Looking for Answers about GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

The latest line of GE washers & dryers offers the ultimate in laundry performance and convenience. With energy-efficiency and water-savings at the top of the list, GE has created large-capacity washer and dryer products that not only clean your clothes with a gentle touch, but also give you more space for big (and therefore fewer) loads. Search matching Electric Dryer Model GTDP490EDWS or Gas Dryer model GTDP490GDWS.
Customer questions and answers:
86 Questions
 | 
169 Answers
Overall rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Question

what are the outside demensions of this machine /GE washer ghwn4250DWW

Asked by
bj
goodrich mi
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 21, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 22, 2012
Hello BJ,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Following are the exterior dimensions.

Overall Depth: 25.5"
Overall Height: 42.0"
Overall Width: 27.0"

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldFashioned
April 28, 2012
Look under the specification tab for all kinds of details.
Assembled Depth (in.) : 25.5 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 42 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 27 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between the GE GHWN4250dww and the GTWN4250mws washing machines?

Asked by
fred the curious
Virginia
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 24, 2012
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Boohoo
Mass
July 22, 2012
I purchased the GTWN4250 version and it has all the options they say it doesn't. It's also 3.9 no 3.6 cu ft. Not sure why people are responding with incorrect info???
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OldFashioned
April 28, 2012
I'm not sure when your question was written, but I just got the former one that you listed. What I did was go to the website and check the box to the upper left of the description, where it says, 'select to compare'. Once you choose the appliances you want to compare go back to the top of the page, and press 'compare'. It gives you a side by side, line by line comparison which is very helpful.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
April 25, 2012
Hello Fred,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your interest in GE washers.

Model GTWN4250MWS and GHWN4250DWW are very similiar.

GTWN4250m is 3.6 cubic feet and GHWN4250D has a 3.9 cubic foot tub capacity.

The cycle selction knobs are layed out a little differently.

GTWN4250MWS offers Cottons, Casuals, Easy Care, Delicates and Prewash.

GHWN4250DWW offers Cottons, Towels/Sheets, Jeans, Prewash, Handwash, Speedwash, and Colors.

Thank you for considering GE!
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

One ad I saw states that the GE GTWN4250DWS uses HEdetergent. Can I use regular detergent.

Asked by
pauline
Monroeville
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 29, 2012
Hello Pauline,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

This washer is Energy Star qualified which meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings.

GE recommends the use of HE or high Efficiency detergents in all energy Star rated washers. HE detergents are specially formulated for high efficiency washers. The low-sudsing formula allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer require HE soap or regular old-fashioned Tide?

Asked by
Charlie
California
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 29, 2012
Hello Charlie,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

This washer is Energy Star qualified which meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings. GE recommends the use of HE (High Efficiency) detergents in all energy Star rated washers.

HE detergents are specially formulated for high efficiency washers. The low-sudsing formula allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need.

I hope this is helpful. Have a great day!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MoValCustomer
Moreno Valley, CA, USA
May 2, 2012
I used regular liquid soap without any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the difference between GHWN4250DWW and GTWN4250DWS?

Asked by
tj
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 1, 2012
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 1, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for your inquiry. This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you.

The GHWN4250DWW has a hydrowave wash system, the GTWN4250WS does not.

The GHWN4250DWW offers Power Rinse, Auto Soak, Extra Rinse and a Basket Clean cycle the GTWN4250DWS does not offer these cycles.

Model GTWN4250DWS offers a prewash cycle and The GHWN4250 does not.

GHWN4250DWW offers a rain shower system. The rain shower system save energy and money. Rather than a washtub full of water, every load of laundry gets three "showers", rinsing clothes clean while minimizing water usage. The RainShower rinse system uses less water, providing rinse performance similar to a high-efficiency washer.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions. We are always glad to help.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer offer hot or warm water rinse?

Asked by
Rocky
Silverdale, WA 98311
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 15, 2012
Hello Rocky,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Cold water rinses save energy without decreasing rinsability. Cold water helps to cut sudsing
action & assists in soap removal. Detergent manufacturers recommend a cold rinse for these reasons.

Thank you for considering GE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
manapata
Gainesville, FL, USA
May 15, 2012
The dials offer that option. I only use cold at this point.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the ghwn5250dws washer a high efficiency washer?

Asked by
sc
hawaii
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 20, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 20, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, this washer is Energy Star Rated. It meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings.

Thank you for considering GE! This is a great washer!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this washer start to fill with water if the lid is open?

Asked by
MEGZ4
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 27, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 28, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE wahser model # GHWN4250DWW.

NO, this washer will not fill properly with the lid up when Precise Fill is selected. GHWN4250DWW
offers the Precise Fill feature. Precise Fill senses the load during the water filling portion of the cycle to determine how much water is needed. It cannot sense properly with the lid up.

If you select the manual water level settings the washer will fill with the lid up but not continue in the cycle properly.

I hope this helps. Thanks for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JustALady
Chicago
June 12, 2012
Yes, on most cycles. There are a couple of cycles that it will not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rickr
South Florida
November 16, 2013
Only have had mine a few days but it seems like if you use the manual load size versus the "automatic" load sensor the fill does continue whith the lid open. beyond fill the lid must be closed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Re: Q & A on the GHWN4250DWW (6th question) "What's the difference between the GHWN4250DWW and the GTWN4250DWS?"

Asked by
David
Bloomington, IL
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 28, 2012
Alison @ GE answered "the GHWN4250DWW has a hydrowave wash system, the GTWN4250DWS does not." ...Home Depot's "product description" data sheet shows BOTH as having the HydroWave quiet agitator wash system...Is their data incorrect ... or was your answer ?!?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 29, 2012
Hello David,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE washer.

I apologize for any confusion on the Hydrowave feature for this model.

Yes, model GTWN4250DWS does offer the Hydrowave wash system and so does the GHWN4250DWW. This is listed under the Overview and the Product Details for this model on the GE Appliance website.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the water factor on this machine?

Asked by
KD
Laguna Niguel, CA
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 30, 2012
Model: GHWN4250DWW
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 31, 2012
Hello KD,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GHWN4250DWW. This model is Energy Star qualified. It Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings.

Energy Star quailified washers include all the high performance capabilities of their counterparts, yet use less energy per load. By matching temperatures to specific loads and improving moisture extraction, removing up to 24% more water, with the Extra Action Tub, these high-efficiency appliances lower energy bills.

The Energy Star MEF (Modified Energy Factor) will be changed in 2011 to a MEF >/_ 2.0 and WF (water factor)
Model GHWN4250D offers KWH/YR: 208 MEF: 2.0 WF <+ 6.0 CEE Tier 1.

I hope this is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Drain Hose

Asked by
Bobby
Libertyville Il.
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 2, 2012
In facing the back of the machine, is the drain hose on the right side? If it is on the left side, it won't reach my laundry tub to drain. Does GE provide a longer drain hose or extension ?Bobby
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello Bobby,
Thanks for contacting us. I am happy to offer my assistance regarding our GE model GHWN4250DWW.

As you face the rear of the washer the drain is located on the left side of the unit. Extensions hoses are available to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Once you make your purchase if you need an extension hose, I suggest you contact us at our GE Appliance website. Please include your complete model and serial number when inquiring about the extension hose.

You can also contact Home Depot parts at 1 877 650 2121 for assistance with parts.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Alison_at _GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
beaton
NH
July 14, 2012
I just installed out GE GHWN4250D0WW. The drain is on the right. It discharges from the lower right corner of the washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the diameter and length of the water discharge hose?

Asked by
worried
jackson, nj
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 3, 2012
we were told the size depends on the manufacturer and different machines have different sizes
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 5, 2012
Hello,
This is Alison with GE. I am happy to assist you with your inquiry.

The drain hose is supplied with model GHWN4250DWW. Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub. Discharge height must not be less than 30 inches, and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer.

The standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

I hope this information is helpful.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you make this washer spin faster?

Asked by
trecurious
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 3.9 cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer Model # GHWN4250DWW

Model GHWN4250DWW offers the Hydrowave Wash System. Following is the normal HydroWave Spin Cycle operation.

Pauses in the 1st Spin Cycle:
* The motor ramps up (speeds up) and coasts (slows) down numerous times during the 1st spin cycle.
* This routine is normal and allows water and suds to be pumped out to the drain.

Sounds During the Spin Cycle:
* The motor will ramp up (speed up) through multiple stages as it achieves final spin speed.
* Smaller loads will reach the final spin speed faster.
* Larger loads will take longer to reach the final spin speed.

Sounds When Spin is Complete:
* When the spin cycle is complete, the basket will coast (slow) down until it stops.
* If the lid is opened when the basket is still spinning, the brake will be applied and halt the basket for safety.

If you feel it is not spinning correctly, please contact warranty service. See the link below to schedule service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
smartshopper279
Atlanta, ga
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 1, 2014
I'm guessing not. Most machines are preset to a certain spin speed. I think the specs say this one is either 630 or 700. Check the info Home Depot machine specifications shown under the pic of the product.

The only choice you have is to rinse and spin or if you can locate just the spin part on the dial, you could try that for a 3rd spin. There is the 2nd rise and extended spin option offered on this machine. I always keep my dial set there since I hate soap residue on my clothes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Recently purchased GHWN4250DWW. While the washer was still filling with water, I changed my mind about the Jeans setting and changed it to Whites. All

Asked by
Barb
Holland, PA
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 21, 2012
Recently purchased GHWN4250DWW. While the washer was still filling with water, I changed my mind about the Jeans setting and changed it to Whites. All the water emptied out. What should I do next time that will prevent this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
carolynsez
Massachusetts, USA
January 28, 2014
Put it on pause and add your clothes and press start. Machine will not drain but will continue to wash when cover is closed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 22, 2012
Hello Barb,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, that is normal. Once the washer is filling or the cycle has started, the only way to change the cylce is to hold the start button in for 3 seconds to cancel the cycle and the washer will drain the water out to begin again.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Should you have any addtional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for choosing GE!
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the machine made?

Asked by
Christine
Albany, NY
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 25, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 26, 2012
Hello Christine,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

The washer is manufactured globally. GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
fuscia
January 31, 2013
Mine said it was assembled in Louisville, KY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a belt?

Asked by
susielou
new york state
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
August 2, 2012
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 2, 2012
Hello Susielou,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model GHWN4250DWW.

Yes, the washer is belt driven. This washer offers the Hydrowave Wash System. The agitator on the HydroWave wash system makes a longer 360 degrees stroke and operates in both directions. This allows the clothing to travel longer in the water instead of short aggressive strokes. The longer travel helps to improve the turnover of clothing and gentle cleaning helps prevent fabric wear and color fading. The smoothness of the HydroWave wash system is also much quieter.

It also offeers PreciseFill with the option of 5 water level selections.

Thank you for considering GE!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I received my GE GHWN4250D washing machine yesterday. The spin cycle is very noisy. This doesn't sound normal when I read other reviews. Suggestions?

Asked by
Leslie
Washington
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
August 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 10, 2012
Hello Leslie,

Congratulations on your new washer model # GHWN4250DWW. This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

This model offers the Hydrowave Wash System. A HydroWaveTM washing machine, is designed to operate quieter than a typical washer.

It is normal to hear the motor ramping (speeding) up or coasting (slowing) down at the beginning and end of spin. The motor will speed up incrementally during the spin cycle. When the spin is complete, it will coast until it stops or until the lid is raised.

If you feel the sound you are hearing is not described above, then I would recommend to have this evaluated under warranty by a GE service technician. It is not possible to properly diagnose a sound over the Internet.

Please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Should you have any additional questions, Please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Work2Race
Wildomar, CA
September 2, 2012
One of the reviews i read had there bearing on bottom of tub installed backwards. They replaced it and problem of noise went away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to use only HE detergent. When I bought it, the sales man said that I would not have to use the HE liquid detergent; I could go either way

Asked by
Arby
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 2, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Arby,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

Yoiu do not have to use HE detergent with this model if you choose not to. Although moset detergents on the market today are HE.

HE is a low-sudsing formula that allows you to use a full scoop of detergent to get your clothes clean without creating suds you don’t need.

Detergent usage may need to be adjusted for water temperature, water hardness, size and soil level of the load. Avoid using too much detergent in your washer, as it can lead to oversudsing and detergent residue being left on the clothes.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KatT
Michigan
November 1, 2012
My understanding is that HE detergent is optional. That is based on literature I read and salesperson input. I have been using my new washer with normal detergent for about a month and have no complaints.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer GHWN4250D0WN Cycle Progression.

Asked by
Phil M
Pearland, TX
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 3, 2012
Can you provide the times for the different cycles (Speed Wash/Colors/delicates.....)?
I found in a page: Sample Cycle Progression: Cottons 30 MIn soak cycle, where it shows the different functions (wash/soak/spay....) and times.
I am looking the same information for all the cycles.

Thanks,

Phil
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
a2buzmom
Texas
December 22, 2012
I can only speak of the speed of the actually agitation .... it's depressing and does not clean clothes at all. it also encourages bleeding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hello Phil M,

Thank you for your question on the GE washer model # GHWN4250DWW.

The cycle times are approximate and do not include pauses, fill times and pump out times. It also is without selecting any options.

Specialty Cycles:
Towels & Sheets: 58 minutes
Jeans: 52 minutes
Speed Wash: 33 minutes
Pre-Wash: 64 minutes

Whites Cycle:
Heavy: 50 minutes
Medium: 47 minutes
Light- 41 minutes

Colors Cycle: sames as Whites

Handwash Cycle: 43 minutes

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the GE washer GHWN4250DOWW high efficiency or not ?

Asked by
Phil
about 3.9 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 8, 2012
Do I use the new detergent HE or not?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KatT
Michigan
November 1, 2012
According to what I read in the washer information, using HE detergent is optional. I am using regular detergent and have no complaints.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 9, 2012
Hello Phil,

Thank you for your interest in the GE washer model GHWN4250DWW.

You can use regular detergent of HE. It is not a high efficiency washer but you can use HE detergent if you choose.

It is an Energy Star qualified washer that meets/exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency and provides year-round energy and money savings.

It offers the HydroWave quiet agitator wash system which provides longer, slower, gentle travel for, thorough cleaning.

Thank you for considering GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »