Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID portable generator line. This 6800-Watt electric start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357 cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watts (8500 Surge/Starting -Watts) and features a large 7 gal. fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage,Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 120-Volt 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240-Volt 30-Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Customer questions and answers:
102 Questions
 | 
285 Answers
Overall rating:
4.058 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Question

Will the Ridgid 6800 watt generator with removable control panel be offered again?

Asked by
NG4M
Lexington, KY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 16, 2014
I really like the Ridgid 6800 watt generator with the removable control panel, heavy duty welded frame and large wheels. When will Home Depot make it available for purchase again?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NG4M
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 19, 2014
I have purchased the highly rated Ridgid 6800 watt generator with removable control panel on three separate occasions this month at Home Depot, including today. In each case I was assured the generator had the removable monitor but discovered after the purchase that it was the similar Ridgid 6800 watt generator without the removable control monitor, with smaller wheels and a smaller non-welded frame. While both are good units, if you want the one with removable monitor I suggest you wait until it is available in your local store so you can see it before making the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is currently in stock. It can be ordered online and shipped directly to your home, business, or local store. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 1-800-430-3376. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

RD906812B vs RD906814P

Asked by
Kayaker72
New Hampshire
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 6, 2014
I purchased the 6800 W Ridgid generator last night thinking it was this generator (RD906812B). When I got it home, I noticed it was RD906814P. Interesting, when I enter the SKU number from my receipt on your website, it brings me not to the RD906814P but to this page (RD906812B). I can not find information on the -14P on homedepot.com or in other searches.

So, I am wondering what are the differences in the two units? Apparently, the -14P does not have a detachable control panel, but are there any other differences?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NG4M
Lexington, KY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
Kayaker72,
I had the same experience. For the most part the two generators are the same highly rated units. The difference is you will not be able to start, stop and monitor your generator from inside your home since the control monitor is not removable on your model. The wheels on your model are also much smaller which may make it more difficult to roll if you have to move it through your yard or other unpaved areas. The frame of the model you have is not as sturdy so if you need to load it in the back of a pickup for use away from your home be careful how you lift it to avoid bending the frame. The biggest difference is the one you have is currently available and the one you ordered is not. Those differences may not be important to you but I decided to wait and see if the one we ordered becomes available again. If the power goes off before that happens you will be happy you kept yours.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 9, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RD906814P does not have a detachable control panel, but we added 120V/240V wattage monitoring. After researching, we realized that customers were rarely using this feature and would be more thank ok with a fixed pane. The wheels are now 10” x 3” never flat foam filled wheels with steel rims. The frame on the RD906812B is welded vs. the RD906814P being a bolt together with 3mm smaller tubing, the goal was to make the P more light weight, compact, and maneuverable. In regards to the interior, none of the components were changed that affect performance.

Regards,
RIDGID
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 7, 2014
According to Ridgid the RD906812B has been superseded by the RD906814P. What you received was the latest model. In addition Ridgid states that there is no difference with respect to features between the two models. Hope this was a help.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just purchased this generator and used during a 3 day power outage. I noticed that after a about 4-6 hours, the time on an alarm clock was off.

Asked by
nhbuckeyes3
Merrimack, NH
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 2, 2014
We have 6 circuits wired through a transfer switch to the generator. We run the refrigerator, furnace (120V blow/controls), lighting, microwave and a few outlets.
Both the alarm clock's time and the clock on the Microwave appeared to be 35-45 minutes faster. I also noted that an EWC zone control system that runs 3 zone valves on my forced hot air gas furnace seemed to stop responding to thermostats (stopped calling for heat when actual temperatures were below set point).
After the power returned, both clocks and the EWC Zone control system run perfectly. Not sure if this is a transient issue, possible output frequency variation ( 60 Hz) or even a phase issue from fan motor and refrigerator compressor. Furnace and refrigerator are on separate 120V legs of the 240V feed from the generator.
Any ideas what might cause this and what can/should be done to correct this? Otherwise generator starts easily and runs flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 3, 2014
The clocks not being accurate can be attributed to the frequency Hz output of the generator. Electric clocks rely on a constant 60 Hz to run accurately, most portable generators use a mechanical engine governor in order to regulate speed typically 3,600 RPM equates to 60 Hz, However most portable generator engines will vary in speed to some degree depending on the load. Lower engine RPM's will produce lower Hz causing the clocks to run slower while higher engine RPM's will cause clocks to run fast.

Furnaces, unlike consumer electronics, do not have a built-in regulated power supply They rely on a clean, consistent sine wave to power an IFC (integrated furnace control) and establish clock timing and synchronization of integrated circuits. A simple IFC may only control furnace functions such
as turning line or low voltage switches on and off, controlling fan-timing circuits, and monitoring flame rectification circuits. More advanced IFCs also control voltage to igniters, ECM and VFD
motors, and variable frequency drives. Even the simplest IFC may not operate when supplied with poor quality power. Furnaces have a minimum basic electrical requirement for voltage, frequency and power quality. The accepted standard is: 120 V ± 10 % (108 V to 132 V) 60 Hz frequency ± 3 % (57 Hz to 63 Hz) Harmonic distortion <5 % THD Furnaces supplied with voltages that have harmonic distortion greater than 8 % THD may not operate or will operate with possible damaging consequences for the electronic circuitry and components. It is common for standard generators to be in the 9% range and some to produce THD as much as 15%. I suspect that the THD of this generator is what is causing the problem you are having with your furnace. I would suggest that you contact your furnace manufacturer and ask what the power requirements are for your model in particular what the maximum allowable THD is. If it requires a THD of less then 5% then you may need to look into generators that have a THD lower then 5% or look into an inverter type generator. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Just bought one. What is the difference between the 6,800 watts and the 8,500 watts?

Asked by
Frank
NH
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 2, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The 8,500 watts are the starting watts, while the 6,800 watts are the running watts.

In short, Running Watts is the continuous power a generator can supply, and starting watts is the momentary boost of power the generator can supply to start a motor. When an electric motor is turned on, it requires a large amount of power for a very short period to start turning. As the motor speed increases, the current declines until the motor reaches full speed. At that point, the power required by the motor is constant. A generator can supply an additional amount of power for a short period of time to get a motor started.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 25, 2014
The 6,800 watts is considered continuous wattage rating, the 8,500 watts is the surge watt rating.

For example a normal 60-watt incandescent light bulb requires, as you would expect, 60 watts, and it requires that wattage both when you turn it on and while it is running. A ceiling fan motor, on the other hand, might require 150 watts to get it started and 75 watts while it is running. That extra wattage to start the motor is called the surge wattage and is typical of anything that contains an electric motor.

Your generator should have come with a chart that will show the general wattage a particular appliance or motor draws. But this is only a general rule of thumb. In order to get a more accurate number for your particular appliance look for the plate or sticker that shows the amp draw for that appliance and multiply that by 120 volts to get the wattage use. For example a small refrigerator that draws 7.5 amps will use 900 watts (7.5A x 120V = 900 watts) One last bit of information, most generators run most efficiently at around 75% of it's continuous wattage rating. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW DO I GET A LOW OIL SHUTDOWN SWITCH FOR A RIDGID PORTABLE GENERATOR RD906812 WITH YAMAHA MZ360

Asked by
MOOSE
SOUTHWICK,MA.
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Levi
Michigan, USA
November 30, 2014
If you are asking me where you can get a replacement part I would start online with a Yamaha parts supplier, because the shutdown switch is part of the engine. I have not had to replace that switch or order any parts for my Ridgid generator. You may also check your area for a local dealer for Yamaha dealer. Hope this helps, my biggest concern in buying a generator was getting parts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 25, 2014
You will need the complete Model number from the manufacturers information plate for the engine. The information plate can usually be found somewhere on the engine, usually on the cover for the pull start or engine block. This plate will have the model number, serial number and date of manufacture in most cases.

Once you get the complete model number you can check the internet for small engine parts or a local small engine repair shop in your area. You can also contact Yamaha directly and ask for the nearest Yamaha authorized repair shop and order the part through them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 24, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

This part, and any other components related to the Yamaha engine, will have to be ordered from Yamaha. Feel free to call Yamaha at 1 866 788 7398.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the 120v 20 amp outlets energized during use of the 30 amp outlet

Asked by
George
Oceanside NY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
October 26, 2014
Are the 120v 20 amp outlets energized during use of the 30 amp outlet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 28, 2014
All of the receptacles are energized while the generator is running. Care should be taken not to overload the circuits while in use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Battery Charger Issue

Asked by
Firewatch
Worcester, MA
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
September 27, 2014
I've had my generator for over a year with little use. For the first time, the battery was dead. I plugged in the charger and the electrical circuit in my house popped. I tried other circuits with the same results. Any ideas on this issue? The generator hasn't been modified in any way.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2014
I would do several things, First remove the battery cables from the battery and check the voltage of the battery, if the battery is below a certain voltage the small charger you have may not have enough current to charge the battery. Second, check to see if the battery has an internal short. Any local automotive store such as Auto Zone or Napa can check the battery for you if you are not comfortable doing it yourself. Third, plug in the charger without the battery attached and see if it trips the breaker, if it trips the breaker the charger is faulty or it could have been damaged by a faulty battery. If it doesn't trip the breaker check to see if you are getting output voltage from the charger. I don't know what kind of battery you have but most lead acid batteries do not like to sit in a discharged state for long periods of time and suffer from sulfation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

RIDGID 6,800-Watt generator with wheels: I want to pour a concrete pad to set it on while running. What should the size of the pad be?

Asked by
DMZ
St Johns MI
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
August 4, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
28"x32"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
A pad measuring 30" x 36" x 3" should be more then adequate for this generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
August 7, 2013
really the pad should include a cover . generators will not run in the rain. a 3.5 ft. by 4 ft wide pad should be sufficient for your gen set. Put up a back 3.5 ft high and attach a pitched roof with trellis sides for positive air flow. Now you have a year round area where your unit can reside and operate in almost any weather. If your going to buy a good generator , give it a good home. Really ! remember you can,t operate a generator in an enclosed space.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
August 6, 2013
I would go at least 12" larger than the generator all the way around. You might think of sinking some sort of anchor in the concrete... one that would allow you to lock it to the anchor. A piece of bent re-bar or an eye bolt would do the trick. These thing can "walk off" if you are not careful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
August 6, 2013
at leased 40 inches square
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GerryR
August 6, 2013
I would recommend a pad for mounting the generator should be about 32" square. The large wheels make it almost as wide as it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

23-inch width - is that the frame width or does that include to the outside of the wheels?

Asked by
George
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
July 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
Each wheel is additional 2.5"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
July 23, 2013
Frame. The wheels make it much wider, almost 12 inches more
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BugEyeVan
Miami
July 23, 2013
I'm not sure where the 23 inch width comes into the picture. I measured both the frame and wheel base and got 21 inches for the frame and 29 inches from wheel to wheel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ziggy
Bonita Springs, FL, USA
July 23, 2013
The frame is 23 inches , with the wheels it is 29.5 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to purchase GEn Tent to cover generator. What is the size of the generation in width and height

Asked by
maggie
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
July 31, 2014
Where do I purchase this cover?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
H28"xL31"xW24" (with handle folded)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HeyOldMan
St Croix USVI
August 30, 2014
The specs are in the generator instructions [pg 10], measuring 36X23X26"(H), and that excludes tires (which increase 23" width to 30"). Most covers offered on eBay are smaller than than - even the ones advertised as 'large'. I bought an "OpenBox Classic Accessories 79537 Generator Cover" $23.55 that should fit okay - awaiting delivery now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
August 5, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RIDGID RD906812 generators assembled dimensions are: H 36” X W 22.5” X L 25.62”. Unfortunately, we do not have any information on where you can purchase a Gen Tent.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this 6800 watt generator made in the US?

Asked by
Bob J
Port Murray, NJ
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
September 17, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
The one I got (with manual start) has a genuine Yamaha heavy duty engine, but was assembled in China (what is not these days, though?) Don't know about current models.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
There are very few if any generators made entirely in the USA in the price point range of this generator. Most are manufactured off shore to the manufactures specifications and imported. Some purchase components such as engines or the alternators off shore and then assemble the units here and stick a "Assembled In the USA" label on them. You will pay considerably more for a generator that is manufactured entirely in the USA and even those will have some components that are manufactured off shore.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Levi
Michigan, USA
June 4, 2014
It is made in China.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ajf2020
November 12, 2013
NO, made in China!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
I am sorry to say it is not. It is assembled in china. please don't be dismayed. It is in my estimation one of the best built units I have ever owned.. I have an old ( 30 year +) onan CCK 5000 watt ) generator that was built here which I still use on long run jobs because it runs on propane . Today that unit would cost 6,000.00 to 7,000.00 dollars. This unit will make you happy!!!!! :) . Its priced right , powerful, well built and capable of long run times. Weeks, not days. change the oil every 100 hours, put gas in it and it will deliver .

Carl
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
September 17, 2013
I doubt the YAMAHA engine is made in the U.S.!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Engine Break-in Instructions

Asked by
aucklajc
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
June 8, 2014
The manual contains no special break-in instructions for this motor. My other Yamaha products (outboard motor and ATV) had specific break-in requirements to ensure motor longevity. Are there any break-in requirements for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
When I brought my generator home I checked if it had oil, fueled it up and ran for 10 minutes to make sure everything was OK. Then - in a few hours Irene hit and we lost power. 4 days later the generator was sufficiently broken in... :-) After the first power outage ended I replaced oil, then I replaced oil after 11 days of Sandy power outage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
In my own opinion, and what I did on mine was change the oil after 20 hours of run time. After the initial, I would say every 100 will be sufficient unless used in adverse conditions or under 100% duty cycle. At that point, every 50 hours. After all, 2qts of oil is cheap insurance for a $1000 investment. If you go with the 100hr, the onboard display will remind you maint is due.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Aside from the first recommended oil change at 20 hours there is no specific break in procedure regarding loads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
June 12, 2014
There are no actual break in instructions that we provide. The maintenance schedule provided in the generator manual, which indicates changing engine lubricant after the first 20 hours of use should be followed, but for more in-depth engine related questions, please contact the engine manufacturer, at 1-866-788-7398.

Thanks for your interest in RIDGID!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I have an electric start added to my generator

Asked by
capt
agawam mass
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
March 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
You really don't need one. This model starts on a second pull with choke engaged every time. And with electric start you will have a headache to remember to charge the battery on a regular basis, replace battery, etc...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 11, 2014
It depends. Most electric starts require a flywheel which has the drive teeth cut into it for the starter to engage it. It may also require a flywheel shroud that has been stamped to accept the starter as well as tapped holes in the engine case to accept the starter mounting bolts. Most manufacturers these days do not have a way to accommodate an electric starter if it has not been originally designed for one. They do this in order to cut down on cost and to meet a retailers price point.

It would really depend on the engine manufacturer and model number of your engine. Even if it were possible, the cost of the components ie: new flywheel, starter, battery, start switch would be very costly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
franko
Jonesboro, GA, USA
March 25, 2014
not unless it is specifically designed for one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
March 14, 2014
Pleaes contact Yamaha, the manufacturer of the motor, directly at 770-497-6400 for the answer to your question.

Thank you,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator use a 10w-30 synthetic engine oil?

Asked by
Lencho
Canal Point,FL
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
June 9, 2014
like a 10w-30 royal purple engine oil?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
Yes, - I use Mobile 5-30. Actually, a mechanic who repairs small engines highly recommended synthetic oil for this engine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
It can, but is not necessary. Either way, stick to 10w-30 in moderate climates, and maybe a 5w-30 in colder climates.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Yamaha recommends using their "Yamalube 4" (10W-40) however you can also use any API certified 10W-40 or 10W-30 as well. I would not recommend using synthetic oil until the after the initial break in period which for the Yamaha engine is 20 hours. Then drain and refill with synthetic oil after that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I order a replacement wheel?

Asked by
Dustan
Damascus MD
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
September 13, 2014
Need to replace wheel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
Just call Rigid Customer service - I needed a set of wheels since I bought my as a floor model with no wheels at all and Rigid mailed me a set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
September 16, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Replacement RIDGID generator parts can be ordered direct from the RIDGID master parts distributor at, 1-877-544-9253.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Just purchased unit for use whenever there is power outage.

Asked by
Tony
Orangeburg, SC
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
March 2, 2014
The Auto-Idle feature is not working properly on generator. Does anyone else has the same problem? If so, what could be the probable cause? Thanks..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
wbondii
Cedar Creek, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 27, 2014
I had the same problem with mine and the idle down solenoid went bad. Do keep in mind, the gen will ONLY power down in a NO LOAD state. The slightest bit of demand will cause the generator to idle back up to operating RPM.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
When you say the auto idle is not working properly could you be a little more specific?

If you are using this generator as backup to power household items like a fridge, well pump, furnace etc the auto idle should be turned OFF.

The auto idle was intended to be used on job sites for things like power drills and saws. Since these power tools are only used occasionally the auto idle allows the generator to idle down when not needed thereby conserving fuel.

Leaving the auto idle ON when powering household appliances IS NOT recommended and could possible damage these items as the generator will not be able to provide enough initial surge watts to start the motors in these appliances. The auto idle switch should always be in the OFF position when using this generator as backup power for your home.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Yes, that is one of its uses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
If the gen set thinks its under load,, it will operate at 3600 rpm.This means no idle unless all load is lifted. Make sure nothing is drawing current. If nothing is connected, and it still won,t drop rpm, pull out the control board and make sure all connection, s are made tightly . If still no drop, contact home depot for service.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the alternator brushless?

Asked by
carl
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
August 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 14, 2014
Most generators in this price point range use brushes in their alternators and an AVR (automatic voltage regulator) which is not a bad thing.

Brush style alternators are much less complex and easier to fix then a brush-less alternator that utilized a capacitor to excite the field. Brush style alternators tend to handle surges from electric motor starts a little better then a brush-less alternator in the price point range of this generator. Most brush-less alternators in this price point range are self regulating and depend heavily on the speed of the engine to maintain a constant voltage. Most brush-less alternators in the price point range of this generator do not have an adjustable AVR.

I have a generator that has a brush style alternator and usually keep a spare set of brushes and a spare AVR just in case. Which is a lot easier to troubleshoot then a brush-less alternator if it fails.

Unless you are willing to spend 2 or 3 times the cost of this generator to get a high end brush-less alternator such as a Winco I say they is nothing wrong with an alternator using brushes.

With proper maintenance a generator that utilizes brushes will last you many years, I wouldn't worry about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GerryR
September 3, 2012
All alternators are brushless
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
August 23, 2012
No, the 6800 Watt unit has brushes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this generator be stored with the engine up and resting on rubber skids behind the wheels

Asked by
yamaha
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
No, If you store your generator with fluids (oil) installed you run the risk severe engine damage due to a condition know as hydrolock or hydrostatic lock.

Hydrolock occurs when a volume of liquid, in this case engine oil is greater than the volume of the cylinder at its minimum (end of the piston's stroke) enters the cylinder chamber. Since most oils are incompressible the piston cannot overcome the resistance of the oil and complete its travel or compression stoke; either the engine must stop rotating or something has to give, usually the connecting rod, cylinder head or both.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GerryR
June 13, 2013
I would not do this any more than I would store my car vertically for the same reason. Engines of this type are meant to have the oil pan under the engine, not on the side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 14, 2013
the oil pan(bottom of the engine) must be lower than the crankshaft otherwise the oil will leak out
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
March 14, 2013
If you completely drain all the fuel and the oil then it might be possible. Otherwise you will almost certainly have a fuel spill - really bad news - and possibly have lubricating oil get to parts of the engine it doesn't belong or just leak out.

Not a good idea in other words.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Getting more amperage at 120v from 240v plug?

Asked by
Trainwreck68
Nottingham, Md
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
March 30, 2013
I would like to use this generator to power my RV. If I use an L14-30R to 30amp RV plug will I still get only 28amps or will I have 56amps available? Is the breaker on the L14-30 plug 30amp?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
The maximum amperage output from the NEMA L14-30R receptacle is 30 amps. If you are looking to have a higher amperage supply to the 120 volts I would suggest the Champion 41534 generator which will supply 50 amps at 120 volts and comes with a NEMA 14-50R 50 amp RV receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
union ct
May 29, 2013
you will get approx 56 amps @ 28 per leg of a 220 volt /30 amp plug. That is really flat out for a unit this size. The good news is , if you operate this unit normaly , and stagger your loads, you should have no issues with this unit. The biggest load you will have is your A.C. .Make sure , if you have 2 A.C. units to start, start only one at a time and let the first run approx 15 minute.s before starting the next unit. the 6800 has a starting reserve of 1200 watts watts. More then enough to start the second a.c..and still manage to run lights and the tv. The yamaha motor is very well suited for this generator.
This unit I find is a little loud for a camper. You will need some noise isolation if you plan to run this at night.
There are twin breakers for the 220 amp and twin breakers for the 110 outlets.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Guitarman8057
April 21, 2013
O.K. I would have no trouble with this generator except Its too noisy for close quarters. You would not be making any friends close by .Ridgid built these units for the trade industrie
not so much for the camping trade :) I have never owned a honda but have used several for power doing a wedding out doors. It was next to me and it purred. My 6800 can be heard from 200 ft away and still loud. I do believe you would have plenty of power with it. @ 28 amps per leg it will run a 13000 btu gen set plus all the other equipment. ??????
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
trainwreck68
nottingham, md
April 1, 2013
Thanks Ridgid and Mole007,

I know the EU3000 is nice...It should be for almost $4000. Waaay too much for a portable generator that I only use 2 or 3 times a year. Additionally I will use this for home back up too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
April 1, 2013
30 amps is all that will be provided through the 30 amp outlet, which is to be used for powering your RV’s 30 amp system. Yes, the generators has a 30 amp breaker for that outlet.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
March 31, 2013
At 120V you will get 28A no matter how you make connections.

I would not recommend this generator for an RV. It's quite noisy and at 240 lbs or so rather heavy.

A Honda E3000i would be a much better choice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ridgid 906812

Asked by
Tony
New Jersey
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
April 15, 2013
Can the 240 volt twist lock plug be wired into a 10 circuit transfer switch for house service of 110 volt.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
Since the 240 volt output on this generator is not GFCI protected the 240 volt output can be wired into a double pole 10 circuit transfer switch provided the total wattage draw of the transfer switch does not exceed the maximum wattage supplied by the generator
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
Done correctly , yes. Check with an electrician for correct connection. This is not a DIY prroject
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustang1965
July 23, 2013
Is Control Panel Cord RDEC25 correct for this generator?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Guitarman8057
Connecticut
April 21, 2013
Thats not its usually how its done. 240 volts are 2 110 volt supplies side by side plus neutral ( white wire) . with all my electrical background , I can't see this being done for a house service of 110. There are ways I could set up a transfer panel suppling 110 volts on two different legs but you will need an electrician to do it and safley. Frankly the only 110 service I have seen lately is on a very old house
50, 60 70 years old
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
April 16, 2013
House service is really 240V split phase: 120 - 0 - 120 so your 10 circuit transfer switch is almost certainly made up of 5 circuits on one leg of the split phase and 5 on the other. (US residential electricity supply is really 120V, not 110V). Inside there will be 4 input side connections L1 (Phase 1 120V live or hot), L2 (Phase 2 12V live or hot), Neutral (the 0 in 120 - 0 - 120) and ground. Those 4 transfer switch connections correspond to the 4 connections on the twist lock plug.

So, YES, you should be able to wire the generator to your switch. Better get a qualified electrician do the work though, and not just for legal reasons.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »