Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Badger Food garbage disposals are a reliable and functional choice when affordability is the prime concern. Badger 500 features a 1/2-horsepower heavy-duty quiet Dura-Drive induction motor, rugged galvanized steel construction and a space-saving compact design.
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions
 | 
208 Answers
Overall rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

Does it has the dishwasher connector?

Asked by
1setupman
orlando, fl
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 22, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
November 22, 2012
The disposal has a connection for your dishwasher drain line,,, just remember to knock out the plug before connecting it,,, lay the disposal on it's side and use a screw driver and tap lightly with it,,,also remember to remove the nickle sized slug from inside after,,,,
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
soyboy
November 23, 2012
Yes it does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bblair
Flushing, MI
January 22, 2013
Yes. The dish washer tube has a knockout so it can be used with or without a dish washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 26, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. Yes, the disposer does have an inlet for the dishwasher tube to connect to. Please be sure to knock-out the plug (as indicated in the picture below - step 15 and 16 of the Instruction, Care and Use manual). You may require the dishwasher connector kit, which I've provided a link to. This product does not come with the disposer as not all installations require. Thank you very much for your question and should you have any questions, we are happy to assist. 1-800-558-5700
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Matt
CT
November 11, 2013
it has a connection for the dishwasher drain that has to be punched out to allow water to drain thru. You have to clamp the hose to it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
Yes, it has a dishwasher connection. There is a plug in the connection for use without a dishwasher, So, you have to remember to knock the plug out with a long screwdriver and hammer prior to using with a dishwasher. Also, remember to remover the knocked out plug prior to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Yes, you just have to knock out the plug inside the drain inlet on the disposal and remove after doing so.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Bruce
SoCAl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 31, 2013
Yes. There is a small knockout in the neck of the connector. Make sure you remove the knock out before installation (only if you are connecting a dishwasher). Read instructions on how..
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a dual sink. Does this have an inlet for ewater coming from the second sink. Secondly, Does this have an inlet for dish washer.

Asked by
HV
Canada
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kaicanoe
Hawaii, USA
April 1, 2013
This does not have an inlet for a 2nd sink.
There is an inlet for the dishwasher.
There is an outlet for the drain.. Make sure u knock the plug out before hooking up the drain hose.
Check youtube for disposal installation. There are several good ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bblair
Flushing, MI
April 1, 2013
To your first question: No, the disposer itself does not have a second inlet. The outlet from the disposer needs to be plumbed to a shared drain using a tee to join the disposer and the second sink to to the trap and outlet. A "knock-out" is provided, along with an integral nipple to connect dishwasher waste input to the unit. Just knock out the pre-scored plug with a hammer and small punch to enable connection.

BBlair
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
April 1, 2013
The disposal has a fitting and a knock out for your dishwasher,,,however you will need to connect the drain from second sink with a T fitting and trap's,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
There is no inlet for a second sink but there is for a dishwasher. Normally the sinks are plumbed without both going through the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
No, it doesn't connect second sink to each other, that's done using piping that is attached to your P-trap.
Yes, it has a inlet for dishwasher drain, you just have to knock out the plug inside the inlet on disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Yes, has a connection for dishwasher, NO it does not have a connection for extra sink....but, if you do not connect the dishwasher, the connection could conceivably be used for the extra sink with some adapters....the connections sizes are different!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Sandra
Michigan, USA
April 1, 2013
"Does this have an inlet for [a] dishwasher?" Yes it does. The Badger 500 can be installed whether you have a dishwasher or not or want to install one at a later date. I have mine installed with one sink and no dishwasher. I don't need to buy a new one when I am ready to get my dishwasher put in so I'm excited!
I'm not an expert on dual sinks so I can't really answer your first question with authority. By "ewater" do you mean wastewater? If you mean you actually want to know what would happen if food goes down the drain... whether you have one, two or even three sinks, there is only one drain that the food should go down to go to the garbage disposer. The specific drain will have a nice "In-Sinkerator ISE Disposer" writing on the drain. One switch will be on the wall or under the sink. Do not put food down the other drains on purpose because you could clog your pipes! Those drains should have little baskets to catch bits of food so when you are done washing or cleaning, feed that food to the sink drain that goes to the Badger 500. I don't know why there isn't an invention to keep all pipes unclogged at all times. In the meantime, at least we have garbage disposers. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. The disposer does not have an inlet for water coming from the other side of the sink, but it does have a dishwasher dishcharge tube. I've included a specification drawing below to help visualize. The disposer receives its water intake through the sink opening where the food waste then enters the grind chamber and then discharges through the plumbing line. We hope this information helps. We are happy to assist with any installation questions you may have. Please contact our customer service department at your convenience 1-800-558-5700. Thank you again for your question.
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Amin
April 7, 2013
Yes there is an inlet for a dishwasher, and you will need to plumb the wastewater to the sink with the main line going to the sewer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Foreign Object is stuck in the Badger 500 (either a screw or a bottle cap)

Asked by
MIkeyPie
Philadelphia
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 11, 2013
The unit still runs, but I can hear something rattling around in the unit when it is on.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 22, 2013
Hello MlkPie,

This is Jim from InSinkErator. We understand the disposer is making an unusual noise. Unknowingly, something might have gotten down inside the disposer causing this. If it is making a “machine gun” consistent type noise, something may be caught in the protrusions of the stationary shredder ring. If it is making a “bouncing around” type sound, there may be something that is being thrown around the inside of the chamber. We recommend that you check for this using the following procedure.

1. Make sure the disposer is electrically off.
2. Hold the black baffle back, and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight.
3. Do NOT put your hands inside the disposer.
4. Push the black flaps down. Shine a flashlight into the chamber to see if you can see anything that should not be there. Closely inspect the entire floor of the chamber and pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Just up from this space is the stationary shredder ring (it lines the entire wall of the canister) which has some small v-shaped protrusions. Follow the circumference of this ring, looking at the v-shaped protrusions, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. Objects or food debris (such as a bone shard) may be lodged in one of these v-shaped protrusions. This will not impede the movement of the plate, but will cause a loud consistent (machine-gun type) noise as the lugs swing by and hit it.
5. If you do locate something, use a tool such as a long tongs or pliers to retrieve it. Again, do not place your hands inside the disposer.
6. Turn the faucet on and let the water run through for 15-20 seconds.
7. Switch the disposer on and check if it is operating correctly.

If you can not find anything that could be causing this sound some additional troubleshooting may be needed to determine the source of the problem. If this is the case please contact the InSinkErator AnswerLine for further troubleshooting assistance. Please call 1-800-558-5700. When calling it would be beneficial to have the serial # handy. The serial number is located on a silver sticker about the size of a Band-Aid and can be found on the side of the disposer very near the bottom edge. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
July 11, 2013
Well,,,, first unplug the unit and look down inside to see if you can determine what is in the unit...
then if possible take the object out,,,, I would not run the unit for fear of damaging it,,,,
also did you remember to remove the knock out for the dishwasher drain line out before installing the unit???? it my need to be removed from the sink to see for sure,,, BUT PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU UNPLUG THE DISPOSAL BEFORE DOING ANYTHING,,,,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Matt
CT
November 11, 2013
If you have a small hand put it in there and pull anything that still in there. Make sure it is OFF.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hamrdul
Savannah, GA, USA
January 28, 2014
Chances are that the blades that chop up the food have loosened from use over time and as the motor spins those blades flop back and forth making a rattling sound. This is normal. If the device still disposes the food adequately it probably isn't an issue. Alternatively, following opening the electrical breaker controlling the disposer the protective boot which occupies the drain hole in your sink should lift out fairly easily. Inspection of the inside of the device with a flashlight should reveal if anything foreign is there. If there is remove it with an appropriate grasping device.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gerggarry
San Antonio, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
The only thing I can suggest is to remove the rubber gasket at the sink drain and with a flashlight visually inspect it for foreign objects. If you see nothing, unplug it or shut off breaker and drop it down and tip it over and see if anything comes out. Sorry it might require some work on your part.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
Use something that is long, like a crowbar and stick it into the unit, locate one of the devices that does the work inside the unit and turn it backwards, to the left. Once it is free, remove the object causing the problem with tongs, magnet, long handle pliers or turn of the power and use you hand if small enough. You should be back in business.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Shine a flashlight into the disposal and look around to see where object is and remove it.
May have to remove some debris inside to see, otherwise it would be hard to locate item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
This will take extreme care to correct. You MUST unplug, disconnect or turn breaker circuit completely OFF prior to clearing the jam. I use two methods depending upon the object jammed. First, I use a small flashlight to locate where the object is jammed in the top chamber. If is is possible, I use a pair of long handled pliers to remove the object. If it is jammed between the grinder and the wall of the chamber, I first use the wooden handle of a plunger, for example, to turn the grinder in a reverse direction to loosen the object to where it can be removed with some type of pliers or such. In extreme cases, again with POWER OFF and DISCONNECTED, i will try and reach into the chamber and remove the object by hand....but only as a last resort!

If the object remains jammed, the unit may have to repaired, yes they can be, or you may need to purchase a new unit (the cost of repair work can be quite high in today's market).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

knock out dishwasher plug on Badger 500

Asked by
Denise
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 10, 2014
I didn't realize that my dishwasher did not connect to the old disposal, a Whirlaway 191. I knocked out the plug, but didn't need to. Is there anything I can use to plug it back up.?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 12, 2014
Hi Denise,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. I do apologize, but we do not offer a plug that can be used to seal the dishwasher inlet once the knockout plug has been removed. The plug is molded in and prior to removal maintianes a water tight seal. There may be alternate ways of sealing the inlet, but we do not recommend that, as there will always be a risk of the unit leaking at that location. If you have any other questioins, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ricky
Ormond Beach, FL, USA
February 12, 2014
That is a question for a professional and you need to call the customer service number to learn how to close it off. Hopefully this can be done.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
hamrdul
Savannah, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 13, 2014
Dear Denise,
This may be a little late, but my solution would be to find a short bit of hose that fit over the tube housing the plug you knocked out and force the hose over the tube then find a bolt or piece of doweling that you could stick into the other end of the hose and put a hose clamp around the hose holding the doweling. Alternately, your hardware store person might find a pvc plumbing cap that would be just the right size. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Denise
February 15, 2014
Thank you all for your assistance. I can leave the hole there. There's a hose extending from the wall, which I believe comes from the dishwasher. The builder inserted the dishwasher hose through the wall, then back out again, but higher up. I didn't realize the purpose of it until I looked at the old disposer. I suppose they did it that way was so that the hoses didn't take up space under the sink. I think I'm good, but I thank you for your responses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gerggarry
San Antonio, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
I would clamp a short piece of rubber hose and then insert a 1/2 in copper cap into the end of the hose. Should do the trick
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
Use a screwdriver and hammer and it comes out easy.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
I recommend hooking up dishwasher drain hose to the disposal. You may need to use an adapter thou.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
March 7, 2014
You should be able to purchase a rubber cap with a band clamp that will seal off the dishwasher connection on the disposal. Explain what you need to one of the HD pors and I'm sure they will set you up.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

my disposal stopped running today. (Badger 500, 1/2 HP) Not that old!

Asked by
Richard
El Paso,Texas
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 2, 2013
Did a tool come with this? (One that inserts in the bottom so that the drum can be turned in both directions, in order to loosen it up and free it?)

Is there a "red button" on the very bottom? I can't tell. Unable to get under sink. I know that most usually have a red button on the bottom or somewhere on the unit. Does this model have one? And can it be "cranked" with a disposer tool (wrench)? Please advise.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
RELEASING DISPOSER JAM
If motor stops while disposer is operating, disposer may be jammed. To release jam:
1. Turn off disposer and water.
2. Insert one end of self-service wrenchette into center hole on bottom of disposer (see Figure A). Work wrenchette back and
forth until it turns one full revolution. Remove wrenchette.
3. Reach into disposer with tongs and remove object(s). Allow disposer motor to cool for 3 - 5 minutes, then lightly push red reset
button on disposer bottom (see Figure B). (If motor remains inoperative, check service panel for tripped circuit breakers or
blown fuses.)

This comes from direction's included with unit,,, also check to see if the power coard has become un plugged,,,circut breaker in fuse box also,,, first hit reset button and make sure unit is not jammed,,,
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. I do apologize for the problem you are having with your disposer. I’m sure that we can assist you in resolving this issue.

Your disposal should have included a service tool called a Wrenchette that is used for among other things un-jamming the disposal if any type of food waste has caused the unit to jam and trip it’s overload protector. If you do not have the Wrenchette handy, you can use a ¼ inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your Wrenchette and would like a replacement, please contact our Answer Line (# listed below) and we will send a replacement to you at no charge
.
To reset the unit, please follow the steps below;
Make sure that power is OFF to the disposer. Look under the sink at the very bottom of the disposer. Locate the red, square, reset button (overload protector) that is toward the outside edge. If you find that the reset button has dropped down (out) approximately ¼ of an inch, gently press it back up. It should remain up and almost flush. If the reset button drops back down (out), the motor may still be too hot to for the reset button (overload protector) to engage. Let it cool down for 3 – 5 minutes and try again. The reset button should stay up (in) after the motor has cooled. Try the disposer. If resetting the disposer is ineffective, check to be sure there is power to the disposer. If your unit has a cord and plug, make sure the wall switch (on/off device) is in the OFF position, unplug the disposer, and use another small appliance in the outlet to see if it is working (after plugging it in, don’t forget to flip the wall switch or other on/off device to the “on” position to test). If your disposer is hardwired, check the circuit breaker to be sure it is on. If you determine that there is power to the disposer, and the reset is engaged or will not engage, there may be an internal problem with the disposer itself.

If the unit starts again but appear not to be grinding, the unit may be jammed. To unjam a jammed disposal, follow the steps below;
Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

If none of these steps resolves your issue, there may be an internal problem with the disposer itself. If that is the case, please contact our Answer Line 800.558.5700 for additional assistance. I hope I was able assist you today.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Matt
CT
November 11, 2013
The disposer comes with an alen wrench. Stick it in the bottom of the disposer and turn it to free it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Marty34981
Fort Pierce
January 19, 2014
If is is not running at all probably only need to hit reset button on motor. Easy to do--just push in and try again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hamrdul
Savannah, GA, USA
January 28, 2014
Richard,
There is a reset button on the bottom of your device. Maybe a small mirror will reveal where it is. Also, be sure to check your breaker box to see that the circuit which controls the disposer is closed (probably the best place to start).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Disposal wrench should have come with it, they sell them separately at the store for about $8 -$9.
It has a red reset button on the bottom. May need to tap wrench in both directions to dislodge item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Under the unit you will find a small red button. If the button has "popped out" then the motor has overheated and the internal breaker has been tripped. Press the button and it should stay in. Try to run the unit again. If it runs great, if not, then the unit is jammed. This unit does not turn from the bottom, so I use a wooden handle such as found on a plunger and insert it into the grinding chamber to force the grinding wheel back and forth until un jammed...you must take extreme care in removing any object that is jamming the unit up.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what does "continuous feed" mean?

Asked by
moish
winston-salem nc
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
gerggarry
San Antonio, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
Continuous feed is just the meaning for being able to feed your waste as the disposal is running. Meaning you can continually feed waste into it until it is gone.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nabors31
Abilene, TX, USA
March 3, 2014
It means don't pack it full then turn it on. Turn it on and then feed the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ricky
Ormond Beach, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 3, 2014
The term continuous feed simply means that as long as the garbage disposal is running you can keep putting food down the disposal to be ground up. The water, of course, must be turned on beforehand and running continuously, too.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
awmrace
organ nm
March 11, 2014
it keeps running
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Means you continuously feed stuff into the disposal without turning it off.
Just remember to have the cold water running while disposal is running.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2014
Continuous feed means that the unit is in operation the whole time it is powered on. You can feed scraps and waste into the unit continuously once it is running. Batch feed units are filled with scraps first, the drian covered, then turned on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 7, 2014
Hi mart27104, this is Belle of InSinkErator Customer Service. We have two types of disposers: Continuous feed and Batch feed. The continuous feed disposer requires a wall switch. How it operates is that, you run strong flow of cold water then turn on the wall switch to start the disposer. Then, slowly insert the food waste into the unit. While the batch feed disposer uses a stopper to turn the unit on/off. For the batch feed type, the food waste is placed into the disposer’s grinding chamber first before you run the water and start the disposer. We hope this helps.

If you have further questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and Badger 500 other than price?

Asked by
Burt
California
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 15, 2014
Hi Burt,

This is Belle with InSinkErator Customer Service. The Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features and specifications. The only difference is, the Badger 500 is manufactured exclusively for Home Depot and can be purchase only through them. While the Badger 5 is a consumer line and is available at any home improvement centers and plumbing supply houses.

If you have further questions, you may post them here or contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BREHD
Austin, TX, USA
April 18, 2014
To my knowledge the BADGER 5 became the BADGER 500. I purchased the 500 for 98.00 dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dagergen
MN
April 19, 2014
same thing
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
kindahandy
May 6, 2014
my recollection is that the model 500 is functionally and dimensionally the same as the model 5, but the 500 is sold as a Home Depot model in an agreement with the manufacturer, while the model 5 is sold by other retailers.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Christopher
Lubbock TX.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 8, 2014
There is no difference in specs, and they both mount up the same way. I do know I was offered an extended warranty when I bought the 500. I do not know about the 5 but I needed it that day also. My last 500 lasted me over a decade and would stay with what works even for a slightly higher price, that is all I can attest to.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Ajax
Peachtree City, GA
August 28, 2014
The 500 is a little bit smaller and it has a different drain fitting on the side. Our 5 had a threaded collar and the 500 uses a rubber o-ring/metal flange setup with an elbow to be used with a p-trap. Our old unit used a straight pipe connected to the sink drain at a tee. I slipped the metal flange over the pipe and connected it to the new unit with the rubber o-ring and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Nothing, the model 5 is sold only on-line and the model 500 is sold only in the store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

replacing old disposal

Asked by
rrod
San Carlos, Ca.
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 18, 2014
I need to replace an old MAYTAG FC10. disposal. Is there any major changes needed to the sink other than the plumbing connections to install the BADGER 500 ? This would be installed on a dual sink.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 21, 2014
Hi rrod,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. Unfortunately, we could not tell if there are major changes that need to be done to the sink as we do not have any information about your existing disposer. But we have included the link to the Installation, Care and Use Manual of the Badger 500 for your reference.

http://www.insinkerator.com/en-us/Documents/Disposer/Badger-Installation-Care-and-Use-Manual.pdf

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the Badger 500, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BREHD
Austin, TX, USA
April 18, 2014
I am glad you are changing to the BADGER 500! Its one of the best. The BADGER 500 does come with some connections in the kit. See if the sales person will let you look inside the box to see what connections are there. No, there should be no major changes at all. Just ck. for leaks to be sure everything is sealed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dagergen
MN
April 19, 2014
Not to my knowledge. It should just screw on if you already have the cord on there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Sherlock
home
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 19, 2014
Don't forget to knock out the dishwasher plug if you connect to a dishwasher!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
awmrace
organ nm
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 20, 2014
MY DUAL SINK DIDNT NEED ANY MODIFICATIONS. YOU SHOULD BE FINE WITH THE BADGER, REMEMBER YOU NEED TO BUY THE POWER CORD SEPERATE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Ajax
Peachtree City, GA
August 28, 2014
I'm not familiar with the different brands, but I imagine the sink flange will need to be changed to accommodate the new disposal. That will require removing the old flange from the sink and installing the new one included with the disposal. I know most if not all of the Badger units use the same sink flange so they are interchangeable; I just replaced a 13 year old Badger 5 with a Badger 500 this morning and didn't have to change out the flange. The only connections this unit needs is a drain pipe and power wires. If your dishwasher drains into the disposal there is a knockout plug you have to remove before connecting it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
So long as the Maytag model uses the same mounting flange there isn't any difference, but I'd say the old flange isn't the same and that it'll have to be replaced with the one that comes with new disposal.
A dual sink doesn't change anything, it just means one side doesn't have the disposal mounted.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this replace a Badger 5 that is hard wired to both the disposal and the wall?

Asked by
Moses
Austin Texas
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 19, 2014
I have a 16 year old Badger 5 that is hardwired to both the unit and to the wall underneath my sink. I want to replace the unit as it is dead. I see that this unit appears to need an additional three-pronged power chord. However, that power cord would have no place to plug into underneath my sink on account of the existing unit is hardwired to the wall and (it appears) also to the disposal. What I want to do is remove the hard wiring from the current disposal and connect it to the new one, using the existing wire. Of course, I will cut the power off at circuit breaker box first. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 21, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 500 does not come preinstalled with a power cord. You can easily have the wires of this unit hardwired to your wall. If you need further assistance, you may call the InSinkErator AnswerLine through 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Howie
Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 12, 2014
No
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Howie
Treasure Coast
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2014
Yes! There is a small screw that holds on a metal plate cover that allows access to the wiring. Disconnect those wires and they can be reused for the new unit. Remember the colors of the three wires and match them up with the new unit and you should have a simple installation.

Disconnect the plumbing from the main drain and the dishwasher then unscrew the metal ring near the top of the disposal and it will come free. Now you can have easy access to the electrical portion. Just make sure either you shut off the circuit breaker or that no once can turn on the disposal power switch.

You can do it!!! Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Christopher
Lubbock TX.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 8, 2014
Yes, this comes with everything you need for new install or just replacement and does not come with a cord so you wire to your needs. Not difficult at all, and if the mounting plate turns out to be the same which many are install are even more easy if your plate is still in good shape. If not make sure to pick up some silicone caulk for sealing. It also has good pictures on the instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Ajax
Peachtree City, GA
August 28, 2014
It doesn't need a 3-prong plug unless your old unit was set up that way. Just remove the cover plate on the bottom and disconnect the wires then reconnect them on the new unit. I disconnected all the pipes and dropped the old unit down and let it lay on the floor, it's a lot easier to do the wiring that way. I had to transfer the metal conduit clip to the new unit, but otherwise it was really straightforward. Make sure when you drop the old unit down that it has something underneath to catch the nasty water that will come out!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
The 500 is hardwired as well, both could have had a power cord attached.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
menace321
minneapolis
September 30, 2014
That is what I replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what dose it mean when I have a leak on the bottom of the machine where the electial cord is? Thank you

Asked by
pattsy
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Howie
Florida
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 12, 2014
Do Not turn on, unplug and get a new one,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Howie
Treasure Coast
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2014
It means either the seals have been worn out or the grinder portion has. They don't sell the replacement parts as far as I can tell. I am replacing mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ajax
Peachtree City, GA
August 28, 2014
Our old Badger 5 developed the same problem this morning. Apparently it is because the metal plate that keeps water out of the motor has rusted through, so unfortunately you will need to get a new disposal. If you get another Badger model it will be a lot easier to install since you don't have to replace the sink flange. I replaced ours in about 30 minutes, all you need is a hammer, some channel-lock pliers and a few screwdrivers. Also make sure the power is off at the switch or breaker before messing with the wires.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 14, 2014
Hi pattsy,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize about your experience with our product.

If you have not already done so, please put a bucket underneath the unit to catch any dripping that might occur. In addition, if your disposer has a cord and plug, please unplug it from the outlet at this time. If it is hardwired and has its own separate circuit, please shut off the power at the circuit breaker. If it is hardwired and other items are on the same circuit as the disposer, make sure the on/off switch is in the off position. Power should remain off to the disposer and the receptacle underneath until the problem is resolved.

If the leak is coming from the bottom (not from any connections), there might be an issue internally and your disposer requires service or replacement at this time.

The Badger 500 comes with a 2-year in home service warranty for parts and labor for manufacturing defect through our factory authorized service agency.

Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information, and I would be happy to discuss further your concern. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bobby
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
September 2, 2014
I had the same problem and discovered it was time to replace my unit. I purchased a similar unit to the one I replaced and it was very easy to install with the existing fittings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LilHunny
Evanston, IL
September 23, 2014
If you are speaking of a food waste disposal unit, it means you need to replace it. You used the term machine, there are lots of different kinds of machines. Please be specific about the type of machine you are speaking about.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
It means that internal seal is shot, creating an electrical hazard and it's time to replace your disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a rubber gasket included to use under the sink flange instead of plumbers putty?

Asked by
Mike
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 17, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Same as with most disposals, you have to use plumbers putty under the metal flange that shows on the inside exposed sink side. it uses a paper gasket that is placed between underside of the sink and part of flange assembly where disposal motor is secured to the sink. The rubber gasket is really a seal that is attached to disposal, creating a waterproof seal between disposal and mounting flange under sink.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SAMMY
Waconia, Mn
April 7, 2015
YES , but plumbers putty is better.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Babe
April 7, 2015
Dont believe so. I did not replace the sink flange.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kosmikdebris
Cherry Hill NJ
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 18, 2015
No. In most cases you need to use the plumbers putty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
No, plumbers putty is required.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Glenn
Vero Beach, FL
March 25, 2015
There is a gasket but I still would use the putty
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 23, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. We recommend the use of plumbers putty in securing the sink flange to your sink. If you have questions, please send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I threw the instructions away without finding out how to knock out the plug for the dishwasher hose connection. What do I use?

Asked by
Doc1
Maryville, TN
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kosmikdebris
Cherry Hill NJ
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 17, 2015
A large screw driver placed in the hole against the plug. Give the screw driver a short hard smack with a hammer and it will knock the plug in to the garbage disposal unit. Invert the unit and shake it until the plastic plug falls out, then install the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
I use a blade screw driver, tapping it as I move it around the inside of stub end that drain hose connects to. You can use a smaller diameter pipe to break plug out. Remove plug and your go to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 13, 2015
Hi,

This is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Kindly follow the instructions below on how to remove the knockout plug.

You may download a soft copy of our disposer’s manual through our website by visiting www.insinkerator.com.

1. Disconnect electrical power at the fuse box or circuit breaker box.
2. Remove the disposer from the sink per the instructions in our Installation Care and Use Manual.
3. Position the disposer on its side, on a protected floor or workbench, with the dishwasher inlet tube facing up.
4. Using a flat-head screwdriver, insert it into the dishwasher inlet tube so as to set the tip on the molded outer edge of the plug located at the end of the tube.
5. Take a hammer and tap the screwdriver all the way around this edge until the plastic plug breaks loose and falls into the disposer grind chamber.
6. Be sure to retrieve the plastic knockout plug from inside the grind chamber. Making sure power is still OFF to the disposer, turn it upside down and shake it out or, as a second option, shine a flashlight into the chamber, locate the plastic knockout plug, and use a long tongs or pliers through the top opening to pinch it and pull it out. Do NOT place your hands inside the disposer.
7. Reinstall the disposer per the instructions in our Installation Care and Use Manual.

If you wish to have a hard copy of your manual, kindly send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com and include your complete contact information and serial number of your disposer so that we can process the request.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Jerica
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DocT
Rio Vista, CA
January 13, 2015
Anything solid like a big screwdriver hit with a hammer will do the trick. You don't need to hit it too hard they are made to come right out. Make sure you get it out of the device before installing it though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Wayne
Loudon TN
February 10, 2015
Carefully pry it out with a blade screwdriver.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
Screw driver, socket extension, wooded dowel, anything that will go into the hole that is about 6 inches or longer and a hammer. It comes out easy with one easy blow. Remember to take the plug out of the unit prior to using.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Glenn
Vero Beach, FL
March 25, 2015
You can go online and Google your "model need instruction" and it will bring up a copy of your instructions
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and the Badger 500?

Asked by
Dacia
Garden City, KS
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 7, 2012
My local Home Depot only carries 100, 500, and 900...no single digit.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. The Badger 5 and 500 are both 1/2HP models with comparable features, grind ability and installation dimensions. The Badger 500 is offered exclusively through Home Depot. If you are replacing an existing disposer, all InSinkErator branded disposers (Evolution models and Badger models) come with our Quick Lock Sink Mounts making replacements easy. You may use the existing power cord and plug if in good shape and not factory installed. A factory installed cord will have a black plastic receptor connecting into the disposer; I have included a picture of what this looks like. These cords are secured to the disposer such that it is ‘permanent’ and, therefore, not reusable on the new disposer. In this case, you will need to purchase a power cord kit for use with your new disposer. I have included a link below for your reference. If your power cord uses a metal Romex connecter to connect to the disposer, it can be reused if it is in good shape. Thank you very much for your question and good luck with your disposer installation!
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Guido
Seattle, WA, USA
February 1, 2013
I appears to me to be the identical unit sold through Home Depot. I just replace a Badger 5 with the 500,it hooks up top the same mount and all the drain line fit......I guess it's called marketing !
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dissatisfiedwithdisposer
albany oregon
August 5, 2014
Home depot only sells the 500 which is the same as the 5 model just more expensive go to your local home improvement store and just get the 5 model
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
The Badger 5 is on line order only and cost less, that the only difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Badger 5 was the older designation that is now a Badger 500 series.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2014
I had a badger 5 (11 years old) and I just replaced with a badger 500. It was a direct fit, no issues. The 500 is just a newer model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why is it making a loud sound sould it be replaced or and we fix it?

Asked by
rocky
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
October 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
October 8, 2012
Hello Rocky, thank you for your question. It is possible that there is a jam in the disposer. Let’s try some quick troubleshooting. The service/Allen wrench that is provided in the box with the disposer, can be used when the disposer becomes jammed. Please ensure the disposer is electrically turned-off first, then insert the wrench into the hole located at the very center of the bottom of the disposer (picture included shows the location of the hole). Force the tool back-and-forth in an effort to release the jam. Once one is able to turn the wrench freely, remove it. This is to be done prior to turning the disposer back on electrically. Also prior to turning the disposer back on, check the grind chamber and retrieve any hard or foreign object using tongs. Please do not use your hands. Once the object has been removed, turn the disposer back on. If you determine that the above steps do not work for you, please give our customer service center a call (1-800-558-5700) and they will be happy to continue troubleshooting with you. Thank you again for your question and I hope this information is helpful to you.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
If it makes noise all the time, it's going bad. Play it safe and replace it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
While turned OFF, shine a flashlight down into the disposal and look for a fork, spoon or some other hard material. More than likely you will find something that can not be disposed of by the disposal. Use tongs, long handle pliers or even your hand if small enough to get into the opening and pull out the object. I normally would not recommend using your hand but as a last resort and make SURE no one is close to the ON/OFF switch. better yet, turn off the power at the breaker box. If nothing is found, a new one is in order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ramesh
Naperville, IL
June 9, 2015
My old Disposal was about 20 years old before it started leaking. We replaced it with the one of the manufacturer's recommended model. Old one was noisy and with 1/3 HP motor. We purchased disposal with 1/2HP motor and it fitted in the existing sink assembly. It was easy to install and the new one is quiet and no noise at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sandra
Michigan, USA
October 19, 2012
This has been my experience...
Really Loud But Still Works:
If it still seems to grind up food but it just happens to be too loud, there may be a little piece of something that shouldn't have fallen in, such as a piece of plastic or bits of glass. You might want to check that yourself first.
Loud And Doesn't Grind:
If it doesn't seem to work at all but at the least it is loud, usually there is a reset button or a spot where you use an allen wrench. If that doesn't work, it is probably worth getting it looked at by a handyman or a pro and will be an easy repair.
Low Hum:
Get it checked. Depending on how old it is, it might be less expensive to just replace it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
The reason that I have found for making a loud sound but still grinding is that something very hard is loose in the grinding chamber that rattle around when turned on. Get a flashlight and check. Be extremely careful in removing the object from the chamber. If the unit is very, very old, it may have a bad bearing, but usually the units will leak internally long before a bearing or motor goes bad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it come with warranty?

Asked by
Mars
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
May 20, 2013
Yes it does refer to the web site for details
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
soyboy
May 21, 2013
I'm thinking it comes with a warranty of 2 years. home depot web site says they will come to your house or pay to have it serviced in your house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. The Badger 500 comes with a We Come to You 2-year In-Home Limited Warranty. If your food waste disposer develops a material or mechanical defect within 2-years of purchase, it will be replaced in your home—free of charge by an authorized dealer. For additional warranty details, Home Depot suggests that you call their Internet Customer Service Center at 1-800-435-4654.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Believe it's 1 year, go to the store or call and have someone there read it off the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Yes, two years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2014
2 yr in home warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

am replacing a Badger 5 with a Badger 500. I can't get the mounting ring to slide to the left using the wrench provided

Asked by
roy boy
THE VILLAGES< FLORIDA
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 23, 2013
With the wrench placed in to the mounting bracket as shown in the directions does not allow me to turn the bracket and free the old unit. Any tricks or suggestions to help me with this part of the replacement I attempting? Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
May 24, 2013
well,,make sure you are turning the proper direction,,,,when under the sink looking up at disposal you would be turning the ring counter clock wise,,, easy mistake to do,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. We suggest trying a little WD 40 or like product and let it sit for awhile. You may need to place a screwdriver through one of the loops of the mounting ring and tap it with a hammer in the direction required to loosen (to the left). Be aware that extra force may be needed as it may be that water has gotten on the mounting ring and some rust has occurred. Also, depending on your case, you may need to replace the entire mounting assembly if mounting rings and such get bent. If much rust is seen, that is an indication that the whole mounting assembly should be replaced as a leak occurred. Our customer service is always available to assist with these questions also if you with to speak with someone direct. 1-800-558-5700. Thank you again for your question and we hope this information is helpful to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
I'd use a screw driver with a thicker shaft for more leverage to free it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
I sometimes have to tap it with a hammer especially if the unit has been installed for a number of years...tap the head of the wrench in the direction you want the ring to move.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
March 7, 2014
I just did this yesterday. It is MUCH easier to use 2 of the tools or a large hex key/alan wrench instead of the second disposal tool (old trick from replacing several of these in various homes). You can use both hands and get much better torque to pop the old unit free. Use the same technique when installing the new unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Bruce
SoCAl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 31, 2013
Put a philips screw driver in one of the 3 rolled over rings on the clamp and pull (counter clockwise); if you are looking up from the bottom. Make sure you are ready too catch the disposal if the ring turns all at once. It is only about a third of a turn to remove disposal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How to remove the knockout plug from the Badger 500

Asked by
Danielle
Hallandale Bch Fl.
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 5, 2012
How to remove the knockout plug from the badger 500?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kstrong
Knoxville, TN, USA
November 24, 2012
First, please refer to instructions, as they should tell you what to do. Second, use the internet to search for your products manual using the model and/or serial number. These are usually free. Make sure you need to knock it out first, it may need to be there or it may screw out!! If no success, use a flat head screw driver and hammer. Place on a soft place, carpet etc. (with plastic or cardboard on it to keep carpet clean.) Place the screw driver end on the center of knock out plug while holding screw driver toward bottom of the screw driver. Gently tap on the plug if it is a seal tapping harder until it breaks loose. After it breaks free, use pliers to wiggle it back and forth till it breaks off. Be careful not to miss driver and hit your hand, because darn it hurts. Use a wrench or pliers if it screws out turning counter clockwise. It should be apparent whether it knocks out or screws out. Look for tool edges (the area where a wrench or pliers would fit) on the knock-out plug. I think your best bet is to look up your user manual or call the 1-800 number just to be sure not to mess anything up. Good luck, it isn't very hard to do.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 7, 2012
Hello Danielle and thank you for your question. We believe you are looking for information on how to remove the dishwasher drain plug. Please reference Figure 16 of the installation and care instructions for the Badger 500 disposer found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/ba/bace8e66-59e2-42e1-bcf6-921b1b8e87ac.pdf. If the disposer is already installed we recommend that you un-install (make sure to disconnect electrically first), then knock the plug out using a screwdriver and hammer (see images attached and installation guide), retrieve the plug from inside the disposer using a pliers and then reinstall the disposer. Thank you again for your question and I hope this information is helpful.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
I knock it out using a blade screw driver. Just remember to remove the plug afterwards.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dean39
Tampa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2015
You can use anything that is about 6 inches long and small enough to fit into the inside of the opening along with a hammer. A screwdriver, socket extension, small piece of pipe, etc and the hammer and with one easy blow, it is out. Remember to remove it from the inside of the disposal before operation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Danishguy
Fontana, CA, USA
November 9, 2012
Insert screwdriver thru nipple and strike with a small hammer,,, remember to remove slug from inside unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2014
Insert a screwdriver into the opening and tap it with a hammer. The knockout plug will pop out and will have to be removed form the disposal chamber. (invert it or use needle-nose pliers).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the cost to have it installed?

Asked by
jasmyn
anchorage, ak
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kaicanoe
Hawaii, USA
January 30, 2013
Contact your local plumber for pricing.
My daughter's handy boy friend installed this one. No extra parts are needed as it replaced an existing unit.
I have replaced mine as I am a DIY person.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Amin
April 7, 2013
Probably $80 to $160 depending.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bblair
Flushing, MI
January 30, 2013
It would depend upon the labor cost to you from a plumber or handyman and the cost of a service call. I would expect about one hour of labor, less for a direct replacement in kind.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ntaylor
Maryland, USA
March 4, 2013
My plumber charged me $125.00
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Matt
CT
November 11, 2013
You have to hire an electrician to bring power and install a switch and a plumber to hook it up along with the dishwasher drain. 200 to 300?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RichardA
Colorado
September 10, 2013
Depends on labor rates in your area. In Colorado the going rate for a general plumber is about 55 to 65 per hour plus a set visit charge. As the unit only takes an hour to install, the total fee is about 100 to 130, not including the cost of the unit itself. The plumber usually marks up the unit a small amount also over what you can buy it for. If you buy it and have them install it, seems they work just a bit slower to to make up for the lost markup...just my opinion though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the badger 5 plus and the 500 the same fit... or is another newer model a better fit

Asked by
cadydid
san jose ca
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 27, 2014
I assume a Badger 5 plus and the 500 are the best fit match but before attempting install which newer model is the best identical fit/dimensions
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Christopher
Lubbock TX.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 8, 2014
There is no difference in specs, and they both mount up the same way. I do know I was offered an extended warranty when I bought the 500. I do not know about the 5 but I needed it that day also. My last 500 lasted me over a decade and would stay with what works even for a slightly higher price, that is all I can attest to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ajax
Peachtree City, GA
August 28, 2014
I think the 500 is just a newer version of the 5. The 500 is a little smaller and the drain pipe fitting on the side is different, but as far as installation goes they are identical. The sink flanges are the same so if you already have a badger unit you don't have to replace it. I replaced a 5 plus with a 500 this morning and it took about 30 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
Newer model may require adjusting the P-trap, but I doubt it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MikeDelano
Mableton, GA
November 26, 2014
Exact same fit - I replaced my Series 5 with a Series 500 and it was a perfect replacement
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 30, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. If the discharge outlet of your disposer is secured using a flange and two bolts, then yes, Badger 500 would have the same plumbing dimensions as your Badger 5 Plus. In terms of the warranty length and horsepower, you may consider the Badger 900 model, which would have ¾ horsepower, close to the 5/8 horsepower of your Badger 5 Plus. Badger 900 would also have 3 year warranty like your current disposer. In case your disposer has a different type of discharge outlet, you may call the InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700 so that we can discuss it clearly. Thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
menace321
minneapolis
September 30, 2014
same fit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I replace a Whirlpool GC1000 with a Badger 100 or 500??

Asked by
FL2013
about Badger 500-1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 5, 2013
My GC1000 has started leaking from the bottom recently, and rather than trying to fix or replace the seal, I would just like to replace it. The Badger 100/500 looks identical to the GC1000, and looks like it will line up with current pipe connections, etc. Thoughts?
Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 5, 2013
Hi FL2013,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The GC1000 and all the units in the Badger line share the same plumbing dimensions. You should have no problems installing a Badger unit of your choice. I hope I have been able to answer your questions today. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nabors31
Abilene, TX, USA
January 14, 2014
You can just swap em out as long as the bracket is the same where they hang from the sink
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
awmrace
organ nm
March 11, 2014
im not familiair with the gc 1000 but mesure it top to bottom and then look at the badger they are probably the same
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
vahandyman
Woodbridge VA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 24, 2015
If existing disposal is leaking at the bottom, there is no way to repair it in the 1st place.
So long as the both disposals have same mounting flange, you can just swap them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Lc3smd
Wilson, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I agree that since your present disposal is leaking, it’s a good idea to replace rather than attempting to repair it. The Badger has the quick lock mount which makes for an easy replacement. The 100 (1/3 HP) or the 500 (1/2 HP) will work. The badgers are slightly larger in dimension than the Whirlpool model but should fit without any problems. If your usage pattern is heavy it may be better to go with the 500 since it will give you longer life and durability. A corded plug is not included with the unit. Mine is hard wired. I am on my second Badger unit. It replaced a 10+ year-old Badger unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AKOH
Akron, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2014
If the locking ring flange at the top of the unit is the same size and diameter, then yes. If the plumbing doesn't line up exactly, there are new P-trap kits that have all the parts you need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »