Looking for Answers about GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions
 | 
302 Answers
Overall rating:
4.11 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Does this machine hold water/develop an odor like the HE machines?

Asked by
Mom2many
Atlanta, GA
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 12, 2015
I am on my second HE washer, and both developed that musty smell over time. With my current machine, I wipe it dry after using and run those deodorizing tablets through it and nothing helps. I was told the HE washers allow water to puddle and sit inside them, and that causes the odor(?). Does this washer do that, too? I don't want to get another machine that could potentially develop this odor.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Vicky528
Nazareth, pa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 13, 2015
The machine does not have a musty smell, however, the HE factor leads to other problems as well as the two piece agitator. I recommend against this machine. I did not have good luck with it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
daw212
Georgetown, TX
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 13, 2015
Not a problem with this level of GE washer. I buy these for my rental properties. They get a good workout and probably lots of mistreatment. Seems like they last about 6-8 years with no repairs other than sometimes a timer (user forcing it). No smell or water settling concerns.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 13, 2015
I have never experienced ANY odor with this machine. However, after a load of clothes I leave the top open & let it air dry until the next wash. My washer has never had water puddle in it either. I always use the fabric softener spin cycle even if I'm washing rags & no matter what I am washing they are spun out almost dry!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
redwind
Florida, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 15, 2015
I have had this machine for about a little over a year and have had no problems with an odor. I do laundry about two to three times a week. have you tried running vinegar through a wash cycle ? it might help with the washer you have now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
February 16, 2015
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help.

GE Topload washers, including this model GTWN2800DWW, will have some water remaining after cycle. However, these models are much less susceptible to odors. There are a number of things that can cause odors in a washer, especially if this is happening on multiple washers in your home. If you haven't done so already, please check the following:

* Make sure the drain standpipe is not too tall, not allowing water to pump out all of the way. See Installation Instructions for details.
* Make sure washer is level, front to back, not allowing the water to pump out all of the way.
* If washer is in a closed, high humidity room, open the lid/door to the washer, and open the door to the room, as much as possible.

Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a stainless steel drum?

Asked by
washlady
Denver, Colorado
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 16, 2015
Hi-this is Sue from GE. We are excited to hear of your interest! Yes. Model GTWN2800DWW features a stainless steel wash basket. Thanks for checking with us!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 17, 2015
Yes. But, warning about this drum. It goes off balance to the point that I had to request a service call within 2 months of purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
redwind
Florida, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 18, 2015
yes it does. that is why I bought it for the steel tub and love it ! it works great !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mustang
Marietta, Geaorgia
March 25, 2015
yes maam, built just like a washer should with all the basic elements.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
KneeKnees
Syracuse, N.Y.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2015
Yes...this machine has a very large stainless steel tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this energy star?

Asked by
nan
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 20, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 20, 2012
Hello Nan,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

This washer does not carry the Energy Star rating. The estimated yearly electricity use is 492 kWh.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for considering GE!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sammy
October 30, 2012
NO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
I don't think it's energy star, but the sticker said that it uses considerably less electricity to the 14-yr-old machine it replaced. Not sure how reliable those stickers are though!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
This model is not energy star rated because it uses just a bit more than the average washer in an average year's time, since it can fill the tub with water, if you want it to do so. Energy star washers usually do not allow you to control the volume of water they use, nor do they usually allow you to actually have a tub full of water, as this one does.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

On a normal wash cycle, does the machine fill all the way?

Asked by
dg
houston, tx
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
Please do not refer me to the website as I have already looked there for an answer.
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 29, 2012
Hello DG,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

This model offers 5 water level selections that you can manually select (small, medium, large, extra large and super). The minimum water used is 10 gallons and the maximum water used is 17 gallons depending on the cycle and and waer level selected.

The amount of clothes in the washer and the type of fabric absorbancy will effect how high the water looks in the wash tub.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
The tub fills with enough water to cover the clothes & depends on what size load you select. I have lifted the lid during the wash cycle (machine stops agitating motion when you do this), but there seems to be sufficient water for the clothes. I would like to know more about how the agitation looks, since I think that this newer form of agitation is not as good at getting soil out of clothes. However, I'm not sure any of the newer machines have the old-fashioned type of agitation.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
On the Large setting, the tub is about 2/3 full. On the extra-large setting the tub is about 3/4 full. On the "super" large setting, the tub is completely full [as safe as could be, about 3 inches below the tub's top rim].
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Karen
Las Vegas, NV, USA
September 21, 2013
dg, No, it does not fill to capacity. The "Super" water level setting fills about 7/8ths of the tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this one have a "delicates" cycle?

Asked by
Bridge
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
Hi, I don't see a specific delicate cycle as an option. Would the PP "light" cycle perform the same function? Thanks
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 30, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help you with your question on the GE washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

No, this model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press is not the same with the agitation and spin speeds.

Permanent Press: This cycle is designed exclusively for synthetic and delicate fabrics (excluding polyester knits). A longer cool down spray rinse (45 secs) helps minimize wrinkles. It uses normal wash speed & normal spin speed.

Delicate: The Delicate cycle allow "special care" items to be washed delicately. For lingerie and fabrics requiring special care, this cycle has a gentle wash and a slow spin. The cycle sequence is: fill, gentle agitation, drain, slow spin, fill, gentle agitation to rinse, drain, and gentle spin.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I noticed that too...only after reading about the "knob" in the manual. I would think yes since its the only cycle that "pulses" and stops. Be nice if the manual had a little more info...but then it is a pretty basic washer, what's to write about?!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
Definitely the permanent press, light cycle is as delicate a cycle as this washer has.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Use the permanent-press light cycle, as you stated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

ruining clothes

Asked by
mimi
nc
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 30, 2012
in a couple of reviews people said this machine ruined their clothes
is there anything that can be adjusted so that this does not happen
I guess they are saying anything with strings get caught and some materials get shredded
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in our washer model GTWN2800DWW. This is Alison from GE and I am happy to assist you.

While this does not occur on a broad scale with our laundry units we do incur service issues from time to time.

I certainly understand your concerns when hearing negative comments regarding an appliance you have an interest in. Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality.

Our warranties protect against any product failures that might occur.

Sincerely,
Alison
-5points
1out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
I have not had this happen. I do throw in my lady underwear, but don't have any that is very flimsy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lynds
November 25, 2012
I have had my washer for about three months and the only thing that happens occasionally is strings on pants or the straps of bras may get stuck on the agitator legs or whatever you call them. It is a little annoying trying to pull them back off but it has never ruined any clothes and this has happened on all other washers that I have owned so its nothing new.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
We have done about 15 big loads since buying this washer a month ago, without anything getting caught under the agitator. It may help prevent such disasters by putting thin/stringy items on top of larger items in the tub.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If you attach a extender hose to the hose that comes with the machine to expell the water, will this in any way affect the warranty?Babs

Asked by
Babs
Libertyville, Il
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello Babs,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the washer.

Please see the following drain hose installation requirements.

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.

* Discharge height must not be less thatn 30 inches, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer. If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.

* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

For Top Load washers, the extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70" . Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Part # WH49X301 - 43" Extension

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
I think that's for the manufacturer to answer. If the manufacturer is okay with it, I would let the Home Depot installer know about the extra hose length needed in advance. If the whole thing is professionally installed, you might be in a better position for the warranty. Installation is free for washers with Home Depot, but there are some installation parts for which you pay; a longer hose might be an option for those parts as well, since Home Depot recommends using new hoses with your new machine.

I needed an extension on my old machine to keep the hose from popping out of the discharge pipe. This time the installers used a slip-tie to anchor the hose to the metal water assembly, and don't have any problem with that arrangement.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
I doubt this would affect the warranty, since it should not affect the washer performance, but you could ask GE at their support website. If your odd drain configuration causes flooding, the warranty probably would not cover any damage to your home.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Warranty is unaffected if you purchase the extender hose kit for this specific model that is sold by GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a direct drive washer? My Kenmore direct drive was easy to repair. Only thing that ever broke was the rubber coupler, and the agitator dogs.

Asked by
Larry
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 19, 2012
Hi Larry,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer.

Model GTWN2800DWW is a belt driven. The only model that offers a Direct Drive is the GE Profile Harmony™ 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer model PTWN8050MWW.

Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Volare
October 8, 2012
Yes
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Yes, this is a direct drive washer.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Larry
February 4, 2013
Thanks for the answers, Volare and 72yearsExperience, but the rep from GE said it is not direct drive. Scroll down below to see her answer. Apparently it uses a motor, pulley drive, and belt.

Unless you know otherwise? I haven't had to take mine apart yet to find out.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the most delicate cycle on this machine?

Asked by
wford02
AL
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 27, 2012
I know there isn't a delicate option with this model. I was hoping to find out the cycle with the most gentle agitation and most gentle spin. We own this machine and have been happy thus far.
Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 29, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

This model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press cycle does offer Pulsed agitation and a slower spin speed.

Whites: For heavy to lightly soiled clothes. Regular wash and Fast spin, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Colors: For non-colorfast cottons and blends. Regular wash and Fast spi, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Permanent Press: For wrinkle-free permanent press items and knits. This offers a Pulsed agitation and slow spin. Normal = 155 spm agitation with 420 rpm spin. Pulsed provides periods of shorter agitation followed by a soak.

The agitation/spin speed combinations are pre-programmed for the appropriate cycle selection at the factory.

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Set to "quick wash" under the appropriate wash cycle. Using the quick wash setting, the machine will wash the load quickly without much agitation at it's lowest agitation setting.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
Looks like that might be the Permanent Press "Light" cycle?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
The gentlest wash is permanent press set on "light load". Permanent press is the only setting with a gentler agitation. Whites and Color settings have a more vigorous agitation, the same vigor for both settings.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

NEW MACHINE WITH OIL IN WASHER BASKET

Asked by
John
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2012
Received my new machine. I watched the truckers remove it from a sealed carton, it was installed and I was about to test it with a small load of clothes. This machne has a stainless steel washer basket and there was a puddel of what looked and smelled like motor oil on the bottom of the basket. The vertical sides of the drum had a tacky feel to it also. I called GE and asked if this was normal, the answer was no and the person said he had never heard ot this in a new machine. There is no transmission in this machine as well so the oil didnt come from that. Picture of oil on rag included... Any comments, ideas????
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 9, 2012
Hello John,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns with the washer.

This is not normal. There is an option to refuse delivery.

Any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869. After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Hopefully, you are within the one-year standard manufacturer's warranty or have an extended warranty. Place a service call ASAP. I found GE service personnel to be knowledgeable, helpful and courteous.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Did you clean up the oil and then try a few loads? If oil residue pursists or the machine fails to clean without other problems, I suggest you call your nearest Home Depot store manager to obtain advice on how to solve your problems with the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Repairman
April 25, 2013
There IS a transmission in this machine!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i ordered model GTWN2800DWW and the washer i received is listed as model GTWN2800D0WW: Are they the same?

Asked by
Marion
cincinnati
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 15, 2012
Hello Marion,

Thank you for choosing GE.

Yes, it is the same model. The number, GTWN2800D0WW is the complete nomenclature
on the raitng plate.

Enjoy your new washer!

Donna with GE.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I'm pretty sure, yes it is. I noticed the same thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
I believe the washer you received is the same as the washer you ordered because that is exactly what i also experienced; what i ordered is exactly the same design in every way, as what i received. For unknown reasons, GE adds a zero before the final two WWs on the actual model numbers stamped on the machines; but that zero is not shown in any of the online advertising or web pages.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Yes. Don't worry about the extra digit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE Washer GTWN2800DWW

Asked by
zeus
Brooklyn
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
December 6, 2012
How long is the DRAIN HOSE supplied by GE thats comes with the washer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 6, 2012
Hello Zeus,

Thank you for choosing the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

The extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70". Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Drain hose installation Requirements:

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.
* Discharge height MUST NOT BE LESS THAN 30 INCHES, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer. If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.
* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
50 inches & very flexible, but sturdy, not flimsy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
February 2, 2013
The installation requires that you order new hoses along with the machine. If you think you need a longer-than-average hose, measure the one you have. Call or use on-line chat to get the specs on the hose "kit" that you purchase with the machine to make sure that it's long enough for your installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Repairman
April 25, 2013
About 4 feet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I fill the washer first and put in the bleach before I add the clothes?

Asked by
JHCABT
New York City
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 9, 2013
Hello JHCABT - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, you can fill the washer first, and then add the bleach before adding clothes.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
Sure, just make sure the bleach has time to disperse in the water before adding clothes.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Krissy
Chattanooga, TN, USA
January 21, 2014
Yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Sunny1001
Washington, DC
August 17, 2014
There is a special dispenser for bleach. My process is as follows: start the washer so it begins filling. add detergent, load items to be washed, put bleach (if I'm using it) in the bleach dispenser and then close the lid. Our whites are coming out nice and bright white!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have a lint filter?

Asked by
alee
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 10, 2013
My old washer had a rectangle piece where all the lint would fall into & all I had to do was take the rectangle piece out and dump the lint out after each wash.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE model # GTWN2800DWW.

Current GE washer do not have a lint filter. The fine mesh filters were removed from under the agitator when it was found that a better pump and larger holes in the hub under the agitator did a better job of removing lint and preventing clogs in the drain system. The drain system allows water to flow through the basket and out the bottom of the tub pulling lint, hair, and small particles with the water. There is no
maintenance required on this system.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Giggles
Murrells Inlet, SC, USA
November 12, 2013
No, it does not have a filter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
No lint filter. Usually one finds those on dryers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
chucktall
houston, TX
November 20, 2013
don't believe so…we've had the unit a month and I have not seen anything like that on this unit.

If lint is your concern…the dryer should catch most of that in the drying process.

bottom line, this is a really good basic feature unit. no frills….but works well...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Without the specific function, how difficult would it be to soak and pre-wash a load?

Asked by
MacFrump
Phoenix
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OneToughCustomer
Arlington TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 4, 2014
Just a thought, but I would suggest setting the dial for a light-soil cycle, wait for the tub to fill, then pull out the control knob to turn the machine off to allow an adequate soak period. You can then push the knob back in for the pre-wash, and after the spin completes, just adjust the knob back to whatever was cycle you choose. It does take a little extra effort on your part, but maybe not all that bad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 7, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to soaking and pre-washing in this washer. Since this washer has a knob that you can push in and pull out to stop and start the cycle, we recommend setting the timer for a cycle, and once it's filled, then pull out on the knob to stop the washer and allow your clothes to soak. After soaking, you can push the knob back in and reset the washer to whatever cycle with which you want your clothes to be washed. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny1Wolf
Middle River, Maryland
January 27, 2015
If I wanted to perform this task, I would fill the tub then turn it off after the fill to soak, then turn it back on so that it can pre-wash. Then, just wash it again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 13, 2015
If you want to soak laundry before the actual washing cycle, you can fill the tub & when the washer begins to agitate, push the knob in which will stop the agitating. Let your clothes soak for the desired time & then just pull the knob back out. The washer will resume the cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If you have owned this washer for many years, is it still all that you said it was?

Asked by
Stacy
Texas
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 17, 2014
The reviews on this machine are pretty favorable. We liked our washers when we first got them too, but the front load lasted 6 years and the top load only 4. We don't need a fancy machine, we just need it to last. Wanted to find out if this is the one for us. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CalM1
Pasadena, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 18, 2014
No, my washer is new. Old one, a top loader and other brand, lasted for 15 to 20 years. Pump finally started leaking. So old repair parts no longer exist. For new ones - Mechanical controls are considered more reliable. Electronic ones have more features and save water.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
unhappy15
aurora ohio
December 26, 2014
no it was a piece of junk
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
December 26, 2014
I would not recommend this model. I have only had this washer 2 months & the drum is out of alignment. One week wait for a service call. This machine is only being used for 2 people so it has not been overworked. I would consider either a higher end GE product or a different manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Vicky528
Nazareth, pa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 7, 2015
I replaced this machine after only 18 months of use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

It this an energy efficient model. I'm looking for one that is not.

Asked by
LAC1Qurious
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 4, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 4, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. This is a very nice traditional type washer and is not considered an Energy Star model. It does have the Water Saver Rinse System; however, you can choose the Power Rinse Option to obtain a more traditional rinse. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 8, 2015
My washer was delivered with a sticker that SAID it was an energy efficient model. I have not noticed any problem with the way it washes. It is a big improvement over my last washer as far as the spin cycle, etc.,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jbkapus
washington
February 10, 2015
If you are wondering if the washer weighs your clothes to determine the amount of water to use no it does not, you have control of the amount of water.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Vicky528
Nazareth, pa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 13, 2015
Yes, this is an energy efficient model, however energy efficiency is misleading with these machines. They have to run a longer time because they conserve water. I replaced mine with one that is neither energy efficient or water conserving. It ends up using less energy when it uses more water. I guess water conservation may be an issue in some places, but I'm on a well in the eastern US. Water use at this level is not an issue for me. I had other issues with this machine that would lead me to advise against it. There are many other machines out there to consider.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you change your mind and change the cycle, load size, or water temperature once the cycle has started?

Asked by
anonymous
anonymous
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 23, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 23, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. You can pause the washer and change the cycle or water temperature, but if you change the load size, the cycle will drain and restart. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
StamfordBoy
Cedar Park, Texas
March 10, 2015
Yes. That's one reason why I chose this washer. You have control over it instead of it over you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mustang
Marietta, Geaorgia
March 25, 2015
yes, no electronics on this old style washer. It has knobs and you can easily change you mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
simonshops
las vegas, nv
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 28, 2015
I have only changed the load size & water temperature prior to agitation so I'm not sure what would happen if you changed it during the cycle. I would think you could always increase the load size or water temperature without a problem. I would push the timer in before making any changes as MY washer does not stop agitating when the lid is open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

this is not one of those agitator less washers is it? I want a washer with an agitator

Asked by
babs
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 8, 2012
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 8, 2012
Hello Babs,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

Model GTWN2800DWW offers a full size Dual-action agitator. It is not an Infusor model . Models with the Infusor wash technology will not have the traditional agitator. The Infusor is approximately 7 1/2" high.

Thank you for considering GE!

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
This washer has an agitator in the center that is similar to the older machines ... however, the "fins" on the agitator are not as large as the ones on my old washer. You cannot see the action of the agitator since the machine stops as soon as you lift the lid, even in the wash cycle. In my old machine it would continue agitating if you lifted the lid (only stopped during the spin cycle).
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
This has a full size 17 inch tall old fashioned agitator, 12 inches wide at the bottom & 6 inches at the top. The tub fill maximum is almost 17 inches of water. Interestingly, there are at least 3 different types of agitation it uses: it usually is a gentle motion in one direction, with the drum rotating in the opposite direction! But sometimes it agitates for about 10 seconds more vigorously in both directions! Dirty clothes can come out very clean if you use the "White" and longest cycle time settings.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the Rinse System WaterSaver Rinse?

Asked by
Tina
Houston
about 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 15, 2012
I want an old-fashioned washing machine that fills up to the level that I choose, both for the wash cycle and the rinse cycle.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 15, 2012
Hello Tina,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

Washer designs and specifications have changed over the last few years to meet the DOE standards for water consumption and Energy Star guidelines.

Model GTWN2800DWW offers 5 water levels and the Water Saver Rinse feature.

Water Saver Rinse: At the end of the wash cycle, the washer pump out all of the water. The washer retains only the water in the clothes, it does not spin, but fills again with 11 gallons of water. It will agitate for 10 seconds and then soak for 2.5-3 minutes. Last, it will pump out and do final spin.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
My machine does not have this setting. It does have a "power rinse" that is supposed to be used when you use fabric softener. I don't use fabric softener, so I have not used that setting. I have not observed the level of rinse water, so can't be positive that the water level of the rinse is the same as the wash level. However, since I find that the clothes need an extra spin (still too wet with just the standard spin of the cycle), I'm guessing the rinse water level is sufficient.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
The GE GTWN2800DWW model 3.9 cu ft stainless steel tub does fill up to any of 5 different levels, the most being within 1inch of the top of the steel tub [with a 3" tough plastic splash protector around the top of the tub], in both the wash and rinse cycles.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 5 »