointed that I can't get that item. I really wanted a bottom freezer refrigerator, can you recommend one that would fit in my space?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wingennis
February 16, 2012
It may just squeak by but it will be tight.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will the Maytag Model#MBF1953YEB fit into my kitchen door opening of 31" wide?

Asked by
Esther
Ohio
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
April 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2012
Esther,
The dimensions for this Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator are located on the product page by clicking on the Specifications tab. They are also listed below to help you determine if it will fit through your door opening. It would appear based on your opening of 31", that this appliance would not have any trouble passing through the door opening. Thank you for viewing this Maytag home appliance.

Assembled Depth (in.) : 33.375 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 66.875 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 29.625 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SBBBK
Brooklyn NY
June 5, 2012
Yes it will
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
pogotrixiemom
Florida, USA
June 22, 2012
yes if they don't put doors on until they get into your house. Is there enough room to put doors on in kitchen?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an ice maker hook-up?

Asked by
Susie
Home
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
May 22, 2012
Susie,
This Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator is already equipped with a factory installed ice maker. So, yes it does have a hook up. This appliance when delivered will be ready to easily hook up to the water line. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Refrigerator, we appreciate the opportunity to answer your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SBBBK
June 5, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
pogotrixiemom
Florida, USA
June 22, 2012
yes, but you have to buy the tube that goes from water hook-up to unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Exterior finish?

Asked by
AnniesVision
Denver, CO
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
March 31, 2014
What is the exterior finish in the black and white models? Is it smooth or orange peel?

Are instructions included on how to change door opening directions?

Once installed how many hours will it take for it to be fully operational to fill with frozen foods etc?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TOHIO
OHIO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
the finish is orange peel
i love it
took several hours to cool down, refrigerator sooner than freezer
i did not look at instructions on how to change the door
but i have done this before , it is pretty easy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Aspem
April 1, 2014
Our black one is textured kinda like vinyl or naugahyde. Ours was delivered while I was at work, so my wife accepted it. The delivery guys brought it in and hooked it up. I believe it came with door change instructions. Although they are not hard to do. Ours requires a philips and a torx screwdriver. It was full and cold when I got home. Sorry I can't be of more help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
eeyore2005
Pitman, NJ, USA
April 2, 2014
mine is black and it is orange peel texture. But it does come smooth if you want it just more money. Yes instructions come with it to change door openings and parts too. mine was ready to go within 4 hours of turning it on! I LOVE IT!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this a quiet running refridgerator?

Asked by
Mattie
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 17, 2011
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
October 18, 2011
Mattie,
Thank you for inquiring about this Maytag Bottom Freezer. We look forward to having you as a customer. This refrigerator is quiet running. The Dual Cool system monitors temperatures in the fresh food compartment and freezer, optimizing cooling automatically.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mori
December 13, 2011
yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have an ice maker in the freezer?

Asked by
Elsie
Huntington Beach
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
October 31, 2011
Model #MBFl953YEW Internet # 203051704
Store SO SKU #537623
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
November 2, 2011
Elsie,
This model does have an ice maker. Take a look at the product page and you can click on the Specifications tab to view the feature below. We appreciate your question and look forward to having you as a Maytag customer.
Ice Maker : Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mori
December 13, 2011
yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

It says Stainless Steel, is it actually stainless or just stainless steel in color?

Asked by
TLW
TX
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
November 29, 2011
Will magnets stick to it?
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
November 30, 2011
TLW,
This Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator is Stainless Steel, it is not a finish or a paint to look like it. The doors and the handles are Stainless Steel, then the cabinets and base grille are finished in black. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Bottom Freezer and we appreciate the opportunity to answer your question.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tina
Ashtabula, OH 44004, USA
January 24, 2012
yes on all 3 sides
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Maytag model # MBF1953YEW come in Almond color and how much extra?

Asked by
Fancypants
Fort Collins, CO.
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
February 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
February 25, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this appliance. Model MBF1953YEW, Internet # 203051704 is not available in Almond. The item is available in Black, Stainless and White. To view these finishes, simply click on the color swatch located below this item.

If you have you have any additional questions or need assistance placing an online order, please feel free to contact our Appliance Hotline at 800-455-3869.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
chuck0one
Denver, CO, USA
December 26, 2012
Not available is almond or the new name for it bisque.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I've a narrow kitchen door. {29 inches} What's depth with the doors removed? Is it a problem for deliveymen to remove doors to get it into my kitchen?

Asked by
Rogers
Wurtsboro, NY
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
April 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
April 21, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Please contact our Online Appliance Customer Service Department at 1-800-455-3869 to get more assistance with this item. Our hour of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
trekker
June 19, 2012
I had same issue. Opening was 29inches. But with doors, hinges and front wheels removed, it goes in quite easily.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the depth.? All I can find is how wide it is.

Asked by
Junie
Sullivan, MO
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
May 13, 2012
Junie,

The measurements are located on the product page by clicking on the Specification tab. I have also listed the measurements below for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator.

Assembled Depth (in.) : 33.375 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 66.875 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 29.625 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
diywedell
MN
January 1, 2014
The cabinet depth is 30 inches but another 1 to 1-1/4 inches should be allowed to the wall to accommodate the water line for the icemaker (unless you have no intention of using it, in which case the hose line and entry attachment must be detached) and air circulation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Reverse door opening

Asked by
Southerndog
Palm Springs
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 17, 2012
I saw the answer to "Steve's" question regarding switching the handle from the left side (as shown in the pictures), to the right side. But I am confused by the answer given. The pictures show the handles on the left side of the ridge. (It appears to swing open from left to the right).

Can the handles be placed on the RIGHT SIDE (when you are facing and staring at the front of the fridge)?

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
May 18, 2012
Hello this is Tangelo from the Home Depot Community!

In answer to your question, the model MBR1953YES is a RIGHT HINGE refrigerator, and MBL2258XES has a LEFT HINGE.

Here are the links to the Maytag site.

MBL2258XES: http://www.maytag.com/-%5BMBL2258XE...
MBR1953YES : http://www.maytag.com/-%5BMBR1953YE...

I hope this helps, if you have any more questions you can find me on our website at community.homedepot.com
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Brooklyn
Cape Cod MA
July 3, 2012
Hi Southerndog,
I found out the hard way that this model DOES NOT permit switching the handle from the left to the right! Do not buy it if you need a door opening from the right.
Also if you buy it from the Home Depot website there are restrictions on refunds if you don't like it. Best to buy from the store if at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have wheels and if so, can they be removed to decrease the overall height?

Asked by
Mike
Jersey
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
May 29, 2012
Mike,
The wheels are not designed to be removed, however there are leveling legs that allow you to slightly raise or lower the height of the refrigerator. The height listed below is with the door hinge, I have listed below both the height with the hinge and without. Most kitchen that have a height restriction is not for the full depth of the appliance. Generally the front of the refrigerator is not restricted, just the back. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator.

Height To Top Of Cabinet 65 5/8"
Height To Top Of Door Hinge 66 7/8"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDesign
October 9, 2012
This unit does have wheels, but it doesn't seem like they can be removed. They really don't add much height to this fridge (maybe 1/4 inch at most).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is that a door or drawer for the freezer?

Asked by
Prof
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
May 29, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
May 29, 2012
Prof,
The bottom drawer on this Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator is a swing style door. It opens from left to right. Because this is a Stainless Steel refrigerator, the door swing is not reversible, however we do offer a model that has the opposite door swing if it is needed. Thank you for viewing this Maytag Home Appliance.
MBL1953YES
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kfmutch
NYC
May 30, 2012
It's a door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you get this unit without an ice maker?

Asked by
goldfinch
Rockford, Mi
about 30 in. W 18.5 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Stainless Steel on
June 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 1, 2012
goldfinch,
The ice maker is factory installed and comes with this Maytag Bottom Freezer Refrigerator. It can not be ordered without one. However, the ice maker is fairly easy to be uninstalled. That way you can decide if you want it or not and can store it for later use should you need it in the future. Thank you for viewing this Maytab Bottom Freezer Refrigerator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RedRedRose
Connecticut, USA
December 19, 2012
You can ask to have icemaker not installed. It will run smoothly with out it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »