Looking for Answers about GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows and come with GE’s EZ-mount installation. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
73 Questions
 | 
153 Answers
Overall rating:
4.401 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

why is this unit categorized as non returnable?

Asked by
spraygal
Philadelphia PA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 30, 2012
See the Spec sheet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
June 4, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
IF A PURCHASE IS MADE AT HOME DEPOT I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN ABLE TO
RETURN THE PURCHASE WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I DO BELIEVE THIS UNIT CAN NOT BE RETURNED IF NOT
100% PLEASED WITH IT.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit have an air exchamge setting to exhaust air

Asked by
newcomer217
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

No, this window AC unit does not have any sort of outdoor vent / air exchanger.

Have a good day!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
PLEASE, PLEASE READ YOUR INSTRUCTION MANUAL.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this available for my window

Asked by
Fumi
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 20, 2012
Hi, I ordered this air conditioner and I am wondering it would fit for my window.
The width of my window is 38.4 inch. But there is a frame of a window screen, whose width is 35.4 inch.
Is it ok or shall I cancel my order?
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 20, 2012
Hekko Fumi,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

The maximum window width is 38". I would recommend to double check the measurement of 38.4" that you provided to make sure it is accurate since it is so close. The frame may need to be shimmed out a little.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21 / 38"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

Overall Depth: 15.71875"
Overall Height: 12.75"
Overall Width: 18.59375"

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
BE SURE TO CHECK TO THE SIZE OF YOUR WINDOW BEFORE
YOU PURCHASE THIS UNIT.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimentions? Will it fit in our window?

Asked by
Kim
Santa Cruz
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 20, 2012
Hello Kim,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Following are the dimensions and the window opening required.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21 / 38 "
Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

Overall Height: 12.75"
Overall Width: 18.59375"
Overall Depth: 15.71875"

i hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
THIS UNIT WILL FIT IN MY WINDOW, HOWEVER, CHECK THE SIZE
OF YOUR WINDOW BEFORE PURCHASING THIS UNIT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a Energy Star Window Air Conditioner

Asked by
59moore
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 16, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 16, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

Yes, this is model does carry the an GE® ENERGY STAR rating.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I BELIEVE SO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the warranty information on this product?

Asked by
NYC
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 12, 2012
I see that it says "Replacement," I was wondering what time period that covers?
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 12, 2012
Hello NYC,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE air conditioners. I am happy to help.

The warranty is for one year and you would return the unit to the Home Depot using the guidelines in the manual.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I WOULD ASSUME THAT IT CARRIES A STANDARD WARRANTY AGREEMENT.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the weight of the unit

Asked by
Helen
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 13, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 14, 2012
Hello Helen,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 volt window air conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Approximate Shipping Weight: 53.0 lbs.
Net Weight: 46.0 lbs.

I hope this is what you need. Have a great day!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 14, 2012
The weight is in the SPECIFICATIONS under the unit picture. It is 46 pounds.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
IT'S VERY LIGHT AND I CAN PLACE IT IN MY WINDOW MYSELF.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what's wattage on this unit

Asked by
oneetheon
Belton, TX
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 16, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 17, 2012
Hello,

GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Please check the rating plate that contains the model and serial number for amperage and wattage.
Amps x Volts = Watts

Cooling - Rated Cooling Amps: 5.3
Cooling - Watts 590
Voltage (MAX) 115.0 V
Cooling EER: 10.7 (BTUH / Watt)

The Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of a room air conditioner is a measure of its operating efficiency. The EER is derived by dividing the capacity (BTU/Hr) by the electric power consumed
(watts). A model with a higher EER will provide more efficient use of energy, lower operating costs. Example:

ALX12DA =
12,000 BTU's divided by 1,1330 watts = 9.022 EER

If you are wanting to use an auxiliary power generator, there are some things to keep in mind. Voltage and cycles are critical for proper operation of appliances. US power standards are 60 hz, 120v ac.

Room Air Conditioner (240V) Generator size: 9000 - 13500 WATTS
Room Air Conditioner (120V) Generator size: 3000 - 4500 WATTS

I hope this helps! Should you have any additonal questions, please let me know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I BELIEVE ITS A STANDARD 115 TO 120 VOLTAGE.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
The answer is Amps x Volts equals watts. So if the unit is a 115 volt with 6.5 Amps or (115 Volts x 6.5 Amps = 747.5 Watts)
This equation tends to be slightly high on it's answer, but if you use it you will never get into trouble.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

please clarify dimension specifications

Asked by
idler
02043
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 9, 2012
the specifications are shown as:
...
Assembled Depth (in.) : 18 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 14.8 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 22 in
...
Product Depth (in.) : 15.71
Product Height (in.) : 12.75
Product Weight (lb.) : 46.0
Product Width (in.) : 18.59
...
what's the differrence between "product" and "assembled" - in particular , how is the product depth 15.71 and the assembled depth 18 ?

...also it was hard to find product weight, hidden in the dimensions grouping.
...also, it would be helpful to list the cord length with the other specifications
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 9, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

I apologize for any confusion, incorrect information or layout on the Home Depot website. There is not assembled dimensions.

Following is the correct information.

* Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" / 38"
* Minimum Window Opening Height : 13-1/2"

* Overall Depth: 15.71875"
* Overall Height: 12.75"
* Overall Width: 18.59375 "

* Approximate Shipping Weight: 53.0
* Net Weight 46.0

* Power Cord Length: 72"

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
musicgirl2011
Cranford
May 22, 2012
the difference in the dimensions is do to the "accordian" side pieces
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
First thing first. You answered your own question on the weight. Look for "Product Weight"
The dimensions that need to concern you are the product dimensions. That is where you will find how much of an open space you need to fit the unit into the window. Always allow and extra 1/2 inch or so if you are making a frame for the unit. Or as I do, I raise the window as high as it go, cut a piece of 3/4 plywood to the dimensions of the open window and cut a hole in the center of the plywood to the dimensions of the unit to accommodate the unit. Then it is a simple slide in or slide out of the unit.
The cords are normally 6 feet in length.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this unit be used to replace a wall unit that died? If not, why not. What is the difference between a window and wall unit?

Asked by
Tyler Girl
Fort Worth, TX
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CutHedge
Brooklyn, NY
October 1, 2012
I don't think so. Home Depot has window and wall units listed separately so they must have different
hardware to secure them to the wall or window. MW
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 1, 2012
Hello Tyler Girl,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

A wall unit requires a sleeve or wall case for the chasis to slide in and the case has vents on the back. A window air conditioner is in a case and has vents on the side, so for this reason cannot be put into an existing sleeve.

Depth to Louvers: 4.71875"

There are steps for installing a window unit in a wall in the installation instructions, but the wall case cannot be used.

Donna with GE
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
The difference between a window and wall unit is that the window unit has exhaust fins on the sides where as the wall unit does not or they are further back on the unit. The design of these fins are to help exhaust heat from the unit, not from your house. So, if the window unit fins are obstructed it 'MAY' cause the unit to not properly vent it's own heat which will eventually lead to unit failure sooner rather than later.
The thickness of your exterior wall plays into effect when using a window or wall unit. The window unit will work, but along with the heat venting issue. The fan blades the evaporate the water from the bottom of the unit may also throw some of that water into the sides of your wall creating moister in-between the inner and outer walls which in turn will create the dreaded mold issue.
In other words, the wall unit is specifically designed so that none of the about will happen.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
slickyG
pico rivera, ca
October 2, 2012
My wall ac died out on me and i replaced it with this window ac.. there is no diffrence i believe other then dimesion.. i hope this info was good for you :-) enjoy it if you do buy this unit. it really cools down my room really quick and is really worth the money buying it :-)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I bring in the old AC, after installing the new AC, to Home Depot for disposal?

Asked by
al
HI
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2013
Hi Al,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. More information is needed to accurately answer your question. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my daughter bought 2 GE #AELO6LQ, SKU 645992 window airconditioners....

Asked by
David
Connecticut
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 16, 2013
.....I noticed that there are vents on top of the unit (outside the window). when it rains, rain water drops into the unit. Also dirt & leaves. Would that damage the unit? Thank you, David
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2013
Hello David,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

There is no concern if there is a heavy rain storm and an excessive amount of water gets into the top or back of a room air conditioner. This area is designed to hold condensed water from the evaporator and any excess from rain storm will not harm it.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
No. The Vents on the outside, (all of them), are to exhaust heat from the motors and the coils. Window units will get dirty, just like a central unit and need to be washed once a year for proper care and maintenance. See manufacturer's website or your owner's manual for proper cleaning instructions.
Until then crank up the cool air, it's Hot outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The sound of running water.

Asked by
Saba
Clifton, NJ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 17, 2013
I got this AC last month, and a few days ago it started to have a continuous sound of running water. There is no spilling inside. And the AC is a little bit tilted to the outside. I wonder what the problem might be.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2013
Hello Saba,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

As warm moist (humid) air from the room passes over the cold indoor coil, water condenses on the cold indoor coil and collects in the base pan where it flows to the rear of the unit.

All room air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove moisture from the pan.

It is normal to hear a pinging or sloshing sound as the fan blade moves through the water.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Should not be any problem. As long as the unit is slightly tilted down toward the outside then any excess of water will spill outside. If, however, you start to get water coming into the room from the unit then just tilt it a little more down toward the outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit fit in a 21" inch wide window?

Asked by
mcamny
Harrison, NY
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 2, 2013
I need an AC unit for small, third floor window measuring 21" wide (the vertical opening is 15" high). Will this unit fit? Also, will I need to install a bracket to mount it?

Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your question on the GE Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Yes, it should fit in the window opening you have.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" / 38"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

E-Z mount curtains are standard on the window room air conditioners. Flexible panels are extended to accommodate various window sizes for quick, easy installation but can be removed if not needed. All hardware should be included with product. There are no outside support brackets with most e-z mount kits, the frame around the case support the entire unit.

Please see the installation instructions for complete details on securing the window unit with out using the side curtains.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Being that it is a 3rd story window, it would be recommended to install brackets so the unit will not fall out and severely injure someone or worse.
Your window is plenty large enough for this and bigger units to fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live in a house that was built in 1920's and have 110 volt electric plugs, will the unit work?

Asked by
Phyllis
Dixon CA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 31, 2013
I'm looking to purchase the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner Model # AEL06LQ but notice that the unit is 115 volt... I noticed a response earlier said I could use a grounded plug converter to convert it to a 3 prong plug and the air conditioner will work fine... is this true?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 1, 2013
Hello Phyllis,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL06LQ.

GE does not recommend to use an adapter plug with the air conditioner. However, if you still
elect to use an extension cord or adpater, it is absolutely necessary that it be a UL listed 3-wire grounding type appliance extension cord and the current carrying rating of the cord in amperes be equal to or greater than the branch circuit size shown on the rating nameplate of this
appliance.

The power cord on the air conditioner is a 3-prong grounding plug which mates with a standard 3-prong gounding wall outlet to minimize the possibility of electric shcok.

If there is a 2-proing wall outlet, it needs to be replaced with a 3-prong wall outlet by a qualified electrician.

The air conditioner needs to be plugged into its own individual outlet and dedicated circuit.

Please see the installation instructions or the complete details and specifications.

voltage: (MAX) 115.0

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Yes, that is true, but it is not recommended. The ground plug is to help if the unit gets a short and may cause a fire without using it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How low will this unit cool down to... I am putting it in a 8x10 walk in cooler for flower cooler?will it plug into a 110 plugin?

Asked by
Flower shop
Clermont, Ga
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
February 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 4, 2013
Hello Flower shop,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you.

GE Room Air Conditioners are designed to remove heat and humidity from within a room (occupied space) in a home, office, or similar environment. Room air conditioners will not perform properly in special applications, like coolers and wine rooms, where temperatures are desired to be lower than 60 degress F.

At these temperatures, room air conditioners will cycle off, which means that the compressor will not run and therefore will not cool. They may also freeze up due to frost on the evaporator, which stops airflow and cooling.

A floral cooler or refrigerator's ideal temperature is between 34 and 36 degrees Fahrenheit for cut flowers, although many units hover at around 38 F. Temperatures that fluctuate 5 degrees plus or minus of 38 F can destroy or shorten the lives of flowers. Storage units need humidity levels of 90 to 95 percent.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Most Window unit Thermostats go down to 67 degrees fahrenheit. There are a few other that will go lower, but not much. An 8 by 10 room is going to to get pretty chilly with that unit, so you should be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit work equally well in heating a small room?

Asked by
orangedot
Santa Monica, CA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
January 7, 2013
We are considering this unit to heat our bedroom. We live in Southern California and it can get a little cold this time of year. Thinking this unit would be more efficient than buying a stand alone room heater.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HDAnswerman
California
January 7, 2013
Hi Orangedot,

The product you are inquiring about is a room air conditioner. It is not a heat pump, and will not produce heat.

You will need to purchase a space heater for heating your bedroom.

Mike, The Home Depot Answer Man
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
As long as it is a Heating/Cooling Unit it should work fine, but the Electric Heatings Units suck the money out of your pockets through their use of electricity.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE A/C model AEL06LQ - Decibels, window size, filter

Asked by
Alan
Louisville, KY
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 22, 2012
The web site doesn't specify the indoor decibel rating - can you tell me that? Also, is the filter washable? Last question - my window is 44 inches wide; is there some type of expansion louver available to fit wider windows, or will I need to build in some sort of framing?

Thank you! Alan
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2012
Hello Alan,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06L.

The only GE products currently rated in sones are external exhaust range hoods and all JVM series microwaves. Dishwashers are the only GE products currently rated in decibels. Any other GE appliance has no rating available to the public.

There is not an extension kit for the side curtains. You would need to build a fram.
Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" min and 38" max.

Yes, the air filter is washable. Check and clean the air filter at least every 30 days or more often if necessary. Clean the filter with warm,soapy water. Rinse and let dry before replacing.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Most units run between 40 dB and 62 dB. The larger the unit, the louder it is.
Most units filters are washable.
44 inches is a wide window. My suggestion is to purchase a half sheet or a quarter sheet of plywood to fill in the gap of your unit. Most Home Depots I have been in sell the smaller pieces of plywood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i only have a breaker that wwill allow 15 amps in the living room , i am wondering if this will GE 6,000 btu will be ok operating on that type i see

Asked by
jesse
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 17, 2013
it says 5.3-5.6 amps but will it require higher amps when the condenser turns on as other ac units do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2013
Hello Jesse,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE room air conditioner.

The air conditioner requires 120 volt-15 amp circuit operation and a parallel type plug. A dedicated circuit is recommended.

Please check the check the rating plate on the air conditioner. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
The Amp Rating will be in the Description of the of the Air Conditioner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how high is this ac

Asked by
joaniebelle
NYC
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 21, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquriy on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

Overall Height: 12.75"
Overall Width: 18.59375"
Overall Depth: 15.71875"

Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

Should you have any additinal questions, please us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
The Description gives all that information such as Height, Width, Depth, Weight, Amps, and Volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »