Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions
 | 
354 Answers
Overall rating:
4.658 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Are there any coolant lines within the "compressor hump"?

Asked by
Trev
Detroit, MI
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
The is no compressor hump inside this freezer. Compressor and all refrigerant lines are contained under and possibly in side walls.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 9, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. The coolant lines connect to the compressor. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the country of origin, on this freezer (FCM7SUWW) ?

Asked by
MrSnklfrtz
Wisconsin
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
Unfortunately, just looked at sticker on mine and it says made in China. :(
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 13, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest!

The freezer is manufactured globally. Our products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time as we continue to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace.

Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model available in black

Asked by
Dave
Denver, CO
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
As far as I know only white.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
May 27, 2014
Hello Dave - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

All of our chest freezers come in white. Many factors go into the design of our products and consumer input is a top priority. Your comments are important to us.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THIS FREEZER NFS CERTIFIED

Asked by
Mene
Arizona
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 12, 2014
Hello- this is Lisa from GE. I am happy to help. GE's freezers are not rated by the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF). Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to put the freezer in my garage where the temperature sometimes reaches 100 degrees F. Will the freezer operate under those conditions?

Asked by
Bill43
Four Oaks , NC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sdel
Glendale, CA, USA
May 27, 2014
I have mine on the back porch and it has been over 100 degrees in the past few days, it has functioned just fine had Popsicles in it and they were frozen throughout the heat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
It will operate, but keep in mind that the external temperature will have a direct effect on the run time of the compressor. As the box ages the extra load may cause the freezer to loose temp. GE recommends 0-110 degree external temperature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
March 11, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly.

Follow these guidelines:
~Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.
~Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
~Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
~Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
~Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

Thanks so much for your question. Have a good day!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How is the freezer affect my electricity bill?

Asked by
qualitym
silver spring, maryland
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 30, 2014
Hi, i am looking forward to purchasing this freezer but at the same time i don't want to jack up our electricity bill.

does it consume a lot?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Zaco182
Knoxville, TN, USA
April 29, 2014
Estimated yearly operating cost is $30. This is based on Energyguide insert from manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Richard11281
Sugar Land, TX, USA
March 25, 2014
So far during the winter months I have not really noticed any dramatic increase in my electric bill due to the freezer purchase.. I have only had the unit about 3 months so during the summer when its 100 degrees I may notice a difference.I do have it in my garage but it is also supposed to be an energy efficient unit..I will be better to respond during the summer..But at this time no major increase in my bill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
According to the specs enclosed with the freezer it states an average of 30 dollars per year. Depending on your local kw costs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
March 4, 2014
Extremely efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
This freezer appears to have increased my bill by about $5 per month. Granted, I installed mine in a garage and it's currently winter. I expect it could be $10/month in the summer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
January 30, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I am happy to assist you. The freezer should not increase your energy bill significantly. It uses an estimated 277 kWh in electricity and the estimated yearly operating cost is $30. Keep in mind your cost will depend on your utility rates and use. Here is the link for the energy guide:
http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=FCM7_energy_label.pdf
Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this freezer perform in an unheated garage with below freezing temperatures, in the single digits and teens? Any performance problems?

Asked by
Morgan
Rochester, MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
GE recommends no colder than 0 degree outside temp. With that said, the freezer should be fine. In fact, with the colder external temp lowers the "load" on the compressor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
March 4, 2014
I keep my freezer in the garage. The garage is unheated and I've never had a single problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
February 28, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. You'll want to place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. It will not maintain proper temperatures in extreme conditions.

Follow these guidelines:

~Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.

~Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

~Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

~Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

Please review the installation and use & care information for additional information.

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-60518-1.pdf

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Temperature range

Asked by
qualitym
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 17, 2014
What is the temperature range. How low can it go.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
At lowest setting on dial, my box is running at aproximately 1-5 degrees. Remember, the more frozen food, the easier to keep temp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 17, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. The operating temperature of our chest and upright freezers, including smaller, compact models is -5 to +5 degrees Fahrenheit.

In order to take the temperature of solid food, place a thermometer between frozen packages or in some ice cream.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

~ Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

~ Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.

~ Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

~ Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

~ Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

Thanks so much for your question. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you accept international purchase and delivery? thanks

Asked by
Elisa
Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 24, 2014
I am writting from Mexico
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
February 13, 2014
Hi Elisa,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do, however, have stores in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, 10 Canadian provinces, Mexico and China. We do apologize for the inconvenience. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a light inside?

Asked by
Jackie
MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
This is a very good question. I never thought to check prior to purchase. But to answer this question, unfortunately NO, it does not. Good thing I placed mines right by a lamp.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LoriD
Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
July 23, 2013
No, it does not have a light inside of it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MachineGunKelly
July 16, 2013
No light, but would be a pretty good idea. I velcroed a rechargeable flashlight (I got it as a freebee from somewhere) to the outside of my freezer. Works perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
no, there is no light.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No. Top and inside are white or shiny metal, making it easy to see inside if there is light in the surrounding environment.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
DeaBob
New Jersey, USA
July 2, 2013
No lights inside!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
June 26, 2013
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 26, 2013
no it does not have a light
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Baldy
PA
June 26, 2013
No. No light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
June 26, 2013
Sorry Jackie, no light inside. I haven't found that I miss that feature at all though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I keep this freezer on inside my garage throughout NJ winters?

Asked by
Biki
NJ
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 30, 2013
We purchased an extra fridge/freezer a few years ago and was told we could not use it below certain temps because of the freon on the unit, so we could only use it in warmer temps, and ended up seling it. I need extra storage for frozen food and am looking to keep this unit in my garage throughout the year, I just want to make sure I can use it all year round. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
I have this unit and a GE 12 cu ft chest freezer in my garage. I'm a tad south of you in Virginia, but have not had any issues when temperature is below zero outside (on those rare occasions). It is against the back wall, and not right next to the garage door, so not sure if that would make a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
The owner's manual on page 10 states "Do not install freezer where the temperature will go below 0*F or above 110*F, because it will not maintain proper temperatures."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dbranga
01867
August 6, 2013
I had a similar freezer we kept in the garage over the winter. That's why I just bought this one - it didn't survive. I am just north of Boston so I wouldn't recommend leaving it in the garage unless it is going to stay above 40 degrees all winter. Good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I kept mine in the garage all year round through some very cold winters. If your garage is attached to your house then it is probably drawing some of the house heat, meaning the inside of the garage won't be as cold as outside. You can of course check with the manufacturer's customer support service to be sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Short answer; It will have less work to do and use less electricity in the winter than in warmer seasons.

Long answer: Unit's refrigeration cycle moves heat from inside box to outside box. The lower the ambient (surrounding) temperature, the easier it becomes to dissipate (dispose of) the unwanted heat, and the more efficiently unit operates. Heat gain into box from surrounding air is reduced as temperature of surrounding air drops, allowing it to operate more efficiently. Operating (virtually any) low temperature box in medium temperature environment (NJ garage in winter) reduces internal freon pressure, allowing it to operate more efficiently.

Follow instructions for minimum space between back (most important) and side of box and any surrounding obstructions (wall, other appliances, boxes, etc).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
I keep mine in the garage during winter in central PA.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
June 30, 2013
Hello Biki,

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:
Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer self defrost

Asked by
Fanny
Poway
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, this one does not. In fact, it includes a hand held manual ice scraper in the instructions bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
No. Turn the freezer off at the thermostat or disconnect the power cord and use a hair dryer to speed defrosting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Josie
Lexington, KY, USA
July 30, 2013
No, it's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gilttrip
Alabama
July 23, 2013
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
6am4
July 18, 2013
This freezer does not self defrost. I have had it for about a month and there is just a small amount of frost on the top of the walls near the door.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cookielady
Ohio, USA
July 17, 2013
No it is manual defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Amom
Birmingham, AL
July 16, 2013
No and you don't want a self defrosting one to store meat because the temperature fluctuates constantly and your food will not last as long.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
kentincave
Yuma, AZ, USA
July 12, 2013
no it does not self defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
No, it is a manual defrost with a drain in the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Install casters?

Asked by
Stack
Cambridge, MD
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 18, 2013
Does anybody know if it's easy to install casters on this freezer? Or does anybody have a proven method to make the freezer more mobile and easier to move?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
If you bolt something to the bottom, you probably void your warranty.

You could probably build a low wood frame and bolt the casters to the frame, something where the freezer fits in it. That way you haven't altered the freezer itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
July 16, 2013
I have some three wheeled casters meant to hold table legs I believe will be strong enough to put under it, should be available at the Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
June 18, 2013
I would not recommend fastening casters to this freezer as the freezer is easy to move when empty. If want to move freezer a short distance when filled purchase 4 sliders for each corner, the type used to move heavy furniture.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2013
Hello Stark,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you.

GE does not recommend to modify, drill into or add casters / rollers to the freezer.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
my best suggestion is to buy mover dollies. they come in packs of 2 or 4 and you set them on each corner of the freezer. the only thing is, you lean on the freezer and it will move. but keep in mind that this freezer needs to be on a level service, so it will run properly. You can always find a handy person to make you a set of dollies out of wood and casters. buy 1 2X4X6 and measure it for the proper length then cut it and put the casters on each end. It should keep it sturdy enough and you can buy all these items from home depot. pretty easy and cheap fix. hope this helps. Just remember any thing you do to the freezer, voids the warrantee. that is why I suggested making your own set of dollies. you can just set it on top of the board and the weight of the freezer will keep it in place. GOOD LUCK. YOU WILL LOVE THIS FREEZER. I KNOW I DO. I have had it for over 3 years and it works perfectly.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Length and location of power cord

Asked by
tbheywood
Washington, DC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 24, 2013
How long is the power cord and where is it located on the product? We have a small area where a freezer would fit, and only one outlet is close.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PickyMe
Garden Grove, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Sorry to disagree with Donna at GE but when standing in front of the freezer it exits from the right rear.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
About 5 feet and exits (facing freezer) right rear of unit. Unit does not draw much power and cord could be easily extended (preferably) with an appliance type (ie: air conditioner) extension cord.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
It's about 3ft long. We also have a small area and it fit perfectly. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
I would say the power cord is about ft long and it is located on the right back portion of the freezer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Cord in rear and appears to be nearly five feet in length.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
April 4, 2013
The cord is aprox 5 ft long and if you were looking straight at the freezer, the cord comes out of the back, right hand side. Hope this helps. I love my freezer. It works fantastic
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 20, 2013
The cord is about 2 feet long. It is located on the back, at the bottom, on the right (assuming you are facing the freezer). It is a 3-prong plug.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 13, 2013
About 5 feet. The cord is located at floor level in the back on the right side.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
GE Answers
February 25, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The power cord is 5 feet in length. The cord, as you face the unit, is on
the left lower corner in the back.

Thank you for choosing GE!
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

At time of making purchase, can optional delivery dates be scheduled online? if so, instructions on how it can be done will be appreciated .

Asked by
Agie
San Diego
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 22, 2013
Thank You!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kris
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Yes, they will allow you to look at a calendar and select a date that works best for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jea1
January 14, 2014
Yes..I ordered and scheduled delivery including instructions all online.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
saabj2000
Omaha, NE, USA
December 31, 2013
When I purchased the freezer, I was able to schedule the time and date of delivery. I don't remember an optional delivery date/time; however, there is the option to reschedule and they will call before they come to deliver on the delivery date.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chriswltr
Cedar Hill, TX, USA
December 26, 2013
If you purchase this item online, a delivery date can be scheduled online during the checkout process. They will show a calendar with the first available delivery date and all subsequent delivery dates available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
sn0905
Western, NY, USA
December 24, 2013
We ordered online and had our purchase shipped. After you select delivery, a calendar should come up at which time you can schedule your delivery date. There is a guide to help you figure out which days are available for delivery and which are booked.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bettynnoel
December 10, 2013
Go on line and you will see that opportunity
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
Yes, delivery can be set-up online. There is a calendar that shows available dates of delivery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. To determine if a specific delivery date is available for your item you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. You will be prompted to select a delivery date from a calendar during the checkout process. For any other questions, please call our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the shipping dimensions for this freezer?

Asked by
Dragon
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 5, 2014
I'd like to know if I can fit the packaged freezer in my SUV. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Paul
January 14, 2014
It fit in the back of my Mazda CX-9 with room to spare
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BeefyChuck
victorviile, ca
January 7, 2014
Why go through the hassle, they delivered for free.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
Mine was delivered already un-cartoned. You should be able to look at the specifications on Home Depot web site for full weight and packaged size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
January 6, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

The Carton Length is 38.5", Carton Width 23.2", Carton Height 34.5". The gross weight is 98 pounds.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

do all G.E. Chest models come with a hose adapter and a hose connector as mentioned in FCM9DTWH

Asked by
BOBBI
Oregon
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Goldengirl
Florida, USA
January 8, 2014
Ours did not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I don't remember seeing one when I unpacked it. Just the baskets and the owner's manual are all I can recall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No. Drain is very low, so a suitably sized rag or towel works better to catch water while defrosting than a pan or cup.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
No hose connector on this 7 cu. ft. model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Missy
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
June 4, 2013
I'm not sure what the reference is, but my freezer did not have any hoses or connector. Just the cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
May 14, 2013
Hello Bobbi.

Thank you for your question on the GE Chest freezers.

No, it will depend on the model number. Some chest freezers have a defrost water drain at the front and a base hose adpater that is packaged in a bag in the bottom of the freezer. Yes, model FCM9DT does have the drain adapter but mode FCM7SU does not.

Should you have any additonal questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the freezer do in cold weather?

Asked by
Curious
Washington State
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 18, 2013
I see that the freezer does not do well in the heat. Does anyone know how it would do if placed inside a non heated cedar shed in the winter? I've read on other small chest freezers that they don't do well. Wondering how the GE holds up.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
It is rated for 0 to 110 degrees F. I have it in my garage and it works like a champ.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
qualitym
December 10, 2013
I've owned a GE FCM7 (7 cu.ft.) freezer for 14 months. It is outside and been through temperatures from 86ºF to 19ºF. It seems to work fine except for a problem I'm having with widely oscillating temperatures inside the freezer (see my review).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
I don't have any personal experience with this but the manual does state that it can operate in temperatures from 0*F to 110*F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
My freezer is located in my attached garage where in the winter the temperature goes as low as 25 degrees and in the summer as high as 85 degrees. After 2 years the thermostat had to be replaced, but other than that it has done very nicely.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
September 19, 2013
well I had my freezer in a garage, but knowing that the warrantee is not valid unless it is in the house. It was very hot in the summer and pretty cold in the winter. Lived in florida. I never had any problems with it in my garage, weather it was hot or cold. It got up to 120 in my garage in the summer and down to 30 in the winter. but remember it states in the warrantee that if it is not kept inside of the house, the warrantee is voided. Hope this helps. I have owned this freezer for over 3 years and have never had a problem with it yet. (knock on wood).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
September 19, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest in our chest freezer model FCM7SUWW.

To obtain efficient operation, place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet. Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded. Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer. Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

does this unit restart on its own if there is a power dissruption?

Asked by
qualitym
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
Yes, it will. It does have an overload protection so that it does not run continuously until the freezer is fully back to the correct temp. This is a good thing since the freezer continuously running trying to refreeze everything in it would likely cause the motor to over heat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
January 7, 2014
According to the booklet, Yes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
Yes....I've already had a power outage and the freezer resumed operation by itself.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
busymom18
New Jersey, USA
December 31, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
December 17, 2013
Yes. Here's an easy way to tell if a power disruption has occurred. Fill a small plastic cup 3/4 of the way full with water. Place it in your freezer. When the water is frozen solid place a penny on top of the ice. Should your power go out for any length of time, simply look to see where the penny is. Is it still on top? Your frozen material should still be perfectly fine. If the penny is part way to the bottom the power has been off long for the water and any other items to partially thaw. If it's at the bottom of the cup the power has been off for a long time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
doglover
Geneseo, NY, USA
December 3, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2013
Hi Qualitym-this is Sue from GE. Yes! The freezer will restart on its own after a power failure. Keep the freezer door/lid closed. Your freezer will keep food frozen for 24 hours provided warm air is not admitted.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions-hight, wide and deep?

Asked by
Coachpaul
Myrtle Beach, SC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
December 17, 2013
37" W X 33" H X 22" D
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2013
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I will be happy to assist you. The dimensions are as follows:
(HxWxD)
33 1/4 in x 37 in x 22 in
I hope this helps. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »