Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions
 | 
334 Answers
Overall rating:
4.669 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Does the freezer make a lot of noise?

Asked by
vicDOOM
Dallas, Tx
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 2, 2014
The freezer will be in my bedroom, will it make a soft whisper, or will it sound like a lawn mower?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2014
It is quieter than my normal refrigerator. It is also quieter than an airpump for my 10 gallon aquarium. The equal sound volume is made from the heater vent in my bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
March 4, 2014
This freezer hardly makes a sound! I had to check several times to make sure it was running the first couple of weeks after purchasing it because I didn't hear any noise.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nelsonnathan99
Belle Chasse, LA
March 4, 2014
It is very quiet and may lull you to sleep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
March 4, 2014
Extremely quite. Also, very energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
March 3, 2014
Hello VicDoom - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

As long as the freezer is placed on a solid floor, then it should not sound like a lawn mower. It should sound similar to a refrigerator when it is running. You may hear the high-efficiency compressor motor. The freezer will run less when it is at least three-fourths full. You can put gallon jugs of water not filled all of the way in the freezer to take up empty space, if necessary.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
March 3, 2014
None. No noise.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you accept international purchase and delivery? thanks

Asked by
Elisa
Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 24, 2014
I am writting from Mexico
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDCustomerService
Atlanta, GA
February 13, 2014
Hi Elisa,

Thanks for your question and interest in this item. We do, however, have stores in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, 10 Canadian provinces, Mexico and China. We do apologize for the inconvenience. If you have any further questions, please contact our Online Customer Service Department at 800-430-3376 between 6:00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. Eastern Time daily.

Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a light inside?

Asked by
Jackie
MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
This is a very good question. I never thought to check prior to purchase. But to answer this question, unfortunately NO, it does not. Good thing I placed mines right by a lamp.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LoriD
Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
July 23, 2013
No, it does not have a light inside of it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MachineGunKelly
July 16, 2013
No light, but would be a pretty good idea. I velcroed a rechargeable flashlight (I got it as a freebee from somewhere) to the outside of my freezer. Works perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
no, there is no light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No. Top and inside are white or shiny metal, making it easy to see inside if there is light in the surrounding environment.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
DeaBob
New Jersey, USA
July 2, 2013
No lights inside!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
June 26, 2013
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 26, 2013
no it does not have a light
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Baldy
PA
June 26, 2013
No. No light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
June 26, 2013
Sorry Jackie, no light inside. I haven't found that I miss that feature at all though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I keep this freezer on inside my garage throughout NJ winters?

Asked by
Biki
NJ
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 30, 2013
We purchased an extra fridge/freezer a few years ago and was told we could not use it below certain temps because of the freon on the unit, so we could only use it in warmer temps, and ended up seling it. I need extra storage for frozen food and am looking to keep this unit in my garage throughout the year, I just want to make sure I can use it all year round. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
I have this unit and a GE 12 cu ft chest freezer in my garage. I'm a tad south of you in Virginia, but have not had any issues when temperature is below zero outside (on those rare occasions). It is against the back wall, and not right next to the garage door, so not sure if that would make a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
The owner's manual on page 10 states "Do not install freezer where the temperature will go below 0*F or above 110*F, because it will not maintain proper temperatures."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
dbranga
01867
August 6, 2013
I had a similar freezer we kept in the garage over the winter. That's why I just bought this one - it didn't survive. I am just north of Boston so I wouldn't recommend leaving it in the garage unless it is going to stay above 40 degrees all winter. Good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I kept mine in the garage all year round through some very cold winters. If your garage is attached to your house then it is probably drawing some of the house heat, meaning the inside of the garage won't be as cold as outside. You can of course check with the manufacturer's customer support service to be sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Short answer; It will have less work to do and use less electricity in the winter than in warmer seasons.

Long answer: Unit's refrigeration cycle moves heat from inside box to outside box. The lower the ambient (surrounding) temperature, the easier it becomes to dissipate (dispose of) the unwanted heat, and the more efficiently unit operates. Heat gain into box from surrounding air is reduced as temperature of surrounding air drops, allowing it to operate more efficiently. Operating (virtually any) low temperature box in medium temperature environment (NJ garage in winter) reduces internal freon pressure, allowing it to operate more efficiently.

Follow instructions for minimum space between back (most important) and side of box and any surrounding obstructions (wall, other appliances, boxes, etc).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
I keep mine in the garage during winter in central PA.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
June 30, 2013
Hello Biki,

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:
Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer self defrost

Asked by
Fanny
Poway
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, this one does not. In fact, it includes a hand held manual ice scraper in the instructions bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
No. Turn the freezer off at the thermostat or disconnect the power cord and use a hair dryer to speed defrosting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Josie
Lexington, KY, USA
July 30, 2013
No, it's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gilttrip
Alabama
July 23, 2013
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
6am4
July 18, 2013
This freezer does not self defrost. I have had it for about a month and there is just a small amount of frost on the top of the walls near the door.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cookielady
Ohio, USA
July 17, 2013
No it is manual defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Amom
Birmingham, AL
July 16, 2013
No and you don't want a self defrosting one to store meat because the temperature fluctuates constantly and your food will not last as long.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
kentincave
Yuma, AZ, USA
July 12, 2013
no it does not self defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
No, it is a manual defrost with a drain in the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Install casters?

Asked by
Stack
Cambridge, MD
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 18, 2013
Does anybody know if it's easy to install casters on this freezer? Or does anybody have a proven method to make the freezer more mobile and easier to move?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
If you bolt something to the bottom, you probably void your warranty.

You could probably build a low wood frame and bolt the casters to the frame, something where the freezer fits in it. That way you haven't altered the freezer itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
July 16, 2013
I have some three wheeled casters meant to hold table legs I believe will be strong enough to put under it, should be available at the Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
June 18, 2013
I would not recommend fastening casters to this freezer as the freezer is easy to move when empty. If want to move freezer a short distance when filled purchase 4 sliders for each corner, the type used to move heavy furniture.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2013
Hello Stark,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to assist you.

GE does not recommend to modify, drill into or add casters / rollers to the freezer.

Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
my best suggestion is to buy mover dollies. they come in packs of 2 or 4 and you set them on each corner of the freezer. the only thing is, you lean on the freezer and it will move. but keep in mind that this freezer needs to be on a level service, so it will run properly. You can always find a handy person to make you a set of dollies out of wood and casters. buy 1 2X4X6 and measure it for the proper length then cut it and put the casters on each end. It should keep it sturdy enough and you can buy all these items from home depot. pretty easy and cheap fix. hope this helps. Just remember any thing you do to the freezer, voids the warrantee. that is why I suggested making your own set of dollies. you can just set it on top of the board and the weight of the freezer will keep it in place. GOOD LUCK. YOU WILL LOVE THIS FREEZER. I KNOW I DO. I have had it for over 3 years and it works perfectly.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Length and location of power cord

Asked by
tbheywood
Washington, DC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 24, 2013
How long is the power cord and where is it located on the product? We have a small area where a freezer would fit, and only one outlet is close.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PickyMe
Garden Grove, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Sorry to disagree with Donna at GE but when standing in front of the freezer it exits from the right rear.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
About 5 feet and exits (facing freezer) right rear of unit. Unit does not draw much power and cord could be easily extended (preferably) with an appliance type (ie: air conditioner) extension cord.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
It's about 3ft long. We also have a small area and it fit perfectly. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
I would say the power cord is about ft long and it is located on the right back portion of the freezer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Cord in rear and appears to be nearly five feet in length.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
April 4, 2013
The cord is aprox 5 ft long and if you were looking straight at the freezer, the cord comes out of the back, right hand side. Hope this helps. I love my freezer. It works fantastic
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 20, 2013
The cord is about 2 feet long. It is located on the back, at the bottom, on the right (assuming you are facing the freezer). It is a 3-prong plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 13, 2013
About 5 feet. The cord is located at floor level in the back on the right side.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
GE Answers
February 25, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The power cord is 5 feet in length. The cord, as you face the unit, is on
the left lower corner in the back.

Thank you for choosing GE!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

At time of making purchase, can optional delivery dates be scheduled online? if so, instructions on how it can be done will be appreciated .

Asked by
Agie
San Diego
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 22, 2013
Thank You!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kris
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Yes, they will allow you to look at a calendar and select a date that works best for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jea1
January 14, 2014
Yes..I ordered and scheduled delivery including instructions all online.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
saabj2000
Omaha, NE, USA
December 31, 2013
When I purchased the freezer, I was able to schedule the time and date of delivery. I don't remember an optional delivery date/time; however, there is the option to reschedule and they will call before they come to deliver on the delivery date.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chriswltr
Cedar Hill, TX, USA
December 26, 2013
If you purchase this item online, a delivery date can be scheduled online during the checkout process. They will show a calendar with the first available delivery date and all subsequent delivery dates available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
sn0905
Western, NY, USA
December 24, 2013
We ordered online and had our purchase shipped. After you select delivery, a calendar should come up at which time you can schedule your delivery date. There is a guide to help you figure out which days are available for delivery and which are booked.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bettynnoel
December 10, 2013
Go on line and you will see that opportunity
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
Yes, delivery can be set-up online. There is a calendar that shows available dates of delivery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. To determine if a specific delivery date is available for your item you will need to localize the item online by using a zip code. You will be prompted to select a delivery date from a calendar during the checkout process. For any other questions, please call our Appliance Hotline 1-800-455-3869.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I heard somewhere that is you lose power for a short time, then it comes back on... Freezer control must be manually turned off for 3 - 5 minutes.

Asked by
CTDad
Connecticut
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 24, 2013
Otherwise when power returns the unit will not automatically turn back on. Even though the control switch is turned on. This could lead to food spoilage. Is this true?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
skipper
So. Burlington, VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I purchased this freezer 13 months ago and have had no problems with the freezer restarting after a power outage. I have not had to reset the temperature controls after this event. My power was out for approximately 2 hours.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
No... It does have overload protection so that it does not overheat the motor trying to get back to the normal state.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
I've had a power outage and unit resumed operation on it's own.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
I'm new to the 'freezer' world but asked my parents and they said theirs turns back on and works like normal, no need to turn off/on.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GE Answers
December 9, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and i am happy to assist you.

The freezer will restart after a power failure as long as the temperature control is not in the Off position. Additionally, it can take a couple of minutes before the compressor cycles on because of the unit's built-in overload protection.

I hope this is helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the shipping dimensions for this freezer?

Asked by
Dragon
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 5, 2014
I'd like to know if I can fit the packaged freezer in my SUV. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Paul
January 14, 2014
It fit in the back of my Mazda CX-9 with room to spare
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BeefyChuck
victorviile, ca
January 7, 2014
Why go through the hassle, they delivered for free.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
Mine was delivered already un-cartoned. You should be able to look at the specifications on Home Depot web site for full weight and packaged size.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
January 6, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

The Carton Length is 38.5", Carton Width 23.2", Carton Height 34.5". The gross weight is 98 pounds.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do all G.E. Chest models come with a hose adapter and a hose connector as mentioned in FCM9DTWH

Asked by
BOBBI
Oregon
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Goldengirl
Florida, USA
January 8, 2014
Ours did not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I don't remember seeing one when I unpacked it. Just the baskets and the owner's manual are all I can recall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No. Drain is very low, so a suitably sized rag or towel works better to catch water while defrosting than a pan or cup.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
No hose connector on this 7 cu. ft. model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Missy
Meadow Vista, CA, USA
June 4, 2013
I'm not sure what the reference is, but my freezer did not have any hoses or connector. Just the cord.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
May 14, 2013
Hello Bobbi.

Thank you for your question on the GE Chest freezers.

No, it will depend on the model number. Some chest freezers have a defrost water drain at the front and a base hose adpater that is packaged in a bag in the bottom of the freezer. Yes, model FCM9DT does have the drain adapter but mode FCM7SU does not.

Should you have any additonal questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the freezer do in cold weather?

Asked by
Curious
Washington State
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 18, 2013
I see that the freezer does not do well in the heat. Does anyone know how it would do if placed inside a non heated cedar shed in the winter? I've read on other small chest freezers that they don't do well. Wondering how the GE holds up.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
It is rated for 0 to 110 degrees F. I have it in my garage and it works like a champ.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
qualitym
December 10, 2013
I've owned a GE FCM7 (7 cu.ft.) freezer for 14 months. It is outside and been through temperatures from 86ºF to 19ºF. It seems to work fine except for a problem I'm having with widely oscillating temperatures inside the freezer (see my review).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
I don't have any personal experience with this but the manual does state that it can operate in temperatures from 0*F to 110*F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
My freezer is located in my attached garage where in the winter the temperature goes as low as 25 degrees and in the summer as high as 85 degrees. After 2 years the thermostat had to be replaced, but other than that it has done very nicely.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
September 19, 2013
well I had my freezer in a garage, but knowing that the warrantee is not valid unless it is in the house. It was very hot in the summer and pretty cold in the winter. Lived in florida. I never had any problems with it in my garage, weather it was hot or cold. It got up to 120 in my garage in the summer and down to 30 in the winter. but remember it states in the warrantee that if it is not kept inside of the house, the warrantee is voided. Hope this helps. I have owned this freezer for over 3 years and have never had a problem with it yet. (knock on wood).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
September 19, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest in our chest freezer model FCM7SUWW.

To obtain efficient operation, place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet. Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded. Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer. Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

does this unit restart on its own if there is a power dissruption?

Asked by
qualitym
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
Yes, it will. It does have an overload protection so that it does not run continuously until the freezer is fully back to the correct temp. This is a good thing since the freezer continuously running trying to refreeze everything in it would likely cause the motor to over heat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
January 7, 2014
According to the booklet, Yes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
Yes....I've already had a power outage and the freezer resumed operation by itself.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
busymom18
New Jersey, USA
December 31, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
December 17, 2013
Yes. Here's an easy way to tell if a power disruption has occurred. Fill a small plastic cup 3/4 of the way full with water. Place it in your freezer. When the water is frozen solid place a penny on top of the ice. Should your power go out for any length of time, simply look to see where the penny is. Is it still on top? Your frozen material should still be perfectly fine. If the penny is part way to the bottom the power has been off long for the water and any other items to partially thaw. If it's at the bottom of the cup the power has been off for a long time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
doglover
Geneseo, NY, USA
December 3, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2013
Hi Qualitym-this is Sue from GE. Yes! The freezer will restart on its own after a power failure. Keep the freezer door/lid closed. Your freezer will keep food frozen for 24 hours provided warm air is not admitted.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the dimensions-hight, wide and deep?

Asked by
Coachpaul
Myrtle Beach, SC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
December 17, 2013
37" W X 33" H X 22" D
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 21, 2013
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I will be happy to assist you. The dimensions are as follows:
(HxWxD)
33 1/4 in x 37 in x 22 in
I hope this helps. Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does this 7 Cubic Foot GE Chest Freezer Weigh?

Asked by
Brent
Gainesville, FL
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 20, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
The 2 delivery guy carried it easily downstairs on a strap. After they left, I went and lifted the freezer to put some wood slab underneath and surprising, lighter than what I thought.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jake873
Saint Paul, MN, USA
August 22, 2013
not sure exact weight, but one man can move the empty unit without much exertion. Can't be more than 35-40lbs I would think, but like I said, I'm NOT exactly sure of the weight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jdac
July 9, 2013
The shipping weight is 90 pounds, I believe it is under that.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
See specifications.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
sbfineart
Redmond Washington
June 20, 2013
The specs say shipping weight 88 lbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i buy replacement or larger food baskets for this freezer?

Asked by
george
marlboro,mass.
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
basket part number is WR21X10208
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
August 28, 2013
I just went to the dollar store and bougt some plastic baskets and they work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
I actually kept my basket from my old freezer and I bought containers from the dollar store to keep everything organized. Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
don't know if you can buy additional ones, I can tell you I had the same size previously also from GE and my old baskets do not fit in it - they are too long front to back
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
February 20, 2013
I do not know for sure. The baskets rest in an indentation so you can not fit any larger baskets between the front and the back of the freezer. You might check on a web site under repair parts for appliances for replacement parts. Baldy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
February 20, 2013
Hello George,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The freezer comes with 2 baskets. Yes, you can buy additional baskets and the part number
is # WR21X10208. There is not a larger basket available.

Please contact tthe Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this qualify for Home Depot's 10% price guarantee?

Asked by
Kontingency
Lynchburg, VA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CountryLife
Somewhere in the sticks, Texas
November 18, 2013
I'm not sure about this that - but Home Depot does give a discount to military veterans.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
August 26, 2013
Of course it should. If it is the same size ,brand, I am sure you would get the discount
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Dose this freezer turn back on automatacally after a power outage?

Asked by
Corinne
Houston TX
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 15, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
August 28, 2013
Yes I get surges and outages all the time and have yet to even have extra frost build up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Blissall702
Las Vegas, NV, USA
August 23, 2013
Yes it does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jake873
Saint Paul, MN, USA
August 22, 2013
Yes, in my case. We had electrical strike, knocking out power for almost 4 hrs.
We kept the freezer shut during this time, when the power came back on, it kicked right on and we immediately checked the contents, and it was all still frozen.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hiroller
on-the-web-beat
August 16, 2013
Yes. This freezer resumes operating at its previous setting following a power outage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outside dimensions of the GE Model FCM7SUWW chest type freezer?

Asked by
parteegirl
Lancaster, PA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
22" front to back, 37" side to side, 33" tall. Add 3" all around for recommended clearances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Delslady
Springfield, OR, USA
August 6, 2013
The length is just a shade under 37 inches. Height is 32.5 inches and depth including the brackets for the lid are about 22 inches. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
From the Home Depot specs page:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-7-0-cu-ft-Chest-Freezer-in-White-FCM7SUWW/203547578#specifications

22" deep X 33.25" high X 37" wide.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
See specifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
37" wide - 22" front to back - 33" H
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2013
Hello Parteegirl, Thanks for your interest in our GE chest freezers. The model FCM7SUWW is 22 inches deep, 37 inches wide and 33.25 inches high. I hope this helps and thanks for buying GE! Sheree with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many amps does it draw? FCM7SUWW

Asked by
Rene
Mesa, AZ
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
80-95 watts, according to the technical wiring sheet attached to the back of the freezer. Less than one tenth of my hairdryer on the low setting....!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
15
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Measured draw (cold box, cycling) of new unit at apx. 75F ambient temperature was 114 watts beginning, 98 watts mid-cycle and 95 watts towards end of cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »