Looking for Answers about Whirlpool 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel?

Customer questions and answers for
Whirlpool 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel

Create delicious family meals with the help of this Whirlpool 5.0 cu. ft. capacity gas range. The 5000 BTU AccuSimmer burner delivers precise temperature control that is perfect for melting chocolate or simmering sauces. Bake with confidence with the AccuBake temperature management system that delivers uniform baking results every time. Clean-up with ease with the high-heat self-cleaning system that requires no harsh chemicals to clean. And enjoy all these features even more knowing this range is designed, engineered and assembled here in the U.S.A.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions
 | 
68 Answers
Overall rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Whirlpool 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel

Question

It does not mention including a power cord. If that is the case what power cord should be purchased?

Asked by
FLGal
Orlando, FL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
February 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
E1California
Loma linda CA
March 24, 2015
Power cord is provided. The adaptor fiting that hooks to the gas line is not provided. I took my old one off and install in on the new gas range.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
louisvilleben
Louisville Ky
February 18, 2014
The range is gas.It will require a new gas line kit . Is has an electrical cord installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
Tennessee
February 4, 2014
Anonymous,

This is a gas freestanding range. The power cord comes with the product and is a standard 110v plug. The heat for the oven and cooking surface comes from the gas. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool Gas Range.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is this stove in stock at my store

Asked by
Larry
store 4124
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
August 11, 2013
Whirlpool 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in White
Model # WFG510S0AWInternet # 203491724Store SO SKU# 842862
undefined undefined
Zoom

More
Views

Videos
4.5 / 5
(42) Write a Review
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
E1California
Loma linda CA
March 24, 2015
No, it was not in stock, had to order from online
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THD Customer Support
Kennesaw, Ga
August 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe the best advice would be to talk to one of our many major appliance professionals at your local Home Depot store. For any other questions, please call us at our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this range/oven be converted to propane?

Asked by
Nanci
Lacey WA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
February 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Call whirlpool.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
February 20, 2015
No, it cannot be converted to propane.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
February 20, 2015
This Whirlpool Gas Range can be converted from natural gas to liquid propane. The appliance comes with the conversion kit. There are instructions on how to convert located in the Installation Guide. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I Need parts for the storage drawer at the bottom of the stove . When you pull the drawer out the frt of it falls a the

Asked by
Grandma921
West Dundee Illinois
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
May 20, 2014
There are no parts listed in the user instructions that I was given with the stove
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
If you haven't had it more then 30 days whirlpool has to fix it , actually they may have to anyways, call whirlpool.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
Tennessee
May 20, 2014
Grandma921,

To purchase parts for this Gas Range you can call The Home Depot/Whirlpool hotline at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1. A Parts and Service Representative will be able to assist you. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is only the Stainless Steel on sale and not the other finishes for the same dollar amount or percentage? I would purchase a Black one if it was.

Asked by
Papo
St. Charles, IL
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
June 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Call whirlpool.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
Tennessee
June 24, 2014
Anonymous,

Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool Stainless Steel ranges. The Home Depot determines promotional pricing for their products. Sometimes the promotion is to promote Stainless Steel or another color and not all of them. Other times, all colors are on sale, but the other colors' promotional pricing is placed in cart to follow marketing and promotional guidelines.

Make sure you are going all the way to cart to check the final price for a product. Sometimes, there can be additional discounts that aren't shown until then. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a full-top grate that fits this model?

Asked by
essjay
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
October 24, 2014
I'd love to find a single grate that covers the whole top rather than having the four separate grates. Is this something that exists/would sit safely on the stove?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Call whirlpool. You can get the no. On the internet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
October 29, 2014
There is not a single grate available from Whirlpool Corporation for this model. There might be some after market solutions, but I am not aware of any. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I purchase replacement burner grates?

Asked by
Lynne
Fl
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
May 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Call whirlpool. You can get the number on the internet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ChristineHDATL
Atlanta, Georgia
June 2, 2014
Hello Lynne!

Thank you for your question!

You can order appliance parts at www.appliancerepair.homedepot.com . There you will be able to type in your model number and find replacement parts, including grates.

I have searched for grates for the range. Here are the grates that go with this range: http://www.appliancerepair.homedepo...

Have a great day!

Christine
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what if stove does not fit space

Asked by
goat
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
They are 30 in wide, need to measure!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDAnswerman
May 29, 2014
Hi Goat,

All ranges are 30 inches wide, so measure first. If you order this range and it does not fit, you will be charged a 15% restocking fee.

Go to the product page and click on specifications, there you will find the dimensions.

Mike,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a track that the bottom drawer should be on that keeps the drawer from falling as if to fall out on the floor?

Asked by
HEQL
Vermont
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
January 17, 2015
When we pull out the drawer, it is so flimsy and the front drops to the floor when the drawer is pulled out about halfway. Is this right? This is supposed to be a decent stove -- we thought we were getting it on a great sale -- but our old "basic model" stove had a far superior drawer. This leads me to hope that there is something that we have done wrong in terms of threading the drawer into tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Yes there is a track and no it won't fall to the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tekfoc
NEW YORK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
just checked my drawer, pulled out half way and all the way out.
I do not have that problem maybe the bracket was installed wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height from the floor to the burners {i.e. excluding the part from the burners up}?

Asked by
KCKC
Stockton, CA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
January 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
351/4 in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
January 30, 2015
The height to the cooking surface from the bottom of the appliance is 36" (91.4 cm) (max.) with leveling legs screwed all the way in. The controls are about an 1" below the cooking surface (35") approximately. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool Gas Range.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this stove have time bake?

Asked by
Myself
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
January 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
Yes and the oven shuts off when your time is done. Wonderful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
January 29, 2015
This Whirlpool Gas Range range has a cook time option and a traditional timer. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Conversion to slide-in height

Asked by
hmar
Little Rock, AR
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
February 10, 2015
What are the vertical and horizontal measurements of the front area between the knobs. What are the same dimensions of the display on the upper back? Due to height restrictions, I would need to move the control display to the front.
Or I could pay $1000 extra for less metal and buy one of your already converted units you call slide-ins.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Keno10spot
Las Vegas NV
March 3, 2015
The height from the top of the range to the top of the display is 11in from the top of the display itself is 7 in.
41/2 from the bottom of the range front to the top, 21/2 from the range top . I don't know if that answered your question, but I hope so.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
February 20, 2015
Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool Gas Range. It is not possible to order this gas range with having the control panel moved to the front with the control knobs. If you are restricted in height by the rear of the control panel, you would want to consider a slide in freestanding range. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Whirlpool: How do I adjust burner flame height and what's with the terrible drawer?

Asked by
HEQL
Vermont
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
January 25, 2015
How do I adjust the flame height for the power burner? The flame is quite high and mostly orange vs. blue, which does not seem right in my experience with gas stoves. Also, whenever we use that burner, it leaves a black residue on our pan bottoms and sides, and a black residue come off the burner grate if I try to wipe it down. This is not an issue of food being on the burner. It has happened since the very first use of that burner and does not happen with the other burners.

Also, the storage drawer is possibly the biggest piece of junk I have ever seen on an appliance. There is not way we could store anything beyond a couple of cookie sheets in there. Any weight would probably warp the drawer. Plus, it basically gets halfway out and the front hits the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joeshmoe
upstate
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 31, 2015
The flame IS adjustable.
Download the "instructions / assembly" manual (the link is on the right side, midway down the screen).
Pages 10, 11, and 12 give detailed instructions on how to adjust the flames for the burners, oven, and broiler.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
January 29, 2015
Thank you for being a Whirlpool customer. The flames on the burners are not adjustable outside of the burner control knobs. If you feel that the burner is not operating properly, I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/ Whirlpool Corporation Hotline. The number is 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1, you will be connected to a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you on the burner and setup a service call if you deem that it is necessary after speaking with them.

As for the storage drawer, there is a trade off on this model and many others like it. In order to achieve a larger capacity in the oven, to cook more food items at once and larger items, the size of the storage drawer got smaller. For most consumers this is a good trade off as the larger oven capacity is welcomed especially when large meals or baking many items. I hope you have found this answer helpful. Thank you for the opportunity to assist.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does it have sealed burners

Asked by
bemmie
meriden ct
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
December 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HEQL
Vermont
January 25, 2015
Yes, it does.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDAssociate
Los Angeles, CA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 12, 2015
This range does have sealed burners. The sealed burner feature is listed in the specifications on this page.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Our front left burner burns very high and unevenly and burner grates rub off black

Asked by
HEQL
Vermont
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
January 17, 2015
When we light the front left burner, the flame comes up very high -- noticeably up the side of a pan -- and is a lot higher on one side of the flame. The higher side of the flame is tipped significantly in orange. We assume this is something that just requires an adjustment, but we can't find the information in the manual.

Also, when the burner grates get wet, the black rubs off onto a sponge, a cloth or even my fingers if I have wet the grate down when it's cold to remove a spill. They also leaves black residue on the bottoms of some pans that comes off when we're washing up. This doesn't seem like it should happen.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HEQL
Vermont
January 25, 2015
Nope. Brand new stove. Has been doing it from the first time we used the burner, so for at least a couple dozen times so far. I have tried scrubbing the grate with a scrubber sponge, but it still happens. It's now leaving black marks up the sides of my pans, and we are using large pots, to it isn't that the pans are too small. I know it's the power burner, but the flame is very high on this and very orange, not blue, which has always been my experience gas stoves.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Emenz
Delanson
January 19, 2015
Have you spilled anything on that burner. From your description it seems like carbon buildup try a lite wire brush to clean the burner. The burner may not be getting enough air . If cleaning the burner dosent help I would contact whirlpool
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the color and material of the interior walls of the oven?

Asked by
microwave
Sedona, Arizona
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
June 28, 2014
What is the color of the interior walls of the oven? What is the material of the interior walls of the oven.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tekfoc
NEW YORK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
metallic grey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hank
minnesota
July 15, 2014
black with greyish flecks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
Tennessee
June 30, 2014
microwave,

The interior is made out of steel with a baked on finish in black with speckles. It is designed for easy clean and long use while providing a great look. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you light it if power goes off

Asked by
ellie
greensboro nc
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
October 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tekfoc
NEW YORK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
use a electric lighter that you would use for a barbeque grill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HDAssociate
Los Angeles, CA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 12, 2015
You can light the stove by turning the flame on low and using a match or lighter etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 27, 2014
Hi Ellie, good question. This is a common concern. Here is how you light the burner. This is right from the user manual.

Power Failure
In case of prolonged power failure, the surface burners can be lit
manually. Hold a lit match near a burner and turn knob
counterclockwise to IGNITE. After burner lights, turn knob to
setting.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the range be used during a power outage?

Asked by
Trev
New Holland , PA
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
February 25, 2014
I looked at the use and care manual and its says you can with a match but want to make sure since there is sometimes conflicting info in them. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tekfoc
NEW YORK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
I see why not you just need a lighter to ignite the gas.
stove only not oven.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
Tennessee
February 28, 2014
Trev,

The burners on this Whirlpool freestanding range are usuable during a power outage. You mentioned you read the use and care guide, I am going to post below what was there to confirm what you read. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.

Power Failure
In case of prolonged power failure, the surface burners can be lit manually. Hold a lit match near a burner and turn knob counterclockwise to IGNITE. After burner lights, turn knob to setting.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

is there anything that I should do when I want to use the self cleaning feature?

Asked by
ZeldaGrace
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
December 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
tekfoc
NEW YORK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2015
make sure oven is empty and be prepared for more then 2hrs of self cleaning.
works great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
January 19, 2015
I suggest that you review the Use and Care Manual. If you do not have a copy, then you can view the one listed on this product page under the Info & Guides section. Follow these steps to ensure success. Basically, you will want to remove everything from the interior including the racks, then run the cycle. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Keep warm

Asked by
Jays
08810
about 5.0 cu. ft. Gas Range with Self-Cleaning Oven in Stainless Steel on
November 6, 2014
Can we change the temperature to a lesser number than 170F in the Keep warm mode or will it be only 170F?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobertHerring
Norcross, GA
December 26, 2014
The self-ignition system is faulty so lighting and keeping a steady temperature is a problem for this range.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TeamWhirlpool
November 11, 2014
The keep warm feature is 170 degrees. Thank you for viewing this Whirlpool home appliance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »