Looking for Answers about Powermate 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator?

Customer questions and answers for
Powermate 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator

The new Powermate Sx 3250 Watt Manual Start Generator is ideal for recreation and home backup The unit features a 208cc Manual Start OHV gas engine with low-oil shutdown for Engine Protection. The 5 gallon gas tank with fuel gauge runs up to 15 hours at 50% load. The control panel contains, (4) 120V 20 Amp, (1) 120/240V 20 Amp, and circuit breaker protection. The unit is equipped with Automatic Voltage Regulation, dual mode hour meter and oversized 10 in. Custom wheels and there is no assembly required. It includes quick-start slide out instruction guide.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions
 | 
33 Answers
Overall rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Powermate 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator

Question

Does This Generator Run Computers & Sensative Equipment

Asked by
Dave
Westminster, MD.
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
April 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bootlegger13
Clayton, NJ, USA
July 3, 2013
Yes. You should power through power line conditioner.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ptring
Oceanside, NY
April 4, 2013
I ran a laptop successfully from this generator, but keep in mind that a laptop has an external power adapter that converts A/C to D/C, so I was relying on the power adapter to handle any power spikes/drops coming from the generator when the refrigerator compressor, for example., would go on/off. If the external adapter blows out, that's pretty easy to replace. I'd think twice before plugging in a desktop PC.

You're certainly on your own when it comes to deciding what to risk plugging in, or which generator to purchase, or whether to get additional protection for your devices.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JIMMY
Watchung, NJ, USA
April 4, 2013
YES IT WILL AS I TESTED IT AFTER INSTALLING APPROPRIATE WIRING TO BACK FEED MAIN HOUSE PANEL. IT WORKS WITH COMPUTERIZED HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING UNITS AS WELL AT FLAT SCREEN TV AND PC'S AND WIRELESS ROUTER IN MY CASE ALL WAS FINE. THEY DO HOWEVER RECOMMEND A GENERATOR WITH AN INVERTER TO PROVIDE A CLEAN SOURCE OF CURRENT FOR SENSITIVE ELECTRONICS, YET I HAVE NO ISSUE WITH MINE AS DESCRIBED.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ElectricAvenue
Kent, OH, USA
August 11, 2013
It does have an automatic voltage regulator, but I purchased a power conditioner/surge protector power strip for mine. Ran my desktop computer and 55" tv with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
delco
February 25, 2014
I would not recommend running digital tv, computers and the like without a power conditioner. I use an APC battery backup which has power conditioning (power and freq.) built in. Many battery backups have these features. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
April 30, 2013
Yes, this unit will run computers and other electronic equipment.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what other item(s) do I need to use this generator - such as cords, etc. Please be specific

Asked by
linda
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
December 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ptring
Oceanside, NY
December 21, 2012
The generator's oil tank holds about a 1/2 a quart of oil, so you'll need several quarts on hand in order to change it after every few days of operation. You'll need a container to catch the old oil, and a funnel to add the new oil.
The generator uses about 3 gallons of gasoline a day, so you'll need several 5 gallon gas cans to have a couple of day's gas on hand.
The generator can have up to 4 extension cords plugged in, and since you need to keep the generator outside, they need to be long enough to reach into your house, depending on how you'll route them into your house - through an open window, or some other opening.
You'll also want a couple of power strips that are heavy duty enough to handle the amperage of the things you'll be plugging in.
For nightime, you'll also want a couple of drop-lights or lamps that you can plug in to provide light.
For warmth, you'll want a couple of electric space heaters - the small ones with built-in fans work best for warming a large are with the least amount of amperage.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Despo
Wyoming, USA
December 22, 2012
I recommend a 5 gal. gas can, some fuel stabilizer, assorted length higher amperage electrical cords, and a cover for in when it is not in use. Don't forget to service it with oil before use. Also do not backfeed electricity into your house, by that I mean do not plug the generator into an outlet and feed everything. That practice is very dangerous. Instead run the cords to individual loads and do not exceed the rating on the generator.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JIMMY
Watchung, NJ, USA
December 27, 2012
YOU WILL NEED HEAVY DUTY EXTENSION CORDS(15 AMP RATED MINIMUM) TO USE THE STANDARD OUTLETS ON THE FACE PANEL. IF YOU ARE CONNECTING TO A POWER INLET RECEPTACLE ON A HOME,
(WHICH SHOULD BE INSTALLED BY A QUALIFIED ELECTRICIAN) AND ALSO REQUIRES A INTERLOCK KIT ON HOUSE PANEL, OR A TRANSFER SWITCH, YOU WOULD USE THE TWIST LOCK CONNECTOR ON THE GENERATOR WHICH IS TYPE L14-20 TWIST LOCK. MOST PEOPLE USE THE STANDARD CORDS WHICH YOU CAN HAVE 4 ON THIS UNIT
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Tony
March 1, 2013
Buy a thicker cord than you think you need. They loose these ability to carry current the longer they get. I also bought a heavy cord at Home Depot that has an out let every 8". Mine are green but great for running into a room that needs power through out the room rather that power at the end of a long cord. Get a couple of 12 amp cords to bring power into the house. Always keep your generator outside with the exhaust pointed away from the house. Please read the warnings in the manual.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ProductExpert
December 21, 2012
The Powermate 3250 watt generator does not require any additional items for use other than oil and gasoline. A small bottle of oil does come with this model.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

does it have a battery charger built in?

Asked by
midnighter
ohio
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
March 25, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bootlegger13
Clayton, NJ, USA
July 3, 2013
No. There is no battery. Machine is recoil start only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Despo
Wyoming, USA
March 26, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JIMMY
Watchung, NJ, USA
April 4, 2013
NO IT DOES NOT ONLY 120 VOLT AND HIGHER. NO 12 VOLT OUPUT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Andy
July 29, 2013
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
March 26, 2013
No, this unit does not have a battery charger jack built in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much oil should be put in before unit is operated?

Asked by
joed
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
June 27, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
June 27, 2013
Hi Joed, the manual stated that the oil capacity is 20 ounces, or .6L. You can go to the product web page and scroll down on the left side until you come to the instruction/assembly manual. The manual has the starting procedures and the product specifications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bootlegger13
Clayton, NJ, USA
July 3, 2013
Machine came out of the box all but full. You need to fill to proper level as outlined in user manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ElectricAvenue
Kent, OH, USA
July 5, 2013
Mine came with a quart of oil. I used most of it. Fill it until you can see the oil on the dip stick screw threads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
June 27, 2013
The unit holds .6 liters, so that is what should be put in prior to using the generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If this model brakes down, are parts readily available at local stores as for mechanical parts, filters, spare parts? If not, please explain.

Asked by
Joejoe
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
December 22, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JIMMY
Watchung, NJ, USA
December 27, 2012
YOU SHOULD ORDER THROUGH THE MANUFACTURER PERIODIC MAINTAINENCE PARTS SUCH AS FILTERS, PLUG, AND OIL. THERE WAS NO SPECIFIC ITEMS FOR SERVICE IN THE DEPOT FOR THIS UNIT. IT SHOULD NOT NEED ANY ITEMS UNLESS DAMAGED DURING USE. ONLY AN INITIAL OIL CHANGE AFTER FIRST 20 HOURS OF RUN TIME.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tony
March 1, 2013
Many locations in the central ohio area.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ProductExpert
December 23, 2012
Powermate has a wide network of service providers to help you if that had happens. Call 1800-445-1805
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it loud?

Asked by
camper kate
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
August 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ElectricAvenue
Kent, OH, USA
August 11, 2013
Hi Kate!

I guess it would depend on your application. Are you planning on using it for camping? If so, I would say it would be too loud for a camp ground. But for a home back-up or construction use, I would say it is not loud. I bought the generator purely for a back-up for when my electricity goes out. The noise it puts out will be music to my ears when we have lights and power while our neighbors are sitting in the dark.

At only 208cc, the generator is quieter than my riding lawn mower. The muffler is decent in size and keeps noise to a decent level. Not sure where Coleman came up with their db rating on this generator but it's not too loud in my book. I wouldn't want to be camping next to someone running it though.

If you're looking for quiet, I would recommend the Honda EU3000 or any of their EU series generators. They are VERY quiet and manufacture a quality generator. Just expect to pay 4x more than you would for this generator. For me, I couldn't justify paying that much for a generator that is going to sit under a cover most of the time.

Good luck and I hope I answered your question!

BK
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MartyVictor
Stanhope NJ
November 16, 2013
No Its not too loud for a generator. Powewmate added a sound shield with two layers of metal and acoustic fabric. Camp ground or city usable,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
August 12, 2013
The dBA rating on this model is 78 which is comparable to the other portable generators on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this generater run a 3 gallon compresser

Asked by
mowman
pittsburgh
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
August 17, 2013
I would like to run a sand blaster kit
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ElectricAvenue
Kent, OH, USA
August 19, 2013
I have a 3 gallon Central Pneumatic air compressor and it didn't even put a dent in the load. If that's all you plan to run, this generator is for you!

BK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MartyVictor
Stanhope NJ
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 16, 2013
I know it will ... I tried it with my Porter Cable unit,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
August 20, 2013
A 3 gallon compressor will require around 1800 watts to start the unit. You should check the amps & voltage rating of the sand blaster first. You can calculate the watts by multiplying the volts x the amps. This will help you determine if 3250 watts is enough.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

where can i find the auto idle kit for this genny?

Asked by
jj
rocky point ny
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
December 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JIMMY
Watchung, NJ, USA
December 27, 2012
AS FAR AS I AM AWARE IT IS ALL SELF CONTAINED IN THE GEN FROM THE FACTORY. DOES YOUR UNIT NOT IDLE AFTER START UP AND CHOKE OFF?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ProductExpert
December 27, 2012
There is no way to add an idle control kit to a preexisting unit because there would need to be extra wire windings added to the stator and rotor.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I drain the fuel tank?

Asked by
daddyo
Ellington, CT
about 3,250-Watt Gasoline Powered Manual Start Portable Generator on
October 25, 2013
The manual mentions the need to drain the fuel tank for extended storage; however, it does not provide a procedure. Aside from running the engine or turning the entire unit upside down in order to drain a full tank, is there (another?) safe way to drain the tank? Perhaps, adding a Tee / valve between the shutoff and carburetor inlet?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
Los Angeles, Ca
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 12, 2013
I usually put a piece of 2 x 4 under the legs opposite of the fuel feed line to tilt all the gas in the tank toward the carburetor and run the engine until all the fuel is consumed. The other option is to add fuel stabilizer to the fuel which is good for about 6 months and not have to drain the tank. The more extreme options are as you stated to add a valve or disconnect the fuel line at the carburetor and drain the tank there. Also I found out the carburetor inlet is plastic and with time it crack and start leaking fuel. Crack occurred not from disconnecting hose but only after about 20 hours of use. I would not recommend disconnecting hose at carburetor inlet since a leak will eventually developed. Had to ordered new inlet and carburetor gaskets to repair crack inlet on the carburetor. Sorry for the late response. Home Depot response site did not work until now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ProductExpert
Marietta, GA
October 28, 2013
The best way to drain the tank would be to disconnect the fuel line after the shutoff valve. You could disconnect the line either where it attaches to the carburetor or to the shutoff valve. My recommendation would be to disconnect at the shutoff, by the following steps:

1). Turn fuel valve to the “OFF” position.
2). Empty the fuel from the carburetor. To do this, with fuel valve “OFF”, start the engine. It should run for 20-90 sec, depending on how much fuel is in the carburetor bowl.
3). With your thumb, push firmly on the red shutoff valve until becomes dislodged from its holder. With the valve loose, the spring clamp is more accessible.
4). Identify which hose leads to the carburetor. Using a pliers, squeeze the spring clamp and move along the fuel line to clear the valve.
5). With a twisting motion, pull the carburetor fuel line off the shutoff valve. Beware that there may still be a few drops of fuel in the line. DO NOT disconnect the line connecting the fuel tank to the drain valve.
6). Now the tank can be drained. Depending on the size/shape of the container used to collect the fuel, it can be drained directly into this container or could attach a length of fuel line to the valve to facilitate the safe removal. It may also be helpful to open the tank cap.
7). With the tank empty, re-install the line to the carburetor back onto the fuel valve, placing the spring clip in the same position it was located at from the factory. Now the shutoff valve can be re-installed into its holder by again turning the valve to the “OFF” position, aligning the valve handle with the vertical slot in the valve holder, and push on the backside of the valve until it snaps in place. The unit should now be ready for storage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1