Looking for Answers about Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

TimeMaster 30 in. Personal Pace Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine. For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions
 | 
193 Answers
Overall rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

Question

Once unboxed, will this mower fit, strapped in, part ways in an average compact/midsize sedan trunk ?

Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 25, 2015
It's not the width but the length versus height that has me worried. If the engine and deck combination height is too great and that height is too far forward on the machine, then the front wheels will not allow for it to roll far enough in the trunk area before the machine hits the top trim of the trunk. If it'll roll a couple of feet into the trunk area before the top hits, then it can be successfully strapped in and the trunk lid strapped down over the top of the rest of the machine hanging out. My next car will be a hatchback or wagon just for this reason. Can carry many more items of more height. I can put my 22", highwheel mower all the way and close the lid in my VW Jetta, but this thing is a beast compared to the 22.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

how much does the Toro 30" walk behind weigh?

Asked by
Dick
Urbandale, IA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 18, 2015
electric start
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 18, 2015
The approximate weight of the lawn mower is 132 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
May 18, 2015
Product weight is 132 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
130 pounds....heavy! Hard to push if not under power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you adjust the self propel?

Asked by
Smoky
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 3, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
As you push the handle forward the self-propel adjusts. Works pretty slick and you don't even notice it working. It speeds and slows with your pace.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
John
Conroe, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
The self-propel is located at the very top of the handle (the thicker bar). To adjust the speed, simply push down on that top bar and the farther down you push, the faster it will propel. The thinner bar is to bring the blades down to cut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
May 4, 2015
The Personal Pace technology automatically adjusts the mower’s pace to your walking speed. For more challenging areas with uneven terrain, the Traction-Assist Handle can help monitor your speed, and keep you mowing at a comfortable pace. If you are looking to adjust the self-propel-drive cable, please view the “Adjusting the Self-propel Drive Cable” section of the Operator’s Manual. You can view the manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Time Master and Exmark Commercial 30 only ones like this?

Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 3, 2015
My research shows there are only two mower models like this available to the American consumer. What I mean "like this" is that they are traditional looking and operating walk-behinds, but have a wider-than-standard width cut.

The only exception is a Gravely Pro 24, but that's only a two inch increase from standard.

Is this right? Are there any others? One-thousand bucks is alot of money for adding cutting width. I could get three well-equipped, equally-featured, 21-22 inch mowers for this price.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
I agree that this is a lot of money for what you get but I was not able to find anything equivalent. My yard is not an easy one and I have had to replace the blades and blade adapters from hitting things that would not cut. Nothing else in the mechanism was damaged from this abuse. Bought mine in 2011 and it has served me well. It is reasonably frugal on gas, using no more than a 22" would be using for the same amount of running time. The Recycler 20333 has the blade stop system like this mower has, is less complex and if 22" cut is enough for your yard, I'd save the $600. I'd hate to think of mowing an acre with it though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
Yes and the real difference isn't so much the cost but the cutting height! The same cut for the Professional Walk behinds is "Less" than the Toro. More cash but less cutting height ?? I am now looking into the Exmark since my Toro already broke down within 3 weeks of use! The Toro lacks serious power too!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an aftermarket grass exhaust shoot available-mine kept failing off ?

Asked by
Bobby
Greenville SC
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 22, 2015
Mine was distroyed by mower-edge got caught. The exhaust works good with door open-but I get covered with grass.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 22, 2015
I would doubt seriously if someone else made the chute/deflector for this machine. I would be extremely careful mowing with the door up as this mower throws the grass over 15 ft. About twice as far as a standard size mower. If it gets hold to a rock or any other object, it could be very dangerous for anyone close by.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a hook that you can connect a sulky to and ride?

Asked by
Drew
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Volfan
Kingsport, TN.
April 14, 2015
It doesn't have this feature. The engine doesn't have the power to pull a velky.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MCS1005
Chatsworth, GA
April 14, 2015
No. Walk behind only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 17, 2015
no it doesn't, mower probably would not have the power for this
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Purchasing/ordering & gas additive.

Asked by
Mark
South Coventry, PA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 5, 2015
If I order this online it has free delivery. Is the assembly difficult?

Also, can a high octane gas be used in lieu of the additive?

Thanks in advance!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with a Briggs & Stratton Engine.

Assembly of the TimeMaster is very easy. There are no tools required and in a few steps your mower will be ready for its first use.

Regarding fuel, unless you are referring to non-oxygenated (ethanol-free) fuel, even a high-octane fuel still contains ethanol. A fuel additive remains recommended for all blends of fuel that contain ethanol.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
No assembly required, just push the button and raise the handle up to it's normal position. I only use ETHANOL FREE gas in all of my small equipment, well worth the extra money as ethanol is a killer on small engines. And even with that, I still use fuel stabilizer such as Sta-Bil. Ethanol gas does nothing except make the farmers rich who are usually mega corporations who also receive federal subsidies. Ethanol gas gets worse gas mileage and can be very harmful to engines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 6, 2015
Assembly is very easy.

This mower uses regular gasoline, no additive needed. If you are looking at the Sta-Bil fuel additive, this is for winter storage. I do not recommend this stuff. At the end of the season just run the engine until it stalls from lack of gasoline.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you recommend purchasing the Home Depot extended warranty?

Asked by
Mark
South Coventry, PA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
March 31, 2015
I am in Southeastern PA.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JWebs
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2015
I am not a fan of extended warranties in general. Although there are moving parts, it really depends on your capabilities, your tools, and your proficiency with them. Read the user manual and then make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 22, 2015
Most major credit cards offer an additional year warranty as a benefit when using their card. This would give you a total of 4 years of coverage. I've submitted 3-4 claims with Discover Card, a minor hassle but well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2015
If I read it correctly, this sounds like a total of 6 years' protection for an extra $199. Take a look at what is not covered in the warranty. After 3 summers of rocks, the neighbor's hedge clippers discarded in my yard, scraping and repainting the deck, and oil changes I have spend a fair chunk of money on my mower. None of these are covered by warranty. For an additional 20% over the purchase price what do you really get? Extended warranties, in my opinion, are almost never a good deal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

About what size lawn is this good up to compared to just buying a riding mower instead? I have about 3/4 of an acre.

Asked by
KDinMich
Michigan
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
December 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 9, 2015
The TimeMaster is an excellent choice for any homeowner who wants to cover more ground in far less time. The recommended lot size for the TimeMaster is up to 1 acre.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
i have a zero turn and i like the walk behind better cause you can get closer to everything and i cut about an acre
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 17, 2015
I would say up to about 3/4-1 acre max, depending on how much exercise you are willing to get
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JWebs
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2015
My house sits on 1 acre and I can knock it out in under an hour. Now if you are in an open field that is different, might have to add another 20 minutes. Walking is good exercise (if you're into that kind of thing)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
I have just over an acre and this is my mower of choice. Takes a bit over an hour to mow my lawn including many obstacles. My neighbors with smaller yards all use riding mowers. Depends on how much you enjoy walking I guess. Personally I welcome the exercise even though these 59 year old knees do mildly object to the dancing involved to mow around and up and down my yard. Bagging the grass for a compost pile adds to the chore but worth it, I think.

My last yard was about 3 acres and I used a 42" walk behind and at least 4 hours out of my day. Now that one needed a riding mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

they recalled the timemaster and is home depot selling newer ones or will i have to get it fixed once i buy one tomorrow

Asked by
jeff
cherry hill nj.
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
June 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joey111
Rochester, MN
June 24, 2014
You should be fine. Just check the serial number... If it's greater than the 313 series, it has been addressed. I just bought mine 3 weeks ago and it's in the 314 series.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ToroTamer
Homer Glen, IL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
The recalled Model: 20199 and the serial number ranges are from: 313000101 to 313020271
I bought my TimeMaster in March 2014 and the serial number is: Serial #: 314001142
which doesn't fall into the recall range. When you go buy one (you won't regret it) just check that it falls outside the recall range. I've had no problems with mine and just love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
The models with a serial number that starts with 313 are the recalled ones. I bought mine today (9/1/2014) and it was SN starting with 314...infact, the other 2 they had at the store also started with 314.So i think you're good!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the life of the mower?

Asked by
leoj
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
February 6, 2014
How many hours can one expect to get out of this mower using excellent maintainence.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
brian
austin texas
April 29, 2014
years
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 8, 2014
That is a difficult question to answer. However, this model is built to last and with good care should last 15 years or more............easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
I can't speak specifically to this mower, but my smaller toro has lasted 12 years...still starts with 1 (occassionally 2) pull.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 7, 2014
This mower is built to last unlike the less expensive models that are built in Mexico. This is made in the USA. You can compare this to the quality of the older Toro mowers.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
February 21, 2014
Hi Loej,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HendrixFan
Fairfield Ct
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 14, 2015
I have a 12 year old Toro 21" 6hp B&S Personal Pace. Items replaced - spark plug, blade, drive wheels, drive cable. That is it. Still starts on 2 pulls and runs strong. I am waiting for it to die so I can buy the 30" which will cut the time to knock down my 1/2 acre.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
dashark
woodinville
August 30, 2014
one month I've had 2
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
JasonHC73
Kansas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 29, 2014
3 years residential use
45 hours commercial use.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this item be in stock again??

Asked by
rhc1
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
November 18, 2013
This item has been out of stock both online and in stores for weeks now. When will it be available again? I'm located in southern california.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in early December with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can it truly bag even wet or does it clog the bag chute?

Asked by
tim dart
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mixitup
Barrington, IL, USA
September 7, 2013
I have not tried bagging wet grass as that is typically trouble and too much work. I can tell you it will cut and mulch wet grass with out a challenge. Of course when mulching you never want to be cutting more than an inch or two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
September 7, 2013
I don't usually bag the grass, but this mower can be prone to clogging. I cut my grass when it is dry to minimize build up. I use the side discharge method. The blades do a good job of cutting up the grass into small pieces. I think it is much better to put the grass back into the lawn rather than the trash. Good for the landfill and the lawn. The deck will get a buildup of grass over time, but is easy to clean. Run the tank almost dry, lift the handle to vertical, tip the mower on its side and flush the deck with stream from hose. Don't bother with the cleanout thingy, doesn't really do much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dink
Villa Hills, KY, USA
September 7, 2013
The chute does clog. As one might expect with any mower, it does not cut well when wet and yes, the chute does clog up very rapidly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
September 18, 2013
Whether bagging, mulching, or side discharging, the moisture content of the grass will affect performance. Under normal mowing conditions, the unit will perform as desired, but wetter grass will universally impact the performance of any mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steve
October 17, 2013
The chute clogs very easily even when the grass is dry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
timewaster
cleveland tx
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 23, 2014
Depends on the height and thickness of the grass. A thick 6" damp rye grass will get clogged. But a dry 6" gulf coastal thick will not. You may have to raise the deck which is easy or take small tracks as you cut overlapping more. Mulching it can handle alot more than if your bagging.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the cuttig heights for the different letters? ex. What height does B cut at? What height does C cut at?

Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
September 4, 2013
To raise the machine, move the front and rear cutting height levers forward; to lower the machine, move the cutting height levers rearward. Set the front and rear wheels to the same height unless special circumstances require otherwise; refer to Cutting Grass and Cutting Leaves in Operating Tips in the Owner's Manual (page 15).

The cutting heights are:

1 (A). 1 inch (2.5 cm)
2 (B). 1-1/2 inches (3.8 cm)
3 (C). 2 inches (5.1 cm)
4 (D). 2-1/2 inches (6.4 cm)
5 (E). 3 inches (7.6 cm)
6 (F). 3-1/2 inches (8.9 cm)
7 (G). 4 inches (10.2 cm)

You can view the Owner's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nannette
Iowa Park, TX 76367, USA
October 29, 2013
If you place the mower on the driveway, you can measure the height to the bottom of the deck. That will give you the mowing height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Hawaii5oh
Manor, TX 78653, USA
June 5, 2014
According to the manual in English on page 10, the cutting heights are as follows: A)4.25". B)3.75". C)3.25". D)2.75". E)2.25". F)1.75". G)1.25".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
September 5, 2013
On my mower A is a higher cut than, B, which is higher than C...i.e. the higher the letter, the shorter the cut.

I've read the owners manual a few times and the heights aren't in there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
October 30, 2014
A is 4 in
B is 3.5 in
C is 3 in
D is 2.5 in
E is 2 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
September 4, 2013
Why would you care? Unless your lawn is absolutely flat the number is meaningless which would be the reason that they put an index mark rather than an actual measurement. If you already own this mower, take your ruler outside and measure after you've cut the grass. Your measurement will be different from mine on the same setting. Guaranteed.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What s the minimum height setting for mulching , I cannot find that in the manual

Asked by
jongne
France
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
August 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
August 5, 2013
The minimum cutting height is 1 inch (2.5 cm). You can view the Operator's Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
August 4, 2013
I think that depends on the conditions. Is the grass long? Is it wet? Since the machine has a tendancy to get a build up of grass, my method of mulching is to discharge the grass out the side. It still decomposes just fine. I have my mower set high, better for the grass.

This mower does have a tendancy to build up grass under the deck, so it's best to clean it with a stream of water. I lay it on it's side and squirt it with a hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rshciar2112
Pennsylvania, USA
April 30, 2014
I run mine on D and E and have excellent mulching, it turns the leaves to dust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
August 3, 2013
Mulching, bagging, or casting the clippings are independent of the cutting height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any difference between the Toro sold at Home Depot and one sold at a Toro Dealer?

Asked by
Bill
Cleveland, OH
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
fishfan
Tampa, FL, USA
May 27, 2013
I don't believe so. I bought my unit at a local mower shop because I like to give the little guys business. No complaints... i love my lawn mower... big test will be this summer as Florida lawns get thick and dense in the summer... Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
May 29, 2013
No, they are the same model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
If the model number is the same they will be identical.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
I doubt if there is any difference, but you may be able to negotiate a better price with a dealer. Plus warranty or service work may be prioritized if purchased from a dealer vs. someone who brings one in bought from Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
No, as long as you are buying the model 20199 it is the same. For me, I bought it at Home Depot because they were closer. Be aware that Home Depot does not carry most parts that this mower will need. Is it worth saving maybe 5%? Your call, but it is the same mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
meatball001
Saraland, AL, USA
May 26, 2013
buy both of them and try them out.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What RPM should engine be running at?

Asked by
Rydman
MI
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 16, 2013
Toro 20199 Engine of a sudden has started revving noticably faster. I checked linkage to self regulating throttle and all seems OK moves freely. I noticed throttle linkage goes into motor crank case instead of being attached to a wind sail that opens throttle when fan blows less (rpms drop). How does this self regulating throttle work? off oil pressure in engine? Thanks.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 17, 2013
While the linkage may move freely, the description you have provided indicates the linkage may have been bent from its original configuration. A service retailer will be able to determine the correct repair, and return the engine to its proper operating speed. We urge you to repair this machine before it is run again. If the engine speed is higher than our design requires your machine may be unsafe to operate.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are confident in our service retailers, and their ability to determine the correct repair to return your machine to proper operating condition. If you have any additional questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

You can find your nearest servicing retailer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Will
Galway NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 14, 2014
the governor on this engine is an internal one. the engine WILL rev higher when the blades are off, then when they are engaged. if you fear its going to damage the engine, take it to a dealer, and have them check it out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Stripping kit

Asked by
To809
Weymouth Ma
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 11, 2013
will the toro stripping kit sold at home depot fit on this machine
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
May 12, 2013
Since it is designed for 20-22 inch mowers, I am not sure it would fit well. I have an acre of grass but did not want to ride. The major plus for the wide mower is speed for a large lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
May 16, 2013
The Toro Lawn Striping System is designed to fit most 21”-22” walk behind mowers. The TimeMaster is a 30" mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a normal size 11 year old boy handle this mower on a level surface?

Asked by
Papa
Long Island
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 27, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mowingman
May 12, 2013
I would say no - it is heavy. unless he is a wrestler!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
PA
May 12, 2013
Yes but it requires instruction and more understanding than a simpler mower due to self propel and blade controls
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Savf
Carmel, NY, USA
April 27, 2013
Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
I would say yes, as long as parental supervision is nearby.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
April 27, 2013
The self propelled part works great, but it is very heavy and my 10 yr old grandson has to struggle to turn it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
April 27, 2013
Flat lawn yes, no problem.
Hills: depends on how steep, I'd say if the mower could roll on it's own from it, no.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Toro
May 31, 2013
Please read the Safety section of the Operator's Manual for directions on safe operation of the mower. You can view the Operator's Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf. Below is an excerpt from the manual regarding safe mower operation.

General Operation
• Read, understand, and follow all instructions on the machine and in the manual(s) before starting.
• Do not put hands or feet near or under the machine. Keep clear of the discharge opening at all times.
• Only allow responsible adults, who are familiar with the instructions, to operate this machine.
• Clear the area of objects such as rocks, wire, toys, etc., which could be thrown by the blade. Stay behind the handle when the engine is running.
• Be sure the area is clear of bystanders before operating. Stop machine if anyone enters the area.
• Do not operate machine barefooted or while wearing sandals. Always wear substantial footwear.
• Do not pull the machine backward unless it is absolutely necessary. Always look down and behind before and while moving backward.
• Never direct discharged material toward anyone. Avoid discharging material against a wall or obstruction. Material may ricochet back toward the operator. Stop the blade when crossing gravel surfaces.
• Do not operate machine without the entire grass catcher, discharge guard, rear guard, or other safety protective devices in place and working.
• Never leave a running machine unattended.
• Stop the engine and wait until the blades come to a complete stop before cleaning the machine, removing the grass catcher, or unclogging the discharge guard.
• Operate machine only in daylight or good artificial light.
• Do not operate machine while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
• Never operate the machine in wet grass. Always be sure of your footing; walk; never run.
• Disengage the drive system, if so equipped, before starting the engine.
• If the machine should start to vibrate abnormally, stop the engine and check for the cause immediately. Vibration is generally a warning of trouble.
• Always wear eye protection when operating the machine.
• See the manufacturer's instructions for proper operation and installation of accessories. Use only accessories approved by the manufacturer.

Children
Tragic accidents can occur if the operator is not alert to the presence of children. Children are often attracted to the machine and the mowing activity. Never assume that children will remain where you last saw them.

• Keep children out of the mowing area and under the watchful care of a responsible adult other than the operator.
• Be alert and turn machine off if a child enters the area.
• Never allow children to operate the machine.
• Use extra care when approaching blind corners, shrubs, trees, or other objects that may block your view of a child.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Caliche
Boerne, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 14, 2015
I would say yes. My 12yr old used this machine and had no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There seems to be some doubt about the ability of this mower to work on inclinces... can it mow on a 10% grade?

Asked by
Papa
Long Island
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
10% Yes. Anything more than that I would say no. For me I seem to have problems around 30% of grade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jm13
New Jersey
May 13, 2013
Yes it can , but i noticed when the lawn is a little wet the rear wheels slip a little. But it can handle the incline. I have been on many.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
Pennsylvania, USA
May 15, 2013
Yes I have 30 percent in certain spots it will grip if dry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
April 27, 2013
10% yes, no problem.
At around 20% it turns into a real chore, it starts to lose traction going straight up, slides going sideways and straight down you better hold tight cause it turns into a runaway freight train. lol
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
May 12, 2013
Yes.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Savf
Carmel, NY, USA
April 27, 2013
I bought one this week and took right back, it cannot handle inclines. Stalled 6 times on me, I think it is under powered for its weight.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Toro
May 31, 2013
Please view the Operator's Manual for addtional information on safe mower operation. You can view the manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.

Slope Operation
Slopes are a major factor related to slip-and-fall accidents, which can result in severe injury. Operation on all slopes require extra caution. If you feel uneasy on a slope, do not mow it.
• Mow across the face of slopes; never up and down. Exercise extreme caution when changing direction on slopes.
• Watch for holes, ruts, bumps, rocks, or other hidden objects. Uneven terrain could cause a slip-and-fall accident. Tall grass can hide obstacles.
• Do not mow on wet grass or excessively steep slopes. Poor footing could cause a slip-and-fall accident.
• Do not mow near drop-offs, ditches, or embankments. You could lose your footing or balance.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »