Looking for Answers about TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case)

TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak, 3 strip, Laminate Flooring is durable and designed to withstand everyday wear and tear. TrafficMaster is warranted against wear, staining and fading for 15 years. Each plank size is 7 mm Thick x 7.6 in. Wide x 50.79 in. Long; 10 planks per carton; 26.8 sq. ft. per carton.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions
 | 
45 Answers
Overall rating:
3.569 out of 5
3.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case)

Question

How do you clean the laminate flooring ? Can you use any cleaning Products om it?

Asked by
Boop
Arnold
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
July 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
July 10, 2012
Hello Boop and thank you for your question.

The TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak Laminate Flooring can be cleaned using a damp cloth to blot up spills as soon as they happen. Never allow liquids to stand on your floor.

Sweep, dust, or vacuum the floor regularly with the hard floor attachment (not the beater bar) to prevent accumulation of dirt and grit that can scratch or dull the floor finish.

There are more care and maintenance tips to keep your laminate floors looking fabulous here: http://shawfloors.com/Tips-Trends/Q....

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dave
Florida, USA
July 26, 2012
1/2 cup clear ammonia to 1 gal water. Use light amounts,no saturation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AnthonyJ
Delta, CO, USA
July 28, 2012
Cleaning is painless and easy. I recommend a swiffer type of mop/broom but NOT a Swiffer brand product. Something with a terry cloth attatched to the end that can be removed and washing machine compatible. Along with the terry cloth broom I recommend you you Bona brand products. Just simply apply to the floor and wipe clean with the terry cloth broom. However do not allow too much time to go by before wiping the solution up as laminate flooring is still just compressed wood that can be easily damaged by liquids. Hope this is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
September 11, 2012
Home Depot has laminate floor cleaners. The main thing is not too much moisture. Just a lightly dampened mop or dusting pad.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
sser2
Hollywood. Los Angeles, CA
November 6, 2012
Swiffer or similar dry cleaning pads are best for cleaning dust. Cloth moistened with dishwashing detergent solution followed by paper towel can be used to remove stains, but be careful not to allow water to penetrate into seams. The manufacturer says that these floors can be used in kitchen and bath, so this material might be quite water-resistant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HandyHomie
Merriam, KS, USA
November 7, 2012
There are several cleaning products made for laminate flooring. The most popular these days are made by Bona and Swifer. Personally, I say away from the swifer products, as the tend to leave the floor a little tacky feeling and before you know it you are cleaning again. You want to stay away from the old mop and bucket. Laminate floors don't like a lot of water any more then real wood floors do. Using a mop can cause water to enter the joints between the planks. If your floor is a tongue and groove type, this can cause the backing to swell and de-laminate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
kat
Arkansas
April 27, 2013
I dust or vacuum my laminate and then put a washcloth or pad on my dry mop and spray air freshener or fabric refresher on it and mop. It is not too wet, doesn't leave residue, removes spots and smells good.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 28, 2013
Just clean water is what I use.

Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How well would this product hold up if installed in a kitchen and what do I need to lay down before installing?

Asked by
Pete
Arlington, Tx
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
May 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
I installed 1200 SF of Ainsley Oak in our Beach House in Port Aransas. Wonderful product and the least expensive on the market. We have big dogs, multiple kids, etc. and there is no problem. Take a car key and scrape it across a sample of the Ainsley Oak. It is amazingly durable. Like any laminate, any spills need to be wiped up promptly. You will need to follow the instructions which require an underlayment regarless. If you are installing on a ground level floor, you will need to put in a moisture barrier underlayment. Another important installation requirement is to make sure you bring your materials inside your site so it can acclimate to the humidy levels - this should be done 48 hours in advance. We have thoroughly enjoyed our floors. Good Luck to ;you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 28, 2013
Hi Pete:

Ainsley Oak is usually the best value in this brand. It's very resistant to scratches and heavy traffic. Remember to apply a foam liner under it before installing the floor. The Robertson 2 in 1 foam liner is my favorite because is the best for the money. This liner protects against the humidity plus it gives you a comfortable cushion feel.

Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
May 30, 2013
Hello Pete, thanks for your question about TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak laminate flooring. Ainsley Oak carries an AC 3 rating for durability, defined as “residential, heavy traffic, suitable for all areas.” Please remember that you should never leave any amount of liquid (including water, juice, soft drink, cleaning solution, etc.) on the floor for more time than necessary to clean up, as excessive liquid could result in the planks swelling. Immediately wipe up wet areas from accidents, spills, foreign substances or wet shoes, and do not wet-mop the laminate floor. To address your question about underlayment, laminate flooring always requires underlayment padding, and there are several different types of pads available for purchase. Your store associate should be able to assist you in selecting the best pad for your specific project. Remember, when installing over concrete, a 6mil poly vapor barrier is also required. We refer you to the specific installation instructions that came with the flooring for additional details as improper cleaning or installation, or the use of a substandard underlayment can void the manufacturer's warranty on the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
shadowchaser
Eva, Tn.
June 5, 2013
It will not hold up. Install something else.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
lindagene
Orovada, Nevada
July 9, 2013
I think this would do quite well in a kitchen. You do need an underlayment. We used Shaw 2 in1 Foam Underlayment (SL2N1).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jimidog
Louisiana
February 27, 2014
I do not suggest this flooring for a kitchen, bathroom or any other room that has a chance of liquid spilling on it. If liquid is spilled on it, it bubbles up and you have to replace the whole floor since it is put together like a puzzle. It hasn't happened to me, but has happened to someone I know. Works great in bedrooms, hallway, and living areas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to glue the edges? if installed correctly, will the planks come unhinged from the other?

Asked by
DEE
Homestead FL
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
November 28, 2012
What if I drag heavy furniture over it? will it scratch or will the furniture leave indentions?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HandyHomie
Merriam, KS, USA
November 28, 2012
If installed correctly, there should be no need to glue the edges. The planks have a locking edge and don't unlock unless the boards are held at a 20 degree angle to each other. As for dragging heavy furniture across them, they seem to be very durable. I have moved a computer desk, cabinets and a china cabinet across mine and haven't noticed a single scuff. To be safe, I would recommend putting felt pads on the bottom of the furniture wherever possible, just to add some measure of protection. These planks are definitely more durable then a real wood floor. The down side is, if you do manage to damage the finish, it can't be refinished like a real wood floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
November 29, 2012
THIS PRODUCT IS VERY DURABLE, HOWEVER, IF THE FURNITURE/APPLIANCE IS HEAVY ENOUGH YOU SHOULD PROBABLY GET SOME HELP LIFTING THE FURNITURE OR SLIDE A PAD UNDER THE FURNITURE AND THEN SLIDE IT. WE HAVE LARGE DOGS AND THEY RUN AROUND ON IT WITH NO SCRATCHES. TAKE YOUR KEYS TO A SAMPLE AND SEE HOW HARD YOU CAN RUB ON IT WITH NO SCRATCHES.............GOOD LUCK.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
December 3, 2012
You normally do not glue the edges when installing this laminate floor, but the written directions do show certain circumstances where glue is necessary. I refer you to the specific installation instructions that came with the flooring. Your questions about furniture are good. Normal household furniture should not leave any indentation. To protect your floor, please use felt protectors under furniture and replace all hard plastic or metal rollers on chairs with soft rubber rollers to avoid scratching the floor’s surface. Use care when moving furniture as sharp edges and hard surfaces could scratch the laminate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 1, 2013
In our experience, if your floor is leveled, you wouldn't have a problem with unhinged planks. We use some kind of glue in strategic places with great results. Do not force the pieces into tighter and smaller places. If needed, better cut to the exact measure or it will "lump up" later. We always use liner. Don't install it direct to the actual floor to avoid humidity issues in the future. It will also add a "cushion" floating floor feeling when using the foam liner.

Cheers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Darman
July 30, 2013
most laminate flooring I now glue together when installing, just leave gap around outer edges for expansion and contraction....NEVER drag heavy furniture across any flooring, if it' be wood or laminated planking you really need to take extra precautions. I use felt pads on everything on these types of floors. I use the peel and stick felt pads about 1 inch dia. on bigger legs or recliners I use as many as will fit on the legs. Ive had laminate wood in office and it's pretty tough as far as dropping stuff on it I have no scratches but have everything with felt pads on bottom
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Beth
April 7, 2014
You do not have to glue the edges unless you are going under a door frame where you can not angle it to join them. They should not come unhinged if installed correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is underlayment required if installing over existing linoleum?

Asked by
Mj
Hot springs, mt
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
August 5, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AnthonyJ
Delta, CO, USA
August 6, 2012
Underlayment is always required no matter what the surface. It serves many functions but most importantly it creates a padding underneath that allows the laminate to float properly without causing any buckling or unsnapping of the pieces from each other.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
September 11, 2012
Yes and if linoleum is on ground floor a vapor barrier is also required. You can buy the underlayment that is also a vapor barrier.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sser2
Hollywood. Los Angeles, CA
November 6, 2012
Yes. Underlayment is necessary over any hard surface. Underlayment deadens the sound and makes comfy feel when the floor is walked on. The cheapest underlayment with no moisture barrier is OK.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HandyHomie
Merriam, KS, USA
November 7, 2012
It depends on the condition of the existing linoleum. You should be able to put down the new linoleum directly over the old as long as the old is stuck down good and isn't torn or missing pieces. Just be aware that, if the old linoleum has a textured pattern, it may telegraph through the new flooring in time unless you use an underlayment.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 1, 2013
Yes. I always use the liner no matter what. Nail it with staples before installing the floor over.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this flooring hold up to moisture in basement

Asked by
Ben
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
January 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
January 30, 2013
no laminate floor can be exposed to standing water for any length of time. In all basement applications (or ground floor concrete slab applications), you must use a vapor barrier. In any event, laminate floors should never be exposed to standing water. An occasional moisture (condensation) build up that is promptly mopped up is o.k. Hope this helped.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HandyHomie
Merriam, KS, USA
January 30, 2013
It depends on how moist your basement is. As a general rule, laminated wood flooring doesn't like wet environments, or a mop and bucket for that matter. Any excessive moisture that enters the flooring can cause it to delaminate. If the floor in your basement tends to sweat, then I would stay away from this type of flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
February 20, 2013
As shown in the product instructions, when installing over concrete a 6mm poly vapor barrier is required in addition to the pad. Before installing over concrete, you should do a moisture reading: we recommend a Tramex moisture reading test, and provided the measurement for the Tramex test is 4.5% or less, you can install the laminate using any 6mm vapor barrier and pad. Extra tips: the vapor barrier should be extended 2” to 4” up each wall and folded or cut back after the planks are installed to fit behind the wallbase molding. This creates a tub effect and impedes moisture from wicking into the side of the floor planks from the concrete wall. Also avoid extreme variations in temperature and humidity: the ideal room temperature is between 64º F and 94º F and the room humidity should not exceed 75%.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 1, 2013
Just be sure to install a good liner first...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I see a sample?

Asked by
Josh
Spring Grove, IL 60081
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
February 3, 2013
This product is not available in any store in my area (60081). Is there a way to acquire a small piece of the flooring to check out before committing to ordering a house full?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
February 6, 2013
Hi Josh
Thank you for asking. Unfortunately, we do not carry samples. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ElMagnifico
May 1, 2013
If you are going to do a "house full" as you say, you better check the product before ordering it. Color issues is one reason and some extra items needed is another. T molding, liners, saw, etc. Try it first and get familiar with the product before committing too much because believe me: this is not a simple "plug & play" project.

Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
July 2, 2013
You can buy a box of it for about $16.00
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jimidog
Louisiana
February 27, 2014
Yes, Home Depot has a small sample square and also you can get 1 board to lay down before buying a whole box or whole room.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Laminate floors installed over carpet

Asked by
Gary
Pittsburgh PA
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
July 30, 2013
Is this or any other laminate OK to install over carpet as a temporary/ semi-permanent floor. We have a small home office on one side of our carpeted gameroom with chairs & desks but we are always wearing out the plastic chair mats we use under the chairs with rolling casters. We were hoping to put down a more durable wood laminate without needing to tear out the carpeting in that area. We need to cover about a 6' x 8' area. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
July 30, 2013
Laminate is not designed to be installed directly on carpet.
You may be able to make your own “mat” by gluing laminate on to a 1/4" - 1/2" sheet of plywood and finish edges with carpet reducer or hard surface reducer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Eltotheb
January 14, 2014
Depends on the carpet. Is it commercial? Is it glued down? If it is a temporary installation would be ok.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Sasquatch
Concord, NC
February 23, 2014
I have very little experience but the way laminate locks would not work on carpet. Also, laminate is only a few millimeters thick and I am sure it would crack if put over an unstable surface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Beth
April 7, 2014
This flooring needs a little firmer surface for installation than carpet. I recommend taking carpet up and putting this straight on the floor, it's easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ainsley Oak - Installing a standalone grid of the flooring

Asked by
rookie_floorer
Fuquay NC
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
June 30, 2013
Hey folks,

Is it possible to install a standalone grid of the Ainsley Oak that will only be against one wall. Looking to make a door way threshold from the garage into the house, approximately 51" by 36". Is there any recommended edge or finishing techniques for the raw edges?

Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
July 2, 2013
they sell transition pieces that should take care of your situation................
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
July 3, 2013
Good afternoon, and thank you for your inquiry about TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak laminate flooring . A hard surface reducer molding profile should finish the exposed edges. Be sure that when mounting the track for molding, you fasten the track to the concrete subfloor with fasteners; do not use adhesive. As additional information, make sure to stagger end joints from row to row at least 12 inches and do NOT use any piece shorter than 16 inches or narrower than 2.5 inches wide. For best results, glue planks to each other but not to the subfloor, and fill expansion gaps between the track for molding and along wall with 100% mildew resistant silicon. Additional considerations include the garage environment: the area may not be climate controlled and the subfloor may have topical moisture. Also remember that the flooring cannot hold the weight of motorized vehicles. Finally, installing in the garage environment may void the manufacturer’s warranty, so please check the written warranty and installation instructions carefully. Good luck with your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Sasquatch
Concord, NC
February 23, 2014
An unusual application but my best advise is to build a "frame" around the three unprotected sides. Depending on your subfloor you might be able to do this with some matching threshold material. One more thing, trim the sides to remove the tabs and grooves from their respective side since these won't be needed anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is underlayment required when installing over plywood subfloor of a second story floor?

Asked by
buckwheat
Texas
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
March 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HomeLegend
Adairsville, GA
March 24, 2014
Installing padding is required for this product and is standard with floating floors. **Moisture barrier is not required on a non-concrete 2nd story installation.

Underlayment provides many benefits such as sound reduction (to both the below floor and the "hollow" sound of foating floors), moisture protection, comfort and helps to minimize minor sub-floor imperfections.

Detailed information of specific underlayment’s can be found at the underlayment manufactures website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
March 24, 2014
Thank you for your question about TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak laminate flooring. Laminate flooring always requires underlayment padding, and there are several different types of pads available for purchase. Your store associate should be able to assist you in selecting the best pad for your specific project. We refer you to the specific installation instructions that came with the flooring for additional details as improper installation, or the use of a substandard underlayment can void the manufacturer's warranty on the flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Beth
April 7, 2014
The manufacturer recommends an underlayment but does not require one with a moisture barrier over plywood. I use Roberts foam 100sq ft only $11.97 you can purchase online and have shipped to the store. Cheap but reliable way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

PRICE FOR INSTALLING

Asked by
phil
JASPER, GA. PICKENS COUNTY
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
September 11, 2012
Do you install flooring How much per square foot?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chesterf
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
September 11, 2012
No, I am a weekend warrior doing a first time laminate floor installation in our Beach House. I did shop around for installation prices and it ranged any where from $1.75 to $2.50 per sf.. I am installing 1,000 sf so I am saving between $1,750.00 to $2,500.00 by doing it myself. The hardest part is moving all the furniture..............Good Luck!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the AC rating on this flooring?

Asked by
Mana
Ontario
about Ainsley Oak 7 mm Thick x 7-19/32 in Wide x 50-25/32 in. Length Laminate Flooring (26.80 sq. ft. / case) on
February 6, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Laminate Flooring Support
February 6, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry about TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak laminate flooring. The common term used to denote the durability level of laminate flooring is its “AC” rating, an abbreviated representation of a laminate’s resistance to abrasion, impact, stains and cigarette burns. The ratings also indicate that the product has been tested for the effects of furniture legs, castors, and swelling along its edges. If a laminate flooring product has a rating, then it has passed all of the test criteria. TrafficMaster Ainsley Oak carries an AC 3 rating, defined as “residential, heavy traffic, suitable for all areas.”
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1