Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED

Textured 7mm Laminate Flooring is the most realistic style collection, providing the look and natural textures of hardwood. This product has achieved GREENGUARD Indoor Air Quality Certification and has been tested for more than 10,000 volatile organic compounds, including formaldehyde, to meet these standards. The glueless installation is easy and economical; above grade, on grade and below grade. Embossed laminate styles stimulate upscale looks from traditional to exotic; giving your home a comforting feel with a hardwood look.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions
 | 
31 Answers
Overall rating:
3.686 out of 5
3.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED

Question

How much does a case weight? I was wondering how many 42 cases would be?

Asked by
Keith
Johnstown PA
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
September 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
October 6, 2014
Each case weighs 31 lbs. (42 cases = approx. 1,300 lbs)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this type of flooring withstand heavy furniture and equipment (i.e. media centers, armoires, bookcases, body towers, ellipticals, treadmills,etc)?

Asked by
JPN80
Allen, TX
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
February 3, 2014
I've only used this flooring in my closet and there's nothing in there of substantial weight. I wanted to be sure before I buy for the remaining carpeted areas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sheilaj7
New Hampshire, USA
April 15, 2014
This flooring is very sturdy, just be careful not to scratch it by putting felt pads on the bottom of objects. Also, directions for all laminate flooring, not just this particular floor says to put down a layer of plywood and move heavy objects over the plywood, then place in area you want the piece. I put a very, heavy solid oak dresser on my laminate, without using the plywood and as I had laid my joints very tightly, nothing bad happened...but best to follow all instructions and use plywood method. Good luck. Also, look for my review I gave great installation tips...after watching hours of u tube videos...
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
February 6, 2014
When exceptionally heavy furniture or furniture that creates vibrations are used special considerations should be taken. For more information contact Home Legend technical support at 1-877-960-8001 prompt 2.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you still carry Trafficmaster original medium red oak MRO004

Asked by
FLOOR
PORT ORANGE FL
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
February 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sheilaj7
New Hampshire, USA
April 15, 2014
This laminate flooring called baytown oak matches very well with my red oak bedroom set and looks great...it is not too light nor too dark...I put it down in two bedrooms so far and plan to do my whole home. It is a trafficmaster product. See my review of this product for some great installation tips (I watched over 8 hours of u tube videos and took the best ideas from all). Thanks. :)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
February 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, we do not stock the item you are requesting. However, we do offer alternative models that may suit your needs. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do they make a paint stick to cover defects in the middle of the board, it is a nick, not very deep

Asked by
steve
Altoona, IA
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
February 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sheilaj7
New Hampshire, USA
April 15, 2014
I tried to find something for that and I think you buy wood epoxy, I bought some Millstead 3 oz. Red Oak Natural / Maple Natural Acrylic Wood Filler, but the color I selected did not match very well. I plan on using the epoxy to fill the nick and then use one of those colored furniture markers (one that blends with this color) to color over the epoxy to get a better match. Home depot has quite a selection of the epoxies by Roberts, find one that blends with red oak. I did not have time to go through every robert epoxy to find the exact one, but unhappy with the Millstead. Also, for the transition strips the
Zamma Baytown Oak 7/16 in. Height x 1-3/4 in. Wide x 72 in Length Laminate T-Molding
Model # 013221531 Internet # 203286277 Store SO SKU # 294449 matched the trafficmaster baytown oak laminate quite well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
February 3, 2014
Laminate touch up pens and repair kits are available in an assortment of colors to repair damage such as you described.

One such kit is "picobello Flooring Repair Kit" Model # KO61400 sold throught HomeDepot.com; a demonstration video is also available on Youtube.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what do you use to clean this flooring and can a product such as hollaway floor finish be used

Asked by
bill
centrailia wa
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
July 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jwww
Garland, TX, USA
July 22, 2013
Vacuum followed by laminate floor cleaner such as Jep, which is available at Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JPN80
Allen, TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 31, 2013
If your referring to the Quick Shine product made by Holloway Company, then yes but I would use it sparingly. I've used a steam mop on mine and then went over with the Quick Shine Product and haven't had any problems with damaging the floor. I believe if you go to the Holloway website I think it says which products should be used for laminate floors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my handiman didn.t stagger the seams..it looks weird,,,but will this affect durability or warrenty...can he redo it with same planks once laid

Asked by
lulu
garden grove
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
July 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jwww
Garland, TX, USA
July 16, 2013
1 - he didn't follow the instructions, he should do it right at no additional cost to you.
2 - he should be able to use the same planks, there may be a problem because of cutting to offset the joints. this may require an additional board or two. Usually there are some boards left.
ALL of the instructions, I have seen, stager the seams at the ends of the planks.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mick
Tacoma, Wa
August 23, 2013
I can't speak to warranty details, but being installed improperly will have a negative effect on durability.
You're 'handyman' certainly can, and should, redo it correctly. Especially if you paid him to do the job right the first time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vacless
mojave, ca.
October 7, 2013
I believe you need to redo this floor. No comment on your help. I believe the staggered joints are for strength, just as in a real wood floor or as in almost everything involved in construction projects. It is even possible that any warranty implied, no longer does. Be very careful taking the floor up as it is fragile then.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to have it installed

Asked by
Mon
Woonsocket,RI
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jwww
Garland, TX, USA
July 3, 2013
Home Depot has people (contractors) which will do this.
I designed and built the furnature from the board up, but I am now 78.
They let me help by cutting the floor boards as they marked them, not all contractors will work with you in this way.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Edwaardo
Connecticut
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 21, 2013
Home Depot will gladly do it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

are all planks only available by the case?

Asked by
rxpjbe
york, maine
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
June 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
June 25, 2013
Home Legend flooring is sold by the case. This model (HL704) of flooring has 9 planks per case.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Layla
June 25, 2013
I shopped and bought on-line and the product was available only by the box, so far as I could find. I bought an extra box to provide replacement planks for the future.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vacless
mojave, ca.
October 7, 2013
I am not an employee but sometimes they sell individual planks returned from a bad or damaged box and they do have sample pieces at the stores
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

By any chance, did this product replace Home Legends Honey Oak?

Asked by
cornelle
Dallas, TX
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
May 15, 2013
I purchased two pallets of Honey Oak last July for a rent house. It is beautiful but a plumbing leak has caused significant damage and I now must replace half of it. We have only a few extra pieces. I cannot find HL Honey Oak anywhere. However, this product looks very similar. Is it the same, or close enough to use for repair?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
May 16, 2013
This product is similar to the Honey Oak. I would recommend getting a sample from your local store to ensure that you are satisfied with the color and whether or not the mechanism will work together with the old floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jwww
Garland, TX, USA
July 2, 2013
Yes - matching color could not be found, but there was a good place for transition (doorway)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need free shipping to Stamford,ct for 370 sqft? Is that possible?

Asked by
Nanc
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
October 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sheilaj7
New Hampshire, USA
April 15, 2014
sometimes around major holidays Home depot has free shipping, each box weighs 32 pounds, so you can transport some amount in your car...but 370 square feet would need at least 16 boxes, best to have delivered. I had to pay for shipping as I did not want to wait for a holiday to start my project. I had the guys deliver to my car port and with the help of my furniture dolly brought all 39 cases in my house myself, 2 cases at a time...rather than pay the fee to have it placed inside my home. I installed it myself (58 year old female diyer) and wrote a review with great install tips. Good luck and look for my review, you will be glad you did.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Baton Rouge, LA
November 7, 2012
Hi Nanc!

Thanks for asking. While free shipping is not available for this item, it is currently available to buy online and pick up in the store. There are several stores in your area that have stock available right now to meet your needs. Please call ahead to verify inventory.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i lay this over tile

Asked by
sharon
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
August 23, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 28, 2012
Hello sharon and thank you for your question.

Yes, you can install the TrafficMaster Baytown Oak Laminate Flooring over tile. Refer to page 2 of the installation instructions: http://www.homelegend.com/pdfs/2012....

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SALSHARP1
St. Louis, MO 63052, USA
October 1, 2013
YES IF TILE IS SOUND AND LEVEL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to install

Asked by
Indian
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
August 11, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Galin
The Dalles, OR
January 5, 2013
Installation is simple although I would very highly recommend you avoid TrafficMaster as they like to discontinue varieties which means you'll have to replace your whole house if you need to repair a section.

The tools you need are: a mitre saw (sliding is highly recommended), a laminate install kit (about $13 and worth ten times that), a jigsaw and a hammer.

Let your boxes of laminate sit in the rooms it will be installed in for 3 days.

Clear the floor completely including any nail heads, dirt, sand, pet hair, etc.

Lay your moisture barrier out and tape to each other. Don't worry about taping it to the subfloor. Make sure it covers every inch of flooring and preferably let it extend an inch beyond. This will help avoid spills getting under the flooring and too much excess can easily be cut away later.

Now's the fun part. Cut 1 piece of flooring in about half. Lay a spacer in the corner where you wish to start and butt the flat side and the side you just cut against the corner so that the tab that runs the length of the board faces away from the wall. You can adjust later, but you want the spacers to leave about a quarter inch between the wall and the board not only here but everywhere. Personally, I would err on the side of too little spacing rather than too much because even when you have trim planned out, the gaps tend to want to creep out from under it.

So now you have a half piece laid down. Take a full piece and lay it end to end with that piece. The tab on the end piece of your half piece should align with the groove in your full piece. Put the ends of your half piece and your full piece together and raise the other end of your full piece up a foot or so. Push the 2 pieces together then lower the other end of the full piece down. There will probably be a very small gap between the 2 pieces. Using your black plastic rectangle from your install kit, put the long board's tab into the groove. Making sure that the rectangle isn't touching the delicate top layer of laminate, gently tap the rectangle with your hammer until the 2 boards just butt up to each other. Don't hit it too hard. If you chip or otherwise ruin the board, just set it aside for later use and try again with a new board. As many floors as I've done I still ruin a board from time to time so don't sweat it. Repeat this process until you reach the end of your first row.

Now you've come to the end of your first row and a whole board won't fit. Grab a scrapped board if you have one that will work (always best to use your scraps whenever possible) or get a full one. Put it in place. (This is a good time to make sure the spacing at the opposite wall is what you want.) Now turn it around backward (not upside down) and butt it up with the wall. Mark where it intersects with your last board that you laid down and cut it with your mitre saw. Don't worry if your saw leaves kind of a rough, chewed up edge as the trim will cover this. Lay your board out as you've done all along. You'll notice that the black rectangle won't fit here so grab the bendy piece of metal from the kit. Put the wide edge between the wall and the board and gently hit the other end with your hammer to bring your last 2 boards together. Yay, your first row is done!

For your second and every row from here out, make sure you start at the same end. Remember how we cut the first board in about half? We want to make sure that the first board on the second row is not the same length as the first board in the first row. If it is then there'll be a gap line that is a weak point and looks bad. So if possible, use a piece of scrap and cut as needed so that it's not the same length as your first first board and so that it's not the length of a full board. Now lay this board against your first row. Put the tab and groove next to each other. Lift the other side of the board at a 45 degree angle and push the tab and groove together. Use the rectangle to tap them, very gently, if needed. Usually though this isn't necessary. Now gently push the board down flat, making sure that your tab stays in the groove. You may need to tap it together with the rectangle as you go. Once you get that board flat, make sure it lines up with your first row board at the wall. If it doesn't, use your rectangle to tap it closer to the wall or your bendy metal piece to move it away from the wall. Lay out your next board in the same way. You'll see that you have to lay it down about a half inch from the previous board so as not to ruin the tab. Simply tap it into place with the rectangle.

So now you've laid out all of your rows and are at the last row and of course it doesn't fit. Using the similar method as you used at the end of each row, lay your board out and instead of marking to cut the width, mark to cut the length. Using your jigsaw, cut along the line to rip the board in half(ish). Install as before.

These instructions are wordy but really this is a very simple project. The main things are: make sure your floor is very clean (think hospital or microchip factory) before starting, replace any dinged boards, use your scraps first when possible and be incredibly gentle with the boards (especially the top laminate) and keep an eye on the gaps along the walls so that they don't get too big or too small. During the process you'll find that boards don't come together; this is usually because the tab got damaged...you can usually fix that by cutting out the damaged part. Remember that this is a "floating" floor so it will move around ever so slightly so do not nail it down. When you put up your trim, attach the trim the the walls, NOT to the floor. Oh yes, have fun!
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 21, 2012
Hello Indian and thank you for your question.

The TrafficMaster Baytown Oak Laminate Flooring installation instructions can be found here: http://www.homelegend.com/pdfs/2012....

Best wishes with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the recomended underlayment for this product installed over pre existing lineoleum?

Asked by
Bob
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
August 11, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 16, 2012
Hello Bob and thank you for your question.

There is no specific recommended underlayment for the 7 mm TrafficMaster Baytown Oak. If you need sound dampening, Consider a cork underlayment for sound dampening. Select a polyethylene foam underlayment for cushioning. Use a 2-in-1 underlayment for insulation, cushioning, and moisture protection. A 3-in-1 underlayment will provide insulation, cushioning, moisture protection, and sound dampening.

Best wishes with your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cer113
March 19, 2013
I used Roberts Air Guard and it worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
scavman3
old forge
November 26, 2012
I put it over lino with just the foam underlayment. That is what my contractor does all day long. Lino also acts as a sound deadener. You will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you purchase the baytown oak trim?

Asked by
Rich
Pennsylvania
about Baytown Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-11/16 in. Wide x 50-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (24.33 sq. ft./case)-DISCONTINUED on
July 15, 2012
I purchased the baytown oak laminate flooring, but could not find the trim in my Home Depot store. I assumed I could find it online and order it there. I have had no luck. Is the trim even made to match the Baytown Oak? If not, what trim should I use that would be close to the Baytowm Oak?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cer113
March 19, 2013
Yes, you can (and should) purchase the matching Baytown Oak trim. Just ask your local store to order it from another store if they don't carry it. I bought both the T-molding and the quarter-round trim in Baytown Oak and it matches perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HomeLegend
July 17, 2012
The moulding pieces for this flooring are manufactured by an outside company known as ZAMMA, Their customer service line is: (800) 936-6853.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
handyman
October 24, 2012
The only trim that I found was shoe molding or quarter round, same thing. I also found transition pieces because I had tile flooring butting to the laminate floor. I had to make some molding to go around 2 poles in the basement. Their selection is not that good. You can always buy real wood molding and stain it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1