Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 6800-Watt Electric-Start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357 cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watt (8500 Surge/Starting -Watt) and features a large 7 gallon fuel tank for up to 9 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including -Wattage,-Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and never-flat tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240V 30 Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Customer questions and answers:
92 Questions
 | 
261 Answers
Overall rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine

Question

Engine Break-in Instructions

Asked by
aucklajc
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
June 8, 2014
The manual contains no special break-in instructions for this motor. My other Yamaha products (outboard motor and ATV) had specific break-in requirements to ensure motor longevity. Are there any break-in requirements for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
In my own opinion, and what I did on mine was change the oil after 20 hours of run time. After the initial, I would say every 100 will be sufficient unless used in adverse conditions or under 100% duty cycle. At that point, every 50 hours. After all, 2qts of oil is cheap insurance for a $1000 investment. If you go with the 100hr, the onboard display will remind you maint is due.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Aside from the first recommended oil change at 20 hours there is no specific break in procedure regarding loads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
June 12, 2014
There are no actual break in instructions that we provide. The maintenance schedule provided in the generator manual, which indicates changing engine lubricant after the first 20 hours of use should be followed, but for more in-depth engine related questions, please contact the engine manufacturer, at 1-866-788-7398.

Thanks for your interest in RIDGID!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Just purchased unit for use whenever there is power outage.

Asked by
Tony
Orangeburg, SC
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
March 2, 2014
The Auto-Idle feature is not working properly on generator. Does anyone else has the same problem? If so, what could be the probable cause? Thanks..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
I had the same problem with mine and the idle down solenoid went bad. Do keep in mind, the gen will ONLY power down in a NO LOAD state. The slightest bit of demand will cause the generator to idle back up to operating RPM.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
When you say the auto idle is not working properly could you be a little more specific?

If you are using this generator as backup to power household items like a fridge, well pump, furnace etc the auto idle should be turned OFF.

The auto idle was intended to be used on job sites for things like power drills and saws. Since these power tools are only used occasionally the auto idle allows the generator to idle down when not needed thereby conserving fuel.

Leaving the auto idle ON when powering household appliances IS NOT recommended and could possible damage these items as the generator will not be able to provide enough initial surge watts to start the motors in these appliances. The auto idle switch should always be in the OFF position when using this generator as backup power for your home.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Yes, that is one of its uses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
If the gen set thinks its under load,, it will operate at 3600 rpm.This means no idle unless all load is lifted. Make sure nothing is drawing current. If nothing is connected, and it still won,t drop rpm, pull out the control board and make sure all connection, s are made tightly . If still no drop, contact home depot for service.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator use a 10w-30 synthetic engine oil?

Asked by
Lencho
Canal Point,FL
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
June 9, 2014
like a 10w-30 royal purple engine oil?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
It can, but is not necessary. Either way, stick to 10w-30 in moderate climates, and maybe a 5w-30 in colder climates.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Yamaha recommends using their "Yamalube 4" (10W-40) however you can also use any API certified 10W-40 or 10W-30 as well. I would not recommend using synthetic oil until the after the initial break in period which for the Yamaha engine is 20 hours. Then drain and refill with synthetic oil after that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the alternator brushless?

Asked by
carl
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
August 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 14, 2014
Most generators in this price point range use brushes in their alternators and an AVR (automatic voltage regulator) which is not a bad thing.

Brush style alternators are much less complex and easier to fix then a brush-less alternator that utilized a capacitor to excite the field. Brush style alternators tend to handle surges from electric motor starts a little better then a brush-less alternator in the price point range of this generator. Most brush-less alternators in this price point range are self regulating and depend heavily on the speed of the engine to maintain a constant voltage. Most brush-less alternators in the price point range of this generator do not have an adjustable AVR.

I have a generator that has a brush style alternator and usually keep a spare set of brushes and a spare AVR just in case. Which is a lot easier to troubleshoot then a brush-less alternator if it fails.

Unless you are willing to spend 2 or 3 times the cost of this generator to get a high end brush-less alternator such as a Winco I say they is nothing wrong with an alternator using brushes.

With proper maintenance a generator that utilizes brushes will last you many years, I wouldn't worry about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GerryR
September 3, 2012
All alternators are brushless
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
August 23, 2012
No, the 6800 Watt unit has brushes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this generator be stored with the engine up and resting on rubber skids behind the wheels

Asked by
yamaha
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
No, If you store your generator with fluids (oil) installed you run the risk severe engine damage due to a condition know as hydrolock or hydrostatic lock.

Hydrolock occurs when a volume of liquid, in this case engine oil is greater than the volume of the cylinder at its minimum (end of the piston's stroke) enters the cylinder chamber. Since most oils are incompressible the piston cannot overcome the resistance of the oil and complete its travel or compression stoke; either the engine must stop rotating or something has to give, usually the connecting rod, cylinder head or both.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GerryR
June 13, 2013
I would not do this any more than I would store my car vertically for the same reason. Engines of this type are meant to have the oil pan under the engine, not on the side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 14, 2013
the oil pan(bottom of the engine) must be lower than the crankshaft otherwise the oil will leak out
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
March 14, 2013
If you completely drain all the fuel and the oil then it might be possible. Otherwise you will almost certainly have a fuel spill - really bad news - and possibly have lubricating oil get to parts of the engine it doesn't belong or just leak out.

Not a good idea in other words.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Getting more amperage at 120v from 240v plug?

Asked by
Trainwreck68
Nottingham, Md
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
March 30, 2013
I would like to use this generator to power my RV. If I use an L14-30R to 30amp RV plug will I still get only 28amps or will I have 56amps available? Is the breaker on the L14-30 plug 30amp?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
The maximum amperage output from the NEMA L14-30R receptacle is 30 amps. If you are looking to have a higher amperage supply to the 120 volts I would suggest the Champion 41534 generator which will supply 50 amps at 120 volts and comes with a NEMA 14-50R 50 amp RV receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
union ct
May 29, 2013
you will get approx 56 amps @ 28 per leg of a 220 volt /30 amp plug. That is really flat out for a unit this size. The good news is , if you operate this unit normaly , and stagger your loads, you should have no issues with this unit. The biggest load you will have is your A.C. .Make sure , if you have 2 A.C. units to start, start only one at a time and let the first run approx 15 minute.s before starting the next unit. the 6800 has a starting reserve of 1200 watts watts. More then enough to start the second a.c..and still manage to run lights and the tv. The yamaha motor is very well suited for this generator.
This unit I find is a little loud for a camper. You will need some noise isolation if you plan to run this at night.
There are twin breakers for the 220 amp and twin breakers for the 110 outlets.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Guitarman8057
April 21, 2013
O.K. I would have no trouble with this generator except Its too noisy for close quarters. You would not be making any friends close by .Ridgid built these units for the trade industrie
not so much for the camping trade :) I have never owned a honda but have used several for power doing a wedding out doors. It was next to me and it purred. My 6800 can be heard from 200 ft away and still loud. I do believe you would have plenty of power with it. @ 28 amps per leg it will run a 13000 btu gen set plus all the other equipment. ??????
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
trainwreck68
nottingham, md
April 1, 2013
Thanks Ridgid and Mole007,

I know the EU3000 is nice...It should be for almost $4000. Waaay too much for a portable generator that I only use 2 or 3 times a year. Additionally I will use this for home back up too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
April 1, 2013
30 amps is all that will be provided through the 30 amp outlet, which is to be used for powering your RV’s 30 amp system. Yes, the generators has a 30 amp breaker for that outlet.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
March 31, 2013
At 120V you will get 28A no matter how you make connections.

I would not recommend this generator for an RV. It's quite noisy and at 240 lbs or so rather heavy.

A Honda E3000i would be a much better choice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ridgid 906812

Asked by
Tony
New Jersey
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
April 15, 2013
Can the 240 volt twist lock plug be wired into a 10 circuit transfer switch for house service of 110 volt.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Since the 240 volt output on this generator is not GFCI protected the 240 volt output can be wired into a double pole 10 circuit transfer switch provided the total wattage draw of the transfer switch does not exceed the maximum wattage supplied by the generator
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
Done correctly , yes. Check with an electrician for correct connection. This is not a DIY prroject
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustang1965
July 23, 2013
Is Control Panel Cord RDEC25 correct for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Guitarman8057
Connecticut
April 21, 2013
Thats not its usually how its done. 240 volts are 2 110 volt supplies side by side plus neutral ( white wire) . with all my electrical background , I can't see this being done for a house service of 110. There are ways I could set up a transfer panel suppling 110 volts on two different legs but you will need an electrician to do it and safley. Frankly the only 110 service I have seen lately is on a very old house
50, 60 70 years old
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
April 16, 2013
House service is really 240V split phase: 120 - 0 - 120 so your 10 circuit transfer switch is almost certainly made up of 5 circuits on one leg of the split phase and 5 on the other. (US residential electricity supply is really 120V, not 110V). Inside there will be 4 input side connections L1 (Phase 1 120V live or hot), L2 (Phase 2 12V live or hot), Neutral (the 0 in 120 - 0 - 120) and ground. Those 4 transfer switch connections correspond to the 4 connections on the twist lock plug.

So, YES, you should be able to wire the generator to your switch. Better get a qualified electrician do the work though, and not just for legal reasons.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is this product available in ontario canada

Asked by
munchkin
hamilton ontario canada
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
April 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
To the best of my knowledge the only Ridgid generator model available for sale in Canada is the RD9C7000BG
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
May 29, 2013
By order @ home depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
April 19, 2013
Your local Home Depot store can special order this item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the generator really fixed when a service center installs the repair kit for stalling problems

Asked by
big john
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
May 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
The vapor lock issues have been addressed by utilizing a different design for the fuel cap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Guitarman1
Northern Connecticut/
May 28, 2013
yes and no. If the problem in question was resolved, most certainly. Some times problems pop up that elude even the best repairmen and takes a little doing to trace. generally speaking , If a tech has been around for a while, he won't get fooled by a repair because he will check his work several times. But what if a problem doesn,t rear its head until later. I had one where a coil would operate and then fail on a random basis that took me several shots before I tracked it down. It was very disheartening to keep finding that I had not found the real reason for the unit stalling. only through a process of elimination was I able to find my issue.

Carl
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
May 28, 2013
It appears that the problem has been resolved. Unit runs beautifully! It is also pretty quiet as far as generators go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator still have the same vapor lock problems or has the issue been fixed in current models for sale?

Asked by
DXNJ
Parsippany
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
May 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
To the best of my knowledge the vapor lock issue has been addressed by utilizing a different design fuel cap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
swamprat
Maringouin, LA 70757, USA
August 16, 2013
just got one 6800 and ran it for 1 hr and ran like a top under load and with out a load have the red fuel filter so looks like the fixed it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimB
Williamsburg, VA, USA
June 28, 2013
No vapor lock issues thus far.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
May 29, 2013
As far as I know, this issue has been fixed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

RIDGID 6,800-Watt generator with wheels: I want to pour a concrete pad to set it on while running. What should the size of the pad be?

Asked by
DMZ
St Johns MI
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
August 4, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
A pad measuring 30" x 36" x 3" should be more then adequate for this generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
August 7, 2013
really the pad should include a cover . generators will not run in the rain. a 3.5 ft. by 4 ft wide pad should be sufficient for your gen set. Put up a back 3.5 ft high and attach a pitched roof with trellis sides for positive air flow. Now you have a year round area where your unit can reside and operate in almost any weather. If your going to buy a good generator , give it a good home. Really ! remember you can,t operate a generator in an enclosed space.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
August 6, 2013
I would go at least 12" larger than the generator all the way around. You might think of sinking some sort of anchor in the concrete... one that would allow you to lock it to the anchor. A piece of bent re-bar or an eye bolt would do the trick. These thing can "walk off" if you are not careful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
August 6, 2013
at leased 40 inches square
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GerryR
August 6, 2013
I would recommend a pad for mounting the generator should be about 32" square. The large wheels make it almost as wide as it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will I be able to plug my camper in to this it takes 30amp service ...or will I have to wire up a new plug

Asked by
Trucker5641
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
August 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
That will depend on the type of receptacle your RV has, most RV's utilize a NEMA TT-30R or NEMA 14-50R receptacle. This particular generator utilizes a 4 prong 220 volt NEMA L15-30 twist lock receptacle and does not have provisions for a 30 AMP NEMA TT-30R or 50 AMP NEMA 14-50R 120/220 volt receptacle.

If your RV requires a 120 volt 30 NEMA TT-30R or 50 amp 120/220 volt NEMA 14-50R receptacle this generator will not be compatible with your RV.

Rather then rewiring the power cable I would suggest looking for a generator that has both a 4 prong 220 volt 30 AMP NEMA L15-30 twist lock receptacle as well as a NEMA TT-30R such as the Champion mdl: 46565 which has an RV ready - NEMA TT-30R outlet 120 AC load receptacle and the added benefit of remote start or the Champion mdl: 41534 which has both the NEMA TT-30R as well as a NEMA 14-50R 120/220 volt receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Plug your camper in and enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JohnMc
VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 10, 2013
Most campers are wired to plug into 120 VAC. It appears that this generator does not have an outlet which will deliver 30 amps at 120V. It's possible the 240VAC outlet could be used, with the proper plug wired to use just one leg of the 240 V outlet (which would deliver 120 V), however, this is not a standard cable that you can just buy at the store. You may need to wire one up yourself (or get an electrician to do it.

Also, loading one leg of the 240 outlet to its maximum, while taking nothing off the other leg is generally not the best idea. Usually, you try to balance the load more evenly. I'd consult with the manufacturer to see if they have a problem with loading up one leg of the 240 outlet, while leaving the other unused. (If they are OK with it, it may be worth asking of you should switch which leg is used occasionally - or at least occasionally run the generator with a load on both legs, perhaps by plugging multiple things into the 120 v outlets)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
August 17, 2013
If the male plug you are using is a 4 wire 30 amp plug; yes you will be able to plug in.
I do question your using a work site generator for a mobile r.v. . The unit is loud tho capable
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
swamprat
Maringouin, LA 70757, USA
August 16, 2013
yes you should and no as long as its a 30 twist lock
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
August 15, 2013
Depends on the plug/connection on the camper.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a specific power cord required for the Rigid 6800 Model RD906812A? I purchased a power cord that seems adequate,but not sure?

Asked by
Mike
New Hampshire
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
September 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
When you say a specific power cord are you referring to a power cord for the 120 volt receptacles or the 220 volt receptacle?

If you are referring to the 120 volt receptacles, look at the label on the cord itself, it will tell you the maximum amp rating the cord can safely handle for that given length and wire gauge also referred to as AWG.

If you are referring to the 220 volt 30 AMP twist lock receptacle there are specific cables made for use with portable generators. Typically a 30 AMP 4 prong twist lock generator 10-4 cable will be good for lengths up to 50 feet. If you require more then 50 feet I would recommend speaking to a Home Depot associate knowledgeable in electrical department who can show you what generator cables are recommended for your generator for a given length. There are also many sites on the internet that have charts for generator cables that will show what gauge wire to use for a given length and AMP rating.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Check your owner's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
September 15, 2013
MIKE,

Any standard 3 prong 3 wire cord will work. If you are using a power tool that requires a lot of amps you may need to go heavy duty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 13, 2013
Power cords are dependent on amp loads. The 120 volt outlets require a 12/2 with ground. The 220 volt 3 wire plugs require a number 10 cable 3 wire with ground . Both are available at Home depot.
Rigid does not supply a 220 volt cable to my understanding. You can buy a 220 volt 3 wire , 25 ft cord with the right ends but you should contac an electrician for connection to your panel if that's what you need.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
September 11, 2013
Hi, You need to buy a 30 amp power cord. This cord is a 4 prong cord. If you plan to power up your house this is what you need. if you are using this generator to power job site power equipment, than a standard 12-3 extension cord is fine. Don't use a 12-3 power cord to power your house.
Home Depot sells the 30 amp cords in the shore and on line.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
September 11, 2013
The power cord you use should match the requirements of the electrical device you are powering with the generator. Note that you must ground your generator, preferably to a cold water pipe in your home, or to a grounding rod sunk into the earth, in order to provide a safety ground to whatever you have plugged in that requires use of a grounded power cable.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this 6800 watt generator made in the US?

Asked by
Bob J
Port Murray, NJ
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
September 17, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
There are very few if any generators made entirely in the USA in the price point range of this generator. Most are manufactured off shore to the manufactures specifications and imported. Some purchase components such as engines or the alternators off shore and then assemble the units here and stick a "Assembled In the USA" label on them. You will pay considerably more for a generator that is manufactured entirely in the USA and even those will have some components that are manufactured off shore.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Levi
Michigan, USA
June 4, 2014
It is made in China.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ajf2020
November 12, 2013
NO, made in China!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
I am sorry to say it is not. It is assembled in china. please don't be dismayed. It is in my estimation one of the best built units I have ever owned.. I have an old ( 30 year +) onan CCK 5000 watt ) generator that was built here which I still use on long run jobs because it runs on propane . Today that unit would cost 6,000.00 to 7,000.00 dollars. This unit will make you happy!!!!! :) . Its priced right , powerful, well built and capable of long run times. Weeks, not days. change the oil every 100 hours, put gas in it and it will deliver .

Carl
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
September 17, 2013
I doubt the YAMAHA engine is made in the U.S.!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator be run in every State? If not, why?

Asked by
MOL
NY
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
September 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
This model is not C.A.R.B. compliant and therefor cannot be sold in state that require small engines to be C.A.R.B. certified.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
This is a political question and needs to refer to local and state laws on clean air and pollution emission discharge of and then refer to operating manual for specific eng.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 20, 2013
Different states have different emission standards for gas burning motors on generators and other gas burning equipment. Notably California is the hardest state in the country to pass emission standards and levels. Not all manufactured generators pass there higher level of emission controls. Ridged generators are not allowed in California for sale for that reason I.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
viziblenoize
September 19, 2013
I live in Louisiana and it runs just fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the width and depth of the detacheable Gensmart control panel?

Asked by
JimL
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
January 2, 2014
The plan is to extend it to an NEMA rated outdoor enclosure
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Ridgid does not publish the dimensions for the Gensmart control panel, my suggestion would be to visit your local Home Depot and see if they have one on display and measure the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
Roughly 4 inches high by 10 inches wide by 4 inches deep ( more or less)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
stanthompson
michigan
January 23, 2014
Honestly, I've only taken my pannel out when I first bought the generator. I thought it was neat that it could be removed. However, I really only needed the 220 twist outlet which is on the non-removable portion of the unit. It seems that the pannel was 3" max in depth and maby 8-10" wide. You will have to buy the special extension cord for the pannel seperatly. It doesn't come with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fishman66
Marquette, MI, USA
January 14, 2014
I would advise only leaving it in such an enclosure during your actual outage. It stores well and can be moved very easily from your garage. Rodents and moisture can cause problems in these enclosures.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
10"x5"1/2 rough opening , also need to allow for elec. cable to plug in on end of control panel!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
January 7, 2014
The RIDGID generators gen-smart control panel dimensions are: 11” Length X 5-1/4” Height X 6-1/2” Deep.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Was told there is a battery charger available for this generator, but I can't find one listed.

Asked by
GaelK
Woodbridge, VA
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
November 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Ridgid does not specifically have a battery charger for any of their generators, however any good quality battery maintainer such as the Battery Tender Model # 021-0123 can be used to maintain the battery when the generator is not being used.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
The battery charges whenever the generator is running. I use my generator for emergency backup only, so I run it about 1 hour a month to insure it is running and that the battery is charged.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
stanthompson
michigan
January 23, 2014
This unit is powered by what is basically a modified 4wheeler engine. Any battery charger rated for atv's or motorcycle batteries will work fine. If the unit is ran regularly, even if just for a few minutes, the running engine will charge the battery just as it would on a motorcycle with electric start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
November 20, 2013
The RIDGID RD906812 generators battery charges while the generator is running. RIDGID does not offer an accessory charger or battery maintainer to charge the battery during periods of non-use.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

will this generator power my gas furnace

Asked by
charlie
pittsburgh
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
November 13, 2013
my main concern is to keep my home warm in the winter,it's a gas furnace.my home is medium sized at most and is well insulated.also my stove and hot water tank are also gas.Is this unit more than I need?.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 11, 2014
With 6800 running watts there should be no problem for this generator to power your gas furnace, fridge lights and a few other items. What is most important is that you add up all your wattage needs including starts watts for each item you want to power and make sure it does not exceed the rated wattage output of the gen-set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIGIDmaster
Horsham, PA
March 2, 2014
Probably.

My furnace is a 15Amp circuit. I ran my furnace on the unit without a problem. The furnace drew 600 Watts.

You'll probably need electricity for your stove for the temperature gauge...only a few watts.

Dunno about the water heater. My gas water heater works fine during a power outage. If you have a power vent water heater, then you will need electricity. Probably a couple hundred watts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
Need to refer to operating requirement for your furnace ie (electrical) input of blower & thermostat .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Builder
November 20, 2013
Yes, It will run it no problem. I live where it is cold in the winter and this runs my geothermal ground water source heat pump.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
November 14, 2013
You will needed to consult with a licensed electrician on matters concerning the powering of your residence/home with a generator. RIDGID cannot advise you on matters of that nature.
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I have an electric start added to my generator

Asked by
capt
agawam mass
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
March 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 11, 2014
It depends. Most electric starts require a flywheel which has the drive teeth cut into it for the starter to engage it. It may also require a flywheel shroud that has been stamped to accept the starter as well as tapped holes in the engine case to accept the starter mounting bolts. Most manufacturers these days do not have a way to accommodate an electric starter if it has not been originally designed for one. They do this in order to cut down on cost and to meet a retailers price point.

It would really depend on the engine manufacturer and model number of your engine. Even if it were possible, the cost of the components ie: new flywheel, starter, battery, start switch would be very costly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
franko
Jonesboro, GA, USA
March 25, 2014
not unless it is specifically designed for one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
March 14, 2014
Pleaes contact Yamaha, the manufacturer of the motor, directly at 770-497-6400 for the answer to your question.

Thank you,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THE GENERATOR 100% COPPER WOUND?

Asked by
BOB
about 6,800-Watt 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Yamaha Engine on
October 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 11, 2014
I asked this question to a Rigid rep and the answer I got almost made me laugh. The rep told me that the power-head was of a proprietary design and they would not tell me any more even when pressed for an answer. Lets face it; it’s a simple alternator, which hasn’t changed much since Tesla invented it; it’s not the propulsion system of a nuclear sub. When a company hides behind “Proprietary Design” it usually means it’s a hybrid using copper coated aluminum windings. Generac uses the same tactic and their units have hybrid windings. A company that utilizes 100% copper windings in their alternators will shout it out loud and clear.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Grog
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 26, 2013
I cannot see inside the actual generator portion of the unit to determine whether copper or aluminum. It doesn't say in the Operator's Manual. I suggest you call 800-539-1710 for customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Ronald
Westport, CT, USA
October 3, 2012
since I dont have X ray vision I would call the manufacturer, they should have that info....Captron 51
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »