Looking for Answers about Merola Tile Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case)?

Customer questions and answers for
Merola Tile Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case)

The Merola Tile Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. Porcelain Mosaic Floor and Wall Tile features a smooth, glazed finish to help add style to your space. This beautiful tile has a matte white color with a glossy burgundy dot accent to help coordinate with your decor. Designed for medium-duty residential floors, this porcelain tile is frost resistant for indoor or outdoor applications to suit your needs.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions
 | 
45 Answers
Overall rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Merola Tile Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case)

Question

I am using this tile for my bathroom floors. Can I use a sanded grout?

Asked by
KristinP
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
January 11, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
January 13, 2016
Good Morning KristinP,
Our Metro Octagon Matte White with Dot will work with sanded grout and you should have no problem installing it with such. If you are installing this tile with 1/8th or less spacing, it is recommended you use non-sanded grout. However, mosaics have If you have any further questions on which grout to use, please contact your grout manufacturer. Hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What bullnose will match this white exactly?

Asked by
Kay
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
January 6, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
January 7, 2016
Hi Kay,
We cannot guarantee that two different products will match exactly because dye lots differ between products. We recommend pairing this with our Metro Matte Bullnose, being that it is from the same series and manufacturer they will coordinate best. If you get both pieces home and are displeased with how they match, Home Depot offers a 90 day return policy. Purchased items can only be returned in the original ‘unit of measure’ in which they were bought – i.e. a full case of tile could not be returned with pieces missing. Please feel free to call our customer service team at (800)-963-7652 if you have any further questions. Hope this was helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the c.o.f rating of this product?

Asked by
kay
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
October 1, 2015
it says in the summary that the c.o.f should be greater than .60 is required for it to be skid resistant, but what is the rating for this tile? thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
October 5, 2015
Hi Kay,

The COF for this tile when dry is .7 and is .6 when wet, making this tile skid resistant. All of this information is viewable in the specs on the product page. Feel free to contact our customer service team at (800)-963-7652 with any other questions.

Hope this was helpful!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you purchase these singly and not in a case?

Asked by
nick
new york
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
August 6, 2015
I don't need a case because I broke only a few and want to replace a one section only.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
August 10, 2015
Good Afternoon,
Unfortunately, this product is only available for purchase as a case. Please contact our customer service team if you have any other questions at (800) 963-7652. Hope this was helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What size is the "dot"? I need to know, because I am trying to match an existing tile - all white.

Asked by
mbc5238
Pawtucket, RI
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
July 10, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
July 13, 2015
Good Morning,
This white dot for this product is 7/8 in. x 7/8 in. Please contact our customer service team if you have any other questions at (800) 963-7652. Hope this was helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the wet and dry COF of this tile?

Asked by
Kate
Central PA
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
April 23, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
April 24, 2015
Good morning,
This tile has a Coefficient of Friction of .8 when dry and a Coefficient of Friction of .6 when wet.
If you have any other questions, feel free to contact our Customer Service department at 800-963-7652.
Thanks for your interest in our products! Hope that helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this tile a true white or an off white? Also, when do you expect it to be available through Home Depot?

Asked by
Sbrown
Coppell, Texas
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
April 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
April 21, 2015
Good Morning,

The variation of tint between tiles can be very subjective, while one person might call this tile bright white another might call it bone white or off white. The color difference between computer monitors can also change the way a tile looks because of that products such as this can look different in person than they would online. In cases like this, it is of most benefit to you to have the actual tile in hand so that you can truly get a feel for the color and whether or not it is right for you. Your best option would be to order one case from HD.com that way you can get a closer look.

Also feel free to contact our Customer Service department at 800-963-7652 with any other questions you may have concerning our products.

Thanks for your interest in our products! Hope that helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When will it be back in stock?

Asked by
Alusru8
Cape Coral, FL
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
March 27, 2015
Obviously a very popular tile and Im hoping to be able to use it in our master bath walk-in shower's floor. When will it be available again?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
March 31, 2015
Good afternoon,
We expect this product to be back in stock by approximately April 17th, 2015. Within 24 hours of the product arriving back in our warehouse it should show as available on HomeDepot.com in all locations for online purchase. It is important to note that we cannot guarantee ETA dates as they are subject to change.
You can also feel free to contact our Customer Service department at 800-963-7652 with any other questions you may have concerning our products.
Thanks for your interest in our products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What size is the white octagon?

Asked by
Dsolberg
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
March 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
March 11, 2015
Good Morning,
The octagonal tiles featured in our Metro Octagon Matte White with Cobalt measure 2.25 in. x 2.25 in.
Please feel free to contact our Customer Service department at 800-963-7652 with any other questions you may have concerning our products.
Thanks for your interest in our products! Hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get a sample of this tile?

Asked by
Leanore
Arroyo Grande, CA
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
February 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
February 16, 2015
Good afternoon!

For information on how to order samples, please give the Merola Tile team a call at 800-963-7652.

Thanks for your interest in our products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this tile be available online again?

Asked by
ecs528
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
January 24, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
January 28, 2015
Good Morning,
We expect this product to be back in stock by approximately January 28th, 2015. Within 24 hours of the product arriving back in our warehouse it should show as available on HomeDepot.com for online purchase. It is important to note that we cannot guarantee ETA dates as they are subject to change.
You can also feel free to contact our Customer Service department at 800-963-7652 with any other questions you may have concerning our products.
Thanks for your interest in our products! Hope that helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of adhesive is recommended for this tile on a small bathroom floor?

Asked by
Julius
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
July 30, 2014
Also, are there any special installation or floor prep recommendations for this tile? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BBWKS
September 3, 2014
I was told to use thinset mortar (the kind with added polymer). It seemed to work well in my 26 sqft bathroom floor when I installed a few weeks ago.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 2, 2014
Hi Julius,

I'd recommend a bag of thin-set mortar that would be mixed with water. This is better than any pre-mixed adhesives, since the bagged mortars dry much faster.

Since this is a white tile, use white mortar since grey colors could show up worse if any were leftover.

In terms of prep work, just make sure the existing subfloor is clean, level, and secure before installation of your tiles.

Any vinyl or loose pieces of flooring must first be removed, as the tiles need to be bonded directly to the subfloor.

Joseph
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Grout

Asked by
DebbieO
Glen Gardner, NJ
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
May 23, 2014
Any recommendations for grout color with this tile? Using in a bathroom. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
May 23, 2014
Good morning Debbie,

We suggest using a white color grout, such as #381 Bright White, for this particular tile. White grout can give your installation a more monochromatic look and make all the while look unified and yet it may require sealing and cleaning to keep it look white over time. Conversely, a darker grout will make the mosaic shapes stand out and may be more effective in disguising dirt. However, you can feel free to use the color you feel would best suit your installation.

We’ve added a link below that may help you in your decision, follow it to our Blog and read some of the helpful tips provided by our Communications Specialist – Maggie.

https://merolatile.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/all-about-grout/

Thanks for your interest in our products! Hope that helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
May 23, 2014
Hello DebbieO and thank you for your question.

Consider using a bright white to enhance the white tiles. If you want a dramatic look, consider using the charcoal. If you enlarge the photo, it appears that a natural gray grout was used to make the geometric tiles “pop.”

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this product be available online again?

Asked by
Rose707
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
May 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
May 30, 2014
Good morning Rose,

Not sure if you’ve been back to check the stock on this product but it’s back online and ready for purchase!

Thanks for your interest in our products! Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
May 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in late May with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This item is listed as out of stock online. Is it still being produced by the manufacturer? I need this product to patch the tilework in my bathroom.

Asked by
Centuryhome
Niagara Falls, NY
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
May 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
May 30, 2014
Good afternoon,

Not sure if you’ve been back to check the stock on this product but it’s back online and ready for purchase!

Thanks for your interest in our products! Enjoy!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
May 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is scheduled to return to stock in late May with limited inventory. Please continue to check our website for updates. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is this tile $2.57/sq ft. in the store but online cost $6.95/sq. ft.??

Asked by
Mark
Chicago, IL
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BBWKS
September 3, 2014
I think you're seeing two different tiles -- a ceramic tile by Daltile is the $2.57 option, the $6.95 is the porcelain tile listed here. The difference in material (and quality?) accounts for the difference in price.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
April 3, 2014
Hi Mark,

This tile is not stocked in any Home Depot stores. I believe you may be looking at different brand's product on the shelves.

Hope that helps!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
March 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Our online prices are based on a national average set by our corporate office while the store prices are based regionally. Also, stores often times offer steeper discounts on products to make room for new inventory. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I need 72 square feet of this tile, how many boxes will i need?

Asked by
pilgrim02
Allen, tx
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
March 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
March 17, 2014
Good morning,

This tile comes 9.2 square feet per case, so for 72 square feet you would need 8 boxes. We recommend purchasing additional quantity for potential cuts and breakage during installation, so you may want to consider buying an extra box. Unopened boxes that have been purchased online are returnable to any local store.

Thanks for your interest in our products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this tile be used on a shower floor?

Asked by
Obee
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
March 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
March 6, 2014
HI Obee,

This certainly could be used on a shower floor. For best results, install using a latex-modified thinset and seal your grout lines after installation.

Hope that helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this pattern come in white with brown diamonds?

Asked by
Foot
Los Angeles, CA
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
February 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
February 14, 2014
Good morning,

This tile is currently only available in black and white, green and white, burgundy and white, blue and white, and white on white, but we will take your comments into account.

Thanks for your interest in our products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, we do not stock this item with brown diamonds. However, we do offer alternative models that may suit your needs. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can a steam cleaner be used on small bathroom floor tiles?

Asked by
OkobojiChick
kansas city
about Metro Octagon Matte White with Burgundy Dot 11-1/2 in. x 11-1/2 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (9.2 sq. ft. / case) on
February 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MerolaTile Customer Support
April 3, 2014
Good afternoon,

A steam cleaner would work just fine on these tiles.

Thanks for your interest in our products!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
February 4, 2014
Hello OkobojiChick and thank you for your question.

Yes, you can use a steam cleaner over the Merola Tile Metro Octagon Matte White and Glossy Black Porcelain Mosaic Floor and Wall Tiles.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »