Looking for Answers about BEHR Premium 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner?

Customer questions and answers for
BEHR Premium 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner

Behr Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner helps transform old, dirty, mildew stained wood surfaces into clean wood that is then ready to stain or finish. Ideal for decks, fences and siding. Removes exterior stains caused by mold, mildew, algae and fungus.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions
 | 
74 Answers
Overall rating:
3.907 out of 5
3.9
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for BEHR Premium 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner

Question

Is this product safe to use around pets?

Asked by
Lucky
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
September 12, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 13, 2013
Dear Lucky,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner must be rinsed completely from the surface before allowing a pet to access the area. Keep all pets away from the cleaned surface until it is completely dry after rinsing. Please read all label instructions and warnings before using this product.

Thank you for your inquiry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nunyabiz
Raleigh, NC, USA
September 28, 2013
even though it says "yes" on the bottle I would say absolutely NOT.
If you wouldn't bend down and take a nice long lick of it then don't even think for a second your pet should.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jay_HD_CHI
September 13, 2013
Hi Lucky,

I would suggest keeping your fuzzy friends away while using this product. It's a corrosive material because it contains part oxalic acid as it's cleaning agent. You'll want to take caution yourself when using the product, by ensuring that you wear eye and repiratory protection, as well as chemical/acid resistant gloves when using this.

Keep the pets inside until after you have rinsed the product off of your deck, fence or siding and they will definitely appreciate it. = )

- Jay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
No, it burns upon contact. You must protect your eyes and wear rubber gloves and have plenty of available running water. This is only for a few hours depending on the size of the area you are cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
WorkingforaLiving
Calera, Al
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
No it's not safe for animals, it's an acid and should be handled carefully. Pets need to be removed from the area for the duration of the work performed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
BridgewaterBob
Long Beach Island, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 4, 2014
No. It contains sodium hypoclorite, regular household bleach. Keep pets away until it's totally washed away. (ps - the bleach can be rough on the wood itself)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a brush with hard or soft bristles?

Asked by
Ryn
Baldwin, NY
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Mine were about 1" stiffer nylon bristles. I honestly don't think it matters, the brushing is more to make sure the product gets everywhere on the board.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
July 2, 2013
Dear Ryn,

You can scrub the surface using a stiff bristle broom or brush. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for the inquiry!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
The harder the better, but don't use a metal bristle brush as it will probably splinter your wood.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gyrlsyx
Gainesville, VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
I used a brush with hard bristles so I could really work the solution into the wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
I used a stiff nylon brush with great results. I got mine from an auto parts store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Should I hose down the deck prior to cleaning?

Asked by
Ryn
Baldwin, NY
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Yes, and make sure it doesn't dry while you are working this product. I just kept misting mine.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
July 2, 2013
Dear Ryn,

You must wet the surface with water prior to cleaning. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for posting the question!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
Yes. Wet the wooden surface first. Mix the deck cleaner 50/50 with water and spray on. Since I didn't want to further dilute the cleaner, I put clean water in a shallow litter box and dipped by brush in the pan and applied a little water in a scrubbing motion. Periodically, I changed out the dirty water in the litter box. Once the boards were scrubbed clean, I turned my hose on and gave a good rinse with water.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NoMoreWoodDecks
August 5, 2013
Yes, the label says the wood should be wet before applying.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
You should wet the surface just before applying your soultion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do you mix this or use straight out of container? How long to dry?

Asked by
loos
Tampa FL
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Instructions call for a 50/50 mix. You could probably use straight, it isn't super strong. Let it sit about 30 minutes after brushing but keep it moist.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
June 25, 2013
Dear Loos,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner can be diluted to 1 part of cleaner with 1 part tap water (1:1 dilution) in a clean plastic container. To remove rust, tannin bleed, red clay stains and for extremely hard to clean weathered wood surfaces, use the cleaner at full strength. Allow the surface to completely dry before applying a stain or finish (drying time will depend on temperature). Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you!
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
Dilute 50/50 with water. Once you've scrubbed and rinsed, drying time will depend on outdoor temperature, shade, sun, and wind. Decking will dry faster on a hot, windy day.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
geradeausbakerei
July 21, 2013
it needs to be mixed. It contains some kind of bleach that could be very corrosive to your skin and to the wood. Needs to be thoroughly rinsed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the deck cleaner harm my vinyl siding?

Asked by
Dan
Minnesota
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Not sure, but I do think it may have slightly bleached my house paint, so I'd recommend spraying your house off first then keeping this on the deck. It doesn't really spread.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hubbyknows
Bettendorf IA
July 31, 2013
Dan - The first sentence on the backside label of the Behr Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner reads exactly as follows:
"WHERE TO USE: Exterior Wood & Composites, Decks, Siding, Shakes, Shingles, Fences & Patio Furniture, Vinyl & Aluminum Siding, Masonry, Stucco and Concrete."
So there's your answer, right off the product's label.
If you have a door or window near the area you're cleaning, I suggest you cover it with plastic sheeting duct taped around the door or window perimeter. This cleaner contains Oxalic Acid and can leave permanent marks on your door or window glass.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Behr
July 2, 2013
Dear Dan,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner can be used on vinyl siding. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for posting the question!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
I have vinyl siding on my home and this product did not harm it at all. I have recently applied this product to both my front porch and back deck and the vinyl trim edge pieces actually touch my decking, There was no melting, warping, splitting, or other damage. The product label does say it's caustic, so there is acid in the product, but I applied it without gloves or other skin protection and I didn't have a problem with the product touching my skin either. I scraped a couple of knuckles and broke skin while using this product, but I'd have to say rubbing alcohol burns in a cut more than this did.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What technique would you recommend for cleaning the railings and posts?

Asked by
Ryn
Baldwin, NY
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Are they already stained? If so, just use a pressure washer, then this "cleaner" as a brightner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hubbyknows
Bettendorf, IA, USA
July 31, 2013
Ryn - For the railings and posts I recommend you use a bristle staining brush dipped in the undiluted Behr Premium Wood Cleaner. Wet the railings and posts thoroughly with your hose prior to brushing on the Cleaner, wait 10 minutes, use a stiff bristle handheld brush to scrub with, then use your garden hose with a sprayer and rinse it off very well. May have to repeat if they're really dirty.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Behr
July 2, 2013
Dear Ryn,

You can apply our BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner on vertical surfaces using a pump sprayer, brush or spray bottle. Keep the surface completely wet with solution for 10-15 minutes and scrub using a stiff bristle broom or brush. Please follow all label instructions.

Thanks again!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
I used a very stiff bristled brush with a wooden backplate that I found at Home Depot. I think the bristles are possibly nylon and the give very little when pressing down on the brush. You are supposed to keep this product wet, so I put water in a shallow litter box and lightly wet the bristles to apply more water to keep my deck boards, posts, and railings damp while the product did its thing. I felt like Cinderella scrubbing the floors on hands and knees, but it certainly did the trick. I had 9 years of algae, dirt, mildew, etc. on my deck and with a little elbow grease my wood looks brand new!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Behr deck cleaner be used with a power washer?

Asked by
Barbara
Maumelle, AR
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
September 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
October 1, 2013
Dear Barbara,

We recommend using a pump sprayer, brush, mop or roller to apply the BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for your inquiry.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
carpenter1
Akron, OH, USA
September 30, 2013
Yes but it wont work any better than power washing with plain water as it needs time to soak. If your trying to remove mold buy a different brand designed for that purpose and it will also remove the oxidation., you have to spend about 25 dollars to find one that actually works. google deck cleaner reviews. otherwise just hose your deck or porch thoroughly with water use a 10 dollar 1 gallon pump sprayer with 2 parts water 1 part bleach a scoop of oxiclean , let set 5 miniutes then power wash on a low setting . home depot sells a good sprayer Ive had mine ten yeras , just be shur to fill it out with water and spray it a miniute after each use to protect the plastic components from long term chemical decay.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
djune617
Indianapolis, IN
July 16, 2014
It's recommended not to use a power washer, which I didn't find necessary anyway. I used hose with nozzle at regular pressure and it rinsed off with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
A power washer is not recommended. The force of the water could damage the wood. I used a stiff nylon brush with great results. Make sure you have lots of running water handy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this product clean off linseed oil so we can apply behr deck over

Asked by
confused
dalhart tx
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
June 24, 2013
Dear confused,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner will clean, brighten and remove exterior stains caused by mold, mildew, algae and most household stains such as BBQ sauce, ketchup, wine, etc. This product will not remove deep penetrating linseed oil wood stains.

Thank you for posting the question!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Brice
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
June 23, 2013
My opinion is yes, but if you're going to paint it I would clean a small test area, paint it and see what happens. My deck only has Thompson's water seal on it. I hope that helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
I don't believe this product will remove the linseed oil, as that is usually applied as a sealer. Beher makes another product the removes sealers and old stain, so you will probably want to look into that product. The deck cleaner is for aged, untreated wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do I cover the cement patio below the deck to protect it?

Asked by
sho
chanhassen, mn
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
August 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
geradeausbakerei
August 1, 2013
It' probably going to bleach the color of the cement so if that's something people will see then yes you should cover it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
August 1, 2013
Dear Sho,

Although the BEHR Premium NO. 63 All-In-One Wood Cleaner should not damage the cement surface below your deck, we recommend covering the cement because it will be easier to keep clean and dry when cleaning and rinsing the deck above it.

Thank you for the inquiry!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
This product will stain anything it comes in contact with. It permanently stained some of my red brick paver stones and red bricks I had to close to the area I was treating. This is why you have to use propper eye protection and rubber gloves.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Behr All-In-One Wood Cleaner harmful to grass?

Asked by
Walt
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
Didn't hurt my grass
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
June 25, 2013
Dear Walt,

Please dampen nearby foliage/grass with water and cover with plastic drop cloths before using our BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner. Follow all label instructions.

Thank you for posting the question!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
It did not harm my grass or ornamental plants and I did not attempt to cover my grass or plants with anything.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Deck Over how long is it good for after application

Asked by
loos
Tampa FL
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
murrr77
Omaha, NE, USA
July 16, 2013
The brightner? until it gets dirty again. After it is dry you should probably stain within a week or two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
June 25, 2013
Dear loos,

If the DECKOVER coating is applied according to label directions to a properly prepared, sound wood or concrete substrate, the film can be expected to last as long as a high quality Solid Color Wood Stain. BEHR Solid Color Wood Stains last 5 to 10 years on horizontal surfaces and 15 to 25 years on vertical surfaces. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for posting your questions!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
I think this will depend on your individual circumstances. If you have trees overhanging your deck, you will probably have to clean more often, as leaves leach pigment into wood. Also, shady areas trap more humidity and stay moist longer, which breeds algae and mildew. Application in sunny areas will probably look clean longer, as the sun naturally bleaches wood. About a month ago, I cleaned my deck, which gets early morning sun and is shaded all afternoon, with trees nearby but not directly overhanging. I had nine years of algae, mildew, and dirt on weathered, untreated wood. Currently, it still looks like I just cleaned it. My wood really looks brand new at this point, but when the leaves come down this fall, I would expect they will begin to stain the wood with those pretty orange, red, and yellow pigments, so I plan to apply a stain. Behr has indicated that their stains self seal, so there's no need to apply a separate sealer after staining. The Behr Deckover product is another option that will even seal cracks but it covers the wood grain, so if you like to see the beauty of the grain, you can stain. Another option is to clean your wood and simply apply a clear polyurethane wood sealer so you can keep that clean look longer. I have asked Beher several questions via their website and they have responded to my questions very quickly. I've been impressed by their helpful advice and I love, love, love their deck cleaner product.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used to lighted new pressure treated wood so it can be stained?

Asked by
Godzilla Guy
Berkeley, CA
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
August 24, 2013
I'm making a garden bench out of pressure treated wood. I want to stain it a color that is lighter than the wood is now. Will this product help lighten the wood for staining with a brighter color?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
August 26, 2013
Dear Godzilla Guy,

The active ingredient in our All-In-One Wood Cleaner will help brighten the wood to it's natural color. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for your inquiry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
carpenter1
Akron, OH, USA
September 7, 2013
No, it will not. Make shure PT wood is not wet wood that you just bought, otherwise let it air dry for three weeks before atempting to stain. Remember the dark lines (wood grain) is just the side view of the tree rings and is very hard. Only the soft pulp in between is going to get full stain saturation. So if you want maximum contrast between say birch white and the tree rings use birch white full transparent stain. It will stain the lighter pulp wood an extreme light color. If you do not want to see the wood grain( dark tree rings) stand out so much use semi transparent birch white it will cover the rings somewhat. Wood bleaching southern yellow pine would be a waste of time anyway if your trying to hide the grain the resins will just come back in time. So use a solid color stain if you want to hid the grain.No worry about wood stain. you dont need to lighten the wood first its not going to make the stain any lighter. The soft pulp could be black and it will be birch white if your staining it that color. The maximum contrst will be achived with transparent stain in yellow pine, and semitransparent would be your second choice if you want to lighten the tree rings so that they dont look much darker than the pulp wood in between the tree rings. normallywhen using a darker stain ,the dark portion of the wood becomes the lighter wood and the lighter portion of the wood becomes darker. However, With a light color like birch white the lighter color will get even lighter and the darker color will stay about the same with full transparent stain. With semi transparent stain the dark portion (tree rings will get a little lighter but not much. if you want maximum woodgrain contrast use full transparent stain. It will almost look like a zebra.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BridgewaterBob
Long Beach Island, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 4, 2014
I would not use products like this on a new or relatively new wood. They contain sodium hypoclorite (regular household bleach) which is bad for wood. I started using it on my one-year old deck and it lightened the wood but also made it fuzzy. Since you're just doing a bench, I THINK the bleach in this product will lighten the wood, but suggest you just mix a batch of household bleach and water and test it on a back board, then sand it if to remove any fuzz.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use the product to clean the bench made out of oak ?

Asked by
Brown Wolf
Bay Area, California
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
October 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tater8Salad
Lansing, MI
October 4, 2013
Don't know about this product, however I just wrote a review on Citris-Strip which I used on Walnut and I would recommend it.

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
October 4, 2013
Dear Brown Wolf,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner is not designed for hardwoods such as oak.

Thank you for your inquiry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
This stuff will only clean bare wood. It will not remove stain, varnish or paint but it will remove mold & mildew stains. The finished wood will look new.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this on my cedar chairs?

Asked by
celjr
St Louis Mo
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
April 30, 2014
Chairs need to be restained
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
May 1, 2014
Dear celjr,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner is formulated to clean exterior wood surfaces such as patio furniture. Please follow all label instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
woodflier
Woodinville, WA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Yes, you should be able to do so. Follow the instructions and it should work great. However, there may be better alternatives for a smaller item like chairs. This cleaner needs to be applied using a sprayer so it could get kind of "messy" and "drippy" when applying to chairs - make sure to apply on a surface where you don't mind run off of colorant, tanin, etc... The runoff will stain if not immediately removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
This stuff will only clean bare wood. It will not remove stain, varnish or paint.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long after I clean my deck with this product can I then paint the deck with Behr deck over paint?

Asked by
Beck10
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
July 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
July 29, 2014
Dear Anonymous,

When using our BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner please allow the surface to completely dry and lightly sand any loose wood fibers with medium grit sand paper. Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you and good luck with your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
I let my fence dry for 2 days before painting it but I could have painted sooner. Just make sure the wood is fully dry before painting it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
blcmtd
Dalton. GA
July 30, 2014
About two days if no more rain or water has been on deck. Do a splash test, splash a little water on your deck if you see the deck absorb the water it should be ready to apply Deck Over.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this product contain oxygen bleach, or chlorine bleach?

Asked by
Bruce
Savannah, GA
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
October 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
No Bleach of any kind but it does contain OXALIC ACID Solution less than 10% so it is a must to wear eye protection when using the product. I applied it with a very stiff nylon brush. The directions say to dilute the contents with water to make a 50% solution but on really hard to clean wood you may uses a 100% solution. I used this product to clean my bear wood backyard fence before staining. This stuff works great on bear wood. This stuff will not strip old paint from wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
October 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for your question. BEHR PREMIUM® All-In-One Wood Cleaner does not contain bleach. Please follow all label instructions. Best of luck on your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
blcmtd
Dalton. GA
October 8, 2014
Neither it use oxalic acid and it states not to mix with any type of bleach or household detergents. This is a great cleaner for wood. My deck had green mold and black discoloration on it. I just hosed it down and applied this cleaner with my sprayer. I waited 15 minutes and scrubbed with a stiff deck brush, then hosed off twice. It look 100 times better and this cleaner is not harsh to smell either. I hope this helped.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what do for wood prep appl how long to dry

Asked by
Loos
Tampa FL.
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 25, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
June 25, 2013
Dear Loos,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner will clean, brighten and remove exterior stains caused by mold, mildew, algae and most household stains such as BBQ sauce, ketchup, wine, etc. Allow the surface to completely dry before applying a stain or finish (drying time will depend on temperature). Please follow all label instructions.

Thank you for the inquiry!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
asarge
Winder, GA
July 2, 2013
Pour deck cleaner in a tank sprayer. Mix should be 50% cleaner to 50% clean water. Wet down your wood with clean water, then spray the wood with the diluted cleaner mix. If wood starts to dry, dip a stiff brustled brush in a shallow pan of clean water and apply water with brush in a scrubbing motion. It's best to apply in a small managable area of about 4X4 feet if you're working alone so that you can keep the wood moist as the acid in the product works. (Stubborn areas can always be re-treated if needed.) Scrub application area with a stiff bristled brush and periodically dip the brush in the water pan to remove the gunk that appears on the brush. Once you are happy with the results, hose down the cleaned area with clean water. Periodically change water in your water pan. Keep moving in managable sections until you're done. Drying time depends on outdoor temperature, sun, shade, humidity, and wind. The cleaned areas will dry faster on a hot, sunny day than a cooler, shady day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I use this product to clean a deck painted with DeckOver this summer?

Asked by
over the hill painters
Maryland
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
September 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
September 26, 2013
Dear over the hill painters,

Please use soap and water with scrubbing to remove light dirt and stains from DECKOVER coated surfaces.

Thank you for your inquiry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
This cleaner will not remove paint. It will only clean bare wood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is diluted solution effective?

Asked by
Brian
dayton, ohio
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
May 26, 2014
I've completed my project and have left over diluted solution. How long is the diluted solution good for or should it be disposed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Behr
May 27, 2014
Dear Brian,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner has a shelf life of approximately two years.

Thank You
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Timewarpone
California
August 2, 2014
I cleaned a very large area and used the solution for a few days or until the amount in the pail ran dry from use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it remove mildew from poplar siding as well as clean siding?

Asked by
rufous
beckley west virginia
about 1-gal. All-In-One Wood Cleaner on
June 21, 2014
Part of our north wall poplar siding has some mildew where it gets no sun.Will all-in-one remove the mildew or do I need to first remove mildew with specifically formulated mildew remover?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kenny
Ft. Mitchell, Ky.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 22, 2014
Only used it on a set of pressure treated stairs in my backyard. It didn't help at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Behr
June 23, 2014
Dear Rufous,

BEHR Premium All-In-One Wood Cleaner can be used to remove stains caused by mold, mildew, algae and fungus. This product is recommended for exterior wood & composite surfaces such as decks, siding and fences.

Thank you for your inquiry and best of luck with your project!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »