Looking for Answers about Generac 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Whether you are washing the driveway or prepping for a painting job, you need the right tool. Enter Generac power washers. Our customer research led us to engineer our power washers from the ground up, to meet your specific needs. Get cleaning power, reliability and above all, ease of use in an affordable, compact power washer you can use to clean everything from patio furniture to driveways and decks. With It's large Generac OHV horizontal shaft engine and easy-a ccess axial cam pump, the 2500-PSI power washer is ideal for cleaning everything from patio furniture to siding to decks around the house.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions
 | 
45 Answers
Overall rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Question

What is the Horse Power on this pressure washer?

Asked by
Sue03
Staten Island, NY
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
March 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
March 3, 2014
Generac does not rate it’s power washer engines by horsepower. The engines are rated by displacement, and the 2500psi residential power washer utilizes a 196cc engine. When selecting a power washer, the most important thing to consider is cleaning power—the output pressure (PSI) multiplied by the water flow rate (GPM). The higher the cleaning power, the more effectively it will clean. This unit has a cleaning power of 395.6.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

3.8 gpm?....the pressure washer only draws 2.3 gpm. Why the difference?

Asked by
Peezy
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
August 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
August 12, 2013
The 2500 psi unit will have an output of approximately 2.3 gpm, dependent on the nozzle utilized and the engine speed, which is customer controlled by the manual throttle control lever. The input water supply to the pump’s inlet must be adequate to handle greater than 3.8 gallons per minute and no less than 30 psi. Do not siphon standing water for the water supply, and ensure that you use only cold water (less than 100°F). Providing a water supply that does not meet these requirements can result in pump and/or engine damage. Please note that damage to the unit due to an incorrect water supply would not be covered under the factory warranty.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
magnethand1
Fenton, MI, USA
September 1, 2013
the pressure washer is only pumping 2.3 gals. of water minute which is 1.5 gals. less than the 3.8 gpm.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
homeimpovementgal
Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA
December 31, 2013
More gpm means more pressure. More gallons of water (3.8gpm) per min means more force of pressure is forced through the hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a pressure bypass on this unit to relive pressure when engine is running,but not activly washing?

Asked by
hotrod
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
July 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AttackUncle
July 29, 2013
Yes, there I is a pressure relie valve. It is automatic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Ming96
August 6, 2013
Yes there is.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
magnethand1
Fenton, MI, USA
September 1, 2013
yes there is a pressure relief, when not in use the the temp. in the pump heats up which triggers the motor to shut down and keeps the pump from blowing seals.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is 2500 psi strong enough to clean second story windows and siding 25 feet high in some places or should I purchase a 2700 psi washer

Asked by
Cat the HandyMan
Washington, DC
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
June 24, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
VirginiaDIYer
August 14, 2013
I'm no expert, but I don't think you want to be shooting water up to clean siding - it would get under the edges. Actually the pressure from one of these things dissipates very rapidly with distance. Even a couple of feet from the fan shape nozzle, the pressure isn't there nor is there much water volume. You could get a ladder and go up the side - that would work, but would be a lot of work. That siding wash called Mold Armour (in a green plastic bottle that you hook to your regular hose) worked really well on our house - I was impressed. Then use the pressure washer on the lower level where you can reach and angle the water flow at a downward angle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AttackUncle
June 24, 2013
Neither are really going to be strong enough to do that alone. You need a ladder.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dnos
October 22, 2013
You may want the higher PSI. The 2500 stops blasting things off the siding after about 3-4 feet back, closer than that, and it works well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is the power wash hose need for 2nd floor townhouse areas

Asked by
kathy
freehold nj
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
April 18, 2013
what is the size of power wash hose
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
chris
myrtle beach, sc
May 14, 2013
25-50 feet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AttackUncle
July 29, 2013
The hose that comes with it is 50' To reach a second story without a ladder you need a longer wand.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
April 18, 2013
If the question is "What is the length of the hose that comes with the machine?" I recall that it's 25' (twenty-five feet). Of course additional hose segments can be added.
A standard ceiling height is eight feet so a two story townhouse would be about 16' to 18' (sixteen feet to eighteen feet) to the soffits, assuming that the townhouse has its first floor at ground level. Of course the wand assenbly adds another three to four feet of length.
On top of that, extension wands can be purchased that will extend to 24' (twenty-four feet) by themselves. That will allow you to stand on the ground and reach the soffits of a two story house with ease. That sure beats hanging off a ladder.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dnos
October 22, 2013
Its a 25' foot hose, so that may be a little bit of a stretch for you, as its tightly coiled and may pull the machine over if it gets too tight. Unless you have a way to get the machine higher off the ground - its light enough to be sitting on a scaffold of some sort or a platform.
-dnos
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

name of gas powered engine

Asked by
j.c.
walnut sprgs, tex 76690
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
April 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
April 9, 2013
Generac makes many, if not all, of their own engines. I did a little research on this one but I can't be 100% certain. The engine itself (not the overall piece of equipment) does have "Generac Power Systems" on it.
I like this machine a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
HANDYMAN
YUCCA AZ
April 9, 2013
the engine on this pressure washer is made by generac. it has always started on the second or third pull every time love this pressure washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
paramedic1
Buffalo, MO 65622, USA
April 23, 2013
This is a generic engine... however I am unsure if it is an off brand of another bigger company
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
proffesionaljavaprog
May 26, 2013
Internal combustion engine
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AttackUncle
May 12, 2013
The engine is made by Generac. It's likely a rebranded Briggs and Stratton. Runs great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How well does it remove graffiti from stone/concrete?

Asked by
Julio
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
March 25, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
HANDYMAN
YUCCA AZ
March 26, 2013
I have not tried removing graffiti from stone/concrete but with the right detergent I am sure it would because this is a powerful little power washer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Generac
March 25, 2013
The 2500psi Power Washer will come with three (3) different nozzles, a 0°, 25°, and a soap applicator nozzle, each designed to tailor the stream of water to the job. The 0° red nozzle is the high pressure nozzle, and the 25° green nozzle is medium a pressure nozzle, The red high pressure nozzle is ideal for removal of loose paint, oil stains, rust, or other stubborn surfaces such as tar, gum, grease, wax, etc. Unfortunately, due to the lower psi rating on this model, we would not recommend it for graffiti removal. Our Commercial Series units, sized between 3100 and 4000psi, are better suited for graffiti removal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why cant this item be shipped to ca

Asked by
chevy85
california
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
March 25, 2013
really interested in this pressure washer but i noticed it cant be shipped to ca, is there some way around that.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
March 25, 2013
California has very restrictive emissions standards; even on small internal combustion engines that are installed on "lawn & garden equipment". That includes the pressure washer you're asking about. It's illegal to sell that machine (as nice as it is) in California.
It seems that most equipment manufacturers have to build one piece of equipment for the rest of the country and a different piece of equipment for California, probably more expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
magnethand1
Fenton, MI, USA
September 1, 2013
because it needs a special exhaust,because of strict ommisson laws in calf.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you drain this unit to store out side in the winter , if so does it have a drain plug ?

Asked by
roy
Austin , Pa.
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
March 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
March 22, 2013
To drain the fuel from a power washer, you can either run the unit until the gas tank is dry, or you can use an automotive style siphon to siphon the gasoline out of the tank through the fill opening. If you plan on siphoning the gasoline out, you will still want to run the unit until it is dry to ensure there is no gasoline left in the carburetor. Once the unit has been used, if it cannot be run monthly or if it needs to be stored for winter, it must be stored per the Long Term Storage instructions in the manual between uses. The Long Term Storage instructions will detail protection of the fuel system and protection of the pump. Damage to the unit due to freezing temperatures, improper storage, or neglect are not warrantable. We recommend that after properly preparing the unit for storage, it be kept it in a dry environment, such as a garage or shed, with any gasoline stored safely in an appropriate container.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AttackUncle
May 12, 2013
It does not have a drain plug. If you shut off the hose and run the motor with the handle open for a few seconds it will drain the water out sufficiently.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This model does't have a detergent tank. How do you power wash with deyergent? 2500psi 2.3 gpm

Asked by
Don
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
March 19, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
March 20, 2013
The 2500psi Power Washer does not have a chemical tank accessory. The unit utilizes the siphon hose to siphon your soap or detergent from a separate bucket or container to the pump. You will want to ensure that the detergent siphon hose is properly submerged in the detergent container being used. When detergent is no longer needed, ensure that the siphon hose and pump are properly flushed according to the directions in the owner’s manual to prevent damage to the other nozzles.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
March 25, 2013
I think the nozzle for "cleaning chemicals" is more a low pressure distributor of detergent than it is an actual pressure nozzle. So, if I understand the process properly, you spray on the detergent, let it soak in, then change nozzles and pressure wash.
I don't like the idea of running chemicals through the pressure washer pump anyway, so I specifically had no need for that added feature. I use a two gallon (pump up) garden sprayer to put on detergent, bleach, etc. and use my pressure washer for clear water, pressure washing, only.
It works perfectly for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ddbbm1
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
April 30, 2013
drop the hose provided into a gallon jug
you must use the soap tip though
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Ming96
Pittsburgh,Pa.
August 6, 2013
It has a suction hose that you put in a bucket and at low pressure, black tip, it will suck up your cleaner and spray it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
c0wsg0mo00
Syracuse, NY
March 20, 2013
The 2500psi Power Washer, does not have a chemical tank accessory but it DOES come with a clear siphon hose. Utilize the siphon hose to siphon your soap or detergent from a separate bucket or container to the pump.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
HANDYMAN
YUCCA AZ
March 20, 2013
hook the syphone hose to the spout on top of the pump and put the end with the screen or filter in the detergent bottle. make sure the pressure washer doesn"t wonder when it is running.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
AttackUncle
May 12, 2013
It has a pickup hose. You can use any container to put the pickup hose in and that will do the same as a detergent tank. I use a pump sprayer as I don't like to put detergents through the machine. Not all detergents are pressure washer safe. If you are going to run detergents through it, verify that it is pressure washer safe or it will destroy the gaskets and shorten the life of the pressure washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

My water pressure at my house is 90 psi, will that be a problem?

Asked by
Van
Austin
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
September 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AttackUncle
July 29, 2013
That should be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
proffesionaljavaprog
May 26, 2013
No that's good. The pressure washer needs to draw 2.3 gallons per minute to run smoothly so a higher water psi is great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Generac
September 5, 2012
The water supply must be adequate to handle greater than 3.8 gallons per minute and no less than 30 psi. Do not siphon standing water for the water supply, and ensure that you use only cold water (less than 100°F). This information can be located in the owner’s manual for the unit under the Set-up section. To locate a copy of the owner’s manual online, search the model or serial number for your unit here: http://www.generac.com/Service/ManualSearch/.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
September 11, 2012
90 psi sounds too high. I think 40 to 50 is more acceptable. I have a relative who ruined several water heaters with high incoming water pressure. A regulator eventually fixed the problem.
Most modern homes have an adjustable pressure regulator built into the incoming water supply line.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

manual says to avoid harsh cleaners

Asked by
walt
florida
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
July 29, 2012
is this because they will damage the pump or because they are dangerous to use. My house wash calls for mixing it with bleach. Will this damage the pump?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
July 30, 2012
Only soaps made for pressure washers, or liquid auto soap, should be utilized. You want to ensure that the soap is not a bleach or acid based soap as it could damage the pump. Always make sure to put the pickup tube in clean water and flush the system after each use.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
September 11, 2012
Seems like spraying your bleach mix would be better done by using a separate pump up garden sprayer. That's what I do; don't care for bleach bouncing off everything at over 2,000 psi.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AttackUncle
May 12, 2013
Yes. I use a pump sprayer to apply the detergent. But, you can use pressure washer safe detergents. They are overpriced, in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

we have a well, is this pressure washer good for that?

Asked by
Liz
about 2500-PSI 2.3-GPM OHV Engine Axial Cam Pump Gas Powered Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED on
June 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
walt
Florida, USA
July 29, 2012
you MUST maintain the recommended water input pressure. The source of the clean water should not make any difference. However, now that I have said that, mineral content can leave deposits and eventually effect the pump. You should use the pump cleaner, occasionally, that the manufacturer recommends. Additionally, be sure to drain the system when you put it away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Randolph
Linden, NC
October 16, 2012
Yes you can use a pressure washer if you have a well but your well pump must have enough flow (gpm) and pressure(psi) required by the washer manufacture.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RoadkingInThePark
Machesney Park, IL, USA
June 24, 2013
We have a well and had no problem using this pressure washer. It worked like a dream!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Generac
June 15, 2012
The water supply must be adequate to handle greater than 3.8 gallons per minute and no less than 30 psi. Do not siphon standing water for the water supply, and ensure that you use only cold water (less than 100°F).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Maxx
Kennesaw, GA, USA
September 11, 2012
If your well pump can deliver over 2.3 gpm why not!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AttackUncle
May 12, 2013
I have a well also. Worked just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1