Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions
 | 
285 Answers
Overall rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

How much does this 7 Cubic Foot GE Chest Freezer Weigh?

Asked by
Brent
Gainesville, FL
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 20, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
The 2 delivery guy carried it easily downstairs on a strap. After they left, I went and lifted the freezer to put some wood slab underneath and surprising, lighter than what I thought.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jake873
Saint Paul, MN, USA
August 22, 2013
not sure exact weight, but one man can move the empty unit without much exertion. Can't be more than 35-40lbs I would think, but like I said, I'm NOT exactly sure of the weight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jdac
July 9, 2013
The shipping weight is 90 pounds, I believe it is under that.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
See specifications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
sbfineart
Redmond Washington
June 20, 2013
The specs say shipping weight 88 lbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i buy replacement or larger food baskets for this freezer?

Asked by
george
marlboro,mass.
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
basket part number is WR21X10208
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
August 28, 2013
I just went to the dollar store and bougt some plastic baskets and they work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
I actually kept my basket from my old freezer and I bought containers from the dollar store to keep everything organized. Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
don't know if you can buy additional ones, I can tell you I had the same size previously also from GE and my old baskets do not fit in it - they are too long front to back
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
February 20, 2013
I do not know for sure. The baskets rest in an indentation so you can not fit any larger baskets between the front and the back of the freezer. You might check on a web site under repair parts for appliances for replacement parts. Baldy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
February 20, 2013
Hello George,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The freezer comes with 2 baskets. Yes, you can buy additional baskets and the part number
is # WR21X10208. There is not a larger basket available.

Please contact tthe Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this qualify for Home Depot's 10% price guarantee?

Asked by
Kontingency
Lynchburg, VA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CountryLife
Somewhere in the sticks, Texas
November 18, 2013
I'm not sure about this that - but Home Depot does give a discount to military veterans.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
August 26, 2013
Of course it should. If it is the same size ,brand, I am sure you would get the discount
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Dose this freezer turn back on automatacally after a power outage?

Asked by
Corinne
Houston TX
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 15, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
August 28, 2013
Yes I get surges and outages all the time and have yet to even have extra frost build up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Blissall702
Las Vegas, NV, USA
August 23, 2013
Yes it does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jake873
Saint Paul, MN, USA
August 22, 2013
Yes, in my case. We had electrical strike, knocking out power for almost 4 hrs.
We kept the freezer shut during this time, when the power came back on, it kicked right on and we immediately checked the contents, and it was all still frozen.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hiroller
on-the-web-beat
August 16, 2013
Yes. This freezer resumes operating at its previous setting following a power outage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outside dimensions of the GE Model FCM7SUWW chest type freezer?

Asked by
parteegirl
Lancaster, PA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
22" front to back, 37" side to side, 33" tall. Add 3" all around for recommended clearances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Delslady
Springfield, OR, USA
August 6, 2013
The length is just a shade under 37 inches. Height is 32.5 inches and depth including the brackets for the lid are about 22 inches. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
From the Home Depot specs page:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-7-0-cu-ft-Chest-Freezer-in-White-FCM7SUWW/203547578#specifications

22" deep X 33.25" high X 37" wide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
See specifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
37" wide - 22" front to back - 33" H
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2013
Hello Parteegirl, Thanks for your interest in our GE chest freezers. The model FCM7SUWW is 22 inches deep, 37 inches wide and 33.25 inches high. I hope this helps and thanks for buying GE! Sheree with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many amps does it draw? FCM7SUWW

Asked by
Rene
Mesa, AZ
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
80-95 watts, according to the technical wiring sheet attached to the back of the freezer. Less than one tenth of my hairdryer on the low setting....!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
15
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Measured draw (cold box, cycling) of new unit at apx. 75F ambient temperature was 114 watts beginning, 98 watts mid-cycle and 95 watts towards end of cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Hi, can I ship this freezer internationally?

Asked by
Ben
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
Anything and everything can be shipped overseas. The question is whether it can be purchased locally overseas for a lot less after shipping charges and red tape hassles are factored in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
Ben, usually not a problem, and I lived overseas for many years and most of the appliances my company provided were US made. You do have to consider voltage. In most of the world, 220V is the standard while in the USA we use 110V. This won't be a problem as long as you plug the freezer into a transformer that is rated for the voltage your freezer is pulling. Also, depending on where you are going, you might be able to buy a freezer in that country at a good price that works with the local voltage, and sell it when you leave. We did that when we left Belgium a few years ago. It was much more convenient than shipping a freezer from the USA, but each country is different and for all I know it's more cost effective for you to send one from here than buy it overseas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes, but it only operates on 120VAC at 60 Hertz (cycles per second).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
June 21, 2013
Hello Ben,

GE does not handle the shipping. It is best to buy the appliance in the country where you are going. If a domestic or export model is purchased in the U.S. and taken overseas, there is no warranty.

I would recommend to check with the company handling the shipping for guidelines for the country and requirements.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

"New Freezer" Smell

Asked by
Terry
Boston
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 13, 2013
Freezer works great, except for the plastic/chemical smell. I turned it on right after receiving it and started loading it with food, but I noticed that the food or at least the bags are getting this chemical odor.

I unloaded the freezer and thawed it out, and washed it thoroughly with a large sponge, hot water and a mild cleaning agent. I have left it open and turned off for the afternoon, to dry up and air out. The smell is still there. I am assuming this is out-gassing and not some kind of defect in our unit. How long before this smell goes away? Very unappealing.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I never noticed a smell at all from the freezer or the food. You can try some Arm and Hammer baking soda to absorb the smells, but funny you are having this issue because we sure didn't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
OMG. this has to be a defect. my freezer never had a smell to it. I think I would return it and get another one. I also bought one for my daughter and asked her about a smell and she also said there was no smell in her freezer. GOOD LUCK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
May 6, 2013
I have not experienced this situation. You should not place too many unfrozen items in the freezer at one time. Also, the freezer should be turned on empty for a while if it is not very cold inside. To wipe it out use soda water. I believe the instructions say how much soda to use. Then wipe it out well with soda water and wipe as dry as possible. Turn it on for possibly 20 minutes before placing any items in it and then only previously frozen items. Or place only several unfrozen items in it at one time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
Ours had a slight plastic smell when we received it. The delivery guys and also the manual said to wash the inside throughly before using. I did that and I think it just went away. That said, I always keep a box of baking soda in the freezer to neurtralize any odors from strong smelling foods put in before freezing (Arm &Hammer has a specially made box that has a fabric on the side to let odors in without having to open the box top - which for me typically meant eventually it would spill out)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
April 14, 2013
Hello Terry,

This is Donna with GE and I am glad to help you with your question on the new freezer.

Please rest assured, your freezer does not contain any mechanical parts that will produce an odor.
When a freezer or refrigerator is new, there can be a plastic odor because most components inside are made plastic. This odor will dissipate with time. Odors can be difficult to get rid of because the refrigerator is an enclosed area. GE recommends the following to eliminate an odor.

* To clean the walls and shelves we recommend a solution of:
One tablespoon of baking soda
One quart of warm water

* You may also use Smells BeGone 12 fl ozs. (wx10x25), a deodorizer spray that is unscented, nontoxic, nonstaining and nonallergenic which destroys odors and kills bacteria without leaving a fragrance behind.

* Activated charcoal is available in drug stores, or more commonly, in pet stores. Spread the activated charcoal in a small pan (such as a jellyroll pan) and place it in the freezer. When the charcoal loses its effectiveness, it can be heated on low heat in the oven for a couple of hours to rejuvenate it. Activated charcoal is not the same as charcoal briquettes used for cooking on a grill.

If the issue continues, then please contact warranty service.

Following is the link for sceduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULEa

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
April 14, 2013
Hello Terry,

This is Donna with GE and I will be glad to help with your question on the new GE chest freezer.

Please rest assured, your new freezer does not contain any mechanical parts that will produce an odor. With a new freezer or refrigerator, there can be a plastic odor because most components inside are made plastic. This odor will dissipate with time. Odors can be difficult to get rid of because the freezer is an enclosed area, but it should dissipate. Following are the suggested ways to eliminate an odor.

* To clean the walls and shelves we recommend a solution of:
One tablespoon of baking soda
One quart of warm water

* You may also use Smells BeGone 12 fl ozs. (wx10x25), a deodorizer spray that is unscented, nontoxic, nonstaining and nonallergenic which destroys odors and kills bacteria without leaving a fragrance behind.

* Activated charcoal is available in drug stores, or more commonly, in pet stores. Spread the activated charcoal in a small pan (such as a jellyroll pan) and place it in the freezer. When the charcoal loses its effectiveness, it can be heated on low heat in the oven for a couple of hours to rejuvenate it. Activated charcoal is not the same as charcoal briquettes used for cooking on a grill.

If this continues, please contact warranty service. The link below is for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Anyone know where I can more baskets for this? Thanks

Asked by
Mrs. Howard
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
Try Amazon or Ebay. Just poke in the model number followed by the word "basket" and see what comes up. Additionally, you can contact the company and see if they sell extra baskets as an accessory, and if they don't sell them directly, perhaps they can direct you to a retailer who does.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
July 16, 2013
I just went to the $ store and found some plastic open sided baskets for now I am on the lookout for metal ones...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
July 2, 2013
I would call your local home depot or visit them. or even call the 1-800 number listed in your owners manuel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this Model # FCM7SUWW auto-restart after power is restored?

Asked by
BeagleBoy
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 30, 2013
I read a customer-review last week (another brand name) of a chest freezer that does -not- reset/restart. Almost monthly, our power goes out for a minute or two, or longer. I don't want a unit that I can't trust.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
My power went out last night and the freezer restarted just fine.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Mechanical thermostat turns unit on and off, so "reset/restart" is not an issue with this freezer. Additionally, the compressor has a thermal cut-out to prevent damage from short cycling (like power going out momentarily while unit is in operation).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
We have power surges and gaps in power and my freezer has always worked properly. I have never heard of a freezer not turning back on after a power outage. But anyways, this freezer will kick in after an outage. I have owned this freezer for over 3 years and I have never had a issue with it. I liked it so much, I bought my daughter one for Christmas and she lived in Iowa and had power outages all the time and the freezer works like a champ. GOOD LUCK
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Deerman
Mobile, AL, USA
May 7, 2013
I haven't experienced any restart problem but I haven't been near the freezer when we have lost power.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
May 6, 2013
If the thermostat calls for coolness my freezer always comes on automatically. However, I have not experienced this situation very much.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
We have had the power go out and never had an issue with the freezer coming back on automatically exactly as it was set.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
April 30, 2013
Hello BeagleBoy,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

Yes, if there is a power outage, the freezer will come back on when the power is restored.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Could I put one half of a side beef in this freezer. Approx. 240 lbs of meat

Asked by
Kaysey
Covington
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes, if individual cuts. Maybe, if not yet frozen and half side is cut into 2 or 3 pieces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 21, 2013
This freezer should hold up to -about- 250 pounds of food. So, if cut right, it will hold the meat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
Yep, we just did. With room to spare!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
I WOULD SAY YES. IT IS QUITE LARGE ON THE INSIDE. YOU JUST MIGHT HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE 2 WIRE RACKS THAT COME WITH IT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
August 18, 2012
I would say yes, with hesitation, only because I have never done it. I have two processed deer in mine right now, probably 130lbs total and there is still tons of room. It is a bit of a pain getting to stuff on the bottom but if you pack it smart....
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
August 8, 2012
Hello Kaysey,

Thank you for your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

There are many factors that contribute to the volume of food that your freezer will hold including the physical size and shape of each item. In general, a freezer will hold 30 to 35 pounds per Cubic Foot.

The maximum amount of food that your freezer can freeze at one time is 3 pounds per Cubic Foot. After allowing 24 hours for that to freeze, you can then add another 3 pounds per Cubic Foot.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
August 8, 2012
Yes it should.
1 square foot of freezer = approximately 35 lbs. of storage. Weight and size will vary based on how it is butchered, but a 7ft freezer is typical for a half side.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
August 8, 2012
On average, frozen meat uses about 37.5 pounds per cubic foot. Based on this, 37.5 x 7.0 cubic feet = 262.5 pounds of meat. So, it may be able to fit. However, meat is hardly ever made into cubic foot cubes. So, best estimation would be that if it was the only thing in the freezer, it would be very close and you may need to arrange it so it settles well.
I would make sure I could put a piece or two into my regular freezer just to be on the safe side.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I just bought this model freezer I want to put this in my garage, but all I have is GCFI outlets Can i plug it into a GCFI outlet?

Asked by
Hi
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 9, 2013
I read one review where a customer plugged it into a GCFI outlet and was told by GE that they would not cover the freezer under warranty because the customer plugged into a GCFI, but at the same time I read a Q&A response from "Nikki" from GE stating that is was ok to plug the freezer into a GCFI outlet? If a GE representative or GE technical support could provide clarification on my question that would be great, Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Power through GCFI is no different than power through non-GCFI outlet. When "tripped" the lack of power is no different than unit sitting unplugged. Transition from powered to "tripped" (and vice-verse) is instantaneous and no different than its internal thermostat turning unit on or off, unit being unplugged or plugged in, or unit being operated by and external switch controlling its outlet. Instructions probably provided with unit, to wait a certain period of time before plugging unit back in after unplugging, should be followed before resetting the GCFI outlet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Either change to non GCFI or install one with higher break point to be sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
January 12, 2013
The short answer is Yes.
The long answer is that a GFI is a Ground Fault Interrupter. Which means, it will shut off if a Ground Fault to the Hot wire is detected. As part of the National Electric Code which it sounds like your house was built to, allows a safety factor since the plug in is in a potentially wet environment. If there were to be some kind of electrical short between the Hot wire and a Ground, then the unit would trip and keep you safe. That's why GFI are used in craw spaces, Garages, Bathrooms and Kitchens, etc. Which are places that can have a wet and potentially unsafe condition if the device being plugged in had a problem. Some motors can cause a GFI to trip unintentionally, but those are mostly the cheaper, older units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
PJHnWPB
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
January 10, 2013
I am looking at my waranty right now and I see no mention of the use of GCFI outlets at all. I'm not a GE employee but a GCFI outlet monitors the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is any imbalance, it trips the circuit. Basically it is used when there is a risk of shock from the appliance being used may either come in contact with water or in your case in a possible work area where the cordage could be damaged.
Tripping the circuit won't damage the freezer so I'm not sure why it would void a waranty.
I have mine on GCFI and have no problems at all.
But like I said I dont work for GE. Hopefully that helps you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jonesz
Santa Cruz, CA
January 10, 2013
You can with no problem unless the power shuts off.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
January 10, 2013
Yes! Your GFCI is the same as a regular receptacle except if there is a short in the circuit instead of shocking you or tripping the circuit breaker in your panel box the GFCI will trip and disconnect the circuit. If the circuit is disconnected all you need to do is press the one small button on the outlet and it will reconnect the outlet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
hi
January 10, 2013
I looked in the owner's manual and see nothing stating that it will not be warranted if it is put in the garage?? It just states between 0 and 110?

GE representative, please provide clarification.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
GE Answers
January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW

GFCI or GFI (Ground fault circuit interrupt)

GFCI wall plugs check for any current or voltage that may "leak" to the ground. Most appliances have some current leakage to ground especially electronic gas ranges. The spark ignitor on a gas range will cause the GFCI to trip. It is recommended that you not plug a electric spark ignitor gas range into a GFCI wall outlet.

Other appliances (freezer) can be used with a GFCI. If the GFCI trips, you should first reset the GFCI once. If it trips a second time then call for service on the appliance.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
January 10, 2013
Of course you can plug it into a gcfi outlet but you might want to consider putting it somewhere inside your house. Your freezer is not warranteed if you have it in a garage. PLease read your owners manuel, it states that it can not be in a garage unless it is heated and air conditioned. I love my freezer and had to put it in one of my bedrooms because of this
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the two buttons on the front next to the temp control?

Asked by
Rev.
Toccoa Georgia
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 17, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Knock-outs for features or options (probably switches or indicator lights) not included on this model. Manufacturer probably has one panel that is installed on many different models with many different features or options that ship to many different countries.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
On the GE 7 cu. ft. freezer they do not do anything. They are not switches and do not move.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
pynguin
Redmond, WA, USA
October 1, 2012
They are actually not buttons. I imagine it is a common Temp control unit that is used in different models. They are just two removable plastic pieces.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
THEY ARE NOT BUTTONS, THEY ARE THE LIGHTS THAT TELL YOU IF THE FREEZER IS WORKING. GREEN SAYS WORKING GREAT, RED IS UNPLUGGED OR NOT WORKING
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
August 19, 2012
There are three "buttons" to the left of the temperature control dial. The first is an idicator showing green when the unit is operating. The next two do nothing and serve no purpose, apparently a template for features on upgraded models.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
August 18, 2012
They are blank covers. On different models these are other lights/switches. On this model they are covers for cut outs.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
August 18, 2012
Sorry, I have no idea. I searched the manual and there is no mention of them anywhere. I have never pressed mine, freezer is totally plug & play. I would definitely recommend the freezer, it works like a champ!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
GE Answers
August 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

GE uses a common design for the freezer control. Therefore, the two buttons next to the green light located on the outside of the chest freezers do not serve a purpose.

The green light should be solid and not blinking.

I hope this answers your question. We are always here to help!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

is this 7.0 cu ft. freezer Energy efficient ?

Asked by
granny k
Alpena, MI 49707
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 28, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Go to bottom of item's page, find and click on EnergyGuide. Applies to all items for which EnergyGuide is required.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Yes, the Energy efficient tag is on it and has a setting for it.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
It is not listed as energy efficient. Mine runs very little except when a lot of food needs to be frozen at one time and the freezer is kept rather filled.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
yes it is. and it only put my power bill up 3 dollars in a month.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimH
Tahoe
November 6, 2012
Yes, The literature says it only costs $30 annually to run at an estimated 277kwh a year.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Shelly
Rialto, CA, USA
November 4, 2012
yes, the freezer is energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
October 29, 2012
In all honesty I havnt noticed any increase in my power bill. My bill has actually started to go down, I'm not attributing this to the freezer, that would be crazy, but just saying, the freezer seems to be really energy efficient. I love mine!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
GE Answers
October 29, 2012
Hello Granny K,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

This cehst freezer is not rated Energy Star. The estimated yearly electricity use is 277 kWh. The average yearly operating cost is $30.00.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

will this freezer still work in the winter if it is in a detached garage?

Asked by
Ranger
Wisconsin
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes. It will operate more efficiently and at less cost in lower temperature environment.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Sure, and it should use less energy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
If the temperature in the garage falls to below zero it will probably not run. But if the temperature does not go to zero the compressor will only run when the temperature inside rises to where the thermostat is set, which can be from below zero to about 32 degrees. The thermostat should be set to at least zero when checked with a thermostat and the freezer has run for a couple days.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ELF84
Denver, CO
December 18, 2012
Mine's sitting on an uninsulated back porch area and hasn't had trouble yet. Shouldn't be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PJHnWPB
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
December 14, 2012
If Your garage temp dips below 0 degrees F it won't Keep the correct temp inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
The manual says that 0-degrees Fahrenheit is the minimum temperature, I believe. I'm not sure what, if any, consequences there might be for going below that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
yes it will work. i had mine in the garage and then when i had a dryer delivered by home depot the delivery guy told me that if i had the freezer in the garage it was not covered by the warrantee. i said WHAT??. so i looked it up in the warrantee book and there it was in writing. if you use the freezer in the unheated and no air conditioner, the warrantee is void. It makes the motor and compressor work alot harder and shortens the life of your freezer. well, my freezer went right into the house in a spare bedroom.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
GE Answers
November 5, 2012
Hello Ranger,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.

* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the freeze self defrosting?

Asked by
Tidy
Atlanta
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 23, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Haven't had a problem with frost, therefor I haven't even checked to tell you the truth.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
NO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JHerlocker
York, PA, USA
February 26, 2013
No, but it comes with instructions (and a handy plastic scraper) for manual defrosting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JTR2013
Brunswick, ME, USA
January 6, 2013
No, this unit is not self defrosting. However, it does come with a scraper and a drain plug designed to let you defrost it (instructions recommend once every 3 to 6 months depending on use and climate).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
December 24, 2012
no it is not, i have had this freezer for over 2 years and have never had to defrost it yet
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
December 24, 2012
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with our GE handy chest freezer. This unit is a manual defrost freezer that will need defrosting about twice a year depending on the usage. These instructions will be in your use and care booklet that comes with your freezer.

Thanks for buying our GE products!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I noticed that one picture showed a customer that turned the freezer on its side to simulate a upright freezer. Is this allowed?

Asked by
Mo
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 11, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
NO! Oil that lubricates compressor would no longer do so. Compressor would fail in a very short time!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
karencv
Liberty Mo
January 16, 2013
The picture you are referring to was oriented improperly. If you look closely, you can see the base of the freezer parallel to the baseboard in the room. Simply put, the picture was turned on its side, not the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
No, not recommended. Refrigerant systems involve moving liquid coolant around, so it's important to keep things right side up.

Even if you have to lay a normal freezer/refrigerator down to move it, it's recommended to set it back upright for an hour or so before turning it on, so that the coolant will flow back down to where it should be. Starting the compressor 'dry' can damage it, or so the story goes :)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Sprinter
Little Rock, AR, USA
December 11, 2012
No! That's dangerous as its not made to function like that.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
November 12, 2012
Hello Mo,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

No, it certainly cannot be turned on its side. This would effect the compressor and void the warranty.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.
* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.
.
Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
November 12, 2012
I would not do this for a couple reasons. The compressor is on the right end on the bottom so you could not place the freezer on its right end as it would cover the vent of the compressor. If you placed the freezer on its left end the weight of the compressor would be hanging and any items inside the freezer would be just piled on top of everything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
satisfiedJeff
Oneonta, NY 13820, USA
November 12, 2012
I am sure that it would affect the units efficiency, as the insulation is designed based on it sitting horizontally. I would also assume there wouls be long term issues because; again the cooling unit is designed to sit normally and sitting on its side would stress mounting points
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
i would never do this. your warantee would be no good. and i dont think it would regulate the freon to keep the freezer freezing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
November 12, 2012
There's was nothing included in the paperwork or packaging to indicate that type of placement was suggested or practical. Without shelves, the interior space would be unastable with food falling/sliding out when the door was opened. There's no way of knowing how it would effect overall performance and energy costs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
November 12, 2012
Mo, I have no idea, sorry. Mine is right side up, I never thought about standing it on end.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how many watt in it ?

Asked by
Mina
USA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 19, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
New unit measured 85 to 114 Watts at 75F ambient (room) temperature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
April 3, 2013
Ask Home Depot to check or call GE and give them the model number.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
I REALLY DONT KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN BY THIS QUESTION. I CAN NOT FIND THE ANSWER IN THE MANUEL. PLEASE CALL THE MANUFACTURER.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
September 20, 2012
Hello Mina,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

Please check the rating plate on the appliance. The running amps and volts are listed on all rating plates.

Start-up amps and wattage are usually 3 times more than running amps or watts.

volts x amps = wattage

A freezer should always be plugged into its own individual electrical outlet (115 volt, 60 hertz, single phase AC). The freezer should be on a dedicated circuit. This is recommended for best performance and to prevent overloading house wiring circuits. It could cause a possible fire hazard from overheating wires.

All freezers require a 15 amp fuse/breaker.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Internal Dimensions

Asked by
defender845
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 23, 2012
What are the internal dimensions of this freezer?
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
7 cubic feet. See specifications.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
It's very spacious and utilizes the cubic volume to it's utmost.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
15 inches from front to back. 27 inches top to bottom. 31 1/2 inches left to right.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Deerman
Mobile, AL, USA
January 24, 2013
7 cubic feet
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
December 24, 2012
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with our question on our practical and money saving GE freezer. The FCM7SUWW is internally:

L x W x H = 586mm (23.07”) X 391mm (15.39”) X 700mm (27.56”)

I hope this helps and thanks for buying our GE products!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the lowest temperature this freezer can reach?

Asked by
oregonsci
Portland, OR
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 23, 2012
I am a middle school biology/chemistry teacher and would like to store specimens in this freezer. Some of these specimens require temperature ranges between -20C to -30C (-4F to -22F). Would this freezer be able to reach these ranges?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Performance data says -5F to 5F range, which may or may not be the limit. Replacing original thermostat with another (ex: Johnson Controls A419) would likely allow unit to be operated at lower temperatures - sacrificing some of its useful life as well as some efficiency.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
The thermostat has settings from 0 to 7. I keep my 7 cu. ft. freezer set at 5 and when checked with a thermometer the temperature ranges from -4 to 4 above zero. But I keep my freezer rather filled most of the time. If you have very little amount of items to freeze a serviceman told me to fill jugs of water and keep the freezer as full as possible. And do not add many items to freeze at one time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
October 29, 2012
Well, I'm not sure exactly what temp range it can go to but it will keep your pizza's and venison good and frozen.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
I checked my owners manuel and it does not state the lowest temp. If i were you, i would call the manufacturer and they would know. I do know this is a great freezer and i would highly recommend it to everyone and it ships for FREE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
September 23, 2012
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you with your question ont the chest freezer.

The operating temperature of chest and upright freezers including smaller, compact models is -5 to +5 degrees. (-20 to -15 celcius) solid food temperature. It is not designed to store things at a lower temperature range.

Should you have any further questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 »