Looking for Answers about GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows and come with GE’s EZ-mount installation. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
61 Questions
 | 
119 Answers
Overall rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

So I can't input a SKU and find which stores in my area have it? I have to go to each store's site and check? Hmm.

Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RANDY
Friendswood, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
yes. it will ask you for you zip to find it close to you
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
April 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many major appliance professionals. For any other questions, please visit your local Home Depot or call our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I look online to see which stores have a particular item in stock? Specifically SKU # 645992

Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kiki
NC
March 31, 2014
yes, you just have to pick which store and the website will tell you.
:O)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RANDY
Friendswood, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what does 115 volt mean?

Asked by
nikki
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 25, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Since ordinary household outlets are usually rated at 115 volts, this means that you may not have to have a special outlet to run this air conditioner.

I hope this helps! Thank you for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

modified sine wave inverter

Asked by
Dildotester
Indiana
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 14, 2014
Will this unit run on a modified sine wave inverter?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 15, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

You would need to check with the inverter manufacturer on whether their device will run this air conditioner unit.

I hope this helps! Thank you for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

wht does the electrical plug look lke? my wall plug is diffret fom the normal plug.

Asked by
mimi
marylnd
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
December 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 31, 2013
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

The plug type on this air conditioner is:

Parallel/NEMA 5-15

Please see the electrical requirements listed on page 8 of the Installations Instructions link below:

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-7680.pdf

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
USAVinyl
March 4, 2014
See Photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have the AELO6LQ and find that in energy mode it will switch off after reaching the desired temp but only turns back on after it has gotten warmer

Asked by
Gazza123
Los Angeles
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 29, 2013
than the set temp. Why is this? I also note that in the cool mode once the temp set is reached it does the same
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 30, 2013
When you take your Filter out to clean it you will see a long black small cable of sorts. The end of this is your Point of Contact for your Thermostat. It is indirectly touching the coils.
The coils temp is considerably Colder than your room temperature. As the Room Air is pulled in through the filter venting and first across the Contact Point for your Thermostat and then through the Coils the Thermostat gets a Temperature Reading form that action. It is not usually precise, but it is close enough for you to take note of and over time make the appropriate settings changes to insure that your room reaches your desired temperature.
Special Note: The Filter should be checked Every Couple of days and cleaned if it is dirty. If the Coils become clogged with dirt that made it through the Filter this will affect your Thermostat Reading and will form a layer of ice across the Coils and your Window AC will not function good and in some cases at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference between the AEH06LQ and the AEL06LQQ1

Asked by
judy
home
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 25, 2013
Hello Judy,

This is Nancy from GE. I am happy to help you.

These two models are similar models. The difference is where they are sold and the grille design.

Thank you for your question. I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will it fit an opening of 27 wide and 21 hight

Asked by
mandy
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 22, 2013
Most 6400 BTU window units will fit in your opening, but there will much space that you will need to fill. Look in the PRODUCT OVERVIEW & SPECIFICATIONS and will see that the unit has a Product Height (in.) of 12.75 and a Product Width (in.) of 18.59.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

We've been told that we must buy a unit with a "top skirt for window installation". Does this unit have that? What is that? Thanks!

Asked by
CLIP
VA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 16, 2013
Hi Clip-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Model AEL06LG includes the EZ mount window kit for window installation. E-Z mount curtains are standard on most current room air conditioners both 115 and 230 volt sizes. Flexible panels are extended to accommodate various window sizes for quick, easy installation. All hardware is included including the top mounting rail which I believe is the top skirt you are referring to. You can view the installation instructions online:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/51/515cfd1a-6c65-49dc-9a52-7281f5d6e1e4.pdf

Thanks for checking with us.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mamazepp
Yuba City, CA, USA
August 16, 2013
Hi, yes it has the piece that goes between the unit and the window which seals it from outside air. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 16, 2013
If your window slides all the way Up and Down, then you will not need one. However if for some reason your window does not slide up and down you will need something that will cover the gap between the top of the unit and the space that is open and also on the sides.
Personally I like using a piece of plywood cut to the size of the unit to fill the gap(s) that you can easily slide the unit in and out of for Cleaning and Winter Storage. Most Home Depot Stores have pre cut pieces of plywood 2'x4' and 4'x4' at very reasonable prices to do just that and you can paint them any color you like.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has anyone had any problems with black mold growing in the vent?

Asked by
Galen
Southern NM
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 25, 2013
I have had this unit for about 3 years. It is an amazing unit but over time it had become
Loud. But that isn't even my concern. We live in a mobile home in southern NM and we have this unit in our bedroom because the main cooling doesn't reach well in there. During my normal cleaning routine I clean the vent from any water and I clean the filter of the dust that accumulates. I do this I want to say every other week if not more. Today I noticed some black stuff and I pulled out the vent and there is black mold all on the vent and on the inside of the vent. I took my handy camera phone and snapped a picture of inside the vent and its all in the inside of the bottom where I can not reach it to clean. Has any one else experienced this problem?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 25, 2013
Hello Galen,

I will be ahpopy to address your concerns with the air conditioner. It may need to be cleaned or steam cleamed throughly.

As warm moist (humid) air from the room passes over the cold indoor coil, water condenses on the cold indoor coil and collects in the base pan where it flows to the rear of the unit.

Water will collect in the base pan and may even overflow and drip outside during periods of high humidity or on rainy days. This is normal operation.

Most room air conditioners do not have a drain plug to drain the water. Air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove some of the moisture from the pan.

Keep room air conditioners clean by performing the following tasks:

~Dampen a cloth with mild detergent and wipe the front and rear of the indoor grille.
~Vacuum the indoor grille with with a cleaning brush.
~Wipe or vacuum the areas behind the grille.
~Clean your air filter.
~ Make a mixture of lukewarm water and mild soap and wipe down the cabinet of the unit.
~ If the outdoor coils are clogged with debris, they may be professionally cleaned.
~ Take special care not to force movable louvers out of position or to damage the coil fins.

Always unplug the room air conditioner before performing any work on the unit.

Donna wtih GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
August 22, 2013
This may help and is a Quote from Home Depot about the product described:
The AC-Safe Pan Tablets (6-Pack) are a convenient, no-mess way to clean condensate drain pans and keep them clean for up to 6 weeks. The non-corrosive and non-toxic formula gets rid of odors in air conditioners, refrigerators, dehumidifiers and humidifiers.
I use them and I live in the Good Ole Humid South and I do not get mold in my vents, EVER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

location of drain hole on GE 6400but window air conditioner

Asked by
General
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your question on the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL06LQ.

Most room air conditioners do not have a drain plug to drain the water. Model AEL06LQ has a
fixed chasis and doees not have a drain hile. Models that have a Slide-Out chasis do have a drain hole. It is only there for excessive water accumulation.

As warm moist (humid) air from the room passes over the cold indoor coil, water condenses on the cold indoor coil and collects in the base pan where it flows to the rear of the unit. Water will collect in the base pan and may even overflow and drip outside during periods of high humidity or on rainy days. This is normal operation.

Air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove some of the moisture from the pan.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Should I buy extended warranty?

Asked by
Suzie
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 6, 2013
Model comes with one year warranty. Wondering if I should buy extended warranty and if I do should I get 3 years or 5 years? Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2013
Hello Suzie,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL06LQ.

Yes, the air conditioners comes with full 1 year warranty. The complete written warranty details are provided in the Use and Care manual.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality. Like any insurance, purchasing a service contract can bring peace of mind but it is up to the individual.

Extended service plans are available through Assurant Solutions and Home Depot.

Stay cool!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Louie
September 4, 2013
Extended warranties are great money makers for the providers, but not so good for consumers. Generally, your product will outlast the warranty. Sometimes it is difficult to get paid as claims are often disputed. Most consumer magazines do not recommend paying for the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if im running this product all day everyday, on average how much more will my electricity bill be a month?

Asked by
Lyssette
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 5, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 7, 2013
Hello Lyssette,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL06LQ.

The estimated yearly operating cost is $48.00. The Energy Efficiency Ratio is 10.7. Your cost will depend on your utility rates and use.

The watt rating of the unit is an indication of the power used when the unit is running. Even for a particular size, no two people use an air conditioner in quite the same way. This makes a great
difference because of such factors as the number of hours you use the unit, how cool you keep the area, number of hours the unit will run during the year in a given climate zone. Estimated Yearly Operating Cost (EYOC) can be calculated as follows:

Rated Watts X KWH Cost X Cooling Hours Divided by 1000 = EYOC
1000 (eg. .08) Per Year **

K = 1000 -- KWH = 1000 Watt Hours -- Dividing by 1000 easily converts
the kilowatt rating in the formula. The Cost/KWH is the local utility rate

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Not draining water.

Asked by
KG
San Diego
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 4, 2013
The ac unit is tilted and i dont see any water draining outside. I hear a lot of water movement when the unit is on. No water spills inside the room. I wonder how the water drains. The unit has been on for 24 hours and I live in San Diego. Is this normal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
July 5, 2013
You live in San Diego. A very dry environment. You do have water in the bottom pan, but it simply evaporates before it can overflow out the drain hole.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Noise level?

Asked by
Donald
Cambridge, Massachusetts
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 27, 2013
On the energy saver mode, does the ac make much noise going on and off? Also, how does the Home Depot model compare with the same model sold by other vendors?

Thank you for your assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Shelley
Le Roy, NY 14482, USA
June 27, 2013
There is some noise when going on and off, but I don't find it to be overly intrusive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
Not too bad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Aguyfrom02360
New England
June 30, 2013
My initial take on this unit was that it was very loud. This year I have it in a different room and have come to the conclusion that it was the vibrations due to the storm window that caused it to be so loud. Overall I'm very happy with the noise level with this ac unit. I would rate the volume level as med-low. Go get it!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hotsheets
brooklyn, NY
July 2, 2013
makes it sound like Im sleeping in a holiday Inn. loud.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do I do if the unit delivered to me is damaged?

Asked by
Anne
Rhode Island
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 23, 2013
Hello Anne,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote Model # AEL06LQ.

Any Major Appliance (air conditioner) product damage must be reported within 48 hours of delivery by calling 1-800-455-3869.

After 48 hours, any product issues must be handled through your local The Home Depot store’s Special Services Desk. Be sure to bring a copy of your sales receipt with you.

Please see all return details on the Home Depot website.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i only have a breaker that wwill allow 15 amps in the living room , i am wondering if this will GE 6,000 btu will be ok operating on that type i see

Asked by
jesse
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 17, 2013
it says 5.3-5.6 amps but will it require higher amps when the condenser turns on as other ac units do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2013
Hello Jesse,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE room air conditioner.

The air conditioner requires 120 volt-15 amp circuit operation and a parallel type plug. A dedicated circuit is recommended.

Please check the check the rating plate on the air conditioner. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 28, 2013
The Amp Rating will be in the Description of the of the Air Conditioner.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The sound of running water.

Asked by
Saba
Clifton, NJ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 17, 2013
I got this AC last month, and a few days ago it started to have a continuous sound of running water. There is no spilling inside. And the AC is a little bit tilted to the outside. I wonder what the problem might be.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2013
Hello Saba,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

As warm moist (humid) air from the room passes over the cold indoor coil, water condenses on the cold indoor coil and collects in the base pan where it flows to the rear of the unit.

All room air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove moisture from the pan.

It is normal to hear a pinging or sloshing sound as the fan blade moves through the water.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Should not be any problem. As long as the unit is slightly tilted down toward the outside then any excess of water will spill outside. If, however, you start to get water coming into the room from the unit then just tilt it a little more down toward the outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my daughter bought 2 GE #AELO6LQ, SKU 645992 window airconditioners....

Asked by
David
Connecticut
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 16, 2013
.....I noticed that there are vents on top of the unit (outside the window). when it rains, rain water drops into the unit. Also dirt & leaves. Would that damage the unit? Thank you, David
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 17, 2013
Hello David,

Thank you for choosing the GE 6,000 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

There is no concern if there is a heavy rain storm and an excessive amount of water gets into the top or back of a room air conditioner. This area is designed to hold condensed water from the evaporator and any excess from rain storm will not harm it.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
No. The Vents on the outside, (all of them), are to exhaust heat from the motors and the coils. Window units will get dirty, just like a central unit and need to be washed once a year for proper care and maintenance. See manufacturer's website or your owner's manual for proper cleaning instructions.
Until then crank up the cool air, it's Hot outside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit fit in a 21" inch wide window?

Asked by
mcamny
Harrison, NY
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 2, 2013
I need an AC unit for small, third floor window measuring 21" wide (the vertical opening is 15" high). Will this unit fit? Also, will I need to install a bracket to mount it?

Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your question on the GE Window Air Conditioner model # AEL06LQ.

Yes, it should fit in the window opening you have.

Min./Max. Window Opening Width: 21" / 38"
Minimum Window Opening Height: 13-1/2"

E-Z mount curtains are standard on the window room air conditioners. Flexible panels are extended to accommodate various window sizes for quick, easy installation but can be removed if not needed. All hardware should be included with product. There are no outside support brackets with most e-z mount kits, the frame around the case support the entire unit.

Please see the installation instructions for complete details on securing the window unit with out using the side curtains.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thelby
Little Rock, AR, USA
June 17, 2013
Being that it is a 3rd story window, it would be recommended to install brackets so the unit will not fall out and severely injure someone or worse.
Your window is plenty large enough for this and bigger units to fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »