Looking for Answers about Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

TimeMaster 30 in. Personal Pace Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine. For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions
 | 
219 Answers
Overall rating:
4.101 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

Question

is it a commercial lawn mower?

Asked by
koalathom
Rockford, Illinois
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
July 11, 2015
i just want a commercial Toro 30" lawnmower please let me know i live in Rockford Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2015
This is a homeowner mower. The commercial Toro's are much more expensive, I believe around $1500-$2000. I am very pleased with it after 3 months. Good power, nice even cut, twin blades really chew the grass up very fine. Although not a large engine, but it really cuts well and really packs the grass tightly in the grass catcher, probably twice as much as the 21-22" mowers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
July 13, 2015
No, this is a residential mower. Toro's commercial 30" lawn mower is the TurfMaster, model # 22200. Please contact Toro Customer Support for product availability at 1-888-552-5153. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Pueblo CO
July 13, 2015
No its residential
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mowguy
Worcester, MA
July 14, 2015
I would say that it is not a commercial lawn mower, I don't think it would take the wear and tear of getting pulled off and on a truck 10 times a day to mow lawns all over the place. It will mow very fast like you want a commercial mower to do. And it is more robust than your average homeowner push mower. The blade drive is belt driven so there is wear and tear on each start up, keep an extra belt around. If you are a careful conscientious mower and you are going to read and adhere to the instruction manual then you could get away with using this in a commercial setting. If you are going to beat on it and expect it to survive as well as a $4000 commercial mower you will be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 21, 2015
No. There is an Exmark version and a Toro TurfMaster version that are the commercial versions of this same mower, but many buyers of this model are commercial users, even as it is not recommended as such, and has only something like a 30-day commercial warranty.

Those commercial versions list at $1800 and up and there are some Youtube video reviews where commercial landscape companies have both TimeMaster and TurfMaster and/or Exmark units, and they actually have fewer problems, in general, with the TimeMaster 30. The commercial versions have a Kawasaki engine (not more powerful); solid handles; tougher wheels; tougher front-wheel adjusters; and tougher front end; and do not have personal-pace control, but they share the same transmission and deck. There seems to be more problems with the commercial transmission models versus the TimeMaster model and some think the TimeMaster cuts a little better and most prefer the Personal Pace, because it's easier to operate. Also, the commercial versions are quite a bit heavier, but they do have tougher components for banging around on a trailer and constant loading and unloading like in a commercial setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a mulching blade and/or a 2-in-1 blade be used? If so, which specific blades to get (brand, part number....?)

Asked by
masterp
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
July 2, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 3, 2015
Hi masterp,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.

Toro lawn mowers are all designed to efficiently cut a variety of grasses and give you optimum performance whether you are mulching the lawn, or bagging the clippings.

Toro has developed the Atomic Blade that is used with their 22'' walk behind mowers as well as with the Dual-Force cutting system that also utilizes Atomic Blades.

These blades are original equipment on these mowers and will allow you to achieve superior cutting, whether you're mulching, bagging or discharging the clippings.

The part number for the TimeMaster 30'' Standard Blade set is Model # 20120P.

Toro offers a high lift version of the Atomic Blade set for the TimeMaster 30''. These high lift blades work well if you bag your clippings or side discharge primarily.

TimeMaster 30'' High Lift blades are Model # 20122P.

Both of these blade sets are available on homedepot.com

Thank you for asking,

-Travis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 3, 2015
Blades on this mower are specifically designed for it. This mower is made to mulch and depending on condition of my lawn I mulch, bag, and/or cast. Does them all well unless the grass is high,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
July 6, 2015
We recommend genuine Toro parts are designed specifically for your machine and built to exacting standards with tight tolerances. Other parts simply don’t stack up to the quality, performance and value of Genuine Toro Parts. The blades fit models 20199 and 20200.

Please locate the Toro Atomic blades @ http://www.homedepot.com/p/Toro-TimeMaster-30-in-Replacement-Blade-Kit-20120P/203133086
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dantheman
Knoxville, TN
July 20, 2015
I've only ever seen the normal blades for sale. I have a spare set that I alternate with... It mulches my yard good as long as the blades are sharp. When they get dull you will know it as it starts bogging down. Even a brand new purchased set of blades needs sharpening FYI. It also does a decent job on leaves. I have 12 large trees in the yard. Now if you try to mulch 3" at a time, it will bog, thats too much. Use the side chute if you've waited too long
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Blades and Washout Coupling

Asked by
jlg007
SF, SD
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
June 4, 2015
I see HD recommends 2 different replacement blade packages. What is the difference in these 2 blades disigns if any? My mower did not come with a washout coupling. Is this normal and if so, where can I purchase one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 7, 2015
Did you try one of those parts houses on the internet or just complain to HD and threaten to return the mower since you should have received the hose coupling.

As far as two different blade configurations, one is the pair that are originally installed on the mower and the other are mulching blades. Best way to mow is sharp blades. Easily sharpened with a decent file. Don't really need to remove blades to sharpen, but if you are messing with blades, always disconnect the spark plug wire. If you don't know how to do that, you have no business under the mower :o)

This mower tends to clog up easily and what works best for me is to use the side discharge method. Never had any luck with mulching blades. Side discharge grass will decompose also, just probably takes a bit longer.

One could also just bag the clippings, but what a waste or organic materials. Seems a bit crazy to throw down a fifty dollar bag of fertilizer only to cut the fertile grass and dump it in the trash.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
June 12, 2015
Please provide the model year for your mower so that we can determine the correct replacement blade for you. Your mower should have come with the washout coupling. Please contact Toro Customer Support at 1-888-384-9939 for help in obtaining the washout coupling. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jlg007
SF, SD
June 12, 2015
The mower in question is a 2015 Model # 20199.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Once unboxed, will this mower fit, strapped in, part ways in an average compact/midsize sedan trunk ?

Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 25, 2015
It's not the width but the length versus height that has me worried. If the engine and deck combination height is too great and that height is too far forward on the machine, then the front wheels will not allow for it to roll far enough in the trunk area before the machine hits the top trim of the trunk. If it'll roll a couple of feet into the trunk area before the top hits, then it can be successfully strapped in and the trunk lid strapped down over the top of the rest of the machine hanging out. My next car will be a hatchback or wagon just for this reason. Can carry many more items of more height. I can put my 22", highwheel mower all the way and close the lid in my VW Jetta, but this thing is a beast compared to the 22.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 26, 2015
In order to determine whether the mower will fit into the truck, measure the opening size. If this length is less than the height of the mower you’re measuring, it unfortunately will not fit. Without knowing these dimensions it is difficult to determine whether or not it will fit. It is quite a bit taller than a traditional 22” mower, so it is very possible that it will not fit. The last alternative is to remove all four wheels. If you remove the wheels you will gain a few additional inches of room.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rusty
June 23, 2015
probably. but only in an awkward way...???
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EmLawnDoctor
Maryland
June 28, 2015
Don't think it will fit. First of all it will be tough to lift in and out of trunk by yourself. Weighs almost 130 lbs without fuel. SUV no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Downsizing
North Carolina
June 28, 2015
I have a hatchback Honda Crosstour and it won't fit to a point to let the lid close all the way. It folds down pretty tight but just a little bit too wide and tall. Now way it would fit thru a trunk lid in a newer model car. Maybe an old Impala :).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2015
It may fit in some cars, but you better have help loading and unloading as it is very heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
dantheman
Knoxville, TN
July 20, 2015
Once you try and lift it, you will realize why that's a bad idea. It is heavy. Probably 130 lbs. Don't worry about the handle though, it folds down. my guess on the dimensions (minus the handle) are 30"x42"x18" Its seriously heavy and hard to lift though, be careful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 21, 2015
I've had the mower for a while now; I ended up having it shipped for free so didn't need the car. I can now answer my own question. Yes it will fit to the point to tie it in my VW Jetta Sedan trunk (2005.5-2008 model). I wasn't concerned about the lifting part; I had the spec's on the weight, but putting a walk-behind in a car trunk can be easily managed (weight wise) with two persons; one on each side; grabbing both the front and rear wheel on each side and sort of easily dumping rolling it in place. My question was with regards to the height. If an item is too tall, then it can't be placed in far enough through a trunk opening so that most of the weight is in the trunk and not out of the trunk. In the case of this item; and a VW Jetta, which has a pretty large opening for a compact car (looks larger than a Civic) it does fit to the point that it can be tied down. And this means I can haul it off for service if necessary w/o having to get another vehicle or trailer. Of course a hatchback or wagon would work better, but a Jetta does work; albeit, just barely.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much does the Toro 30" walk behind weigh?

Asked by
Dick
Urbandale, IA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 18, 2015
electric start
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 18, 2015
Product weight is 132 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
130 pounds....heavy! Hard to push if not under power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 18, 2015
The approximate weight of the lawn mower is 132 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you adjust the self propel?

Asked by
Smoky
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 3, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 4, 2015
The Personal Pace technology automatically adjusts the mower’s pace to your walking speed. For more challenging areas with uneven terrain, the Traction-Assist Handle can help monitor your speed, and keep you mowing at a comfortable pace. If you are looking to adjust the self-propel-drive cable, please view the “Adjusting the Self-propel Drive Cable” section of the Operator’s Manual. You can view the manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
denver
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 21, 2015
It's best to just walk forward and the bar will move accordingly, rather than pushing on the bar. If you push on the bar the mower can move faster than you wish it to. I discovered this after a few times mowing with my personal pace recycler.

The other 'skinny' bar activates the blades and makes them go round and round. It does not move the cutting blades up and down. They are the same height except when you raise or lower the deck via adjusting the front and rear wheels.

p.s. I removed the blue plastic bar on the handle. It was not needed for my yard and just got in the way.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
As you push the handle forward the self-propel adjusts. Works pretty slick and you don't even notice it working. It speeds and slows with your pace.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
John
Conroe, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
The self-propel is located at the very top of the handle (the thicker bar). To adjust the speed, simply push down on that top bar and the farther down you push, the faster it will propel. The thinner bar is to bring the blades down to cut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Downsizing
North Carolina
June 28, 2015
The directions actually make it look harder than it is. There is a small knob on the handle that allows easy adjustment. Easy to do, replacing doesn't looks so easy....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
July 21, 2015
The adjustment is on the handle bar, left side with pictures to help those with reading deficiencies or those who speak other languages. It's like a large, plastic wing nut that you loosen and then pull or push the cable up or down to adjust the traction less or more; and then re tighten the wing nut. Pretty simple and works well so far for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Time Master and Exmark Commercial 30 only ones like this?

Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 3, 2015
My research shows there are only two mower models like this available to the American consumer. What I mean "like this" is that they are traditional looking and operating walk-behinds, but have a wider-than-standard width cut.

The only exception is a Gravely Pro 24, but that's only a two inch increase from standard.

Is this right? Are there any others? One-thousand bucks is alot of money for adding cutting width. I could get three well-equipped, equally-featured, 21-22 inch mowers for this price.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
I agree that this is a lot of money for what you get but I was not able to find anything equivalent. My yard is not an easy one and I have had to replace the blades and blade adapters from hitting things that would not cut. Nothing else in the mechanism was damaged from this abuse. Bought mine in 2011 and it has served me well. It is reasonably frugal on gas, using no more than a 22" would be using for the same amount of running time. The Recycler 20333 has the blade stop system like this mower has, is less complex and if 22" cut is enough for your yard, I'd save the $600. I'd hate to think of mowing an acre with it though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
Yes and the real difference isn't so much the cost but the cutting height! The same cut for the Professional Walk behinds is "Less" than the Toro. More cash but less cutting height ?? I am now looking into the Exmark since my Toro already broke down within 3 weeks of use! The Toro lacks serious power too!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an aftermarket grass exhaust shoot available-mine kept failing off ?

Asked by
Bobby
Greenville SC
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 22, 2015
Mine was distroyed by mower-edge got caught. The exhaust works good with door open-but I get covered with grass.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 22, 2015
I would doubt seriously if someone else made the chute/deflector for this machine. I would be extremely careful mowing with the door up as this mower throws the grass over 15 ft. About twice as far as a standard size mower. If it gets hold to a rock or any other object, it could be very dangerous for anyone close by.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 7, 2015
If you are referring to the side discharge chute, mine suffered the same damage. I manage to keep it on, but I have to be careful. The main drawback of this mower is that all the clippings don't make it out of the deck and out the chute, thereby clogging and dumping clumps of grass, especially when it's damp.

I tried not using the chute also got covered with grass. I did take a hacksaw to it and removed a lot of the end and sides of the chute so the grass now goes farther out onto the lawn.

There's a little plastic hook on either side of the swing up door that fits into the chute to keep it in place. One of the hooks on my door got bent back a bit when going through a gate but I managed to bend it back a bit. Real repair (other than DIY) would be to replace the swing up door.

Good mower with some bad design issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a hook that you can connect a sulky to and ride?

Asked by
Drew
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Volfan
Kingsport, TN.
April 14, 2015
It doesn't have this feature. The engine doesn't have the power to pull a velky.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MCS1005
Chatsworth, GA
April 14, 2015
No. Walk behind only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 17, 2015
no it doesn't, mower probably would not have the power for this
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fishytim2
Tampa, Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Purchasing/ordering & gas additive.

Asked by
Mark
South Coventry, PA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 5, 2015
If I order this online it has free delivery. Is the assembly difficult?

Also, can a high octane gas be used in lieu of the additive?

Thanks in advance!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 6, 2015
Assembly is very easy.

This mower uses regular gasoline, no additive needed. If you are looking at the Sta-Bil fuel additive, this is for winter storage. I do not recommend this stuff. At the end of the season just run the engine until it stalls from lack of gasoline.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
No assembly required, just push the button and raise the handle up to it's normal position. I only use ETHANOL FREE gas in all of my small equipment, well worth the extra money as ethanol is a killer on small engines. And even with that, I still use fuel stabilizer such as Sta-Bil. Ethanol gas does nothing except make the farmers rich who are usually mega corporations who also receive federal subsidies. Ethanol gas gets worse gas mileage and can be very harmful to engines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 7, 2015
You don't need high octane fuel or additives in this mower. Or any mower for that matter, BUT, ethanol is not good for any gasoline engine. If you want to do right by your power equipment, find a station that sells pure gas (no ethanol). You can find an app for your cell phone that will direct you to a source. Check out Pure Gas. It led me to a station 20 miles away that I use for lawn mower fuel. No more vapor lock. All my stuff starts on the first pull, hot or cold engine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
April 6, 2015
Thank you for your interest in the Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with a Briggs & Stratton Engine.

Assembly of the TimeMaster is very easy. There are no tools required and in a few steps your mower will be ready for its first use.

Regarding fuel, unless you are referring to non-oxygenated (ethanol-free) fuel, even a high-octane fuel still contains ethanol. A fuel additive remains recommended for all blends of fuel that contain ethanol.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gregsfc
Cookeville, TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 26, 2015
Absolutely buy pure gas if it's available in your state and community. Solves alot of issues and worries. Go to link www.pure-gas.org. Put in your state; scroll down to find your nearest town, and it'll have the fuel stations listed that offer ethanol-free gas. However, in some states pure gas is not available whatsoever. You'll pay extra if it is; in TN, one can expect to pay up to 30 cents more per gallon, but I've seen in some states that the premium is more like $1, but it's still worth it as long as it's not too far away from your home.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Stang
PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 27, 2015
PIck up a bottle of Seafoam at your local auto parts store. They may even sell it at Home Depot but not sure. Add 1oz per one gallon of standard 87 octane fuel (i.e. 5 oz in your 5 gallon gas can) and you will have no worries with 10% ethanol fuel, ever.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you recommend purchasing the Home Depot extended warranty?

Asked by
Mark
South Coventry, PA
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
March 31, 2015
I am in Southeastern PA.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JWebs
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2015
I am not a fan of extended warranties in general. Although there are moving parts, it really depends on your capabilities, your tools, and your proficiency with them. Read the user manual and then make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2015
If I read it correctly, this sounds like a total of 6 years' protection for an extra $199. Take a look at what is not covered in the warranty. After 3 summers of rocks, the neighbor's hedge clippers discarded in my yard, scraping and repainting the deck, and oil changes I have spend a fair chunk of money on my mower. None of these are covered by warranty. For an additional 20% over the purchase price what do you really get? Extended warranties, in my opinion, are almost never a good deal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 22, 2015
Most major credit cards offer an additional year warranty as a benefit when using their card. This would give you a total of 4 years of coverage. I've submitted 3-4 claims with Discover Card, a minor hassle but well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

About what size lawn is this good up to compared to just buying a riding mower instead? I have about 3/4 of an acre.

Asked by
KDinMich
Michigan
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
December 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 9, 2015
The TimeMaster is an excellent choice for any homeowner who wants to cover more ground in far less time. The recommended lot size for the TimeMaster is up to 1 acre.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JWebs
Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2015
My house sits on 1 acre and I can knock it out in under an hour. Now if you are in an open field that is different, might have to add another 20 minutes. Walking is good exercise (if you're into that kind of thing)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
i have a zero turn and i like the walk behind better cause you can get closer to everything and i cut about an acre
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
I have just over an acre and this is my mower of choice. Takes a bit over an hour to mow my lawn including many obstacles. My neighbors with smaller yards all use riding mowers. Depends on how much you enjoy walking I guess. Personally I welcome the exercise even though these 59 year old knees do mildly object to the dancing involved to mow around and up and down my yard. Bagging the grass for a compost pile adds to the chore but worth it, I think.

My last yard was about 3 acres and I used a 42" walk behind and at least 4 hours out of my day. Now that one needed a riding mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
April 17, 2015
I would say up to about 3/4-1 acre max, depending on how much exercise you are willing to get
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

they recalled the timemaster and is home depot selling newer ones or will i have to get it fixed once i buy one tomorrow

Asked by
jeff
cherry hill nj.
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
June 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joey111
Rochester, MN
June 24, 2014
You should be fine. Just check the serial number... If it's greater than the 313 series, it has been addressed. I just bought mine 3 weeks ago and it's in the 314 series.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ToroTamer
Homer Glen, IL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
The recalled Model: 20199 and the serial number ranges are from: 313000101 to 313020271
I bought my TimeMaster in March 2014 and the serial number is: Serial #: 314001142
which doesn't fall into the recall range. When you go buy one (you won't regret it) just check that it falls outside the recall range. I've had no problems with mine and just love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
The models with a serial number that starts with 313 are the recalled ones. I bought mine today (9/1/2014) and it was SN starting with 314...infact, the other 2 they had at the store also started with 314.So i think you're good!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the life of the mower?

Asked by
leoj
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
February 6, 2014
How many hours can one expect to get out of this mower using excellent maintainence.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 8, 2014
That is a difficult question to answer. However, this model is built to last and with good care should last 15 years or more............easily.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
February 21, 2014
Hi Loej,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
brian
austin texas
April 29, 2014
years
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JasonHC73
Kansas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 29, 2014
3 years residential use
45 hours commercial use.
-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
dashark
woodinville
August 30, 2014
one month I've had 2
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
I can't speak specifically to this mower, but my smaller toro has lasted 12 years...still starts with 1 (occassionally 2) pull.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 7, 2014
This mower is built to last unlike the less expensive models that are built in Mexico. This is made in the USA. You can compare this to the quality of the older Toro mowers.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HendrixFan
Fairfield Ct
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 14, 2015
I have a 12 year old Toro 21" 6hp B&S Personal Pace. Items replaced - spark plug, blade, drive wheels, drive cable. That is it. Still starts on 2 pulls and runs strong. I am waiting for it to die so I can buy the 30" which will cut the time to knock down my 1/2 acre.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this item be in stock again??

Asked by
rhc1
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
November 18, 2013
This item has been out of stock both online and in stores for weeks now. When will it be available again? I'm located in southern california.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in early December with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can it truly bag even wet or does it clog the bag chute?

Asked by
tim dart
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
September 18, 2013
Whether bagging, mulching, or side discharging, the moisture content of the grass will affect performance. Under normal mowing conditions, the unit will perform as desired, but wetter grass will universally impact the performance of any mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mixitup
Barrington, IL, USA
September 7, 2013
I have not tried bagging wet grass as that is typically trouble and too much work. I can tell you it will cut and mulch wet grass with out a challenge. Of course when mulching you never want to be cutting more than an inch or two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver, CO, USA
September 7, 2013
I don't usually bag the grass, but this mower can be prone to clogging. I cut my grass when it is dry to minimize build up. I use the side discharge method. The blades do a good job of cutting up the grass into small pieces. I think it is much better to put the grass back into the lawn rather than the trash. Good for the landfill and the lawn. The deck will get a buildup of grass over time, but is easy to clean. Run the tank almost dry, lift the handle to vertical, tip the mower on its side and flush the deck with stream from hose. Don't bother with the cleanout thingy, doesn't really do much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dink
Villa Hills, KY, USA
September 7, 2013
The chute does clog. As one might expect with any mower, it does not cut well when wet and yes, the chute does clog up very rapidly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steve
October 17, 2013
The chute clogs very easily even when the grass is dry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
timewaster
cleveland tx
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 23, 2014
Depends on the height and thickness of the grass. A thick 6" damp rye grass will get clogged. But a dry 6" gulf coastal thick will not. You may have to raise the deck which is easy or take small tracks as you cut overlapping more. Mulching it can handle alot more than if your bagging.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the cuttig heights for the different letters? ex. What height does B cut at? What height does C cut at?

Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
September 4, 2013
Why would you care? Unless your lawn is absolutely flat the number is meaningless which would be the reason that they put an index mark rather than an actual measurement. If you already own this mower, take your ruler outside and measure after you've cut the grass. Your measurement will be different from mine on the same setting. Guaranteed.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
September 4, 2013
To raise the machine, move the front and rear cutting height levers forward; to lower the machine, move the cutting height levers rearward. Set the front and rear wheels to the same height unless special circumstances require otherwise; refer to Cutting Grass and Cutting Leaves in Operating Tips in the Owner's Manual (page 15).

The cutting heights are:

1 (A). 1 inch (2.5 cm)
2 (B). 1-1/2 inches (3.8 cm)
3 (C). 2 inches (5.1 cm)
4 (D). 2-1/2 inches (6.4 cm)
5 (E). 3 inches (7.6 cm)
6 (F). 3-1/2 inches (8.9 cm)
7 (G). 4 inches (10.2 cm)

You can view the Owner's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nannette
Iowa Park, TX 76367, USA
October 29, 2013
If you place the mower on the driveway, you can measure the height to the bottom of the deck. That will give you the mowing height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
September 5, 2013
On my mower A is a higher cut than, B, which is higher than C...i.e. the higher the letter, the shorter the cut.

I've read the owners manual a few times and the heights aren't in there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Hawaii5oh
Manor, TX 78653, USA
June 5, 2014
According to the manual in English on page 10, the cutting heights are as follows: A)4.25". B)3.75". C)3.25". D)2.75". E)2.25". F)1.75". G)1.25".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
October 30, 2014
A is 4 in
B is 3.5 in
C is 3 in
D is 2.5 in
E is 2 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What s the minimum height setting for mulching , I cannot find that in the manual

Asked by
jongne
France
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
August 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
August 3, 2013
Mulching, bagging, or casting the clippings are independent of the cutting height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ironbuttrider
Denver, CO, USA
August 4, 2013
I think that depends on the conditions. Is the grass long? Is it wet? Since the machine has a tendancy to get a build up of grass, my method of mulching is to discharge the grass out the side. It still decomposes just fine. I have my mower set high, better for the grass.

This mower does have a tendancy to build up grass under the deck, so it's best to clean it with a stream of water. I lay it on it's side and squirt it with a hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
August 5, 2013
The minimum cutting height is 1 inch (2.5 cm). You can view the Operator's Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rshciar2112
Pennsylvania, USA
April 30, 2014
I run mine on D and E and have excellent mulching, it turns the leaves to dust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any difference between the Toro sold at Home Depot and one sold at a Toro Dealer?

Asked by
Bill
Cleveland, OH
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 29, 2013
No, they are the same model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
No, as long as you are buying the model 20199 it is the same. For me, I bought it at Home Depot because they were closer. Be aware that Home Depot does not carry most parts that this mower will need. Is it worth saving maybe 5%? Your call, but it is the same mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fotoguy21159
Lynchburg VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
I doubt if there is any difference, but you may be able to negotiate a better price with a dealer. Plus warranty or service work may be prioritized if purchased from a dealer vs. someone who brings one in bought from Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fakeusa
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
If the model number is the same they will be identical.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fishfan
Tampa, FL, USA
May 27, 2013
I don't believe so. I bought my unit at a local mower shop because I like to give the little guys business. No complaints... i love my lawn mower... big test will be this summer as Florida lawns get thick and dense in the summer... Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
meatball001
Saraland, AL, USA
May 26, 2013
buy both of them and try them out.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What RPM should engine be running at?

Asked by
Rydman
MI
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 16, 2013
Toro 20199 Engine of a sudden has started revving noticably faster. I checked linkage to self regulating throttle and all seems OK moves freely. I noticed throttle linkage goes into motor crank case instead of being attached to a wind sail that opens throttle when fan blows less (rpms drop). How does this self regulating throttle work? off oil pressure in engine? Thanks.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 17, 2013
While the linkage may move freely, the description you have provided indicates the linkage may have been bent from its original configuration. A service retailer will be able to determine the correct repair, and return the engine to its proper operating speed. We urge you to repair this machine before it is run again. If the engine speed is higher than our design requires your machine may be unsafe to operate.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are confident in our service retailers, and their ability to determine the correct repair to return your machine to proper operating condition. If you have any additional questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

You can find your nearest servicing retailer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Will
Galway NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 14, 2014
the governor on this engine is an internal one. the engine WILL rev higher when the blades are off, then when they are engaged. if you fear its going to damage the engine, take it to a dealer, and have them check it out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »