Looking for Answers about GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
96 Questions
 | 
351 Answers
Overall rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

My Ge Model washing machine is GTWN2800D0WW. After spinning the clothing is wet enough to wring it by hand. Water does not completely extract.

Asked by
Patty
Delaware
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 14, 2013
Washer is less than a year old. Have had to spin some cycles more than two times to remove water prior to drying. Disgusted!
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 14, 2013
Hello Patty,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having an issue with your washer. I am happy to help!

If the clothes seem too wet after the wash cycle is complete, there are a couple things below I would suggest to check that can cuase the washer not to spin out water properly.

~ Make sure drain hose is not "kinked" or trying to drain more than 8 ft. higher than the floor.
~ Make sure the drain hose is not pushed to far down into the standpipe or drain.

If the above does not help, then please has a service technician come out under the warranty to evaluate and diagnose any issue. Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tira
Utica, NY, USA
August 1, 2013
I am sorry that you are having an issue with the spin cycle. My GE washer wrings the clothes out very well. Could it be possible that you are putting too many clothes in the washer? My advice is to try not to load the machine with too many clothes especially heavy clothing (jeans, towels, etc.) I think that it is better to wash more loads of clothing rather than to overload the machine. Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Diane
August 13, 2013
Spin cycle is fine...do not have to wring clothes out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Giggles
Murrells Inlet, SC, USA
November 12, 2013
Did it always have problems drying clothes during the spin cycle? I've had my washer just about a month and after the spin cycle it dries extremely well. Reduces the drying time considerably.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
peanut
keyport nj
February 10, 2014
I've had my machine 3 weeks and this happened to me every load. The repair man came said I have too many clothes in tub. I said how can that be--that would be a normal load for my old machine. He said a normal extra large super load for this machine is like 4 bath towels. He kept saying how this machine is energy efficient--I said how can that be if I have to break down 1 normal load into 2-3 loads I use 2-3 times the water and electric PLUS this machine isn't CEE rated so how is it efficient?? I'm very disapointed
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I just started my first load in this washer and it has noticible clicking sounds while it is agitating. it this normal?

Asked by
hanne
buellton, ca
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 28, 2013
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I will be happy to assist you. The clicking you hear is normal. I hope this helps. Please don't hesitate to let us know if we can be of further assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lori
August 28, 2013
As it progresses through the cycles, the machine makes loud clicks; the actual sound of agitation during the wash cycle is very quiet; I've gotten use to the clicks, but they are strange sounding; this appears to be part of the normal operation; I've had my machine several months
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Oldoneputt
San Ramon, CA, USA
September 6, 2013
We've had our new washer about a month. It definitly makes different and fewer sounds than the washer it replaced. I take that as a good thing. Overall, the machine is so quiet that I think the clicking sound we hear is that of the agitator doing it's work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Karen
Las Vegas, NV, USA
September 21, 2013
Hanne, Yep. It likes to click as loud as it can. Irritating, but you'll get used to it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
chucktall
houston, TX
November 20, 2013
yes…all normal….

don't be alarmed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do king size sheets get twisted together while washing and spinning?

Asked by
Punkie
Rapid City, SD
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 16, 2013
I am searching for a washing machine that has water levels you can choose so the clothes get clean. I am also searching for a washing machine where the clothes and sheets do not get all twisted together. Is there anyone out there that has this problem? I now own an RCA Whirlpool Cabrio and I can't even give this machine one star because of twisted laundry, clothes not getting clean, soap residue left in clothes, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 17, 2013
Hi Punkie-this is Sue from GE. We apprecite your interest in our GE® 3.9 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer GTWN2800DWW. We are confident you will be happy with your choice.

This model features 5 water levels to choose from-Super, Extra Large, Large, Medium and Small to accommodate your various laundry load sizes. It features our Dual-Action Agitator to provide gentle, dual wash action providing better circulation and turn-over of clothes. The top half operates independent of the bottom half to help drive the clothes down into the water for optimum cleaning. Also, the Power Rinse option will add water to the selected load size for a deep fill rinse. It iwll increase the amount of water used by your washer during the rinse cycle for thorough rinsing.

Here are some loading tips for best performance:
*Load dry clothes. Wet items are apt to pack down and cause overloading.
*Take a properly sorted group of clothes and drop them loosely in the wash basket in this order:
Place large items, like sheets, on the bottom. Take care not to let them wrap around the agitator.
Place small items, like washcloths, in the middle. Place medium-sized items, like towels, on top. Avoid mixing heavy items with light items as this can cause tangled, twisted or knotted clothes or items.
*Clothes should not go over the clothes-retaining ring.
*Make sure that the clothes have ample room to move, that they are not packed down, and that they are not wrapped around the agitator.

Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jlc069
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
September 17, 2013
The sheets to get twisted but no problem with soap or softner residue
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GM6369
September 18, 2013
I recently purchased a GE 3.9 washing machine w/stainless steel tub. It is not HE and so you can choose your water level. So far I am happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Karen
Las Vegas, NV, USA
September 21, 2013
Punkie, I don't have near the problem with twisting, and clothes are not dirty after washing, nor do they have soap residue, as is the problem with all HE machines. Keep in mind that this is a very basic machine. It will not soak (unplug machine to soak), or wash your delicates (without damage). It does get your laundry clean (since you control the water level), and the spin cycle really removes the water.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
chucktall
houston, TX
November 20, 2013
I have not experienced that with this unit BUT that is pretty typical for a washing machine with an agitator in the center of the machine. What I can tell you is that I just threw out my top loader (without an agitator) and my front loader washer because the units were designed poorly.

Front loader always had smell issues (even after I cleaned the unit as recommended by the manufacturer)…and the top loader (without an agitator) always was 'out of balance' because the only way it could move clothes around in the machine was via high revolution spinning….

i basically had to shirk my wash loads (sizes) so that my washer would finish a wash!….which is not helping anything when you have to wash for 6 people.

I have been very pleased with this purchase and highly recommend this unit to someone looking for truly clean clothes….I'll take tangled sheets any day over a smelly (front loader) or out of balance (top loader).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

While the machine is agitating can you lift the lid and put another article of clothing in.

Asked by
Tooch
Bklyn NY
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
redwind
Florida, USA
September 23, 2014
yes, the washer should stop agitating when you open the lid .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 23, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this washer. Yes, you can lift the lid to put another article of clothing in the washer while it is agitating as the agitation will stop until the lid is closed again. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jksouth
Naples, Florida
September 23, 2014
Yes you can add articles of clothing while it is agitating since the lid does not lock like some of the hi eff washers out there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Kerima29p
Newport News, VA
September 23, 2014
Yes, the machine will actually stop and you can add another article or two of clothing. It will start again once the lid is back down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 13, 2015
You can but I would recommend pushing in the knob which will stop the agitating. When you hear that it has stopped, you can lift the lid & add additional laundry. Then, put the lid down & pull the knob out so that it will resume operation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you change your mind and change the cycle, load size, or water temperature once the cycle has started?

Asked by
anonymous
anonymous
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 23, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 23, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. You can pause the washer and change the cycle or water temperature, but if you change the load size, the cycle will drain and restart. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
StamfordBoy
Cedar Park, Texas
March 10, 2015
Yes. That's one reason why I chose this washer. You have control over it instead of it over you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mustang
Marietta, Geaorgia
March 25, 2015
yes, no electronics on this old style washer. It has knobs and you can easily change you mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 28, 2015
I have only changed the load size & water temperature prior to agitation so I'm not sure what would happen if you changed it during the cycle. I would think you could always increase the load size or water temperature without a problem. I would push the timer in before making any changes as MY washer does not stop agitating when the lid is open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fivebyfive
San Antonio
July 30, 2015
Yes, you can. Push in knob and turn clockwise to the cycle point you desire. Change water temp ant time but the machine can't turn hot water cold if you already put in some hot water. Set cycle to Drain to expel the hot water if needed. For load size turn the knob to Reset to continue filling to a larger size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Hot water wash option doesnt work, water is luke warm at best, anyone else have this problem?

Asked by
DeeDee
CT
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 28, 2015
Just bought this washer and the hot water wash isnt working. Water is tepid, luke warm at best. My hot water is set at 120 degrees. Had repair person here and was told that this is the way it is. anyone else have this issue? If I had known this machine doesnt wash in hot water I would never have bought it. Im returning it
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 28, 2015
Hello DeeDee - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. We are sorry to hear that your washer is not providing straight hot water. The new washers have a new water valve to mix incoming hot and cold water for the three water temperatures. The new valve helps our washers meet the DOE energy standards. Your incoming hot and cold water temperature will affect the washer water temperature. Washing in cooler water temperatures helps save energy and helps to preserve your clothing. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 28, 2015
It sounds like you've already made a decision to return your washer. I have not had this problem with hot water. Did the repair person look at the hot water intake to your washer? If the knob isn't turned open all the way; this could explain it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
OneToughCustomer
Arlington TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 28, 2015
I have only one suggestion, and that is to determine if your hot water value is opened all the way. If it isn't, you shouldn't blame the washer. You might question the credibility of your "repair person" if that thought didn't occur to him.

I would recommend that you use a meat thermometer to test water temperature delivery at every faucet in your house, and you will discover variations you would not have expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chris
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 8, 2015
I'm having all the same (and worse# issues with this washer as everyone else on here. The hot water doesn't come out hot ... even though I have my hot water heater set high. It just comes out slightly more than warm. Also, the rinse and spin don't really work. There are always suds left in the bottom and clothes #even set on Power Rinse) and even after running an extra spin cycle the clothes are much more than just damp. Gloppy wet. And here's the REAL fun ... there is water coming out of the bottom of the machine. Lots of it. Had a repair guy out here and he couldn't figure it out. I've tried running a little load, a big load, a cold load, power rinse, not power rinse ... it doesn't matter. Am returning this machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nancy
Chicago
July 25, 2015
Yes, I noticed the same thing! Hot water comes from my tap, but the hot water filling the washer is not as hot as the tap. Weird.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why won't it agitate?

Asked by
MirandaLM
Sugar Hill, GA
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 16, 2015
We recently moved into a new house and now our washing machine won't agitate, though it manages to spin just fine. There are loud clicks that start out with time between and then start speeding up until it's clicking every few seconds. During that time it does not agitate at all. I've stood in there with it several times and each time it just continues to click, but never actually moves.

It also seems to be having a very hard time getting cold water into it. The taps are fully open, the hoses are not even remotely kinked, and it eventually will go for ten to twenty seconds at a time before cutting off again.

I realize the cold water issue is separate from the agitation issue, I just though I'd mention it. I can deal with that. It's the agitator that's, well, agitating me.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2015
Hello MirandaLM - this is Nancy at GE Appliances and I am happy to help you. We're sorry to hear that your new washer is not agitating. This washer has a very quiet agitation, so please be certain that you are not hearing any type of swooshing back and forth. If not and if the unit is less than a year old, I recommend exercising your warranty and scheduling a service appointment with GE Factory Service by calling 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 3, 2015
My agitator agitated me too! My problem was a little different. I had my washer 2 months when it went off balance, walked across the floor & banged so loud it had me running. My tub was off alignment. I called GE for service. Before agreeing to an in warranty service call, they asked me to try to realign the tub myself. I'm 63, disabled & even my 200 lb.+ husband could not align it. Service came out but did not give us a receipt. We had no idea what company was here & no record of an in warranty repair. I won't go into the whole story but would like to just say that my tub is STILL out of alignment after an authorized GE service person was here. Call to GE - They would send someone else out. NO THANK YOU! So, Miranda, if your washer is in warranty I would strongly suggest you call them right away. If it's out of warranty, I would try to find a repair service that might have a free estimate. I don't know if the cost to repair this would be worth it. It sounds like this model has issues...
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Vicky528
Nazareth, pa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2015
It has a two piece agitator which goes up and down somehow, rather then sideways. That action seems to be what causes this macjine to rip clothes. i dud not like this machine and replaced it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
di
gainesville , fl
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 11, 2015
it really just turns in one direction a little swish at a time it never agitates back and forth at all its a new design apparently and stops if u open the lid and takes a while to start back up... very wimpy washer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
willinois
Wadsworth, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 26, 2015
Most likely your timer has malfunctioned. Try unplugging it for 10 to 30 seconds and plugging back in and then opening and closing the lid 7 times. This should reset everything if it's not completely broken.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

on spin cycle does machine have level balance for load

Asked by
karbi
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 11, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
di
gainesville , fl
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 11, 2015
never much problem with load leveling only if its a very heavy blanket . just distribute it around the tub and it will be fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 11, 2015
I'm not quite sure what question you're asking. I can tell you that I had to have a service call 2 months after I purchased this washer because during the spin cycle the drum went off balance & would not realign itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
July 15, 2015
Hello Karbi, This is Joyce from GE Appliances. I will be happy to help! This washer does have an Auto Balance Suspension System. Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
teriache
Hinkley, Ca
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2015
This machine has a super easy leveling method when setting it up. Now if you properly load your machine your spin balance should be ok and not sound like the Kool-Aid man is trying to break through your laundry room wall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fivebyfive
San Antonio
July 30, 2015
Yes it does but it is best to spread the clothes evenly if the load gets too lopsided.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this energy star?

Asked by
nan
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 20, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 20, 2012
Hello Nan,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

This washer does not carry the Energy Star rating. The estimated yearly electricity use is 492 kWh.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for considering GE!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sammy
October 30, 2012
NO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
I don't think it's energy star, but the sticker said that it uses considerably less electricity to the 14-yr-old machine it replaced. Not sure how reliable those stickers are though!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
This model is not energy star rated because it uses just a bit more than the average washer in an average year's time, since it can fill the tub with water, if you want it to do so. Energy star washers usually do not allow you to control the volume of water they use, nor do they usually allow you to actually have a tub full of water, as this one does.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

On a normal wash cycle, does the machine fill all the way?

Asked by
dg
houston, tx
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
Please do not refer me to the website as I have already looked there for an answer.
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 29, 2012
Hello DG,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

This model offers 5 water level selections that you can manually select (small, medium, large, extra large and super). The minimum water used is 10 gallons and the maximum water used is 17 gallons depending on the cycle and and waer level selected.

The amount of clothes in the washer and the type of fabric absorbancy will effect how high the water looks in the wash tub.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
The tub fills with enough water to cover the clothes & depends on what size load you select. I have lifted the lid during the wash cycle (machine stops agitating motion when you do this), but there seems to be sufficient water for the clothes. I would like to know more about how the agitation looks, since I think that this newer form of agitation is not as good at getting soil out of clothes. However, I'm not sure any of the newer machines have the old-fashioned type of agitation.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
On the Large setting, the tub is about 2/3 full. On the extra-large setting the tub is about 3/4 full. On the "super" large setting, the tub is completely full [as safe as could be, about 3 inches below the tub's top rim].
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Karen
Las Vegas, NV, USA
September 21, 2013
dg, No, it does not fill to capacity. The "Super" water level setting fills about 7/8ths of the tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this one have a "delicates" cycle?

Asked by
Bridge
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
Hi, I don't see a specific delicate cycle as an option. Would the PP "light" cycle perform the same function? Thanks
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 30, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help you with your question on the GE washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

No, this model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press is not the same with the agitation and spin speeds.

Permanent Press: This cycle is designed exclusively for synthetic and delicate fabrics (excluding polyester knits). A longer cool down spray rinse (45 secs) helps minimize wrinkles. It uses normal wash speed & normal spin speed.

Delicate: The Delicate cycle allow "special care" items to be washed delicately. For lingerie and fabrics requiring special care, this cycle has a gentle wash and a slow spin. The cycle sequence is: fill, gentle agitation, drain, slow spin, fill, gentle agitation to rinse, drain, and gentle spin.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I noticed that too...only after reading about the "knob" in the manual. I would think yes since its the only cycle that "pulses" and stops. Be nice if the manual had a little more info...but then it is a pretty basic washer, what's to write about?!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
Definitely the permanent press, light cycle is as delicate a cycle as this washer has.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Use the permanent-press light cycle, as you stated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

ruining clothes

Asked by
mimi
nc
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 30, 2012
in a couple of reviews people said this machine ruined their clothes
is there anything that can be adjusted so that this does not happen
I guess they are saying anything with strings get caught and some materials get shredded
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in our washer model GTWN2800DWW. This is Alison from GE and I am happy to assist you.

While this does not occur on a broad scale with our laundry units we do incur service issues from time to time.

I certainly understand your concerns when hearing negative comments regarding an appliance you have an interest in. Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality.

Our warranties protect against any product failures that might occur.

Sincerely,
Alison
-5points
1out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
I have not had this happen. I do throw in my lady underwear, but don't have any that is very flimsy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lynds
November 25, 2012
I have had my washer for about three months and the only thing that happens occasionally is strings on pants or the straps of bras may get stuck on the agitator legs or whatever you call them. It is a little annoying trying to pull them back off but it has never ruined any clothes and this has happened on all other washers that I have owned so its nothing new.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
We have done about 15 big loads since buying this washer a month ago, without anything getting caught under the agitator. It may help prevent such disasters by putting thin/stringy items on top of larger items in the tub.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If you attach a extender hose to the hose that comes with the machine to expell the water, will this in any way affect the warranty?Babs

Asked by
Babs
Libertyville, Il
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello Babs,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the washer.

Please see the following drain hose installation requirements.

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.

* Discharge height must not be less thatn 30 inches, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer. If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.

* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

For Top Load washers, the extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70" . Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Part # WH49X301 - 43" Extension

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
I think that's for the manufacturer to answer. If the manufacturer is okay with it, I would let the Home Depot installer know about the extra hose length needed in advance. If the whole thing is professionally installed, you might be in a better position for the warranty. Installation is free for washers with Home Depot, but there are some installation parts for which you pay; a longer hose might be an option for those parts as well, since Home Depot recommends using new hoses with your new machine.

I needed an extension on my old machine to keep the hose from popping out of the discharge pipe. This time the installers used a slip-tie to anchor the hose to the metal water assembly, and don't have any problem with that arrangement.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
I doubt this would affect the warranty, since it should not affect the washer performance, but you could ask GE at their support website. If your odd drain configuration causes flooding, the warranty probably would not cover any damage to your home.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Warranty is unaffected if you purchase the extender hose kit for this specific model that is sold by GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a direct drive washer? My Kenmore direct drive was easy to repair. Only thing that ever broke was the rubber coupler, and the agitator dogs.

Asked by
Larry
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 19, 2012
Hi Larry,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer.

Model GTWN2800DWW is a belt driven. The only model that offers a Direct Drive is the GE Profile Harmony™ 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer model PTWN8050MWW.

Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Volare
October 8, 2012
Yes
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Yes, this is a direct drive washer.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Larry
February 4, 2013
Thanks for the answers, Volare and 72yearsExperience, but the rep from GE said it is not direct drive. Scroll down below to see her answer. Apparently it uses a motor, pulley drive, and belt.

Unless you know otherwise? I haven't had to take mine apart yet to find out.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the most delicate cycle on this machine?

Asked by
wford02
AL
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 27, 2012
I know there isn't a delicate option with this model. I was hoping to find out the cycle with the most gentle agitation and most gentle spin. We own this machine and have been happy thus far.
Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 29, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

This model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press cycle does offer Pulsed agitation and a slower spin speed.

Whites: For heavy to lightly soiled clothes. Regular wash and Fast spin, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Colors: For non-colorfast cottons and blends. Regular wash and Fast spi, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Permanent Press: For wrinkle-free permanent press items and knits. This offers a Pulsed agitation and slow spin. Normal = 155 spm agitation with 420 rpm spin. Pulsed provides periods of shorter agitation followed by a soak.

The agitation/spin speed combinations are pre-programmed for the appropriate cycle selection at the factory.

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Set to "quick wash" under the appropriate wash cycle. Using the quick wash setting, the machine will wash the load quickly without much agitation at it's lowest agitation setting.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
Looks like that might be the Permanent Press "Light" cycle?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
The gentlest wash is permanent press set on "light load". Permanent press is the only setting with a gentler agitation. Whites and Color settings have a more vigorous agitation, the same vigor for both settings.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

NEW MACHINE WITH OIL IN WASHER BASKET

Asked by
John
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2012
Received my new machine. I watched the truckers remove it from a sealed carton, it was installed and I was about to test it with a small load of clothes. This machne has a stainless steel washer basket and there was a puddel of what looked and smelled like motor oil on the bottom of the basket. The vertical sides of the drum had a tacky feel to it also. I called GE and asked if this was normal, the answer was no and the person said he had never heard ot this in a new machine. There is no transmission in this machine as well so the oil didnt come from that. Picture of oil on rag included... Any comments, ideas????
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 9, 2012
Hello John,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns with the washer.

This is not normal. There is an option to refuse delivery.

Any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869. After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Hopefully, you are within the one-year standard manufacturer's warranty or have an extended warranty. Place a service call ASAP. I found GE service personnel to be knowledgeable, helpful and courteous.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Did you clean up the oil and then try a few loads? If oil residue pursists or the machine fails to clean without other problems, I suggest you call your nearest Home Depot store manager to obtain advice on how to solve your problems with the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Repairman
April 25, 2013
There IS a transmission in this machine!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i ordered model GTWN2800DWW and the washer i received is listed as model GTWN2800D0WW: Are they the same?

Asked by
Marion
cincinnati
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 15, 2012
Hello Marion,

Thank you for choosing GE.

Yes, it is the same model. The number, GTWN2800D0WW is the complete nomenclature
on the raitng plate.

Enjoy your new washer!

Donna with GE.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I'm pretty sure, yes it is. I noticed the same thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
I believe the washer you received is the same as the washer you ordered because that is exactly what i also experienced; what i ordered is exactly the same design in every way, as what i received. For unknown reasons, GE adds a zero before the final two WWs on the actual model numbers stamped on the machines; but that zero is not shown in any of the online advertising or web pages.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Yes. Don't worry about the extra digit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I fill the washer first and put in the bleach before I add the clothes?

Asked by
JHCABT
New York City
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 9, 2013
Hello JHCABT - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, you can fill the washer first, and then add the bleach before adding clothes.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
Sure, just make sure the bleach has time to disperse in the water before adding clothes.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Krissy
Chattanooga, TN, USA
January 21, 2014
Yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Sunny1001
Washington, DC
August 17, 2014
There is a special dispenser for bleach. My process is as follows: start the washer so it begins filling. add detergent, load items to be washed, put bleach (if I'm using it) in the bleach dispenser and then close the lid. Our whites are coming out nice and bright white!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have a lint filter?

Asked by
alee
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 10, 2013
My old washer had a rectangle piece where all the lint would fall into & all I had to do was take the rectangle piece out and dump the lint out after each wash.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE model # GTWN2800DWW.

Current GE washer do not have a lint filter. The fine mesh filters were removed from under the agitator when it was found that a better pump and larger holes in the hub under the agitator did a better job of removing lint and preventing clogs in the drain system. The drain system allows water to flow through the basket and out the bottom of the tub pulling lint, hair, and small particles with the water. There is no
maintenance required on this system.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Giggles
Murrells Inlet, SC, USA
November 12, 2013
No, it does not have a filter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
No lint filter. Usually one finds those on dryers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
chucktall
houston, TX
November 20, 2013
don't believe so…we've had the unit a month and I have not seen anything like that on this unit.

If lint is your concern…the dryer should catch most of that in the drying process.

bottom line, this is a really good basic feature unit. no frills….but works well...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Without the specific function, how difficult would it be to soak and pre-wash a load?

Asked by
MacFrump
Phoenix
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OneToughCustomer
Arlington TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 4, 2014
Just a thought, but I would suggest setting the dial for a light-soil cycle, wait for the tub to fill, then pull out the control knob to turn the machine off to allow an adequate soak period. You can then push the knob back in for the pre-wash, and after the spin completes, just adjust the knob back to whatever was cycle you choose. It does take a little extra effort on your part, but maybe not all that bad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 7, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to soaking and pre-washing in this washer. Since this washer has a knob that you can push in and pull out to stop and start the cycle, we recommend setting the timer for a cycle, and once it's filled, then pull out on the knob to stop the washer and allow your clothes to soak. After soaking, you can push the knob back in and reset the washer to whatever cycle with which you want your clothes to be washed. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny1Wolf
Middle River, Maryland
January 27, 2015
If I wanted to perform this task, I would fill the tub then turn it off after the fill to soak, then turn it back on so that it can pre-wash. Then, just wash it again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 13, 2015
If you want to soak laundry before the actual washing cycle, you can fill the tub & when the washer begins to agitate, push the knob in which will stop the agitating. Let your clothes soak for the desired time & then just pull the knob back out. The washer will resume the cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 5 »