Looking for Answers about GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Stock up on frozen foods and store your extra grocery items in this GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer. Two storage baskets are conveniently located near the top of the unit to help you utilize space efficiently and keep frequently used frozen items accessible. The temperature dial is mounted on the front exterior panel for making quick adjustments.
Customer questions and answers:
73 Questions
 | 
409 Answers
Overall rating:
4.653 out of 5
4.7
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White

Question

Length and location of power cord

Asked by
tbheywood
Washington, DC
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 24, 2013
How long is the power cord and where is it located on the product? We have a small area where a freezer would fit, and only one outlet is close.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 25, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The power cord is 5 feet in length. The cord, as you face the unit, is on
the left lower corner in the back.

Thank you for choosing GE!
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
April 4, 2013
The cord is aprox 5 ft long and if you were looking straight at the freezer, the cord comes out of the back, right hand side. Hope this helps. I love my freezer. It works fantastic
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 13, 2013
About 5 feet. The cord is located at floor level in the back on the right side.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Cord in rear and appears to be nearly five feet in length.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PickyMe
Garden Grove, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
Sorry to disagree with Donna at GE but when standing in front of the freezer it exits from the right rear.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 20, 2013
The cord is about 2 feet long. It is located on the back, at the bottom, on the right (assuming you are facing the freezer). It is a 3-prong plug.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
About 5 feet and exits (facing freezer) right rear of unit. Unit does not draw much power and cord could be easily extended (preferably) with an appliance type (ie: air conditioner) extension cord.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
It's about 3ft long. We also have a small area and it fit perfectly. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
I would say the power cord is about ft long and it is located on the right back portion of the freezer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I just bought this model freezer I want to put this in my garage, but all I have is GCFI outlets Can i plug it into a GCFI outlet?

Asked by
Hi
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
January 9, 2013
I read one review where a customer plugged it into a GCFI outlet and was told by GE that they would not cover the freezer under warranty because the customer plugged into a GCFI, but at the same time I read a Q&A response from "Nikki" from GE stating that is was ok to plug the freezer into a GCFI outlet? If a GE representative or GE technical support could provide clarification on my question that would be great, Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW

GFCI or GFI (Ground fault circuit interrupt)

GFCI wall plugs check for any current or voltage that may "leak" to the ground. Most appliances have some current leakage to ground especially electronic gas ranges. The spark ignitor on a gas range will cause the GFCI to trip. It is recommended that you not plug a electric spark ignitor gas range into a GFCI wall outlet.

Other appliances (freezer) can be used with a GFCI. If the GFCI trips, you should first reset the GFCI once. If it trips a second time then call for service on the appliance.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hi
January 10, 2013
I looked in the owner's manual and see nothing stating that it will not be warranted if it is put in the garage?? It just states between 0 and 110?

GE representative, please provide clarification.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
PJHnWPB
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
January 10, 2013
I am looking at my waranty right now and I see no mention of the use of GCFI outlets at all. I'm not a GE employee but a GCFI outlet monitors the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is any imbalance, it trips the circuit. Basically it is used when there is a risk of shock from the appliance being used may either come in contact with water or in your case in a possible work area where the cordage could be damaged.
Tripping the circuit won't damage the freezer so I'm not sure why it would void a waranty.
I have mine on GCFI and have no problems at all.
But like I said I dont work for GE. Hopefully that helps you.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
January 10, 2013
Yes! Your GFCI is the same as a regular receptacle except if there is a short in the circuit instead of shocking you or tripping the circuit breaker in your panel box the GFCI will trip and disconnect the circuit. If the circuit is disconnected all you need to do is press the one small button on the outlet and it will reconnect the outlet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jonesz
Santa Cruz, CA
January 10, 2013
You can with no problem unless the power shuts off.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
January 12, 2013
The short answer is Yes.
The long answer is that a GFI is a Ground Fault Interrupter. Which means, it will shut off if a Ground Fault to the Hot wire is detected. As part of the National Electric Code which it sounds like your house was built to, allows a safety factor since the plug in is in a potentially wet environment. If there were to be some kind of electrical short between the Hot wire and a Ground, then the unit would trip and keep you safe. That's why GFI are used in craw spaces, Garages, Bathrooms and Kitchens, etc. Which are places that can have a wet and potentially unsafe condition if the device being plugged in had a problem. Some motors can cause a GFI to trip unintentionally, but those are mostly the cheaper, older units.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Power through GCFI is no different than power through non-GCFI outlet. When "tripped" the lack of power is no different than unit sitting unplugged. Transition from powered to "tripped" (and vice-verse) is instantaneous and no different than its internal thermostat turning unit on or off, unit being unplugged or plugged in, or unit being operated by and external switch controlling its outlet. Instructions probably provided with unit, to wait a certain period of time before plugging unit back in after unplugging, should be followed before resetting the GCFI outlet.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
January 10, 2013
Of course you can plug it into a gcfi outlet but you might want to consider putting it somewhere inside your house. Your freezer is not warranteed if you have it in a garage. PLease read your owners manuel, it states that it can not be in a garage unless it is heated and air conditioned. I love my freezer and had to put it in one of my bedrooms because of this
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Either change to non GCFI or install one with higher break point to be sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the two buttons on the front next to the temp control?

Asked by
Rev.
Toccoa Georgia
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 17, 2012
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for you inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

GE uses a common design for the freezer control. Therefore, the two buttons next to the green light located on the outside of the chest freezers do not serve a purpose.

The green light should be solid and not blinking.

I hope this answers your question. We are always here to help!

Donna with GE
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
August 18, 2012
They are blank covers. On different models these are other lights/switches. On this model they are covers for cut outs.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
August 19, 2012
There are three "buttons" to the left of the temperature control dial. The first is an idicator showing green when the unit is operating. The next two do nothing and serve no purpose, apparently a template for features on upgraded models.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
THEY ARE NOT BUTTONS, THEY ARE THE LIGHTS THAT TELL YOU IF THE FREEZER IS WORKING. GREEN SAYS WORKING GREAT, RED IS UNPLUGGED OR NOT WORKING
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pynguin
Redmond, WA, USA
October 1, 2012
They are actually not buttons. I imagine it is a common Temp control unit that is used in different models. They are just two removable plastic pieces.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Knock-outs for features or options (probably switches or indicator lights) not included on this model. Manufacturer probably has one panel that is installed on many different models with many different features or options that ship to many different countries.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
August 18, 2012
Sorry, I have no idea. I searched the manual and there is no mention of them anywhere. I have never pressed mine, freezer is totally plug & play. I would definitely recommend the freezer, it works like a champ!
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
On the GE 7 cu. ft. freezer they do not do anything. They are not switches and do not move.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this Model # FCM7SUWW auto-restart after power is restored?

Asked by
BeagleBoy
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 30, 2013
I read a customer-review last week (another brand name) of a chest freezer that does -not- reset/restart. Almost monthly, our power goes out for a minute or two, or longer. I don't want a unit that I can't trust.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 30, 2013
Hello BeagleBoy,

Thank you for your interest in the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

Yes, if there is a power outage, the freezer will come back on when the power is restored.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
My power went out last night and the freezer restarted just fine.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
We have had the power go out and never had an issue with the freezer coming back on automatically exactly as it was set.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
We have power surges and gaps in power and my freezer has always worked properly. I have never heard of a freezer not turning back on after a power outage. But anyways, this freezer will kick in after an outage. I have owned this freezer for over 3 years and I have never had a issue with it. I liked it so much, I bought my daughter one for Christmas and she lived in Iowa and had power outages all the time and the freezer works like a champ. GOOD LUCK
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Mechanical thermostat turns unit on and off, so "reset/restart" is not an issue with this freezer. Additionally, the compressor has a thermal cut-out to prevent damage from short cycling (like power going out momentarily while unit is in operation).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
May 6, 2013
If the thermostat calls for coolness my freezer always comes on automatically. However, I have not experienced this situation very much.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Deerman
Mobile, AL, USA
May 7, 2013
I haven't experienced any restart problem but I haven't been near the freezer when we have lost power.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a light inside?

Asked by
Jackie
MN
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MachineGunKelly
July 16, 2013
No light, but would be a pretty good idea. I velcroed a rechargeable flashlight (I got it as a freebee from somewhere) to the outside of my freezer. Works perfect.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
No. Top and inside are white or shiny metal, making it easy to see inside if there is light in the surrounding environment.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LoriD
Sewell, Mantua Township, NJ 08080, USA
July 23, 2013
No, it does not have a light inside of it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
no, there is no light.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
December 10, 2013
This is a very good question. I never thought to check prior to purchase. But to answer this question, unfortunately NO, it does not. Good thing I placed mines right by a lamp.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
June 26, 2013
Sorry Jackie, no light inside. I haven't found that I miss that feature at all though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Baldy
PA
June 26, 2013
No. No light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 26, 2013
no it does not have a light
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
June 26, 2013
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
DeaBob
New Jersey, USA
July 2, 2013
No lights inside!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, there is no light inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
Sorry it dose not have a light in side of it !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this 7.0 cu ft. freezer Energy efficient ?

Asked by
granny k
Alpena, MI 49707
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
October 28, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 29, 2012
Hello Granny K,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

This cehst freezer is not rated Energy Star. The estimated yearly electricity use is 277 kWh. The average yearly operating cost is $30.00.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
October 29, 2012
In all honesty I havnt noticed any increase in my power bill. My bill has actually started to go down, I'm not attributing this to the freezer, that would be crazy, but just saying, the freezer seems to be really energy efficient. I love mine!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Shelly
Rialto, CA, USA
November 4, 2012
yes, the freezer is energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimH
Tahoe
November 6, 2012
Yes, The literature says it only costs $30 annually to run at an estimated 277kwh a year.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
yes it is. and it only put my power bill up 3 dollars in a month.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
It is not listed as energy efficient. Mine runs very little except when a lot of food needs to be frozen at one time and the freezer is kept rather filled.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Go to bottom of item's page, find and click on EnergyGuide. Applies to all items for which EnergyGuide is required.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Yes, the Energy efficient tag is on it and has a setting for it.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Internal Dimensions

Asked by
defender845
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
December 23, 2012
What are the internal dimensions of this freezer?
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 24, 2012
Hi, this is Sheree from GE and I will be glad to assist you with our question on our practical and money saving GE freezer. The FCM7SUWW is internally:

L x W x H = 586mm (23.07”) X 391mm (15.39”) X 700mm (27.56”)

I hope this helps and thanks for buying our GE products!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
15 inches from front to back. 27 inches top to bottom. 31 1/2 inches left to right.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
7 cubic feet. See specifications.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
It's very spacious and utilizes the cubic volume to it's utmost.
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Deerman
Mobile, AL, USA
January 24, 2013
7 cubic feet
-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the freezer make a lot of noise?

Asked by
vicDOOM
Dallas, Tx
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 2, 2014
The freezer will be in my bedroom, will it make a soft whisper, or will it sound like a lawn mower?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
March 3, 2014
Hello VicDoom - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

As long as the freezer is placed on a solid floor, then it should not sound like a lawn mower. It should sound similar to a refrigerator when it is running. You may hear the high-efficiency compressor motor. The freezer will run less when it is at least three-fourths full. You can put gallon jugs of water not filled all of the way in the freezer to take up empty space, if necessary.

I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BeefyChuck
Victorville, CA
March 4, 2014
Extremely quite. Also, very energy efficient.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nelsonnathan99
Belle Chasse, LA
March 4, 2014
It is very quiet and may lull you to sleep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BigDaddy
Hoover, AL
March 4, 2014
This freezer hardly makes a sound! I had to check several times to make sure it was running the first couple of weeks after purchasing it because I didn't hear any noise.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Steph
Brooklyn Park, MN, USA
March 3, 2014
None. No noise.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 5, 2014
It is quieter than my normal refrigerator. It is also quieter than an airpump for my 10 gallon aquarium. The equal sound volume is made from the heater vent in my bedroom.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
I hardly even remember I bought this freezer a month ago. Every now and then I'll hear a click, which is just it turning off the cooling system. Other than that, the loudest I've heard it was a low "hum" right after I close it so it cools down again.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this freezer self defrost

Asked by
Fanny
Poway
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Amom
Birmingham, AL
July 16, 2013
No and you don't want a self defrosting one to store meat because the temperature fluctuates constantly and your food will not last as long.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jdac
July 11, 2013
No, it is a manual defrost with a drain in the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
6am4
July 18, 2013
This freezer does not self defrost. I have had it for about a month and there is just a small amount of frost on the top of the walls near the door.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gilttrip
Alabama
July 23, 2013
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
kentincave
Yuma, AZ, USA
July 12, 2013
no it does not self defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cookielady
Ohio, USA
July 17, 2013
No it is manual defrost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Josie
Lexington, KY, USA
July 30, 2013
No, it's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
No. Turn the freezer off at the thermostat or disconnect the power cord and use a hair dryer to speed defrosting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
No, this one does not. In fact, it includes a hand held manual ice scraper in the instructions bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
No one lady said it don't take long to do it and she could plan to do it on her time ! I hope this helps ?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could I put one half of a side beef in this freezer. Approx. 240 lbs of meat

Asked by
Kaysey
Covington
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
August 7, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
August 8, 2012
On average, frozen meat uses about 37.5 pounds per cubic foot. Based on this, 37.5 x 7.0 cubic feet = 262.5 pounds of meat. So, it may be able to fit. However, meat is hardly ever made into cubic foot cubes. So, best estimation would be that if it was the only thing in the freezer, it would be very close and you may need to arrange it so it settles well.
I would make sure I could put a piece or two into my regular freezer just to be on the safe side.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
August 8, 2012
Hello Kaysey,

Thank you for your question on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

There are many factors that contribute to the volume of food that your freezer will hold including the physical size and shape of each item. In general, a freezer will hold 30 to 35 pounds per Cubic Foot.

The maximum amount of food that your freezer can freeze at one time is 3 pounds per Cubic Foot. After allowing 24 hours for that to freeze, you can then add another 3 pounds per Cubic Foot.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
August 8, 2012
Yes it should.
1 square foot of freezer = approximately 35 lbs. of storage. Weight and size will vary based on how it is butchered, but a 7ft freezer is typical for a half side.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
August 18, 2012
I would say yes, with hesitation, only because I have never done it. I have two processed deer in mine right now, probably 130lbs total and there is still tons of room. It is a bit of a pain getting to stuff on the bottom but if you pack it smart....
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
I WOULD SAY YES. IT IS QUITE LARGE ON THE INSIDE. YOU JUST MIGHT HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE 2 WIRE RACKS THAT COME WITH IT.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
Yep, we just did. With room to spare!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 21, 2013
This freezer should hold up to -about- 250 pounds of food. So, if cut right, it will hold the meat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes, if individual cuts. Maybe, if not yet frozen and half side is cut into 2 or 3 pieces.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ARJB
August 12, 2014
Yes, you should have room in this freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this freezer still work in the winter if it is in a detached garage?

Asked by
Ranger
Wisconsin
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 5, 2012
Hello Ranger,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.

* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.

* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.

* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
yes it will work. i had mine in the garage and then when i had a dryer delivered by home depot the delivery guy told me that if i had the freezer in the garage it was not covered by the warrantee. i said WHAT??. so i looked it up in the warrantee book and there it was in writing. if you use the freezer in the unheated and no air conditioner, the warrantee is void. It makes the motor and compressor work alot harder and shortens the life of your freezer. well, my freezer went right into the house in a spare bedroom.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Yes. It will operate more efficiently and at less cost in lower temperature environment.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
The manual says that 0-degrees Fahrenheit is the minimum temperature, I believe. I'm not sure what, if any, consequences there might be for going below that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
PJHnWPB
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
December 14, 2012
If Your garage temp dips below 0 degrees F it won't Keep the correct temp inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ELF84
Denver, CO
December 18, 2012
Mine's sitting on an uninsulated back porch area and hasn't had trouble yet. Shouldn't be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
If the temperature in the garage falls to below zero it will probably not run. But if the temperature does not go to zero the compressor will only run when the temperature inside rises to where the thermostat is set, which can be from below zero to about 32 degrees. The thermostat should be set to at least zero when checked with a thermostat and the freezer has run for a couple days.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Sure, and it should use less energy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it come with lock and keys

Asked by
hawk
henderson tx
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 30, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
October 1, 2012
No, there is not a lock on this model.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
October 1, 2012
Hello Hawk,

Thank you for yur inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The 7 cubic foot chest freezer does not offer a lock and key as a freature. You may want to consider model FCM9DT that does have a lock and key.

I hope this helps!

Donan with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RAYSR
Picayune, MS, USA
October 2, 2012
no locks.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
October 1, 2012
no it does not have a lock and key but it is a very nice freezer. I bought one for myself and one for my daughter for christmas last year and they are running perfectly.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
pynguin
Redmond, WA, USA
October 1, 2012
No, it does not come with a lock and key.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nicky
Greenville, SC, USA
October 2, 2012
There is no lock.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
October 1, 2012
Sorry, no lock and keys and nowhere to mount a hasp for a padlock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Jonesz
Santa Cruz, CA
October 1, 2012
No, it does not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Baldy
PA
October 1, 2012
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Sprinter
Little Rock, AR, USA
December 11, 2012
No lock or key. But you can get a stick on one and easily put it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 21, 2013
No, this is not a locking unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
No It don't I had one and no lock and key ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Home Depot repair or replace the freezer when the compressor fails during the warranty period?

Asked by
Bob
Cotter, AR
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 10, 2012
Several reviews on small freezers say compressors failed in a short time. Replacing a compressor costs more than a new freezer.
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
melodyf46
Las Vegas, NV, USA
May 2, 2013
No, Home Depot doesn't repair, replace or refund the purchase price. However, when our small freezer failed after just 3 months due to the compressor, the manufacturer refunded the entire purchase price. The repair man who was sent to check the freezer beforehand said that it would not withstand high outside temperature. Since we live in Las Vegas and keep the freezer in the garage, we were unaware of this problem. We bought a GE box freezer that state the out side temp tolerance is 110 degrees so if you live in a hot area, I'd make sure the freezer will hold up under high temperatures.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 11, 2012
Hello Bob,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to address your concerns with the GE Chest Freezer.

Please be assured that GE has established high standards in appliance quality. It is very unusal to have a compressor fail in the 1st year. Model FCM7SUWW has a 1 year warranty. GE will provide
free of charge all laobor and parts to service and repair the freezer. Home Depot does not replace the freezer.

I hope this helps!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
there service is only for the period it says but you do call home depot and they will let you know what to do. they have a great staff their and they will direct you to the people that will repair it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
If this is the GE freezer, I can answer from experience. After 30 months of service the thermostat went bad. Luckily I had purchased the extended warranty for four more years. The thermostat was replaced by a GE serviceman even though he had to make two trips of 30 miles one way. There was no charge to me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
So far I haven't needed that repair. Most oftenly on Frig'es and Freezers compressors fail is because of losening of it to unit(I've found) therefor I check in spring or upon being noticed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Sunny
R.I.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
October 19, 2014
Well I should hope so If it is still under warranty !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I noticed that one picture showed a customer that turned the freezer on its side to simulate a upright freezer. Is this allowed?

Asked by
Mo
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
November 11, 2012
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 12, 2012
Hello Mo,

Thank you for your inquiry on the GE 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

No, it certainly cannot be turned on its side. This would effect the compressor and void the warranty.

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:

* Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.
* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.
.
Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
beejherm
Texas
November 12, 2012
There's was nothing included in the paperwork or packaging to indicate that type of placement was suggested or practical. Without shelves, the interior space would be unastable with food falling/sliding out when the door was opened. There's no way of knowing how it would effect overall performance and energy costs.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
November 12, 2012
I would not do this for a couple reasons. The compressor is on the right end on the bottom so you could not place the freezer on its right end as it would cover the vent of the compressor. If you placed the freezer on its left end the weight of the compressor would be hanging and any items inside the freezer would be just piled on top of everything.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bendrexl
Idaho, USA
December 11, 2012
No, not recommended. Refrigerant systems involve moving liquid coolant around, so it's important to keep things right side up.

Even if you have to lay a normal freezer/refrigerator down to move it, it's recommended to set it back upright for an hour or so before turning it on, so that the coolant will flow back down to where it should be. Starting the compressor 'dry' can damage it, or so the story goes :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sprinter
Little Rock, AR, USA
December 11, 2012
No! That's dangerous as its not made to function like that.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
November 12, 2012
i would never do this. your warantee would be no good. and i dont think it would regulate the freon to keep the freezer freezing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
satisfiedJeff
Oneonta, NY 13820, USA
November 12, 2012
I am sure that it would affect the units efficiency, as the insulation is designed based on it sitting horizontally. I would also assume there wouls be long term issues because; again the cooling unit is designed to sit normally and sitting on its side would stress mounting points
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
karencv
Liberty Mo
January 16, 2013
The picture you are referring to was oriented improperly. If you look closely, you can see the base of the freezer parallel to the baseboard in the room. Simply put, the picture was turned on its side, not the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
NO! Oil that lubricates compressor would no longer do so. Compressor would fail in a very short time!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
bonefish101
Northern Virginia
November 12, 2012
Mo, I have no idea, sorry. Mine is right side up, I never thought about standing it on end.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I keep this freezer on inside my garage throughout NJ winters?

Asked by
Biki
NJ
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
June 30, 2013
We purchased an extra fridge/freezer a few years ago and was told we could not use it below certain temps because of the freon on the unit, so we could only use it in warmer temps, and ended up seling it. I need extra storage for frozen food and am looking to keep this unit in my garage throughout the year, I just want to make sure I can use it all year round. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 30, 2013
Hello Biki,

To obtain efficient operation, a freezer should be installed properly. Follow these guidelines:
Place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F.

* Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet.
* Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded.
* Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer.
* Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and a 1" air clearance in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
Short answer; It will have less work to do and use less electricity in the winter than in warmer seasons.

Long answer: Unit's refrigeration cycle moves heat from inside box to outside box. The lower the ambient (surrounding) temperature, the easier it becomes to dissipate (dispose of) the unwanted heat, and the more efficiently unit operates. Heat gain into box from surrounding air is reduced as temperature of surrounding air drops, allowing it to operate more efficiently. Operating (virtually any) low temperature box in medium temperature environment (NJ garage in winter) reduces internal freon pressure, allowing it to operate more efficiently.

Follow instructions for minimum space between back (most important) and side of box and any surrounding obstructions (wall, other appliances, boxes, etc).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
I keep mine in the garage during winter in central PA.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I kept mine in the garage all year round through some very cold winters. If your garage is attached to your house then it is probably drawing some of the house heat, meaning the inside of the garage won't be as cold as outside. You can of course check with the manufacturer's customer support service to be sure.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
dbranga
01867
August 6, 2013
I had a similar freezer we kept in the garage over the winter. That's why I just bought this one - it didn't survive. I am just north of Boston so I wouldn't recommend leaving it in the garage unless it is going to stay above 40 degrees all winter. Good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
The owner's manual on page 10 states "Do not install freezer where the temperature will go below 0*F or above 110*F, because it will not maintain proper temperatures."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MattS
Wirtz, VA
February 4, 2014
I have this unit and a GE 12 cu ft chest freezer in my garage. I'm a tad south of you in Virginia, but have not had any issues when temperature is below zero outside (on those rare occasions). It is against the back wall, and not right next to the garage door, so not sure if that would make a difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the freezer do in cold weather?

Asked by
Curious
Washington State
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
September 18, 2013
I see that the freezer does not do well in the heat. Does anyone know how it would do if placed inside a non heated cedar shed in the winter? I've read on other small chest freezers that they don't do well. Wondering how the GE holds up.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 19, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest in our chest freezer model FCM7SUWW.

To obtain efficient operation, place the freezer where the surrounding temperatures will not exceed 110 degrees F. or fall below 0 degrees F. Position the freezer in a dry, well ventilated room. Do not install it in a closet. Be sure to install the freezer on a floor strong enough to support it fully loaded. Place it solidly on the floor. If the floor is uneven, use shims to level the freezer. Allow for a 3" air clearance on each side, and in the rear of the freezer.

I hope this is helpful!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
September 19, 2013
well I had my freezer in a garage, but knowing that the warrantee is not valid unless it is in the house. It was very hot in the summer and pretty cold in the winter. Lived in florida. I never had any problems with it in my garage, weather it was hot or cold. It got up to 120 in my garage in the summer and down to 30 in the winter. but remember it states in the warrantee that if it is not kept inside of the house, the warrantee is voided. Hope this helps. I have owned this freezer for over 3 years and have never had a problem with it yet. (knock on wood).
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
September 19, 2013
My freezer is located in my attached garage where in the winter the temperature goes as low as 25 degrees and in the summer as high as 85 degrees. After 2 years the thermostat had to be replaced, but other than that it has done very nicely.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Basenji500
Long Beach, CA, USA
January 8, 2014
It is rated for 0 to 110 degrees F. I have it in my garage and it works like a champ.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
I don't have any personal experience with this but the manual does state that it can operate in temperatures from 0*F to 110*F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
qualitym
December 10, 2013
I've owned a GE FCM7 (7 cu.ft.) freezer for 14 months. It is outside and been through temperatures from 86ºF to 19ºF. It seems to work fine except for a problem I'm having with widely oscillating temperatures inside the freezer (see my review).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the delivery people deliver it to the basement? It's not super-duper tricky, but it would be a somewhat tricky delivery.

Asked by
jeremym
Philadelphia
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
March 17, 2013
My fear is that they'll simply leave it at the front doorstep after getting it inside. Unfortunately, it needs to go into the basement, and I'm not capable of doing this myself. I would need for them to coordinate the delivery in full to the basement. I can help guide / direct. What are your thoughts on delivering to a precise location in the house?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jeremym
Philadelphia
April 3, 2013
Well, I was the original "asker" of this question. They did indeed deliver it right to the basement. "Tricky delivery" and all. So, there ya go folks. Thanks to the HD staff. They were easy to work with and just rocked. Thanks. "Case Closed."
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
April 4, 2013
You need to call up home depot and ask them. I am sure they will not just leave it inside the door. The delivery guys are great and the freezer is very light. I am sure they would take care of you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
satisfiedJeff
Oneonta, NY 13820, USA
March 18, 2013
They we very accomodating when they made our delivery and had equipment with them ready to carry the unit much further than we needed. Based on these things, I assume carrying the unit into the basement would not be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Baldy
PA
March 18, 2013
Stop at the service desk of Home Depot and check with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Sprinter
Little Rock, AR, USA
March 18, 2013
Delivery people were nice enough to place it in my garage. Even though my garage was on same level but freezer needed to go way inside. They placed it perfectly. I guess it's upto the delivery people, my guys were very helpful and I treated them with some refreshments.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ReinbeauMoma
Statesville, NC, USA
March 20, 2013
I would imagine they would take it to exactly where you want it placed. When mine was delivered they came to the door and asked me where I wanted it first. Then the carried it in and installed it. So, I imagine this is common delivery practice. Just make sure you clear a path for them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Jerry
Boulder, CO, USA
April 2, 2013
Maybe. They were fine delivering to my basement, but I have a walkout so almost no steps were involved. I got the feeling they would have done steps if necessary, as my unit was only about 80 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Greg
Madison Heights, MI, USA
April 8, 2013
Yes and they'll haul old one and boxes away as far as I saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
they delivered our to the basement and it wasn't and easy trip down as our stairs turn but they managed to do it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
They will deliver and setup anywhere as long as you let them know where. The delivery people are very professional and willing to help in any way. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outside dimensions of the GE Model FCM7SUWW chest type freezer?

Asked by
parteegirl
Lancaster, PA
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
July 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Baldy
PA
July 2, 2013
37" wide - 22" front to back - 33" H
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2013
Hello Parteegirl, Thanks for your interest in our GE chest freezers. The model FCM7SUWW is 22 inches deep, 37 inches wide and 33.25 inches high. I hope this helps and thanks for buying GE! Sheree with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mustbme
Alabama, USA
July 5, 2013
See specifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Delslady
Springfield, OR, USA
August 6, 2013
The length is just a shade under 37 inches. Height is 32.5 inches and depth including the brackets for the lid are about 22 inches. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
boblin
Iron Mountain, MI, USA
August 21, 2013
22" front to back, 37" side to side, 33" tall. Add 3" all around for recommended clearances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
4stick
Oakland, CA, USA
July 30, 2013
From the Home Depot specs page:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-7-0-cu-ft-Chest-Freezer-in-White-FCM7SUWW/203547578#specifications

22" deep X 33.25" high X 37" wide.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i buy replacement or larger food baskets for this freezer?

Asked by
george
marlboro,mass.
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
February 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
February 20, 2013
Hello George,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE Chest Freezer model # FCM7SUWW.

The freezer comes with 2 baskets. Yes, you can buy additional baskets and the part number
is # WR21X10208. There is not a larger basket available.

Please contact tthe Home Depot parts department at 1-877-650-2121.

I hope this helps!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dena
Bristol, FL
May 14, 2013
I actually kept my basket from my old freezer and I bought containers from the dollar store to keep everything organized. Thanks
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
February 20, 2013
I do not know for sure. The baskets rest in an indentation so you can not fit any larger baskets between the front and the back of the freezer. You might check on a web site under repair parts for appliances for replacement parts. Baldy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
don't know if you can buy additional ones, I can tell you I had the same size previously also from GE and my old baskets do not fit in it - they are too long front to back
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jean
Montgomery, AL, USA
August 28, 2013
I just went to the dollar store and bougt some plastic baskets and they work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RobN
Fredericksburg, VA
November 27, 2013
basket part number is WR21X10208
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

"New Freezer" Smell

Asked by
Terry
Boston
about 7.0 cu. ft. Chest Freezer in White on
April 13, 2013
Freezer works great, except for the plastic/chemical smell. I turned it on right after receiving it and started loading it with food, but I noticed that the food or at least the bags are getting this chemical odor.

I unloaded the freezer and thawed it out, and washed it thoroughly with a large sponge, hot water and a mild cleaning agent. I have left it open and turned off for the afternoon, to dry up and air out. The smell is still there. I am assuming this is out-gassing and not some kind of defect in our unit. How long before this smell goes away? Very unappealing.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 14, 2013
Hello Terry,

This is Donna with GE and I will be glad to help with your question on the new GE chest freezer.

Please rest assured, your new freezer does not contain any mechanical parts that will produce an odor. With a new freezer or refrigerator, there can be a plastic odor because most components inside are made plastic. This odor will dissipate with time. Odors can be difficult to get rid of because the freezer is an enclosed area, but it should dissipate. Following are the suggested ways to eliminate an odor.

* To clean the walls and shelves we recommend a solution of:
One tablespoon of baking soda
One quart of warm water

* You may also use Smells BeGone 12 fl ozs. (wx10x25), a deodorizer spray that is unscented, nontoxic, nonstaining and nonallergenic which destroys odors and kills bacteria without leaving a fragrance behind.

* Activated charcoal is available in drug stores, or more commonly, in pet stores. Spread the activated charcoal in a small pan (such as a jellyroll pan) and place it in the freezer. When the charcoal loses its effectiveness, it can be heated on low heat in the oven for a couple of hours to rejuvenate it. Activated charcoal is not the same as charcoal briquettes used for cooking on a grill.

If this continues, please contact warranty service. The link below is for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JulieN
Boyertown, PA 19512, USA
May 1, 2013
Ours had a slight plastic smell when we received it. The delivery guys and also the manual said to wash the inside throughly before using. I did that and I think it just went away. That said, I always keep a box of baking soda in the freezer to neurtralize any odors from strong smelling foods put in before freezing (Arm &Hammer has a specially made box that has a fabric on the side to let odors in without having to open the box top - which for me typically meant eventually it would spill out)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Baldy
PA
May 6, 2013
I have not experienced this situation. You should not place too many unfrozen items in the freezer at one time. Also, the freezer should be turned on empty for a while if it is not very cold inside. To wipe it out use soda water. I believe the instructions say how much soda to use. Then wipe it out well with soda water and wipe as dry as possible. Turn it on for possibly 20 minutes before placing any items in it and then only previously frozen items. Or place only several unfrozen items in it at one time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
April 14, 2013
Hello Terry,

This is Donna with GE and I am glad to help you with your question on the new freezer.

Please rest assured, your freezer does not contain any mechanical parts that will produce an odor.
When a freezer or refrigerator is new, there can be a plastic odor because most components inside are made plastic. This odor will dissipate with time. Odors can be difficult to get rid of because the refrigerator is an enclosed area. GE recommends the following to eliminate an odor.

* To clean the walls and shelves we recommend a solution of:
One tablespoon of baking soda
One quart of warm water

* You may also use Smells BeGone 12 fl ozs. (wx10x25), a deodorizer spray that is unscented, nontoxic, nonstaining and nonallergenic which destroys odors and kills bacteria without leaving a fragrance behind.

* Activated charcoal is available in drug stores, or more commonly, in pet stores. Spread the activated charcoal in a small pan (such as a jellyroll pan) and place it in the freezer. When the charcoal loses its effectiveness, it can be heated on low heat in the oven for a couple of hours to rejuvenate it. Activated charcoal is not the same as charcoal briquettes used for cooking on a grill.

If the issue continues, then please contact warranty service.

Following is the link for sceduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULEa

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ladyskull
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 18, 2013
OMG. this has to be a defect. my freezer never had a smell to it. I think I would return it and get another one. I also bought one for my daughter and asked her about a smell and she also said there was no smell in her freezer. GOOD LUCK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Cyrus
Beltsville, MD, USA
July 17, 2013
I never noticed a smell at all from the freezer or the food. You can try some Arm and Hammer baking soda to absorb the smells, but funny you are having this issue because we sure didn't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »