Looking for Answers about Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547519. A Home Depot exclusive, this 3.4 cu. ft. traditional top load washer can remove more water from the load thanks to a max spin speed of 700 RPM, providing shorter drying times and energy savings in the dryer. On the console, a cycle status bar allows you to see where the load is in the cycle and indicates when the lid is locked. Finally, the advanced suspension system senses the load size and stabilizes the wash basket to help with noise and vibration control.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions
 | 
552 Answers
Overall rating:
4.011 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Multiple openings/closings of the water valve during intial fill- is this normal?

Asked by
SteveR
Milwaukee, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 21, 2014
When filling the tub with water to start a load, my washer constantly switches from a fast flow to a slow flow, regardless of water temperature or wash setting. This means that the inlet valve is consistently opening and closing on the unit, causing my water pipes to vibrate and causing a "banging" sound. Is this operation normal for this washer? My previous washer (of a different model) would fill smoothly and shut the valve off once when the tub was full, this one seems to open & close the valve multiple times during the fill.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer allows for a steady flow of water with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 22, 2014
The washer opens and closes the valves when it is filling and it appears to me it is mixing the water to gain a certain temperature.

I answered this but HD deemed it to be inappropriate I suppose because I gave you a model number of the item you need to correct the water hammer. Use a search engine and look for washing machine shock arrestor. There are a number on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
StevenR,

It is normal for the water to fill a few times. The washer is sensing the load size and finding the optimal amount of water to use for the specific load. As to not overfill, the washer will fill with some water, let it saturate the clothing, then add as needed. Even though you are selecting the load size, the washer is also determine that the load stays balanced as well during this time. For more information you can view the Use and Care Guide which will provide more detail. Also, if you still feel you have an issue with your washer, I would suggest giving service a call to troubleshoot further over the phone. They can also setup a call if you deem that it is necessary. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer does the same thing stops then starts filling up again, so I have to think that this process is normal. My water pipes however, to not bang like yours do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Skunk
Stockton, CA, USA
April 22, 2014
I thought it was a little odd as well, but I decided that it was an energy savings thing. I only run my loads with warm water, so I couldn't tell you why it would do that with a cold water wash cycle. It does run much quieter than my old kenmore, and it seems to get my clothes clean, so it works well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2014
Yes, I noticed the same thing when I got my washer. I believe to is a different was to regulate the warm water setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
SteveR
April 22, 2014
This is SteveR. Thank you all (including Maytag) for answering my question in such a short period of time. I really appreciate it. With your answers, I have learned that this behavior in this wash machine is normal. It has something to do with the water saving and load sensing features. I plan to purchase the water shock arrestor. Thanks again for all your advice!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a computer board ?

Asked by
MzCC
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 17, 2014
I want a washer without the computer board. Hot Point makes one. I also prefer a dial on off knob as a push button.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
No computer board. It has traditional dial knobs and a push button to begin the wash cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LHLC111
Diamond Bar, CA
April 17, 2014
This has a dial for wash settings, heavy or light or delicate load, but the washer itself is all computer controlled. I would have bought a dial knob type washer but I think they are all phased out.

This washer works on first wash. If you wash a second load right after or even 15 minutes after the first load finished, then it will go beserk (the second load will keep draining after you add detergent and it has been agitating for 10 minutes. It will keep on draining while filling with water and never hit the spin and rinse stages.

The only way to wash a second load is to wait at least an hour then everything is fine. Something is definitely wrong with the electronics. Maybe overheating? I don't know but it is not working right (second load).

I plan on calling the company in the summer but now I am never home and don't want my wife to be home alone with a service tech. I hope the company doesn't give me a run-around. I have until October to act on my warranty.

Good luck with your decision/purchase.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MommyMo
Daphne, AL, USA
April 22, 2014
Nope! This is the washing machine you need!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Admiral Washer stopped washing

Asked by
Kelly
franklin, nc
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 15, 2014
My washer is about 1-2 months old and the last week it's been filling really slowly. As of last night, it's stopped. It stopped in the middle of the wash cycle and now won't fill water at all. We are on well water, I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Any advice? Should I call Home Depot to come look at it or is it something I can fix here? When we try to get it to fill, the fill light just flashes, but nothing else happens.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
Kelly,
I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. The Service Customer Care Representative will be able to troubleshoot with you over the phone. If you do not get the resolution you are seeking, then they would be able to setup service as well. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer and being one of our customers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live on the 4th floor and I'm concerned about how noisy are these washer and dryer

Asked by
nina
dallas tx
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
the pair of them are on the quite side , just a buzz sound when each 1 is done .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 15, 2014
Machine in quiet and no vibration. I think it would be a good choice for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TexasPepper
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 18, 2014
Very quiet, and you should have no problems at all. I've had mine a few months and am delighted with the lack of noise as compared to my old Kenmore. I'd totally recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pony
Ashburn, VA, USA
April 22, 2014
you should be fine. this washer should not carry noise out of the room that it is in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
Mine is quieter than the old washer I had. The thing dose make different sounds from the old one but it is like the latch locking and the whining sound of the motor turning the drum but it is not that loud. I doubt it is as loud as kids yelling and running, so I wouldn't worry about putting this on the 4th floor.

I added a video so you can hear it. I don't even hear the water like you do on this video since the lid is down when it is in use.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
I am on the second floor of my apartment building and I have had no complaints or issues. It's quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when filling with water

Asked by
deli
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 9, 2014
when the washer is filling with water it makes a clicking noise when the water goes from hot to cold. the hot and cold don't go at the same time. the washer is not even a month old.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 11, 2014
deli,

I do not see a question in this statement. If you have a concern and question, please clarify so that I can provide a satisfactory response. If you feel you are having troubles with your washer, you can reach out to The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I NEED TO GET A COPY OF THE USER GUIDE

Asked by
DJM9
THONOTOSASSA FLORIDA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 5, 2014
CAN SOMEONE HELP ME
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 7, 2014
DJM9,

If you look on the product page you will find several documents that you can download for reference. One of the documents is the Use and Care Guide. It is located in the "Info & Guides" area. Thank you for viewing this washer.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can i put this on layaway wit my card on line

Asked by
asb1
phila
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 5, 2014
the washer admiral 3.4.cu ft top load washer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 6, 2014
should ask the sales rep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 7, 2014
I do not know that is a question which Home Depot should be able to answer for you. I bought my online and did not see anything online in regards to putting the washer on layaway. I would contact your local Home Depot office.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nanabanana
Trenton, N.J.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 7, 2014
call the store and ask them
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will a queen size comforter wash properly in this 3.4 washer

Asked by
dawn
wv
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 2, 2014
Anonymous,
This is our opening capacity for top load laundry. This washer should handle a typical queen sized bedspread, more like a quilt shouldn't be an issue at all. If it is over sized or really thick, it might not wash as effectively as you would want it to. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Motor

Asked by
KimsKlutter
Springfield, MO
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 31, 2014
What is the hp of the motor?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
The hp of the motor is 1/2 hp and 2 speed 120 volts.This is what you should check before replacing motor.voltage proper grounding
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
April 6, 2014
the answer to your question is on the discription
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Agitator speed seems so slow during wash.

Asked by
deaconsangel
Branson MO
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 7, 2014
I just got my new washer today, and I am trying to catch up on 2 weeks of wash. It seems to me like the normal and casual wash cycles sounds like a gentle cycles (agitator speed). Is this normal?. Also, I just learned that if I put it on CASUAL I will get a full rinse, not a spray rinse. I am just concerned ...are my clothes getting clean with such a slow agitation.? I am used to a more "robust" agitation during the wash cycle. Thanks !!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2014
The new washers twist the drum and the agitator and it looks slower than the old ones. The new washers are direct drive as well. One other thing I have noticed is the machine does not seem to spin the clothes are dry as my old one. The clothes are clean and they are cleaner than my old one or it seems to me they are. If it was older I would have said maybe the clutch is going bad but since it is new I suppose it is just the difference in the new machines and old ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
March 9, 2014
YES TO THE FIRST PART OF YOUR QUESTION AND NOW TO THE 2ND PART . YES IT IS NORMAL. WITH SLOWER AGITATION IS FOR THE MORE LITER CLOTHS I/E UNDERGARMENT, HOPE THIS ANSWERS YOUR QUESTION
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2014
I noticed the same thing but the clothes are coming out clean. This new technology takes some getting use too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LHLC111
Diamond Bar, CA
March 9, 2014
I used to have those old washers with a dial for controls and the agitation was always on. Now it is on then off then on then off.

Surprisingly, my clothes come out clean.

my issue was that the washer would go crazy on me...draining after only 5 minutes or so of wash and endless (and I mean endless) refilling with the drain still in open position.

that made me write my review. but since the writing of the review, I have had my washer work with no problems so I hope that writing this doesn't jinx it.

so yes the agitator speed seems slow and not continuously on but it does a good job of cleaning.

good luck with yours
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
March 10, 2014
DeaconsAngel,
The wash system is improved over a traditional washer that many customers are used to using if they have a washer that they are replacing that is 7+ years old. This washer does a good job washing and will get your clothes clean. The wash system is not as harsh on the clothing while still getting great results as compared to former models. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
March 10, 2014
I think it is normal but I only use the normal cycle for all of my wash and my cloths come out being very clean. Also on this cycle the agitator is slow but then is speeds up when it is on the final rinse cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Brea
March 18, 2014
Mine does as well. So I suppose it is normal. I was wondering the same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
Check to see if there is something in the washer under the agitator and then check the voltage at the electric box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
That's the same problem I have,and you can't look inside,it sound so slow,but I washed a very dirty jeans just to see,and it did come out clean,but if some one had told me about this thing I would not get this washer,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

rinse cycle

Asked by
kylekevin
new jersey
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 12, 2014
ok when I go to add the fabric softner while its filling it don't fill all the way with the water and then it starts to empty already without agitating for the rinse cycle...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 13, 2014
I don't add to my wash, I use dryer sheets or the bars that stick in the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 13, 2014
is your drain hose at least 39" high from the floor. sounds like it isnt. As it shouldnt drain before it agitates.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
February 14, 2014
You should add the detergent and the fabric softer before you start your machine. I read in the instructions booklet that the machine will empty out if the lid is open for 10 minutes or more. Plus there are easy to follow instructions on the lid of the machine. I hope this answers your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 15, 2014
Uh-oh! You haven't read your Cycle Guide. If you've set the washer for NORMAL cycling, this cycle features a spray rinse. SPRAY rinse. For a rinse where the tub actually fills entirely with water, you should set the washer in the CASUAL (used to be called "Permanent Press" cycle. Read the Cycle Details on the Cycle Guide for what cycle to use if you want a filled-tub rinse.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Kathy
Columbus, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 21, 2014
This is one of my problems with this machine, if you read your manual, under rinse, it will tell you that this is what it does. So, your clothes are never really getting a true rinse.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
Mine doesn't even have rinse fabric softener option. And once an entire cycle has begun,that's it you can't add , change, vary,nothing!!! The machine will drain completely and not wash or anything,just shut off. It's about the most aggravating machine I have ever owned. My advice,either try and return it,or be prepared to have a machine that just washes,nothing more. Oh and forget setting a water temp,it's cold or a variation of warm/cold/hot intermittent cycling that results in varying temps. Sorry you got stuck switch one too. I've only had mine a month. I'd return it if I thought they would honor it but I doubt Home Depot would. plus I don't need further aggravation. I'm done with this brand and just about done with HD as well!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what are the demetions of the washer in inches?

Asked by
marty
phila. pa
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 10, 2014
how big is the washer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
February 11, 2014
Anonymous,

This washer is 3.4 cu ft and the dimensions are located on the product page under the Specifications tab. I have also placed below for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.4
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joski
February 26, 2014
34x34
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Doll
March 11, 2014
3.4 which is big enough for a family of 2-3 who washes every other week.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Brea
March 18, 2014
3.4 cubic feet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
You have to know the size of the washer first 3.4or 3.6or cu.ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
It's say it's 3.4 cubic feet ,but it's normal,it's good size,maybe can hold 6 man denim jeans,to me it's a good size
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get this machine to operate properly?

Asked by
Miguel
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 18, 2014
I tried following the instructions, but every time I tried to fill the tub, the water keeps draining out. I can only use it for small loads. The problem occurs when I switch to medium/large.
Am I doing something wrong?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TexasPepper
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
Sounds like a mfg. problem to me. Maybe Home Depot could send a repairman, this isn't normal.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
corine
Queens, N.Y.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
My washer works fine. I noticed that as the water is coming in, I put in detergent and whatever I want to use. Then. put in my clothes and shut the top. Make sure the setting is already set because once the door is shut and you try to set or put in something else, it interrupts the cycle and drains or shut down altogether. Do Not break or interrupt the cycle. If I do, I start over. I pray that helps you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Your question is unclear in that you do not say how and when it is that you "switch" to a different size load. However, generally speaking, if you press the START/Pause/Unlock button for any reason and then you do not press it again within ten minutes, water will drain from the basin. If you press START/Pause/Unlock multiple times in succession (because you're losing patience...been there!) the water will drain because you've messed up the machine cycling. If you keep the lid open for ten minutes, the basin will be drained of water. Try this: Set the load capacity to Medium, Then press the START/Pause/Unlock button. Open the lid once you hear water running into the tub. Add your detergent and clothes and close the lid. Leave the lid closed! Step away, leave the machine alone !!!!! lol If the machine cycles successfully to the end of the wash process, then the problem is in your timing of "switching" the load capacity and is not a mechanical problem. Hope this helps! :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mrstee
Little Rock, AR, USA
January 23, 2014
Make sure the dial is placed correctly. If so, call for repair.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ceejayrad
Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA
January 23, 2014
It should work the same in all loads, there must be a problem with the washer. I would call Home Depot first to see if they have an answer and if they don't it is still under warranty so call the manufacturer. If it were me and it was just installed, I would make them bring me a new one. Mine worked right away, no explanation needed to run the machine, very user friendly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
January 24, 2014
Because the machine has sensors; you must load the cloth into the machine first so that the sensors can recognize that there are cloth in the machine before you start the wash cycle. Once the cloth are in the machine and the wash cycle has began it should finish the cycle and the water not drain out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
nanabanana
Hamilton, N.J. Mercer County
January 25, 2014
You need to call a repairman. If it is still under warranty use it. That's not an everyday problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Vinny167
N.Y.,N.Y.
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 27, 2014
Try balancing the load. The baket rumbles a lot. I called for service with a similar problem and the serviceman told me that. The baket id poorly designed and the load needs to be balanced
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
nanabanana
Trenton, N.J.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 27, 2014
Choose your settings BEFORE you load your clothes. Than close the lid and push the start button
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Miguel
January 28, 2014
Thanks for all your suggestions. I must say that I got a lot of helpful tips, however I did contact the supplier and a repairman came and made a simple adjustment. The machine is now working fine. Once again, thanks to all who gave their time to respond.

Miguel
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
If you are just wanting to open the lid to add something you push push the button and let it go the lights will flash and in a few seconds the lid will unlock. If you hold it down for 3 seconds it will drain the tub and cancel the cycle.

Now I am not sure if that is the problem you are having. I would think if you changed the cycle size during the fill it would drain since there is no dial like the old machines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The lock light is staying on flashing, but the lid doesn't lock so the machine will not wash, what can I do?

Asked by
Shirl
Mulberry AR
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
January 16, 2014
Shirl,
I apologize for issues that you are experiencing. I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected to a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to help you troubleshoot and ultimately setup service if it is deemed necessary. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
katiesmeet
February 7, 2014
You'll need a service call for this one. First try power cycling like any computerized device by unplugging from the power for a few minutes.

If your out of warranty and you're handy, the service manual is inside the machine attached to the front panel. Look up "Lid Lock Fault".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My washer is leaking water underneath in the drain cycle and it makes a very loud noise during agitation. The machine is only a year and a half old .

Asked by
mandy
atlanta, ga
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
December 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
December 31, 2013
mandy,

I apologize for any issues that you feel you are experiencing. If you would like to troubleshoot, I would suggest that you call THD/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected with a parts and service specialist, they will be able to assist further. If you can't find a remedy over the phone, then they would also be able to setup service. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I bought this washer 2 years ago , now it leaks underneath when it is time to drain.what is the problem.

Asked by
GBABY
las vegas , nv
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 24, 2013
i have checked the manual to see what the problem is but there was no help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 25, 2013
GBABY,

I apologize for the issue you are experiencing. I would need to ask a few questions to get a better understanding in order to provide an adequate answer. With that, I am going to refer you to THD/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected with a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you over the phone and if an adequate solution isn't reached, then the representative will be able to schedule service for you. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
January 7, 2014
Sound like a part under the bottom may have come lose. I would suggest using your warranty to have a technician come and do a check and replace necessary parts. Hope the suggestion helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lkteer
Pittsburg, TX 75686, USA
January 10, 2014
Check your outlet hose it could be lose and may need a new clamp it that is not the problem there could be a bad gasket or a hole in the bottom tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
nanabanana
Trenton, N.J.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 27, 2014
Maybe there is a leak in the drainage hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
I think the pump hose could be damaged, call a repairman to check it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
February 26, 2014
??check your hose connection , it may came loose .
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
tsc40
New Jersey, USA
March 18, 2014
make sure the unit is sitting level. My unit leaked on the second day I had it. The feet needed to be adjusted it was off level. That fix stopped the leaking right away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
Probably the hose from the pump is bad or connections to it or drain hose cracked or loose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you use fabric softner with this machine?

Asked by
dikini
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 22, 2013
i purchased this machine and cant find the dispenser for the softner, even though it shown on the lid at the top of the rotating rod in the middle (not sure what this part is called)
i tried opening it but it doesnt open.
where do you put the softner in this case?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pat55
Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 22, 2013
I use a downy ball for fabric softener as this model does not have a dispenser.
Hope this helps!
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
karen
October 22, 2013
No, you cannot use fabric softener with this machine because the lid locks once you put in the coins and press start. Don't know why I can't look at my clothes in the machine. I PAID FOR THE CYCLE!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

SOAKING clothes for an hour or two ?

Asked by
HDepotted
NJ
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 14, 2013
In the PDF manual here on Home Depot's website, it says water will not start until the lid is closed. Now it also says the lid locks as soon as it is closed.
If this is correct, if you want to let a load SOAK, and put the machine in PAUSE, how long will it hold the water inside to allow soaking? Will it drain away ? If it drains, how quickly ? In a few minutes ? Half hour ? In short, is soaking possible and for how long? Or will this JUST DUMP the water if you unlock the lid , lift the lid , pause the machine - you get the idea. THANK YOU.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rickey
Lincoln, CA, USA
October 15, 2013
If you want to pause the washer and let it soak, just hit the pause button and leave the lid open for awile. It works as it should without issue, just buy it. Don't fear the locking lid, it is the best safety feature. All it does is make sure the washer can not run while the lid is open to keep little, and big, hands and arms out of the machine so they will not get broken. Kids have even been killed fooling around in the old style washers when they were running in the past.

I feel soaking clothes and dishes is an old idea and was realy pointless other than buying some time and giving mom a brake. Just run your load. If your using the right kind of detergent and the right amount you should not need to soak anything.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
You can soak the clothes but make sure it's for less than ten minutes. If you do not press the START button after ten minutes, the water will pump out automatically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mommaswink
Tucson, AZ, USA
October 22, 2013
If you close the lid until the water turns on, you can (fast) open the lid still. I still have not been able to open the lid during the soaking cycle. The button on the machine states hold for 3 seconds to cancel the load. I hold it for less than that and it still will not unlock the lid. Your quess is as good as mine. Sorry I couldn't help you out anymore.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
Not sure about how long the tub will hold the water. Why don't you try this: soak the clothes in the laundry tub. That accomplishes two objectives: You can soak the clothes for as long as you want, and, if the clothes are heavily soiled, it's better to drain the water out through the tub drain which is a larger diameter than the washing machine drain, keeping loosened dirt out of the washing machine plumbing.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GaFLmama
Florida, USA
November 13, 2013
It fills up with water with the lid open, but if you close the lid when its DONE filling the lid locks. So you could fill it up, and let the clothes soak with the lid open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
lkteer
Pittsburg, TX 75686, USA
January 10, 2014
No I.have left clothes soaking over night also I love the.locked lid feature great safety.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
strungnature
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
February 11, 2014
Don't know how long it stays but the washer will fill with the lid open
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
I think it's going to drain after 30 minutes. It's a joke I know it. I do t think soaking is an option with this machine. I hate mine. I learned my lesson. Next time I'm spending the extra $200 or so and being happy. Worst designed machine I ever saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
You can't pause it, you can stop it. And when you stop it,, it will drain the water,you have to put soap and all that stuff before closing the door,it gets lock and it won't stop until finish,it you stop it it will star over again, it's so annoying ,hope I help you
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the machine large enough to wash comforters and bedspreads in?

Asked by
Stacey
Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 14, 2013
I see it is a 3.4 cu ft. tub but can it handle a comforter or bedspread?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Scootman
Wisconsin, USA
October 15, 2013
Yes it can handle 1 comforter. 3.4 is a nice size tub. My wife and I are happy with this easy to use washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
Yes to both. However, limit the comforter/bedspread size to no more than queen sized for light-weight spreads. If the spread is heavy, I recommend no larger than a full-sized spread. Otherwise, the spread will not wash/rinse effectively and the tub may go off balance.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mommaswink
Tucson, AZ, USA
October 22, 2013
I have washed different sizes of comforters. It all depends on what it is made of and how large the comforter is.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dkmoore38
CT
November 5, 2013
Yes, without a doubt I have had a king size in the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chris
New Mexico
November 5, 2013
I wouldn't wash a comforter in it unless it is double or less. It's not that large of a tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Landlord
Raleigh,NC
November 6, 2013
I don't think so.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
It may handle something like a coverlet. But, the machine is not designed to do what commercial washer is capable of doing. Personally, I would not risk it. There is a reason why the tags on most bedspreads tell you to use either a front loading or commercial machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mrstee
Little Rock, AR, USA
December 27, 2013
It can handle one at a time. But make sure u set it to large load and balance the item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Disappointed
Rumson, NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 11, 2014
Just because it can, doesn't mean it should. You should use a large capacity front loader for comforters and bedspreads. The agitation with top loads can damage large items.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
I have a king sized comforter I take to a laundrymat to make sure I dont think Mine will wash in this machine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
GinInAugusta
Augusta, GA, USA
February 4, 2014
I've successfully washed a plain king/queen sized comforter in my machine. When I washed a 100 % cotton thermal blanket of the same size it did bang some since the cotton bunched up a bit and was very heavy once wet, but that came out fine, too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a way to soak a load?

Asked by
alangski
Bradenton Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 5, 2013
Occasionally I want to bleach stained items and can't figure out how to put this thing in a soak mode for an hour or two. Nothing in the manual helps.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
October 7, 2013
alangski,

This washer does not offer a soak option. One idea that you can do is to start a load of laundry, then go and pause the washer and let the clothing soak for however long you feel is necessary, then restart the cycle. This is an alternative for washers that do not have a soak cycle or option. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SCMomOf3
SC
October 8, 2013
If you leave the lid open the cycle wont start, but the water will fill. You would have to close the lid when the 1-2 hour soak is done and your ready for it to start. There may be another way that I'm not aware of, but that's my best guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Joanna
St Petersburg
October 8, 2013
forgot to mention this part..... I opened the lid .... since it locks you have to press the button to pause... I opened during wash cycle... cause I wanted to soak... when I went back about 30 min later all the water was gone..and there is no soak cycle
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Judy
October 9, 2013
There is no way to soak. I had the same problem. The only thing I could do is soak articles in a large bucket and then put in the machine to be washed. Not an easy process, but it works.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
My suggestion is to soak your items in the kitchen sink or bathtub if you need to soak materials for more than ten minutes. With this washer, you can soak a load only for under ten minutes without disrupting machine cycling. After ten minutes, if you do not lower the lid and push the START button,the washer will automatically pump the water from the tub and you will need to start cycling all over again. I know from experience! :(

Be aware of soaking for too long. With some fabrics, soaking for long periods of time actually reintroduces stains back into the fabric. Bleaching for too long can, in many instances, render the fabric "tender" which will cause holes or rips in the fabric with subsequent washing.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
Do what I do - soak the clothes in the laundry tub. You can soak them for as long as you want, and if they are heavily soiled, the water drains through the laundry tub which has a larger diameter drain than the internal drain in the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
As far as I know it's not an option. This machine has no options and even the basic features are flawed. Sell it or live with it, I'm in the same boat with mine. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »