Looking for Answers about GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it delivered to your home. Search Internet # 203274034. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows. It comes with GE’s EZ-mount installation.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions
 | 
35 Answers
Overall rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

Does this unit use a 110 or 220 outlet?

Asked by
Lue
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 27, 2012
Hellu Lue,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner model # AEL10AQ.

The air conditoner plugs into a regular outlet 110 volts. Plug Type: Parallel/NEMA 5-15

Thank you for considering GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
paul
Pahrump, NV, USA
July 30, 2012
110
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jaymack
Los Angeles
May 3, 2013
It says it in the description, yours is 110.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the power cord?

Asked by
jbos51866
Westerville, OH
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 20, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL10AQ.

The power cord is 72" in length.

GE room air conditioners must be plugged directly into a properly grounded 3-prong wall outlet. Do not use an extension cord or plug the unit into a surge protector or multi-outlet adaptor.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fantasygary
Tacoma, WA
August 6, 2013
Didn't measure but looks to be about 8 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Eric
Ann Arbor, MI
August 29, 2014
6 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My window is 21 inches wide. Is there a way to make this unit fit - maybe take something off of the sides?

Asked by
Blitz
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 15, 2013
Hello Blitz,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL10AQ.

Yes, the side curtains can be removed to install in a narrow window. The steps are provided in the installation instructions.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 22" / 36"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 15-1/2"

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
With a little craftsmanship and some ply wood you could make this work.I have a 35in window and with the side sliders it still has some open gap. I cut some heavy card board to fit this gap and taped it to the window frame Works good for keeping out warm air from outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Eric
Ann Arbor, MI
August 29, 2014
Maybe? The unit itself is about 19 inches wide. (Possibly slightly wider due to part of the structure. I measured the widest part that hangs into your room.) You certainly would not be able to use the included accordion-style spacers, so you would have to cover the remaining gap somehow.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this unt slide into the cabinet?

Asked by
geo
st pete
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 16, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 17, 2012
Hello Geo,

Thank you for your inquiry ont the GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner model # AEL10AQ.

This model has a Fixed Chassis and does not slide-out of case. It offers the EZ Mount window installation and is not designed to go into a sleeve or wall case.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
paul
Pahrump, NV, USA
July 30, 2012
no, must be mounted in window for proper ventalation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a washable filter ?

Asked by
buddy
Pittsburgh pa
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 11, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello Buddy,

Thank you for your question on the GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote model # AEL10A.

Yes, the air filter is washable. Clean the filter with warm,soapy water. Rinse and let the filter dry before replacing it. The filter cannot be cleaned in a dishwasher.

The filter should be checked and cleaned at least every 30 days or more often if necessary.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
paul
Pahrump, NV, USA
July 30, 2012
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How large of a window will this air conditioner fit ?

Asked by
chris
los angeles
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
October 2, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 3, 2012
Hello Chris,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Electronic Window Air Conditioner model # AEL10AQ.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 22" / 36"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 15-1/2 "

The installation iinstructions are available on the Home Depot website under "More Info".

I hope this is helpful!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jaymack
Los Angeles
May 3, 2013
My window is 22 inches wide and 17 inches high and I had at least an inch or more on each side and a few inches above. Mine is a little different because my front window is made up of 12 separate windows so I have to punch out one of the windows.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is rattling normal? I had my brand new AEL10AQ installed today by a professional, and it is making a rather irritating rattling noise.

Asked by
JAB
NYC
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
Mine does not rattle. It is secured to the window by screws supplied with the AC If your window is loose in the frame that might cause the rattling noise. Perhaps your sill prevents the AC to sit flush...The installer should know this and correct it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 3, 2013
Hello JAB, I am sorry for the trouble with your new GE room air conditioner. A rattling noise is not normal, but there is a pinging noise that is caused by water being picked up and thrown against the condenser when the humidity is high. This design feature helps remove moisutre and improve effieciency. If this is not the problem, and you have checked for any loose packing material, I would suggest that you call for a warranty service call:

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps out! Sheree with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a vent so the fan can draw air from outside?

Asked by
jw
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2013
Hello JW,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL10AQ.

Select model room air conditioners have outside vents that can be used when it is cool outdoors. During these times, the vent can be opened, allowing the unit to pull fresh air in, rather than air conditioning the room. Some room air conditioners have buttons marked for this operation. AIR IN buttons open the vents and AIR OUT buttons close the vents.

Models that offer this are the J-Case or Built-In models. AEL10AQ does not offer this feature.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
There is no option on this AC to use outdoor air or not. I can see a space in the back where fresh air is able to enter. Looks like styrofoam with a split on the backing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the warranty on this unit

Asked by
Sue
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 4, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL10AQ.

The air conditioner offers a 1 - Year Limited warranty. Please see the use and care manual for the complete warranty details.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
This unit comes with a one year warranty. But here in NY it will only be used about 3 months. By the time next summer comes the warranty will be over. I purchased an extended warranty for an extra 3 yrs. The bad part is that even though the warranty says 3 years it is actually only for two extra years. The first year of extended warranty runs along with the one year from the AC mfg. To me this is a rip off. 8-(
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

There is a molded piece of styrofoam inside unit. Can't find in the owners manual if I'm suppose to remove it.

Asked by
R.A.N.
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
NOOOOO.... that is what they use for insulation these days. Mfgs find a way to make things cheaply now. Good for them, bad for us. 8-)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for contacting us and for choosing GE. I am happy to help.

This is insulation and needs to remain in the unit.

Please let us know if you have any further questions about GE products and services.

Sincerely,
Nikki with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much noise do they make...are they noisey?

Asked by
gramms
boston mass
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NYLady
NY
August 11, 2013
On low cool it is still noisy. If you are using it in the bedroom and are used to a quiet atmosphere then this will take some getting used to. It's like a floor fan on high. I have it in the living room and need the TV sound higher then normal. But it does a good job of cooling.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE air conditioners. I am happy to help.

GE does not have sone or decibel ratings for room air conditioners. The noise levels will vary with different installations. I can tell you that I rarely receive negative comments on noise levels with our air conditioners.

Please let us know if you have any further questions about GE products and services.

Sincerely,
Nikki with GE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the differences between AEL10AQ and AEL10AS?

Asked by
bhc2000
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 18, 2014
Hello, could you advise what are the differences between models AEL10AQ and AEL10AS? AEL10AS is Energy Star certified, has actually a higher EER and but cost more to operate according to the Energy Guide than the AEL10AQ. I am confused. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 20, 2014
Hello Bhc2000 - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

These two models are essentially the same model, but the "AS" version is newer and is more energy efficient.

AEL10AQ - This model has been available since 2012 and the energy guide label reflects the original information including where it says: "Estimated operating cost based on a 2007 national average electricity cost of 10.65 cents per kWh".

AEL10AS - This is a newer version that came out earlier this year, and has a higher EER (more efficient) but the estimated energy cost is now higher. Per energy guide: "Estimated operating cost based on a national average electricity cost of 12 cents per kWh and a seasonal use of 8 hrs a day over a 3 month period."

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LAOlver
Oceanside Ca
September 14, 2014
I am also confused by the answer. I wonder, if the reason is that the energy cost listed for the older version was done at a time when electricity cost per KWH was enough lower that when you compare it to even a more efficient unit cost TODAY it SEEMS lower ? Thus, if you operated them side by side today, the newer one WOULD cost less to operate ?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how can I fix the unit from feeling wet underneath and sometimes water drips from underneath to my floor inside?

Asked by
AllStar
Houston, TX
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 18, 2014
I have tried cleaning the outside with a spray bottle of water, using a lint brush. I have used my dogs hair dryer to blow out anything that is blocking. Please help me and tell me what else I can do.
Thank you,
Desperate
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 18, 2014
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help.

The unit may be installed incorrectly so that it is tilted slightly into the room. It should be level or tilted slightly to the outside (about ¼”) so that any excess water will drip outside. Dirty filters can also cause moisture to collect and drip on the floor. Cleaning the filter will resolve that problem (see Owner's Manual for instructions).

Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bobby
Derby ct
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 20, 2014
The water will turn to rust and my unit had a chemical smell when power on .GE warranty company do not replace or repair rust units per their Contract with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my GE window air conditioner is model TLABCB403JBRZ 11,000BTU 230V which new one will fit this model

Asked by
zan
Holmdel, NJ
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 8, 2012
width 25 1/4" height 14 1/2" casing 26 x 15 3/4"
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 9, 2012
Hello Zan,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner model # AEL10AQ. This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

Model TLABCB403JBRZ is not a GE model number so I have no dimensions or specifications I can compare to at this time.

Model AEL10AQ will fit the following opening.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 22" / 36"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 15-1/2"

Overall Depth: 21.25"
Overall Height: 14.5625"
Overall Width: 19.03125"

Should you have any additioanl questions, please let us know.

Have a good day!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Hello: is there a list for sq. ft. per BTU's. You know...5,000 BTU's = ? sq. ft.. Thank You.

Asked by
Ralph.
Waterville, Maine 04901
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 5, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 6, 2012
Hello Ralph,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with remote model # AEL10AQ.

The proper unit for any area you may be planning to cool depends on many things. Room size, insulated ceiling, other air conditioning, number of windows, and the location (morning, evening sunlight). On a general BTU chart, a 10,000 BTU unit will handle approximatly 400-450 square feet.

Decide if you just want to cool one room such as a bedroom or the whole house, then take your room or home area dimensions to Home Depot and they will help you find the right size unit or units.

3 key considerations:
1. will it fit in the window/wall
2. will the plug reach & is it the proper voltage?
3. size of the room?

The function of an air conditioner is to cool the room to a comfortable temperature and remove humidity.

Installing a much larger unit than a room requires will result in the compressor running for short periods of time and being off long periods of time. As cold air leaves the air conditioner in a small room it is deflected off the walls back to the air conditioner and pre-maturely cycles the unit off resulting in cold spots and hot spots and very little loss of humidity. The ideal is to size the air conditioner so it is forced to run 80 to 100% of the time to keep the room cool. This ensures proper removal of humidity. A comfortable room is more a factor of low humidity than low temperature.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is Model # AEL10AQ made?

Asked by
Brian
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 20, 2012
GE 10,000 BTU 115 Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL10AQ
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 21, 2012
Hello Brian,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE model AEL10AQ air conditioner.

All GE air conditioners are manufactured Globally.

GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

can the unit be recharged, ie: does it have fittings to put more refrigerant in it.

Asked by
wantaproductthatcanberepaired
usa
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 19, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna wtih GE and I will be happy to assist you.

Any repair or work to the sealed system must be done by serive. I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician

Please see the link below for sceduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this in stock at a store near 55410?

Asked by
jojoe
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THD Customer Support
Kennesaw, Ga
June 24, 2013
Thank you for asking. This item is a Home Depot store exclusive, and is not available to order online. To determine pricing and availability you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
1. Localize Homedepot.com using your zip code (My Store Location: Change)
2. Choose the store where you want to pick up the item (Make this my Store)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what model fits in an aluminum sliding window; we bought the ael-10aq

Asked by
joe
white salmon, wa
about 10,000 BTU 115-Volt Electronic Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 1, 2013
the instructions say it's for traditional (double hung) windows; is there a mounting kit for this one?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 1, 2013
Hello Joe,

GE no longer manufactures an air conditioner for a Casement style window. Model AEL10AQ is designed for a Double or Single Hung window only.

Please check with another manufacture.

I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Donna witth GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1