Looking for Answers about GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows and come with GE’s EZ-mount installation. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
89 Questions
 | 
178 Answers
Overall rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

How long is the replacement warranty good for?

Asked by
SLB1986
Rickman, Tennessee
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 5, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 9, 2015
Hello,
I am happy to help. The replacement warranty is one year from the date of purchase. Thanks for checking with us.
Lisa from GE Appliances
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Install/remove

Asked by
cjl1168
Las Vegas
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 29, 2015
Hi - we are looking to add this as a back up option for our home when Central AC goes out as we live in Las Vegas.. How hard is it to add the unit to the window and remove? Does it require permanent install or can I pull it out and in a few times a year.

Please help. Christine
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
July 1, 2015
The unit is very easy to install and remove from a window. ----There is some assembly required, you have to install a bracket to the top of the unit and then install the left and right "adjustable" pleated plastic curtains.You only need a Phillips head screwdriver to do this and the instructions are very clear. Set the unit in the window, close the window right behind the bracket you installed, while holding the window down against the top of the unit, install with one screw, the other small "L" shaped bracket between the upper and lower window sashes to hold the window from re-opening. Now slide the left and right adjustable plastic curtains over to the side of the window closing any gap between the sides of the AC and the window. You can fasten the edge to the side of the window with a screw if you want to. Plug into 110 volt receptacle and turn it on.

Every installation is different and you may want to purchase a universal window bracket kit that is also available at the Home Depot. This bracket can be left in place and just take the AC unit in or out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 8, 2015
Hello cjl1168 - this is Nancy at GE Appliances. We are happy to help you. Yes, this window unit is easy to install and it has the EZ Mount Window Kit. We recommend reviewing the Installation Instructions beginning on page 7 of the following link: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/51/515cfd1a-6c65-49dc-9a52-7281f5d6e1e4.pdf I hope is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I just bought this as an "as is" display model, but they gave me the wrong accordion panels for the the sides to seal around the unit

Asked by
K9Protected
Newport News, VA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 29, 2015
I looked online everywhere for the accordion panels and the top rail parts, but they don't seem to offer those. Now I cannot install the unit in my window! Help, please... :(
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
July 1, 2015
Assuming you are handy, cut a length of angle bracket to fit across the top of the unit. Place the AC unit against one side of the window using weather foam strips. Measure from the other side of the AC unit to the other side of the window. Purchase a piece of !/2 thick foam insulating board. Cut to fit opening with box cutter. using foam weather stripping install this in gap.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2015
Hello K9Protected - this is Nancy at GE Appliances. We are sorry to hear that your unit came with the incorrect accordion panels. Since this is an exchange unit only, the panels are not available for purchase through our parts department. We apologize for your inconvenience. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Side vents

Asked by
Rick
Illinois
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 20, 2015
What are the side vents for? the hot air all blows out the back
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 21, 2015
Hello Rick - this is Nancy at GE Appliances and I am happy to help you. Air conditioner units have side vents to help the air circulation and air flow all around the unit to keep it from overheating. Thanks for checking with us! We're glad you asked.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does my new unit make my room smell like propane gas after 2nd day of use?

Asked by
Terry
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 13, 2015
Has this happened to anyone else? I can't take the smell. There is no propane gas in the area so it's not coming from outside.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 14, 2015
Hello Terry - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Based on extensive testing, the room air conditioner does not contain any mechanical parts that will produce an odor. There will be a newness type of odor when the air conditioner is first used. This is a plastic smell and should disappear after a few weeks of use. Regular cleaning of the air conditioner can help reduce odors. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

temp sensor in remote?

Asked by
Chrmngblly
Philly
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 13, 2015
I have always objected to the way my other units sense the outside temp more than they do the inside temperature. Do they make a unit that gets its temp info from the remote? It seems easy and logical.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 15, 2015
Hi Chrmngblly-this is Sue from GE. A thermostat is a device that opens or closes a switch in an electrical circuit as a direct result of changes in temperature. Opening and closing this switch turns fan motors, compressors or resistance heaters off and on as required to maintain room temperatures. The thermostat is located so that it senses the temperature of the room air before it is cooled or heated by the evaporator or heater. On air conditioners with an electronic thermostat, the maximum temperature fluctuation is approximately 3 degrees F., for more stable personal comfort. This kind of thermostat also helps control the humidity in the room better by cycling the compressor on approximately every 8 minutes, even if the room temperature is satisfactory. The compressor will run for about 3 minutes and shut off to help pull excess humidity out of the room. We do not offer a model that senses through the remote. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My windows are side by side.

Asked by
Traveler
Peoria, az
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 11, 2015
these air conditioners look like they are made for horizontal installed windows. My windows are side by side. Will it fit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
June 12, 2015
This air conditioner is designed for standard double-hung windows.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 14, 2015
Hello Traveler - this is Nancy at GE. This air conditioner and the installation instructions are designed for a standard double-hung window. You could possibly slightly modify the instructions for other types of windows. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between GE A/c model aem06ls and aem06lq?

Asked by
SVflash
Ny ny
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 31, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 1, 2015
Hi SVflash-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest! AEM06LS is the latest model. The BTU is 6,400 (vs 6,050) and the Cooling EER is 10.7 (vs 11.2). Cooling Watts 600 (vs 540), Rated Cooling Amps AHAM 5.6 (vs 4.5). Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to set tempeture to stay on 64

Asked by
polly
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 27, 2015
don't know how to set temperture to stay on 64 keeps going back to 72
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 28, 2015
Hello polly - this is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help. After selecting the Set temperature to "64", the display will change to show the room temperature. If the room is warm, it may take some time to cool it down to the selected temperature. Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why is there syrofoam inside the air conditioner ? Is it dangerous when unit is on?

Asked by
jfo1331
larchmont ny
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 26, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 28, 2015
Hello jfo1331 - this is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help. The styrofoam is safe. It is a part of the air duct system and should not be removed. Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit fit a window that is 46 in wide. If not are there any units that will fit this width.

Asked by
lcl46
Massena, ny
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 22, 2015
the room is 224 square ft.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 23, 2015
This air conditioner fits a window with a maximum width of 38 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 24, 2015
Hello lcl46 - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. The maximum window width that any of our window air conditioners can fit is 41". I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install an AC which states it fits windows 22.5" in width when my window opens only up to 21"?

Asked by
CoolAC
Temecula, California
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 11, 2015
The room to cool is 200sf. (But it has a bathroom with a sliding door that is 50sf and beside the window.) Your LG 5000 btu states that it is for windows 21" and above. That is perfect for my window. However, that AC is good for 150sf only. I need to put the 6000 or 8000 which fit 22.5' windows. But, as you know, the actual AC is a few inches below 21" in width without the 'wings.' Please advise. Thank you and have a great day.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 12, 2015
Hello CoolAC - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. This is a very nice unit. This AEL06LQ window air conditioner will fit a minimum window opening width of 21" to a maximum window opening width of 38". This unit will fit a minimum window opening height of 13-1/2". The overall width of the unit is 18-19/32". If your window is at least 21" wide and at least 13-1/2" high, then this air conditioner will fit in your window. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the decibel rating on this unit?

Asked by
vabeach
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 10, 2015
Hello vabeach - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Dishwashers are the only GE products that are currently rated in decibels. Therefore, we do not have a rating for this air conditioner. Thanks for checking with us!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TrishI
Rye Brook, NY
May 26, 2015
Don't know a number but the noise level is deafening, especially depending on your position in the room.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I buy a replacement remote for this ac

Asked by
Deblits
sylvester Ga.
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 22, 2015
Hello Deblits, This is Joyce from GE. A replacement remote is still available for this model. The part number is WJ26X10354 and you can order this by calling our GE Parts Department at 1-800-205-8854. Thanks so much for checking. Have a great day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
April 22, 2015
Did you try going to your nearby Home Depot for help in ordering another remote? Is the model number of your air conditioner AEL06LS? If yes, use this number to help the Home Depot order another remote.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the dimension ?

Asked by
pk1328
Pleasanton, Ca
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
November 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 23, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this air condition. The external dimensions of this unit are approximately 12-3/4" H x 18-19/32" W x 15-23/32" D. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kiki
NC
November 23, 2014
It's about 15x22
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many amps does a 6400 draw

Asked by
ronnie
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
October 6, 2014
how many amps does a 6400 draw
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
January 5, 2015
Dear Valued HomeDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"This is Kim with GE. This unit has a Parallel plug type that requires 15 Amps. Thank you for checking with us!"
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is length and width of unit

Asked by
turtleneck
nassau county
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 2, 2014
Hello Turtleneck - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this air conditioner.

The approximate dimensions of this 115V Room Air Conditioner are: 12-3/4" H x 18-19/32" W x 15-23/32" D. The depth of 15-23/32" would also be considered the length of the air conditioner.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kiki
NC
November 23, 2014
about 15H
22w
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the fan cut off as well when it reache a certain temp.

Asked by
mark
fort worth tx
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 12, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to the fan on this air conditioner unit.

This unit has an Energy Saver Mode. If the Energy Saver Mode is "On", then the fan will cycle off and then back on multiple times. You may notice a variation in room temperature and humidity when the Energy Saver is On.

If the Energy Saver is "Off", then the fan will run continuously and in the "Cool" mode, the compressor will cycle on and off to maintain the room temperature.

I hope this information is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
April 22, 2015
Yes but you must set the --mode to energy saving-- or the fan will run continuously.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

vertical installment

Asked by
megroo
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 23, 2014
I live in an old apartment building and am dying of heat. Can I install this AC vertically into my window if the dimensions work? I have large windows that are cut in half by a metal piece. The glass rotates out with a crank. One side (I can open one side and not the other) is about 15" across. There are ledges on both sides of the window for it to sit on. Is there a problem running the ac in the vertical position?

I know that I would have to get creative with some plexi glass for the height :)

please help!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 23, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I can certainly understand your dilemma. However, the unit can't be installed in this manner. All room air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove moisture from the pan. If the unit was vertical it wouldn't be able to function as designed. We would recommend that you consider getting a wall unit.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when will window air conditioners be available?

Asked by
cyclops
albany or
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 12, 2014
can I get it delivered from another Home Depot or online since not available in 97322?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
July 13, 2014
Your best bet is to order it on line and have it delivered free to your home. If free delivery to your home is not available, have it delivered to your local home depot and pick it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dcime
Long Branch,NJ
July 13, 2014
Window air conditioners have been available all year. The GE 6400 BTU is apparently discontinued so no more of this unit available anymore. Contact your local Home Depot for delivery options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »