Looking for Answers about GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability. Window AC units are portable, and are not installed into the structure of the home or building. GE window air conditioners are designed to fit traditional-style windows and come with GE’s EZ-mount installation. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Customer questions and answers:
79 Questions
 | 
164 Answers
Overall rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote

Question

Will this unit fit a window that is 46 in wide. If not are there any units that will fit this width.

Asked by
lcl46
Massena, ny
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 22, 2015
the room is 224 square ft.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 23, 2015
This air conditioner fits a window with a maximum width of 38 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 24, 2015
Hello lcl46 - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. The maximum window width that any of our window air conditioners can fit is 41". I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install an AC which states it fits windows 22.5" in width when my window opens only up to 21"?

Asked by
CoolAC
Temecula, California
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 11, 2015
The room to cool is 200sf. (But it has a bathroom with a sliding door that is 50sf and beside the window.) Your LG 5000 btu states that it is for windows 21" and above. That is perfect for my window. However, that AC is good for 150sf only. I need to put the 6000 or 8000 which fit 22.5' windows. But, as you know, the actual AC is a few inches below 21" in width without the 'wings.' Please advise. Thank you and have a great day.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 12, 2015
Hello CoolAC - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. This is a very nice unit. This AEL06LQ window air conditioner will fit a minimum window opening width of 21" to a maximum window opening width of 38". This unit will fit a minimum window opening height of 13-1/2". The overall width of the unit is 18-19/32". If your window is at least 21" wide and at least 13-1/2" high, then this air conditioner will fit in your window. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the decibel rating on this unit?

Asked by
vabeach
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 10, 2015
Hello vabeach - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Dishwashers are the only GE products that are currently rated in decibels. Therefore, we do not have a rating for this air conditioner. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I buy a replacement remote for this ac

Asked by
Deblits
sylvester Ga.
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 22, 2015
Hello Deblits, This is Joyce from GE. A replacement remote is still available for this model. The part number is WJ26X10354 and you can order this by calling our GE Parts Department at 1-800-205-8854. Thanks so much for checking. Have a great day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
April 22, 2015
Did you try going to your nearby Home Depot for help in ordering another remote? Is the model number of your air conditioner AEL06LS? If yes, use this number to help the Home Depot order another remote.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the dimension ?

Asked by
pk1328
Pleasanton, Ca
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
November 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 23, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this air condition. The external dimensions of this unit are approximately 12-3/4" H x 18-19/32" W x 15-23/32" D. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kiki
NC
November 23, 2014
It's about 15x22
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many amps does a 6400 draw

Asked by
ronnie
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
October 6, 2014
how many amps does a 6400 draw
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
January 5, 2015
Dear Valued HomeDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"This is Kim with GE. This unit has a Parallel plug type that requires 15 Amps. Thank you for checking with us!"
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is length and width of unit

Asked by
turtleneck
nassau county
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
September 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 2, 2014
Hello Turtleneck - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this air conditioner.

The approximate dimensions of this 115V Room Air Conditioner are: 12-3/4" H x 18-19/32" W x 15-23/32" D. The depth of 15-23/32" would also be considered the length of the air conditioner.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kiki
NC
November 23, 2014
about 15H
22w
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the fan cut off as well when it reache a certain temp.

Asked by
mark
fort worth tx
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 12, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to the fan on this air conditioner unit.

This unit has an Energy Saver Mode. If the Energy Saver Mode is "On", then the fan will cycle off and then back on multiple times. You may notice a variation in room temperature and humidity when the Energy Saver is On.

If the Energy Saver is "Off", then the fan will run continuously and in the "Cool" mode, the compressor will cycle on and off to maintain the room temperature.

I hope this information is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
April 22, 2015
Yes but you must set the --mode to energy saving-- or the fan will run continuously.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

vertical installment

Asked by
megroo
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 23, 2014
I live in an old apartment building and am dying of heat. Can I install this AC vertically into my window if the dimensions work? I have large windows that are cut in half by a metal piece. The glass rotates out with a crank. One side (I can open one side and not the other) is about 15" across. There are ledges on both sides of the window for it to sit on. Is there a problem running the ac in the vertical position?

I know that I would have to get creative with some plexi glass for the height :)

please help!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 23, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I can certainly understand your dilemma. However, the unit can't be installed in this manner. All room air conditioners have a "slinger ring" around the rear fan blade. The ring is designed to pick water up off the bottom of the pan and throw it against the condenser coils. This design feature helps improve the efficiency of the unit by reducing heat on the coils, and helps remove moisture from the pan. If the unit was vertical it wouldn't be able to function as designed. We would recommend that you consider getting a wall unit.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when will window air conditioners be available?

Asked by
cyclops
albany or
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 12, 2014
can I get it delivered from another Home Depot or online since not available in 97322?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
July 13, 2014
Your best bet is to order it on line and have it delivered free to your home. If free delivery to your home is not available, have it delivered to your local home depot and pick it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dcime
Long Branch,NJ
July 13, 2014
Window air conditioners have been available all year. The GE 6400 BTU is apparently discontinued so no more of this unit available anymore. Contact your local Home Depot for delivery options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it made in USA?

Asked by
Drrm
Tyler.Tx
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 13, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to your question about this air conditioner unit.

GE manufactures many of products in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. Because manufacturing facilities change from time to time, your best source for manufacturing location is on the packaging/product itself.

I hope helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height of this air condtioner, and is it available in Ontario CanadaD

Asked by
D712
Whitby Ont. Canada
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
July 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kiki
NC
July 3, 2014
The face is 12 inches tall but remember there is a little more that sits behind the window on the bottom and top - I would add 3-4 inches (13-14 inches) that you would need the window to open to fit it in.
Hope that helps.
:O)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit be available again?

Asked by
ConfusedinLyn
Lynchburg, VA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 16, 2014
I can't find this unit available for shipping at any location local or not. Is it discontinued or no longer available? This unit by far has the best ratings is exactly the one I would like, but I can't find it anywhere even though it is still on the website.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. We appreciate your interest in our 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner. Please take a look at the new model (AEL06LS) in the link below:
http://www.homedepot.com/s/ael06ls?NCNI-5

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dcime
Long Branch,NJ
July 13, 2014
No, this model will never be available again. This GE AC (6400 BTU) has been replaced with a slightly lower (6000 BTU) unit. I bought 2 of them in the spring. Great deal and they are freezing cold! Love 'em.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This unit is sold out. When will it be available again?

Asked by
hitchcockian
cambridge, ma
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
June 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
June 9, 2014
Was it sold out just at your local H D? In that case ask an associate at the store to find out. Try another store location. Did you try locating it on line? This can be purchased on line and delivered to your home or local store.

It's a nice unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hitchcockian
June 10, 2014
I should've been more clear. The unit appears to be sold out online. I enter my zip code when I try to add it to my cart, and I get OUT OF STOCK. I suppose there's nothing to do but go elsewhere?

Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHAT IS THE WEIGHT ON THIS WINDOW UNIT

Asked by
AUNTIECC
ANAHEIM, CA
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 15, 2014
I DO NOT SEE IT IN THE DESCRIPTION
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 15, 2014
Hello Auntiecc- This is Lisa from GE. This unit is 53 lbs. I hope this helps. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Finding the right model

Asked by
Pamela
Boston
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 14, 2014
An outside rating source rated model AEM05LS higher than AEM06LS. I see that you mentioned that AEM06LS is pretty much the same as AEL06LS. But does AEM05LS sitll exist? Also, are any of these energy star qualified?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SteveT
Kingman AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 14, 2014
The AELO6LS is the one I recently bought at Home Depot and yes it is energy star rated, not sure if the AELO5LS is or not. and from what I could find the 6 is an updated Home Depot model. We're happy with this model and on a 95 degree day it's pushing out 54 degree air. The only downside I've found with the unit is the left/right air deflector could be better but the up/down works fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the AEL06LQ and the AEM06LQ and why isn't the AEL model on the GE website?

Asked by
Mikecrad
Bowie, MD
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 1, 2014
I went to the GE web site to obtain more information about the AEL06LQ. I narrowed my search on the page of window ac units by checking 6400 BTU. The only 6400 BTU window AC that it showed was AEM06LQ. Is the AEL06LQ now a discontinued model that has been replaced by the AEM06LQ, or is it a model that GE manufactured solely for Home Depot?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 2, 2014
Hi Mikecrad-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest. We are happy to help!

The two models are basically the same. Model AEL06LQ is featured on the GE website. Simply enter the model number in the "search" field. AEL06LQ is sold exclusively through Home Depot.

The power ratings are slightly different.

AEM06LQ
Cooling-Rated Cooling Amps AHAM: 5.6
Cooling Watts: 600

AEL06LQ
Cooling-Rated Cooling Amps AHAM: 5.3
Cooling Watts: 590

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

security with window unt

Asked by
Mayra
Miami
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
May 1, 2014
Hello, I'm looking to install the wal a/c unit via window on the first floor, but my concern is how secure is the installation?
Can someone break in the house by removing the a/c unit via the side panels? In the video it did not look secure. Someone can walk up to it remove the panels and push the a/c inward to the floor and get in the house when weare not here.

I also have an alarm sysem for door and widows and I would have to disconnect the alarm on that window for the alarm to work in the rest of the house which would leave me expoed for burglars if the panels and a/c unit are easy to break into.

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SteveT
Kingman AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2014
The top flange is screwed to the window frame if it's wooden and if it alumium there's a L shaped bracket included to screw above the window so it can't be opened. Also your contacts for the security system can be moved so the system remands intact.
It's a great unit and we really like it. Good luck and enjoy.....
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
May 1, 2014
The side panels that come with the unit are only meant to keep out the rain and air infiltration. They are not sturdy enough to keep someone from removing them and the AC unit to gain entry to your home. They do not have to be used. Possibly you could leave them off and install a more sturdy substitute. You could also ask your alarm company to rewire the window so it is armed if someone removes the AC unit.

My unit in in the 3rd floor of my home so I don't have that concern.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

So I can't input a SKU and find which stores in my area have it? I have to go to each store's site and check? Hmm.

Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
April 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
April 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many major appliance professionals. For any other questions, please visit your local Home Depot or call our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RANDY
Friendswood, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
yes. it will ask you for you zip to find it close to you
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
THGDriver
Eastern, PA.
April 30, 2014
If your sure this is the right size for your needs and do the proper resurch, why bother going to the store? Order it on line and have it delivered to your home. That's what we did and it all worked out great. You don't even need to leave your home. If things don't work out you can return it to your store.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteveT
Kingman AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 2, 2014
Do what I did, call the store and was told they didn't have it in stock but if I ordered it it would be in within two days which I did then they asked if I wanted it to be delivered to the store or my house, no extra charge. Two days later it was sitting on the floor in the room I was going to install it in, hands off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2014
Also, there is a link on the web page for the A/C unit which says, "Want it now? Search internet # 203188066 to check store availability," which seems like just what I want, but it doesn't work the way I expected it to. No matter, I bought an A/C unit elsewhere. Pity. I like Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I look online to see which stores have a particular item in stock? Specifically SKU # 645992

Asked by
Bruce
Phoenix AZ
about 6,400 BTU 115 Volt Window Air Conditioner with Remote on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kiki
NC
March 31, 2014
yes, you just have to pick which store and the website will tell you.
:O)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RANDY
Friendswood, TX, USA
April 3, 2014
yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »