Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID portable generator line. This 6800-Watt electric start generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running -Watt (8500 Surge/Starting -Watt) and features a large 7 Gal. fuel tank for up to 9.5 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800-Watt of Clean Power so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features the GenSmart monitoring system that displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and 10 in. tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features four 120-Volt 20-Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and one 240-Volt 30-Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3-year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Customer questions and answers:
113 Questions
 | 
306 Answers
Overall rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360

Question

Do the Rigid Service centers provide warranty service on the Yamaha engine and the electrical portions of Rigid generators?

Asked by
theac
Anacoco, LA
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
July 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 26, 2015
Hi theac, Sorry you would have to check with the service center to see if they handle the warranty for the Yamaha or call Yamaha for a service center in your area. Thanks for asking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Need to know the output amperage at 240 V. Also does the battery come with the gen.

Asked by
texzy9
New Caney, Tx
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RidgeRunner1
Western MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 18, 2015
The formula is watts divided by volts. 6800/240=28.33 Amps

Don't know about the battery...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
May 15, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The output amperage at 240V is 28.3 and 56.6 at 120V. Yes, a 9Ah battery comes with the gen.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

New 6800...when I plug my transfer panel into it, the GFCI breaker trip

Asked by
Bill
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
May 29, 2015
Have been using an Artic Cat 2500 watt generator with a transfer panel, 3-4 times a year for 15-20 years. Now, simply due to the age of the Artic, I decided to get a new generator, got the Ridgid 6800

Got it delivered, unpacked, set up and running. Ran a basic test of plugging a power tool into each outlet, all seemed to work fine, etc.

Then unrolled the power cord from the transfer panel that I’ve used for years, flipped the transfer switch to separate the very few basic circuits I run off generator power like I've done for years, plugged it into an outlet on the 6800 like I've done on the other generator for years, and the 6800's GFCI breaker trips immediately.

I temporarily ran a couple of large extension cords into the house and powered the same things that the transfer panel is connected to and the 6800 ran them fine, no GFCI breakers tripped, etc

So the 6800 generator seems to work fine in stand-alone mode driving all the same circuits using extension cords that the transfer panel operated for years with the other generator.

The only thing different is when the transfer panel cord is plugged into the 6800, the 6800 GFCI trips...making me think the problem may be as simple as a "phase' issue...which might be solved by simply swapping / reversing the transfer panel power cord wire connections at the transfer panel?

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks, Bill
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RidgeRunner1
Western MA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 18, 2015
The generator is working properly. Your old generator likely wasn't GFCI protected. This is a common problem with newer GFCI protected generators and hardwired transfer panels.

Electrical current is supposed to flow equally over the black and white wires of a circuit. GFCIs look for an imbalance of current flow between the black and white wires. If there is an imbalance the GFCI recognizes current is traveling in a path that is potentially unsafe and subsequently "trips" to de-energize the circuit and prevent electric shock to personnel.

OSHA requires all small portable generators to have GFCI protection on all receptacles on the generator for use on jobsites. Also, the white wire and the green ground wire are required to be connected to each other and the metal frame of the generator. The National Electrical Code requires the same connections at the main electrical service; white, green and metal cases of electrical equipment or appliances are all electrically connected together.

When you plug a GFCI protected generator into your transfer panel you create a parallel path between the white and green wires from the generator to the house service. This causes an imbalance of current flow over the white wire from the generator as some current ends up traveling over the green ground wire. The GFCI recognizes this and opens the circuit to prevent current flow through metal parts that are not normally supposed to be energized or carry current, like the green wire or metal enclosures.

Generac manufactures a kit for hardwired transfer panels that switches the neutral of the circuits supplied by the transfer panel so they are only connected to the generator. This temporarily breaks the parallel electrical connection between the white and green at the house service while the generator is supplying power to the panel allowing a GFCI protected generator to be connected to your home. It automatically reconnects the two when you switch back to utility power. This should ONLY be installed by a qualified person, such as a licensed electrician.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
June 9, 2015
In all my years on the planet, I have never experienced such outstanding customer service and support as I have with Home Depot dealing with this situation.
A few Emails back and forth, I sent some close up photos, suggested circuit modifications were professionally added to the photos, then sent back to me, etc.
Extremely knowledgeable, quick, efficient technical support staff dealing with power issues.
Thanks again to all those involved in resolving this issue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
June 3, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Can you please submit a photo/drawing of what the wiring of your transfer panel looks like? With a diagram, it will give our team the best chance to diagnose what the issue is. Please send these details at webmaster@ridgid.com

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

mz360 yamaha engine....is this their new design engine with hemi-spherical combustion chamber???

Asked by
jaybird
webster, ny
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
July 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
July 11, 2015
Hi Jaybird, Sorry but this motor does not have this combustion chamber. Thanks Greg
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where to get service for gas leak?

Asked by
mcdonut
Durham, NH
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
May 13, 2015
I purchased this generator this past November. We haven't had to use it, but did run it when we tested our setup in December. We stored it under a cover in the garage with fuel stabilizer in the tank. There is sufficient oil and gas in it.
We noticed a strong gasoline smell on and off this winter. Since it's been warmer and the car hasn't been living in the garage, I realized the generator is leaking gas. I moved it to the center of the garage to see if it was still leaking and it is. I traced it to the air filter. It's dripping out the bottom of that assembly. I thought maybe some gas had splashed while moving it and it traveled down the tube coming from the vapor vent, but a new leak just started today after about a week without. The generator has not been moved in that time.

It should still be covered by the warranty, but I don't know if this is a Ridgid issue or a Yamaha issue. It seems to be outside the engine, but I don't really know. I believe we followed all the instructions in the manual. The other issue is we don't have a way to transport it. It barely fit in the car before the wheels were put on and I don't want gas leaking in the car. In other words, I'm not really sure what to do. Appreciate any advice. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Giantkiller
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2015
Contact the location you bought the unit at. They may have a pickup service or will lend you a van/pickup truck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
May 19, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The website below will give you the closest available storage center. For future reference, our manual asks you to remove the gas before storing, this will often cause leak issues.

https://www.ridgid.com/us/en/service-centers

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

where are the rigid generators made?

Asked by
jimbob
northern michigan
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Giantkiller
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2015
They are assembled in the USA from components sourced internationally.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
January 22, 2015
Thank you for contacting RIDGID.

RIDGID Generators are manufactured and assembled in Pickens, SC.

Regards,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the web photos of the Ridgid 6800 generator correct?

Asked by
NG4M
Lexington, KY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 26, 2014
It appears that the website photo # 5 of your Ridgid 6800 watt generator is of the discontinued model that had the removable control monitor, larger 12" wheels and stronger welded frame. Is this a mistake or has the current model been upgraded?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Giantkiller
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2015
The unit I purchased on 6/22/15 does not have the removable panel or the larger wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There is no 12V output to the starter battery.

Asked by
GeoPaw
Tallahassee FL
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
May 21, 2015
I have returned this unit twice for diode repairs. This time, the new battery they installed 2 months ago, died. When I took it out, it will not take a charge. When I put a meter on the two lines to the battery and started the generator, there was no 12V output that SHOULD be charging the battery. HELP???
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GeoPaw
Tallahassee FL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 27, 2015
The generator is RD906812, SKU: 152-953.
After talking with the service department at Ridgid, I was told to just send it back until they get it fixed.
Fine, but the last time it took 4 weeks and that's time I can't work!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
May 27, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

Can you please confirm the model number? We understand it is linked to the RD906814P page, but we want to make sure it is not an older model, ex: RD906812. Throughout the years of the RIDGID 6800 there have been a number of different charging systems which would point towards a different investigation route and method to fix.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

engine won't start after setting for a months

Asked by
jkny
upstate new york
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
May 4, 2015
put in new gas and it only runs on carb spray.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
May 11, 2015
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

We suggest you turn fuel valve off, remove plug from bottom of carb bowl, turn fuel valve back on and see if you’re getting fuel. If needle is not stuck fuel will run out the bottom of carb. If fuel does not run out through bottom, shut fuel back off and remove inlet line to carb from fuel valve. With line removed, open fuel valve, fuel should run out through line. If fuel does not flow, got to tank side of fuel valve and remove fuel hose from valve. If no fuel then, there is something wrong with the tank. The prior checks were to determine where the fuel is not flowing, since the unit will run with carb cleaner only. It is possible the inlet needle is stuck in its seat not allowing fuel to flow to bowl.

We hope this helps!

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What manual transfer switch is recommend match for the 6,800 watt idle down RD906814P ? Thanks.

Asked by
Mark
Rawhide, Alabama
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
February 22, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 22, 2015
I would recommend the following because it has an external receptacle for plugging in the generator power cord is rated at 30 amps and also has wattage meters for monitoring and balancing the loads on each line:

Reliance Controls Model # 31410CRK Internet # 202214969

You can find this item on the Home Depot web site.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will this generator work in ghana?

Asked by
rufus
va
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
February 14, 2015
I bought this generator with purpose of using in Ghana west Africa. will use in a three bedroom house. I bought all necessary adaptors, oils et al. looking at a refrigerator, split ac, tv. will wattage be enough
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 14, 2015
I believe the electrical market in Ghana is rated at 220-240 50Hz, this generator is built for a US market which is based on a 60Hz system. You are much better off purchasing a generator made for the European market which utilizes 50Hz. Using a generator that is intended for 60Hz appliances will give you problems when used with appliances that are manufactured for 50Hz.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the 120v 20 amp outlets energized during use of the 30 amp outlet

Asked by
CaptGeorge
Oceanside NY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
October 26, 2014
Are the 120v 20 amp outlets energized during use of the 30 amp outlet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kelly
Surprise, AZ
February 9, 2015
yes they all work while its running
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 28, 2014
All of the receptacles are energized while the generator is running. Care should be taken not to overload the circuits while in use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you move the rear handle to the front

Asked by
Chief
Greenbush me.
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
January 31, 2015
Can you move the rear handle to the front. I would like to buy this generator, but find it hard for me to move this unit around and I have actually tried to move one around.. Trying to pull this unit back and balance the 245lbs of weight, then try to push it around on rough ground is hard to do for me. I would to have the handles on the other end like a wheelbarrow. Any suggestion would be appreciated Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kelly
Surprise, AZ
February 9, 2015
It does not move to the other end. You may find it easier to pull rather than push. It is heavy but like an appliance dolly you can leverage all of the weight on the wheels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 31, 2015
For all practical purposes no. Because of the shape of the contoured frame and handle it would take a great deal of modifying to do it if it could be done at all. The design of the frame and handle is meant to be used much like a hand truck to move the generator around.

One suggestion would be to remove the legs and replace them with heavy duty dolly wheels that lock . I did this for a neighbor who was elderly and had a hard time moving the heavy generator around on just the rear wheel. By using dolly wheels he was able to push the generator around much like a shopping cart and lock the wheels when he was ready to use the generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just purchased this generator and used during a 3 day power outage. I noticed that after a about 4-6 hours, the time on an alarm clock was off.

Asked by
nhbuckeyes3
Merrimack, NH
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 2, 2014
We have 6 circuits wired through a transfer switch to the generator. We run the refrigerator, furnace (120V blow/controls), lighting, microwave and a few outlets.
Both the alarm clock's time and the clock on the Microwave appeared to be 35-45 minutes faster. I also noted that an EWC zone control system that runs 3 zone valves on my forced hot air gas furnace seemed to stop responding to thermostats (stopped calling for heat when actual temperatures were below set point).
After the power returned, both clocks and the EWC Zone control system run perfectly. Not sure if this is a transient issue, possible output frequency variation ( 60 Hz) or even a phase issue from fan motor and refrigerator compressor. Furnace and refrigerator are on separate 120V legs of the 240V feed from the generator.
Any ideas what might cause this and what can/should be done to correct this? Otherwise generator starts easily and runs flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGLDSR
December 30, 2014
...change the batteries in your clock?
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 3, 2014
The clocks not being accurate can be attributed to the frequency Hz output of the generator. Electric clocks rely on a constant 60 Hz to run accurately, most portable generators use a mechanical engine governor in order to regulate speed typically 3,600 RPM equates to 60 Hz, However most portable generator engines will vary in speed to some degree depending on the load. Lower engine RPM's will produce lower Hz causing the clocks to run slower while higher engine RPM's will cause clocks to run fast.

Furnaces, unlike consumer electronics, do not have a built-in regulated power supply They rely on a clean, consistent sine wave to power an IFC (integrated furnace control) and establish clock timing and synchronization of integrated circuits. A simple IFC may only control furnace functions such
as turning line or low voltage switches on and off, controlling fan-timing circuits, and monitoring flame rectification circuits. More advanced IFCs also control voltage to igniters, ECM and VFD
motors, and variable frequency drives. Even the simplest IFC may not operate when supplied with poor quality power. Furnaces have a minimum basic electrical requirement for voltage, frequency and power quality. The accepted standard is: 120 V ± 10 % (108 V to 132 V) 60 Hz frequency ± 3 % (57 Hz to 63 Hz) Harmonic distortion <5 % THD Furnaces supplied with voltages that have harmonic distortion greater than 8 % THD may not operate or will operate with possible damaging consequences for the electronic circuitry and components. It is common for standard generators to be in the 9% range and some to produce THD as much as 15%. I suspect that the THD of this generator is what is causing the problem you are having with your furnace. I would suggest that you contact your furnace manufacturer and ask what the power requirements are for your model in particular what the maximum allowable THD is. If it requires a THD of less then 5% then you may need to look into generators that have a THD lower then 5% or look into an inverter type generator. Hope this helps.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the Ridgid 6800 watt generator with removable control panel be offered again?

Asked by
NG4M
Lexington, KY
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 16, 2014
I really like the Ridgid 6800 watt generator with the removable control panel, heavy duty welded frame and large wheels. When will Home Depot make it available for purchase again?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NG4M
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 19, 2014
I have purchased the highly rated Ridgid 6800 watt generator with removable control panel on three separate occasions this month at Home Depot, including today. In each case I was assured the generator had the removable monitor but discovered after the purchase that it was the similar Ridgid 6800 watt generator without the removable control monitor, with smaller wheels and a smaller non-welded frame. While both are good units, if you want the one with removable monitor I suggest you wait until it is available in your local store so you can see it before making the purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
December 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is currently in stock. It can be ordered online and shipped directly to your home, business, or local store. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 1-800-430-3376. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

RD906812B vs RD906814P

Asked by
Kayaker72
New Hampshire
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
December 6, 2014
I purchased the 6800 W Ridgid generator last night thinking it was this generator (RD906812B). When I got it home, I noticed it was RD906814P. Interesting, when I enter the SKU number from my receipt on your website, it brings me not to the RD906814P but to this page (RD906812B). I can not find information on the -14P on homedepot.com or in other searches.

So, I am wondering what are the differences in the two units? Apparently, the -14P does not have a detachable control panel, but are there any other differences?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NG4M
Lexington, KY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 17, 2014
Kayaker72,
I had the same experience. For the most part the two generators are the same highly rated units. The difference is you will not be able to start, stop and monitor your generator from inside your home since the control monitor is not removable on your model. The wheels on your model are also much smaller which may make it more difficult to roll if you have to move it through your yard or other unpaved areas. The frame of the model you have is not as sturdy so if you need to load it in the back of a pickup for use away from your home be careful how you lift it to avoid bending the frame. The biggest difference is the one you have is currently available and the one you ordered is not. Those differences may not be important to you but I decided to wait and see if the one we ordered becomes available again. If the power goes off before that happens you will be happy you kept yours.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
December 9, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The RD906814P does not have a detachable control panel, but we added 120V/240V wattage monitoring. After researching, we realized that customers were rarely using this feature and would be more thank ok with a fixed pane. The wheels are now 10” x 3” never flat foam filled wheels with steel rims. The frame on the RD906812B is welded vs. the RD906814P being a bolt together with 3mm smaller tubing, the goal was to make the P more light weight, compact, and maneuverable. In regards to the interior, none of the components were changed that affect performance.

Regards,
RIDGID
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 7, 2014
According to Ridgid the RD906812B has been superseded by the RD906814P. What you received was the latest model. In addition Ridgid states that there is no difference with respect to features between the two models. Hope this was a help.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Just bought one. What is the difference between the 6,800 watts and the 8,500 watts?

Asked by
Frank
NH
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
December 2, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

The 8,500 watts are the starting watts, while the 6,800 watts are the running watts.

In short, Running Watts is the continuous power a generator can supply, and starting watts is the momentary boost of power the generator can supply to start a motor. When an electric motor is turned on, it requires a large amount of power for a very short period to start turning. As the motor speed increases, the current declines until the motor reaches full speed. At that point, the power required by the motor is constant. A generator can supply an additional amount of power for a short period of time to get a motor started.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 25, 2014
The 6,800 watts is considered continuous wattage rating, the 8,500 watts is the surge watt rating.

For example a normal 60-watt incandescent light bulb requires, as you would expect, 60 watts, and it requires that wattage both when you turn it on and while it is running. A ceiling fan motor, on the other hand, might require 150 watts to get it started and 75 watts while it is running. That extra wattage to start the motor is called the surge wattage and is typical of anything that contains an electric motor.

Your generator should have come with a chart that will show the general wattage a particular appliance or motor draws. But this is only a general rule of thumb. In order to get a more accurate number for your particular appliance look for the plate or sticker that shows the amp draw for that appliance and multiply that by 120 volts to get the wattage use. For example a small refrigerator that draws 7.5 amps will use 900 watts (7.5A x 120V = 900 watts) One last bit of information, most generators run most efficiently at around 75% of it's continuous wattage rating. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW DO I GET A LOW OIL SHUTDOWN SWITCH FOR A RIDGID PORTABLE GENERATOR RD906812 WITH YAMAHA MZ360

Asked by
MOOSE
SOUTHWICK,MA.
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
November 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Levi
Michigan, USA
November 30, 2014
If you are asking me where you can get a replacement part I would start online with a Yamaha parts supplier, because the shutdown switch is part of the engine. I have not had to replace that switch or order any parts for my Ridgid generator. You may also check your area for a local dealer for Yamaha dealer. Hope this helps, my biggest concern in buying a generator was getting parts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 25, 2014
You will need the complete Model number from the manufacturers information plate for the engine. The information plate can usually be found somewhere on the engine, usually on the cover for the pull start or engine block. This plate will have the model number, serial number and date of manufacture in most cases.

Once you get the complete model number you can check the internet for small engine parts or a local small engine repair shop in your area. You can also contact Yamaha directly and ask for the nearest Yamaha authorized repair shop and order the part through them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 24, 2014
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!

This part, and any other components related to the Yamaha engine, will have to be ordered from Yamaha. Feel free to call Yamaha at 1 866 788 7398.

Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Battery Charger Issue

Asked by
Firewatch
Worcester, MA
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
September 27, 2014
I've had my generator for over a year with little use. For the first time, the battery was dead. I plugged in the charger and the electrical circuit in my house popped. I tried other circuits with the same results. Any ideas on this issue? The generator hasn't been modified in any way.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2014
I would do several things, First remove the battery cables from the battery and check the voltage of the battery, if the battery is below a certain voltage the small charger you have may not have enough current to charge the battery. Second, check to see if the battery has an internal short. Any local automotive store such as Auto Zone or Napa can check the battery for you if you are not comfortable doing it yourself. Third, plug in the charger without the battery attached and see if it trips the breaker, if it trips the breaker the charger is faulty or it could have been damaged by a faulty battery. If it doesn't trip the breaker check to see if you are getting output voltage from the charger. I don't know what kind of battery you have but most lead acid batteries do not like to sit in a discharged state for long periods of time and suffer from sulfation.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

RIDGID 6,800-Watt generator with wheels: I want to pour a concrete pad to set it on while running. What should the size of the pad be?

Asked by
DMZ
St Johns MI
about 6,800-Watt Idle Down Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Yamaha MZ360 on
August 4, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RostyVyg
Valley Stream, NY
September 25, 2014
28"x32"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 13, 2014
A pad measuring 30" x 36" x 3" should be more then adequate for this generator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
August 7, 2013
really the pad should include a cover . generators will not run in the rain. a 3.5 ft. by 4 ft wide pad should be sufficient for your gen set. Put up a back 3.5 ft high and attach a pitched roof with trellis sides for positive air flow. Now you have a year round area where your unit can reside and operate in almost any weather. If your going to buy a good generator , give it a good home. Really ! remember you can,t operate a generator in an enclosed space.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
August 6, 2013
I would go at least 12" larger than the generator all the way around. You might think of sinking some sort of anchor in the concrete... one that would allow you to lock it to the anchor. A piece of bent re-bar or an eye bolt would do the trick. These thing can "walk off" if you are not careful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
August 6, 2013
at leased 40 inches square
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GerryR
August 6, 2013
I would recommend a pad for mounting the generator should be about 32" square. The large wheels make it almost as wide as it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »