Looking for Answers about GE Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR

Your GE 4.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon is Auto Load Sensing and has Precise Fill feature. The clear glass lid lets you see your washer at work on the tough stains you may have. The 1000 RPM maximum spin speed will get spin water out of your clothes allowing for less time in the dryer. Bleach, Fabric Softener, and detergent dispensers make your job easy. At GE, we work hard to make our appliances more efficient, with advanced technologies and superior settings. Our washers are loaded with features perfect for getting your laundry cleaner and saving you time and money. With a variety of cycle and temperature options, these washers offer the control you require and the ease-of-use you prefer. Search matching Electric Dryer Model GHDS835EDMC or Gas Dryer model GHDS835GDMC. Also available in White model GHWN8350DWS.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions
 | 
23 Answers
Overall rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR

Question

can this washer be adjusted to fill up with more water

Asked by
archie1
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
December 9, 2014
this washer does not fill up with water
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 12, 2014
Hi,
This is Lisa from GE. This is a high efficiency washing machine with Infusor wash action. This system requires less water while providing effective cleaning action. You may notice that the water level is lower than on your previous washer. This is normal for an Infusor equipped washer.

Choose the Fabric Softener option for a deeper fill rinse even if fabric softener is not used.
Thanks for checking.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WHY IS BLACK GUNK COMING THROUGH THE RECYCLED WATER DUCT INTO THE WASH? ALSO, IT GETS OUT OF BALANCE AND BANGS AND WALKS

Asked by
JBALDWIN
FERNDALE, WA
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
June 18, 2014
WE LOAD IT CAREFULLY TO MAKE SURE IT IS EVENLY BALANCED AND THE MACHINE IS VERY LEVEL. BUT THE WASH TANGLES UP IN KNOTS AND OVER TO ONE SIDE THIS MACHE BANGS AND WALKS HORRIBLY. IT IS ONLY 10 MONTHS OLD AND I WANT TO RETURN IT OR GET MY MONEY BACK.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I am sorry to hear that you are having this issue. Tangled, twisted or knotted clothes are usually a result of improper sorting of wash loads. To prevent clothing from knotting and twisting:
Avoid mixing heavy items with light items.
Avoid putting too many or too few items in the washer.
Make sure you set the proper water level for the size load you are doing. The water level should just cover the clothes.
Never wrap the clothes around the agitator.
Be sure your wash water is not too hot for the fabric.

If the above information doesn't help. We recommend that you take advantage of your warranty and contact GE Consumer Service. They can be reached by calling 1-800-432-2737.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How exactly does the fabric softener dispenser work? I don't believe mine is operating properly. Where is it dispensed and how?

Asked by
Lynn
New Jersey
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
January 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 3, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. To add liquid fabric softener all you do is press the Fabric Softener button and pour the softener into the right opening.
The liquid is added at the optimum time to the rinse cycle.

NOTE: If using delay mode, add liquid softener
to the dispenser and then fill the dispenser to
the MAX fill level with water.

If the above information doesn't help and you feel you are having an issue. We recommend contacting GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737.

Thanks so much for your question. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of cable is needed for the Cleanspeak communication? Home Depot doesn't know what I'm talking about. Can anyone help?

Asked by
SuperBad
Cypress TX
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
November 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2013
Hi SuperBad-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your interest! This dryer can communicate with a compatible washer (one whose Owner’s Manual contains a CleanSpeak description) via a cable between these appliances. This cable is included with the CleanSpeak dryer models.

Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SuperBad
Cypress TX
November 26, 2013
I purchased the cleanspeak dryer but did not have a cable. Is this a cable that can be purchased in a store?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Trying to decide

Asked by
savingslady
charlotte, nc
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
August 9, 2013
My husband and I are ready to purchase a new washer and dryer. About 8 years ago, I tried a front loader and while we eventually learned how to care for it, I was not a fan. We want a traditional washer with an agitator, water conservation features and really like the look of this model. The number of people reporting transmission/grinding noise issues is alarming. What percent of the time does this defect occur for this model?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 9, 2013
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. I can certainly understand your concern when hearing negative comments regarding an appliance you have an interest in. I can tell you that GE is committed to manufacturing quality appliances for our consumers. Unfortunately, one may not hear from the thousands that have purchased the product and had no issues. GE has an ongoing commitment to improve quality so if there are any problems they will be addressed. This is an excellent washer and I know that you will be very happy with it.

Thanks so much for checking with us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Engineer
Kentucky
August 9, 2013
This unit does not have a transmission. It has a lock that holds the basket when washing and releases when spin cycle runs. There were some early issues of his shift but newer software updates has corrected these issues. That is o e of the reasons that you now see the Ethernet ports on the rear of the machine. Not to book it up to the Internet but for updates and diagnostics.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
wenz1865
North Las Vegas, NV
August 11, 2013
I can honestly say that with this model I have not encountered a problem with grinding noise at all with my machine. As a matter a fact, I love my machine because it does not have an agitator( long stemmed agitator like in the older models). This machine to me is a God send because it measures the load to the ratio of water needed to wash clothes effectively. This means it save on your water usage and water bill. I would suggest to get the five year warranty protection on both the washer and dryer simply because it saves you money on the repairs of the appliance. I am very happy with this model. PLEASE read your owners manual from cover to cover and this will ensure your knowledge for this model on the care and operation of your machine. I hope this info has been helpful!.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DJFOX390
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
September 12, 2013
Do not purchase this one, It has too many problems. Does not use enough water to clean, loud, takes too long to wash between 1 and 2 hours, repair men can't fix. Go with a regular washer and dryer that fills up with water. This machine also tangles up the clothes so bad they are hard to get untangled. Not worth the money or hassle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

GE 5.0 top load washer bulk dispenser

Asked by
Donna
Corona
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
July 27, 2013
I just bought this washer and have added about 100 ounces of detergent and softener and both the tanks display still say they are empty. Am I doing something wrong? Did we have to prime them or something or do I need to fill them all the way up for it to show full?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 28, 2013
Hello Donna,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora Top Load Washer model # GHWN8355DMC.

When filling the tanks for the first time or when they are completely empty, the bulk dispenser requires more than 32oz (a typical small bottle)of liquid detergent and fabric softener to work. You can determine this by looking at the tank level indicator lights. If the only light on is the single red light at the bottom, then the tank is empty.

If both the bulk detergent and bulk fabric softener tanks are low, the washer determines the tanks are empty and prevents the washer from starting. If you try to use the washer with the bulk dispensers selected and has no or low detergent and fabric softener, the washer will chime to indicate the bulk dispenser is empty and it will not start the cycle.

To test:

~Turn off both the Detergent and Fabric Softener Bulk Dispensers
~Start the washer on any wash cycle
~ If the cycle starts, then the bulk dispenser is the problem

If the Bulk Dispenser is the issue, please add more Detergent and/or Fabric Softener to the tanks. If adding more Detergent or Fabric Softener does not correct the situation, then a service call is required.

Please see the link below for scheduling service.

http://genet.geappliances.com/ServiceNet/Dispatcher?REQUEST=CONSUMERFIRSTREQUEST&JSPID=SCHEDULE

Should you have addtional questions, please do not hesitate to ask. We are always happy to help!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wenz1865
North Las Vegas, NV
July 31, 2013
Dear Donna,
Please read the GE appliance manual that comes with your washer. This machine is a single wash detergent dispenser as well as a single use softener dispenser. You DO NOT WANT TO BULK ONTO YOUR DISPENSER!!. According to the GE Owner's Manual on page 7 here is the directions:
"Single Wash Detergent Dispenser"
To manually add either powder or liquid detergent to the next wash cycle, pour it in the left front opening. Most detergent will immediately enter the tub. The washer will flush water through this
opening just prior to the fill cycle to add any detergent that did not fall into the tub.
PLEASE NOTE:
Do not put tablet cleaners in the single wash detergent dispenser. Detergent tablets should be added to the bottom of the washer basket before clothes are placed inside. Please also read on page 7 about single use for fabric softener. I hope this information helps you! wenz1865.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does my washer NOT have a tank to dispense soap like the sale's man told me it did ????

Asked by
TheCleaningLady247
Texas
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
July 11, 2013
I was told when I got this washer that you could put up to a gallon of soap in the tank and it would use as much as needed on every load. Now you tell me it does not have a tank for the soap, how about the softener, does it have a tank or not ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Engineer
Kentucky
July 12, 2013
Unfortunately the model you purchased does not have the bulk tanks. The only models that currently do are those with the 5.0 baskets. It is currently not an option offered for the 4.8.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wenz1865
North Las Vegas, NV
July 16, 2013
Dear The CleaningLady247 Texas,
This washer DOES NOT HAVE A TANK THAT HOLDS A GALLON OF SOAP/SOFTENER NOR DOES IT DISPENSE THE SOAP OR FABRIC SOFTENER AUTOMATICALLY WITH EVERY LOAD.
According to the manual for the washer, this unit has a single wash detergent dispenser and a single use softener dispenser. "Single wash detergent dispenser" To manually add either powder or liquid detergent to the next wash cycle, pour it in the left front opening. Most detergent will immediately enter the tub. The washer will flush water through this opening just prior to the fill cycle to add any detergent that did not fall into the tub. Important note: Do not put tablet cleaners in the single wash detergent dispenser. Detergent tablest should be added to the bottom of the washer basket before clothes are placed inside. "Single us Softener dispenser" To add fabric softener to the next load, press the Fabric Softener button and pour the softener into the right opening. The liquid will be added at the optimum time in the rinse cycle. To be clear, when washing your clothes for every load you must use a single cup of liquid detergent ,bleach(in the bleach dispenser on the left if needed) .
I hope this answer has helped you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Should the Tide Washing Machine Cleaner be used with the Basket Clean cycle?

Asked by
edison
Virginia, USA
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
June 10, 2013
The instructions on the Tide Cleaner say to add cleaner to the bottom of the washer basket and run a Normal cycle using hot water. Should the Normal cycle be used, or the Basket Cleaner cycle with the Tide cleaner added to the bottom of the basket, and not using the detergent dispenser?

Any other cleaning tips you can reccomend?

This is a great washer!

Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 11, 2013
Hello Edison,

Thank you for choosing the GE Adora Top Load Washer model # GHWN8355DMC.

Yes, the Tide Washing Machine cleaner shoud be used in the Basket Clean Cycle. On washer models that do not offer a Basket Clean cycle, it is recommended to add to the bottom.

The BasketClean cycle is used for cleaning the basket of residue and odor. The washer will fill with hot water and use more water, in addtion to cleaner or bleach to control the rate at which soils and detergents may accumulate in your washer. It is recommended to use at least once a month.

This is a beautiful washer. Enjoy!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How tall is the GE ghwn835ws washing machine with the door up?

Asked by
DWP
El Cajon, CA
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
June 3, 2013
I would like to know how much room I need for the cabinets above.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 3, 2013
Hello DWP,

Thank you for your interest in the beautiful GE Adora Top Load washer model GHWN8355DMC.

That is a great question. The total height with the lid up is 60" . The height including the
backsplash control area is 44.5". I

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the GE Adora holds a king size blanket

Asked by
bambi
fleming island, florida
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
May 20, 2013
I have a family that consist of 6, two adults and four kids, one kid being a teenager. is this machine capable of washing lots of clothes at one time? I now have the older machine that I have to wash ten loads if I miss a day or two. my whole day is washing clothes, will it cut my time in washing?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 21, 2013
Hello Bambi,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Adora 4.8 cu. ft. DOE Top Load Washer model # GHWN8355DMC.

4.8 cubic ft does offer a very large tub size. Yes, it will hold a King size blanket.

The GE Company has avoided the use of pounds as a rating system for washer capacity because a washer is not limited in practical terms by the weight of clothes it can wash. It is limited by the volume of clothes that can be put in the machine. Example: one down comforter might fill up the entire machine but weigh very little, while blue jeans are heavier but a smaller load. GE has chosen not to use lbs. as a measurement of basket capacity because there is no industry standard. Just stuffing a big load into the washer is only part of the story. After the clothes get in there, they have to wash clean.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the lid lock during cycles or can the lid be opened...on adora top loader

Asked by
Susan
hd413 phoenix,az
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
February 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BCrouse
Atlanta, GA, USA
February 24, 2013
It locks, although if you pause the cycle the lid will instantly unlock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
February 25, 2013
Hello Susan,

Thank you for your question on the GE Adora Top Load washer model # GHWN8355DMC.
This is a beautiful washer!

There is not a lid lock on the washer but the lid should not be opened once the washer is started.

Precise Fill allows the washer to determine the optimum water required to wash the items in the basket. Precise Fill senses the load during the water filling portion of the cycle to determine how much water is needed.

To use this option properly, follow proper loading instructions and the lid must be kept clothes during the cycle. If the lid is lifted, it will default to the lowest water level.

Should you have additional questions, please let us know.

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Engineer
Kentucky
July 3, 2013
Yes, the lid does lock. This is required do to safety. Once you press the start button the unit will apply a short burst of water. This is to sort of warn if a kid was to get into the washer to hide they would have the opportunity to get out. If the unit does not lock (ie, the lock malfunctions) the unit will not fill or spin but the basket will rotate. You must place unit into pause to open the lid and this can be done at any point. Just to warn you that will add time to the cycle. The unit will have to determine if garments have been added or removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I recently purchased a GE 4.8 DOE top load washer - does it have a 'tank' for me to add detergent to or must I add detergent before each cycle?

Asked by
Allison
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
January 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 29, 2013
Hello Allison,

Thank you for your interest in the GE Adora Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon model # GHWN8355DMC.

The washer does not feature an automatic detergent dispenser. The detergent must be added at the beginning of wash cycle.

This is a beautiful washer!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Thanks, Donna, only problem is that it looks like the 1950's....are there any with the "newer look" that are 4.0 cu ft or more?????

Asked by
Roberta
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
December 5, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 5, 2012
Hello Roberta,

Unfortunately, the smaller cubic foot washers do not offer the see through glass lid.

Thank you for considering GE!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I control the water level (small to large)on the GE Adora 4.8 cu ft.DOE top load? If not,what is brand of the large. wash. where I can set it ?

Asked by
Roberta
about Adora 4.8 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in Metallic Carbon, ENERGY STAR on
December 3, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
December 4, 2012
Hello Roberta

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the GE washers.

The GE Adora Top Load washer model # GHWN8355DMC offers PreciseFill Auto-Load Sensing which will automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water.

I would recommend to consider a model that offer s a Manual fill water level selections along with Precise Fill. Please look at model GTWN5250D.

I hope this helps!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DJFOX390
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
September 12, 2013
No, there is no option for this. I have the same problem, not enough water. GE should refund peoples money and take this one back to the drawing board. It is terrible.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1