Looking for Answers about GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

The latest line of GE washers & dryers offers the ultimate in laundry performance and convenience. With energy-efficiency and water-savings at the top of the list, GE has created large-capacity washer and dryer products that not only clean your clothes with a gentle touch, but also give you more space for big (and therefore fewer) loads. Search matching Electric Dryer Model GTDP490EDWS or Gas Dryer model GTDP490GDWS.
Customer questions and answers:
90 Questions
 | 
179 Answers
Overall rating:
4.024 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Question

Does this machine have any type of lint filter and a automatic fabric softener dispenser??

Asked by
Bebar
Pittsburgh, PA
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
November 28, 2013
I am looking at buying this machine and was going through all of the questions, but found out nothing about a lint filter. I have a washing machine now that does not have one and lint gets all over the clothing.
I do not have an automatic fabric softener dispenser now, and it is a pain to try to catch the rinse cycle all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 29, 2013
Hello Bebar - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

The fine mesh filters were removed from under the agitator when it was found that a better pump and larger holes in the hub under the agitator did a better job of removing lint and preventing clogs in the drain system. There is no maintenance required on this system and you should not have a problem with lint on your clothes.

Yes, this washer does have the automatic softener dispenser. Be sure to select the Power Rinse Option when using liquid fabric softener.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rogerdob
La Canada, CA
January 23, 2014
It does not have a lint filter that I know of...it says nothing about it in the manual...it has an automatic fabric dispenser. Please be aware of one thing that I hate about this machine...it does not have a hot water wash (if you need one). It has a dial that says "Hot" but the water is mixed with cold water automatically (it is computer driven) and the water is merely very warm. It also has the longest spin cycle...goes on forever... Personally, I would never buy this machine again!
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sweet
Westminster, CO, USA
December 17, 2013
It does have an automatic fabric softener dispensor, no lint filter.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Scooter
St Louis MO
January 23, 2014
It does not have a lint filter. I've had the machine since the end of Nov. and have no issues with lint on clothes.
Yes it does have an automatic fabric softener dispenser. It works great. You must select the option for fabric softener on the dial or it will spot the clothes with the softener. The rinse with and without softener operate completely different.
So far I am pleased with the machine. If you are not use to a top loader HE it does have some quirks that take some getting use to. This is my first top loader HE.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mikel
Maryland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
I have had my washer for several months. I have not found anything resembling a lint filter. However my clothes are coming out of the washer lint free.

Regarding the fabric softener, it is present and works very well.

By the way, the machine also has a sensor to detect how much laundry you have put into the machine and dispenses the proper amount of water, thus saving money adding water you don't need.

Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
PatAnn
January 29, 2014
I am not sure about the lint filter - but so far have not had a problem with lint on the clothes.

As for the fabric softener, the center agitator has a well in the top for fabric softener. You put in what you want and then fill it the rest of the way with plain water. I do not use liquid fabric softener, so have not used it.

I hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between the GE GHWN4250dww and the GTWN4250mws washing machines?

Asked by
fred the curious
Virginia
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 24, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 25, 2012
Hello Fred,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your interest in GE washers.

Model GTWN4250MWS and GHWN4250DWW are very similiar.

GTWN4250m is 3.6 cubic feet and GHWN4250D has a 3.9 cubic foot tub capacity.

The cycle selction knobs are layed out a little differently.

GTWN4250MWS offers Cottons, Casuals, Easy Care, Delicates and Prewash.

GHWN4250DWW offers Cottons, Towels/Sheets, Jeans, Prewash, Handwash, Speedwash, and Colors.

Thank you for considering GE!
+11points
13out of 15found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldFashioned
April 28, 2012
I'm not sure when your question was written, but I just got the former one that you listed. What I did was go to the website and check the box to the upper left of the description, where it says, 'select to compare'. Once you choose the appliances you want to compare go back to the top of the page, and press 'compare'. It gives you a side by side, line by line comparison which is very helpful.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Boohoo
Mass
July 22, 2012
I purchased the GTWN4250 version and it has all the options they say it doesn't. It's also 3.9 no 3.6 cu ft. Not sure why people are responding with incorrect info???
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Regarding Manual Override of Automatic Load Sensing...

Asked by
Anonymous
Blairsville, GA
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 1, 2014
We have had the washer for a couple of months and tried the various cycles, etc. The very specific question that I have is just how much water should be in the tub for the manual override setting of "Super"? I loaded it with a few blankets, sheets and such- certainly a FULL tub of clothes, but NOT "packed down" like I was stuffing it or anything. After the fill (about two minutes into agitation), it sounded like the machine was really "laboring" to agitate. I paused it, and the top of the blankets were pretty much "dry"... the water level was a full 8 inches from the gray rubber which surrounds the tub at the top. In a response posted 30Sept12, the GE person mentioned 16 (or 18?) gallons would be used with the highest "override" setting. Is this STILL the case, because I don't think the tub was more than 2/3 full? Please advise- it is currently still under warrantee and we need to know if a check-up service call is warranted- thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 3, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. We are happy to help.

If the SUPER load size is selected, the washer will fill with approximately fourteen (14) inches of water. If the SMALL load size is selected, the washer will fill with approximately seven (7) inches of water. If the Precise Fill automatic option is selected the water level will be between seven (7) inches and fourteen (14) inches. The lid must remain closed during Precise Fill.

This is a high-efficiency washing machine. This system requires less water while providing effective cleaning
action. You may notice that the water level is lower than on your previous washer. This is normal.

You can reach our scheduling department at 1-800-GECares (1-800-432-2737) Monday – Friday: 7 a.m. – 10 p.m. ET Saturday – Sunday: 8 a.m. – 6 .m. ET.

Thanks for checking with us!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TessaTab
New York
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 5, 2014
You will get NO WHERE with GE. I've tried many times talking with their staff, and they keep telling me that the 7 or 8 inches of water that I'm getting on the MANUAL super setting is completely normal. There is no override. But yet, if you read some of these question & answers that the GE people have responded to, they come right out and state that in the SUPER setting, you should get 14 inches of water. Also watch out cause your clothes will get all twisted and wrinkled. Repairmen have warned me about GE appliances, and telling me to stray away. This GE model GTWN4250D1WS washer of 2 weeks is going back tomorrow. Thank goodness, I held onto my old one, and didn't let them haul it away for free. This is a ok washer if you always have small loads, as you don't get much water into the tub.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LALAVA2
Virginia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2014
Hi, The short answer to your question is the water in my washer comes down about 5 inches (or 6 holes down) from the bottom of the gray rubber (on Manual Super, Colors, Hot). Long answer..... We had a lot of problems finding a washing machine that actually cleans the clothes. Originally we got the LG high efficiency and our clothes were not clean at all. I went back to Home Depot and returned it for the GE top loader. While it isn't nearly as large, it does get clothes clean, you just can't stuff it full. The sales associate there told me that the new washing machines do not use as much water as the old units did even at their max capacity. I would try it on a load of clothes (blankets may absorb more water) and see where it fills to. If it is about 6 holes down, I think it is doing it's job. Hope that helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HappyHomeDepotShopper
Blairsville, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 17, 2014
The answer to this question by "Sue" from GE ANSWERS on 03March14 is, in my opinion, definitely the CORRECT answer. If this washer were to fill with 14 inches of water on the "Jumbo" manual override setting, then I would be very pleased with this washing machine. HOWEVER, the machine will fill to ONLY 10 inches of water... which is a BIG difference. A full load of clothes, sheets, blankets or ANYTHING #not over stuffed!# will NOT get completely wet or washed... and the normally quiet agitator will sound like it is "struggling" to move the soggy clothing.

The other answer on 05March14 about the service center's "insistence" that the INSUFFICIENT #per Sue's official response# amount of water using JUMBO/maximum settings is "normal", is also correct. The service center will NOT schedule a service call for us #under WARRANTEE#, even though I spent 30 minutes on the phone "troubleshooting" potential causes for low water level, and we found NONE. Their response as to how much water should be in the tub for a Jumbo load changed 3 times during the course of that call. Their final determination was that I didn't understand how a high efficiency machine is SUPPOSED to use less water, and I shouldn't be concerned with the water level. I was told to review information provided on the GE website and watch a video on the subject, which would alleviate my concerns.

My suggestion to potential buyers is that you should measure for YOURSELVES just how high 10 inches of water in the tub would look PRIOR to buying this GE product. It will be completely obvious that it ISN'T enough... and what looks like a reasonably large capacity machine can not and WILL NOT adequately wet a full load of laundry with a 10 inch fill. Since Sue from GE ANSWERS indicates that you SHOULD get a 14 inch fill, be certain that the salesperson gives you this assurance in writing, since the Service Scheduling Center will "disagree".

It seems my only option remaining is to speak with a CSR at the Home Depot where I purchased the unit to inquire about a return for refund, then purchase a DIFFERENT machine. It will NOT be another GE...
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MIKE
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 28, 2014
We all know this is the biggest problem of all new HE machines. After spending around $2000 to buy the front load machine from Maytag, and HE top load machine from LG, both have same problems, the water level is not enough for any normal wash. We decided two years ago, to go back to "the good old day washing machine" make from GE , GTWN2800DWW. ALL PROBLEMS SOLVED.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the washer machine fill with water all the way?

Asked by
deb
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 30, 2012
Hello Deb,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Whether selecting the Precise Fill or Water Level size, the absorbency of the fabric will affect how much water it looks like inside.

If you choose to use the manual fill or override the Precise Fill, the gallons used per fill level are as follows.

Minimum Water Used:
Small: 10 gal.
Medium: 12 gal.
Large: 16 gal.
X-Large: 18 gal.
Super: 20 gal.

Precise Fill allows the washer to determine the optimum water required to wash the items in the basket. To use this option properly, follow proper loading instructions and keep the lid closed during the wash cycle. Precise Fill senses the load during the water filling portion of the cycle to determine how much water is needed.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mikeakamom
Brockton, MA, USA
October 30, 2012
No. Mine only seems to fill just to cover the clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this Model wash comforters?

Asked by
Don
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 4, 2013
Hello Don,

Thank you for your interest in the GE3.9 DOE cu. ft. Top Load washer model #GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, you can wash a comforter but it can depend on the fabric. The GE Company has avoided the use of pounds as a rating system for washer capacity because a washer is not limited in practical terms by the weight of clothes it can wash. It is limited by the volume of clothes that can be put in the machine. Example: one down comforter might fill up the entire machine but weigh very little, while blue jeans are heavier but a smaller load.

Just stuffing a big load into the washer is only part of the story. After the items gets in there, they have to wash clean. Overstuffed loads won't wash well.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Fantastic
Arizona, USA
April 4, 2013
Yes, I put my king sized comforter in, It looked kind of over stuffed in the machine, but I turned it on, walked away and when I returned the comforter came out spotless.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this washer start to fill with water if the lid is open?

Asked by
MEGZ4
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 27, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 28, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE wahser model # GHWN4250DWW.

NO, this washer will not fill properly with the lid up when Precise Fill is selected. GHWN4250DWW
offers the Precise Fill feature. Precise Fill senses the load during the water filling portion of the cycle to determine how much water is needed. It cannot sense properly with the lid up.

If you select the manual water level settings the washer will fill with the lid up but not continue in the cycle properly.

I hope this helps. Thanks for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rickr
South Florida
November 16, 2013
Only have had mine a few days but it seems like if you use the manual load size versus the "automatic" load sensor the fill does continue whith the lid open. beyond fill the lid must be closed
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JustALady
Chicago
June 12, 2012
Yes, on most cycles. There are a couple of cycles that it will not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS this considered a HE washing machine?

Asked by
momof2
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 1, 2014
I am looking for a regular top load machine, NOT a high efficiency model. The salesman said this was not an HE but according to these questions, it is! What is it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. This model is not a High Efficiency washer, it has the HydroWave® quiet agitator wash system. The agitator on the HydroWave™wash system makes a longer 360 degrees stroke and operates in both directions. This allows the clothing to travel longer in the water instead of short aggressive strokes. The longer travel helps to improve the turnover of clothing and gentle cleaning helps prevent fabric wear and color fading. The smoothness of the HydroWave wash system is also much quieter.
This model is also Energy Star® qualified which is designed to use less energy and less water than a traditional topload that is not Energy Star qualified. It does feature a Power Rinse setting. You can choose this setting for a deeper fill rinse (even if you are not using a fabric softener).
Even though this isn't an HE washer, your clothes are washing just as well as they would in a traditional topload washer, but you are saving energy and water use.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jcs78
Hendersonville NC
July 2, 2014
Yes it is. Tier 3 if I am not mistaken....beware of this machine we had to return it it stopped working in about 60 days. We got a Maytag to replace it.we loved this washer did a great job until it stoped working.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AndyF
Aliquippa, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 2, 2014
Hello, the specifications listed on the website say it is an HE washer but does not require HE detergent. My owners manual says GE recommends HE detergent in all their Energy Star washers. Also not to use fabric softeners balls as they do not work correctly. Troubleshoot section says if there is too much suds use less detergent or switch to HE detergent.
I use the small or medium load settings with regular detergent as two adults live here. It has done a great job. With two children you will have larger loads but I think this washer will work well for you. I like the auto soak setting for work clothes. It has plenty of wash and rinse settings. I have had it about one month now and feel it was a good purchase for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does a GE GTWN5250DWW washer let you wash your clothes on warm or hot water?

Asked by
Jean
Oliver Springs, TN 37840
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 11, 2013
Does a GE GTWN5250DWW washer let you wash your clothes on warm or hot water?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 12, 2013
Hello Jean,

Thank you for your question on the GE Top Load Washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, this washer offers the PerfectTemperature washer water temperature management system

* It monitors and regulates cold, warm and hot water temperatures, and warm water rinse.
* Ensures that all water temperatures meet garment manufacturers' recommendations.
* Temperature variation +/- 4.5 degrees.

PerfectTemperature Target Wash Temperatures:
Hot - 110
Warm - 90
Colors - 75
Cool - 70
Cold - 62
Tap Cold - Tap Temp

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fuscia
Atlanta, GA, USA
March 19, 2013
Both, and my hot water really does get hot too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the machine made?

Asked by
Christine
Albany, NY
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 25, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 26, 2012
Hello Christine,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

The washer is manufactured globally. GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

Thank you for considering GE!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fuscia
January 31, 2013
Mine said it was assembled in Louisville, KY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to use only HE detergent. When I bought it, the sales man said that I would not have to use the HE liquid detergent; I could go either way

Asked by
Arby
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 2, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Arby,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yoiu do not have to use HE detergent with this model if you choose not to. Although moset detergents on the market today are HE.

HE is a low-sudsing formula that allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need.

Detergent usage may need to be adjusted for water temperature, water hardness, size and soil level of the load. Avoid using too much detergent in your washer, as it can lead to oversudsing and detergent residue being left on the clothes.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KatT
Michigan
November 1, 2012
My understanding is that HE detergent is optional. That is based on literature I read and salesperson input. I have been using my new washer with normal detergent for about a month and have no complaints.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The agitation in the wash cycle is too slow, is this normal?

Asked by
Fred F
Tuc, Az
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 15, 2012
My older washing machine wash cycle agitation was fairly quick. This GE GHWN4250DWW sounds very slow. Is this new or normal??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 16, 2012
Hello Fred F,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, the Hydrowave wash action is slowwr which is normal. The agitator on the HydroWave wash system makes a longer 360 degrees stroke and operates in both directions. This allows the clothing to travel longer in the water instead of short aggressive strokes. The longer travel helps to improve the turnover of clothing and gentle cleaning helps prevent fabric wear and color fading. The smoothness of the HydroWave wash system is also much quieter.

The variable-speed motor quietly customizes agitation and spin speeds to the laundry load. The on-board motor electronics assist in customizing clothing care for specific fabrics by allowing for more gentle agitation speeds.

I hope this helps!

Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KatT
Michigan
November 1, 2012
The slow sound is normal for this machine. It is highly likely that your old washer has gears whereas your new washer has electric motors. These are inherently quieter than the mechanically geared washers of the past. The new design is both more efficient and kinder to your clothing. Enjoy your new washer!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to pause before lifting the lid or to change the water level

Asked by
Rich
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 24, 2013
Thank you to Donna from GE for answering my previous question. Just to clarify- Do I need to hit the [Start/Pause] button if I lift the lid or if I change the Manual Water setting? If I increase the Manual water setting will the washer just fill to my original setting or adjust to the new setting? Thanks
Rich
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Scooter
St Louis MO
January 23, 2014
If wanting to add a piece of clothing during the wash cycle you do not need to pause. The machine stops when you open the lid.
If the machine is spinning I suggest hitting pause and waiting for the machine to stop, otherwise the machine has an "emergency brake" and comes to a screetching halt when the lid is open. It does not appear by the sound it is very good for the machine. I did it once and would never do it again.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
April 25, 2013
Hello Rich,

Yes, during initial fill, you can adjust the water level to a higher setting and it will adjust to the new level. This can only be done on the Manual water level settings not Precise Fill. You do not have to hit the start/pause button first.

I am glad I could help!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the difference between GHWN4250DWW and GTWN4250DWS?

Asked by
tj
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 1, 2012
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 1, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for your inquiry. This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you.

The GHWN4250DWW has a hydrowave wash system, the GTWN4250WS does not.

The GHWN4250DWW offers Power Rinse, Auto Soak, Extra Rinse and a Basket Clean cycle the GTWN4250DWS does not offer these cycles.

Model GTWN4250DWS offers a prewash cycle and The GHWN4250 does not.

GHWN4250DWW offers a rain shower system. The rain shower system save energy and money. Rather than a washtub full of water, every load of laundry gets three "showers", rinsing clothes clean while minimizing water usage. The RainShower rinse system uses less water, providing rinse performance similar to a high-efficiency washer.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions. We are always glad to help.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a belt?

Asked by
susielou
new york state
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
August 2, 2012
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 2, 2012
Hello Susielou,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, the washer is belt driven. This washer offers the Hydrowave Wash System. The agitator on the HydroWave wash system makes a longer 360 degrees stroke and operates in both directions. This allows the clothing to travel longer in the water instead of short aggressive strokes. The longer travel helps to improve the turnover of clothing and gentle cleaning helps prevent fabric wear and color fading. The smoothness of the HydroWave wash system is also much quieter.

It also offeers PreciseFill with the option of 5 water level selections.

Thank you for considering GE!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer require HE soap or regular old-fashioned Tide?

Asked by
Charlie
California
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MoValCustomer
Moreno Valley, CA, USA
May 2, 2012
I used regular liquid soap without any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
April 29, 2012
Hello Charlie,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

This washer is Energy Star qualified which meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings. GE recommends the use of HE (High Efficiency) detergents in all energy Star rated washers.

HE detergents are specially formulated for high efficiency washers. The low-sudsing formula allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need.

I hope this is helpful. Have a great day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the GE washer GHWN4250DOWW high efficiency or not ?

Asked by
Phil
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 8, 2012
Do I use the new detergent HE or not?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 9, 2012
Hello Phil,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model GHWN4250DWW.

You can use regular detergent of HE. It is not a high efficiency washer but you can use HE detergent if you choose.

It is an Energy Star qualified washer that meets/exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings.

It offers the HydroWave quiet agitator wash system which provides longer, slower, gentle travel for, thorough cleaning.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KatT
Michigan
November 1, 2012
According to what I read in the washer information, using HE detergent is optional. I am using regular detergent and have no complaints.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Recently purchased GHWN4250DWW. While the washer was still filling with water, I changed my mind about the Jeans setting and changed it to Whites. All

Asked by
Barb
Holland, PA
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 21, 2012
Recently purchased GHWN4250DWW. While the washer was still filling with water, I changed my mind about the Jeans setting and changed it to Whites. All the water emptied out. What should I do next time that will prevent this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 22, 2012
Hello Barb,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, that is normal. Once the washer is filling or the cycle has started, the only way to change the cylce is to hold the start button in for 3 seconds to cancel the cycle and the washer will drain the water out to begin again.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Should you have any addtional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for choosing GE!
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
carolynsez
Massachusetts, USA
January 28, 2014
Put it on pause and add your clothes and press start. Machine will not drain but will continue to wash when cover is closed.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer GHWN4250D0WN Cycle Progression.

Asked by
Phil M
Pearland, TX
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 3, 2012
Can you provide the times for the different cycles (Speed Wash/Colors/delicates.....)?
I found in a page: Sample Cycle Progression: Cottons 30 MIn soak cycle, where it shows the different functions (wash/soak/spay....) and times.
I am looking the same information for all the cycles.

Thanks,

Phil
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Phil M,

Thank you for your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

The cycle times are approximate and do not include pauses, fill times and pump out times. It also is without selecting any options.

Specialty Cycles:
Towels & Sheets: 58 minutes
Jeans: 52 minutes
Speed Wash: 33 minutes
Pre-Wash: 64 minutes

Whites Cycle:
Heavy: 50 minutes
Medium: 47 minutes
Light- 41 minutes

Colors Cycle: sames as Whites

Handwash Cycle: 43 minutes

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
a2buzmom
Texas
December 22, 2012
I can only speak of the speed of the actually agitation .... it's depressing and does not clean clothes at all. it also encourages bleeding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long, what amount of time, is used for the auto soak portion of model 4250DWW 3.9 cubic feet GE WASHER?

Asked by
Laundry lady
Austin, TX
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 9, 2012
Hello Laundry Lady,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help!

Auto Soak is a nice feature. For model GHWN4250DWW, if auto soak is selected there is a 3 minute agitate followed by a 12 minute soak.

I hope this is helpful!
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I purchased Model # GTWN4250DWS. What is the wash cycle spm, spin rpm,and time for each labeled cycle.

Asked by
texas
southlake, tx
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 1, 2013
I'm looking for all the details in one chart or list for each of the specific cycles on the wash cycle selector knob, including wash cycle agitation speed, spin rate, and the time for each cycle.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 2, 2013
Hello Texas,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you. Unfortunately there is not one chart available with the information you are requesting.

The clutchless Siemen's Variable Speed Motor has and electronic controller giving it the flexibility of 5 wash speeds and 7 spin speeds for a total of up to 35 wash/spin combinations.

5 Different Wash Speeds:
155 spm - Heavy or bulky clothes & towels
105 spm - Easy care & casual khakis
80 spm - Shirts & blouses
30 spm - Delicates & lingerie
30 spm pulsed - Hand washables & sweaters
(spm = strokes per minute)
7 Different Spin Speeds:
800 rpm - Heavy duty cottons
700 rpm - Heavy or bulky clothes
630 rpm - Cotton knit shirts
550 rpm - Easy care
450 rpm - Shirts & blouses
350 rpm - Delicates & hand washables
150 rpm - Sweaters & dry flat items
(rpm = revolutions per minute)

Cycle times will vary greatly depending on what options are selected. They can range from 18 minutes to 82 minutes. For example, Cottons Heavy with no options is 50 minutes. With The Fabric Softener and Extra Rinseit is 70 minutes.

I hope this is helpful. Should you have any addtional questions, please let us know.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »