Looking for Answers about Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

TimeMaster 30 in. Personal Pace Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine. For homeowners seeking a lawn mower with high quality, a user-friendly design, and excellent mulching capability. Toro products are known for Smart Features and Proven Dependability. Count On It.
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions
 | 
167 Answers
Overall rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine

Question

About what size lawn is this good up to compared to just buying a riding mower instead? I have about 3/4 of an acre.

Asked by
KDinMich
Michigan
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
December 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
i have a zero turn and i like the walk behind better cause you can get closer to everything and i cut about an acre
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2014
I have just over an acre and this is my mower of choice. Takes a bit over an hour to mow my lawn including many obstacles. My neighbors with smaller yards all use riding mowers. Depends on how much you enjoy walking I guess. Personally I welcome the exercise even though these 59 year old knees do mildly object to the dancing involved to mow around and up and down my yard. Bagging the grass for a compost pile adds to the chore but worth it, I think.

My last yard was about 3 acres and I used a 42" walk behind and at least 4 hours out of my day. Now that one needed a riding mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

they recalled the timemaster and is home depot selling newer ones or will i have to get it fixed once i buy one tomorrow

Asked by
jeff
cherry hill nj.
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
June 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joey111
Rochester, MN
June 24, 2014
You should be fine. Just check the serial number... If it's greater than the 313 series, it has been addressed. I just bought mine 3 weeks ago and it's in the 314 series.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ToroTamer
Homer Glen, IL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
The recalled Model: 20199 and the serial number ranges are from: 313000101 to 313020271
I bought my TimeMaster in March 2014 and the serial number is: Serial #: 314001142
which doesn't fall into the recall range. When you go buy one (you won't regret it) just check that it falls outside the recall range. I've had no problems with mine and just love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
The models with a serial number that starts with 313 are the recalled ones. I bought mine today (9/1/2014) and it was SN starting with 314...infact, the other 2 they had at the store also started with 314.So i think you're good!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the life of the mower?

Asked by
leoj
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
February 6, 2014
How many hours can one expect to get out of this mower using excellent maintainence.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
February 21, 2014
Hi Loej,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
brian
austin texas
April 29, 2014
years
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JasonHC73
Kansas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 29, 2014
3 years residential use
45 hours commercial use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dashark
woodinville
August 30, 2014
one month I've had 2
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RickG
Illinois
September 1, 2014
I can't speak specifically to this mower, but my smaller toro has lasted 12 years...still starts with 1 (occassionally 2) pull.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 7, 2014
This mower is built to last unlike the less expensive models that are built in Mexico. This is made in the USA. You can compare this to the quality of the older Toro mowers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GoodDog
Akron, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 8, 2014
That is a difficult question to answer. However, this model is built to last and with good care should last 15 years or more............easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this item be in stock again??

Asked by
rhc1
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
November 18, 2013
This item has been out of stock both online and in stores for weeks now. When will it be available again? I'm located in southern california.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in early December with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can it truly bag even wet or does it clog the bag chute?

Asked by
tim dart
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mixitup
Barrington, IL, USA
September 7, 2013
I have not tried bagging wet grass as that is typically trouble and too much work. I can tell you it will cut and mulch wet grass with out a challenge. Of course when mulching you never want to be cutting more than an inch or two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
September 7, 2013
I don't usually bag the grass, but this mower can be prone to clogging. I cut my grass when it is dry to minimize build up. I use the side discharge method. The blades do a good job of cutting up the grass into small pieces. I think it is much better to put the grass back into the lawn rather than the trash. Good for the landfill and the lawn. The deck will get a buildup of grass over time, but is easy to clean. Run the tank almost dry, lift the handle to vertical, tip the mower on its side and flush the deck with stream from hose. Don't bother with the cleanout thingy, doesn't really do much.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dink
Villa Hills, KY, USA
September 7, 2013
The chute does clog. As one might expect with any mower, it does not cut well when wet and yes, the chute does clog up very rapidly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
September 18, 2013
Whether bagging, mulching, or side discharging, the moisture content of the grass will affect performance. Under normal mowing conditions, the unit will perform as desired, but wetter grass will universally impact the performance of any mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steve
October 17, 2013
The chute clogs very easily even when the grass is dry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
timewaster
cleveland tx
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 23, 2014
Depends on the height and thickness of the grass. A thick 6" damp rye grass will get clogged. But a dry 6" gulf coastal thick will not. You may have to raise the deck which is easy or take small tracks as you cut overlapping more. Mulching it can handle alot more than if your bagging.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the cuttig heights for the different letters? ex. What height does B cut at? What height does C cut at?

Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
September 4, 2013
Why would you care? Unless your lawn is absolutely flat the number is meaningless which would be the reason that they put an index mark rather than an actual measurement. If you already own this mower, take your ruler outside and measure after you've cut the grass. Your measurement will be different from mine on the same setting. Guaranteed.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
September 4, 2013
To raise the machine, move the front and rear cutting height levers forward; to lower the machine, move the cutting height levers rearward. Set the front and rear wheels to the same height unless special circumstances require otherwise; refer to Cutting Grass and Cutting Leaves in Operating Tips in the Owner's Manual (page 15).

The cutting heights are:

1 (A). 1 inch (2.5 cm)
2 (B). 1-1/2 inches (3.8 cm)
3 (C). 2 inches (5.1 cm)
4 (D). 2-1/2 inches (6.4 cm)
5 (E). 3 inches (7.6 cm)
6 (F). 3-1/2 inches (8.9 cm)
7 (G). 4 inches (10.2 cm)

You can view the Owner's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Gerhardt
Columbia, MO
September 5, 2013
On my mower A is a higher cut than, B, which is higher than C...i.e. the higher the letter, the shorter the cut.

I've read the owners manual a few times and the heights aren't in there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nannette
Iowa Park, TX 76367, USA
October 29, 2013
If you place the mower on the driveway, you can measure the height to the bottom of the deck. That will give you the mowing height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Hawaii5oh
Manor, TX 78653, USA
June 5, 2014
According to the manual in English on page 10, the cutting heights are as follows: A)4.25". B)3.75". C)3.25". D)2.75". E)2.25". F)1.75". G)1.25".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
billybob
lexington ky
October 30, 2014
A is 4 in
B is 3.5 in
C is 3 in
D is 2.5 in
E is 2 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What s the minimum height setting for mulching , I cannot find that in the manual

Asked by
jongne
France
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
August 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
August 3, 2013
Mulching, bagging, or casting the clippings are independent of the cutting height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
August 4, 2013
I think that depends on the conditions. Is the grass long? Is it wet? Since the machine has a tendancy to get a build up of grass, my method of mulching is to discharge the grass out the side. It still decomposes just fine. I have my mower set high, better for the grass.

This mower does have a tendancy to build up grass under the deck, so it's best to clean it with a stream of water. I lay it on it's side and squirt it with a hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
August 5, 2013
The minimum cutting height is 1 inch (2.5 cm). You can view the Operator's Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rshciar2112
Pennsylvania, USA
April 30, 2014
I run mine on D and E and have excellent mulching, it turns the leaves to dust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any difference between the Toro sold at Home Depot and one sold at a Toro Dealer?

Asked by
Bill
Cleveland, OH
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
If the model number is the same they will be identical.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
meatball001
Saraland, AL, USA
May 26, 2013
buy both of them and try them out.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fishfan
Tampa, FL, USA
May 27, 2013
I don't believe so. I bought my unit at a local mower shop because I like to give the little guys business. No complaints... i love my lawn mower... big test will be this summer as Florida lawns get thick and dense in the summer... Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Toro
May 29, 2013
No, they are the same model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
No, as long as you are buying the model 20199 it is the same. For me, I bought it at Home Depot because they were closer. Be aware that Home Depot does not carry most parts that this mower will need. Is it worth saving maybe 5%? Your call, but it is the same mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What RPM should engine be running at?

Asked by
Rydman
MI
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 16, 2013
Toro 20199 Engine of a sudden has started revving noticably faster. I checked linkage to self regulating throttle and all seems OK moves freely. I noticed throttle linkage goes into motor crank case instead of being attached to a wind sail that opens throttle when fan blows less (rpms drop). How does this self regulating throttle work? off oil pressure in engine? Thanks.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
May 17, 2013
While the linkage may move freely, the description you have provided indicates the linkage may have been bent from its original configuration. A service retailer will be able to determine the correct repair, and return the engine to its proper operating speed. We urge you to repair this machine before it is run again. If the engine speed is higher than our design requires your machine may be unsafe to operate.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are confident in our service retailers, and their ability to determine the correct repair to return your machine to proper operating condition. If you have any additional questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

You can find your nearest servicing retailer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Will
Galway NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 14, 2014
the governor on this engine is an internal one. the engine WILL rev higher when the blades are off, then when they are engaged. if you fear its going to damage the engine, take it to a dealer, and have them check it out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Stripping kit

Asked by
To809
Weymouth Ma
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
May 11, 2013
will the toro stripping kit sold at home depot fit on this machine
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
May 12, 2013
Since it is designed for 20-22 inch mowers, I am not sure it would fit well. I have an acre of grass but did not want to ride. The major plus for the wide mower is speed for a large lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
May 16, 2013
The Toro Lawn Striping System is designed to fit most 21”-22” walk behind mowers. The TimeMaster is a 30" mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a normal size 11 year old boy handle this mower on a level surface?

Asked by
Papa
Long Island
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 27, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
April 27, 2013
Flat lawn yes, no problem.
Hills: depends on how steep, I'd say if the mower could roll on it's own from it, no.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savf
Carmel, NY, USA
April 27, 2013
Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
April 27, 2013
The self propelled part works great, but it is very heavy and my 10 yr old grandson has to struggle to turn it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
I would say yes, as long as parental supervision is nearby.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jeff
PA
May 12, 2013
Yes but it requires instruction and more understanding than a simpler mower due to self propel and blade controls
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mowingman
May 12, 2013
I would say no - it is heavy. unless he is a wrestler!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Toro
May 31, 2013
Please read the Safety section of the Operator's Manual for directions on safe operation of the mower. You can view the Operator's Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf. Below is an excerpt from the manual regarding safe mower operation.

General Operation
• Read, understand, and follow all instructions on the machine and in the manual(s) before starting.
• Do not put hands or feet near or under the machine. Keep clear of the discharge opening at all times.
• Only allow responsible adults, who are familiar with the instructions, to operate this machine.
• Clear the area of objects such as rocks, wire, toys, etc., which could be thrown by the blade. Stay behind the handle when the engine is running.
• Be sure the area is clear of bystanders before operating. Stop machine if anyone enters the area.
• Do not operate machine barefooted or while wearing sandals. Always wear substantial footwear.
• Do not pull the machine backward unless it is absolutely necessary. Always look down and behind before and while moving backward.
• Never direct discharged material toward anyone. Avoid discharging material against a wall or obstruction. Material may ricochet back toward the operator. Stop the blade when crossing gravel surfaces.
• Do not operate machine without the entire grass catcher, discharge guard, rear guard, or other safety protective devices in place and working.
• Never leave a running machine unattended.
• Stop the engine and wait until the blades come to a complete stop before cleaning the machine, removing the grass catcher, or unclogging the discharge guard.
• Operate machine only in daylight or good artificial light.
• Do not operate machine while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
• Never operate the machine in wet grass. Always be sure of your footing; walk; never run.
• Disengage the drive system, if so equipped, before starting the engine.
• If the machine should start to vibrate abnormally, stop the engine and check for the cause immediately. Vibration is generally a warning of trouble.
• Always wear eye protection when operating the machine.
• See the manufacturer's instructions for proper operation and installation of accessories. Use only accessories approved by the manufacturer.

Children
Tragic accidents can occur if the operator is not alert to the presence of children. Children are often attracted to the machine and the mowing activity. Never assume that children will remain where you last saw them.

• Keep children out of the mowing area and under the watchful care of a responsible adult other than the operator.
• Be alert and turn machine off if a child enters the area.
• Never allow children to operate the machine.
• Use extra care when approaching blind corners, shrubs, trees, or other objects that may block your view of a child.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

There seems to be some doubt about the ability of this mower to work on inclinces... can it mow on a 10% grade?

Asked by
Papa
Long Island
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
April 27, 2013
10% yes, no problem.
At around 20% it turns into a real chore, it starts to lose traction going straight up, slides going sideways and straight down you better hold tight cause it turns into a runaway freight train. lol
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Savf
Carmel, NY, USA
April 27, 2013
I bought one this week and took right back, it cannot handle inclines. Stalled 6 times on me, I think it is under powered for its weight.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
10% Yes. Anything more than that I would say no. For me I seem to have problems around 30% of grade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
May 12, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jm13
New Jersey
May 13, 2013
Yes it can , but i noticed when the lawn is a little wet the rear wheels slip a little. But it can handle the incline. I have been on many.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jeff
Pennsylvania, USA
May 15, 2013
Yes I have 30 percent in certain spots it will grip if dry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Toro
May 31, 2013
Please view the Operator's Manual for addtional information on safe mower operation. You can view the manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97789d82-14e9-4987-9fb3-5f5e4b1f2841.pdf.

Slope Operation
Slopes are a major factor related to slip-and-fall accidents, which can result in severe injury. Operation on all slopes require extra caution. If you feel uneasy on a slope, do not mow it.
• Mow across the face of slopes; never up and down. Exercise extreme caution when changing direction on slopes.
• Watch for holes, ruts, bumps, rocks, or other hidden objects. Uneven terrain could cause a slip-and-fall accident. Tall grass can hide obstacles.
• Do not mow on wet grass or excessively steep slopes. Poor footing could cause a slip-and-fall accident.
• Do not mow near drop-offs, ditches, or embankments. You could lose your footing or balance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Shipping dimensions

Asked by
razzlefrazzle
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 17, 2013
What are the dimensions of the box/crate that this comes in and how heavy is it? I need to know if this will fit in my vehicle and how many people it will take to lift it.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
April 19, 2013
The shipping dimensions are as follows:

Shipping Carton Gross Weight - 156 lbs.
Shipping Carton Height - 25 inches
Shipping Carton Width - 33 inches
Shipping Carton Depth - 42 inches
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
April 21, 2013
The crate is to large for a trunk or SUV. You need at least a small truck and two strong men. I can hardly turn it over to sharpen the blades, but man can it cut!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
meatball001
Saraland, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
the box was 3' x 4' 150lbs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jeff
PA
May 12, 2013
I got mine into a 2003 crv myself by tipping up from the store cart and sliding in. It's 130 lb. it has handholds in box for 2 people. It will not fit in a trunk. Box is gone now no dimensions exact but gauge off my car size. I would estimate 3x3x4
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jm13
New Jersey
May 13, 2013
Two people to lift and it will fit in a small pick up or big pick up truck. mini vans included if the back seats fold down. 5 ' x 3 '
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
agathokles
Upstate NY
May 21, 2013
Shipping weight was 156 lbs. I don't have the dimensions of the box, but it would easily fit into a small SUV (e.g. Honda CRV or Toyota RAV or Subaru Forester). I unboxed mine, performed minor assembly, and was able to load the mower -- by myself -- into my Honda CRV with the rear seats down. With the mower handle fully forward and down, I simply raised the rear of the mower until those wheels were resting on the end of the cargo compartment, then lifted the front wheels and rolled the mower into the vehicle. Reversed the procedure for its removal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mrchips
Athena, Oregon
May 21, 2013
No it will not fit in your vehicle. It was delivered to my house on a big truck and it came on a pallet. Big BOX and it takes maybe 3 people to man handle it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the depth (overall front to rear) of this mower without the bag installed?

Asked by
Glob
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
April 4, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
April 4, 2013
With the handle folded in its upright position the length is 39 inches.
That's measured from the front of the front wheels to the back of the bag catch.
The width is 32 inches measured at the widest part of the deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
April 5, 2013
The mower is 69 inches from front of mower deck to far end of handle in the ready to mow position.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jm13
New Jersey
May 13, 2013
Same sizes as your normal push lawn mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it safe to use the mower for 8 hrs a day?

Asked by
Kev8992
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
February 20, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
February 20, 2013
No way. I used mine about two hours a week last year and the trans blew at the end of the season. Clogs like crazy, total junk. look at a real commercial mower if your going to be mowing 8 hours a day.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
February 21, 2013
The Toro TimeMaster is designed with a 3-year full warranty when used under normal residential applications. When used under a commercial application the warranty is valid for 45 days.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
I would say no, because I used it commercially last year and now it leaks gasoline and oil out of the muffler, blown piston rings
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
agathokles
Upstate NY
May 21, 2013
Sounds like you're wondering if it could hold up to commercial/pro use. If that's what you're wanting to do, I'd recommend looking at the Pro version of this mower: The Toro Turfmaster 30-inch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
That all depends on how much stamina you have. After an hour of coaxing this thing around my yard I am too tired to do the trimming. It is actually easier on these engines to keep them running and warm. Keep in mind that 8 hours = 8 fill ups. Gas tank is small and you cannot idle the engine back to save gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this mower pick up acorns?

Asked by
EJ
Greenville, sc
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
November 17, 2012
I have several types of oaks around with at least 3 types of acorns from small dime size to large. Any ideas?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LawnRanger
Atlanta
November 19, 2012
Hi EJ,

Typical lawnmower designs will not be effective in picking up acorns. Leaves and grass blades are easily swept up by the air flow created by the mower blade because they are light weight and have a large amount of surface area.

Acorns are dense and relatively small, so they are difficult to lift with air. The superior suction of a wet/dry vacuum can lift the acorns, but only a few at a time, making that process too tedious to be reasonable.

Leaf blowers with vacuum attachments that mulch leaves cannot tolerate the dense acorns, because they would damage the impeller. Some chipper/shredders have a hose attachment to vacuum yard debris, but the task is still daunting.

The Home Depot offers an aluminum rake that can help gather the acorns before you scoop them up into bags.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
December 18, 2012
Some of them, but good with pine cones. A serviceman stopped and watched me for ten min. Is that a mower or a vacuum cleaner!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
No way, the timemaster mower has minimal lift. Dry leaves yes, pencil sized twig, no. Acorn no way.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
This is not a lawn vacuum. That said, when I bought my property the oak trees had had three years to do their worst on the driveway and much of the yard. My TimeMaster picked up leaves, acorns, and hickory nuts along with an occasional blade of green. Bagging every run by the end of summer there was stuff growing again where the matted mess had killed off anything like grass.

There are dedicated lawn vacuums that will do a great job, but if you view bagging and mulching as a side benefit to mowing it does a pretty good job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mixitup
Barrington, IL, USA
August 1, 2013
I don't think it will. I have small pine cones it will not suck up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
August 4, 2013
Suction is not great on this mower. Goes right over twigs, so I doubt that it would suck up acorns.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the timemaster be used without the collection box

Asked by
Del
London
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
November 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
November 8, 2012
Yes, remove the bag and close the discharge door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
December 18, 2012
Yes. 3 options are mulch, bag or side discharge for high or wet grass.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
PA
May 12, 2013
Yes there is large flap that covers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mowingman
May 12, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
agathokles
Upstate NY
May 21, 2013
If by "collection box" you mean the grass-clipping bag... then, yes, you don't need to rear-bag. You have two other options: (1) side discharge; or (2) mulching mode (no direct discharge at all).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the mulching perform when there are alot of leaves on the lawn? Does the mower have the power to chop leave into tiny particles?

Asked by
plant it earth
Rohnert park california
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 30, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joseph
Plymouth, MI 48170, USA
October 1, 2012
So far the mower has performed very well at mulching not only tall, wet grass, but the leaves that have been on the lawn (these leaves have been mulched small enough to disappear into the lawn). I will have a better idea of how well it mulched leaves over then next month as the leaves are just beginning to fall now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
October 2, 2012
The Dual-Force™ twin blade cutting system and Toro Atomic blades cut grass into a super fine mulch for superior quality of cut and a healthy, rich lawn. For increased performance in difficult conditions, including fall leaf cleanup, raise the rear height of cut setting one position higher than the front setting.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jerry
Richmond, VA, USA
May 12, 2013
The mulching works great on leaves. It is very powerful. Only with high, wet grass do I have to change to side discharge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jm13
May 13, 2013
works good as a mulcher
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
I will chop them up pretty good if they are crunchy dry. If they are wet forget it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the mower be able to operate for hours at a time?

Asked by
plant it earth
rohnert park california
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
September 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joseph
Plymouth, MI 48170, USA
October 1, 2012
I am sorry I can't answer this question. I have only used it to mow my lawn and it usually takes between 40-50 minutes. The Toro website may be able to provide additional information regarding continuous time of use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
October 2, 2012
The 1.2 qt. fuel tank provides up to 1 hour of run time. Combined with the time saving 30-inch deck, the TimeMaster allows you to cover more ground in less time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MowerInWisconsin
Elm Grove, WI
April 30, 2013
Yes. But I wouldn't recommend it as it starts to leak oil and gasoline through the exhaust after about 80 hours of total use
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
agathokles
Upstate NY
May 21, 2013
If you're wanting to mow commercially, look into the pro version of this mower: The Turfmaster 30-inch.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Eric
New Jersey, USA
May 24, 2013
Mine would run for just about an hour before it ran out of gas.
Durability wise, it's far from a commercial machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RemodelingHack
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
June 4, 2013
Yes, certainly. You can say that of any mower. You will need to stop about once per hour to refill the fuel tank. Refueling while the engine is running is not a wise move.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much Horse Power is equivalent to 8.75 ft-lb of Torque for this lawn mower? What's the RPM that is used in the calculation for this engine?

Asked by
john
AL
about Personal Pace TimeMaster 30 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Lawn Mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine on
August 23, 2012
How much Horse Power is equivalent to 8.75 ft-lb of Torque for this lawn mower? What's the RPM that is used in the calculation for the Horse Power of this engine? Is there any residential walk-behind lawn mower made now aday that has a powerful engine with has at least 6 HP (I guess around 10.4 ft-lb?) like they used to make for the classic lawn mower in the past? If not, why? I though we should improve the power output instead of degrading it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
September 4, 2012
Thank you for your interest in the TimeMaster. We have contacted the engine manufacturer and have requested that they provide input regarding your question. When we receive a response, we will post the feedback to the board.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jims
Franklin OH
April 22, 2013
Horsepower= torque * rpm/5250

This mower is governed at 3060 RPM I think.

So about a 5HP engine give or take right?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bvail
Denver, CO, USA
August 4, 2013
The motor on mine has sufficient power and does not bog down. Changes RPM when blades are engaged, but that's to be expected.

Cub Cadet 33" mower has a nine h.p. B&S engine and twin blades like the TimeMaster. HD used to sell, but discontinued. You can find more info by Googling Cub Cadet 33"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »