Looking for Answers about Frigidaire 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking?

Customer questions and answers for
Frigidaire 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking

This extra-large and sleek Frigidaire 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Stainless Steel Microwave has over 30 cooking options and several One-Touch options so you can easily warm up any meal. It also uses Sensor Cooking, automatically adjusting power levels and cooking times depending on what's in it. With a large 13 in. diameter glass turntable and a SpaceWise Rack to cook multiple dishes, this microwave is versatile enough for almost any meal. The ventilation features include two fan speeds that move up to 300 cu ft of air per minute and removable dishwasher-safe filters.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions
 | 
24 Answers
Overall rating:
3.802 out of 5
3.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Frigidaire 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking

Question

Is the electical connection a simple plug in?

Asked by
Will
Lake Bluff, IL
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
September 13, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
September 17, 2012
Microwave model FGMV174KF uses a regular 3-prong power cord.

Thank you,
Frigidaire
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LoLo
December 4, 2012
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thomas45215
Cincinnati, OH, USA
April 2, 2013
The microwave has a 120V cord attached that is made to connect through the cabinet above the microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CharliesAngel
July 28, 2013
It is a three pronged plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this come with all hardware needed to mount unit??

Asked by
burnhul
new york
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
November 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
November 19, 2012
All the hardware needed to install this unit is included in the purchase of this appliance.

Thank you,
Frigidaire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LoLo
December 4, 2012
It was installed by the delivery men. They did have to use different bolts than what came with the unit; I believe the bolts needed to be longer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Thomas45215
Cincinnati, OH, USA
April 2, 2013
The microwave has all the mounting hardware for installation. You may want to use different anchors or screws for the wall depending on the type of wall finish you are installing to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CharliesAngel
July 28, 2013
YES. It has everything needed to mount the microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

NO Clock? looks like it has a clock.....

Asked by
dj
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
February 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
February 17, 2013
Hi Dj,

Unit model FGMV174KF does include a clock in its design.

Thank you,
Frigidaire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Thomas45215
Cincinnati, OH, USA
April 2, 2013
The product has a clock and a very useful timer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CharliesAngel
July 28, 2013
It has a a clock. The display is green.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this unit vent to an exterior exhaust duct?

Asked by
Jon_S
NJ
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 10, 2013
Want to replace an existing range hood that exhausts through a duct to the roof.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
June 11, 2013
Hello Jon_S,

When the hood is vented to the outside, a hood exhaust duct is required. All ductwork must be metal; absolutely do not use plastic duct. Check that all connections are made securely.

Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
March 12, 2014
Yes I vented mine horizontally out the back.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit have a stove light?

Asked by
Rick
Denver
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
June 28, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
July 1, 2013
Hi Rick,

Yes, unit model FGMV174KFA does include a light in its design which will light when microwave oven is operating or door is open. We hope this information is of assistance.

Thank you
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CharliesAngel
July 28, 2013
Yes. It has a light with two options. High and night light. The nigh light feature is really handy to keep the kitchen lit up for members of the family that come home late. No need to keep a regular kitchen light on. This is plenty of light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this microwave fgmv174kf come with bracket to mount on the wall?

Asked by
Vande
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
September 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
September 10, 2013
Hi Vande- Great question! Yes, the mounting bracket is available and included when unit model FGMV174KF is purchased. Verify with your local Home Depot availability of purchase of this unit in your area. We hope this information is the one you seek.

Best Regards!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mechteach01
Beaverton, OR, USA
December 17, 2013
Yes. Make sure the template for bracket mounting is positioned the correct number of inches below the lowest point of the cabinet. Might shoot a level under the cabinet front, mark the wall and then measure down from there. Also, molly bolts are cheap. I had to purchase additional at the local hardware store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the measurements?

Asked by
Margo
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
November 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
November 18, 2013
Hi, thank you for your inquiry the specifications you requested are listed below:

Product Width: 29 15/16"
Product Depth: 16 3/16"
Product Height: 16 3/8"
Oven Interior Width: 21"
Oven Interior Depth: 14 7/16"
Oven Interior Height: 8 7/8"
Cutout Width: 30" min.
Cutout Depth: 12" min./13" max.
Cutout Height: 16 3/4" min./17" max.
Approximate Shipping Weight: 63 lbs.

We hope this information is of assistance, please contact us directly if you are in need of further assistance; we as well welcome submission into the Q&A forum via this website.

-Best regards-
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jeff
March 12, 2014
the microwave fits in a 30" wisde space and about 15" tall
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use the timer and the microwave at the same time?

Asked by
replacingMyWhirlpool
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
November 29, 2013
I see some older comments mentioning that the timer cannot run while the microwave is running. Is this still true? Since the comments are a little older, I am hoping that this functionality has since been added.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
December 2, 2013
Hi replacingMyWhirlpool, the timer on microwave model operates as a kitchen timer on model FGMV174KF and cannot be used when the oven is operating. We hope this information is of assistance. We hope this information proves to be of assistance, we are also welcome to receiving any concerns or question you may have via this website’s Q&A forum.

-Best regards-
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kcc0521
Falls Church, VA, USA
December 31, 2013
Yes you can operate the timer and microwave at the same time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a microwave that is installed within my cabinet over my single oven and move it over my stovetop

Asked by
MELINDA
WOODSTOCK GA
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
January 17, 2014
I now have a single oven installed within my kitchen cabinet. The microwave is installed on top of the oven. I would like to purchase a double oven and use my existing microwave over my stovetop. Is this doable? I already have 30" Frigidaire oven and microwave and will probably replace with same brand.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
January 21, 2014
Hi Melinda, Thank you for your submission. That is a very good question. If the microwave oven that your inquiry is in reference to is model FGMV174KF specifically, we would like to confirm that it can in fact be installed over a range. We have included the following link ftp://ftp.electrolux-na.com/ProdInfo_PDF/Springfield/316495062.pdf for your review so that you may verify all the specifcations that need to be met in order to do so. We hope this information proves to be of assistance, we are also welcome to receiving any concerns or question you may have via this website’s Q&A forum.

-Best Regards-
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LittleLexHouse
Texas, USA
February 2, 2014
You should only install a microwave over a stovetop if it is designed for that, i.e., an "over-the-range" microwave. These microwaves come equipped with special mounting holes, bolts, screws, and brackets (not to mention a ventilation system for your stovetop).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the least amount of space between the range and bottom of microwave?

Asked by
vinny
Pennsylvania
about 30 in. W 1.7 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel with Sensor Cooking on
November 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FrigidaireAnswers
November 7, 2012
There should be at least a 2” clearance between the backsplash of the range and the bottom of the microwave. The estimated measurement between the bottom of the microwave and the top of the range is about 14.5”.

Thank you,
Frigidaire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1