Looking for Answers about Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Want it now? Search internet # 203284243 to check store availability. A Home Depot exclusive, this 3.4 cu. ft. traditional top load washer can remove more water from the load thanks to a max spin speed of 700 RPM, providing shorter drying times and energy savings in the dryer. On the console, a cycle status bar allows you to see where the load is in the cycle and indicates when the lid is locked. Finally, the advanced suspension system senses the load size and stabilizes the wash basket to help with noise and vibration control. Search matching Electric Dryer Model AED4675YQ or Gas Dryer model AGD4675YQ.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions
 | 
552 Answers
Overall rating:
4.01 out of 5
4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Does this have a computer board ?

Asked by
MzCC
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 17, 2014
I want a washer without the computer board. Hot Point makes one. I also prefer a dial on off knob as a push button.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MommyMo
Daphne, AL, USA
April 22, 2014
Nope! This is the washing machine you need!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
No computer board. It has traditional dial knobs and a push button to begin the wash cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LHLC111
Diamond Bar, CA
April 17, 2014
This has a dial for wash settings, heavy or light or delicate load, but the washer itself is all computer controlled. I would have bought a dial knob type washer but I think they are all phased out.

This washer works on first wash. If you wash a second load right after or even 15 minutes after the first load finished, then it will go beserk (the second load will keep draining after you add detergent and it has been agitating for 10 minutes. It will keep on draining while filling with water and never hit the spin and rinse stages.

The only way to wash a second load is to wait at least an hour then everything is fine. Something is definitely wrong with the electronics. Maybe overheating? I don't know but it is not working right (second load).

I plan on calling the company in the summer but now I am never home and don't want my wife to be home alone with a service tech. I hope the company doesn't give me a run-around. I have until October to act on my warranty.

Good luck with your decision/purchase.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Multiple openings/closings of the water valve during intial fill- is this normal?

Asked by
SteveR
Milwaukee, WI
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 21, 2014
When filling the tub with water to start a load, my washer constantly switches from a fast flow to a slow flow, regardless of water temperature or wash setting. This means that the inlet valve is consistently opening and closing on the unit, causing my water pipes to vibrate and causing a "banging" sound. Is this operation normal for this washer? My previous washer (of a different model) would fill smoothly and shut the valve off once when the tub was full, this one seems to open & close the valve multiple times during the fill.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SteveR
April 22, 2014
This is SteveR. Thank you all (including Maytag) for answering my question in such a short period of time. I really appreciate it. With your answers, I have learned that this behavior in this wash machine is normal. It has something to do with the water saving and load sensing features. I plan to purchase the water shock arrestor. Thanks again for all your advice!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 22, 2014
Yes, I noticed the same thing when I got my washer. I believe to is a different was to regulate the warm water setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
StevenR,

It is normal for the water to fill a few times. The washer is sensing the load size and finding the optimal amount of water to use for the specific load. As to not overfill, the washer will fill with some water, let it saturate the clothing, then add as needed. Even though you are selecting the load size, the washer is also determine that the load stays balanced as well during this time. For more information you can view the Use and Care Guide which will provide more detail. Also, if you still feel you have an issue with your washer, I would suggest giving service a call to troubleshoot further over the phone. They can also setup a call if you deem that it is necessary. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 22, 2014
The washer opens and closes the valves when it is filling and it appears to me it is mixing the water to gain a certain temperature.

I answered this but HD deemed it to be inappropriate I suppose because I gave you a model number of the item you need to correct the water hammer. Use a search engine and look for washing machine shock arrestor. There are a number on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Skunk
Stockton, CA, USA
April 22, 2014
I thought it was a little odd as well, but I decided that it was an energy savings thing. I only run my loads with warm water, so I couldn't tell you why it would do that with a cold water wash cycle. It does run much quieter than my old kenmore, and it seems to get my clothes clean, so it works well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer does the same thing stops then starts filling up again, so I have to think that this process is normal. My water pipes however, to not bang like yours do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
My washer allows for a steady flow of water with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a 3.4 gas dryer to match 3.4 electric washer

Asked by
freck
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
lrmrrs
April 22, 2014
There is matching dryers in both gas and electric.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
If the brand don't matter there probably is a match.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
no that measurement is drum capacity. I believe the smallest would be a 6.5 cu in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Golfguy
Elwood, IL 60421, USA
August 21, 2013
No. It's a little larger. 4.3 gas or electric dryer for 399.00 a hundred more than the washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Vinny167
N.Y.,N.Y.
August 20, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 20, 2013
for the admiral there is a 6.5 cubic foot dryer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Admiral Washer stopped washing

Asked by
Kelly
franklin, nc
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 15, 2014
My washer is about 1-2 months old and the last week it's been filling really slowly. As of last night, it's stopped. It stopped in the middle of the wash cycle and now won't fill water at all. We are on well water, I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Any advice? Should I call Home Depot to come look at it or is it something I can fix here? When we try to get it to fill, the fill light just flashes, but nothing else happens.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 22, 2014
Kelly,
I would suggest that you call The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. The Service Customer Care Representative will be able to troubleshoot with you over the phone. If you do not get the resolution you are seeking, then they would be able to setup service as well. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer and being one of our customers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I live on the 4th floor and I'm concerned about how noisy are these washer and dryer

Asked by
nina
dallas tx
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
C1C1
Hamilton, OH, USA
April 22, 2014
I am on the second floor of my apartment building and I have had no complaints or issues. It's quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pony
Ashburn, VA, USA
April 22, 2014
you should be fine. this washer should not carry noise out of the room that it is in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TexasPepper
Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 18, 2014
Very quiet, and you should have no problems at all. I've had mine a few months and am delighted with the lack of noise as compared to my old Kenmore. I'd totally recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 15, 2014
Machine in quiet and no vibration. I think it would be a good choice for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
the pair of them are on the quite side , just a buzz sound when each 1 is done .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
Mine is quieter than the old washer I had. The thing dose make different sounds from the old one but it is like the latch locking and the whining sound of the motor turning the drum but it is not that loud. I doubt it is as loud as kids yelling and running, so I wouldn't worry about putting this on the 4th floor.

I added a video so you can hear it. I don't even hear the water like you do on this video since the lid is down when it is in use.
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much water does this washer use per load

Asked by
my washer
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 14, 2014
depends on the load size , it uses just the right amount, in the 1st month of use our water bill dropped by $10.00 and IAM LOVIN IT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Aquinnah
Van Buren, AR, USA
February 11, 2014
the large capacity setting holds about 100 gallons of water.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
The amount of water used in a top-loading machine varies, obviously, by the size of the load. You first need to know the flow rate of your machine. If you cannot find the flow rate in the owner's manual, consult the manufacturer for the flow rate.

Then time how long it takes for the tub to fill with water. To the second, time it. A stop watch gives you ideal timing. Do not add agitation time, because the washer is not using additional water to agitate.

Formula for a top-loading washer is: Flow rate X minutes to fill the tub = Gallons of water
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rickey
Lincoln, CA, USA
October 15, 2013
It fills up according to the water level it's set at just like the old ones. I also read the reviews before I bought this one and was worried because some said it only filled up to the level of clothes you put into it, but this is untrue. I have put it on each water level setting, then paused it and looked inside. this washer workes just like the old ones even if you don't have any clothes in it. The tank fills up according to the water level set at.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
cbear
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
September 30, 2013
my best estiamtion is between 30 and 40 gallons depending upon the load size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bruce
September 30, 2013
varies per size of load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Golfguy
Elwood, IL 60421, USA
September 30, 2013
It depends on the setting you use. I will say that it is very efficient which ever setting you use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when filling with water

Asked by
deli
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 9, 2014
when the washer is filling with water it makes a clicking noise when the water goes from hot to cold. the hot and cold don't go at the same time. the washer is not even a month old.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 11, 2014
deli,

I do not see a question in this statement. If you have a concern and question, please clarify so that I can provide a satisfactory response. If you feel you are having troubles with your washer, you can reach out to The Home Depot/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376 Option 2, Option 1. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i put this on layaway wit my card on line

Asked by
asb1
phila
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 5, 2014
the washer admiral 3.4.cu ft top load washer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nanabanana
Trenton, N.J.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 7, 2014
call the store and ask them
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
April 7, 2014
I do not know that is a question which Home Depot should be able to answer for you. I bought my online and did not see anything online in regards to putting the washer on layaway. I would contact your local Home Depot office.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 6, 2014
should ask the sales rep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I NEED TO GET A COPY OF THE USER GUIDE

Asked by
DJM9
THONOTOSASSA FLORIDA
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 5, 2014
CAN SOMEONE HELP ME
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 7, 2014
DJM9,

If you look on the product page you will find several documents that you can download for reference. One of the documents is the Use and Care Guide. It is located in the "Info & Guides" area. Thank you for viewing this washer.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Motor

Asked by
KimsKlutter
Springfield, MO
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 31, 2014
What is the hp of the motor?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
April 6, 2014
the answer to your question is on the discription
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
The hp of the motor is 1/2 hp and 2 speed 120 volts.This is what you should check before replacing motor.voltage proper grounding
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will a queen size comforter wash properly in this 3.4 washer

Asked by
dawn
wv
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 2, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
April 2, 2014
Anonymous,
This is our opening capacity for top load laundry. This washer should handle a typical queen sized bedspread, more like a quilt shouldn't be an issue at all. If it is over sized or really thick, it might not wash as effectively as you would want it to. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

SOAKING clothes for an hour or two ?

Asked by
HDepotted
NJ
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 14, 2013
In the PDF manual here on Home Depot's website, it says water will not start until the lid is closed. Now it also says the lid locks as soon as it is closed.
If this is correct, if you want to let a load SOAK, and put the machine in PAUSE, how long will it hold the water inside to allow soaking? Will it drain away ? If it drains, how quickly ? In a few minutes ? Half hour ? In short, is soaking possible and for how long? Or will this JUST DUMP the water if you unlock the lid , lift the lid , pause the machine - you get the idea. THANK YOU.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
You can't pause it, you can stop it. And when you stop it,, it will drain the water,you have to put soap and all that stuff before closing the door,it gets lock and it won't stop until finish,it you stop it it will star over again, it's so annoying ,hope I help you
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
I think it's going to drain after 30 minutes. It's a joke I know it. I do t think soaking is an option with this machine. I hate mine. I learned my lesson. Next time I'm spending the extra $200 or so and being happy. Worst designed machine I ever saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
strungnature
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
February 11, 2014
Don't know how long it stays but the washer will fill with the lid open
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
lkteer
Pittsburg, TX 75686, USA
January 10, 2014
No I.have left clothes soaking over night also I love the.locked lid feature great safety.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GaFLmama
Florida, USA
November 13, 2013
It fills up with water with the lid open, but if you close the lid when its DONE filling the lid locks. So you could fill it up, and let the clothes soak with the lid open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
Not sure about how long the tub will hold the water. Why don't you try this: soak the clothes in the laundry tub. That accomplishes two objectives: You can soak the clothes for as long as you want, and, if the clothes are heavily soiled, it's better to drain the water out through the tub drain which is a larger diameter than the washing machine drain, keeping loosened dirt out of the washing machine plumbing.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mommaswink
Tucson, AZ, USA
October 22, 2013
If you close the lid until the water turns on, you can (fast) open the lid still. I still have not been able to open the lid during the soaking cycle. The button on the machine states hold for 3 seconds to cancel the load. I hold it for less than that and it still will not unlock the lid. Your quess is as good as mine. Sorry I couldn't help you out anymore.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
You can soak the clothes but make sure it's for less than ten minutes. If you do not press the START button after ten minutes, the water will pump out automatically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
rickey
Lincoln, CA, USA
October 15, 2013
If you want to pause the washer and let it soak, just hit the pause button and leave the lid open for awile. It works as it should without issue, just buy it. Don't fear the locking lid, it is the best safety feature. All it does is make sure the washer can not run while the lid is open to keep little, and big, hands and arms out of the machine so they will not get broken. Kids have even been killed fooling around in the old style washers when they were running in the past.

I feel soaking clothes and dishes is an old idea and was realy pointless other than buying some time and giving mom a brake. Just run your load. If your using the right kind of detergent and the right amount you should not need to soak anything.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Agitator speed seems so slow during wash.

Asked by
deaconsangel
Branson MO
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 7, 2014
I just got my new washer today, and I am trying to catch up on 2 weeks of wash. It seems to me like the normal and casual wash cycles sounds like a gentle cycles (agitator speed). Is this normal?. Also, I just learned that if I put it on CASUAL I will get a full rinse, not a spray rinse. I am just concerned ...are my clothes getting clean with such a slow agitation.? I am used to a more "robust" agitation during the wash cycle. Thanks !!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
That's the same problem I have,and you can't look inside,it sound so slow,but I washed a very dirty jeans just to see,and it did come out clean,but if some one had told me about this thing I would not get this washer,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
Check to see if there is something in the washer under the agitator and then check the voltage at the electric box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brea
March 18, 2014
Mine does as well. So I suppose it is normal. I was wondering the same thing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
March 10, 2014
I think it is normal but I only use the normal cycle for all of my wash and my cloths come out being very clean. Also on this cycle the agitator is slow but then is speeds up when it is on the final rinse cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
March 10, 2014
DeaconsAngel,
The wash system is improved over a traditional washer that many customers are used to using if they have a washer that they are replacing that is 7+ years old. This washer does a good job washing and will get your clothes clean. The wash system is not as harsh on the clothing while still getting great results as compared to former models. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LHLC111
Diamond Bar, CA
March 9, 2014
I used to have those old washers with a dial for controls and the agitation was always on. Now it is on then off then on then off.

Surprisingly, my clothes come out clean.

my issue was that the washer would go crazy on me...draining after only 5 minutes or so of wash and endless (and I mean endless) refilling with the drain still in open position.

that made me write my review. but since the writing of the review, I have had my washer work with no problems so I hope that writing this doesn't jinx it.

so yes the agitator speed seems slow and not continuously on but it does a good job of cleaning.

good luck with yours
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Hooligan
Brandon, MS
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2014
The new washers twist the drum and the agitator and it looks slower than the old ones. The new washers are direct drive as well. One other thing I have noticed is the machine does not seem to spin the clothes are dry as my old one. The clothes are clean and they are cleaner than my old one or it seems to me they are. If it was older I would have said maybe the clutch is going bad but since it is new I suppose it is just the difference in the new machines and old ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2014
I noticed the same thing but the clothes are coming out clean. This new technology takes some getting use too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
March 9, 2014
YES TO THE FIRST PART OF YOUR QUESTION AND NOW TO THE 2ND PART . YES IT IS NORMAL. WITH SLOWER AGITATION IS FOR THE MORE LITER CLOTHS I/E UNDERGARMENT, HOPE THIS ANSWERS YOUR QUESTION
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what are the demetions of the washer in inches?

Asked by
marty
phila. pa
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 10, 2014
how big is the washer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Marcy
High point nc
April 2, 2014
It's say it's 3.4 cubic feet ,but it's normal,it's good size,maybe can hold 6 man denim jeans,to me it's a good size
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
You have to know the size of the washer first 3.4or 3.6or cu.ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brea
March 18, 2014
3.4 cubic feet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Doll
March 11, 2014
3.4 which is big enough for a family of 2-3 who washes every other week.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
joski
February 26, 2014
34x34
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
February 11, 2014
Anonymous,

This washer is 3.4 cu ft and the dimensions are located on the product page under the Specifications tab. I have also placed below for you to view. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.

Assembled Depth (in.) 26 in
Assembled Height (in.) 43 in
Assembled Width (in.) 27 in
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.4
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I bought this washer 2 years ago , now it leaks underneath when it is time to drain.what is the problem.

Asked by
GBABY
las vegas , nv
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 24, 2013
i have checked the manual to see what the problem is but there was no help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
alde
Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2014
Probably the hose from the pump is bad or connections to it or drain hose cracked or loose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tsc40
New Jersey, USA
March 18, 2014
make sure the unit is sitting level. My unit leaked on the second day I had it. The feet needed to be adjusted it was off level. That fix stopped the leaking right away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
February 26, 2014
??check your hose connection , it may came loose .
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
I think the pump hose could be damaged, call a repairman to check it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nanabanana
Trenton, N.J.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 27, 2014
Maybe there is a leak in the drainage hose.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
lkteer
Pittsburg, TX 75686, USA
January 10, 2014
Check your outlet hose it could be lose and may need a new clamp it that is not the problem there could be a bad gasket or a hole in the bottom tub.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
SmartShopper
Chicago, IL
January 7, 2014
Sound like a part under the bottom may have come lose. I would suggest using your warranty to have a technician come and do a check and replace necessary parts. Hope the suggestion helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
November 25, 2013
GBABY,

I apologize for the issue you are experiencing. I would need to ask a few questions to get a better understanding in order to provide an adequate answer. With that, I am going to refer you to THD/Maytag Hotline at 877.461.3376, Option 2, Option 1. You will be connected with a Parts and Service Specialist. They will be able to troubleshoot with you over the phone and if an adequate solution isn't reached, then the representative will be able to schedule service for you. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a way to soak a load?

Asked by
alangski
Bradenton Florida
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 5, 2013
Occasionally I want to bleach stained items and can't figure out how to put this thing in a soak mode for an hour or two. Nothing in the manual helps.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
As far as I know it's not an option. This machine has no options and even the basic features are flawed. Sell it or live with it, I'm in the same boat with mine. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
Do what I do - soak the clothes in the laundry tub. You can soak them for as long as you want, and if they are heavily soiled, the water drains through the laundry tub which has a larger diameter drain than the internal drain in the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
October 16, 2013
My suggestion is to soak your items in the kitchen sink or bathtub if you need to soak materials for more than ten minutes. With this washer, you can soak a load only for under ten minutes without disrupting machine cycling. After ten minutes, if you do not lower the lid and push the START button,the washer will automatically pump the water from the tub and you will need to start cycling all over again. I know from experience! :(

Be aware of soaking for too long. With some fabrics, soaking for long periods of time actually reintroduces stains back into the fabric. Bleaching for too long can, in many instances, render the fabric "tender" which will cause holes or rips in the fabric with subsequent washing.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Judy
October 9, 2013
There is no way to soak. I had the same problem. The only thing I could do is soak articles in a large bucket and then put in the machine to be washed. Not an easy process, but it works.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Joanna
St Petersburg
October 8, 2013
forgot to mention this part..... I opened the lid .... since it locks you have to press the button to pause... I opened during wash cycle... cause I wanted to soak... when I went back about 30 min later all the water was gone..and there is no soak cycle
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
SCMomOf3
SC
October 8, 2013
If you leave the lid open the cycle wont start, but the water will fill. You would have to close the lid when the 1-2 hour soak is done and your ready for it to start. There may be another way that I'm not aware of, but that's my best guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
October 7, 2013
alangski,

This washer does not offer a soak option. One idea that you can do is to start a load of laundry, then go and pause the washer and let the clothing soak for however long you feel is necessary, then restart the cycle. This is an alternative for washers that do not have a soak cycle or option. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

rinse cycle

Asked by
kylekevin
new jersey
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
February 12, 2014
ok when I go to add the fabric softner while its filling it don't fill all the way with the water and then it starts to empty already without agitating for the rinse cycle...
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Paul
St.petersburg, fl
March 2, 2014
Mine doesn't even have rinse fabric softener option. And once an entire cycle has begun,that's it you can't add , change, vary,nothing!!! The machine will drain completely and not wash or anything,just shut off. It's about the most aggravating machine I have ever owned. My advice,either try and return it,or be prepared to have a machine that just washes,nothing more. Oh and forget setting a water temp,it's cold or a variation of warm/cold/hot intermittent cycling that results in varying temps. Sorry you got stuck switch one too. I've only had mine a month. I'd return it if I thought they would honor it but I doubt Home Depot would. plus I don't need further aggravation. I'm done with this brand and just about done with HD as well!!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kathy
Columbus, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 21, 2014
This is one of my problems with this machine, if you read your manual, under rinse, it will tell you that this is what it does. So, your clothes are never really getting a true rinse.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lolly
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 15, 2014
Uh-oh! You haven't read your Cycle Guide. If you've set the washer for NORMAL cycling, this cycle features a spray rinse. SPRAY rinse. For a rinse where the tub actually fills entirely with water, you should set the washer in the CASUAL (used to be called "Permanent Press" cycle. Read the Cycle Details on the Cycle Guide for what cycle to use if you want a filled-tub rinse.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gaila
Albany, NY, USA
February 14, 2014
You should add the detergent and the fabric softer before you start your machine. I read in the instructions booklet that the machine will empty out if the lid is open for 10 minutes or more. Plus there are easy to follow instructions on the lid of the machine. I hope this answers your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 13, 2014
is your drain hose at least 39" high from the floor. sounds like it isnt. As it shouldnt drain before it agitates.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
REdwardsGa
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 13, 2014
I don't add to my wash, I use dryer sheets or the bars that stick in the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

should there b a sloshing sound under the tub after a wash

Asked by
bill
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
joski
Coshocton, OH, USA
February 26, 2014
it may still have a full load, wait till the rinse cycle ends and empties .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lifwtusa
Texas
February 10, 2014
I had the same problem with my machine. When I spoke with the manufacturer, I was told water under the tub was normal, and it was nothing to be worried about. Simply leave the lid open for awhile after you're done washing for the day, and it will cut down on mold growth.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 4, 2014
could be some remaining rinse water. Have seen it in other washers.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dave
Jacksonville, FL, USA
August 20, 2013
there is in mine if you move the tub around, the pump will never get all the water out, i leave the lid open to let air out
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Matt
Georgia
August 13, 2013
Mine does not... The agitator can be moved by hand but remains inaudible.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LRSmith
Warren, MI, USA
August 13, 2013
My washer does not make a sloshing sound. It is very quiet during and after every wash. So to answer your question; no, there shouldn't be.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i run a hose to sink

Asked by
whowho998
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 10, 2013
Able i able to run a hose from this unti up to my sink. I live in a apartment so the dirty water needs to go into the sink. So i need a motor in this machine to be able to run it up the sink.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
whitetiger
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
February 13, 2014
should work as long as it is at least 39" from floor level as per manufacyure satts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gregump44
Clinton Township, MI
November 12, 2013
No. Your sink is not meant to handle the volume of water that a washing machine holds. First, the sink holds about one gallon of water. And it drains at a much slower rate than something like a laundry tub. And a laundry tub is about 12" deep and is usually 16' x 21". So, you can see the problem just by doing the math.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lilOakie
Dallas, Ga.
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 10, 2013
Yes you can' if it's in the same area, #one floor to an upper floor, no#. Just make sure the drain hose it at the proper height to initially pump out the water. Secure the hose so it won't back out of your sink. I have my washer drain out of my basement window. I have it attached to a 30' flex hose so the water can be spread to my flowerbeds or to various trees. It's considered "grey water" so it won't harm your lawn or plants. Works great ! Just one more way to conserve a valuable resource :) ***you can purchase the flex hose at home depot, or where pool supplies are sold.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cbear
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
September 30, 2013
I don't see why not. You may want to ask one of the sales reps to be sure.
Mine is flowing into my laundry tub and the dlevery men attached the hose for us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
bruce
September 30, 2013
absolutely, as long as it's secured to the sink and wont fall out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
OdyT
Yucca Valley, CA, USA
September 17, 2013
It depends on the location of the sink and how long your dirty water hose is going to be. But yes, there should be no reason why you can't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Dliz
Western ,Ma
September 17, 2013
Wow! This is tough. I say speak with someone at Home Depot and connect with the right source for your answer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
puglover
Homestead, FL, USA
September 13, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
TeamMaytag
Tennessee
September 10, 2013
whowho998,

If you wanted to you could place the drain hose from the washer into the sink. That would work just fine. The drain hose on this washer just needs a place to drain into. However, this washer is not portable. There are portable washers available that would roll from one location to another, but we do not offer them. Thank you for viewing this Admiral washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to disconnect my water hoses from my old washer or will they do it?

Asked by
Bec
about 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 27, 2012
+14points
14out of 14found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lifwtusa
Texas
February 10, 2014
If you want it installed, it will be an additional charge. It is quite simple to disconnect the water hoses, as they simply unscrew. This is a good time to check your hoses; you may wish to purchase new ones to go with your new washing machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rooski
Arizona, USA
March 13, 2013
Buy new hoses with delivery or it could invalidate the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jeff
Maryland
December 25, 2012
No you do not have to disconnect the hoses. However, old hoses should not be used. Hose life is no more than 5 years. You can buy the finest new hoses for no more than $20.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
dpuclats
Estacada, OR 97023, USA
December 16, 2012
The install team will do all that. Just assure that the team has a clear way to get to your machine.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Vonnie
North Carolina
October 16, 2012
No. The delivery guys were excellent. They disconnected the old washer and removed it; and they installed the new washer. They even checked the washer functions before leaving. The only thing they did not remove was the tub that our old washer was sitting in. It was stained from leakage and had a crack in it, so, we had to remove it ourselves.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
FionaF
October 5, 2012
The guys from Home depot will do it but I disconnected mine to save time.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Scott
Arizona
September 9, 2012
When we had this washer delivered, I had to purchase new hoses and they installed them for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
lmell
Riverside, CA, USA
August 29, 2012
No you don't have to do a thing they set up and hauled away my old washer too. The guys that came to my house were very friendly and before they got started they introduced theirselves and showed id.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
washer
Rochester, NY, USA
August 29, 2012
i disconnected mine but im sure they will do it for you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
August 28, 2012
Hello Bec and thank you for your question.

As part of the free delivery and basic hook up service, your new Admiral 3.4 cu. ft. Top Load Washer will be uncrated, set in place, leveled, tested, and connected to an existing proper power source. The delivery team will disconnect the old hoses and then install a new hose (you will need to purchase ahead of time or make arrangements for it to be delivered with the washer).

Since services vary depending upon your location, it is best to contact our Appliance Support Line at 1-800-455-3869 for specific information about your area.

Best wishes on your project
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 »