Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions
 | 
392 Answers
Overall rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Where is he best place in the house for this appliance?

Asked by
IR23
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
Any where you want to put it where you have a space the size of the freezer with the 3 inches between the freezer and the back wall and 3 inches from each side right and left sides ok ! I use to put mine right in my living room ! : )
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Woody
Clayton, GA 30525, USA
September 16, 2014
If you could set it over a drain, that would make defrosting super easy, but dipping out the meltwater is not a big deal with a freezer this size.
Keep in mind that all devices that cool their interior transfer the heat to the surrounding room. Also, the freezer will have to work much harder if it is in a hot place. A cool basement that can use a bit of warming is ideal; a hot garage is not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chicken
Lehigh Acres, Fl
July 24, 2014
The best place would be inside the house for the best effficiency, but if you have no room inside then if you have an open barn or shed that would be next because it gets much hotter closed up in a garage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Arlene
Las Cruces, NM
July 22, 2014
The best place in the house to put a freezer is usually in the utility room/laundry room or the garage. It is dependent upon where you have room for it. The important factor to consider is if you have an electrical outlet that will support the appliance first. The best thing to do is to ask an electrician to check your outlets before you purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scott20152
Chantilly, VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2014
Well, it's very quiet and not especially ugly (just a white box), so it really depends on what spaces you have available, as well as the convenience factor. I've read that it's a bad idea to place one somewhere that gets really cold (like down around freezing or colder) as it's hard on the motor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
July 13, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this freezer.

Your freezer should be located in a dry, well-ventilated room. Do not install the freezer where the temperature will go below 0 degrees F or above 110 degrees F, because it will not maintain proper temperatures. Be certain to install your freezer on a floor strong enough to support it when it is fully loaded.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How important is it to have the 3" air clearance on each side?

Asked by
Autumn412
PA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 1, 2014
I have a location this may squeeze nicely into, but will not accommodate the 3inches on each side as required, though it will have air clearance in the rear. Will this hinder performance?

Thanks for your time.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
So the air can come out or it would over heat with " no " ventilation ok !!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thomastr3
Grovetown, GA 30813, USA
October 9, 2014
If you have exhaust vents on the side it will hinder the performance. Heat needs to be circulated out of freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 7, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to the air clearance requirement on this chest freezer. Chest freezers must have 3" air clearances around the product. Maintaining these air clearances will provide proper air circulation and allow the ease of installation. I hope this information is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hiroller
on-the-web-beat
October 5, 2014
Virtually all compressor equipped appliances, such as refrigerators or freezers require/specify minimum clearances for proper operation. More is better than less. If clearance is less than recommended, you run the risk of possibly all of the following occurring: the freezer not reaching the proper temperature (low/cold), having the compressor run longer attempting to chill freezer, premature failure of compressor, and high utility bills.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Tinman
Pittsburgh,PA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 3, 2014
The rear clearance is key but you do want some clearance on the sides so that there is air flow all around the compressor. Even though the compressor is in the back of the unit it will get hot if you do not have some airflow from the sides of the freezer. I would think 1 inch on the sides would be fine if you have a few inches in the rear of the freezer. Also, should the compressor go bad before the warranty is up. You had 3 inches of clearance at all times ;-) ;-) That being said, I not only own this freezer but I've been an HVACR technician for over 15 years, so this is more than just a guess.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CherylAtButlerHome
Hillsborough NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 3, 2014
It can make it harder for the unit to cool down and transfer the heat created from the motor running. This heat has to go somewhere. It is my understanding that it can make your freezer not work well and could have an impact on the longevity of the unit. I would not do it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference btw model #FCM7SUWW and #FCM7SHWW? I can't see any difference in reading the specs.

Asked by
miishie
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
yes look at the front of the Freezer the right side at the bottom the light and control the are 3 different one's the one with the green lite going across from left to right is the one I'm going to buy it is more but I had one befor for 7 years and no problems so I'm getting another one very soon !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
tommyt
Marietta, Pa
October 15, 2014
According to the GE website, the #FCM7SUWW is no longer being manufactured, so I would assume that the #FCM7SHWW (which I recently purchased) is the newer model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 13, 2014
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to help.

The new FCM7SHWW has slightly different external dimensions than the FCM7SUWW, although the internal capacity is the same. They also differ in the look of the temperature control and the location of the drain plug. However, both models have two lift-out sliding baskets.

Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CherylAtButlerHome
Hillsborough NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 12, 2014
The only differences that stand out to me are the dimensions, temperature range and weight. The dimensions are only slightly different in height and width and the internal capacity is stated as the same. The weight is 7 pounds lighter on the lower price FCM7SHWW. With size being about the same it is likely the compressor that is smaller/lighter.
The other thing that really stands out is the lower price FCM7SHWW temperature range starts at -5 degrees. The FCM7SUWW does not have a range in the listing but on setting #4 my freezer is reliably staying a -20 (+ or minus about 3 degrees) This also makes me think the weight difference is in the compressor as well.
I love my FCM7SUWW and if I had the choice of the two I would buy that one again even with the price difference. My unit was at temp and ready to fill in about 4 hours. So far the running cost has been very low and I have had no issues at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
thomastr3
Grovetown, GA 30813, USA
October 12, 2014
First of all the price, $178.00 $229.00 The cheapest one I think is the best. The Fcm7hww ( cheapest ) has different controls and does not look as good, (when thy are side by side) but the energy consumption is better than the Fcm7suww.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Tinman
Pittsburgh,PA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 11, 2014
The only difference between then is that the #FCM7SHWW is 7 pounds lighter and the storage baskets are not designed to lift out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When new freezer is delivered, can old freezer be taken?

Asked by
Sean
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
Yes I asked the guy last night when I was here about delivery on line !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
Yes, they will take the old freezer and setup the new. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Yes, at no cost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 21, 2013
Yes, that is part of the Home Depot delivery policy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
Check at the service desk of Home Depot. Probably not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
December 24, 2012
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Qman
Salt Lake City, Utah
December 18, 2012
Power company will take it away and possibly send you a rebate check for replacing an appliance with a more efficient one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ELF84
Denver, CO
December 18, 2012
Yep! Just let them know you have one to be taken away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ELF84
Denver, CO
December 18, 2012
Yes, the delivery crew are able to pick up old freezers when they drop off the new one. Make sure you let them know you have a freezer to be picked up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
GE Answers
December 3, 2012
Hello Sean,

Thank you for choosing GE!

Yes, the old appliance is removed at no charge during delivery.

Enjoy your new freezer!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Coverplate For Power Cord Opening ?

Asked by
BobL
Reston, VA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 20, 2014
On the back of the freezer in bottom left corner there's an approx. 8" X 8" open hole with screw holes around the edges where the power cord sticks out. Is it supposed to have a coverplate? It looks unsightly and will collect dust if left open. The Manual info and schematics do not include a Rear View. Pls explain.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CherylAtButlerHome
Hillsborough NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 3, 2014
My freezer also does not have any closure or plate over that area. It would appear that it comes that way from the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 22, 2014
Hello,

This is Michelle with GE and I am happy to answer your question.

There is no cover on the backside of the freezer where the electric cord is attached.

Thank you for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Loose Cap on the side

Asked by
Paris
Atlanta, GA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 8, 2014
We just bought this freezer and it got delivered 2 days ago. There is a small round cap on the left side. Its top is loose and leaves up to about 1mm gap from the freezer's body. I can be easily put my nail in the gap and pull the cap out. At the inside of the cap, the top teeth seem perhaps broken, hence how it stands loose. Upon removing this cap, I can see the foam insulation.
The cap stays on ok if untouched, other than looking loose.

Is this normal? Will this cause any problems in the long run? How about if the cap ends up falling off permanently? Is there a recommended fix? This is seems too small a blemish to take large measures (like exchanging the whole unit), but I'd hate for it to become an issue over time.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Paris
September 14, 2014
Sue,
Thank you for your response, but you are describing a different cap than the one I meant. Perhaps I was not very specific. The cap I was referring to is across the depth of the freezer, on the left face of it. The cap you described is on the front face of the freezer, just slightly to the left of the power buttons.

When the cap, which I described, falls off, it reveals insulation (foam). I included a picture, this time.. Anyway, it appears that the top 3 teeth of the cap have broken off so it cannot properly hold itself to the body of the freezer.

As long as it is safe to operate and does not affect the performance of the device, I do not mind it, although if there are any safe/proper ways to make it stick, I'd appreciate any hints.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
September 9, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We can certainly understand your concern. Chest models have a defrost water drain at the front. There will be a drain plug inside the cabinet and a cap on the defrost drain. If this is damaged, we encourage you to take advantage of your 1- year warranty and contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance.

We apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused. This is certainly unusual as we are committed to manufacturing quality appliances for our consumers.

Thanks for reaching out to us!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I heard somewhere that is you lose power for a short time, then it comes back on... Freezer control must be manually turned off for 3 - 5 minutes.

Asked by
CTDad
Connecticut
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 24, 2013
Otherwise when power returns the unit will not automatically turn back on. Even though the control switch is turned on. This could lead to food spoilage. Is this true?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kilohotel
San Antonio, TX
September 2, 2014
Our installation using a second temp controller does exactly that. It turns off all power to the unit when the desired minimun is reached, turning it back on when the internal temp rises to the maximun desired. The external controller has a time delay which is necessary to prevent possible damage to the compressor should power be restored too rapidly. We have had no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skipper
So. Burlington, VT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I purchased this freezer 13 months ago and have had no problems with the freezer restarting after a power outage. I have not had to reset the temperature controls after this event. My power was out for approximately 2 hours.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
No... It does have overload protection so that it does not overheat the motor trying to get back to the normal state.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DennyW
Sedona, AZ
January 7, 2014
I've had a power outage and unit resumed operation on it's own.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
I'm new to the 'freezer' world but asked my parents and they said theirs turns back on and works like normal, no need to turn off/on.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
December 9, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and i am happy to assist you.

The freezer will restart after a power failure as long as the temperature control is not in the Off position. Additionally, it can take a couple of minutes before the compressor cycles on because of the unit's built-in overload protection.

I hope this is helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could I put one half of a side beef in this freezer. Approx. 240 lbs of meat

Asked by
Kaysey
Covington
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
Yes, you should have room in this freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes, if individual cuts. Maybe, if not yet frozen and half side is cut into 2 or 3 pieces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 21, 2013
This freezer should hold up to -about- 250 pounds of food. So, if cut right, it will hold the meat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
Yep, we just did. With room to spare!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
I WOULD SAY YES. IT IS QUITE LARGE ON THE INSIDE. YOU JUST MIGHT HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE 2 WIRE RACKS THAT COME WITH IT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
August 18, 2012
I would say yes, with hesitation, only because I have never done it. I have two processed deer in mine right now, probably 130lbs total and there is still tons of room. It is a bit of a pain getting to stuff on the bottom but if you pack it smart....
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GE Answers
August 8, 2012
Hello Kaysey,

Thank you for your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

There are many factors that contribute to the volume of food that your freezer will hold including the physical size and shape of each item. In general, a freezer will hold 30 to 35 pounds per Cubic Foot.

The maximum amount of food that your freezer can freeze at one time is 3 pounds per Cubic Foot. After allowing 24 hours for that to freeze, you can then add another 3 pounds per Cubic Foot.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
August 8, 2012
Yes it should.
1 square foot of freezer = approximately 35 lbs. of storage. Weight and size will vary based on how it is butchered, but a 7ft freezer is typical for a half side.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
August 8, 2012
On average, frozen meat uses about 37.5 pounds per cubic foot. Based on this, 37.5 x 7.0 cubic feet = 262.5 pounds of meat. So, it may be able to fit. However, meat is hardly ever made into cubic foot cubes. So, best estimation would be that if it was the only thing in the freezer, it would be very close and you may need to arrange it so it settles well.
I would make sure I could put a piece or two into my regular freezer just to be on the safe side.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I am worried about scarring up the floor when moving the freezer around does it come with wheels?

Asked by
jcole372
Roosevelt, New york
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
This does not come with wheels, however, I have it in a carpet area of my home and it glides around nicely. Not sure how it would do on hardwood or tile floors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gman2014
Stroudsburg, PA, USA
June 16, 2014
No wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Richard11281
Sugar Land, TX, USA
June 15, 2014
No it does not. I have mine out in the garage where the Home Depot Installers put it and was not really to concerned about moving it around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Okieleo
Edmond, OK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 15, 2014
No wheels. I don't know if you could get wheels or not that would fit in the adjustable leg spots or not. Empty it is light and easily moved.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MRBIGL
Flat Rock, MI, USA
June 15, 2014
No it does not have wheels
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MERK99
SC
June 14, 2014
No it does not. By the same token, I have never seen a chest freezer on wheels. Normally, you do not move a chest freezer. It does move on our linoleum without scarring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
No wheels. The feet seem to be a molded metal with a painted surface. As long as there is no dust, dirt or sand etc. the floor should be ok. Move it empty and you could always put the furniture glider pads under if needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Sdel
Glendale, CA, USA
June 14, 2014
If you have a hardwood floor it is recommended that you never move anything on its original wheels you use will type moving blanket and pick up the appliance put it on top of the blanket and then slide the blanket around the floor until you have the appliance where you want it. This unit does not have wheels however you can lift it up very easily when empty and put it on a furniture dolly or as suggested put it on a large wool moving blanket and then while empty it can be slid or pushed what you'd like.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the freezer make a lot of noise?

Asked by
vicDOOM
Dallas, Tx
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 2, 2014
The freezer will be in my bedroom, will it make a soft whisper, or will it sound like a lawn mower?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
I hardly even remember I bought this freezer a month ago. Every now and then I'll hear a click, which is just it turning off the cooling system. Other than that, the loudest I've heard it was a low "hum" right after I close it so it cools down again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2014
It is quieter than my normal refrigerator. It is also quieter than an airpump for my 10 gallon aquarium. The equal sound volume is made from the heater vent in my bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
March 4, 2014
This freezer hardly makes a sound! I had to check several times to make sure it was running the first couple of weeks after purchasing it because I didn't hear any noise.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nelsonnathan99
Belle Chasse, LA
March 4, 2014
It is very quiet and may lull you to sleep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
March 4, 2014
Extremely quite. Also, very energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
March 3, 2014
Hello VicDoom - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

As long as the freezer is placed on a solid floor, then it should not sound like a lawn mower. It should sound similar to a refrigerator when it is running. You may hear the high-efficiency compressor motor. The freezer will run less when it is at least three-fourths full. You can put gallon jugs of water not filled all of the way in the freezer to take up empty space, if necessary.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
March 3, 2014
None. No noise.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you tell me what it means for 7 cu.ft? I dont understand.

Asked by
carolann
aberdeen wash
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
Say you have a box that is 1 foot wide, 1 foot long, and 1 foot deep. That is a cubic foot. When something is 7 cubic feet, it means that you can fit 7 of those boxes into this freezer. Hope this helps. :) [A 1 cubic foot box is like a box for a basketball]
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chicken
Lehigh Acres, Fl
July 24, 2014
7 cubic feet means that it is dimensional, instean of being like a square with 4 sides and flat, it is like a box with six sides and not flat. So it means you could fit the equivalent in measure of 7 of those 12 inch cubes into the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Arlene
Las Cruces, NM
July 22, 2014
7 cu.ft means 7 cubic feet worth of space in the freezer to store food. The freezer has lots of space inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sassydem
texas
July 15, 2014
i can't technically answer that but I can tell you that I have two bags of ice and tons of food in my freezer. I also have both racks on the side filled with smaller things. It holds so much that I try to make sure I get to the bottom at times so I don't keep food for way too long! Maybe this will help?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scott20152
Chantilly, VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 15, 2014
It's a measurement of the interior volume, which corresponds to how much stuff will fit inside. The calculation for a rectangular object like a freezer is length x width x depth. A 7 cu ft freezer will hold approximately 250 pounds of beef (for example...there's no set rule since all products don't weigh the same for their size and/or shape). One suggestion is to measure your space and get the biggest one that will fit (use the dimensions in the listing, not the cu ft number for this), and that also fits your budget.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
July 15, 2014
Hello CarolAnn - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to this chest freezer.

The cubic foot is a measurement of how much space is in the freezer. It is not possible to convert cubic foot to pounds because of the great difference in the density and shapes of various foods normally stored in the freezer section unless, of course, only one type of food was involved. If you are intending to purchase a large quantity of meat for the freezer, we recommend that you contact your meat processor who can advise you as to the approximate volume required.

I hope this information is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Spiel
Upstate, NY
July 15, 2014
Take inside dimensions in feet and multiply them out.

Example 2ft * 3 ft * 1.5 ft = 9 cubic ft

For this freezer there is a deep area and a shallower area over the compressor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is it self defrost

Asked by
dmawmaw3
monroe
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 18, 2014
do you have to defrost it or is it self defrost
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sara
Wisconsin
July 8, 2014
NO...And it tells you that in the description.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Mikee
Seagoville, Tx
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2014
No, it is a manual defrost. In other words you have to cut the unit off and empty it of the stored contents to defrost it. It does have a removable drain plug in the bottome to drain the water when you defrost it.
Hope this helps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bform
WA
June 29, 2014
No. Manual defrost (remove all items and unplug from outlet) is suggested I believe every 6 months according to the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2014
No, you will need to turn off and let thaw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
June 19, 2014
Hello- This is a manual defrost freezer, so you will have to defrost it yourself. Thanks for checking with us.
Lisa from GE.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where was this freezer manufactured?

Asked by
deejay
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mikee
Seagoville, Tx
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2014
The product label on the back of the freezer states it was made in China.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2014
The sticker on the back of my freezer says Made in China, sadly enough.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2014
Hello Deejay,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. GE products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time because GE continues to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace. Therefore, your best source for manufacturing location is the packaging/product itself.

Thanks so much for checking. Have a good day!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Inside dimensions?

Asked by
Dave
Denver, CO
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
May 9, 2014
Would it fit a 18" by 26" sheet pan laid flat?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mikee
Seagoville, Tx
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 5, 2014
The measured inside dimensions are as follows:
left to right width 31"
front to back depth 15"
top to bottom useable depth 27"
Note! on the bottom right side of the freezer compartment there is a protrusion or step that is 9" high from the bottom and 7 1/2" wide from right to left. The compressor compartment is under this.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
May 9, 2014
Dave,
No, side to side there is aprox.30 inches. But front to back only 14 inches.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model frost free?

Asked by
Bama
Montgomery, AL
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
toby
Hazel Green, AL, USA
June 20, 2014
No its not , however the way it is designed the ice build up is very minimal .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kuni
Snellville, GA, USA
June 20, 2014
It dose not say, but so far no frost for last three months.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Okieleo
Edmond, OK
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2014
No, but has a drain for easy cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Richard11281
Sugar Land, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2014
It appears to be..I have had it approx. 6 months out it my garage and it shows minimal signs of any frost. So far I have No complaints about this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MERK99
SC
June 19, 2014
It is not frostfree. I have had mine for over 2 years and have not had to manually defrost. I wanted a freezer that was not frostfree because it keeps food and icecream better, since it is not subjected to partial thawing during defost cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 19, 2014
No, you will need to turn off and let thaw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are there any coolant lines within the "compressor hump"?

Asked by
Trev
Detroit, MI
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
The is no compressor hump inside this freezer. Compressor and all refrigerant lines are contained under and possibly in side walls.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 9, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. The coolant lines connect to the compressor. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the country of origin, on this freezer (FCM7SUWW) ?

Asked by
MrSnklfrtz
Wisconsin
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 14, 2014
Unfortunately, just looked at sticker on mine and it says made in China. :(
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 13, 2014
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest!

The freezer is manufactured globally. Our products are designed by GE engineers in the United States. Many are manufactured in the U.S. and others are made globally to our specifications. The country of origin is shown on the Model/Serial rating plate as well as the packaging.

Manufacturing facilities can and do change from time to time as we continue to seek the most efficient manufacturing processes available. We make products all over the world for a Global marketplace.

Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

IS THIS FREEZER NFS CERTIFIED

Asked by
Mene
Arizona
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 12, 2014
Hello- this is Lisa from GE. I am happy to help. GE's freezers are not rated by the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF). Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How is the freezer affect my electricity bill?

Asked by
qualitym
silver spring, maryland
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 30, 2014
Hi, i am looking forward to purchasing this freezer but at the same time i don't want to jack up our electricity bill.

does it consume a lot?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Zaco182
Knoxville, TN, USA
April 29, 2014
Estimated yearly operating cost is $30. This is based on Energyguide insert from manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Richard11281
Sugar Land, TX, USA
March 25, 2014
So far during the winter months I have not really noticed any dramatic increase in my electric bill due to the freezer purchase.. I have only had the unit about 3 months so during the summer when its 100 degrees I may notice a difference.I do have it in my garage but it is also supposed to be an energy efficient unit..I will be better to respond during the summer..But at this time no major increase in my bill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
According to the specs enclosed with the freezer it states an average of 30 dollars per year. Depending on your local kw costs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
March 4, 2014
Extremely efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
This freezer appears to have increased my bill by about $5 per month. Granted, I installed mine in a garage and it's currently winter. I expect it could be $10/month in the summer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GE Answers
January 30, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I am happy to assist you. The freezer should not increase your energy bill significantly. It uses an estimated 277 kWh in electricity and the estimated yearly operating cost is $30. Keep in mind your cost will depend on your utility rates and use. Here is the link for the energy guide:
http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=FCM7_energy_label.pdf
Thanks for checking!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this freezer perform in an unheated garage with below freezing temperatures, in the single digits and teens? Any performance problems?

Asked by
Morgan
Rochester, MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
vegaslover
Manchester, TN, USA
March 25, 2014
GE recommends no colder than 0 degree outside temp. With that said, the freezer should be fine. In fact, with the colder external temp lowers the "load" on the compressor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
March 4, 2014
I keep my freezer in the garage. The garage is unheated and I've never had a single problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
February 28, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. You'll want to place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. It will not maintain proper temperatures in extreme conditions.

Follow these guidelines:

~Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.

~Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

~Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

~Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

Please review the installation and use & care information for additional information.

http://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-60518-1.pdf

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
« 1 2 3 4 »