Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID portable generator line. This 6800-Watt electric start generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watt (8500 Surge/Starting -Watt) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features four 120-Volt 20-Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and one 240-Volt 30-Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3-year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Customer questions and answers:
146 Questions
 | 
366 Answers
Overall rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Question

What interfaces are available for this generator to be hooked into my house electric panel? 200 amp service in house

Asked by
Vic
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
February 7, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
February 12, 2016
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.

Check out these manual transfer switches from THD.com:
http://www.homedepot.com/s/manual%2520transfer%2520switch?NCNI-5

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
February 10, 2016
Hi Vic. Please consult with your local electrician concerning wiring your generator using a transfer switch to your electric panel. Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I hook this unit up to run oil burner furnace, fridge, andca few lights?

Asked by
Vic
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
January 18, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
January 25, 2016
Hi Vic, first check to see how much wattage is required for what you would like to run, if it is an amount the generator can pull then simply plug your items to the generator. Hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I was able to get the RIGID RD6800 generator engine to start, but fuel is running out the bottom of the carb! Help!

Asked by
Ann
Columbia, MD
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
January 22, 2016
I've used this generator a number of times, since 2011. I checked to ensure the carb drain screw is seated, well, and it is. There is quite a steady stream running from bottom when fuel valve is open. We cleaned the carb last year, and before shutting it off and storing the unit, the last time, I shut off the fuel valve and let the engine run until the carb was drained, as usual. It was stored with fuel stabilizer in the fuel.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
January 25, 2016
Hi Ann, this would most likely indicate the float is getting stuck, i would recommend first spraying carb. cleaner into the carburetor and then letting it soak for about 1 hour. Hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the neutral/ ground bonding be disconnected in Ridgid Generators?

Asked by
Peter
New England
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 30, 2015
My house uses a professionally installed Interlock switch. This switch does not switch the neutral so the neutral and ground are bonded in my panel. If I use a Ridgid generator that is neutral bonded then I would have 2 places that the neutral and ground are bonded. Most generators allow you to disconnect the neutral/ground bond if they are bonded in your panel.
I can't see anything in the manual that allows me to do this with the Ridgid generators.

My question is "can the neutral ground bonding be disconnected on the Ridgid generator, like it can be on most other generators, to work with an Interlock switch as described above? I do not plan to use this generator in a stand alone job site application where the neutral bonding is required" Just to qualify, all my work is being done by a licensed electrician but I am buying the generator on my own. Thank you
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Peter
New England
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 2, 2016
Thanks for your answer but my electrician installed an interlock switch not a transfer switch. Are you implying that this generator can only be used with a transfer switch?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
January 2, 2016
Hi Peter, assuming a licensed electrician is installing, this generator can be hooked to a transfer switch. Thanks for your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is it grounded neutral

Asked by
nik
coville wa
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 12, 2015
can this be used with generlink
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ALalib
January 1, 2016
Was also reviewing GenerLink. My RD906814P has a bonded neutral and is listed as compatible "YES" on GenerLink's website. They offer a PDF that lists every generators compatibility, including several of the Ridgid 6800 Watt models.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 14, 2015
Hello Nick. This generator has a neutral bonded condition. This means the system ground is connected electrically to the AC neutral wire. Assuming Generlink is a transfer switch we recommend that you contact your local electrician for assistance with installation and compatability questions. I hope this helps. Thanks for reaching out to us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has the faulty governer issue been fixed on these?

Asked by
jd7162
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 27, 2015
I just bought one of these as a spur of the moment purchase,due to power outage of course... The unit worked flawlessly for two days until the power came back on. I now look at the reviews and see that the governer may be an issue, so just wondering if it was only an issue on older models and may not be an issue on newer ones? Or maybe I should be concerned about it being an issue?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 29, 2015
Hi jd7162, RIDGID has not had any governor issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I buy motor mounts?

Asked by
Fred
Temple,TX
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 12, 2015
Box was dropped and mounts cracked.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 14, 2015
Hello Fred! I do apologize that you have received a unit that was damaged. Parts can be replaced by calling Gardner at 1-800-848-8946. However, if you will call Customer Care at 1-866-539-1710, we will be more than glad to assist you. Thanks for reaching out to us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 14, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Components related to the Yamaha engine, will have to be ordered from Yamaha. Feel free to call Yamaha at 1 866 788 7398.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will Wen 56409 outside generator cover from HD fit this unit?

Asked by
Woody
Marblehead, MA
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 12, 2015
Will the Wen 56409 outside generator cover offered by HD, fit this generator and, if not, what universal outdoor generator cover offered by Home Depot will fit it? H,W, L, D measurements are confusing but need cover! Recommendation??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 13, 2015
Hi Woody, from viewing the specs. on The Home Depot site the generators length is to much for this cover. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the battery voltage on the electric starter

Asked by
bill
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 7, 2015
Battery appears to be dead and I want to charge it.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 10, 2015
Hello Bill! The battery is 12 volts. Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have this 6800 watt gen Yamaha mz360 but it didn't have the electric start when I purchased it how much is the conversion kit for this gen

Asked by
Kujo
Ore city texas
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 30, 2015
Hello Kujo. A conversion kit is not available. Thanks for your question
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long after draw is removed does the unit idle down

Asked by
billnedie
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 22, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 24, 2015
Hi billnedie, This generator should idle down within seconds upon the draw removal. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many quarts does an oil change take?

Asked by
Mac
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 22, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 24, 2015
Hi Mac, This unit will need 1.1 quarts in order to do an oil change. Hope this helps!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the serial number for registering generator

Asked by
Elrod
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 13, 2015
Hello Elrod. The data label for the unit is located on the head of the generator. If you need further assistance with locating this label please contact our Customer Care team at 1-800-323-4615. Thanks for reaching out to us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 5, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.

It will be located on the data plate label which is located on the engine shroud.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TK
Hansville, wa
November 3, 2015
I contacted Rigid and a serial number is not necessary. (I could not find it either). As long as you have the original or copy of the purchase invoice. If you have that just call Rigid.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TWD913
Willow Grove, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 3, 2015
Point of reference is standing in front of the generator (with wheels on the ground at the rear). On the right side of the generator down low a label is affixed to a rounded portion of the housing. This label contains the Serial Number (and other identifying information).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

External Vent

Asked by
JF
NC
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 5, 2015
Is it possible to hook up an external exhaust vent to it so that it could be run inside an enclosed shed during power outages?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 13, 2015
Hello JF. No. Never use a generator inside homes, garages, crawlspaces, or other partly enclosed areas. Deadly levels of carbon monoxide can build up in these areas. Using a fan or opening windows and doors does NOT supply enough fresh air. ONLY use a generator outdoors and far away from open windows, doors, and vents. These openings can pull in generator exhaust. Thanks for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 10, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.

We would not recommend this. No matter how stable the exhaust vent is, you will still put yourself at risk from exposure to carbon monoxide. We recommend to run all generators outside and to keep them at least 20 feet away from any windows.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chris
Chicago
November 6, 2015
Hello JF, I’m Chris from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

No. Gasoline powered portable generators should only be operated outdoors.

I hope this helps,
Chris.

.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this generator have a fuel drain line?

Asked by
hodgepodge65
Adams NY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 13, 2015
Hello. Turn the engine OFF (O). Turn the fuel valve to the OFF position. Remove the fuel line by squeezing the ends of the retaining clip with pliers and sliding the fuel line off. Unwrap the flexible fuel line holder. Place the end of the fuel line into a suitable fuel container large enough to catch the fuel being drained from the tank. Turn the fuel valve to the ON position. When the fuel has drained from the tank, turn the fuel valve OFF. Reinstall the fuel line holder, retaining clips, and fuel line securely onto the filter. Thanks for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 12, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.

Yes, this generator does have a fuel drain line. Please see below for the fuel line drain instructions:

1. Turn the engine OFF ( O ).
2. Turn the fuel valve to the OFF position.
3. Push the fuel valve knob through the generator housing and pull slightly to the right to allow you to access the petcock.
4. Remove the fuel line from the petcock by squeezing the ends of the retaining clip and sliding the fuel line off.
5. Install one end of a drain line over the petcock, and place the other end in a fuel container large enough to catch the fuel being drained from the tank.
6. Turn the fuel valve to the ON position.
7. When the fuel has drained from the tank, close the fuel valve and reinstall fuel line securely on petcock.
8. Reinstall fuel valve knob in generator housing. Push for¬ward until knob snaps securely into position.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WML
NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2015
It has a fuel line, but not a separate line to drain the fuel if that is what you were asking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Giantkiller
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 10, 2015
This unit does not have a dedicated line to drain the fuel. However, the fuel can be shut off at the valve and a quick disconnect clamp undone at the fuel filter. The valve then can be reopened for a complete drain. I find this to be quite sufficient to drain the tank easily.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The Yamaha 360 seems to be a bit small compared to similar size generators. What is the rated horsepower?

Asked by
hodgepodge65
Adams NY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
November 13, 2015
Hello Hodgepodge65! The Yamaha MZ360 engine is rated as rpms. The representative net output of the MZ360 is measured at 3600rpm. Hope this helps. Thanks for your question.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
November 12, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.

The Max Power @ 3600 rpm is 10.2HP. The Rated Power @ 3600 rpm is 8.4HP

Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WML
NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2015
You can blame the lawyers but small engines are no longer rated by horsepower. Many small engines are rated in terms of killowatts The Yamaha 360 is rated at 7.6kw max power which equates to about 10HP.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Giantkiller
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 10, 2015
12.0 Max HP @3600 rpm
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the battery included?

Asked by
HMW
Covington, LA
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
September 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JLink
Oakhurst, NJ
November 12, 2015
yes. fully charged too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
September 11, 2015
Hello HMW! Thanks for your inquiry! Yes the 12-Volt battery is included. Thanks for your question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

security

Asked by
pat
ma
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
October 1, 2015
Any ideas on what measures I can take to leave this at my camp and not have to worry about it being stolen?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JLink
Oakhurst, NJ
November 12, 2015
I'm going to keep in my shed locked up. Maybe a chain and pad lock or some sort of lockable building?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TWD913
Willow Grove, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 3, 2015
You will need to secure it in a locked shed or building or it will be stolen. [When mine is stored in the locked garage, I also use a 15' cable lock and an all weather padlock to lock it onto my lawn tractor to make it difficult to be moved. When it's operating outside, I secure it to the fence post which is anchored in concrete.] The other option is to transport it home with you for storage if you have the wherewithal to do so. I live in a suburban residential area, and generators are regularly stolen from homeowners' properties. So it's wise to take steps to protect your investment in a portable generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Which Transfer Switch do you recommend connect to the House panel with this Neutral Bonded Generator

Asked by
Edge
NJ
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
October 3, 2015
This generator has the neutral bonded to ground and GFCI outlets and Ridgid manual states you should have neutral switched transfer switch .This switches the neutral open to the service panel and closed to the generator neutral circuit when operating the generator. There are also neutral switch kits for use with some non-neutral switch transfer switch. Which model transfer switch did use or recommend for this?

Also, my town allows the use of a backfeed breaker/ interlock on the panel provided the complements are UL listed for the panel. Is there a way to use a method with this neutral bonded generator ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JLink
Oakhurst, NJ
November 12, 2015
I'm using a interlock plate in my breaker panel. easy to install and easy to use. allows you to power entire house instead of whatever circuits a transfer switch lets you power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Yamaha MZ360 have a full pressure lubrication system with removable oil filter?

Asked by
hodgepodge65
Adams NY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
October 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WML
NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2015
The Mz360 uses splash lubrication and therefore does not have a filter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
October 31, 2015
Hi hodgepodge65, The motor has a sling system so there is not an oil filter. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 »