Looking for Answers about ROBERTS 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment?

Customer questions and answers for
ROBERTS 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment

Roberts Serenity Polyethylene Foam Underlayment is designed for use under floating laminate and engineered wood flooring. It adds cushioning and compensates for minor imperfections in the subfloor. Serenity can be used alone in above-grade installations and in conjunction with a moisture barrier for below grade.
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions
 | 
108 Answers
Overall rating:
4.416 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for ROBERTS 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment

Question

What is the R value?

Asked by
Sue
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
January 17, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
January 28, 2016
This product does not have a listed R-Value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
January 19, 2016
Thank you Sue for your inquiry.

We do not have an 'R' Value rating for this underlayment. This product has not been tested.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am looking for padding for under area rugs for noise reduction. Is this good for that purpose? Can I cut it to fit?

Asked by
Gabriela
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
January 10, 2016
Is it meant to be cut? Can I tape pieces together? What kind of tape? If this is not the right prodect for area rugs, please recommend what I need. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobertsSupport
January 12, 2016
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Roberts Serenity Foam underlayment has not been tested for padding and noise reduction under area rugs. We cannot recommend our product for your use.Serenity Polyethylene Foam Underlayment is designed for use under floating laminate and engineered wood flooring.

The foam can be cut and can be taped together with duct tape.

Your local Home Depot store may be able to suggest an alternative product for you.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be used on plywood floors

Asked by
bo
sc
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
January 8, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobertsSupport
January 11, 2016
Thank you Bo for your inquiry.

We do recommend the use of this underlayment over a plywood sub floor.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How will this affect my radient infloor heat?

Asked by
SlpRay74
Elrosa, Minnesota
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
February 1, 2014
I have asked this question to different sale people and can't seem to get a positive answer. I do not want to restrict my heat source. Will this product work under my Laminate flooring?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
The "R" value is minimal so your heat will still radiate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DesigningWoman
February 4, 2014
Hello SlpRay74 and thank you for your question.

The Manufacturer’s specification sheet shows that the Roberts Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment can be used over radiant heat: http://www.robertsconsolidated.com/.... It can be used over radiant heat up to 80oF.

Best wishes on your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Use with interlocking garage tiles?

Asked by
SDSD
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
June 29, 2015
I am installing interlocking garage tiles in my garage. Some consumers experience a "clickity-clack" sound especially if there are uneven sections. The suggestions I have read are to use landscaping fabric to help muffle the sound, but this seems as if it would work better especially since that is its function (for laminate floors).

Anyone know? Any experience using this underlayment with interlocking garage tiles?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
Yes, if they are not glue down
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
July 1, 2015
Thank you for your inquiry.

We have not tested our Serenity foam underlayment with interlocking garage tiles so cannot recommend our product for your application.

If you have any questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Use with carpet tiles

Asked by
Akanigan
Utah
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
November 5, 2015
Could this product be used to provide extra cushion under carpet tiles?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
Not if the Carpet tiles need glued down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
johnoiv
Louisville, KY
November 7, 2015
Don't think this is a good idea. Carpet tiles I have used have double sided tape in the corners to secure the tile in position. Trying to stick the tape to this would not result in a good bond and prevent tile movement. Also most carpet tiles have a thick rubber back that should provide all the sound deadning you need. John Eberman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I glue parquet flooring to this foam? And what adhesive should I use?

Asked by
SeaTurtle
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
September 15, 2015
I am replacing a dislodged section of the parquet flooring and foam laminate is the underlayment.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
September 18, 2015
Thank you for your inquiry.

No. We do not recommend the use of adhesive with this underlayment.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be used under vinyl floor tile

Asked by
smooth1
Levelland, Tx
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
November 13, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
November 16, 2015
Hello and thanks for the question. I would take a look at a product like our Roberts Cork Pro Plus if you are wanting an underlayment for Vinyl flooring. If you have more questions, please contact us at 866-435-8665. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used to fix a sagging headliner in a car with a polyester fabric?

Asked by
Jt
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
November 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ICanDoIt
December 8, 2015
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
December 1, 2015
Good Morning and thanks for the question. Sorry you are having issues with your headliner but the only thing i can suggest would be to try the product out and see how it works. The Serenity Foam was designed to be used as an underlayment for wood floors, so we can not guarantee the results. If you have more questions, please contact us at 866-435-8665. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how thick is the foam?

Asked by
jack
dc
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
May 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
OldNewHomeowner
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 27, 2015
This is 2 mm thick - standard thickness for laminate flooring underlay.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
May 20, 2015
Thank you for your inquiry.

The foam is 2.3876 mm thick.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a roll less than 100 square ft. 50 ft for example

Asked by
Phil
Washington, DC
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
December 2, 2014
Have a smaller project and write to inquire
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ronniebabe
North idaho
September 8, 2015
No shorter rolls, only $15 for a full roll!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
December 3, 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.

The smallest roll size that we offer of this product is 100 Sq. Ft.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866)-435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would it be a bad idea to double layer this, or would that be too much?

Asked by
Engelwood
South Carolina
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
August 23, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ronniebabe
North idaho
September 8, 2015
Why would you want to doubled it? Its thicker than the flooring that come with a pad already attached.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
August 24, 2015
Thank you for your inquiry.

We do not recommend that our flooring underlayment or any other underlayment is double layered. This creates too much cushioning and could create stress where the flooring is connected together and cause damage.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use adhesive to put down foam underlayment to sub floor?

Asked by
Adam
Crown Point ,IN
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
September 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobertsSupport
September 4, 2015
Hi Adam, Even though it looks like the community disagrees with our answer it is not recommended to glue down the Serenity underlayment. If you need more detailed information please contact us at 866-435-8665. Thank You
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 2, 2015
Yes, this product can be used with adhesive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why is it listed here and on the home depot site as well for 11.97 but when you get to the store they telll you your crazy it's not that cheap . becau

Asked by
Rocky
Marion,IL
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
November 4, 2013
why did we have to pay 27.98 when it clearly stated here 11.97 when i tried to question the difference yesterday i was told it is not the price that is on here so what give is this just a gimmick to get people into the store?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
This is an online item. I had mine shipped to store. It took a few days but worth the savings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dvdchris
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 23, 2014
This is a different product not carried in the store. The most similar in store product is by Trafficmaster and includes an adhesive overlap strip which is very handy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dd599
Northwest Montana
February 27, 2014
It was not available in the store, only online for that price. That is how we purchased it and when you have free shipping with a certain amount of goods purchased, it works out pretty good for the consumer.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TanaK
Bloomsburg PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 27, 2014
I would suggest speaking to a manager and reviewing the product with them at the in-store kiosk. This way the manager can use the online product skew to look it up and possibly provide you with a qualified answer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RobertsSupport
Dalton
November 4, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Serenity underlayment is not sold in Home Depot stores. It is only sold on HomeDepot.com.

The product that you were quoted on in the store could have been a different product.

If you have any questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a moisture barrier on concret?

Asked by
ja71
Springville, Utah
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
December 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
I don't think this is a moisture barrier. You should find one that has a plastic sheet that it is on.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dvdchris
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 23, 2014
No; while it may have some moisture barrier properties it does not come with a vapor/moisture barrier on either side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
wuff4u
Kalispell, MT 59901, USA
January 25, 2014
I do not think so it is very soft and no barrier sheet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RobertsSupport
Dalton
December 31, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Serenity Foam underlayment is ideal for above grade uses over wood subfloors. It can also be used with concrete slabs with a recommended moisture barricade 6 mil polyethylene film.

We do not recommend using this product over concrete without a separate moisture barrier.

If you have any questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used under laminate in a kitchen?

Asked by
JD04
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
February 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
That is where I used it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Barb
Yelm, WA, USA
May 27, 2014
We used this product in all the rooms we did. It worked fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BowMama
Tuscola, Illinois 61953
May 15, 2014
You probably shouldn't put laminate in a kitchen or bath because it can absorb water and those are areas that require a lot of cleaning. That being said, yes, you could use this under laminate anywhere.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dd599
Northwest Montana
February 27, 2014
It all depends on the manufacturers instructions. We have used it under all of our projects so far according to what was recommended and it has been very reliable and suitable for our needs. Just consult the directions given and you will be fine. It goes down without any problems If you do need to have an underlayment, which seems to be the norm, unless it is a product that has one attached already on the backing. I found that it does not matter as to the cost or thickness of the underlayment used and that they all are suitable for laminate flooring equally. That is just my opinion and perhaps someone else may offer different advice, but in budgetary terms...this one did just fine for the cost. We used it under several Pergo laminate floor patterns.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TanaK
Bloomsburg PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 27, 2014
When you say laminate I am going to assume you mean laminate flooring like Pergo? If so then yes you can. It isn't the thickest on the market but I am using it in the rooms and it works great so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RobertsSupport
Dalton
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 27, 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.

We do recommend the usage of our Serenity Foam underlayment for your application.

If you have any questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can underlayment be used with ceramic tiles?

Asked by
Jan1
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
August 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
I would not use this for tiles because the foam is not secure enough to hold the adhesive, The foam would rip.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
Dalton
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 25, 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Serenity Polyethylene Foam Underlayment is designed for use under floating laminate and engineered wood flooring. It has not been tested with ceramic tile so cannot be recommended for your installation.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
johnoiv
Louisville, KY
August 24, 2014
I do not know. I used it with laminate flooring. Think there is a product for ceramic tile and it is called a membrane. Saw it in the tile area of Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a sound reducing factor.

Asked by
Jank
San Jacinto, Ca
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
October 28, 2014
Ordered some lament flooring for 2 upstairs bedrooms. Was wondering if anyone knows if this product will reduce noise? Thank You
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
If you mean from your footstep on the floor above, that's what it is for. But if you mean from below I don't know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bob
Clarks Summit, PA
July 28, 2015
yes...reduces footstep sounds...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RobertsSupport
October 30, 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Serenity Foam underlayment adds cushioning and compensates for minor imperfections in the subfloor. It has not been rated for sound. Our Unison underlayment (70-025) has been rated with an STC of 54 and an IIC of 61.Our Unison underlayment is available through Home Depot's website.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
johnoiv
Louisville, KY
October 29, 2014
Due to the thickness (lack of) of this product I think the noise reduction would be minimal. Look for a product that is specifically engineered for noise reduction. There are many out there. The 12mm laminate with an underlayment attatched and then a layer of sound reducing underlayment would be the ultimate noise reduction application in my book.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this product have any printing on it? The one in stock in the stores has black printing on it and I need one without printing on it.

Asked by
JBW24
Seattle, WA
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
May 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tocheaptopayapro
August 26, 2015
I ordered 2 rolls of this and I do not recall any printing on it. There is a sticker that keeps it rolled up so you will have to cut off some first.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bob
Clarks Summit, PA
July 28, 2015
no printing on the one I got
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RobertsSupport
May 21, 2015
Thank you for your inquiry.

Our Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment is not printed.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Would this be an appropriate underlayment for use with nail-down, solid bamboo floors?

Asked by
Katie
about 100 sq. ft. Roll of Serenity Foam Laminate Underlayment on
August 28, 2014
Floors are 3/8" thick, solid carbonized strand bamboo, to be installed above-grade over wood subfloors. We are looking for an affordable option!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bob
Clarks Summit, PA
July 28, 2015
this was meant for laminate floating floors. I wouldn't use it for nail down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobertsSupport
Dalton
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 29, 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.

Roberts Serenity Polyethylene Foam Underlayment is designed for use under floating laminate and engineered wood flooring.

Our SVS Paper Model # 70-198 is for use with staple and nail down installations of solid and engineered wood floors and can be purchased through Home Depot.com.

If you have any further questions please call our Customer Service (866) 435-8665.

Thank you for your interest in our product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 »