Looking for Answers about GE 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical. Search matching Electric Dryer Model GTDP490EDWS or Gas Dryer model GTDP490GDWS.
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions
 | 
96 Answers
Overall rating:
4.145 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Question

Id this washer digital ?

Asked by
kd27
NY
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
November 10, 2013
I want to know if this machine is run by a computer or manually.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vga8
November 12, 2013
this machine is manual
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

Yes, there is an Electronic board but there are knobs
on the front control panel.

This is a very popular model!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ping410
Corolla, NC.
November 12, 2013
The machine is manual with the typical timers used to manage the cycles
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Rogerindallas
Dallas, TX, USA
November 12, 2013
Yes this one is digital. and quiet.. One of the things I love about it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BoiseSteve
Boise, ID, USA
November 12, 2013
It's not really an "either/or" machine. You can control many functions just as you would in an older style, non-efficient, laundry washer.
Every washing machine for the past 50 years has been operated in part by a "computer." Until the last 10 to 15 years, the "computers" were comprised of heavy electrical switches called soleniods or relays. The switches were activated usually by a clock-timer mechanism (either a clock motor or a clock spring). In turn, the electrical switches activated mechanical valves, gears, levers, pumps and pulleys that filled the laudry tub at predetermined levels, spun or agitated the tub to wash at predetermined times and speeds, drained it, refilled it to rinse, spin and drain again.
This unit has a microprocessor that replaces the clock-motor cycle selector (that is why the cycle selector does not move like a clock through each cycle). The microprocessor also replaces most of the old fashioned solenoids and relays. This unit also has a more efficient motor and pump that replace most of the old gears, pulleys and levers.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Why do I have to spin most loads twice.

Asked by
Dat
NH
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
December 18, 2012
I cannot get a heavy load to spin out first time. The clothes or towels are dripping wet, I have to pull clothes apart and re-spin. Extra spin cycle setting does not work because you have to untangle clothes before manually setting 2nd spin cycle.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 19, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having this issue with your washer.

Unfortunately this repair is beyond the level of assistance that we can offer over the web. We do not have any service technicians at this website to help with diagnosis and do-it-yourself repair recommendations. I recommend having it checked by an authorized GE service technician. Please see the link below for sceduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Carolyn24
Drexel Hill, PA, USA
January 2, 2013
I experienced this issue too. Be sure your water hose is not at the bottom of the utility basin. The washer spins so fast, it creates a vacuum and the water reverses back into the washer. Make sure the sink drain is clean and the hose is about half way up the utility as basin. With making this changes, I never experienced the issue again and all clothes are properly rung out. Hope this helps.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
The instructions say you are supposed to load the clothes into the washer loosely. If you really stuff as many clothes into the washer as possible, it's unlikely it'll perform well. Don't pack in the clothes tightly and I think your results will be much, much better. A "heavy" load on this machine is really much more of a "regular" load on older machines, in my opinion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a manual override for water level for GTWN4250?

Asked by
CJ
Alabama
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
northcountrygirl
Gansevoort, New York
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 29, 2013
I called GE - the washer doesn't fill to abide by government regulations regarding water use. Joke's on us. Uses less water but it washes less clothes.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
YayMe
Virginia, USA
August 29, 2013
Sadly, there is not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HappyCamper
Sterling, VA, USA
February 18, 2014
The GTWN4250DWS allows you to manually select from: Small, Medium, Large, Extra-Large, or Super. Otherwise, you may select from PreciseFill where it will use sensors to determine the best water level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Knob in limbo

Asked by
Kelly L
Sierra VIsta, AZ
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2013
Hello, I just used this washing machine for the first time today. I put it on the regular permanent press cycle. Once it was done, the knob did not completely move to the off section and remained between the "drain and spin" and "off" section. Is this normal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 7, 2013
Hello Kelly L,

Thank you for choosing the GE 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

Since I can not see what you are referring to on the panel, I would recommend for a GE service technician to come out to evaluate this under warranty. The control panel I have for this model, does not have not a drain and spin or off in the section of Permanent Press.

Please see the following link for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimE
Chicagoland, USA
August 7, 2013
The knobs never move on their own, all timing etc. is done electronically based upon where the knobs are when "Start" is pressed, so if that's where the knob was that's where the knob stays :-)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HappyCamper
Sterling, VA, USA
February 18, 2014
Kelly,
From my experience with the GTWN4250DWS model, the dial does not move. Since the controls are digital, the knob position just tells the washer which wash program to go through. The lights above the knob indicate which phase of the wash cycle the washer is in.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this washer a High-Efficiency Washer?

Asked by
TLoon
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
May 20, 2012
Is this washer a High-Efficiency Washer? If so does it require High-Efficiency detergent to wash the clothes or can you use regular detergent?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

This model is ENERGY STAR® qualified. You do not have to use HE detergent but if you choose to use HE detergent or a concentrated detergent, please use the required amount. Excessive detergent will negatively inpact the wash performance.

Enjoy your new washer!

Donna with GE
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lazyguy
Hawaii, USA
May 27, 2012
Yes, this machine is a high efficiency washer. But we had also used regular detergent to wash. The results on both are good. With high efficiency detergents, you use less for a better wash and may save you money. My wife used regular detergents left over from our old washer and the results were good too, as long as you follow directions on detergents container. So, far we had this washer for a month with great results.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
It is a HE washer and they do suggest using HE detergent for optimal results. That being said, I've been using liquid soap with a very small amount of solid additive "enhancer" and everything has been coming out beautifully.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

The model GE 3.9DOE washer GTWN4250DWS Does this washer fill up to top with a lg load? And rinse?

Asked by
Kathy
Plainfield, Indiana
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
May 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 22, 2012
Hello Kathy,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

This washer offers the feature PreciseFill with the option of 5 water level selections. Precise Fill has adaptive capabilities and will automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water. If you are wnating more control, the you would want to select the Super Large setting water level setting.

The washer also offers the RainShower Rinse System. It is water saving. Taking a shower uses less water than taking a bath. The same principle is at work in the efficient RainShower rinse system. Rather than a washtub full of water, every load of laundry gets three "showers", rinsing clothes clean while minimizing water usage. The RainShower rinse system uses less water, providing rinse performance similar to a high-efficiency washer.

Over the life of the washer, the reduced energy and water usage will actually pay for the initial cost of the unit!
* Save up to 15 gallons per load, or up to 35% of the water used by a typical load.
* Reducing water by 15 gallons per load in 10 loads per week saves up to 7,800 gallons of water per year.
* Weekly use for 12 years saves 93,600 gallons of water.

If you are needing more water in the rinse, then select the fabric Softener option. Fabric softeners used in the washer require a certain amount of water for proper dilution. The RainShower feature does not supply the needed amount of water therefore fabric softener should not be used unless one of the fabric softener options have been selected.

I hope this helps with your selection!

Donna with GE
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lazyguy
Hawaii, USA
May 27, 2012
As far as I know, it does not fill up to the top like our old washer did. But, it wash all the clothes in the tub somehow, with good results. It also, help to save you money by not using so much water to do a load. Remember, this machine is a energy saving machine, We had this machine for a month, and the results are very good.so far. The 3.9 tub is much better than our 3.6 tub that our old washer had, since the clothes can move around more freely to get a good wash, as long as you don't overload or stuff the clothes in. So, far wife like it very much.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
No. These washers work on a different principle so you will never see water anywhere near the top of the washer. However, don't let that fool you as the design does work well under most circumstances.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to get more water -past 2/3 I look in and some of my clothes are not covered

Asked by
alohagirl
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
October 8, 2012
I used whites and super setting and filled the washer like in the picture for a full load. I feel like my clothes are not getting clean. Had washer a few days and was thinking about returning it. I am use to full water! What good is a big basket if water is only half way up?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
karen
October 9, 2012
Are you putting to muchclothing in the washer since the basket is so large? Try putting a little less in the basket an see if that works for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
Remember to loosely fill the washer with garments. In other words, don't stuff the clothes into the basket. The washer uses a different system than agitating clothes through water like most of us are used to, much more similar to a front loader.

Be sure to add detergent first and add clothes loosely into the basket. I'll bet you'll be fine. If still concerned, you can always add an additional rinse but, so far, I haven't needed to do so.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 9, 2012
Hello Alohagirl,

Thank you for choosing the GE 3.9 cu. ft. DOE-Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

Precise Fill allows the washer to determine the optimum water required to wash the items in the basket. To use this option properly, follow proper loading instructions and keep the lid closed during the wash cycle. Precise Fill senses the load during the water filling portion of the cycle to determine how much water is needed. If the lid is lifted, it will default to the lowest water level setting.

If you use the manual fill or override the Precise Fill, the gallons used per fill level are as follows.
Keep in mind that when there are clothes in the washer, it will depend on how absorbent the fabric is which will visually effect the look of the water level.

Small: 10 gal.
Medium: 12 gal.
Large: 16 gal.
X-Large: 18 gal.
Super: 20 gal.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use regular soap instead of HE?

Asked by
AP
NY
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
January 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Carolyn24
Drexel Hill, PA, USA
January 2, 2013
I purchased this washer in Aug 2012 and use regular liquid clothes soap. Never have used HE detergent. Clothes come out clean without issue.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
GE recommends the use of HE detergent with HE washers and this is considered an HE washer. That being said, I have been using liquid detergent with a very small amount of an additive "enhancer" with great results.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2013
Hello AP,

Thank you for your interest in the washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

Yes, you can use regular detergent in this washer. It is ok to use HE detergent but it is not required.

Donna with GE
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Just bought this and it hasnt been delivered yet. Now I am reading that clothes come out wrinkled and I CANNOT select the water levels as I thought

Asked by
Bonnie
Pontiac, MI
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
June 20, 2014
there is a sensor in the machine that will override my choice. Is this right? Sometimes I like the water to be quite a bit over the clothes I am washing.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rbprivate
Missouri
June 21, 2014
Mine has 5 load size settings as well as an auto detect that works great. As far as wrinkles I haven't had that problem either. Great machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Keith
Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 21, 2014
The washer has an auto fill selection, but also has user selectable water levels. As long as you set a level the sensor will not over-ride your selection. As far as coming out wrinkled, all the clothes I've ever washed appear to be wrinkled before they are dried.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
northcountrygirl
upstate New York
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 22, 2014
Try to get your money back. Mine is almost a year old. I've had to babysit it, do half loads, do loads over and over -- it has had the following parts replaced: pump, sensor and control board. I was told at the store and by GE reps: that it was designed to fill only 12 inches, as if it did some sort of magic with those 12 inches; that the problem was all my fault for using too much soap; that it's not supposed to be controlled because it knows what I need better than I do. Having finally a new control board installed the machine almost always fills to about 5 inches from the top - but it has to be watched. So I'm resigned to doing half to 3/4 size loads. GE wore me down. When I bought this I believed it could be controlled like washing machines in past times when we were in charge. They (GE) may have intended for that to happen, but it didn't work out. I'm shopping for a new one to replace this. I don't want to look at it any more.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what's DOE stands for?

Asked by
enrico
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
May 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
Department of Energy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 20, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to answer your question ont he GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

DOE (US Department of Energy) measurement refers to the usable space in the washer; all manufacturers use a standard measurement procedure. All GE washers will be measured and communicated using only the latest DOE capacity standard.

Should you have additional questions, we are always happy to help.

Have a great day!
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CmJc
Detroit, Michigan
May 28, 2012
Believe it or not, it simply means "Department of Energy." A washing machine's capacity is measured by two different agencies, the DOE and the International Electro-technical Commission (IEC). Most TOP-LOAD washers (although there are some exceptions) tout capacities as measured by the DOE.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What if I use regular detergent?

Asked by
christine
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
May 26, 2012
I see that I can use regular detergent with this machine, you said to just be sure to use the correct amount... so just according to the label on the detergent, or are there specific amounts recommended by GE?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2012
Hello Christine,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE model # GTWN4250DWS.

Yes, you can use regular detergent. The amount will depend on the type and brand of product you select. Always check the manufacturer's recommended amount.

The following factors will also determine the right amount of dertergent needed.

* The size of your load. Large loads require more detergent or soap than small loads.
* The amount of soil in your load. If your clothes are heavily soiled,increase the amount of detergent or soap.
* Whether your water is hard or soft. If your water is hard you will need more detergent or soap. If your water is soft you may need as little as 1/4 cup or washer may oversuds and leak.

I hope this helps.

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
GE doesn't specify amounts. Good rule of thumb is less is more, within reason of course.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between ghwn4250dww and GTWN4250DWS?

Asked by
Jared
Flint
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
May 29, 2012
The ghwn4250dww had very bad reviews, and the second model seems to be just fine?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WashyWashy
Long Island,NY
June 1, 2012
The DWW got bad reviews and I made sure I got the DWS.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 29, 2012
Hello Jared,

This is Donna with GE. Thank you for you inquiry on the GE washer model # GTWN4250DWS and GHWN4250DWW.

As far as features the two models are identical. The only difference is model GHWN4250DWW is a derivative of GTWN4250DWS and is not distrubuted to all dealers.

GE has no control over what consumers decide to post a review.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you for considering GE!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

is the tub stainless

Asked by
jerry
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
June 2, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 3, 2012
Hello Jerry,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 3.9 DOE cu. ft. Stainless Steel Capacity Washer model # GTWN4250DWS. This washer is very popular!

Yes, the washer basket interior is made of Stainless Steel. This model offers PreciseFill with the option of 5 water level selections. It will automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water for the load or you can manually select the water level you want.

Glad I could help!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If I don't use the Precise-Fill option, will the washer begin to fill with water if the lid is open?

Asked by
DL's Mom
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
June 4, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mess4mom
June 7, 2012
Yes. I can use other settings and the tub will fill with the lid open.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 6, 2012
Hello DL's Mom,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help you with your question on the GE washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

Yes, when you select the manual water level setting, the washer will fill with the lid up but will not cycle properly after the fill if the lid is not closed.

I hope this helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have a belt?

Asked by
susielou
new york state
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 2, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 2, 2012
Hello Susielou,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with the washer.

Yes, the washer is belt driven.

Should you have further questions please let us know.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kanlaya
Santa Ana, CA, USA
March 13, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this washer made in USA?

Asked by
jasonB
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 13, 2012
Model# GTWN4250DWS
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 17, 2012
Hello Jason,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help.

Model GTWN4250DWS is manufactured globally. GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
It's assembled in the USA.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What hoses are required to purchase? Hot and cold water? Drain hose?

Asked by
sweetwilli
RI
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 18, 2012
Hello Sweetwilli,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE model # GTWN4250DWS. This is a great washer!

No, the fill hoses are not provided with the washer. The Hot and Cold fill hoses would need to be purchased separately.

The drain hose is supplied with the washer.

Thank you for choosing GE!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
It comes with a drain hose only. Some more expensive models come with hoses.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I fit a King size comforter in this washer?

Asked by
Sarah
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 27, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
scwsmom
September 10, 2012
No unless its super thin like a quilt or duvet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
August 27, 2012
Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

GE recommends washing a King size comforter in a commercial washer at a Laundromat.

A Queen size can be washed but it will also depend on the fabric or material. It should not be stuffed inside or it will not wash well.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have model # GTWN4250DWS the drain hose that came with this is too short by a foot to reach my drain

Asked by
TRINA
Pennsylvania
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
August 31, 2012
Do you have a longer drain hose I could replace?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 3, 2012
Hi Trina,

I will be happy to help with your question on the GE washer model # GTWN4250DWS.

The extended length of the supplied hose, from tip to tip, is approximately 70" . Extensions may be purchased to add to the factory installed drain hose providing total length doesn't exceed 10 feet.

Part # Wh49X301 - 43" Extension
Kits consist of all needed clamps, hoses, & installation instructions.

Drain hose installation Requirements:

* Water may be drained into standpipe or set tub.
* Discharge height must not be lessthan 30" and no more than 8 feet above the base of the washer.
If drain is not 30" - we have packed in the install pack an Anti-Siphon clip that attatches to the hose and the back of the washer to lift the drain hose up.
* Standpipe must be 1-1/2 inches minimum inside diameter and must be open to atmosphere.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tiberius
Upstate NY
January 22, 2013
Standard hoses are 6 feet, probably what you have. There are 8 foot hoses and even 12 foot hoses. Search the internet for "washing machine drain hoses" and you'll find something appropriate for your situation. Sounds like an 8 foot hose would work for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does EVERY wash model have LOCKING devices on the lids??? Many of us don't like that feature. Millie

Asked by
Millie
Phx., Az.
about 3.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White on
October 9, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 10, 2012
Hello Millie,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question on washers.

No, GE top load washers do not have a lock feature.

Only Frontload washers have a child safety lock feature. After starting the washer, in 15 seconds
the unit computer checks system and then locks door.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HappyCamper
Sterling, VA, USA
February 18, 2014
The lid on the GE high-efficiency washer do not lock during the wash cycle but will stop when the lid is raised.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »