Looking for Answers about Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Want it delivered to your home? Search Internet #203547519. A Home Depot exclusive, this 3.4 cu. ft. traditional top load washer can remove more water from the load thanks to a max spin speed of 700 RPM, providing shorter drying times and energy savings in the dryer. On the console, a cycle status bar allows you to see where the load is in the cycle and indicates when the lid is locked. Finally, the advanced suspension system senses the load size and stabilizes the wash basket to help with noise and vibration control.
Customer questions and answers:
109 Questions
 | 
640 Answers
Overall rating:
4.002 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Cold and warm is the same cold temperature

Asked by
ForgetThoseFrontLoaders
St. Louis
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
July 2, 2014
Brand new washer. During the initial fill, the water temperature is the same (cold) regardless if the switch is in Cold/Cold or Warm/Cold. If Hot/Cold is selected, you can hear a relay click and the water gets hot right away. Switching between Cold/Cold and Warm/Cold there is no sounds. Shouldn't Warm/Cold produce lukewarm water?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
July 3, 2014
Anonymous,

The warm wash does produce a hotter temperature than the cold. For a warm wash hot and cold are mixed. If you feel your washer isn't working as it should, you can call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline, Option 1, Option 5 and speak with a Parts and Service representative. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further. Thank you for viewing this washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DaveH
Chesterfield, MO, USA
July 15, 2014
I had the same problem. I ended up having to replace the actual water pipe in my basement. For whatever reason whoever ran the water pipes in my house (laundry room was most likely installed after the original build) they used 1/2 pipe for cold and only 3/8 for hot. I replaced the 3/8 with 1/2 pipe and now the water comes out at the same pressure. My first indication this was a problem was that a white load (using hot) seemed to take forever to wash. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height to the front of the machine? (not to the top of the controls)

Asked by
BFill
Seattle, WA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 22, 2014
I have a laundry chute door that opens at 37 inches. It would still open if most of the machine was under that height and only the top of the controls measured 43 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 24, 2014
BFill,

The height to the top of the flat surface (lid) on this washer is 37". Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this machine belt driven or direct drive?

Asked by
Washerless
WA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 20, 2014
Washerless,

The washer motor on this Admiral is a direct drive. Thank you for viewing this Admiral Top Load Washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer continuously runs....it will complete a cycle and then start over on its own....any ideas

Asked by
JZap
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 13, 2014
Anonymous,

I apologize for the issue you are experiencing, I know that can be frustrating. To best serve you, I would suggest that you contact The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected to a Parts and Service specialist. They will be able to ask you more questions and understand when the cycle continues to run. If they aren't able to provide an answer over the phone, then they would be able to schedule service if you decided you wanted to pursue that. Thank you for viewing this Admiral top load washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this fit in a doorway that is 23ft. wide?

Asked by
pukin
fairfield, ct
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 12, 2014
pukin,

Below are the dimensions for this Admiral washer. This washer would certainly fit a 23 ft wide door. However, I believe you may have meant inches and if so, it would not fit. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Using Fabric Softener

Asked by
Chuck
Denham Springs, Louisiana
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 11, 2014
How can I use fabric softener if there is no spot on the agitator on this model and the lid is locked?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 12, 2014
Hi chuck, I know what you mean, when there doesn't seem to be a place to add fabric softener.

Take a look a page 4 item number 3. I don't know if this is your model. Also take a look at the top of the agitator. Some models the agitator is open on top to add softener.

Next here is how to open the lid if locked.

If you need to open the lid, press START/
Pause/Unlock Lid. The lid will unlock once
the washer movement has stopped. This
may take several minutes if the load was
spinning at high speed. Press START/Pause/
Unlock Lid again to resume the cycle.

Here is another way top add softener. page 8.

Adding Liquid Fabric Softener Manually to Wash Load
During the final rinse, wait until the washer has completed filling,
press the START/Pause/Unlock Lid button to pause the washer.
Lift the lid and add the measured recommended amount of liquid
fabric softener. Do not use more than the recommended amount.
Close the lid and press the START/Pause/Unlock Lid button again
to start the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what are dimensions of washer

Asked by
131626
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 12, 2014
13126,

The dimensions of this washer are listed below. Thank you for viewing this Admiral Top Load Washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

specs

Asked by
Spoons1953
West Bend, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 7, 2014
what are the specific dimensions of the unit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 9, 2014
specs,

The dimensions for each appliance is located on the product page underneath the Specifications section. I have listed below also for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is plastic skirt around the motor suppose to be removed?

Asked by
Mouse
Hamilton, Alabama
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 2, 2014
Mouse,

I am not familiar with the plastic skirt you are referring to, I apologize. I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.61.3376 Option 2, Option 1. This will connect you with a Parts and Service Specialist. They would be able to assist further and setup service it you deem that it is necessary. Thank you for viewing this Admiral home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Unit starts to fill and stops?

Asked by
macfla1
Ithaca, NY
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 30, 2014
2 year old unit only used a few times in summer. In normal cycle water will start to flow in for a few seconds and stop. Does exactly the same thing on drain/spin, but green light does advance to drain/spin. Lid lock light works fine.
The manual says that fill will not start until spin check senses that unit is in balance. Unit does not do spin check, so everything stops and makes minor noises like it is trying to spin or fill?
Admiral customer service is no help, so I'm looking for some help in confirming that this problem can't be fixed procedurally? I have unplugged the unit to try and reset the electronics with no luck.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
June 2, 2014
macfla1,

I apologize for the issues that you are experiencing, I know that can be frustrating. I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. This will connect you with a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you further and if deemed necessary setup a service call to determine the problem. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer and being customer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The washer is filled with water and is not washing. The filling botton is blinking. I just bought the washer today.

Asked by
AnaLigia
Phoenix
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dlmc
May 27, 2014
Unfortunately, this model seems to have a bad batch. My exact purchase same problem filled to overflow and also would not drain. You can call the warranty department and schedule a service rep to come out and look and or fix your brand new washer or return to home depot. The later was the option I have chosen. Sorry I did not have a concrete solution to your problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
john
North Port, FL 34286, USA
May 28, 2014
First make sure the washer is level. Then check the lid switch on/of plastic bar that is usually on the lid,
make sure it aligns with the hole on the washer.
Other than that you will need a V/O meter to further check the switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
PANKAJ
MINNESOTA
May 28, 2014
Nothing wrong with washer, My old washer had electronic motherboard, It was 16 yrsold.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GardenerGirl
Albany, OR, USA
June 3, 2014
Check to make sure the drain hose isn't pushed too far down in the pipe in your wall. The drain hose is only supposed to be about 4 inches into the pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much is delivery and haul away?

Asked by
Maggie
Fenton MO.
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
May 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
May 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is not sold online but in your local Home Depot store. To determine availability you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. Unfortunately, if you are unable to see the store inventory, then it’s most likely not a stocked item in your area. You may also want to call or stop by your local Home Depot store and talk to one of our professionals. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height and width of the washer

Asked by
Charlotte
Lindsay, Ontario
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 28, 2014
What is the height and width of the washer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tazmanken
Freedom Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 29, 2014
Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
April 29, 2014
The height of the Admiral 3.4 cubit washer is 43'' and the width is 27''.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Kimee
Peoria, AZ, USA
April 29, 2014
35.5 x 27
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MzCC
Birmingham, AL, USA
May 6, 2014
About 3 feet tall.and 2 feet across 3.4 cu.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Raider
Crowley,Texas
May 22, 2014
26.5" W X 36" HT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does anyone experience the agitator operating during any of the rinse cycles ??

Asked by
Sky7898
Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 26, 2014
My new appliance agitates normally during the wash cycle and does not agitate during the " Regular " rinse cycle. Water fills normally during the rinse cycle and after half a minute the water drains and transitions to the spin cycle.

I've always experienced washers agitating during a rinse cycle ...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 26, 2014
No, the agitator does not operate during the rinse cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SavyShopper
Phoenix, AZ, USA
April 28, 2014
Mine does not agitate much during the rinse cycle, but it does on the spin cycle. It has worked well so far and it watches very well. Not complains until now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
April 29, 2014
no, I have not had that experience during the rinse cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 30, 2014
My washer does the same thing, so I think this is normal for this type of washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ly0ung
La Quinta, CA, USA
May 6, 2014
Yes, you can hear that the agitator is moving during the rinse cycle. Due to the locking lid feature on this appliance I can't look in and SEE it moving, but you can hear the movement that you hear during the wash cycle occur during the rinse cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the water level in the basket on LARGE Load?

Asked by
oswala
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 22, 2014
I want a washing machine that fills the basket as much as possible.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 24, 2014
oswala,

This washer does have a manual selector for load size. The Large load size would fill up the basket on that selection. There is another washer, the MVWC425BW, that also has a Deep Water Wash. This cycle will fill the washer all the way up as well. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Multiple openings/closings of the water valve during intial fill- is this normal?

Asked by
SteveR
Milwaukee, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 21, 2014
When filling the tub with water to start a load, my washer constantly switches from a fast flow to a slow flow, regardless of water temperature or wash setting. This means that the inlet valve is consistently opening and closing on the unit, causing my water pipes to vibrate and causing a "banging" sound. Is this operation normal for this washer? My previous washer (of a different model) would fill smoothly and shut the valve off once when the tub was full, this one seems to open & close the valve multiple times during the fill.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer allows for a steady flow of water with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer does the same thing stops then starts filling up again, so I have to think that this process is normal. My water pipes however, to not bang like yours do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Skunk
Stockton, CA, USA
April 22, 2014
I thought it was a little odd as well, but I decided that it was an energy savings thing. I only run my loads with warm water, so I couldn't tell you why it would do that with a cold water wash cycle. It does run much quieter than my old kenmore, and it seems to get my clothes clean, so it works well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 22, 2014
The washer opens and closes the valves when it is filling and it appears to me it is mixing the water to gain a certain temperature.

I answered this but HD deemed it to be inappropriate I suppose because I gave you a model number of the item you need to correct the water hammer. Use a search engine and look for washing machine shock arrestor. There are a number on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
StevenR,

It is normal for the water to fill a few times. The washer is sensing the load size and finding the optimal amount of water to use for the specific load. As to not overfill, the washer will fill with some water, let it saturate the clothing, then add as needed. Even though you are selecting the load size, the washer is also determine that the load stays balanced as well during this time. For more information you can view the Use and Care Guide which will provide more detail. Also, if you still feel you have an issue with your washer, I would suggest giving service a call to troubleshoot further over the phone. They can also setup a call if you deem that it is necessary. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2014
Yes, I noticed the same thing when I got my washer. I believe to is a different was to regulate the warm water setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
SteveR
April 22, 2014
This is SteveR. Thank you all (including Maytag) for answering my question in such a short period of time. I really appreciate it. With your answers, I have learned that this behavior in this wash machine is normal. It has something to do with the water saving and load sensing features. I plan to purchase the water shock arrestor. Thanks again for all your advice!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
happycustomer
Florida
April 26, 2014
Mine does not do this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 29, 2014
Contact a service technician for possible repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
MzCC
Birmingham, AL, USA
May 6, 2014
The lid locks when you push start. I have not noticed any banging sound. No matter what you buy you need to fill the tub with your clothes piece by piece and evenly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
ly0ung
La Quinta, CA, USA
May 6, 2014
I do hear it opening and shutting throughout the cycle as well, but I'm not having the same water pipe issue. We had a similar problem with our pipes a few years ago whenever our sprinkler system would turn on in the mornings. We found out that it was air in the line. Once we got that taken care of, we didn't have the vibration or banging sound. You may want to call a trusted plumber and have your lines looked at - it could be a sign of a bigger problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a computer board ?

Asked by
MzCC
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 17, 2014
I want a washer without the computer board. Hot Point makes one. I also prefer a dial on off knob as a push button.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LHLC111
Diamond Bar, CA
April 17, 2014
This has a dial for wash settings, heavy or light or delicate load, but the washer itself is all computer controlled. I would have bought a dial knob type washer but I think they are all phased out.

This washer works on first wash. If you wash a second load right after or even 15 minutes after the first load finished, then it will go beserk (the second load will keep draining after you add detergent and it has been agitating for 10 minutes. It will keep on draining while filling with water and never hit the spin and rinse stages.

The only way to wash a second load is to wait at least an hour then everything is fine. Something is definitely wrong with the electronics. Maybe overheating? I don't know but it is not working right (second load).

I plan on calling the company in the summer but now I am never home and don't want my wife to be home alone with a service tech. I hope the company doesn't give me a run-around. I have until October to act on my warranty.

Good luck with your decision/purchase.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
No computer board. It has traditional dial knobs and a push button to begin the wash cycle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MommyMo
Daphne, AL, USA
April 22, 2014
Nope! This is the washing machine you need!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
happycustomer
Florida
April 26, 2014
No, all dials. Easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
SavyShopper
Phoenix, AZ, USA
April 28, 2014
No. It is a very simple washer. It only shows in which cycle it is by a light, similar to the commercial washers at the laundromat. And it has a Start/pause button and you nee to press it for 3 seconds to reset it since it locks the lid as a safety feature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
April 29, 2014
Home Depot customer service may be able to answer this question for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 30, 2014
Yes, this washer does have a computer board.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ly0ung
La Quinta, CA, USA
May 6, 2014
It has the dial controls and a separate push button that turns the unit on and then allows you to pause the cycle to unlock the lid during the load. There are indicator lights underneath the dial that let you know where the load is at during the cycle - wash, spin, rinse, etc. Other than the lights, there's no digital computer board.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
RG2014
Florida
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 1, 2014
Wouldn't call it a "computer" but yes, it has an electronic board that "controls" operation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Admiral Washer stopped washing

Asked by
Kelly
franklin, nc
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 15, 2014
My washer is about 1-2 months old and the last week it's been filling really slowly. As of last night, it's stopped. It stopped in the middle of the wash cycle and now won't fill water at all. We are on well water, I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Any advice? Should I call Home Depot to come look at it or is it something I can fix here? When we try to get it to fill, the fill light just flashes, but nothing else happens.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
Kelly,
I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. The Service Customer Care Representative will be able to troubleshoot with you over the phone. If you do not get the resolution you are seeking, then they would be able to setup service as well. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer and being one of our customers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MamaBear
Myrtle Beach, SC
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 26, 2014
You state that you are on well water. You may have clogged water filters due to hard water. Before turning off the water main, get a hot cup of water. Then turn off the water main to your machine. Get a few towels and a bucket and loosen the cold water hose attached to the back of the machine. If it is gunked up with muck it is from the iron in your water. Take out the little mesh filter and wash it gently under hot water and put it back. Check the other end of the cold water hose too. More than likely if it has a mesh filter it would be clogged as well. The hot water doesn't get clogged that often, but it could so check that hose on both ends as well. Another way to determine if iron is an issue would be to look at your white clothes. Are they orange or rust colored? If so, that is the iron residue left behind after washing them.

If you can get a water filtration system attached to your well, I would recommend it. Not only will it reduce the iron level in your water, but your clothes will come out cleaner since the salt will soften the water as well and will help the detergent rinse out. Your clothes will eventually get duller over time because of the iron in your water. This type of filtration system will soften the water, and the showers you take will make your skin feel soft. A professional who deals with this type of equipment can advise you, or just YouTube the subject and you will get a ton of information. You may also notice stomach irritation or health issues. This may be another indication that your water needs special treatment. It's not an expensive fix, but it is certainly well worth looking into.

Another thing to check is the water valves. Were they recently turned off by accident or for another matter? Check that too. Hope this helps. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live on the 4th floor and I'm concerned about how noisy are these washer and dryer

Asked by
nina
dallas tx
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
Mine is quieter than the old washer I had. The thing dose make different sounds from the old one but it is like the latch locking and the whining sound of the motor turning the drum but it is not that loud. I doubt it is as loud as kids yelling and running, so I wouldn't worry about putting this on the 4th floor.

I added a video so you can hear it. I don't even hear the water like you do on this video since the lid is down when it is in use.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
the pair of them are on the quite side , just a buzz sound when each 1 is done .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 15, 2014
Machine in quiet and no vibration. I think it would be a good choice for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TexasPepper
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 18, 2014
Very quiet, and you should have no problems at all. I've had mine a few months and am delighted with the lack of noise as compared to my old Kenmore. I'd totally recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Pony
Ashburn, VA, USA
April 22, 2014
you should be fine. this washer should not carry noise out of the room that it is in.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
I am on the second floor of my apartment building and I have had no complaints or issues. It's quiet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
SavyShopper
Phoenix, AZ, USA
April 28, 2014
A little noisy during the spinning. I don't have to listen to it since I have it in a different room.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
April 29, 2014
The washing machine does shake when the machine is spinning. Make sure the washer is well balanced and that will help with the noise. My dryer is not noisy and will not disturb the neighbors.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ly0ung
La Quinta, CA, USA
May 6, 2014
The washer has quite a spin on it - we have remarked that it might not be good in an apartment situation because of its unique spin. It isn't loud and it doesn't move around, but it does move a lot more inside during the spin cycle than any other washer we've ever had.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Spot
May 8, 2014
Fairly quiet. A lot quieter than my previous washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Sandie
Iowa, USA
May 13, 2014
This admiral is louder than my older one. it is in my basement and I can hear it on the next floor up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when filling with water

Asked by
deli
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 9, 2014
when the washer is filling with water it makes a clicking noise when the water goes from hot to cold. the hot and cold don't go at the same time. the washer is not even a month old.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 11, 2014
deli,

I do not see a question in this statement. If you have a concern and question, please clarify so that I can provide a satisfactory response. If you feel you are having troubles with your washer, you can reach out to The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »