Looking for Answers about GE 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions
 | 
226 Answers
Overall rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Does this one have a "delicates" cycle?

Asked by
Bridge
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
Hi, I don't see a specific delicate cycle as an option. Would the PP "light" cycle perform the same function? Thanks
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
Definitely the permanent press, light cycle is as delicate a cycle as this washer has.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Use the permanent-press light cycle, as you stated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
May 30, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help you with your question on the GE washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

No, this model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press is not the same with the agitation and spin speeds.

Permanent Press: This cycle is designed exclusively for synthetic and delicate fabrics (excluding polyester knits). A longer cool down spray rinse (45 secs) helps minimize wrinkles. It uses normal wash speed & normal spin speed.

Delicate: The Delicate cycle allow "special care" items to be washed delicately. For lingerie and fabrics requiring special care, this cycle has a gentle wash and a slow spin. The cycle sequence is: fill, gentle agitation, drain, slow spin, fill, gentle agitation to rinse, drain, and gentle spin.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I noticed that too...only after reading about the "knob" in the manual. I would think yes since its the only cycle that "pulses" and stops. Be nice if the manual had a little more info...but then it is a pretty basic washer, what's to write about?!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

ruining clothes

Asked by
mimi
nc
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 30, 2012
in a couple of reviews people said this machine ruined their clothes
is there anything that can be adjusted so that this does not happen
I guess they are saying anything with strings get caught and some materials get shredded
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
We have done about 15 big loads since buying this washer a month ago, without anything getting caught under the agitator. It may help prevent such disasters by putting thin/stringy items on top of larger items in the tub.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in our washer model GTWN2800DWW. This is Alison from GE and I am happy to assist you.

While this does not occur on a broad scale with our laundry units we do incur service issues from time to time.

I certainly understand your concerns when hearing negative comments regarding an appliance you have an interest in. Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality.

Our warranties protect against any product failures that might occur.

Sincerely,
Alison
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
I have not had this happen. I do throw in my lady underwear, but don't have any that is very flimsy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
lynds
November 25, 2012
I have had my washer for about three months and the only thing that happens occasionally is strings on pants or the straps of bras may get stuck on the agitator legs or whatever you call them. It is a little annoying trying to pull them back off but it has never ruined any clothes and this has happened on all other washers that I have owned so its nothing new.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

If you attach a extender hose to the hose that comes with the machine to expell the water, will this in any way affect the warranty?Babs

Asked by
Babs
Libertyville, Il
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello Babs,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the washer.

Please see the following drain hose installation requirements.

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.

* Discharge height must not be less thatn 30 inches, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer. If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.

* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

For Top Load washers, the extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70" . Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Part # WH49X301 - 43" Extension

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
I doubt this would affect the warranty, since it should not affect the washer performance, but you could ask GE at their support website. If your odd drain configuration causes flooding, the warranty probably would not cover any damage to your home.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Warranty is unaffected if you purchase the extender hose kit for this specific model that is sold by GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
I think that's for the manufacturer to answer. If the manufacturer is okay with it, I would let the Home Depot installer know about the extra hose length needed in advance. If the whole thing is professionally installed, you might be in a better position for the warranty. Installation is free for washers with Home Depot, but there are some installation parts for which you pay; a longer hose might be an option for those parts as well, since Home Depot recommends using new hoses with your new machine.

I needed an extension on my old machine to keep the hose from popping out of the discharge pipe. This time the installers used a slip-tie to anchor the hose to the metal water assembly, and don't have any problem with that arrangement.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a direct drive washer? My Kenmore direct drive was easy to repair. Only thing that ever broke was the rubber coupler, and the agitator dogs.

Asked by
Larry
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 19, 2012
Hi Larry,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer.

Model GTWN2800DWW is a belt driven. The only model that offers a Direct Drive is the GE Profile Harmony™ 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer model PTWN8050MWW.

Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Yes, this is a direct drive washer.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Larry
February 4, 2013
Thanks for the answers, Volare and 72yearsExperience, but the rep from GE said it is not direct drive. Scroll down below to see her answer. Apparently it uses a motor, pulley drive, and belt.

Unless you know otherwise? I haven't had to take mine apart yet to find out.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Volare
October 8, 2012
Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the most delicate cycle on this machine?

Asked by
wford02
AL
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 27, 2012
I know there isn't a delicate option with this model. I was hoping to find out the cycle with the most gentle agitation and most gentle spin. We own this machine and have been happy thus far.
Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
The gentlest wash is permanent press set on "light load". Permanent press is the only setting with a gentler agitation. Whites and Color settings have a more vigorous agitation, the same vigor for both settings.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 29, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

This model does not offer a Delicate cycle. Permanent Press cycle does offer Pulsed agitation and a slower spin speed.

Whites: For heavy to lightly soiled clothes. Regular wash and Fast spin, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Colors: For non-colorfast cottons and blends. Regular wash and Fast spi, Normal/Fast = 155 spm agitation with 640 rpm spin.

Permanent Press: For wrinkle-free permanent press items and knits. This offers a Pulsed agitation and slow spin. Normal = 155 spm agitation with 420 rpm spin. Pulsed provides periods of shorter agitation followed by a soak.

The agitation/spin speed combinations are pre-programmed for the appropriate cycle selection at the factory.

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Set to "quick wash" under the appropriate wash cycle. Using the quick wash setting, the machine will wash the load quickly without much agitation at it's lowest agitation setting.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
Looks like that might be the Permanent Press "Light" cycle?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

NEW MACHINE WITH OIL IN WASHER BASKET

Asked by
John
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2012
Received my new machine. I watched the truckers remove it from a sealed carton, it was installed and I was about to test it with a small load of clothes. This machne has a stainless steel washer basket and there was a puddel of what looked and smelled like motor oil on the bottom of the basket. The vertical sides of the drum had a tacky feel to it also. I called GE and asked if this was normal, the answer was no and the person said he had never heard ot this in a new machine. There is no transmission in this machine as well so the oil didnt come from that. Picture of oil on rag included... Any comments, ideas????
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Did you clean up the oil and then try a few loads? If oil residue pursists or the machine fails to clean without other problems, I suggest you call your nearest Home Depot store manager to obtain advice on how to solve your problems with the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Repairman
April 25, 2013
There IS a transmission in this machine!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
August 9, 2012
Hello John,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns with the washer.

This is not normal. There is an option to refuse delivery.

Any Major Appliance product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869. After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MrMRD
Los Angeles, CA, USA
September 24, 2012
Hopefully, you are within the one-year standard manufacturer's warranty or have an extended warranty. Place a service call ASAP. I found GE service personnel to be knowledgeable, helpful and courteous.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

i ordered model GTWN2800DWW and the washer i received is listed as model GTWN2800D0WW: Are they the same?

Asked by
Marion
cincinnati
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 15, 2012
Hello Marion,

Thank you for choosing GE.

Yes, it is the same model. The number, GTWN2800D0WW is the complete nomenclature
on the raitng plate.

Enjoy your new washer!

Donna with GE.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
I believe the washer you received is the same as the washer you ordered because that is exactly what i also experienced; what i ordered is exactly the same design in every way, as what i received. For unknown reasons, GE adds a zero before the final two WWs on the actual model numbers stamped on the machines; but that zero is not shown in any of the online advertising or web pages.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Yes. Don't worry about the extra digit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cathy
CA
November 10, 2012
I'm pretty sure, yes it is. I noticed the same thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

GE Washer GTWN2800DWW

Asked by
zeus
Brooklyn
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
December 6, 2012
How long is the DRAIN HOSE supplied by GE thats comes with the washer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
50 inches & very flexible, but sturdy, not flimsy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Repairman
April 25, 2013
About 4 feet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
December 6, 2012
Hello Zeus,

Thank you for choosing the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

The extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70". Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Drain hose installation Requirements:

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.
* Discharge height MUST NOT BE LESS THAN 30 INCHES, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer. If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.
* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
February 2, 2013
The installation requires that you order new hoses along with the machine. If you think you need a longer-than-average hose, measure the one you have. Call or use on-line chat to get the specs on the hose "kit" that you purchase with the machine to make sure that it's long enough for your installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have a lint filter?

Asked by
alee
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 10, 2013
My old washer had a rectangle piece where all the lint would fall into & all I had to do was take the rectangle piece out and dump the lint out after each wash.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chucktall
houston, TX
November 20, 2013
don't believe so…we've had the unit a month and I have not seen anything like that on this unit.

If lint is your concern…the dryer should catch most of that in the drying process.

bottom line, this is a really good basic feature unit. no frills….but works well...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE model # GTWN2800DWW.

Current GE washer do not have a lint filter. The fine mesh filters were removed from under the agitator when it was found that a better pump and larger holes in the hub under the agitator did a better job of removing lint and preventing clogs in the drain system. The drain system allows water to flow through the basket and out the bottom of the tub pulling lint, hair, and small particles with the water. There is no
maintenance required on this system.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Giggles
Murrells Inlet, SC, USA
November 12, 2013
No, it does not have a filter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
No lint filter. Usually one finds those on dryers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I fill the washer first and put in the bleach before I add the clothes?

Asked by
JHCABT
New York City
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 9, 2013
Hello JHCABT - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, you can fill the washer first, and then add the bleach before adding clothes.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Charlie
November 12, 2013
Sure, just make sure the bleach has time to disperse in the water before adding clothes.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Krissy
Chattanooga, TN, USA
January 21, 2014
Yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Sunny1001
Washington, DC
August 17, 2014
There is a special dispenser for bleach. My process is as follows: start the washer so it begins filling. add detergent, load items to be washed, put bleach (if I'm using it) in the bleach dispenser and then close the lid. Our whites are coming out nice and bright white!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

this is not one of those agitator less washers is it? I want a washer with an agitator

Asked by
babs
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 8, 2012
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 8, 2012
Hello Babs,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

Model GTWN2800DWW offers a full size Dual-action agitator. It is not an Infusor model . Models with the Infusor wash technology will not have the traditional agitator. The Infusor is approximately 7 1/2" high.

Thank you for considering GE!

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
This has a full size 17 inch tall old fashioned agitator, 12 inches wide at the bottom & 6 inches at the top. The tub fill maximum is almost 17 inches of water. Interestingly, there are at least 3 different types of agitation it uses: it usually is a gentle motion in one direction, with the drum rotating in the opposite direction! But sometimes it agitates for about 10 seconds more vigorously in both directions! Dirty clothes can come out very clean if you use the "White" and longest cycle time settings.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
This washer has an agitator in the center that is similar to the older machines ... however, the "fins" on the agitator are not as large as the ones on my old washer. You cannot see the action of the agitator since the machine stops as soon as you lift the lid, even in the wash cycle. In my old machine it would continue agitating if you lifted the lid (only stopped during the spin cycle).
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the Rinse System WaterSaver Rinse?

Asked by
Tina
Houston
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 15, 2012
I want an old-fashioned washing machine that fills up to the level that I choose, both for the wash cycle and the rinse cycle.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 15, 2012
Hello Tina,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

Washer designs and specifications have changed over the last few years to meet the DOE standards for water consumption and Energy Star guidelines.

Model GTWN2800DWW offers 5 water levels and the Water Saver Rinse feature.

Water Saver Rinse: At the end of the wash cycle, the washer pump out all of the water. The washer retains only the water in the clothes, it does not spin, but fills again with 11 gallons of water. It will agitate for 10 seconds and then soak for 2.5-3 minutes. Last, it will pump out and do final spin.

I hope this helps. Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
The GE GTWN2800DWW model 3.9 cu ft stainless steel tub does fill up to any of 5 different levels, the most being within 1inch of the top of the steel tub [with a 3" tough plastic splash protector around the top of the tub], in both the wash and rinse cycles.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
My machine does not have this setting. It does have a "power rinse" that is supposed to be used when you use fabric softener. I don't use fabric softener, so I have not used that setting. I have not observed the level of rinse water, so can't be positive that the water level of the rinse is the same as the wash level. However, since I find that the clothes need an extra spin (still too wet with just the standard spin of the cycle), I'm guessing the rinse water level is sufficient.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the purpose of soaking clothes during a rinse cycle? Clothes need water to rinse and this machine has very little.

Asked by
dg
houston, tx
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 7, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
I don't know what you mean by "has very little". If you set the "power-rinse" control knob to on, during the rinse cycle, the tub will fill with as much water as you set for the wash cycle [e.g., a full tub of water, if you had set it on super full]. The purpose of soaking the clothes during that cycle is to get all the soap out of the clothes! And during the initial part of the spin cycle after that soaking, the clothes are sprayed with more water to get the soap out.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 10, 2012
Hwllo DG,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer
Model # GTWN2800DWW.

Yes, this model offers the Water Saver Rinse System.

Water Saver Rinse: At the end of the wash cycle, the washer pump out all of the water. The washer retains only the water in the clothes, it does not spin, but fills again with 11 gallons of water. It will agitate for 10 seconds and then soak for 2.5-3 minutes. Last, it will pump out and do final spin.

To get more water in the rinse cycle, always select the Fabric Softener option. Extra water is needed to dilute the fabirc softeners.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
My issue with this washer is that clothes do not spin as dry as my previous machine. It would appear there is ample water in the rinse cycle if this happens. I think I tend to overestimate my load size by one "notch", so maybe that is why there is enough water to rinse? A friend bought the 3.7 cu ft tub, and she says she does not have an issue with the clothes not spinning as dry as she would like.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the average life span of the new g.e. waser #GTWN2800DW

Asked by
bedrock Bill
Benton, La. 71006
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 15, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
An extensive search of the WWW fails to find any specific data on this question. One consumer magazine in 2011 said that the responses from over 100,000 people who bought washers showed that GE top-load washing machines had average reliability compared to the 8 other major brands/competitors. About 10% eventually had needed a repair.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2012
Hello Bedrock Bill,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer
model # GTWN2800DWW.

Product failure rate or life of a product information is not possible to determine. Frequency of use, environment, use and care, etc. all determine the life of a product.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality and will will stand behind our products.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
Too new to know, I think, since these larger tubs are more recent models. If I don't get 10 or 12 years out of it, I'll be very annoyed. My last washer was 14 years old.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which is close to TRADITIONAL washer?

Asked by
LLSinSCV
Santa Clarita
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 8, 2012
Which GE washer is the CLOSEST to a traditional pre-2004 water restricted style washer? I want to replace my 2010 HE Whilpool top loader, and want the LARGEST top loader (NON-HE) washer you have.
I'd like a FILL THE TUB type washer. One that has a 2nd rinse would be great; delicate optional, and pre-wash not needed,
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 11, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on GE washers.

Yes, model # GTWN2800DWW is a traditional style washer that does not have the Precise or adpative water fill technology.

It offers 5 water levels that you can select based on load size, small, medium,large,extra large, & super. This will give you more control over the water level you want to select.

I hope this helps! Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
January 22, 2013
Model # GTWN2800DWW GE washer is the one which meets all the criteria you described. See my above review of that washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
November 25, 2012
Yes, it's pretty close ... except the spin cycle leaves clothes wetter than my old washer.

When lifting the lid, the water did adequately cover the whole load of clothes. I also did NOT want a machine that used too little water (for when I do muddy towels that may have dog hair as well. Need enough water to clean and wash away that kind of debris).

I may tend (can't be sure) to set the load size choice higher than I need to (like setting "x-large" for what others might call a "large" load). The biggest load is called "Super".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Traditional Washer Capability (which GE machine fits the bill?)

Asked by
LLSinSCV
Santa Clarita
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 8, 2012
Which GE washer is as close as possible to a TRADITIONAL, PRE-2004 washer, one that is NOT water restricted type top loader?

I'd like to replace my HE washer that is not GE brand, which I just 2yrs ago in 2010. I want a washer that FILLS THE TUB, one that has a 2nd rinse cycle; optional is extra cycles of delicate and/or pre-wash.

Hope GE has something that fits the bill t replace my HE washer. (ps- I live in Southern Calif.)
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
Certainly this GTWN2800DWW model GE meets all the criteria you mention in your inquiry. On its "super" level capacity setting, it fills the 3.9 cu. ft. stainless steel tub to just under 1" of the top of the steel part of the tub [with 3 inches of splash protection by a thick plastic tub top rim]. Its Power Rinse dial provides a thorough second rinse. The permanent press regular or light cycles are for delicate loads. The "Heavy" setting on any cycle seems to accomplish what a prewash setting on other models would do [it greatly extends the wash time].
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TcfromTexas
Plano
July 10, 2012
I love this one because it is not energy efficient and you can add water to it while it is washing if you want to add water. All the new ones are junk because they tell you how to wash your clothes like all products now the makers make them they way they want you to use them not how you want to use them. Lets fight back and get our choices back. This one gives decent choices and does not restrict you on water.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Granny67
Pennsylvania
October 16, 2012
The 3.9 cu ft GE I purchased does seem to fill the tub with sufficient water for the size load I select. This could be less water than my old machine used, but can't be sure. This machine has 5 settings for load size (S, M, L, XL, SuperL). I probably over-estimate my load size by one "notch" when choosing the setting to make sure there is enough water used to carry the soil away from the clothes.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the rate of the water flow per minute on this machine?

Asked by
CK
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
December 17, 2012
We have a situation with our pipe system. We have a pipe that is 1.5 inch in diameter. We recently bought a Whirlpool and it requires a 2 inch minimum pipe and the water flow from the machinge is 17 gallons per minute. However, with this speed and the size pipe we have caused a back flow of water and overspilled. We checked with a plumber and there is nothing clogged up with the pipes. I read in a GE Manual that a standpipe of 1 to 1.5 is required. Is this standard for all GE washers? We're interested in buying this product but we want to make sure this would work because we had to return the Whirlpool as it didn't work for us and it cost us a restocking & pick up fee. And are you able to find out the rate of the water flow and whether a high efficiency would be a better choice in this case?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 19, 2012
Hello CK,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns.

GE washers have powerful drain pumps that can pump water vertical as high as 8 feet above the floor. The pump will pump water at a rate of 15gpm. (gallons per minutes)

The flow rate of the pump is dependent upon the height of the drain pipe. For each 1 foot of additional drain pipe height, the flow rate will be reduced by approximately 1 gallon per minute.

Drain pipe should be a "minimum" of 1 1/2" I.D. to assure proper drainage. The washer drain hose is 1-1/4" O.D. To be confident that no siphoning of water will take place, drain plumbing should be a minimum of 30" high. If drain is not 30" we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon
clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.

I hope this helps!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
February 4, 2013
I found one webpage which said flow rate is 2.2 gallons/minute, but I can not confirm that fact via any other web searches. Suggest you ask G.E. at their Support website.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Oldoneputt
San Ramon, CA, USA
September 6, 2013
Our drain pipe is 2 inches in diameter. The drain tube from the washer appears to be 1.5 inches and fits with room to spare inside the drain pipe. It also extends about 12 inches into the drain pipe. Our house is 35 years old and we've never had a problem with the washer drainage system. Your plumber can tell you if your drainage pipe at 1.5 inches meets your local building code. Regardless of that issue, perhaps your pipe has some elbows that restrict a faster flow even though the pipe is clear. To accomodate today's more efficient washers you may have to replace your 1.5 inch drain pipe with a 2 inch minimum drain pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Softener dispenser slid down, can it be placed back to proper position?

Asked by
MOMINCT
CT
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 6, 2013
While trying to wipe the dispenser it slid down a bit. How can I get it back to the correct position?
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jason
Garner, NC, USA
July 23, 2013
The whole top section is removable. Take it off and push the cup back in and replace.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
April 7, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer.

Yes, this can happen and there is any easy fix. To fix the problem of the dispenser coming loose or falling into the agitator, please see below.

* Remove the dispenser from the top of the agitator. Pull the top firmly straight up.

* Separate the dispenser cup from the cover by grasping the top and pushing down on the inside of the cup with your fingers. Dispenser cup will pop free from the cover.

* To clean the dispenser, soak both the dispenser cup and the dispenser cover in the following solution:
1 gallon (3.8 liters) warm water
1/4 cup (60 ml) heavy duty liquid detergent
1 cup (240 ml) bleach
If necessary, loosen build-up with a clean, soft cloth after soaking. Do not use a stiff brush; you may roughen the surface of the dispenser.

* Rinse and reassemble dispenser. Put the cup on the countertop. Take the outer body and place it over top the cup and push down firmly.

* Place dispenser back on the agitator. Line up the slots on the body of the fabric softener dispenser and the agitator.

I hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
72yearsxperience
seattle wa
April 8, 2013
The whole top of the agitator are the 3 softener dispenser parts, which you simply lift up straight to remove, disassemble, clean [if need be], reposition and then slide back down into place on top of the agitator. Notice the grooves for putting it all back in place. No twisting or unscrewing is needed. It all just lifts up and out, to do all this; it is very easy to do. Occasional cleaning is good, since some softeners are a bit gummy/thick and can clog the dispenser screen a bit.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you install the drain hose in a laundry tub? The only option I was given was to drill holes in the tub and attach with strap.

Asked by
Chris
Detroit
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DesigningWoman
July 12, 2013
Hello Chris and thank you for your question.

There are detailed drawings and installation instructions for connecting the drain hose located here: http://products.geappliances.com/Ma....

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jmac
Kure Beach, NC, USA
July 23, 2013
Replace the tub drain with a PVC pipe 'T'.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
robert1072
Plainfield, NJ, USA
July 23, 2013
Drain Hose is made of flexible plastic that you can bend for a good fit over the side of the tub. You can also purchase a hose extension kit from GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are GE washers and dryers made in America?

Asked by
AmericanGirl
Orange, TX
about 3.9 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MrCleanJeans
Modesto, CA, USA
July 27, 2013
I believe they are only "assembled" in America meaning some or all of the parts are manufactured elsewhere. Good luck finding a quality "Made in America" product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model # GTWN2800DWW.

This washer model is manufactured in Louisville, Kentucky at GE Appliance Headquarters.

GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

Only large capacity dryers are manufactured in Louisville, Kentucky. The rest are manufactured Globally.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dirtyclothesgardener
Michigan
July 17, 2013
Some are assembled in America
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »