Looking for Answers about RIDGID 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator?

Customer questions and answers for
RIDGID 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

RIDGID Power Tools offers reliable, clean power with the RIDGID Portable Generator Line. This 6800 Watt Electric-Start Generator with Idle-Down is engineered to handle your toughest power needs on the jobsite or at home. The Idle-Down function automatically idles the engine when power is not required, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and alternator, increasing overall runtime, and reducing noise. With a heavy-duty 357cc OHV Commercial-Grade Yamaha Engine, this Generator delivers 6800 Running Watts (8500 Surge/Starting Watts) and features a large 8 gallon fuel tank for up to 11 hours of runtime at 50% load. Featuring the Armour Alternator with AVR, this generator produces 6800 Watts of Clean Power- so you can power everything from a laptop to a table saw. This generator features a one-of-a-kind removable control panel that allows you to move and mount essential controls and outlets anywhere you need them- all while the GenSmart monitoring system displays essential functions including Wattage, Voltage, Hertz, Hours of use and even reminds you when its time for maintenance. The heavy-duty Zero-Gravity hand-truck frame design and never-flat tires keeps the unit protected while making it easy to transport even in the toughest conditions. The outlet panel features (4) 20 Amp (GFCI Protected) standard outlets and (1) 240V 30 Amp Twist Lock outlet to meet all your power needs. Backed by a 3 year commercial warranty, you can trust RIDGID to work as hard as you do.
Customer questions and answers:
90 Questions
 | 
235 Answers
Overall rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for RIDGID 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Question

can I have an electric start added to my generator

Asked by
capt
agawam mass
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
March 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
franko
Jonesboro, GA, USA
March 25, 2014
not unless it is specifically designed for one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
March 14, 2014
Pleaes contact Yamaha, the manufacturer of the motor, directly at 770-497-6400 for the answer to your question.

Thank you,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will I be able to plug my camper in to this it takes 30amp service ...or will I have to wire up a new plug

Asked by
Trucker5641
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
August 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Plug your camper in and enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JohnMc
VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 10, 2013
Most campers are wired to plug into 120 VAC. It appears that this generator does not have an outlet which will deliver 30 amps at 120V. It's possible the 240VAC outlet could be used, with the proper plug wired to use just one leg of the 240 V outlet (which would deliver 120 V), however, this is not a standard cable that you can just buy at the store. You may need to wire one up yourself (or get an electrician to do it.

Also, loading one leg of the 240 outlet to its maximum, while taking nothing off the other leg is generally not the best idea. Usually, you try to balance the load more evenly. I'd consult with the manufacturer to see if they have a problem with loading up one leg of the 240 outlet, while leaving the other unused. (If they are OK with it, it may be worth asking of you should switch which leg is used occasionally - or at least occasionally run the generator with a load on both legs, perhaps by plugging multiple things into the 120 v outlets)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
August 17, 2013
If the male plug you are using is a 4 wire 30 amp plug; yes you will be able to plug in.
I do question your using a work site generator for a mobile r.v. . The unit is loud tho capable
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
swamprat
Maringouin, LA 70757, USA
August 16, 2013
yes you should and no as long as its a 30 twist lock
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
August 15, 2013
Depends on the plug/connection on the camper.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a specific power cord required for the Rigid 6800 Model RD906812A? I purchased a power cord that seems adequate,but not sure?

Asked by
Mike
New Hampshire
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
September 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Check your owner's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
September 15, 2013
MIKE,

Any standard 3 prong 3 wire cord will work. If you are using a power tool that requires a lot of amps you may need to go heavy duty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 13, 2013
Power cords are dependent on amp loads. The 120 volt outlets require a 12/2 with ground. The 220 volt 3 wire plugs require a number 10 cable 3 wire with ground . Both are available at Home depot.
Rigid does not supply a 220 volt cable to my understanding. You can buy a 220 volt 3 wire , 25 ft cord with the right ends but you should contac an electrician for connection to your panel if that's what you need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
September 11, 2013
Hi, You need to buy a 30 amp power cord. This cord is a 4 prong cord. If you plan to power up your house this is what you need. if you are using this generator to power job site power equipment, than a standard 12-3 extension cord is fine. Don't use a 12-3 power cord to power your house.
Home Depot sells the 30 amp cords in the shore and on line.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
September 11, 2013
The power cord you use should match the requirements of the electrical device you are powering with the generator. Note that you must ground your generator, preferably to a cold water pipe in your home, or to a grounding rod sunk into the earth, in order to provide a safety ground to whatever you have plugged in that requires use of a grounded power cable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Purchased RD906812 generator Nov. 013. The receptacles and the Gen Set do not work

Asked by
Eddy
New Jersey
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
December 8, 2013
The trouble shhooting Q&A says the cause is the circuit breaker is off. Solution is turn on the circuit breaker.

Where is the circuit breaker on off switch? The manual does not have any info or diagram to show where it is.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Push the reset button.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
Do you mean when the generator is running, there is no power ? The removable control console may not be plugged in.
2) the white buttons are breakers. Just push them in to reset.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIGIDmaster
Horsham, PA
March 2, 2014
Make sure the Gen Set is connected. Remove the Get Set and check the cable connection.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RIDGID
December 9, 2013
There is not an on and off switch for the generators internal circuits. The RD906812 generators 120V and 240V outlets have reset buttons to reset the circuit, if the circuit has been tripped.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will this generator power my gas furnace

Asked by
charlie
pittsburgh
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 13, 2013
my main concern is to keep my home warm in the winter,it's a gas furnace.my home is medium sized at most and is well insulated.also my stove and hot water tank are also gas.Is this unit more than I need?.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIGIDmaster
Horsham, PA
March 2, 2014
Probably.

My furnace is a 15Amp circuit. I ran my furnace on the unit without a problem. The furnace drew 600 Watts.

You'll probably need electricity for your stove for the temperature gauge...only a few watts.

Dunno about the water heater. My gas water heater works fine during a power outage. If you have a power vent water heater, then you will need electricity. Probably a couple hundred watts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
Need to refer to operating requirement for your furnace ie (electrical) input of blower & thermostat .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Builder
November 20, 2013
Yes, It will run it no problem. I live where it is cold in the winter and this runs my geothermal ground water source heat pump.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
November 14, 2013
You will needed to consult with a licensed electrician on matters concerning the powering of your residence/home with a generator. RIDGID cannot advise you on matters of that nature.
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Was told there is a battery charger available for this generator, but I can't find one listed.

Asked by
GaelK
Woodbridge, VA
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
The battery charges whenever the generator is running. I use my generator for emergency backup only, so I run it about 1 hour a month to insure it is running and that the battery is charged.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
stanthompson
michigan
January 23, 2014
This unit is powered by what is basically a modified 4wheeler engine. Any battery charger rated for atv's or motorcycle batteries will work fine. If the unit is ran regularly, even if just for a few minutes, the running engine will charge the battery just as it would on a motorcycle with electric start.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 20, 2013
The RIDGID RD906812 generators battery charges while the generator is running. RIDGID does not offer an accessory charger or battery maintainer to charge the battery during periods of non-use.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Just purchased unit for use whenever there is power outage.

Asked by
Tony
Orangeburg, SC
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
March 2, 2014
The Auto-Idle feature is not working properly on generator. Does anyone else has the same problem? If so, what could be the probable cause? Thanks..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 4, 2014
Yes, that is one of its uses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
If the gen set thinks its under load,, it will operate at 3600 rpm.This means no idle unless all load is lifted. Make sure nothing is drawing current. If nothing is connected, and it still won,t drop rpm, pull out the control board and make sure all connection, s are made tightly . If still no drop, contact home depot for service.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does this Generator weigh?

Asked by
ROSIE
Nashville
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
December 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
Rough guess ? 275 lbs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIGIDmaster
Horsham, PA
March 2, 2014
A lot.
Takes two strong individuals to lift into a car/truck.

Rolls well on level ground with wheels and lever/handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, NY
January 24, 2014
About 285lbs. It's in the specifications list on the website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fishman66
Marquette, MI, USA
January 14, 2014
It weighs around 200lbs but moves very easily with its high tires and zero gravity tipping system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
245 lbs. in box .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
December 30, 2013
This item weighs 245 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the width and depth of the detacheable Gensmart control panel?

Asked by
JimL
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
January 2, 2014
The plan is to extend it to an NEMA rated outdoor enclosure
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Anonymous
Union ct
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 4, 2014
Roughly 4 inches high by 10 inches wide by 4 inches deep ( more or less)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
stanthompson
michigan
January 23, 2014
Honestly, I've only taken my pannel out when I first bought the generator. I thought it was neat that it could be removed. However, I really only needed the 220 twist outlet which is on the non-removable portion of the unit. It seems that the pannel was 3" max in depth and maby 8-10" wide. You will have to buy the special extension cord for the pannel seperatly. It doesn't come with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
fishman66
Marquette, MI, USA
January 14, 2014
I would advise only leaving it in such an enclosure during your actual outage. It stores well and can be moved very easily from your garage. Rodents and moisture can cause problems in these enclosures.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
10"x5"1/2 rough opening , also need to allow for elec. cable to plug in on end of control panel!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
January 7, 2014
The RIDGID generators gen-smart control panel dimensions are: 11” Length X 5-1/4” Height X 6-1/2” Deep.

Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to change the carb so that you can run the unit off of Natural Gas?

Asked by
Farmout
Huntington, WV
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
guitarman
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
Yes but..........there are kits you can buy around 125.00 which bolt on and will operate your generator. That being said it will void your equipment worentee and you will lose some output. Natural gas does not have the btu rating of gasoline . You will lose about 20 percent of you current capability. I have changed over a few generators to propane and found I liked that more. You may want to consider buying a gen set made to operate on natural gas, but it will cost you about twice as much. I personally don't like making a gas generator operate on a different rule then built for. I have in my collection a Onan CCK which runs on gasoline or propane or natural gas. Can,t buy them any more. My 6800. Gives me every thing I need right know.
Carl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
justahomeowner
January 24, 2014
There are kits out on the internet that will convert gas engines to run on either propane, NG or multiple. Depending on the kit, you either install a block or you have to modify the carburetor. I looked before and there was one available for the Yamaha engine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
PaulOskarZ
Down Deep in the heart of the Bayou
January 23, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Sorry I don't know...There can be a down side to natural Gas. In south Jersey from hurricane Sandy, the gas company turned off the gas going down the street. I would stay with gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JohnMc
VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 10, 2013
Yes, there are numerous companies which sell conversion kits so a gas engine can run on Natural gas or propane. The kits are either dedicated natural gas/propane, or "tri-fuel" kits which preserve the ability to run on gasoline. It will void your warranty, but I've personally done this on two generators and run them extensively with no problems. Thousands of people have done it successfully on a wide range of gas engines.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RIDGID
December 6, 2013
This is not something that can be advised on or recommended. Altering a product can damage the product, and voids any warranty coverage the product carries.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this generator be run in every State? If not, why?

Asked by
MOL
NY
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
September 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Captsj
Tennessee, USA
January 14, 2014
This is a political question and needs to refer to local and state laws on clean air and pollution emission discharge of and then refer to operating manual for specific eng.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 20, 2013
Different states have different emission standards for gas burning motors on generators and other gas burning equipment. Notably California is the hardest state in the country to pass emission standards and levels. Not all manufactured generators pass there higher level of emission controls. Ridged generators are not allowed in California for sale for that reason I.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
viziblenoize
September 19, 2013
I live in Louisiana and it runs just fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the generator be stored with a full tank of gas containing a fuel stabilizer or is it better to drain all fuel from the system?

Asked by
sevangelos
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnMc
VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 10, 2013
If you are storing the generator for an extended period, it's best to run the carburetor dry. You can store it with fuel in it, if you use a stabilizer. However, it would be best to store it with ethanol-free gas. Gas with ethanol just does not have very good shelf life; even with a stabilizer shelf life, phase separation, and corrosion can be issues with ethanol blended gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
November 20, 2012
It's better to drain the fuel if you have any doubts about how long you are going to store it.

But obviously fuel stabilizer does work - read the manufacturer's instructions for how long. About a year if I remember correctly.

By the way, gasoline containing 10% Ethanol can cause problems all of its own by absorbing moisture and thus getting water in the fuel. There are additives that claim to deal with that although I'm sceptical so again draining is the better solution.

But as always, just because one solution is theoretically better than another doesn't mean it's right for you. I'd suggest that the interval between generator uses would be a better basis for deciding what to do. If like me you expect to use it every 3 months, I'd go with stabilizer every time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 7, 2012
Yes, you can store the generator with fuel and fuel stabilizer in the fuel tank. We recommend a six month maximum period for storing the generator with fuel in the tank with stabilizer, and you should turn the fuel valve off and let the engine run out of fuel, or drain the fuel form the engine carburetor and fuel lines, prior to storing it away.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this 6800 watt generator made in the US?

Asked by
Bob J
Port Murray, NJ
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
September 17, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ajf2020
November 12, 2013
NO, made in China!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
I am sorry to say it is not. It is assembled in china. please don't be dismayed. It is in my estimation one of the best built units I have ever owned.. I have an old ( 30 year +) onan CCK 5000 watt ) generator that was built here which I still use on long run jobs because it runs on propane . Today that unit would cost 6,000.00 to 7,000.00 dollars. This unit will make you happy!!!!! :) . Its priced right , powerful, well built and capable of long run times. Weeks, not days. change the oil every 100 hours, put gas in it and it will deliver .

Carl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CPNJ
Manasquan, NJ, USA
September 17, 2013
I doubt the YAMAHA engine is made in the U.S.!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

RD906812B Vapor Lock?

Asked by
Kevin
Ohio
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
August 17, 2013
Has the "B" Revison taken care of the vapor lock issue? How was this handled? I read where some people report the problem with the gas cap and other people say it is the white fuel filter and you want to be sure it has a red filter. As of today, 8/17/3013, there are 3 of these in stock at my local Home Depot and they all have the white filter. I want to purchase this but am a little concerned with purchasing something with a known issue. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Grog
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 26, 2013
I didn't have that problem with mine delivered 10/25/13. If you read other reviews at Home Depot on this product you will see fixes etc. A temp. fix is to crack open the gas cap. Other reviews also explain how to identify if your unit has the updates. Mine has the RED fuel filter and it was assembled in March 2013. A review of Ridgid Generators is in Popular Mechanics. Ranked "top shelf".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Disgruntled
September 19, 2013
You're right to be concerned. Ridgid won't give out enough information to ascertain if the so-called "B" version fixed the issue. I can actually tell you that my version (?) has the issue. It dies after 10 minutes unless the gas cap is unscrewed.

Caveat Emptor!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 13, 2013
I hate to say, go with what works but ........Get a red filter as a back up. they are cheap enough. Have H.D ricind the cost of the filter if the change is needed.. I don't believe it will be. The color is not the driver. The porosity of the filter is. It really depends on who made the filter paper. The generator has been thru a lot and I believe the vapor lock issue is dead, fixed, resolved.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jeff
Idaho
August 20, 2013
Mine has the white filter and I have not had any issues. Fuel filters can cause gas flow issues if they are not designed for the application. I had a motorcycle with a fuel issue and it was solved by replacing the filter with one designed for no fuel pump.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mrjohn
Neptune, NJ
August 18, 2013
Hi,
If you buy the generator with a battery charger built into the machine. This is the third generation model. They fixed the vapor lock problem.

mr.john
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jack
Far Rockaway, Queens, NY, USA
August 17, 2013
My generator had the same problem. Loosening the gas cap slightly to allow air to get into the fuel tank solved the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THE GENERATOR 100% COPPER WOUND?

Asked by
BOB
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
October 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Grog
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 26, 2013
I cannot see inside the actual generator portion of the unit to determine whether copper or aluminum. It doesn't say in the Operator's Manual. I suggest you call 800-539-1710 for customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ronald
Westport, CT, USA
October 3, 2012
since I dont have X ray vision I would call the manufacturer, they should have that info....Captron 51
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

In regard to the Ridgid 6800, when maintenance is needed, how do I find the nearest repair shop?

Asked by
Scott
Mobile, AL
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
June 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Grog
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 26, 2013
According to instruction manual call 800-539-1710
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RIDGID
July 3, 2012
You can find local service centers online at www.ridgid.com. You would click on support then service centers. Once you get there you will need to enter your zip code and pick the type of tool you need repaired. This will give you a list of local service centers addresses and phone numbers.

Thank you
RIDGID Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 220 volt outlet GFCI protected (neutral bonded to ground) ? I need to know if I must install a 3 pole transfer switch

Asked by
Mike
CT
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
September 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RIDGID
September 26, 2013
RIDGID generator model RD906812 is a neutral bonded unit. You will need to consult with a licensed electrician concerning matters related to connecting and powering a residence or building with a generator, RIDGID cannot advise on matters of that nature.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just bought a RIDGID 6800-Watt Yamaha 357cc Electric Start Idle Down Portable Generator and when i turn it on it shuts down every 8-10 mins.

Asked by
diana
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 3, 2012
Can someone help me it solving this issue?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Disgruntled
September 19, 2013
Unscrew the gas cap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BadM5
November 5, 2012
try loosening your fuel cap and try running it again. It fixed my issue...... the issue is a faulty fuel cap causing a vacuum thus choking the engine for fuel. Good luck. If it fixes your issue call your local service center and have them "vent" your fuel cap.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RIDGID
November 5, 2012
All engine related questions, issues, and support matters are to be addressed through the engine manufacturer Yamaha at 1-866-788-7398.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a brand new 6800 watt Rigid generator. It runs for about an hour, surges and then shuts down. I hear it's a vacuum problem. Help!

Asked by
Ed
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
November 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Disgruntled
September 19, 2013
You got 50 minutes more than I did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dave
Mansfield Center, CT, USA
November 20, 2012
It is an air lock. Call customer service. There is an air tube T intersection, pull the descending hose (you'll have to undo the clamp) off and the generator will run great. According to tech support it will have to go to a repair shop for a permanent fix. Very disappointing that Home Depot would continue to sell these without warning the customer. As soon as I described the problem tech support knew the issue and the fix.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GAGrav
November 20, 2012
Same happened to my brand new Generator. Called Rigid. Its a vacuum issue. Disconnect the center black tubing coming down from gas tank vent going to OHV/Carb. There is a repair kit. Take it to a service center for repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jtd771
Sparta, NJ
November 20, 2012
Ed, I have experienced this myself and so have some others as you might have seen from previous questions about the issue. First, contact Rigid support so they can document the issue. Most likely they will tell you that it is a vapor lock issue and that the unit should be brought to a service center for resolution. When I called, our power was out due to Sandy so they gave me two temporary options to see us through the storm. The first was to disconnect the vertical hose coming from the T connector behind the air clearer. If this didn't solve the issue, (didn't for me) I was then instructed to loosen the gas cap but still leave it in place. This did work for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RIDGID
November 20, 2012
Please contact the RIDGID customer service phone staff at 1-866-539-1710, for assistance with having your RIDGID generator properly checked and serviced, if you are experiencing a problem it. generator.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can this generator be stored with the engine up and resting on rubber skids behind the wheels

Asked by
yamaha
about 6,800-Watt Yamaha 357 cc Electric Start Idle Down Gasoline Powered Portable Generator on
March 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
guitarman8057
Union ct
September 18, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GerryR
June 13, 2013
I would not do this any more than I would store my car vertically for the same reason. Engines of this type are meant to have the oil pan under the engine, not on the side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
viziblenoize
March 14, 2013
the oil pan(bottom of the engine) must be lower than the crankshaft otherwise the oil will leak out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mole007
Princeton, NJ, USA
March 14, 2013
If you completely drain all the fuel and the oil then it might be possible. Otherwise you will almost certainly have a fuel spill - really bad news - and possibly have lubricating oil get to parts of the engine it doesn't belong or just leak out.

Not a good idea in other words.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »