Looking for Answers about Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547519. A Home Depot exclusive, this 3.4 cu. ft. traditional top load washer can remove more water from the load thanks to a max spin speed of 700 RPM, providing shorter drying times and energy savings in the dryer. On the console, a cycle status bar allows you to see where the load is in the cycle and indicates when the lid is locked. Finally, the advanced suspension system senses the load size and stabilizes the wash basket to help with noise and vibration control.
Customer questions and answers:
121 Questions
 | 
685 Answers
Overall rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

how many load can it hold

Asked by
Janice
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jumperva
Victoria, Va
April 8, 2013
No washer can hold but one load, but this washer is a high capacity washer. I have put almost a whole laundry basket in it at once. I've never tried, but it can easily handle 5-6 pairs of blue jeans, I imagine. I never do that many at once because of the weight in the dryer. I have put 4 pr of jeans and 2 large bath towels and wash rags in the same load. Short of a Heavy-duty, extra high capacity commercial washer, you won't do any better in the price range. If you need more capacity than this model gives, just buy two, you'll get ALL the size you need and will still come out cheaper than buying the commercial equivalent. If you need more capacity than this, you're laundering for a small military unit. Teach some of those folks to do their own wash! :)
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
April 8, 2013
I have washed a king size bed spread, without a problem. To get the most efficient cleaning do not stuff clothes in the washer. Drop clothes in the tank and when full, without pushing clothes down, start the washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Terri
Sellersburg, IN 47172, USA
April 9, 2013
It will fit a queen size comforter just fine!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
amye
Cincinnati, OH, USA
June 20, 2013
I washed my Queensized comforter, sheet & 4 pillowcases with no problem.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Vinny167
N.Y.,N.Y.
April 18, 2013
between average and large laudromat size
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SouthernMama
August 14, 2013
about 3/4 of what I consider a normal load MAX. Loads must be smaller than normal otherwise they will not wash well due to low water levels required by government since 2011.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
AngieP
September 4, 2013
don't go over the holes, do not overload. The spin will give out quickly if you do.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 20, 2013
are you asking weight? it can only hold i load of clothes the weight is in the owners manual
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
April 8, 2013
I know it will hold 5-6 pairs of jeans.
And will hold about 10 shirts.
I would say at least 2 loads of socks and underwear.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Fiona
April 8, 2013
Small, medium and large.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Karen
VT
July 2, 2013
3.4 cu ft
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer get clothes clean ? That is one of the most important question.

Asked by
Benji
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 8, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bruce
August 31, 2013
No question about it! Absolutely! Better than most overly expensive HE machines and clothes are MUCH dryer coming out of the spin cycle. I cant believe any one would say no. that just makes no sense and fly's in the face of reality.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
John
July 16, 2013
As with any washer none will work well if you over stuff them with laundry.

Properly loaded, this machine does a great job of cleaning.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JustMarried
Bountiful, UT, USA
July 28, 2013
Yes! It has different cycles! If your clothes are really dirty, you use the heavy wash and it will come up clean, make sure to get a good brand of soap.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 8, 2013
Benji,
This Admiral washer will get your clothes clean. This washer has 9 wash cycles, including Normal, Delicate and Casual (Perm Press) to handle a variety of fabrics. Thank you for viewing this Admiral home appliance.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Kkwag0617
Texas
July 30, 2013
Absolutely!!! VERY clean and so much better than my last front loader.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JDinOKC
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
July 9, 2013
This washer gets clothes very clean. I use standard liquid detergent, and a bit of bleach on the white loads. Everything comes out great!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Lulu
Pennsylvania, USA
July 9, 2013
Yes, it does. My husband works outside all day and his clothes are often soiled and sweaty! This washing maching does a great job of cleaning the clothes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mainer
Maine, USA
July 9, 2013
I wash 4 loads a week for a family of 3 and have found it gets clothes clean and does not leave behind any soap, hair, or other ick.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
robg1
warnerrobins,ga
July 9, 2013
Benji, it is my experience that this washer does get the clothes clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
holly
Columbia, MO, USA
July 30, 2013
Works as good as my old washer so yes!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
BusyLaundress
Ohio, USA
July 23, 2013
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
AGH
WAKE FOREST, NC
September 4, 2013
NO THIS ADMIRAL WASHER DOES NOT CLEAN CLOTHES!!

I'm washing a very small amount at a time and using more detergent than ever. Most things have to be washed twice!
PLEASE DONT BUY THIS ONE OR YOU WILL BE SORRY!
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
SouthernMama
August 14, 2013
No. If they are clirty, then probably. But if they are dirty, like your husband mowed the lawn, no. Very disappointing. I do not recommend this washer.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
cosmo
Philadelphia
July 9, 2013
yes, it does.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to disconnect my water hoses from my old washer or will they do it?

Asked by
Bec
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 27, 2012
+14points
14out of 14found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 28, 2012
Hello Bec and thank you for your question.

As part of the free delivery and basic hook up service, your new Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer will be uncrated, set in place, leveled, tested, and connected to an existing proper power source. The delivery team will disconnect the old hoses and then install a new hose (you will need to purchase ahead of time or make arrangements for it to be delivered with the washer).

Since services vary depending upon your location, it is best to contact our Appliance Support Line at 1-800-455-3869 for specific information about your area.

Best wishes on your project
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
The install team will do all that. Just assure that the team has a clear way to get to your machine.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
No you do not have to disconnect the hoses. However, old hoses should not be used. Hose life is no more than 5 years. You can buy the finest new hoses for no more than $20.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
washer
Rochester, NY, USA
August 29, 2012
i disconnected mine but im sure they will do it for you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
FionaF
October 5, 2012
The guys from Home depot will do it but I disconnected mine to save time.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Scott
Arizona
September 9, 2012
When we had this washer delivered, I had to purchase new hoses and they installed them for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
lmell
Riverside, CA, USA
August 29, 2012
No you don't have to do a thing they set up and hauled away my old washer too. The guys that came to my house were very friendly and before they got started they introduced theirselves and showed id.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Vonnie
North Carolina
October 16, 2012
No. The delivery guys were excellent. They disconnected the old washer and removed it; and they installed the new washer. They even checked the washer functions before leaving. The only thing they did not remove was the tub that our old washer was sitting in. It was stained from leakage and had a crack in it, so, we had to remove it ourselves.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Buy new hoses with delivery or it could invalidate the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Lifwtusa
Texas
February 10, 2014
If you want it installed, it will be an additional charge. It is quite simple to disconnect the water hoses, as they simply unscrew. This is a good time to check your hoses; you may wish to purchase new ones to go with your new washing machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
I disconnected my water hoses from my old washer and when the new one arrived it was ready for setup. They did not install the new hoses for my new machine, I did it myself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

who makes this washer

Asked by
chubba
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 24, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
January 24, 2013
The Admiral brand is wholly owned by Whirlpool Corporation. This washer is manufactured in Ohio, USA. Thank you for viewing this home appliance.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Flames
Westwego, La
March 17, 2013
Admiral appliances are produced by the Maytag Corporation. Incidentally, the Maytag Corporation is owned itself by the folks at Whirlpool.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
kmnancy
Minneapolis, MN, USA
July 13, 2013
Admiral is owned and serviced by Maytag. I had to go to an authorized Maytag appliance repair shop to get warranty service.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pat55
OH
April 11, 2013
Admiral is now made by Whirlpool
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Laundrylady
Gorham, ME, USA
February 24, 2013
Admiral/Maytag
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Gawesna
Bosque, NM 87002, USA
February 13, 2013
Admiral/Mag Tag..
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
rg
August 29, 2013
Notice the Admiral looks just like the Roper that's sold at Lowes. Both look very similar to the Whirlpool 4800. Whirpool pretty much owns all the American washer brands now except for GE and Speed Queen.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a receptacle for fabric softener?

Asked by
Jul
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
March 17, 2013
no, but i set the timer on the stove for 47 min. then add softener to normal regular rinse.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LeeB
May 28, 2013
No, unfortunately not.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AntCarol
Massachusetts, USA
April 25, 2013
No, but you can buy a little hollow ball made especially for fabric softener. I believe Downey makes this product and it can be found with the fabric softener.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bhcdac
Charlotte, NC
March 18, 2013
No, just the spot for bleach.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 18, 2013
Not on this model
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bettyjean
Vassar, MI 48768, USA
March 19, 2013
yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
wizard
March 28, 2013
yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
FionaF
March 19, 2013
No, only for bleach.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
dave
Lorain, OH, USA
June 3, 2013
NO. unless you buy the option i guess, mine did not come with one.. i am doing the same cloths for the 3rd time right now.. just trying to get this useless washer to continue to rinse cycle so its done..
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
amye
Cincinnati, OH, USA
June 20, 2013
No, there isn't. That was one of the downsides for me. I'm buying a Downy Ball so I can just throw it in.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Karen
VT
July 2, 2013
No, not on this model but I bought a downy ball and it eliminates the need for one. It does have a bleach dispenser though.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the machine large enough to wash comforters and bedspreads in?

Asked by
Stacey
Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 14, 2013
I see it is a 3.4 cu ft. tub but can it handle a comforter or bedspread?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
Yes to both. However, limit the comforter/bedspread size to no more than queen sized for light-weight spreads. If the spread is heavy, I recommend no larger than a full-sized spread. Otherwise, the spread will not wash/rinse effectively and the tub may go off balance.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Scootman
Wisconsin, USA
October 15, 2013
Yes it can handle 1 comforter. 3.4 is a nice size tub. My wife and I are happy with this easy to use washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mommaswink
Tucson, AZ, USA
October 22, 2013
I have washed different sizes of comforters. It all depends on what it is made of and how large the comforter is.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dkmoore38
CT
November 5, 2013
Yes, without a doubt I have had a king size in the machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Disappointed
Rumson, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 11, 2014
Just because it can, doesn't mean it should. You should use a large capacity front loader for comforters and bedspreads. The agitation with top loads can damage large items.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
I have a king sized comforter I take to a laundrymat to make sure I dont think Mine will wash in this machine
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GinInAugusta
Augusta, GA, USA
February 4, 2014
I've successfully washed a plain king/queen sized comforter in my machine. When I washed a 100 % cotton thermal blanket of the same size it did bang some since the cotton bunched up a bit and was very heavy once wet, but that came out fine, too.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mrstee
Little Rock, AR, USA
December 27, 2013
It can handle one at a time. But make sure u set it to large load and balance the item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Chris
New Mexico
November 5, 2013
I wouldn't wash a comforter in it unless it is double or less. It's not that large of a tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
It may handle something like a coverlet. But, the machine is not designed to do what commercial washer is capable of doing. Personally, I would not risk it. There is a reason why the tags on most bedspreads tell you to use either a front loading or commercial machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Landlord
Raleigh,NC
November 6, 2013
I don't think so.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I live on the 4th floor and I'm concerned about how noisy are these washer and dryer

Asked by
nina
dallas tx
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
Mine is quieter than the old washer I had. The thing dose make different sounds from the old one but it is like the latch locking and the whining sound of the motor turning the drum but it is not that loud. I doubt it is as loud as kids yelling and running, so I wouldn't worry about putting this on the 4th floor.

I added a video so you can hear it. I don't even hear the water like you do on this video since the lid is down when it is in use.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ly0ung
La Quinta, CA, USA
May 6, 2014
The washer has quite a spin on it - we have remarked that it might not be good in an apartment situation because of its unique spin. It isn't loud and it doesn't move around, but it does move a lot more inside during the spin cycle than any other washer we've ever had.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
April 29, 2014
The washing machine does shake when the machine is spinning. Make sure the washer is well balanced and that will help with the noise. My dryer is not noisy and will not disturb the neighbors.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 15, 2014
Machine in quiet and no vibration. I think it would be a good choice for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
SavyShopper
Phoenix, AZ, USA
April 28, 2014
A little noisy during the spinning. I don't have to listen to it since I have it in a different room.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Spot
May 8, 2014
Fairly quiet. A lot quieter than my previous washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TexasPepper
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 18, 2014
Very quiet, and you should have no problems at all. I've had mine a few months and am delighted with the lack of noise as compared to my old Kenmore. I'd totally recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
the pair of them are on the quite side , just a buzz sound when each 1 is done .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
I am on the second floor of my apartment building and I have had no complaints or issues. It's quiet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Pony
Ashburn, VA, USA
April 22, 2014
you should be fine. this washer should not carry noise out of the room that it is in.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Sandie
Iowa, USA
May 13, 2014
This admiral is louder than my older one. it is in my basement and I can hear it on the next floor up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it big enough for a decent sized load?

Asked by
Bythesea
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 7, 2012
My old washer was 4.3 cubic feet.. This washer sounds great but I wonder if I'll miss the size and wish I had spent more to get a larger washer. An average load for us might be 4-5 pairs of jeans, 7 t-shirts, plus other small items. Thank you in advance for your answer!
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Raba311
Centreville, Virginia
October 10, 2012
Please do yourself a favor and buy a bigger washer. This one is way too slow and I am completely sure you will be very dissapointed. Buy a G. E. or the equivalent. I just got one and is wonderful, fast, strong and very low noise. what else could I ask for?
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
renisans
October 25, 2012
This washer is big enough for large loads. I like it a lot for its price.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Vonnie
North Carolina
October 16, 2012
You may miss the size a little. In an average large load, I would not recommend more than 3 pairs of jeans, along with 7-8 T-shirts and other small items. Although, the washer has a large basin, the power of the agitation is not as aggressive as I would like. You could fit 4-5 pairs of jeans in the washer, but, they may not receive the quality of clean that you may desire.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cbear
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
September 4, 2013
This washer is much bigger than my old maytag and my amana.
I had the largest tubs on both and this washer puts both of them to shame.
I can place a king size comforter and still have ample room or a very fluffy
queen size comforter and not worry anout this washer in any way. Lots of room.
Glad to see that they have actually looked at how much space is still left .
Can easily accomodate your loads.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
Yes. This does a nice sized load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
I do not think it will be a problem. However, it is important that the clothes be placed in the machine loosely.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
It is pretty good size. You should be able to stuff it in o.k.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
AntCarol
Massachusetts, USA
April 25, 2013
Yes, it has a good size tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
John
July 16, 2013
I had the same concern, my old washer was 4.6 cubic feet. For the size loads you are talking about though this machine will handle that and more just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
SouthernMama
August 14, 2013
No you can not wash a decent sized load. Though the tub does not look much smaller than normal, if you fill it as high as the holes (like a "normal" washer) it WILL NOT wash well. You really have to fill it 3/4 full to have any hope of pulling out clean clothes, which due to the smaller tub size is about half to two-thirds a "normal" load. You will miss it. One of the many reasons I returned this machine. I would have had to go from 1 load a day to 2. So not energy efficient, but try explaining that to federal government.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
November 29, 2012
I thinks it's bigger. I can put 5 pairs of jeans in it and still have room for some shirts.
And it still gets them clean.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the lid lock?

Asked by
Georgia Boy
Georgia
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mike
Peoria, IL, USA
April 30, 2013
yes, on spin haven't checked on agitate yet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
swedemom
NY
April 30, 2013
Yes and unlocks at end of wash...I love this feature.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
cgef02
May 25, 2013
Yes, the lid locks once the machine has filled with water. You can unlock it easily, by pressing a button and waiting a few seconds for the cycle to stop.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
May 23, 2013
yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jsperfect12
SC
April 29, 2013
Yes, the lid locks but you can unlock it by pausing the cycle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
April 29, 2013
Yes, however it is easy to unlock.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
FionaF
April 29, 2013
Yes it does but if you need to open it you can press the Start/Cancel button. The manual says it takes a few seconds but I found it unlocks almost immediately.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
April 29, 2013
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
April 30, 2013
Yes, It will lock. After you push the button, it will run water for a second, then it will lock.
If u pause it, it will unlock. Then push start/ pause button again and it will lock again.
I never had a problem with it not locking or unlocking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
kittie2176
Tucson, AZ, USA
May 6, 2013
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bambi
McPherson, KS 67460, USA
May 14, 2013
Yes, the lid locks when the washing machine begins the washing cycle - AFTER it has filled with water.. You can press the start button to unlock it, but do it carefully or the washer will completely start the cycle over again. In other words, don't hold that button down, just push it in for about a second until you hear the lock release.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it normal for it to fill slow?

Asked by
amye
cincinnati
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 19, 2013
We got it today, did 3 loads and each took 10 minutes or so to fill up. The loads took 45, 40 & 42 minutes. Is this normal? I love the capacity size of it and it got the clothes really clean, but is the timing normal or is something wrong with it? I did check and make sure the valves(i guess you call them) were turned on all the way & they were.
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pat55
OH
June 20, 2013
Yes, I have the same model & it does fill a little slower, the new models do not sound or work like the older models but they do get your clothes clean, I really like mine after getting used to all of it's quirks & noises
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Frustrated
Oakland, NJ
July 28, 2013
From what I was told by the repairman that came out to look at ours, it is normal for these newer machines.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIAMOND
August 1, 2013
YES...IT TAKES ABOUT 50-55 MINS. TO FILL,WASH N SPIN.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LukeSr
Sebastian
June 21, 2013
Amye,
To answer your question, yes, I believe this is normal for this washer to fill slowly. This model mixes hot and cold water together while the tub fills (except on the cold water setting). The hot water setting actually gives you "warm" and the warm water setting is actually "cool." I have the same washer and it takes about 45 minutes to finish a cycle. Hope this helps!

Luke Sr.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
kmnancy
Minneapolis, MN, USA
July 13, 2013
I don't know if it's "normal," but mine fills slowly as well. I've read for this particular model, a load takes about 40 min.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WhiteyWi
Las Vegas Nevada
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 19, 2014
Our new Admiral washer and gas dryer works and cleans well. Only negative observation is that the washer fills much slower than previous washer and is noisier, They have simple controls. Who needs all the fancy bells and whistles which are often the cause of minor problems and the high cost of service calls. Value and price is good.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Texdel
Texas
June 26, 2013
The times listed seem fairly normal. 3.4 cu ft = 25.4 gal; pretty sure that the washer does not use 25 gal of water per cycle, but the fill time could be long when you think of the possibility. Also, low water pressure may cause longer fill times. Size of the internal tubing greatly limits flow rate so fill time could be quite a wait.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Who makes Admiral?

Asked by
KC
Janesville, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 10, 2012
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
memcom
Houston, TX, USA
December 28, 2012
Maytag.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 11, 2012
The Admiral home appliance brand is manufactured and owned by Whirlpool Corporation. At this time, it is an exclusive lineup for The Home Depot.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
Maytag Corp.
(now owned by Whirlpool)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
Admiral, Amana and Roper are now Whirlpool products.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
"Admiral" is the name under which Whirlpool sells its product through The Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
November 29, 2012
Whirlpool
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Fiona
February 28, 2013
Whirlpool
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Fridgidare/Maytag
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JoJo
Long Island NY
May 15, 2014
FYI Maytag makes the Admiral.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
Whirlpool
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
engel1965
Madisonville, TX 77864, USA
November 15, 2012
Maytag, dont waste your money, not worth it.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does your washer make a skronking noise during the wash (agitation) acycle?

Asked by
YawningDog
New England
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 8, 2013
"Skronking" is the only word I can come up with for this sound. It sort of sounds like a duck or goose with a really deep voice, and the noise is in synch with the agitator movement: skronk skronk skronk, skronk skronk skronk, etc. It's not very loud and the machine doesn't move when it's happening, but it's a noise I've never heard from a washer before, and there's nothing in the manual about it being okay to make any kind of noise while agitating.
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
customer
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
June 22, 2013
Mine does this too, I guess is normal
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 10, 2013
YawningDog,
This washer does not work nor sound the same as a traditional style washer. I have cut and pasted below different sounds and actions that should expect to notice during the cycle. I found them in the use and care guide. It appears that you have this washer in your ownership currently, if reading below doesn't answer your questions or you still have concern, I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline. The number is 877.461.3376, option 2, option 1, you will be placed in touch with a Parts/Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Lid Locked
To allow for higher spin speeds, the lid will lock and the
Lid Locked light will turn on. When this light is lit, the lid is
locked and cannot be opened. When this light is blinking,
the washer is paused. When this light is off, the lid can be
opened. After a cycle is started, the lid locks, unlocks, and
locks again. If you need to open the lid to add a garment
after this point, you must press START/Pause/Unlock Lid
and wait for the lid to unlock. The lid will only unlock after
washer movement has stopped. Depending on when in
the cycle you try to pause, it may take several seconds to
several minutes for the lid to unlock.

Sensing
This washer will perform a series of spins to check
for load balance. When a load is started, it may take
2–3 minutes before water begins to enter the basket.
During this time, a series of clicks and a whirring noise
signal that sensing technology is determining if there
is an off-balance load.

Sounds
At different stages of the wash cycle, you may hear
sounds and pauses that are different from those of your
previous washer. For example, you may hear a clicking
and hum at the beginning of the cycle as the lid lock
goes through a self-test. There will be different kinds of
humming and whirring sounds as the agitator tests for
load balance or moves the load. And, sometimes, you may
hear nothing at all as the washer allows time for clothes to
soak.

Spray Rinse
Select cycles default to a spray rinse. During these cycles,
you will hear water enter the washer as the tub spins,
allowing the rinse water to penetrate clothes. Check the
“Cycle Guide” for details.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
YawningDog
New England
June 12, 2013
Thanks to everyone for for all the replies. This is a specific noise during agitation that is almost like a rhythmic honking. I did read the manual about the noises before I posted the question, and there is nothing mentioning this specific noise. A "wooshing" noise would be normal, I would think, because that would be the noise of the water agitating, but this sounds more like a groan in synch with the agitation. All the other noises described in the manual sound as they should. It's also very quiet during spin and doesn't rock the house like our previous front-loader, so that's great.

I'll try calling Home Depot and have them listen to the noise over the phone, and will report back on their reply.

Thanks again!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Terri
Sellersburg, IN 47172, USA
June 10, 2013
It makes a lot of strange noises compared to other older washers. Just have to get used to it. It still surprises me with a new one sometimes!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
YawningDog
New England
June 13, 2013
My result posting was denied. I didn't include any links, but I'll try to rewrite it:

I spoke with a rep who listened to the noise over the phone and said it was normal for such washers because (paraphrasing here:) "today's top-loaders, even if they're not HE washers, use much less water than the old-style ones and so the agitation is a bit different." She said I could go to the manufacturer's site (the manufacturer is W) and under Service & Support on the home page click on Product Help. Then for Select A Product choose Laundry from the drop-down menu, then put "noise" into the search box. Under Search Results choose Sounds during wash, Top-load etc. Then click on Play the sound of washing. That's what my machine sounds like.

Problem solved!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DeeDee
Abingdon, VA, USA
June 25, 2013
Mine does the same thing, sounds like it keeps sucking for water - we thought it was gasping for air too, but we just let it do its job and realized we have a new sound to get accustomed to.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
amye
Cincinnati, OH, USA
June 20, 2013
Mine does. It scared me at first, lol, I thought it was broken. My manual says you may hear sounds you have not previously heard from washers. Upon looking at other reviews on other sites, the "skronk" is normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Carol
Dallas, TX, USA
June 21, 2013
I love your description of the sound! It's pretty accurate. My machine makes the same sound. It doesn't seem to affect performance so I'm not worried about it. Keep on skronking!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
June 10, 2013
Yes. This washer does make some strange noises, but they are normal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
FionaF
June 10, 2013
Yes it does although I'd describe mine as more of a swoosh swoosh. How loud it is may depend on the location it is in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
George
Texas, USA
July 2, 2013
Yes, ours makes a sound like you described. We have owned it about a month and it seems to be getting less noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The washer is quiet, but it sounds like a quiet saw when agitating. Normal?

Asked by
SKIP
Tennessee
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 28, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
October 2, 2012
SKIP,
I have taken the portion from the Use and Care Manual on this Admiral Washer concerning Sound and pasted below. There are sounds that this washer makes that are unlike a "traditional" top load washer that many consumers don't expect. This is normal operation. Please read below and see if this explanation doesn't satisfy your question. If you still feel your sounds are abnormal, then please feel free to contact The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 and speak with a parts/service specialist. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Sounds
At different stages of the wash cycle, you may hear
sounds and pauses that are different from those of your
previous washer. For example, you may hear a clicking
and hum at the beginning of the cycle as the lid lock
goes through a self-test. There will be different kinds of
humming and whirring sounds as the agitator tests for
load balance or moves the load. And, sometimes, you may
hear nothing at all as the washer allows time for clothes to
soak.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
renisans
October 25, 2012
I can hear the agitation of the washer but it isn't as loud as my former Maytag. Anyways, I like it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Vonnie
North Carolina
October 16, 2012
Yes. The "quiet saw" agitation sound is normal. That is a very accurate description. LOL!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
FionaF
October 5, 2012
Yes, it took me a little while to get used to the different sounds- the old swish-swosh sound went away with the old machine. This one has clicks and digital wheezing! But rest assured this is normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
November 29, 2012
Yes, it is normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
January 30, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
SouthernMama
August 14, 2013
Every cycle sounds like a gently cycle to me. Of course, it did not get the clothes clean. I returned it. I do not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
That's what I hear! At different stages in the cycle, I notice differing noises and pauses than in my past washers. Clicking, humming, no sounds, saw-like noises: Agitator tests are being done for load balance and when you hear nothing, washer is allowing time for clothes soaking. Manual says it's all normal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
My agitator does not make a lot of noise either, but the cloth come out very clean.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a way to soak a load?

Asked by
alangski
Bradenton Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 5, 2013
Occasionally I want to bleach stained items and can't figure out how to put this thing in a soak mode for an hour or two. Nothing in the manual helps.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Joanna
St Petersburg
October 8, 2013
forgot to mention this part..... I opened the lid .... since it locks you have to press the button to pause... I opened during wash cycle... cause I wanted to soak... when I went back about 30 min later all the water was gone..and there is no soak cycle
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
My suggestion is to soak your items in the kitchen sink or bathtub if you need to soak materials for more than ten minutes. With this washer, you can soak a load only for under ten minutes without disrupting machine cycling. After ten minutes, if you do not lower the lid and push the START button,the washer will automatically pump the water from the tub and you will need to start cycling all over again. I know from experience! :(

Be aware of soaking for too long. With some fabrics, soaking for long periods of time actually reintroduces stains back into the fabric. Bleaching for too long can, in many instances, render the fabric "tender" which will cause holes or rips in the fabric with subsequent washing.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
October 7, 2013
alangski,

This washer does not offer a soak option. One idea that you can do is to start a load of laundry, then go and pause the washer and let the clothing soak for however long you feel is necessary, then restart the cycle. This is an alternative for washers that do not have a soak cycle or option. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SCMomOf3
SC
October 8, 2013
If you leave the lid open the cycle wont start, but the water will fill. You would have to close the lid when the 1-2 hour soak is done and your ready for it to start. There may be another way that I'm not aware of, but that's my best guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Judy
October 9, 2013
There is no way to soak. I had the same problem. The only thing I could do is soak articles in a large bucket and then put in the machine to be washed. Not an easy process, but it works.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
Do what I do - soak the clothes in the laundry tub. You can soak them for as long as you want, and if they are heavily soiled, the water drains through the laundry tub which has a larger diameter drain than the internal drain in the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
As far as I know it's not an option. This machine has no options and even the basic features are flawed. Sell it or live with it, I'm in the same boat with mine. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
Contact the manufacturer customer service line possibly they can help with the answer to this question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

are there different water levels

Asked by
jones
hamden ct
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 4, 2012
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FionaF
October 5, 2012
Yes, and a full load will not fill with water all the way to the top of the drum as with older machines. Nice water saving feature.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JBlock
January 29, 2013
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Scott
Arizona
October 5, 2012
The settings on the washer are labeled Small, Medium and Large, for the Load Size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
Yes, there are three levels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
Yes, 3 levels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Yes - small, medium, large
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mommaswink
Tucson, AZ, USA
October 22, 2013
Yes, small, medium and large.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
JoJo
Long Island NY
May 15, 2014
There are three different settings. You can set the dial for small, medium and large loads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
Yes, small, medium and large loads
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
TLW68
Missouri Valley, IA 51555, USA
November 29, 2012
Yes there are. small, medium & large.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

my new washer will not power up. none of the lights comes no water no nothing. everything is hooked up. does it need to be loaded.

Asked by
kelchu
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mwells002
Wisconsin, USA
July 4, 2013
No, it should run if it's empty. Double check your outlet and if the washer still isn't working, call customer service.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Karen
VT
July 4, 2013
press the start/pause button once
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 20, 2013
try loading, then if nothing check breaker or gfi outlet , ck plug with a light
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
kelchu
TX
July 10, 2013
I turned off the water and then pressed the start pause button and it came on. I turned on my water and started washing clothes. Thanks for the comments.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mainer
Maine, USA
July 9, 2013
This machine will run empty... Sounds like a power issue, bad fuse, or defective unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
John
July 16, 2013
I does not need to be loaded to work.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
CurlyQ
Upstate NY
July 17, 2013
No, it shouldn't need to be loaded to turn on. Have you tried a different outlet or the fuse box for that outlet?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
SCMomOf3
SC
October 8, 2013
no, it doesnt need to be loaded. Make sure its plugged in, and then make sure you fuse is turned on.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
does the power outlet work, no power nothing will work.if it does sounds like you need to call where you purchased it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
The washer should power up even if there are no cloth in the machine. Contact a service technician for possible repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Pipe Banging???

Asked by
JF
Edwardsville,Pa.
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 24, 2012
Why do the pipes in my cellar bang when I start the washer. My other washer never done that. I am quite sure there is no air in the water lines. I have no clue what it could be.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tangelo
Chicago
October 25, 2012
Hello JF!

When I purchased my front loading washer i experienced the same thing. The reason this happens is because new washers open and close the water valve very abruptly, thus causing the "water hammer" effect. I installed 2 of these Washing Machine Arrester's on my hot & cold lines, directly on the back of the washer, and the hammer never came back.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
renisans
October 25, 2012
My pipes don't bang when I start it. I'm not sure if the washer is the cause.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
The pipes are not properly secued to the wall (or beams).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JF
Edwardsville,Pa.
October 31, 2012
I installed 2 of the resettors as mentioned here and no more banging. Thank You Very Much
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Thomas
February 23, 2013
Not to worry. The switching of the hot water on and off will make the pipes bang. Try securing the pipes against something with tie wraps. That may solve the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Very strange! The only thing I have noticed is that when the water temp is set on "warm" the washer will feed in the hot line as on/off, on/off, on/off instead of a steady flow. This may be sending a mild shock wave through your system. Not serious though, just annoying! It should not do it on the cold or hot settings though???
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Texdel
Texas
February 19, 2013
If you are sure that is not air (which is the most likely answer), then other possibilities are:
- During installation, pipe supports were damaged and no longer secure.
- Weak control voltage to the machine causing the control valve to rapidly turn off and on.
- Frozen pipes (it is winter).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
John
July 16, 2013
Just a guess. The water valves on this machine open and shut more quickly than your old machine - causing the pipe bang. The real question maybe: why are your pipes not properly secured? Sounds like you might need to add a few pipe hold downs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THERE ANY WAY I CAN BY PASS THE LIDLOCK SO I CAN WATCH THE WATER FILL OR THE WASHER WASH WITH THE LID OPEN?

Asked by
PASSION
FLORIDA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DrDon
Florida, USA
April 10, 2013
very good question.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
angelfish50
Arizona, USA
August 3, 2013
No, not unless you pause it. However, once you start the load there is still time to open the lid right away to watch the water fill or add more items. Once filled you have to close the lid to start the cycle.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nelliot53
Puerto Rico
January 23, 2013
Just start any cycle with the lid open. It won't start until you close the lid and it locks. If you want to watch the fill for the rinse cycle, then just open the lid as it begins, but it will stop filling , so open it after it stops filling to check on the water level.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
123R
Venice, FL, USA
February 25, 2013
Nope a safety feature. you can press the stop end button wait till the lid unlocks and then look in to see what is happening. Close the lid, hit start button again to resume.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Rush
Alabama, USA
February 13, 2013
The lock lid is for safety & by passing this feature could void your warranty.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mom1
February 12, 2013
I haven't found a way to do it. It starts and stops so many times on its own that I've decided that I don't want to watch. The clothes come out clean, so I'm happy.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

IS IT NORMAL FOR THE MACHINE TO TAKE 10 MINUTES OR LONGER TO FILL THE BASKET NO MATTER WHAT THE WATER LEVEL IS?

Asked by
LAUNDRY QUEEN
TEXAS
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 21, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
May 22, 2012
Laundry Queen,
It is possible that the washer take about 10 minutes to fill. This is because the washer is initailly checking the load size and ensuring the load is balanced. Next, the washer will begin to fill and sense the optimal amount of water to use for the best performance in the wash cycle. The wash cycle will begin once the load is distributed properly and the correct amount of water is in the tub. This Admiral washer doesnt waste energy and water as it uses the optimal amount for the best wash performance. Thank you for allowing us to answer your question.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JFGLS
May 23, 2012
It doesn't take mine that long. But I noticed it does take longer if I am running something else in the house like the dishwasher..the water pressure weakens.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIAMOND
Florida, USA
January 20, 2013
NO MATTER WHAT...IT TAKES 10 MINUTES TO FILL!!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mom1
September 26, 2012
No, that's too long. Maybe the inlet screens are clogged.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Lid lock just started blinking out of the blue then when tried to wash a load only filled then stopped & that lite started blinking & did nothing!!

Asked by
Deeg
Pa
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bruce
July 2, 2013
This machine has a different set of timer sequences than other washers. Even when you think it's not working, it is. the wash cycle takes time and makes different sounds. If there was an interruption of the lock just press the start button for about 3 seconds and it will unlock. make sure the washer isn't overloaded , then restart.

the manual states:

LID LOCKED
To allow for higher spin speeds, the lid
will lock and the Lid Locked light will turn
on. When this light is on, the lid is locked
and cannot be opened. When this light is
blinking, the washer is paused. When this
light is off, the lid can be opened.
If you need to open the lid, press START/
Pause/Unlock Lid. The lid will unlock once
the washer movement has stopped. This
may take several minutes if the load was
spinning at high speed. Press START/Pause/
Unlock Lid again to resume the cycle.

hope this helps
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 20, 2013
try holding the start button for a few seconds so it will reset, or try unplugging the washer, if keeps on call service
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mainer
Maine, USA
July 9, 2013
the light will blink when the cycle is interrupted. Try pressing the button to resume wash, also make sure the lock latch is not broken, this might cause a problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Tapper65
Central, SC
July 1, 2013
I would suggest taking it back and getting a replacement if it's still new enough or just plan on a new machine. This machine clearly has production issues and the manufacturer isn't doing the retailers or end users any favors by pretending that things are ok. A very "buggy" machine. My still works in the 2nd month in my house (3rd machine after exchanges), but I've got a reserve fund that I'm building for the day I'll have to throw in the towel and replace it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LRSmith
Warren, MI, USA
August 13, 2013
You need to get it serviced. I don't believe that's normal operational procedures.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
This sounds like the washer was unable to fill to the proper level. I'm unclear as to where the cycle exactly was when you tried to wash the load. But I'm thinking you needed to unlock the lid and manually redistribute the clothes in the tub. Also, if the tub is tightly packed, the light will flash as an indicator to that as well. If the cycling is interrupted, such as the light flashing, it can take the machine minutes to recycle, after re-pushing the START button, to where it should be in the washing process. Not knowing what you did after the machine "did nothing," I cannot be of further assistance; but I hope this gives you some further insight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
Contact a service technician
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 »