Looking for Answers about Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547519. A Home Depot exclusive, this 3.4 cu. ft. traditional top load washer can remove more water from the load thanks to a max spin speed of 700 RPM, providing shorter drying times and energy savings in the dryer. On the console, a cycle status bar allows you to see where the load is in the cycle and indicates when the lid is locked. Finally, the advanced suspension system senses the load size and stabilizes the wash basket to help with noise and vibration control.
Customer questions and answers:
118 Questions
 | 
657 Answers
Overall rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

does this have wheels so it can be moved from SPACE IN KITCHEN TO MY KITCHEN SINK ?

Asked by
TINYBUBBLES1
CONNECTICUT
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 27, 2014
can this washer be used with a Y HOSE TO CONNECT TO ADAPTER ON KITCHEN SINK? I HAVE NO CONNECTIONS FOR WASHER HERE I DID THAT WITH MY SMALLER 2.0 CU ONE TILL IT DIED
iF NO WHEELS ANY SUGGESTIONS ON MOVING IT EASILY I AM A SENIOR
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
September 30, 2014
This washer is not designed to be portable. It is a stationary washer meant to reside in one place and stay there. I do not have any suggestions for making this particular model portable. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height, depth and width; the area we are considering is only 28 inches deep? We need to know the total dimensions. Thank you.

Asked by
Nancy
Virginia
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
September 30, 2014
Below are the dimensions for this Top Load Washer. These specs can be found on the product page also under the Specifications area. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wondering if this Admiral has a lint catcher ?

Asked by
ROSCOE
Cary,N.C.
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 24, 2014
Maybe all washers have lint catchers-not sure.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sher
Sequim WA
September 26, 2014
Although I have not seen one, I'd imagine it's built into the machine's drain system. I don't remember an actual lint catcher on a washer since my mother's machine, 50 years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sunzx2
Summerfield Florida
September 26, 2014
Not as far as I have seen
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamMaytag
September 30, 2014
There is not a lint filter that you have to manually clean on this washer or any automatic washer that I am aware in today's clothes washers. The filter is automatically flushed after each wash. There is not a need to have to manually clean the filter. Thank you for viewing this washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Residual water in washer?

Asked by
John
Central New Hampshire
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 13, 2014
My washer is in my cottage in New Hampshire and is not used in winter. How do I totally drain out this water or winterize the machine? Every other device always has to be drained in this very cold climate.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HappyLady
Goldsboro, North Carolina
September 14, 2014
According to Winter Storage Care, this is the manufacturer's instructions: Important - To avoid damage, install and store washer where it will not freeze. Because some water may stay in hoses, freezing can damage washer. If storing or moving during freezing weather, winterize your washer by:
1. Shut off both water faucets, disconnect and drain water inlet hoses.
2. Put 1 qt. (1L) of R.V. - type antifreeze in basket and run washer on Rinse/Spin cycle for about 30 seconds to mix antifreeze with remaining water.
3. Unplug washer or disconnect power.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sher
Sequim WA
September 16, 2014
Although we don't have this problem currently, our experience in colder climes would be to drain the machine. A little work now is much easier than broken pipe cleanup later.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamMaytag
September 30, 2014
You can winterize the washer if needed. This information is located in the Use and Care Guide and I have also pasted it below for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Admiral top load wahser.

WINTER STORAGE CARE
IMPORTANT: To avoid damage, install and store washer
where it will not freeze. Because some water may stay in
hoses, freezing can damage washer. If storing or moving
during freezing weather, winterize your washer.
To winterize washer:
1. Shut off both water faucets; disconnect and drain water
inlet hoses.
2. Put 1 qt. (1 L) of R.V.-type antifreeze in basket and run
washer on RINSE/SPIN cycle for about 30 seconds to
mix antifreeze and remaining water.
3. Unplug washer or disconnect power
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does your brand new machine have water in it straight out of the box?

Asked by
Winter
Texas
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HappyLady
Goldsboro, North Carolina
September 3, 2014
Not sure, my delivery men, bought the machine in and connected it and started up a load right away so I could see everything was working. I have had it for about three weeks and have experienced no problems, even with using it almost every day for a load or two.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
September 3, 2014
Winter,

All of our home appliances are tested for proper operation at the factory. There might some residual water in the pump of the washing machines, this is normal. If you have additional questions or concerns, you can contact The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1 to inquire further. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sunzx2
Summerfield Florida
September 26, 2014
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how many gallons of water is used per load?

Asked by
waterboy
fargo,nd
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
August 27, 2014
Anonymous

I do not have the exact gallon usage per load for this washer. It does meet the federal guidelines for water usage though, but it is not an energy star washer. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

when washing a heavy load, machine sounds like load is un-balanced (thumping, etc). machine is not very old.

Asked by
ellen
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
August 13, 2014
ellen,

Thank you for viewing this Top Load Washer. There is not a load sensor in this washer. If you are washing really heavy loads, it is possible that the items have shifted to one side. If you hear the thumping noise, you can pause the cycle re-shift the clothing and restart the cycle. Thank you for viewing this washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does water remain on the inside drum that holds the tub?

Asked by
Silver123
Pennsylvania
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 10, 2014
When you shake the inside tub that holds the agitator, you can hear water underneath? Unfortunately, the same thing has happened to the washer we have at work--same name Admiral but an industrial size washer. Even though my washer is located in the basement, I do not want stagnant water in the drum holding the tub! Any ideas?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
August 14, 2014
Silver123,

Every washer will have some residual water in it from the cycle before. Typically with normal use, this isn't an issue. There are washer tablets that you can use every several weeks that will clean the interior of the tub, hoses, pump, etc. This helps with any potential of mold or mildew buildup. We have a tablet called Affresh Washer Tablets and there are other brands available also. Thank you for viewing this top load washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Let's out a little water during fill then stops and dosen't fill at all after making a first click.

Asked by
Scott
Guam
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 30, 2014
Hello, I have the exact washer like this and like mentioned above I hit the start button. After it lets out a little water then a click comes on and no water comes out after that to fill. I was used to this before because right after the little water comes out and the click follows after water will start to fill. All of a sudden today when I was going to wash no water came out after that click. I'm having a tropical storm where I'm from so I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it. has anyone ever encountered this problem or fixed the issue? My washer is only 2 years old. It's never let me down before. Please help!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 30, 2014
Anonymous,

I apologize for the issue you are experiencing I know that can be frustrating. I would suggest that you contact the The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation service department so that they can help you troubleshoot further. If they are unable to help find some resolution, then they can assist in setting up a service call. The dial in information is below. One thing that you can try is to unplug the washer for several minutes, then plug back in. This will allow the washer to reset. Thank you for viewing this washer.

The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline
877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Cold and warm is the same cold temperature

Asked by
ForgetThoseFrontLoaders
St. Louis
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 2, 2014
Brand new washer. During the initial fill, the water temperature is the same (cold) regardless if the switch is in Cold/Cold or Warm/Cold. If Hot/Cold is selected, you can hear a relay click and the water gets hot right away. Switching between Cold/Cold and Warm/Cold there is no sounds. Shouldn't Warm/Cold produce lukewarm water?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lady63
August 15, 2014
no is the right temperature
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 3, 2014
Anonymous,

The warm wash does produce a hotter temperature than the cold. For a warm wash hot and cold are mixed. If you feel your washer isn't working as it should, you can call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline, Option 1, Option 5 and speak with a Parts and Service representative. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further. Thank you for viewing this washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DaveH
Chesterfield, MO, USA
July 15, 2014
I had the same problem. I ended up having to replace the actual water pipe in my basement. For whatever reason whoever ran the water pipes in my house (laundry room was most likely installed after the original build) they used 1/2 pipe for cold and only 3/8 for hot. I replaced the 3/8 with 1/2 pipe and now the water comes out at the same pressure. My first indication this was a problem was that a white load (using hot) seemed to take forever to wash. Hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jess
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 26, 2014
Start a hot/cold fill. Turn the cold water completely off and open the hot water. Wait until the water is hot (be careful touching it, though!) and then switch the cycle to warm and start slowly adding in cold water until the water is a bit warmer than lukewarm.

Should fix the problem!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height to the front of the machine? (not to the top of the controls)

Asked by
BFill
Seattle, WA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 22, 2014
I have a laundry chute door that opens at 37 inches. It would still open if most of the machine was under that height and only the top of the controls measured 43 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 24, 2014
BFill,

The height to the top of the flat surface (lid) on this washer is 37". Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this machine belt driven or direct drive?

Asked by
Washerless
WA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 20, 2014
Washerless,

The washer motor on this Admiral is a direct drive. Thank you for viewing this Admiral Top Load Washer.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer continuously runs....it will complete a cycle and then start over on its own....any ideas

Asked by
JZap
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 13, 2014
Anonymous,

I apologize for the issue you are experiencing, I know that can be frustrating. To best serve you, I would suggest that you contact The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected to a Parts and Service specialist. They will be able to ask you more questions and understand when the cycle continues to run. If they aren't able to provide an answer over the phone, then they would be able to schedule service if you decided you wanted to pursue that. Thank you for viewing this Admiral top load washer.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can this fit in a doorway that is 23ft. wide?

Asked by
pukin
fairfield, ct
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 12, 2014
pukin,

Below are the dimensions for this Admiral washer. This washer would certainly fit a 23 ft wide door. However, I believe you may have meant inches and if so, it would not fit. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Using Fabric Softener

Asked by
Chuck
Denham Springs, Louisiana
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 11, 2014
How can I use fabric softener if there is no spot on the agitator on this model and the lid is locked?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 12, 2014
Hi chuck, I know what you mean, when there doesn't seem to be a place to add fabric softener.

Take a look a page 4 item number 3. I don't know if this is your model. Also take a look at the top of the agitator. Some models the agitator is open on top to add softener.

Next here is how to open the lid if locked.

If you need to open the lid, press START/
Pause/Unlock Lid. The lid will unlock once
the washer movement has stopped. This
may take several minutes if the load was
spinning at high speed. Press START/Pause/
Unlock Lid again to resume the cycle.

Here is another way top add softener. page 8.

Adding Liquid Fabric Softener Manually to Wash Load
During the final rinse, wait until the washer has completed filling,
press the START/Pause/Unlock Lid button to pause the washer.
Lift the lid and add the measured recommended amount of liquid
fabric softener. Do not use more than the recommended amount.
Close the lid and press the START/Pause/Unlock Lid button again
to start the washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what are dimensions of washer

Asked by
131626
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 12, 2014
13126,

The dimensions of this washer are listed below. Thank you for viewing this Admiral Top Load Washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

specs

Asked by
Spoons1953
West Bend, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 7, 2014
what are the specific dimensions of the unit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 9, 2014
specs,

The dimensions for each appliance is located on the product page underneath the Specifications section. I have listed below also for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is plastic skirt around the motor suppose to be removed?

Asked by
Mouse
Hamilton, Alabama
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 2, 2014
Mouse,

I am not familiar with the plastic skirt you are referring to, I apologize. I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.61.3376 Option 2, Option 1. This will connect you with a Parts and Service Specialist. They would be able to assist further and setup service it you deem that it is necessary. Thank you for viewing this Admiral home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Unit starts to fill and stops?

Asked by
macfla1
Ithaca, NY
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 30, 2014
2 year old unit only used a few times in summer. In normal cycle water will start to flow in for a few seconds and stop. Does exactly the same thing on drain/spin, but green light does advance to drain/spin. Lid lock light works fine.
The manual says that fill will not start until spin check senses that unit is in balance. Unit does not do spin check, so everything stops and makes minor noises like it is trying to spin or fill?
Admiral customer service is no help, so I'm looking for some help in confirming that this problem can't be fixed procedurally? I have unplugged the unit to try and reset the electronics with no luck.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 2, 2014
macfla1,

I apologize for the issues that you are experiencing, I know that can be frustrating. I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. This will connect you with a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further and if deemed necessary setup a service call to determine the problem. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer and being customer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The washer is filled with water and is not washing. The filling botton is blinking. I just bought the washer today.

Asked by
AnaLigia
Phoenix
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PANKAJ
MINNESOTA
May 28, 2014
Nothing wrong with washer, My old washer had electronic motherboard, It was 16 yrsold.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GardenerGirl
Albany, OR, USA
June 3, 2014
Check to make sure the drain hose isn't pushed too far down in the pipe in your wall. The drain hose is only supposed to be about 4 inches into the pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dlmc
May 27, 2014
Unfortunately, this model seems to have a bad batch. My exact purchase same problem filled to overflow and also would not drain. You can call the warranty department and schedule a service rep to come out and look and or fix your brand new washer or return to home depot. The later was the option I have chosen. Sorry I did not have a concrete solution to your problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
john
North Port, FL 34286, USA
May 28, 2014
First make sure the washer is level. Then check the lid switch on/of plastic bar that is usually on the lid,
make sure it aligns with the hole on the washer.
Other than that you will need a V/O meter to further check the switch.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »