Looking for Answers about Liberty LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)?

Customer questions and answers for
Liberty LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions
 | 
65 Answers
Overall rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Liberty LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

Question

Are screws included? If not, what screw will I need?

Asked by
Tdiy
Columbus ohio
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
April 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mike850
April 8, 2014
Screws are included in the package.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Icanfixanything
Brentwood TN
May 10, 2014
yes, one screw per device
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MaureenK
Boise, ID
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 3, 2014
Yes. The #6 x 3/4" pan screws are included for mounting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ArJohn
Tinley Park, IL
April 3, 2014
Yes screws are included. Simple, quick instructions too. You are looking at 2 minutes per cabinet for install
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LTHAtlanta
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 11, 2014
Yes, screws are included. Instructions say to drill a 3/16" pilot hole but, if your cabinet frames are solid hardwood, a slightly larger 13/64" hole makes installation easier and is still very secure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What if the little plastic (black in mine) piece in the original hinge has broken; will it still work?

Asked by
NannyBanana
Novato, CA
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
November 11, 2013
My cabinets have a small black insert that I assume is to help them close. My problem is that almost all of these small pieces of plastic have broken/snapped, and I would like to know if these dampers are meant to help the doors spring back also, or do they need to have that original spring in order to work?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
November 15, 2013
These are only designed to prevent the door from slamming and won't help with the doors springing back.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ArJohn
Tinley Park, IL
February 12, 2014
This is a bit beyond my experience as I have them and none have broken. My guess is their effectivness could be affected. This is a question that you might bring to the Manufacturer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MaureenK
Boise, ID
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 3, 2014
If I'm understanding the description correctly, the little plastic cap on the end acts as somewhat of a cushion. If the longer plastic piece (damper) is still intact inside the metal housing, it will work. You might want to put a piece of self-adhesive felt or similar in place of the black end piece just to make a flush surface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's in the damper? What kind of lubricant?

Asked by
Melissa
La
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
August 11, 2013
My damper no longer works when compared to one that works noticed a lubricant
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
August 13, 2013
There is no lubricant in the damper. It is more than likely Hydraulic Fluid coming from the damper.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ArJohn
Tinley Park, IL
February 12, 2014
Without being able to see inside I cant be sure - but by operation it appears to be an air/oil cylinder and operates similar to the Screen door closer on many houses -- You can check more with the Manufacturer, BLUMOTION
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

adjusting damper

Asked by
Gtrojan
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
July 13, 2013
Hi, when I adjust the damper looser the door hits the frame when slammed making a loud noise. However, when I tighten the screw the door never shuts all the way. Is there a solution? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Icanfixanything
Brentwood TN
May 10, 2014
Do smaller adjustments. Mine worked perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
July 22, 2013
Hi Gtrojan, I reached out to Liberty. Liberty stated to make sure the damper is parallel and level. If you're still having a rough close on the door. Liberty stated to use a lubricant, like WD40, then try and adjust again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CaptBill
Cheyenne, WY, USA
August 25, 2013
The adjusting screw must be 'slowly' tightened (or loosened) to let in/out just enough air to let the door close all the way. If it is an air damper.

Is anything leaking out of it? If so, it may have been an oil damper and the unit is broken or wore out.

Be sure there is nothing catching on the sweep at the bottom too. I always remove the sweep (unscrew slightly and raise it up) before adjusting the damper; then when the door is closing well and tight - not slamming - lower the sweep back into position.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ArJohn
Tinley Park, IL
February 12, 2014
If you have tried partial adjustments, slightly off the All The Way setting that stops the door, but let's it still slam -- the next step is to add a second. One at Top and One at Bottom has worked great for me!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RunnerMan
Canton, OH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2014
Make sure you have the dampener installed in the uppermost corner of the cabinet. Depending on your cabinet door size/weight you may need to install a second dampener.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Left Hand Right Hand

Asked by
MrBob
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
March 10, 2013
Can these be flipped either way for left hand or right hand door or are there specific left hand and right hand parts?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Susan
Vermont, USA
April 25, 2013
These door dampers are not directional. Whichever way you'd like will work.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jason
Fairfield, CA, USA
April 22, 2013
Yes they can be flipped for either right or left hand doors. They have a screw hole in the top and the bottom that makes them reversible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EK072947
Las Vegas, Nevada
April 22, 2013
Use on Left of Right doors...Has one screw hole on each side of the soft closer....
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
goodreason
Hoosick Falls
April 25, 2013
Yes. Has screw holes for such applications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
painterjohn
North Coast Highway, OR, USA
April 29, 2013
can be flipped
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
March 11, 2013
Yes these can be used on either side of the cabinet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
NEMajorDude
New Jersey
April 25, 2013
Yes, they can be flipped. Each one has two holes and you use one or the other, depending on how your doors open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HGTVFAN
Westchester, NY, USA
April 30, 2013
They can go either way.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Mark
One hour north of NYC
April 25, 2013
They work easily for left or right hand installations. You just flip them over and attach.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
SteveVA
April 23, 2013
Yes, they are reversible for either cabinet door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
HDer
CT
April 29, 2013
yes they can but if using these in tight corners they may not mount easily
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can these be used on drawers or is there a different product for that?

Asked by
djamaine
Maine
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
April 4, 2013
LHModel # 790104 Cab door soft close damper
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dave
Co.
April 5, 2013
These soft closers are made for doors, but would probably work for drawers if there is sufficient room to attach them. They provide a soft pneumatic closure when pressure is applied, allowing the door to close slowly without slamming.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Larry
Bonita Springs, FL, USA
May 9, 2013
No, this closure is only made for doors not drawers. There are closures for drawers. Check on the web for those types of products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BigRick
Antelope Valley, CA
January 8, 2014
It is my own opinion that these are not suitable for drawers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
restathome
Houston, TX
May 13, 2013
They are not made for drawer installation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HomeSenator
DC Metropolitan Area
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
These are made for cabinet doors only. I looked into installing on my drawers but could not really see any possible way to install on drawers.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
PainterPete
Wilmington, NC, USA
April 22, 2013
It depends on your cabinets and the design of the drawers themselves. We have Kraftmaid cabinets and these won't work on the shorter "utensil" type drawers due to clearance. However, we also have deeper drawers for which they will work.

It does no harm to buy some for your cabinet doors. You can they physically see if they can fit on your drawer due to cabinet design
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
fastniky
Greenville, SC, USA
May 2, 2013
They can be used on a drawer if there is enough room. It would be better to use self closing rails such as Store SKU # 869399.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

would these soft close door dampers work for the lid of a chest if several were used?

Asked by
Kitchen bench
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
January 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SJH1613
Charlotte, NC, USA
February 1, 2013
In my opinion not very well if there is any weight to the lid at all. They are plastic and appear to me to be best designed to fit on a cabinet frame.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tom34
Davidson, NC, USA
February 18, 2013
I honestly think so...and I think I will try it on my small toy chest from IKEA. Thanks for the idea!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Susan
Vermont, USA
April 25, 2013
You really can only use 2 -- one on each side of the chest nearest the hinged side as the damper is supposed to catch the closing door very close to the almost closed position. So a damper on the side across from the hinged side is not going to help.
You'd probably also need to build supports to hold the damper on the side and extend the lid lip so
that the damper does come into contact with something to slow it down.
My experience has been with cabinet doors which are probably much lighter weight than a trunk lid
and probably don't receive as much force as would be felt by gravity pulling down the heavier trunk
lid.
There are spring-like mechanisms that connect to both the trunk interior and lid that that would work better for your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
January 16, 2013
This is not the intended use for the Dampers. The chest lid would more than likely be too heavy for the dampers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jason
Fairfield, CA, USA
April 22, 2013
I honestly don't think so. If you dropped the lid on them they would probably just brake. You would be better off just gently lowering the lid yourself. If I was to try and do something for a kitchen bench I would go with something more like whats on the back of a car on the lift gate. It would be able to handle the weight a lot better. Something more like a piston type set up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
EK072947
Las Vegas, Nevada
April 22, 2013
These can work with most applications...Depending on the size and weight of the lid, you might have to use 2 or 3 soft closers...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
goodreason
Hoosick Falls
April 25, 2013
It's possible but highly unlikely. The gravity of the door would be to much in my opinion for it to work properly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
painterjohn
North Coast Highway, OR, USA
April 29, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
NEMajorDude
New Jersey
April 25, 2013
That's a good question and one the manufacture might want to look into.

I would say yes, they will prevent the chest top from slamming. Depending on how heavy your chest lid is... you're on the right track in that you might need more than one.

They're adjustable... so I would probably start with one and see if that was enough to hold the lid. I would guess that two should do it for something like a child's wooden toy chest... maybe three if it was a heavier lid.

But - with multiple dampers - I think that would work. I have a child's toy chest that I might just go get a couple more of these and see if your idea works!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Mark
One hour north of NYC
April 25, 2013
I'm not sure; they only engage about a half inch out, so it would depend on how heavy the lid is. It's worth a try, I guess.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
SteveVA
April 23, 2013
It depends on how heavy the lid is. If the lid is pretty light, two on either back corner of the chest might work. If the lid to the chest lays flush the the chest, these won't work, they protrude about a millimeter out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
HDer
CT
April 29, 2013
Yes they woould be oerfect for that application
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would these soft close door dampers work on a door going from the kitchen to the garage?

Asked by
Sharon
Prescott Valley, AZ
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
November 6, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
November 7, 2012
The Cabinet Door Dampers are specifically made for Cabinet Doors and would not be effective with the weight of a regular door.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tom34
Davidson, NC, USA
February 18, 2013
I don't think so. They work well for a relatively-light kitchen cabinet door that wants to stay closed once close enough to being shut (the spring loaded type...not the old ones that don't even stay closed when you close them all the way). A door from the kitchen to the garage should be a metal, fire-rated door, which can be hard to close anyway due to the weatherstripping. I haven't tried it, but I imagine a steel door would just laugh at this product as it goes closed at its usual speed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Susan
Vermont, USA
April 25, 2013
Cabinetry doors don't have door latches that would prevent the door from closing. So even a little
swing effort would most likely close a cabinet door. Once the door reaches that point of almost
being shut, the cabinet hinge favors closing the door and these dampers allow that process to continue.

A house door on the other hand has a latch on it. So you know if want that door to shut, you need to apply a good amount of effort. If you apply just enough for the door to reach the outside of the frame, the hinge is NOT going to pull the door shut. That's why your screen doors have a mechanism to pull the door shut.

So I would not recommend these dampers for a door people pass through.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jason
Fairfield, CA, USA
April 22, 2013
Honestly I don't think so. The ones I just purchased did not seem to have ANY dampening effect to them. I may have gotten a bad batch but all 10 had no "give" to them no matter how I adjusted them. There are better products out there for what you want. There are items you can install by simply pulling out one of the pins on the hinge and installing it under the pin and placing the pin back into the hinge. We have one at work and it gently closes the front door perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
EK072947
Las Vegas, Nevada
April 22, 2013
If the door isn't to heavy, it might work...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
goodreason
Hoosick Falls
April 25, 2013
Door would be way to heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Rusty
Myerstown, PA 17067, USA
April 30, 2013
No they are designed for a light weight kitchen cabinet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
NEMajorDude
New Jersey
April 25, 2013
It's an interesting idea, but I'm not certain that they would handle a heavier door like an actual house door. I'm just not sure how they would handle the heavier weight of an actual house door.

I took a long look at a couple of my room doors and I think they could handle my hollow wooden room doors for sure. You would probably have to use 2 or maybe even 3, and the installations might be tricky depending on how your doors are configured, but they might just handle this job well.

I'm presuming you have a situation where your door gets caught by the wind or something and causes it to slam. I think they could handle that, if you used 2 or 3. I'm not sure if they would last forever with that kind of abuse, but I could see myself trying your idea.

They are adjustable and they are really easy to install, so it might be worth a try.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
HGTVFAN
Westchester, NY, USA
April 30, 2013
Since they are made of plastic, I dont think they are heavy duty enough
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Mark
One hour north of NYC
April 25, 2013
I doubt it. They are specifically designed for cabinet doors so I don't see how you could install them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
SteveVA
April 23, 2013
I would not use these on a door, just cabinets. You would want to get a large door dampener.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this item be used on a hallway door? If not, can you recommend a product?

Asked by
Kathy
about LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack) on
December 19, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LibertyHardwareSupport
December 19, 2012
We only recommend this item be used on Cabinet Doors as the weight of a Hallway Door would be too much for the Damper. Unfortunately we don't have anything for that type door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HHH3
February 13, 2013
I would not use them here... Most hall doors I work with have a latch/door knob striker that must engage to secure the door shut.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Larry
Bonita Springs, FL, USA
May 9, 2013
I recommend that these closures be used on only kitchen cabinet doors. Hallway doors would be too heavy for this type of closure. It is made of plastic and I feel it would not be able to handle the force and weight of a hallway door.There are several door closers that Home Depot sells that are made for residential doors weighting 85 lb. to 140 lb.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
professor
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
February 11, 2013
no this item is too small you would need a door closer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PainterPete
Wilmington, NC, USA
April 22, 2013
It depends on two factors:

1) If the closet door has self closing hinges
2) The weight of the door itself

This will not work if the door does not have self closing hinges. It is designed to dampen cabinet doors that have hinges that automatically close the door.

This being said, it could be adapted to a "closet door" IF it has hinges that close it. If Yes to this question, then it could likely be adapted. The next consideration is the weight of the door. Heavier doors may require more than one .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
BigRick
Antelope Valley, CA
January 8, 2014
These are not designed to be used with entry doors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
restathome
Houston, TX
May 13, 2013
It might be OK for a light passage door. You could try it and see if it's durable enough. It works great on even large, heavy cabinet doors. It's certainly cheaper than new hinges!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HomeSenator
DC Metropolitan Area
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 18, 2013
You absolutely cannot use these on hallway doors. What you really need is a Delayed Action Door Closer. You can check your local home depot if they carry it.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
fastniky
Greenville, SC, USA
May 2, 2013
It could be used for a hallway door. However, these are designed for self closing hinges. You may need to use more than 1 for a full size door. I would look at a door closer instead. Something like Store SKU # 492232 for a hinged door. If it's a sliding door try Store SKU # 217090.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1