Looking for Answers about Toro Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower?

Customer questions and answers for
Toro Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Finally an easy to use two-stage Snow blower. The Power Max 724 OE Two-Stage Snow blower has many features to make your snow clearing job easy and yet is built tough to give you years of dependable performance. A breakthrough in snow blowing technology, the Power Max Anti-Clogging System (ACS) reroutes excess snow to prevent clogging and maximizes impeller speed and velocity. The Quick Lever control allows you to quickly and easily change chute direction and the locking style Zip deflector quickly and securely changes the angle of the thrown snow. The 205 cc Briggs and Stratton engine is tough and durable for years of dependable use. It comes standard with electric start. The material of the auger gearbox gears are what matter not the material of the gearbox housing. The special hardened gearbox gears are designed to withstand the highest of stresses and resist wear unlike softer competitive gears. The Power Max is also built with a unique one-piece frame for maximum strength. All others use a two-piece frame that has a weaker bolted joint right in the middle of the machine. The interlock system allows one-handed operation freeing the other hand to change speeds or the chute control without stopping. It has a 3 year limited warranty on the machine and engine. The chute, deflector, and ACS are guaranteed for life. Some assembly is required by the customer.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Toro Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Question

this elec start is it by battery or plug in

Asked by
bob
coventry r i
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
diyguy
March 6, 2013
plug in, Bob
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CTworker
March 15, 2013
Plug in.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Alan
Evergreen, CO 80439, USA
March 27, 2013
Starter has plug-in source. However, the engine is so easy to start with a single pull that I doubt I will ever bother to hassle with an entension cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
PLUG IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
it's plug in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Toro
February 11, 2013
To use the electric starter, connect a power cord to the electric starter plug-in first and then to a power outlet. Use only a UL-listed, 16-gauge extension cord recommended for outdoor use that is not longer than 50 feet (15 m). Please view the Operator's Manual for detail starting instructions at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/9f/9ffa035e-0144-4349-bba4-ca6a97626fd1.pdf.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Whitewolf63
North St. Paul, MN, USA
February 17, 2013
Plug in
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RetiredinColorado
Golden, CO, USA
February 26, 2013
It's a plug in. All you need is an extension cord for starting. It works very well, but the optional pull start works very well also. The machine is very easy to start. I live in Colorado where I have used it for about 3 months now, and I've used both options and it always starts on the first try.

Hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

how much assembly is required when it is delivered

Asked by
dancers2
Pawtucket, RI
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 13, 2013
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 14, 2013
It takes about 15-20 minutes to assemble once it is out of the box. It can easily be done by one person. For more detailed information, please view the Operator's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/9f/9ffa035e-0144-4349-bba4-ca6a97626fd1.pdf.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johann
Boston, MA, USA
January 29, 2013
It took me a box cutter to remove the carton from the pallet, and to assemble, only two box end wrenches were needed and maybe a hour and a half of time. Its not a problem. I could have done it in less time but I like to check everything twice.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RetiredinColorado
Golden, CO, USA
February 26, 2013
Assembly is very easy. You will need to install the chute and the linkage. If you really take your time, you should be done in about 45 minutes. Instructions are very clear.

Hope this helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
diyguy
Stratford, CT, USA
March 6, 2013
control handle, discharge chute, gear box lever, chute directional lever.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
6 BOLTS SOCKET WRENCH VERY HELPFUL
15 MINUTES DOING IT FIRST TIME i COULD NOW DO IT IN LESS THAN 5 KNOWING ALL THE APRTS
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
must65pny1
West Chicago, IL, USA
December 17, 2013
very little 2 wrenches will do it or an adjustable wrench with pliers.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MechanicallyChallenged
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 28, 2013
The handle bar has to be bolted into place, the chute needs to be attached, and the trunnion (the long metal rod thing that controls the speed) has to be attached in two places.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the meaning of "gas/electric starter"?

Asked by
Sue
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 17, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
December 17, 2012
This gas powered Toro two-stage snowthrower comes equipped with both electric start and a recoil mitten grip start.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RetiredinColorado
Golden, CO, USA
February 26, 2013
It means that it is a gas engine that has an electric starter. All you need is an extension cord that plugs directly into the snow thrower for starting. Push a button, it starts right up, and then you unplug the extension cord. It also has a pull start option that works very well too.

Hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
It runs on gas you can plug it in and push the red button the start it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
The machine uses gas & oil (4 cycle engine), and it has a plug for an extension cord to connect to for the electric start. It has a pull start cord which is VERY easy to start. Mine started on the first pull, no problem---and I am female, 5'6", 116 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
shoe
nj
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
electric starter so you don't have to pull the string just plug it in and press the button. Make sure you prime it and set choke to low first then when it starts turn choke up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Newtosnow
Utah
February 2, 2014
Generally thiseana there are 2 different ways to start the motor , one being the electric motor that comes with the machine and the other way is a mechanical starter like a pull rope
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I did not use last year because no snow. Wont start when I use the pull rope. Any ideas?

Asked by
Bob
CT
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 2, 2013
Remove any gas that was in the snowthrower and replace with new fuel. Remove the spark plug and see if it is wet with gas. If so, the gas is getting to the cylinder and with new fuel it should start. If the spark plug shows no sign of fuel, the carburetor is plugged, and it would need to be seen by servicing dealer. You can find your nearest servicing dealer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RetiredinColorado
Golden, CO, USA
February 26, 2013
If you had any gas stored in the machine from last year, you'll want to remove it and put fresh gas in it.

Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
TRY ELECTRIC START PREMIUM GAS CHECK OIL CLOSE CHOKE AND OPEN SLOWLY ONCE IT STARTS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
Does it start with the electric start?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CapeCodMan
Cape Cod
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Since you didn't use it last year, did you drain the old gas? You'd be surprised how many starting problems are caused by stale gas. Drain that old stuff and put in fresh gas. You should also get a bottle of stabilizer and add according to the directions into the gas can.

Also check that your spark plug is cleaned and gapped properly. Plugs are cheap do you might want to just buy one, the exact part number of what's in there now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Zernwolf
Trempealeau County, WI, USA
April 4, 2014
It could be so many things. Did you choke? Maybe the gas is old. Did you remember to turn on the gas? Did it start with the electric start? Did you prime?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Use on gravel driveway

Asked by
chickenkeeper
North Idaho
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 7, 2013
I have a 700-foot gravel driveway. The instruction booklet seems unclear as to the use of this machine on gravel. Can you clarify this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 8, 2013
You can use the Power Max 724 OE on concrete, asphalt and gravel surfaces.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johann
Boston, MA, USA
January 29, 2013
I would not use it on gravel. This or any other snow blower. Even with the skids adjusted down low, it may pick up small stones and throw them. I broke a window that way once.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
RAISE SCRAPER AND AUGERS HIGHER UP BETTER ON CEMENT OR ASPHALT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
Adjust the feet by loosing the nuts with a 1/2" wrench move the feet up or down depending on how close you want get to the gravel.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
I'm not sure a snow blower----any snow blower---is recommended for gravel driveways. The rocks can damage the machine. I think there is a way you can lift the bottom of it up a little bit so it doesn't scrape along the ground, but I don't know how to do it. I'm sure the manual tells you how to do it. I don't know that I'd use a snow blower on a gravel driveway---you're probably better off using a plow blade that is raised up a couple of inches so all the gravel doesn't get pushed around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
shoe
nj
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
raise the back sweeper so it won't drag on gravel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Chute control not operating smoothing

Asked by
nonogood
Detroit
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 9, 2013
Installed according to instruction,however,chute is not operating smoothing any answer for this?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 11, 2013
We recommend taking the snowblower to a Toro authorized servicing dealer to determine the problem. You can locate your nearest dealer at http://www.toro.com/en-us/locator/pages/default.aspx.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johann
Boston, MA, USA
January 29, 2013
I don't have this problem. To operate the chute, you need to push forward on the knob before you swivel left or right. The instructions do include an adjustment option for the chute control rod, but I didn't need to adjust mine. Sorry, I can't help you better.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CTworker
March 15, 2013
Spraying it with WD-40 should solve the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
MUST PRESS FORWARD BEFORE TURNING FROM SIDE TO SIDE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MechanicallyChallenged
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 28, 2013
I know, it's one of the drawbacks to an otherwise great machine. If you move the chute lever with some firm force it will fully range the 180 degrees it's intended. If it doesn't work just try again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
The "Quick Stick" handle on this model does not go in a circle---you have to move it from side to side. Maybe try spraying some WD-40 on the handle piece or the long metal piece that connects the handle to the chute. I wouldn't say that mine was "very smooth" either, but it wasn't hard to move the handle from side to side.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far does it throw the snow for dry snow and for wet snow

Asked by
TheBigDipper
Burlington, MA
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
November 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
November 25, 2013
This model has a 24 in. clearing width and can throw snow up to 40 ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
Depends on how far you tilt the chute back up to about 25 to 30 feet dry
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MechanicallyChallenged
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 28, 2013
We had 8 inches on wet/dry snow and it threw it super far! I'd say at least 6-7'? Can be adjusted with angle of the chute end of course.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
Just had a foot of snow a few days ago---it was dry, powdery snow & I threw it practically into my neighbor's driveway, LOL. I could have buried his car if I wanted to. I don't know about wet snow----I'm sure it wouldn't be as far, but it has a powerful engine so I'm sure it would still throw snow pretty far.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
shoe
nj
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
It throws the snow as much as twenty feet but the dry snow was torn apart by the wind and went not where it is aimed but where the wind wanted it. You have to aim dry snow low when the wind is against you or high if the wind is blowing with you.
Wet snow goes where you aim it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SAV1982
Valparaiso, IN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Dry snow it will toss it 20-25 feet wet 15-20.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How are they packed for transport? If I buy one at the store, will it fit in the back of a Jeep Cherokkee?

Asked by
Murdy
Aurora, Il
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 21, 2013
What are the dimensions of the carton it comes in?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CPM001
Magna, UT, USA
December 26, 2013
The box was about 4.5 feet wide by 3 feet tall. That is if you get it shipped. If you pick it up in the store they have them out of the box all assembled. It should fit in the back of a jeep cherokee ( if you can put the back seats down) I know we can get it in the back of my wife's RAV4 with her seats down.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MechanicallyChallenged
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 28, 2013
It's in a box that is roughly 4' deep, 2.5' feet wide, and 4.5' tall? I'm relying upon memory. I think you could get it into a Jeep but the hard part will be lifting it because it's heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Toro
January 3, 2014
It might but please measure your car for exact fit. The outside dimensions of the carton are 49.75 x 25.5” x 33.5” high.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NYSnowGal
Long Island, New York, USA
January 7, 2014
I have a Jeep Cherokee, and there is NO WAY that this would fit in the back, even out of the box. The box it comes in is enormous. If you had a pick up truck it would be no problem. I had it delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NBub
January 10, 2014
No..it comes in a large crate via truck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
shoe
nj
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Fits in a Prius but that has a big hatch back and low floor dunno about a Jeep. Do not drive a Jeep no dirt roads in my neighborhood.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what happens when u lose the key. bad feature . it doesnt have a cable or string attached

Asked by
tjc123
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
January 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CapeCodMan
Cape Vod
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Maybe this isn't much help, but you did get two keys, correct? I keep one in the zipper pocket of my winter coat, and the other in the original plastic bag it came in. I don't leave it in the snowblower when it's not bring used.

However. There was one time my old snowblower had to be repaired and I forgot to give the guy a key. When I called him, he said not to worry as he just made his own out of a similar size piece of plastic. I suppose you could try and do that. The only important part is the section that fits into the opening.

As a last resort, why don't you call customer service at Toro? I bet you can buy a couple of spares very inexpensively. Just be sure to keep them in a safe place.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
February 4, 2014
Toro can send you a replacement key free of charge. Please contact our Customer Service department at 1-888-384-9939 or online at http://www.toro.com/en-us/customer-support/Pages/Customer-Inquiry.aspx and provide us with your full mailing address.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
kevin
Monroe Township, NJ, USA
February 25, 2014
There is a spare in given with manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MatthewS
Grand Rapids, MI
February 27, 2014
It comes with more than one key and it doesn't come out easily. I leave one in all the time and placed the spare in a safe place just in case.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Gary
Minnesota
March 11, 2014
Contact your local Toro Dealer, or download the parts manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Zernwolf
Trempealeau County, WI, USA
April 4, 2014
I have never had a problem with this on any other machine. I just always leave it in. It would not be that hard to attache a cable or string of some sort if you are concerned
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the oil capacity for the 724 toro snowblower

Asked by
bosox929
schroon lake n.y
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
December 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
January 2, 2013
The Oil Capacity is 18 to 20 oz. (0.53 to 0.59 l). You can view this and other product details in the specifications tab on the product detail page. You can also view more detailed information in the Operator's Manual at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/9f/9ffa035e-0144-4349-bba4-ca6a97626fd1.pdf.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Johann
Boston, MA, USA
January 29, 2013
It's just a little less than one U. S. quart.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
shoe
nj
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
check manual
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Gary
Minnesota
March 11, 2014
18 to 20 ounces. It is in your manual along with the viscosity to use. Download the manual from Toro website if you don't have one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to put Oil in the gear box and the qty

Asked by
Daniel
Montreal,Canada
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
October 7, 2013
Can someone please send me a link or a video how to do it thank you very much

Power max 724 snowblower.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
October 9, 2013
Please view the "Checking the Auger Gearbox Oil Level" section in the Owner’s Manual online at http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/9f/9ffa035e-0144-4349-bba4-ca6a97626fd1.pdf. To add oil, we would suggest putting the oil into a squeeze bottle and then squeeze some into the opening.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MechanicallyChallenged
Wisconsin
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 28, 2013
It comes with oil in it already. Oil is replenished via dip stick hole.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Gary
Minnesota
March 11, 2014
Its right in your manual with pictures. There is a pipe plug that you remove. Do not use synthetic oil. The correct oil is specified in the manual. If you don't have one, download one from the Toro website.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when will the Toro 24inch, 2 stage, elec start, $799, be available?

Asked by
Karen
11780
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 3, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
September 5, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry. It should be available later this month. Please check back at that time or contact your local Home Depot for additional information.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
That's the one i use it's available now
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this product be available?

Asked by
Mishy58
Wakefield, MA
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 3, 2012
Toro Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Model # 37770
Internet # 203516983
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
September 5, 2012
Thank you for your inquiry. It should be available later this month. Please check back at that time or contact your local Home Depot for additional information.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
larry
Parsippany, NJ 07054, USA
November 19, 2013
JUST BOUGHT IT HOME DEPOT ONLINE WITH DELIVERY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

could someone please indicate when the Toro 24 inch snow blower will become available

Asked by
buckskin
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
October 14, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
October 16, 2012
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is scheduled to be in stock late-October 2012.Please check the site around that time frame for product availability. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

You can also browse our site or check with your local Home Depot store for similar options that may also work for you.
To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found on the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Captain
Toledo, OH, USA
December 19, 2013
Available now online
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this in stock anywhere near Garden City, NY?

Asked by
Cari
Long Island, NY
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
February 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
February 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. To determine pricing and availability you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. Unfortunately, if you are unable to see the store inventory, then it’s most likely not a stocked item in your area. However, you can still order it online to ship to your home or business. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
1. Localize Homedepot.com using your zip code (My Store Location: Change)
2. Choose the store where you want to pick up the item (Make this my Store)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Patti
Ithaca NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 16, 2014
Should be at your local Home Depot Store or On-line at Home Depot. Check it out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many horsepowers

Asked by
juggie
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
March 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Toro
March 9, 2014
We do not communicate horsepower information for our engines but displacement (cc) should provide a good comparison amongst all snow blowers.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jason
Long Island
October 4, 2014
Here is the conversion ratio for 4 cycle carb small engines :
1 x HP per each 25 cc

So 208cc is 8.32hp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Faulty Gas On/Off Valve

Asked by
CapeCodMan
Cape Cod
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
March 11, 2014
Does anyone know how to change the On/Off gas valve? Much as I like this snowblower I was surprised and disappointed to see the gasoline valve is now defective.

I went to use it the last storm, and although the engine would start after priming, it would soon stop. I verified the switch was in the ON position, so I came to the conclusion the gas line must be frozen. i wound up hand shoveling which didn't make me a happy camper with an $800 brand new snowblower sitting there. On the weekend I tried to start it and again it kept stopping. A frozen gas line hardly seemed the answer since we'd had a two day warmup with temps in the 50's.

Out of sheer desperation we fiddled with the gas valve, and put it in the OFF position, and then the snowblower kept running. It's obvious something inside has gone awry. To be honest, I still don't think it's getting enough gas to run as smoothly as before. I suppose I can call Customer Support, but being an older man without a pickup truck, I don't feature having to transport this machine to the nearest dealer, or else pay $60 to $80 for them to come and get it and return it after repairs.

I'm hoping someone can tell me if this is a simple enough repair that I can just fix it myself.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TravisHDAtl
Atlanta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 14, 2014
Hi CapeCodMan,

I'm Travis from The Home Depot.

It is possible that the decal could be out of position, indicating the wrong direction for operation of the fuel valve, or the valve could be installed backwards or up side down.

The engine will run for about 2 minutes with the fuel valve shut, so testing its position will take time. Operate the snowblower with the valve in each position to establish proper placement of the switch and mark it accordingly.

Thank you for asking,

-Travis
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CapeCodMan
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 17, 2014
Travis. Thanks for taking the time to answer. I'm certain it's not a problem with the decal, and I'll explain why. The decal appropriately shows the gas On position to be vertical, and the gas OFF position to be horizontal just as it says in the book. Also, I had previously run the snowblower 6 times, and always, prior to starting moved the valve from the horizontal OFF position to the vertical ON position, and had plenty of gas, and the machine ran great.

However, this last time, as usual, prior to starting the machine, I moved the gas valve from the horizontal OFF position to the vertical On, position. After priming, the engine started right up, but then quit within a minute or so. I primed it again, and it wouldn't start. I waited and primed it again, and after a few tries it started, and then quit after about 30 seconds. To me it acted just like a frozen gas line where only a trickle of gas was getting through, and thus it took a while to prime, and then quit because there wasn't enough gas to support the engine.

A few days later, when the temp was near 50, therefor showing the gas line couldn't' be frozen, I experienced the same problems. Out of desperation I did fool with the valve, and put the valve in the horizontal OFF position, and this time the engine kept running. I let the engine run for 10 minutes before shutting it down.

So it's quite obvious that the valve worked properly, and according to the decal, the first half dozen times, but wouldn't work properly according to the decal the last time. There's no other conclusion than that the gas valve has internally shifted out of position, and from one use to the next I'll never know for sure what the correct position will be to smoothly run the snowblower. I'm hoping it's something I might be able to fix on my own, as usually the warranty dealers want you to bring the machine in, which is very difficult for a70 year old man such as myself, or pay to have them pick up and deliver the machine, which seems ridiculous fora cheap plastic part on a Toro 3 months old..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many shear pins does it have?

Asked by
atetee8
Baltimore Maryland
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Spreadfamily
Frankfort IL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 3, 2014
There is one nut and bolt (shear pin) on each of the three augers. Two in the front (collects the snow - 1st stage) and one on the second stage auger that throws the snow. Here is a you tube changing one on this model (which is rarely needed).
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
September 3, 2014
The Power Max models have a high-strength auger gear box - special hardened gears designed to withstand the highest of stresses and provide worry-free performance - no shear pins needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when the item will be available in local store or online in Bufflo area?

Asked by
letters
14201
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 9, 2014
Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Patti
Ithaca NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 16, 2014
Its available on-line at Home Depot and should be in all stores shortly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Patti
Ithaca NY
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 17, 2014
Not sure but just go on-line at the Home Depot website and place the order. Best advice I can give you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the difference in Model # 37775 and this model 37770?

Asked by
clodbuster
chicago, il
about Power Max 724 OE 24 in. Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower on
September 19, 2014
i dont see anything different other than it says the 37770 is self propelled where as the 37775 has different speeds, (and of course a $100 difference) but in the description on the 37770 it says it has 6 forward and 2 reverse. What should i believe?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Spreadfamily
Frankfort IL
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 20, 2014
The 37775 joystick controls the direction to throw the snow and also the height of the snow being thrown. In addition the Specs for the 37775 indicate there are 7 forward speeds (look under specifications in the 2nd column), The 37770 joystick does not control the height of the snow being thrown and has 6 speeds going forward.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Toro
September 22, 2014
The difference is that 37775 is a new model with Quick Stick that changes chute direction and angle all with one control. 37770 has a quick lever for chute direction and zip deflector for deflector angle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »