Looking for Answers about GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows and come with GE’s EZ-mount installation. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions
 | 
151 Answers
Overall rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

what is the weight of the unit

Asked by
Helen
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 13, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 14, 2012
The weight is in the SPECIFICATIONS under the unit picture. It is 46 pounds.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
August 14, 2012
Hello Helen,

This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help with your question on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 volt window air conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Approximate Shipping Weight: 53.0 lbs.
Net Weight: 46.0 lbs.

I hope this is what you need. Have a great day!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
IT'S VERY LIGHT AND I CAN PLACE IT IN MY WINDOW MYSELF.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this unit be used to replace a wall unit that died? If not, why not. What is the difference between a window and wall unit?

Asked by
Tyler Girl
Fort Worth, TX
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
The difference between a window and wall unit is that the window unit has exhaust fins on the sides where as the wall unit does not or they are further back on the unit. The design of these fins are to help exhaust heat from the unit, not from your house. So, if the window unit fins are obstructed it 'MAY' cause the unit to not properly vent it's own heat which will eventually lead to unit failure sooner rather than later.
The thickness of your exterior wall plays into effect when using a window or wall unit. The window unit will work, but along with the heat venting issue. The fan blades the evaporate the water from the bottom of the unit may also throw some of that water into the sides of your wall creating moister in-between the inner and outer walls which in turn will create the dreaded mold issue.
In other words, the wall unit is specifically designed so that none of the about will happen.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
slickyG
pico rivera, ca
October 2, 2012
My wall ac died out on me and i replaced it with this window ac.. there is no diffrence i believe other then dimesion.. i hope this info was good for you :-) enjoy it if you do buy this unit. it really cools down my room really quick and is really worth the money buying it :-)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 1, 2012
Hello Tyler Girl,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

A wall unit requires a sleeve or wall case for the chasis to slide in and the case has vents on the back. A window air conditioner is in a case and has vents on the side, so for this reason cannot be put into an existing sleeve.

Depth to Louvers: 4.71875"

There are steps for installing a window unit in a wall in the installation instructions, but the wall case cannot be used.

Donna with GE
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CutHedge
Brooklyn, NY
October 1, 2012
I don't think so. Home Depot has window and wall units listed separately so they must have different
hardware to secure them to the wall or window. MW
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When it reaches the temperature you want will it shut off and then turn back on when the temperature goes up?

Asked by
redd
Binghamton, N. Y.
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 24, 2012
Does it have a digital thermometer?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 25, 2012
Hello Redd,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06L.

Yes, it will cycle. This model offers an Electronic digital thermostat.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
musicgirl2011
Cranford
May 22, 2012
This unit does have a digital thermometer
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

We've been told that we must buy a unit with a "top skirt for window installation". Does this unit have that? What is that? Thanks!

Asked by
CLIP
VA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 16, 2013
Hi Clip-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Model AEL06LG includes the EZ mount window kit for window installation. E-Z mount curtains are standard on most current room air conditioners both 115 and 230 volt sizes. Flexible panels are extended to accommodate various window sizes for quick, easy installation. All hardware is included including the top mounting rail which I believe is the top skirt you are referring to. You can view the installation instructions online:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/51/515cfd1a-6c65-49dc-9a52-7281f5d6e1e4.pdf

Thanks for checking with us.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mamazepp
Yuba City, CA, USA
August 16, 2013
Hi, yes it has the piece that goes between the unit and the window which seals it from outside air. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 16, 2013
If your window slides all the way Up and Down, then you will not need one. However if for some reason your window does not slide up and down you will need something that will cover the gap between the top of the unit and the space that is open and also on the sides.
Personally I like using a piece of plywood cut to the size of the unit to fill the gap(s) that you can easily slide the unit in and out of for Cleaning and Winter Storage. Most Home Depot Stores have pre cut pieces of plywood 2'x4' and 4'x4' at very reasonable prices to do just that and you can paint them any color you like.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
thgdriver
Eastern, PA.
May 1, 2014
You probably have a high window or one that slides open as opposed to a up and down sash.

This AC is designed for a sash type window that would open by lifting up as opposed to sliding left or right to open.

If your window slides open far enough for the AC to fit in the opening you could fabricate a skirt yourself out of sheet metal, wood,or plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

please clarify dimension specifications

Asked by
idler
02043
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 9, 2012
the specifications are shown as:
...
Assembled Depth (in.) : 18 in
Assembled Height (in.) : 14.8 in
Assembled Width (in.) : 22 in
...
Product Depth (in.) : 15.71
Product Height (in.) : 12.75
Product Weight (lb.) : 46.0
Product Width (in.) : 18.59
...
what's the differrence between "product" and "assembled" - in particular , how is the product depth 15.71 and the assembled depth 18 ?

...also it was hard to find product weight, hidden in the dimensions grouping.
...also, it would be helpful to list the cord length with the other specifications
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 9, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

I apologize for any confusion, incorrect information or layout on the Home Depot website. There is not assembled dimensions.

Following is the correct information.

* Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" / 38"
* Minimum Window Opening Height : 13-1/2"

* Overall Depth: 15.71875"
* Overall Height: 12.75"
* Overall Width: 18.59375 "

* Approximate Shipping Weight: 53.0
* Net Weight 46.0

* Power Cord Length: 72"

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
musicgirl2011
Cranford
May 22, 2012
the difference in the dimensions is do to the "accordian" side pieces
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
First thing first. You answered your own question on the weight. Look for "Product Weight"
The dimensions that need to concern you are the product dimensions. That is where you will find how much of an open space you need to fit the unit into the window. Always allow and extra 1/2 inch or so if you are making a frame for the unit. Or as I do, I raise the window as high as it go, cut a piece of 3/4 plywood to the dimensions of the open window and cut a hole in the center of the plywood to the dimensions of the unit to accommodate the unit. Then it is a simple slide in or slide out of the unit.
The cords are normally 6 feet in length.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the power cord on this model?

Asked by
Karen
Chelmsford, MA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 14, 2012
I did not see it listed. Can you tell me the length of the cord please?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 14, 2012
Hello Karen,
Thanks for your inquiry. This is Alison at GE. I am happy to assist you.

The power cord on model AEL06LQ is 72".

Please let us know if you have any other questions and thanks for your interest in our products.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SteveT
Kingman AZ
April 25, 2014
6 Feet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

So I can't input a SKU and find which stores in my area have it? I have to go to each store's site and check? Hmm.

Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
thgdriver
Eastern, PA.
April 30, 2014
If your sure this is the right size for your needs and do the proper resurch, why bother going to the store? Order it on line and have it delivered to your home. That's what we did and it all worked out great. You don't even need to leave your home. If things don't work out you can return it to your store.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SteveT
Kingman AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 2, 2014
Do what I did, call the store and was told they didn't have it in stock but if I ordered it it would be in within two days which I did then they asked if I wanted it to be delivered to the store or my house, no extra charge. Two days later it was sitting on the floor in the room I was going to install it in, hands off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2014
Also, there is a link on the web page for the A/C unit which says, "Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability," which seems like just what I want, but it doesn't work the way I expected it to. No matter, I bought an A/C unit elsewhere. Pity. I like Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RANDY
Friendswood, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
yes. it will ask you for you zip to find it close to you
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
April 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many major appliance professionals. For any other questions, please visit your local Home Depot or call our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Noise level?

Asked by
Donald
Cambridge, Massachusetts
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 27, 2013
On the energy saver mode, does the ac make much noise going on and off? Also, how does the Home Depot model compare with the same model sold by other vendors?

Thank you for your assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Aguyfrom02360
New England
June 30, 2013
My initial take on this unit was that it was very loud. This year I have it in a different room and have come to the conclusion that it was the vibrations due to the storm window that caused it to be so loud. Overall I'm very happy with the noise level with this ac unit. I would rate the volume level as med-low. Go get it!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Shelley
Le Roy, NY 14482, USA
June 27, 2013
There is some noise when going on and off, but I don't find it to be overly intrusive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
Not too bad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hotsheets
brooklyn, NY
July 2, 2013
makes it sound like Im sleeping in a holiday Inn. loud.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what's wattage on this unit

Asked by
oneetheon
Belton, TX
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 16, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 17, 2012
Hello,

GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Please check the rating plate that contains the model and serial number for amperage and wattage.
Amps x Volts = Watts

Cooling - Rated Cooling Amps: 5.3
Cooling - Watts 590
Voltage (MAX) 115.0 V
Cooling EER: 10.7 (BTUH / Watt)

The Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of a room air conditioner is a measure of its operating efficiency. The EER is derived by dividing the capacity (BTU/Hr) by the electric power consumed
(watts). A model with a higher EER will provide more efficient use of energy, lower operating costs. Example:

ALX12DA =
12,000 BTU's divided by 1,1330 watts = 9.022 EER

If you are wanting to use an auxiliary power generator, there are some things to keep in mind. Voltage and cycles are critical for proper operation of appliances. US power standards are 60 hz, 120v ac.

Room Air Conditioner (240V) Generator size: 9000 - 13500 WATTS
Room Air Conditioner (120V) Generator size: 3000 - 4500 WATTS

I hope this helps! Should you have any additonal questions, please let me know.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
October 1, 2012
The answer is Amps x Volts equals watts. So if the unit is a 115 volt with 6.5 Amps or (115 Volts x 6.5 Amps = 747.5 Watts)
This equation tends to be slightly high on it's answer, but if you use it you will never get into trouble.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I BELIEVE ITS A STANDARD 115 TO 120 VOLTAGE.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what square footage will this accomodate

Asked by
Phyllis
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 19, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 20, 2012
Hellp Phyllis,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

The proper unit for any area you may be planning to cool depends on many things.
Room size, insulated ceiling, other air conditioning, number of windows, and the location (morning, evening sunlight). Decide if you just want to cool one room such as a bedroom or the whole house, then take your room or home area dimensions to Home Depot and they will help you find the right size unit or units.

3 key considerations:
1. will it fit in the window/wall
2. will the plug reach & is it the proper voltage?
3. size of the room?

The function of an air conditioner is to cool the room to a comfortable temperature and remove humidity. Installing a much larger unit than a room requires will result in the compressor running for short periods of time and being off long periods of time. As cold air leaves the air conditioner in a small room it is deflected off the walls back to the air conditioner and pre-maturely cycles the unit off resulting in cold spots and hot spots and very little loss of humidity. The ideal is to size the air conditioner so it is forced to run 80 to 100% of the time to keep the room cool. This ensures proper removal of humidity. A comfortable room is more a factor of low humidity than low temperature.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
The actual Square Footage depend of Cubic feet of the room along with such factors as insulation and side of house the room is on. A 6000 BTU AC tends to sufficiently cool about 150 Square Foot room.
Note: Do Not install a Window AC where it will receive Direct Sunlight for several hours during use each day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have a sq. ft. this unit is designed for? I don't need a song and dance about insulation etc, just a number.

Asked by
Buck
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2012
Hello Buck.

Thank you for your inquiry ont he air conditioner. The other variables are important because it will effect the cooling.

Following are some general square footages and how many btu's it will require before you consider other variables.

Occupied Space Above Ceiling:

200 to 300 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr: 5000 to 6000
250 to 400 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr: 6000 to 8500

Insulated Ceiling Under Attic:

150 to 200 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr: 5000 to 6000
200 to 400 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr:6000 to 8500

Non-Insulated Ceiling Under Attic:

100 to 150 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr: 5000 to 6000
250 to 400 sq/ft - cooling cap. btu/hr: 6000 to 8500

* If area to be cooled includes a kitchen, add 4000 BTU/HR.

* If more than two people occupy area add 600 BTU/HR per person

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rick
Leon Valley, TX, USA
April 11, 2012
100 to 300 sq ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the warranty information on this product?

Asked by
NYC
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 12, 2012
I see that it says "Replacement," I was wondering what time period that covers?
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 12, 2012
Hello NYC,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in GE air conditioners. I am happy to help.

The warranty is for one year and you would return the unit to the Home Depot using the guidelines in the manual.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,
Nikki from GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I WOULD ASSUME THAT IT CARRIES A STANDARD WARRANTY AGREEMENT.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the square footage cool down of this unit. thanks SCOTT

Asked by
SCOTTE
LAFAYETTE IN.
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 23, 2012
Hello Scotte,

Thank you for your question on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
model # AEL06LQ.

Following are some general square footages and how many BTU's it will require before you consider other variables.

Occupied Space Above Ceiling:

200 to 300 SQ/FT - cooling cap. BTU/HR: 5000 to 6000

Insulated Ceiling Under Attic:

150 to 200 SQ/FT - cooling cap. BTU/HR: 5000 to 6000

* If area to be cooled includes a kitchen, add 4000 BTU/HR.

* If more than two people occupy area add 600 BTU/HR per person

The proper unit for any area you may be planning to cool depends on many things.
Room size, insulated ceiling, other air conditioning, number of windows, and the location (morning, evening sunlight). Decide if you just want to cool one room such as a bedroom or the whole house, then take your room or home area dimensions to Home Depot and they will help you find the right size unit or units.

3 key considerations:
1. will it fit in the window/wall
2. will the plug reach & is it the proper voltage?
3. size of the room?

The function of an air conditioner is to cool the room to a comfortable temperature and remove humidity.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I JUST RECEIVED THIS UNIT AND HAVE NOT READ THE
INSTRUCTION MANUAL BUT WILL DO SO WHEN I USE THE UNIT
NEXT SUMMER. SO LONG FOR NOW.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

On model AEL06LQ GE 6000btu, The 6ft Cord is located on the front Left or front Right side of the unit ?

Asked by
katD
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 12, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 12, 2012
Hello KatD,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote model # AEL06LQ.

Yes, the power cord is 72" in length. The power cord will be located below the control panel coming out at the base of the air conditioner. Facing the air conditioner, it is on the left side.

I hope this helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
AS FAR AS I CAN SEE, YES.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Covers

Asked by
misue
NM
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 8, 2012
What size ac cover do I need to cover this in the winter? What is a good cover to use? (The GE Model # AEL06LQ)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 9, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE air conditioner.

GE does not offer an air condiotioner cover for weather protection on the outside.

There is no concern if there is a heavy rain storm and an excessive amount of water gets into the back of a room air conditioner. This area is designed to hold condensed water from the evaporator and any excess from a rain storm will not harm it.

I would suggest to check locally for a generic air conditioner cover.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I REMOVE MY UNIT AFTER THE SUMMER COMES TO AND END
AND PLACE IT IN MY GARAGE.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

why is this unit categorized as non returnable?

Asked by
spraygal
Philadelphia PA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 30, 2012
See the Spec sheet
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
I DO BELIEVE THIS UNIT CAN NOT BE RETURNED IF NOT
100% PLEASED WITH IT.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
IF A PURCHASE IS MADE AT HOME DEPOT I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN ABLE TO
RETURN THE PURCHASE WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
June 4, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. Please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 to get more assistance with this item. Our hours of operation are between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this AC available for purchase in store?

Asked by
sparky
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
June 6, 2012
Hello Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thanks for your question and interest in this item. This is an online exclusive item and is not sold in your local store. It cannot be shipped to your local store for pick-up either. This item can be shipped directly to your home if you order it online. You may contact the local store in your area. They may have something similar in stock to fulfill your request. To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. You can actually check online to see the local store prices.
To browse the availability and prices of products online at a local store, please follow the steps below:
1. Visit our Web site at homedepot.com.
2. Enter your ZIP Code in the upper left hand corner of our home page, below the Search box.
3. The nearest store will be selected based on your ZIP Code.
4. To change the store, you may click on the Change link located to the right of your current store selection and follow the prompts.
5. Enter the product name or model number in the Search Box and click on the Search button to view availability.
If we do not carry your requested item or if it is not in stock, we may be able to arrange for a special order. A store associate can assist you.
If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.
Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EinBoston
June 6, 2012
No, and they won't deliver it to a store for pickup either. You are forced to schedule a delivery time, which the delivery guys (in my case) did not stick to, leaving me waiting around all day.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikecrad
Bowie, Md
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2014
This exact same model IS available in stores, at least at the Home Depot in Bowie, MD. I saw it there the third week in April 2014. However, the store price was $10 more than the same model sold on their web site, and the one purchased in the store is returnable, whereas the one sold on the web site is not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how high is this ac

Asked by
joaniebelle
NYC
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 21, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquriy on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06LQ.

Overall Height: 12.75"
Overall Width: 18.59375"
Overall Depth: 15.71875"

Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

Should you have any additinal questions, please us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
The Description gives all that information such as Height, Width, Depth, Weight, Amps, and Volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

GE A/C model AEL06LQ - Decibels, window size, filter

Asked by
Alan
Louisville, KY
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 22, 2012
The web site doesn't specify the indoor decibel rating - can you tell me that? Also, is the filter washable? Last question - my window is 44 inches wide; is there some type of expansion louver available to fit wider windows, or will I need to build in some sort of framing?

Thank you! Alan
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2012
Hello Alan,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote
Model # AEL06L.

The only GE products currently rated in sones are external exhaust range hoods and all JVM series microwaves. Dishwashers are the only GE products currently rated in decibels. Any other GE appliance has no rating available to the public.

There is not an extension kit for the side curtains. You would need to build a fram.
Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" min and 38" max.

Yes, the air filter is washable. Check and clean the air filter at least every 30 days or more often if necessary. Clean the filter with warm,soapy water. Rinse and let dry before replacing.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Most units run between 40 dB and 62 dB. The larger the unit, the louder it is.
Most units filters are washable.
44 inches is a wide window. My suggestion is to purchase a half sheet or a quarter sheet of plywood to fill in the gap of your unit. Most Home Depots I have been in sell the smaller pieces of plywood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimentions? Will it fit in our window?

Asked by
Kim
Santa Cruz
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 20, 2012
Hello Kim,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Following are the dimensions and the window opening required.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21 / 38 "
Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

Overall Height: 12.75"
Overall Width: 18.59375"
Overall Depth: 15.71875"

i hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SHUCKY
MILFORD, CT 06460
October 1, 2012
THIS UNIT WILL FIT IN MY WINDOW, HOWEVER, CHECK THE SIZE
OF YOUR WINDOW BEFORE PURCHASING THIS UNIT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »