Looking for Answers about LG Electronics 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED?

Customer questions and answers for
LG Electronics 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED

The Smart Rinse jet spray system of the LG Electronics 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer provides thorough, effective washing performance while using water efficiently to help you save time and money. Use the washer's intuitive electronic control panel with LED display to select among 8 wash programs, 5 wash speeds and 5 wash temperatures. A delay start function helps you set the washer to begin up to 19 hours later to suit your schedule. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLE4870W or Gas Dryer model DLG4871W.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions
 | 
150 Answers
Overall rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for LG Electronics 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED

Question

How good of a job does it do cleaning the clothes compared to a machine with an agitator?

Asked by
luckyme
houston, TX
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
April 2, 2013
I currently have a Bosch front loader and it does not clean my clothes at all. Some of the clothes even come out almost dry. Does this machine really use enough water to clean the clothes well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Leo9
Fairfax, VA, USA
June 12, 2013
It seems to do a good job cleaning, but goes out of balance much more often than our old washer... at least four times in the last two months. Also, a load takes longer to run, typically around an hour and 15 minutes.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
April 3, 2013
it cleans the clothes just as good. as my previous washer with the agitator, if not better, in my opinion. and the clothes aren't almost dry, they are wet although spun well. You can also adjust the spin speed
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dave
Port Orchard, WA
April 2, 2013
Here is my recent education regarding HE (High-Efficiency) Washers, whatever the brand, whether it is a front or top loading type. My recent use of a new top loader resulted in less than satisfactory results in the performance area. I believe that the reason that your clothes seem almost dry when the washer is completed is because IF the load is balanced properly, those HE machines can spin up to unreal speeds to extract excess moisture, soap and fabric softener residues from the clothes resulting in much less time required to run the dryer (which is a primary source of your power bill). My machine has a vibration issue and would not balance a load properly, almost any load. You cannot mix clothing types in these HE washers meaning you cannot wash jeans with shirts or bed sheets with bulky, heavier materials. Hope this helps.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
listenmyfriend
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 4, 2013
Much better job that one with an agitator and the clothes don't get all tangled up like they do with an agitator. It does use enough water to clean the clothes well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
disnutt
April 18, 2013
Are you sure that your Bosch isn't just spinning more water out than your old washer did?

This washer does get all the clothes wet and washed through. It does spin them much drier than our old agitator washer did. The only problem with that is that we've noticed a few more wrinkles in the clothes when they come out of the washer. A good shake before sticking them in the dryer seems to make up for it.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Disillusioned
June 21, 2013
No I do not feel it does.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
May 14, 2013
It cleans great. The top load HE washers use more water than the front loaders, but with any HE machine, you really need to use HE detergent. They are specially formulated for lower suds and better cleaning without lots of water.
The center "agitator" combined with the spinning tub work together to force water through the clothes in order to clean them as opposed to the old style agitator. This deep cleans the clothes and is more gentle on them. I haven't had any cleaning issues even with very large loads.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
November 21, 2013
Here is my review for Model WT4870CW:

Our 13 year old Kenmore top of the line machine had a problem. Not worth fixing. So we needed to get a new machine. Went to Sears, bought a S.., read product reviews and found that that brand had problems after about 6 months with water leakage. – Cancelled the order, went to Home Depot, they were having a sale, 10% off. Purchased this LG washer and am very impressed with it.

We have had this machine just over 1 month. Never had an off balance occurrence or any error messages. This machine uses about 5% of the water than our old machine used. (We drain into a laundry tub, so it is easy to measure the difference.) This should result in a saving on our water bill and our gas bill from not using so much hot water. Another change I have noticed is that there is almost no lint. (I have had to catch lint by placing a nylon stocking on the end of the drain tube to keep it from clogging up the laundry tub drain, now there is very little lint in the stocking after a month’s use.) Clothes seem to be cleaner, brighter and have more body after a wash. This is very subjective and is just my impression. Loads are now a little larger than before because it easier without the center spindle. I use the same brand and amount of soap. Cannot use my old brand of bleach because it is not “he” rated. My only complaint is that clothes are more wrinkled than in our old machine. However, this is reduced a little by adjusting the spin cycle but is still annoying. Clothes do come out less damp, so less energy is used by the dryer. (Did not get a new dryer, ours is very old, repaired once, and now is not having to work so hard in it’s old age! – saving more energy.) Another nice feature of the new machine is the digital display of the time left in the wash cycle. I can check that to see what other work I can do before the cycle is complete. Controls are easy to use but the standard settings are fine for most conditions. (Except for the spin cycle sometimes.) The only specification that is not provided by LG is the height of the washer not including the back control panel. That is approximately 37.5”.

After several months use, I may update this with what I think is the approximate energy savings experienced. I am a retired statistician and keep track of such mundane things out of habit.

I wish this washer had the glass top, so I could see what is going on during the cycle, but would not pay extra for that option. Considered a model with the controls on the front edge instead of the back panel but CR said that might not be a good idea since items placed on the top might fall off the back since that panel is not there.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
I HAVE NOTICED NO DIFFERENCE
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you wash sheets and towels in the same load?

Asked by
omar
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
February 9, 2013
There was a comment on the reviews and we are looking to purchase this product but are wondering if the machine becomes out of balance when you wash sheets and towels together or even mixed clothes. Thanks for the help.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
February 11, 2013
Yes, sheets and towels can be washed together. It could go out of balance but even a load of all towels or all sheets can go out of balance in any washer. This LG washer alerts you to a problem so it can be adjusted and wash cycle continued.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Leo9
Fairfax, VA, USA
June 12, 2013
This washer does seem to go out of balance easily. We do about two loads a week and it's gone out of balance four times over the last two months.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LGAnswers
February 10, 2013
Hello Omar,
that shouldn't be a problem at all as long as the machine is not overloaded.
Thank you, have a great day!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 10, 2013
I just washed a large mixed load of towels and sheets today I didn't have any balance issues
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Cheezystix
March 13, 2013
We do this all the time with no issues at all with this unit.
Even comforters and towels. No problems.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Disillusioned
June 21, 2013
It will repeatedly stop and try to re-level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 20, 2013
No issues yet after many such loads.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does a washing cycle take?

Asked by
Lee
California
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
December 2, 2012
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 3, 2012
Hello Lee,
the cycle duration always depends on the size of the load and the settings (e.g. about an hour).
Thank you
Have a great week!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
NYP369
yonkers,ny
January 18, 2013
depends on the cycle you choose .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
January 29, 2013
So far mine have been from 50-57 minutes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Wildrose56
Ossineke, Michigan
February 6, 2013
It varies on the type and size of the load and the options you choose. There is a quick approximately 35 minute cycle called Speedwash, and then I have had big loads with lots of options that took over an hour. But the clothes are so clean and it spins out so efficiently that it takes a shorter time to dry them in the dryer or even when hangin to air dry.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 8, 2013
It actually depends on the wash cycle you select and wheter or not you add anything, like extra spin cycle or extra rinse etc...A normal load for me with fabric softener was 1hr 9min, but for the king comforter I washed it was 1 hr 36min. So I would say average for a large load is going to be about and hour give or take a few minutes. But the fact that I can fit 3 of my normal loads of laundry in the washer at one time, it actually saves me about an hour. Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 9, 2013
It depends on your selection (permanent press, heavy, etc.) It will tell you to the minute how long each load will take.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
DEPENDS ON THE EXACT SETTING COMBINATIONS YOU SELECT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model have a "pause" function?

Asked by
Macks Mom
NC
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
February 12, 2013
...to add that dropped sock in after you've started the cycle? A similar LG model has a "START/PAUSE" button & I'm looking at the photos, but can't tell on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Leo9
Fairfax, VA, USA
June 12, 2013
Yes, the start button on the lower right of the control panel is also the pause button.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
February 14, 2013
Yes it does. I use it frequently just for that reason.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 8, 2013
Yes it does
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cheezystix
March 13, 2013
Yep .. it does
It's actually the Start/Pause button
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
disnutt
April 18, 2013
It does.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
May 14, 2013
Yes, it does. Works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
YES
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I wash a large sleeping bag in this washer?

Asked by
Yukon Man
Juneau, Alaska
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
March 10, 2013
I have several sleeping bags 20-degree synthetic to minus-40-degree down. We have a top loader with agitator, and I cannot use it for any of my sleeping bags. Since I do not have a recommended large-capacity front-loader I have been going to commercial Laundromat when I need to wash my sleeping bags.

If I buy this washer and matching dryer, can I safely wash and dry large sleeping bags in them?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 10, 2013
It will hold a California king comforter with room to spare, so I would say yes
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
March 11, 2013
Hello camper :)

since this model doesn't have an agitator it should work much better for your sleeping bags. I would also recommend...

4.3 cu. ft. front loaders:
WM4070HVA
WM4070HWA

5.1 cu. ft. front loaders:
WM8000HVA
WM8000HWA

Thank you. We appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Cheezystix
March 13, 2013
Check the tags on the sleeping bags as each may have unique washing instructions.

I know I personally wash my son's sleeping bag all the time .. but it's just a cheap coleman sleeping bag, not really for camping.

If you do wash it, do by itself, as the fabric tends to bleed color. Also I'd dry on low heat, and may even pull from the dryer half dry .. and let finish air drying.

Good Luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dave
Port Orchard, WA
April 2, 2013
I was informed by a seasoned maintenance/repairman to "absolutely do not attempt to wash any bulky, large items as it will most likely result in an unbalanced condition when the load is in the spin cycle. In some cases, such as my machine, it will result in the machine throwing a "UE" error code on the panel and will either completely shutdown, or will cycle back through a previous area of the spin cycle time and will continue to do this until it is shut off completely. My machine even has a " BULKY/BEDDING" cycle that I was using at the time. Hope this helps. (My machine is a HE Top Loading New).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 9, 2013
I only have the washer, not the dryer, but I can wash heavy mattress pads, comforters and blankets (one is down) for queen size bed. I had done this previously at a laundromat, but this tub is bigger than the front loaders at the laundromat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 20, 2013
Most likely, as long as it's not the waterproof type. If the material doesn't allow water to flow through the fabric at least somewhat, then you will have issues during the spin cycle as it tries to spin out the excess water.
I've washed 2 king size comforters with 2 matching sets of sheets at the same time and had no issues at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
2 AT THE SAME TIME
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

wash load stops several--several times during single wash with :uneven load message

Asked by
mary
monroe,ct
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
March 14, 2013
this is a nightmare--one load never finishes without stopping for UE

LG MODEL TOP LOAD WT487OCW.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Leo9
Fairfax, VA, USA
June 12, 2013
Our WT487OCW does go unbalanced and stop more often than I would like... about every other week and we typically do two or three loads a week. However, when we redistribute the load it usually finishes OK. Occasionally, we've had this happen more than once for a single load. It sounds like your washer is behaving much worse. You may want to consider a return or exchange. Note: If the store won't take it back and you purchased the washer using a credit card, sometimes the credit card extends the return period.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 15, 2013
I've only had mine do this twice. I just opened the lid and moved some of the clothes around and it fixed the problem. It's aggrivating, but not near as bad to me as my old washer sounding like a helicopter and scooting across the floor when it became off balance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
disnutt
April 18, 2013
We had the same problem and determined that our floor wasn't level so the washer was never really level. It took a little time and some extra wood shims but we've leveled the washer and had no further problems. Give that a try.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 9, 2013
I have found it stopped once when I washed towels with a heavy mattress pad. I redistributed the towels and it completed the cycle. I just try to distribute clothes evenly when loading. Has worked every time.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
May 14, 2013
I had a Samsung built just like this one that I sent back due to this issue. It is most likely a bad sensor and needs to be replaced. My LG has not had any issues with this, but they work the same way.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
This happened to me once because I had a lot of towels in the machine. Are you putting the heavier items in the washer first? Is the washer level?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
THIS IS COMMON U HAVE BEEN WARNED
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the LG Model WT4870CW top load washer have a vibration issue?

Asked by
Lula
Cda, Idaho
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
June 28, 2013
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 9, 2013
I have not found that it has a vibration issue. It self corrects if it's out of balance. I have had to reposition towels once when I washed them with a thick mattress pad. It will sing a little song and stop if it's terribly out of balance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Emily
Savannah, GA, USA
July 9, 2013
My washer is in the same spot it was put in a month ago. It hasn't moved at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 28, 2013
Not at all. I actually chose this model for use on a second floor laundry room for that specific reason.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
I have not noticed any vibration issues.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
November 21, 2013
We do not have a vibration issue. Just put in clothes, sort of even but not carefully placed.
If washer is on carpet, you might have too soft a surface, suggest foot pads with downward spikes to make a harder surface.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Lesky
August 27, 2013
We have had it for 6 months, washing all kinds of loads. Learned that bulky/bedding really needs to be watched, as the washer will stop if it gets out of balance. Doesn't have a vibration issue, since it has an automatic stop if it vibrates too much. It is the load that is off balance; just re-position the wet things and it will start up again.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Barb
November 12, 2013
No, it has an anti-vibration true balance system.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a spin only cycle?

Asked by
Paula
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
December 15, 2012
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
February 11, 2013
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
H2O
Quincy, IL
February 18, 2013
The LG website shows a spin only option for this washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 16, 2012
Hello Paula,
thank you for writing to us.

This model has a Rinse+Spin only cycle.

Have a great day.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 28, 2013
Yes. It is part of the button choices (not on the dial).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Just bought a Whirlpool he toploader. All 3 loads I've done come out extemely wrinkled. Does this washer do the same?

Asked by
Washclothes
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
March 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
March 21, 2013
No, clothes should not come out extremely wrinkled. Maybe an even better match for you would be an LG Front-Loader with FRESH CARE, which will tumble your clothes to prevent wrinkles:
Use this function when you are not able to take out your clothes as soon as the wash cycle ends. This function provides periodic tumbling for up to about 19 hours to prevent wrinkles. If you press the START/ PAUSE or ON/ OFF button, you can unload your laundry at anytime.

For example the LG WM3470HWA (white) / WM3470HVA (graphite steel) - this front-loader was rated MOST EFFICIENT 2012 by ENERGY STAR.
It has TURBOWASH technology which can saving you 20 minutes per load if needed.
Steam™ Technology... AAFA Certified Allergiene™ Cycle, NSF Certified Sanitary Cycle, ColdWash™ Option,... and more.

LG front-loader overview: http://www.lg.com/us/front-load-washers
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WRoy
Hampton, VA, USA
March 27, 2013
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
April 3, 2013
I wouldn't say wrinkled, just well spun. And the clothes don't get all tangled up as I've read some other washers do
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
listenmyfriend
Mesa, AZ, USA
June 4, 2013
Not wrinkled at all.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
disnutt
April 18, 2013
We've noticed some extra wrinkles. Usually a good shake before sticking them in the dryer helps. We're an ironing family so it hasn't had too much of an effect anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 20, 2013
Wrinkles are likely a factor of the very high speed spin cycle, which this has. They come out of the wash wrinkled, but don't stay that way. I don't leave the clothes in the washer very long, and then once they come out of the dryer, they are fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far away from the wall in the back does the washer sit?

Asked by
Julie
Illinois
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
June 24, 2013
I have a very small laundry room, and this washer is deeper then most. How close to the back wall can i put the washer? If it sits out too far I won't be able to close the door.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
June 25, 2013
Hello Julie, the installation clearance in the back of the unit will be 4 inch (10 cm). Hopefully that works for you.
Thank you, have a great week!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 9, 2013
I have the same issue, but it fit in exactly like my old washer did. It requires no extra room in the back. Sits as close to the wall as the old one.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
You need enough room for the hoses in the back and the top of the washer extends about 2 inches past the bottom part of the washer. I would say you need about 8 inches total in the back of your washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hm2525
January 23, 2014
it sits the normal distance as my old whirlpool washer about 6 1/4 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
November 21, 2013
Distance from wall depends on where your faucets are located. Mine are above the washer but the connections are behind the washer. Total distance to front of washer is 29" If your faucet connections are above the washer, you might save an inch or more from what I have here.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Barb
November 12, 2013
Mine sits out about 33 inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this washer handle washing shoes? With my front loader I throw in a couple of pairs with a few towels - works great!

Asked by
sarah
Littleton
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
July 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Emily
Savannah, GA, USA
July 9, 2013
I throw shoes in with towels weekly and it works great..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Gphillips
Gilbert, AZ
July 16, 2013
Yes, I have washed several pairs!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Armyman
Waco, TX, USA
July 8, 2013
I wash shoes in with my wash but, like anything else, it can affect the balance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
EFisher
San Antonio, TX
August 1, 2013
I'm sure it can wash shoes, but it does unbalance easily. I would put something in with your shoes, perhaps towels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
I don't see why it wouldn't but I have not tried it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
THIS TYPE OF WASHER WORKS BEST WITH SHOES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this washing machine stackable?

Asked by
Anna
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
July 24, 2013
I don't see a designation on the site.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
hilaryhm
Apple Valley, MN, USA
September 24, 2013
No, it is a top loader, so I don't see how it could be.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
AllieM
Maumelle, AR
July 24, 2013
I don't see how it could be stackable. It's a large top loading machine. Maybe I'm misunderstanding the question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EFisher
San Antonio, TX
August 1, 2013
This model is not stackable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 25, 2013
No. It is not stackable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
SlyDemon
Milwaukee, WI, USA
August 2, 2013
No - This is a top loader. In order for them to be stackable they need to be a front-load design.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
speedi
Woodland Park, CO 80863, USA
September 8, 2013
No, it is a top loader.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you put a king size comforter in.

Asked by
mimi
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
September 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kimosabe
South Orange County, CA
October 22, 2013
Yes, I washed my California King comfortable without any problems at all. Really nice not having to worry if it's going to get twisted in the aggitator and possible tear the comforter since this machine doesn't have an aggitaror!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kate
Virginia, USA
September 9, 2013
Yes. Be sure to use the setting for "Bedding". And feed the comforter evenly around in the drum. May need to readjust during spin cycle sometimes. This just naturally happens as items wash. So I would not throw it in the washer and leave the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
evette
September 8, 2013
I washed our king size comforter in the machine with no problems. It has a bulky/bedding setting for such items.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
speedi
Woodland Park, CO 80863, USA
September 8, 2013
I have not tried that yet, but I think you could.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mazie
Virginia
September 8, 2013
Absolutely!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
YES..EXTRA KING SIZE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it absolutely necessary to buy new hoses with the washer?

Asked by
UncleJr
Reno, Nv
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
November 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
hm2525
January 23, 2014
yes you need the new hoses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 6, 2013
It is recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Smith
Huntersville, NC
December 15, 2013
Yes, just buy the steel traded type. Then you are guaranteed to be be covered by any warranty issues if they arise. Cheap insurance!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No, not absolutely necessary. If you have good hoses, not too old, you can use them.
It is a good idea to have the newer style hoses with braided metal on the outside. Cheaper to buy such hoses (about $20) than to take the risk of having a hose burst sometime and flood your home. A washer turns the water off an on with a surge, that puts stress on the hose and they do break!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
NOT ABSOLUTELY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Photomama
Rockmart, Ga
March 10, 2014
NO, not if your hoses and are still good.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are you sure it is glass? I saw a 4870 with an all metal lid.

Asked by
padave
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
November 6, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
November 6, 2012
I consulted the LG product team about it, and found out that the materials are strengthened safety glass encased by metal. There are models with different lids, maybe you saw a different model?

Thank you again for your question :)
I wish you a lovely day!
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cindy
el dorado hills
November 30, 2012
the 4870 the i purhsased is medal
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
January 29, 2013
It is metal
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cheezystix
March 13, 2013
My 4870 is an all metal lid (no glass)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
November 21, 2013
Model WT4870CW does not have a glass lid - all metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you add more water to a load?

Asked by
Denny
California
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
January 29, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GoddessDivine
Auburn Hills, MI, USA
January 30, 2013
Yes, manually. The washer is designed to use a minimal amount of water only so it seems you would have to pause the cycle and pour more in if desired.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
January 30, 2013
Hello Denny,

this model does have a Water Plus option.

Thank you,
have a great day!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wildrose56
Ossineke, Michigan
February 6, 2013
Yes, it is one of your Options buttons
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
The machine determines how much water you use once you start the washer. You don't have control over the amount of water being used.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
NO BUT U CAN ADD ADDITIONAL RINSE CYCLE

WATER HEIGHT IS MEASURED BY SENSORS FOR SPECIFIC SETTINGS..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you wash small loads? We keep getting the unbalanced error every time we wash a load.

Asked by
Bailey
Houston, TX
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
December 19, 2013
Machine was delivered less than a week ago. We have done 5 loads and all of them have given us the error. The delivery men started it with nothing in it to test it and we got the unbalanced error code.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 23, 2013
Please take a look at this quick informative video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBZP7zpVwUo
If the items are distributed evenly and you follow all the instructions in the video and the error is still occuring, please visit LG Live Chat:
https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support
Thank you.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hm2525
January 23, 2014
Oh brother-had issues with that-doing delicates & tub clean=UE errors & would fill with water etc…had to turn off/empty water. several workmen came out replaced all parts (< 3 months old), after 3 repairs they replaced it with a new washer-no problems with the new one. Had to call and complain to HD-but they made it right. Hope you get a new machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AugustColorado
Lynnwood, WA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
You should not be getting unbalanced loads. The machine has a balancing function built in.
Suggest you check to see if it is level. If on a carpet, place a office chair mat with prongs that go down into the carpet under it to stiffen the surface and keep the machine from rocking.
You might need to call the installer (if you had one) back to see if there is something wrong in the setup.
If all else fails, talk to the store about replacing your machine with another one, a small load, placed evenly in the tub should not cause an unbalance.
We put socks and some undergarments in a zipper bag designed to be in the washing machine. We have not had a problem, but doing this might help.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
janeg109
Crystal Falls, MI 49920, USA
March 25, 2014
This shouldn't happen. Maybe the washer is not level and the feet need to be adjusted.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
THE ANSWER IS...

THIS TYPE OF MACHINE
HAS A INHERITENT FLAW IN MAINTAINING THE LOAD BALANCE.. SUPERVISON IS REQUIRED
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer state it cannot wash waterproof items?

Asked by
rutter
Washing
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
February 25, 2013
Some new HE washers state they cannot wash any waterproof items {crib pads, rubber backed mats} even if the item says it can be machine washed. Does this washer have any such statements?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
February 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for your question.

Yes, as it turns out the manual also states: "Do not wash waterproof clothes. - This may cause abnormal vibration, or may cause the load to bounce, which could damage the tub."
Sorry for the inconvenience.

Have a wonderful day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rwhitner0110
Barnesville, GA 30204, USA
March 8, 2013
Yes it does state that on the washer. Although I myself will probably still wash my bathroom rugs...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
June 20, 2013
Yes. It's due to the high speed spin cycle. Waterproof items trap water and cause the load to get out of balance. You can run the washer without a spin cycle, but since the "no-agitator" style washer depend on water flowing through the material to wash them, it is not recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Jann
Thorndale, PA, USA
July 9, 2013
The instruction booklet states that you cannot wash waterproof items in this washing machine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Cannot wash water-proof clothes?

Asked by
Yukon Man
Juneau, Alaska
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
March 10, 2013
The on-line manual says: "Do not wash waterproof clothes. - This may cause abnormal vibration, or may cause the load to bounce, which could damage the tub."

Almost all of our jackets/parkas and some other clothes are water-proof (Gore-Tex, etc) and so are almost all of our sleeping bags. It seems odd that I cannot wash any of these in this washer. We use special soap to wash these in our top-loader with agitators without any problem.

Am I missing something here?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
March 11, 2013
So sorry for the inconvenience but none of our washers are recommended to be used for washing water proof items.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
YUKON MAN
JUNEAU, ALASKA
March 20, 2013
Has anyone wash water-proof (Gore-Tex, HyVent, Dry-Plus, etc) or water-resistant clothes in this machine? It is hard to believe but label on this machine says, "No water-proof or water resistant materials". If that is true I have to go to a commercial laundry for just about all my outer wears.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gskirk
ATL, GA
May 14, 2013
It's probably due to the spin cycle, but may also be due to the way this machine cleans. The "non-agitator" style washers clean by forcing water through the clothes, and the spin cycle is so fast that trapped water that is not able to exit the clothing could cause an imbalance.
I would recommend taking those types of clothes to professional cleaners.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Lesky
August 27, 2013
Long time since you posted, but...here is our answer. We are hikers and have a number of waterproof or water repellent items that we wash. We have used the washer for these items--but I didn't want to wreck the washer or the clothing, so I approached it very conservatively. The problem (according to my research) is the spin cycle. The fabric covers the holes of the washer basin and water can't be forced through properly during spin. The material will either be forced into the spin holes or ripped up, or the fabric will get caught inside the mechanism, or all of the above.

So, my answer has been to wash (gentle-cold) without spinning, squeeze dry and hang to dry. Most waterproof/repellent items dry fast anyhow. I did open the machine several times at first to check on progress, which I would suggest to you. I also combined the load so regular clothes were more numerous, with only one or two waterproof ones during wash cycle. (After I took the waterproof ones out, let the cycle continue with the others to spin like normal.)

This has worked for me--a dress raincoat, hiking pants, and a few other similar items. The clothes have got clean. (Even muddy things.) Good luck.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the delicate cycle similar to a "Hand-wash" cycle? I have lots of hand-wash items.

Asked by
Cwar27
utah
about 4.5 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR-DISCONTINUED on
November 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
hm2525
January 23, 2014
Yes, it's similar and you can adjust the spin level. I initially had issues with the first machine with error codes because I did not have many delicates to wash, and the machine could not balance due to the small loads, but after 3 repairs they replaced the machine.

I do have to say that I liked my older Whirlpool Gold (not high efficiency) for delicates better because there were 3 diff levels of delicates, wools, hand wash. But I have not had any damage to my delicates that I have done-mostly pants, INC chiffon tops, bras in lingerie bags.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sweetums
Collingdale, PA, USA
December 10, 2013
According to the expert in the " Hand Wash", my wife says yes. She does all of her hand wash on delicate. I think the no agitator wash tub takes most of the hard beating out of the wash cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
disneymom126
Long Island, NY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
yes, I use it for all my hand washables. Just make sure spin cycle is on low
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ROBERT
JOPLIN
December 25, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »