Looking for Answers about Delta Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White?

Customer questions and answers for
Delta Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White

This Prelude 2-Piece Round-Front Toilet in White is beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings; Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive SmartFit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Prelude round front bowl offers a classic design, comfortable chair height with maximum flushing performance. At 1.28 gpf, this WaterSense-approved model provides significant water savings without sacrificing performance. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions
 | 
80 Answers
Overall rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Delta Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White

Question

The flapper on my new delta Prelude toilet closes before all the water in the tank is released even though the chain is tight. Is this normal?

Asked by
fixer
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
November 16, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FatboyDk
San Jose, CA
November 17, 2012
You might want to hold the handle all the way down for a couple of seconds. I have a similar problem with my prelude but this seems to work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kiwi3
IL
November 19, 2012
The flapper is almost 2" high above the tank floor. I also noticed that all the water was not released from the tank maybe because of the flapper's location. I was kind of amazed that only a small amount (1.27 gallon) of water flushed the toilet, but I guess it's normal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
November 27, 2012
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH uses only 1.28 gallons of water per flush, and the flapper is located on a pedastal so there will be some water left in the tank. This is a normal condition.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Paul
February 21, 2013
This is normal and allows you to either a) hold the handle down longer for a more thorough flush when needed, or b) to "double flush" quickly without waiting for the tank to refill. Most of the time though you should be fine with just a quick regular single flush.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is a delay before starting to refill normal?

Asked by
LompocJon
Lompoc, CA
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
July 3, 2013
I notice when I flush that there is a delay of about 2-3 seconds before the water in the tank starts to refill. I am used to the refill starting immediately after the flapper closes in other toilets. Is this normal for this particular toilet? I just want to be sure that there is no problem that needs to be addressed.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
July 3, 2013
Thank you for your question. There may be a delay of a couple of seconds before the tank starts to refill. If there is a longer than a 5 second delay, then the flapper is not working properly.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Phil
July 6, 2013
This is perfectly normal. The fill valve releases slower than toilets of past.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
patanddave
Penfield, NY, USA
July 7, 2013
There is not a delay in refill after the flush.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
flconrad
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 21, 2013
Mine does same- seems to be normal for this model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i'm looking at this toilet delta prelude 2 piece round front, I want a tall toilet .it say's chair height for comfort does that mean that it is tall

Asked by
parker
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
August 30, 2012
labor day savings ,delta prelude 2piece round-front toilet 129.00
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
August 30, 2012
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH is chair height which is 16-1/2 inches high. The standard height is 14-1/2 inches high.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Henkep
Raleigh, NC, USA
September 2, 2012
Yes, comfort height, like a chair. Bowel is round not elongated...I prefer elongated but that shape
would not work in our small bath. Some people prefer round over elongated...But you can't beat this
toilet for the $...
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pearl
Encinitas, CA, USA
February 12, 2013
Yes the Prelude is taller by about 1 1/2 inches. My regular toilet is about 14 1/2 inches tall to the top of the bowl and about 15 1/2 inches to the top of the seat. My new Prelude toilet is about 16 inches to the top of the bowl and 17 inches to the top of the seat.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to buy wax ring? If yes, what is the size?

Asked by
CeeCee
New Mexico
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
February 7, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
February 8, 2013
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH includes the wax ring with our installation items.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pearl
Encinitas, CA, USA
February 12, 2013
The wax ring comes with it. You will need to buy a 20 inch water supply line as the one used for your old toilet will be to short. I found the toilet seat that comes with it functional but cheap and plan to buy a different seat in the near future.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Phil
June 5, 2013
No, Wax ring is included.for installation where flange is above flooring. If flange is recessed you will need to buy a larger wax ring
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How good does the flush clean the side of the bowl

Asked by
Glo
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
April 21, 2013
and is the whole surface of the bowl covered with water when flushed? The toilet I have now seems not to have enough holes for water to come out of and the bowl is left messy therefore needing at least 2 flushes and sometimes more. Does the water swril or just go straight down the side of the bowl?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mace
Norton, OH, USA
April 22, 2013
Glo, to answer your first question, appears to do good for us. The holes around the rim are approximately 1 inch apart all of the way around. In a quick flush toilet, you don't get the water wasting swirl in the bowl. We have a well and ours is set to 20/40 psi which is low for most well pumps (saves all the plumbing fixtures from over pressure), and the toilet works way better than our old 4gal Eljer. I f you have city water, shouldn't be a problem. Sometimes the bottom center doesn't clean perfectly, but the sides clean great for us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
patanddave
Penfield, NY, USA
April 22, 2013
The water goes down the sides of the bowl. There is plenty of water to leave the bowl clean and fresh.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Cindy
Mertztown
June 18, 2013
These toilets have water coming out around the whole toilet bowl. It also flushes down very fast and cleans up well. I have a handycap person who has problems which also I was concerned with and have no problems with one flush to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the seat height ?

Asked by
Dimac
25302
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
June 9, 2013
Says chair height but those can vary. What is the height of the seat?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mace
Norton, OH, USA
June 11, 2013
I measure 16 1/2" top of bowl, roughly 18" to top of closed seat.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Phil
June 11, 2013
The actual toilet (minus the seat) is 16 1/2" from the floor.
Depending on what toilet seat you install will determine final seat height.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
June 11, 2013
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH has a chair height of 16 1/2 inches. Normal height for a seat is 14 inches.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Our rough in is exactly 11 1/2" . Is that enough room to install this model?

Asked by
Dawnie13
Balto.
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
August 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
August 13, 2013
Thank you for your question. To install the Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH, you will need 12" from the wall. Included here is the spec sheet for the product.

http://www.deltafaucet.com/customersupport/documentation/c41901-wh.html?document=ts&documentIndex=0#flashWrapper
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
flconrad
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 21, 2013
Possibly, Ours was and this toilet worked fine going in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dawnie13
Balto.
August 21, 2013
It worked fine, just very close to the wall behind toilet. I wanted this toilet because of the reviews and the price so we went for it!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the delta prelude toilet insulated. we live by the water and humidity makes ours sweat in the summer

Asked by
grannyjannie
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
November 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
November 15, 2013
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH is not insulated.

Thanks.

Jody
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
leroy
Philadelphia, PA, USA
February 18, 2014
The delta prelude is not insulated some stores do sell a kit that u can do urself how well it works i do not know
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Builtmany
NJ
April 18, 2014
No insulation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sometimes the Refill does not start after flushing, unless I jiggle the valve inside.

Asked by
Dave
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
November 16, 2013
We installed the Delta toilet last weekend. Installation was fine. But occasionally, after a flush, the refill does not start. I'm not talking about the few second delay, which is normal, but it doesn't start at all unless I lift the lid and jiggle the valve. Is there an adjustment for this or is it defective ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
November 18, 2013
Thank you for your question. I apologize for the issue that you are experiencing. To ensure the proper part is identified for repair, please contact our toll-free Home Owner/Warranty department at 855-345-1345.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
leroy
Philadelphia, PA, USA
February 18, 2014
This could be caused by debris from when the valve was shut off or if u used teflon tape some may have broken off and clogged the toilet fill valve if it continues simply change it out or look on the warranty to see if they can send u a replacement valve if u call the help phone line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Builtmany
NJ
April 18, 2014
You have a defective valve. Call Delta.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you adjust the water level on a delta prelude toilet

Asked by
garm
lansing ,michigan
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
January 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2014
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH can have the water level adjusted. Included here are the maintenance and installation instructions which include the directions for adjusting the water level on page 4.

http://www.deltafaucet.com/customersupport/documentation/c41901-wh.html?document=mi&documentIndex=0#flashWrapper

Thanks.

Jody
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Terrapin71
January 14, 2014
There's a confusing diagram in the installation instructions. I would start by turning the small white knob (it's set up so it's also a phillips screw). I think you can get a fair amount of adjustment out of that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Builtmany
NJ
April 18, 2014
Turn the screw on the top of the fill valve. Flush and readjust if necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

It says 1.28 to 1.59 gallons per flush....is this something I would have control over or it just randomly flushes different amounts of water?

Asked by
Just me
Fenton, mi
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
September 1, 2012
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Henkep
Raleigh, NC, USA
September 2, 2012
you can adjust the water tank level....If you need bigger flush, well add more water!
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
September 5, 2012
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH has a fill valve inside the tank that can be adjusted by the consumer so you do have control over it.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

how high is toilet seat

Asked by
neto
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
September 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
September 7, 2012
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH is built at chair height which is 16-1/2 inches from the floor. Normal standard height of a toilet is 14-1/2 inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pearl
Encinitas, CA, USA
February 12, 2013
The top of the bowl is 16 inches and the top of the toilet seat that comes with the toilet is 17 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

flapper dosen't always go down after flushing

Asked by
al
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
September 9, 2012
sometimes, flapper dosen't go down after flushing. i have to go into the tank and manualy release it.
is this do to the chain? does it have to be adjusted? maybe to short and need more slack?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
September 11, 2012
Thank you for your question. I apologize for the issue that you are experiencing. To ensure the proper part is identified for repair, please contact our toll-free Home Owner/Warranty department at 800-345-1345.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SATCH
PUERTO RICO
March 27, 2013
I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM THE CHAIN TANGLES WITH THE CONNECTOR AT THE FLAPPER I CUT A PLASTIC STRAW AND PUT IT ON CHAIN PROBLEM SOLVED
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Water In the tank is getting lower from the line and water starts filling up again.

Asked by
Kiwi3
IL
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
October 19, 2012
After a flush, water is filling up to the line in the tank. However, water level gets lower, maybe 1.5 - 2 inches lower in a while (1-2 hours?). I noticed this since I heard water filling-up noise much much later after a flush. Is there a chance of leak? How can it be fixed? It was installed by a professional a few days ago.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kiwi3
October 20, 2012
After watching the video about installation, I checked inside the tank again and found out the tag string had not been removed! It may have been caught under the flapper. Now water looks no longer leaking.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
October 22, 2012
Thank you for your question. I apologize for the issue that you are experiencing. To ensure the proper part is identified for repair, please contact our toll-free Home Owner/Warranty department at 800-345-3358.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

We have a 1/2 bathroom that is 59"X53" do you recommend a elongated or round toilet?

Asked by
MS
Maryland
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
October 28, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
October 31, 2012
Thank you for your question. It really is a personal preference as to which toilet seat you choose. The round seat is 16-1/2 inches deep and the elongated seat is 18-1/2 inches deep.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kiwi3
IL
November 1, 2012
The size (53") is large enough for elongated if the length form the wall to the screw holes of the toilet base is the standard size of 12". Mine is 14" from the wall and space was about 51". (There is 2" space between the wall and the tank.) I chose a round one because of that.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

water line moves { drains out} gradually lowering as it makes a running water noise. but it never reaches the water line to cut off.It just keeps ru

Asked by
Jes
Birmingham,Al
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
November 3, 2012
Installed by a professional 3 days ago Brand new.

Prelude toilet Model C41901 Wh -SKU 794-603 Flushes and fills to the line-OK- Shuts off Ok at the water line mark.
-Then water line begins to move quietly downward { drains out} gradually becoming lower then in about 15 minutes it begins to make a running water noise.{ No noise prior.} It drains out quietly but it never reaches the water line to cut off .It just keeps running--Until I manually re-flush
The noise occurs about 15 minutes after flushing.--To stop the noise I must flush again and the problem process - repeats--Water line gradually gets lower.

There is no sign of leaking wateron floor or anywhere else
There are two {2} normal looking rubber bands wrapped around the flapper handles / arms. I assume they are supposed to stay there??. Or, are they there for your shipping procedure? Illustrated below ~~~~>
I------I
I------I
Thanking you in advance, I await your response
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
November 5, 2012
Thank you for your question. I apologize for the issue that you are experiencing. To ensure the proper part is identified for repair, please contact our toll-free Home Owner/Warranty department at 855-345-1345.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FatboyDk
San Jose, CA
November 17, 2012
The instructions warn you to remove the rubber bands. Give that a try. Otherwise check if there is a leak from the bottom seal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How would you rate the flush quality of the Delta Prelude (round bowl)?

Asked by
P
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
November 5, 2012
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH has the maximum flushing power allowed with is 1000 grams MaP.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FatboyDk
San Jose, CA
November 17, 2012
I have had this toilet installed for about 3 weeks. I have had no issues with the performance of the flush as long as you hold the handle down for a couple of seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what product do I use to clean the toilet bowl of a Delta Prelude C41901?

Asked by
p
houston
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
January 10, 2013
I do not want to damage the coating the bowl has applied to it.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Foodieken
January 10, 2013
Hi P, Delta states do not use any in tank bowl cleaners, Do not use any chlorine or chlorine related cleaning products in the tank.

You can use toilet bowl cleaning products in the bowl, just not in the tank. Hope this answered your question.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
January 11, 2013
Thank you for your question. We do not recommend any specific cleaners for your toilet bowl. The only thing we do not recommend is using the leave-in-the-tank cleaners as those can damage the mechanisms in the toilet tank.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a handle available in bronze for this toilet?

Asked by
BC
Orland Park IL
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
January 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
January 18, 2013
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH has only a chrome handle available at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Skiman
Cross Plains, WI 53528, USA
November 13, 2013
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the prelude toilet come in a 10 inch rough

Asked by
cordwinder
florida
about Prelude 2-piece Round Front Toilet in White on
January 31, 2013
My present toilet has a rough in of 10 inch your store has only 12 inch on display can I get a 10 inch in the delta prelude series
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DeltaFaucet
February 1, 2013
Thank you for your question. Delta Faucet model # C41901-WH is only available in a 12 inch rough.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
flconrad
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 21, 2013
Already found this out. No, sorry. My one bath was 12" and one 10" had to special order a peerless in 10"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »