Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions
 | 
36 Answers
Overall rating:
4.663 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

is sku#635087 available at the mantua,nj store?

Asked by
jug
swedesboro,nj
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
August 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 30, 2012
Thank you for reaching out to us. Sku#635087 is in the process of being released nationally but may not be available yet in that region. To confirm availability of this sku in the quickest manner possible, please call the store direct.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 30, 2012
I received some more detailed information on this question moments ago and wanted to pass it on to you. As of yesterday, (8/29/12) the Mantua, NJ store had 9 units on hand of sku#635087. Hope this is helpful in your purchase decision.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LiveNLearn
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
November 13, 2012
Check the store inventories on line. It's easy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I would like to view the installation video on the insinkerator garbage disposer? where is it located?

Asked by
wild willie of the Northwest
Boise, Idaho
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. There are some installation step-by-step instructions located on our website here: http://bit.ly/TiGycc (copy and paste URL in your web browser) as well as on our YouTube channel. Video link below.

Thank you again for your question and should you run into any issues with installation, our customer service team is happy to assist. 1-800-558-5700. Good luck with your kitchen project!
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tony
Huntington Beach
January 14, 2013
See the home depot website for insinkerators and follow the link for video
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dave
February 7, 2014
youtube has better videos for installation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Same price - which is the better quality of the two : Evolution Select 5/8 HP or the Evolution Compact 3/4 HP ? Performance between 5/8 HP & 3/4 HP ?

Asked by
ajett
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 20, 2014
Hi ajett,

The Evolution Select and the Evolution Compact are essentially the same unit with the same features and warranty. The Home Depot Evolution Select Model has a bit stronger motor. As such, if both models are the same price, I would opt for the higher HP Evolution Select. Less strain on the motor while grinding. I hope I have been able to answer your question today. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mevans7
January 30, 2014
The prior answer does not make sense. It says to opt for the higher HP of the Select (5/8) than that of the Compact (3/4) but last time I checked, 5/8 was actually LESS than 3/4.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Adam
February 13, 2014
I can't speak for the 3/4 HP, but I have the 5/8 and have been abusing it, entire limes, chunks of pineapple rind, fat from meat, and have had no issues. It's quiet and has taken everything I've thrown at it with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why is this model better than the 3/4hp compact model

Asked by
russ
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
August 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 15, 2013
Hello Russ, thank you for your question. These models are comparable. The Compact ¾ HP has a bit more power, while the Evolution Select at 5/8 HP includes an anti-microbial Quiet Collar removable baffle for easy cleaning. We hope this information is helpful and we thank you for your interest in our products.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrPumpkin
Richmond, VA, USA
March 4, 2014
I would say because of the noise level and grinding ability in this one. Both are outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BGFord
Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
March 20, 2014
The 5/8hp is a high quality product, and depending on your usage, is all most people will ever need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am replacing my current Badger 5 1/2 HP garbage disposal with a 5/8 Evolution Select.

Asked by
Dave
Portland, oregon
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 8, 2014
The new Evolution appears to be larger than the old one. My issue is that most of the fittings on the piping ( changed pipe size to 1-1/2" by a plumber ) but he hard glued all the joints, except at diposal and the last p-trap.

Quetion: will i be able to just adjust the one p-trap to fit the new disposal, i am concerned that when i move it to allow for the larger disposal, i will be moving the drain to the sink out of alignment. if it is to long can i just add a coupler to the ling pipe between the disposal and the sink ??

or will it be a larger issue than i can handle on my own ??
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 12, 2014
Hi Dave,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The Select is the closest to the rough in plumbing dimensions of the Badger. The measurement from the bottom of the sink to the middle of the discharge opening is the same. The measurement from the middle of the unit to the middle of the dscharge tube (once attached) is 3/4" different as the width of the Select is larger. Under normal circumstances you should be able to shift the disposer to allow the discharge tube to fit into the p-trap. But, I can not, in all honesty, guarantee that it would fit properly. For your convenience, I am including a link to our download page where you can compare the dimensions of the Badger and the Select (Evolution Compact). You can also download a copy of the Installation, Care and Use Manual to review the installation instructions.

http://www.insinkerator.com/en-us/Service-Support/Pages/Downloads.aspx

I hope I have been able to assist you today. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NoviceDIY
Kansas USA
February 25, 2014
I just replaced a badger 5 with the 5/8 evolution. It was nearly an exact replacement. The Evolution does include a foot or so of pipe incase it isn't right on, but I didn't need it. The drain pipe (curved pipe) off of the badger did extend into the ptrap further than the evolution does, but the evo is probably still a half inch or so into the pipe. If yours doesn't, I would guess you'll need the pipe they include.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MrPumpkin
Richmond, VA, USA
March 4, 2014
I can't say for sure in your case, but in mine I was replacing the same Badger and all of the fittings lined right up. Had to cut one pipe to length that came from the disposal, but other than that I didn't have to touch any of the other pipes.

So even though the disposal appears larger, the fittings still line up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
STCAP
Tracy, CA, USA
March 18, 2014
You need to offset drain line once it comes out of the wall. If I were you I would cut out all of the glued fitting and use threaded fitting. It should take no more than an hour and another hour to install the disposal without help. If you replace all of fitting and disposal you will be very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be used without water so i can use it as a food processer for grinding allpes for juicing

Asked by
glasroc
new hampshere
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Tony
Huntington Beach
January 14, 2013
No......
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. Unfortunately the product is not engineered to be used for food processing or for consumption of the food after the food waste has been sent through the disposer. Thank you again for your question and we hope this information is helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
plumberman
Lancaster, PA, USA
January 29, 2013
No, this product can only be used as a food waste disposer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
northwind
Ridgecrest, CA
March 13, 2013
The user's manual recommends always running cold water while in use, so I don't believe it would work. Also, based on the way this is constructed and the operating principles behind a disposal using it like a food processor would most likely not work. Also, due to the inability to clean it thoroughly between uses it would probably also is a risk of contamination from bacteria and other pathogens stuck in various crevices.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
cando
April 9, 2013
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Mkstev
Savannah, GA, USA
April 29, 2013
I guess you could if you build a sturdy housing to attach it to. My first choice would be a large round basin were a horse pulls a large stone wheel over the apples.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JCook
Pearland, TX, USA
June 15, 2013
I don't think that is a viable option.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
LovestoCook
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
August 22, 2013
No, this device installs under your sink, it is not a food processor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Jules
Portland, OR, USA
January 14, 2014
Um, no. I don't think so.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this come with a removable quiet collar sink baffle for ease of cleaning?

Asked by
J Watters
about Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
October 29, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
October 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. Yes, this model does come equipped with the Quiet Collar Sink Baffle that is removable for easy cleaning. Also, all InSinkErator Evolution Series models come with the removable Quiet Collar Sink Baffle. We hope this information is helpful with your purchasing decision and we thank you for your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LiveNLearn
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
November 13, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bone62
Palm Harbor, FL, USA
December 6, 2012
Yes is does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TomH
December 30, 2012
Yes it does. This is the best feature - the baffle can be removed and cleaned, eliminating the most common cause of disposer odor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Tony
Huntington Beach
January 14, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Glenn9225
Chalfont, PA 18914, USA
January 16, 2013
Yes and they are readily avail.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
wd69em
CdA Idaho
January 26, 2013
Yes it does!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
plumberman
Lancaster, PA, USA
January 29, 2013
Yes, this is the first time I've seen this feature in a garbage disposer. It will make that problem of cleaning under the baffle very easy to take care of.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
northwind
Ridgecrest, CA
March 13, 2013
Yes it does, the baffle is easily removable and appears to do a good job of keeping silverware from falling into the disposal. With the baffle removed the average person can most likely reach into the disposal to retrieve dropped or stuck items (unplug it first!).
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
JCook
Pearland, TX, USA
June 15, 2013
Yes it does. Very easy to remove and replace after cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
ljthe2nd
Roseville, MI, USA
October 29, 2012
I'd like to say yes but I'm not sure what a quiet collar is. There is a removable rubber piece that helps cut down on the noise and when removed you have an obstructed access to the inside of the disposal. I'm out of town right now, if I can add photos later I will.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1