Looking for Answers about LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Style is top priority in our newest top-load washer, and it shows from every sleek point of view. The easy front control panel is placed at the front of the washer for quick operation. The bright LED display makes it a breeze to enter washing settings with accuracy. And with its ultra-large 4.3 cu. ft. capacity, the inside story is just as impressive. Count on the washing performance and energy efficiency of ColdWash technology. And count on real dependability, thanks to LG’s Direct Drive Motor 10 Year Warranty. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLE1101W or Gas Dryer model DLG1102W.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions
 | 
254 Answers
Overall rating:
4.585 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Question

Can you override the auto water level in order to soak items?

Asked by
Washerlady
Concord,nh
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 24, 2013
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
February 25, 2013
This model comes with a Soak option, but there is no override for the water level.
Thank you. We appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SueB
Crystal Lake, IL
March 2, 2013
Yes. You can either pick the auto sensing cycles or you can over-ride them and pick whatever you want. There is a soak cycle on this machine. It's very easy to use. It comes with a book, a quick guide but even without that it's very easy to follow the buttons on the front.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
not sure if this will address your question specifically, but there is a "SOAK" button you can press. I haven't used it yet, but the directions say that "it helps remove stains by adding a soak time before the end of the cycle. the cycle time will increase by 30 min. The agitation of the washer will be weaker during a soak cycle." Hope that helps!
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
Yes,you can hit "pause" and it will stop and click to open (it locks when you start it and lid can't be opened until you hit pause or stop.) Then you can reset it to anything, even start over, or add softener to the tray etc. Or change your mind about the cycle you chose, or add more clothes.

You don't have to override it, however, to soak items, it has a setting just for soak.
It has a setting for extra rinse too, or if you just want to rinse out a delicate item, you can select "rinse and spin only". And there is a delicate cycle. Never seen so many options. I like to experiment to see what different settings actually do.
I like the machine, except for the long cycles (you can select "quick" cycle) and the tub is so deep I had to get a stool to stand on to reach down there! But I don't have to do nearly as much laundry anymore...it will do a very large load.
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
You sure can't. You have no control of the water level. The machine shakes side-to-side to gauge how much water to put in there and it fills by itself. If you add more clothes after the wash has started, it does the same thing and adds more water accordingly.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
March 20, 2013
There is an option for "Soak" but you cannot manually set the water level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
You can add Soak to the cycle as a 'Special Use' but it does not override the auto water level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
There is a "soak" feature that adds 30 minutes to any of the regular cycles. However, I don't think you can just shut it off to soak things indefinitely, as it automatically drains after being off for 4 minutes as a safety feature.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
March 25, 2013
There is a "soak" setting. If you use this setting, it increases your wash time 30 minutes.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
July 27, 2013
There is a "soak" choice in the cycle selection. I haven't used it so can't say about the water level.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Dave
Indiana, USA
October 1, 2013
The machine has a soak cycle.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When you lean over to get clothes out of the tub, does your body touch the controls? Hate to purchase without seeing it first.

Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
13 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Char
March 11, 2013
Hi. You might touch the buttons but nothing will happen until you turn the machine on... so, I load the machine and then turn it on and make my selections on the pad. When it is done, the control pad is off again.. so even if you touch, no selections are made. Make sense? I haven't had any issues.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
a valid concern - but you have to push in with a little pressure to change anything. And you can only push the buttons once you've pushed the "start" button, so when you lean over to get the clothes, the machine is essentially OFF. They make it very easy to operate. I've included a pic - see, even cats think it's neat! :-)
Also, even though this machine is not on a pedestal like the front loading HEM's, it does have a deeper drum. I'm quite tall (5'10") and it's a bit of a reach for me - but not uncomfortable. If I had to lean down to unload a front loader, it would make my back hurt a lot!
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
Not a problem...during the wash you pause the machine to unlock the lid and the controls are disabled and they are also disabled when the cycle is finished. You can't accidently change the settings or start the machine by leaning over the controls...I'm short, I know.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SueB
Crystal Lake, IL
March 2, 2013
The front panel is smooth and this is a none issue. If you are short you may have a problem reaching to the bottom of the basket because it is quite deep. I'm 5'9" and can reach it with no problem.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
Don't worry, I had to almost climb in to reach down there... Leaning on the touch panel/ controls does nothing. If it is running, you can't even open it. Once it starts to wash, the control panel can't be changed (if you have toddlers they can't reach up and change the settings. No knobs, no buttons to interest them.. it's a touch panel... And it is locked from accidentally changing it until you hit pause or stop or the cycle is finished. Then it clicks open and you can make changes then.

If it is off, it won't do anything because you have to turn on power to get it to do anything. So you can lean on it or climb in like I did until I had to get a stool to stand on to reach down into the giant stainless steel tub. LOVE IT!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LuminaBella
Dana Point, CA, USA
March 27, 2013
It depends on how tall you are- I'm 5 foot even and my body does touch the controls although they have never been activated this way. I've started using a step stool to make getting the last of the clothes out easier and this also solved the body touching controls issue as well.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Sandy
Birmingham, Alabama
March 13, 2013
I am 5'7" and yes, I hang over the side, but have not had a problem with the buttons on the front. Probably, because you do not actually press the buttons as they are smooth and you must apply individual pressure to each button to program the wash.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Kal9
March 4, 2013
Sometimes...have had mine for 3 weeks...has not been an issue. Bought mine sight unseen as well so I understand your hesitation. No regrets here.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
auntieannie
February 9, 2014
Great question,very valid concern. I am 5'4 and have to lean over quite a bit to get to the bottom clothes. ( I look at it as a great stretching exercise). I touch the dial with my body but never turned anything on or off. I love this machine, it's stylish, quiet and has a cute little melody when it's done. Go for it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
Yes, but the washing machine automatically turns itself off when the load is done. Also, even if it was on and you touched the controls, the pressure from your body is not enough to do anything. You need to push it with your finger. Nothing happens on the washer until you push the play button anyway, so you can press all of the buttons, but unless you shut the lid and press play- it won't do anything.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Yes, I am 5'6" and still touch controls but they never get pushed per say because machine cuts off after load is complete and you have to push power button in order for other buttons to work. power button is to far to right for your body to touch. It also has a child lock feature that will not let you push any other buttons at all till you turn the child lock off.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
January 25, 2014
Being only 5 foot tall, I have to use a stool to reach clothes. My body probably touches the controls, but does not press them and the on off button is not nearby.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
February 19, 2013
Depends how tall you are.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this large enough to wash a king size comforter?

Asked by
Susan
Florida
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 25, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
giordi
July 26, 2013
Absolutely. My king size comforter takes up only about half of the tub. It's not so much that the tub is huge. It's that there is so much more space for clothes without the agitator.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimB
Elgin, IL, USA
June 25, 2013
Yes, I washed my king size comforter and It came out clean and smelling nice after hanging out. This was a priority for me and it performed great< I did stay nearby to adjust the load when it went unbalanced, but no big deal.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
I guess that is going to depend on the density or thickness of the comforter. But I have washed two different king size quilts (separately, of course) with no issues at all. One is a king size to-the-floor bedspread that is at least half the thickness of a down comforter.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
Absolutely! I probably have to wash 1-2 per week as I have potty training kids.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
Yes, I have washed my king size comforter and it came out fine. Make sure you load it in the machine evenly around the tub. Do not cover the bottom center of the machine when you place the comforter in there.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
August 1, 2013
Yes
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
Yes, it is pretty large. It has a bulky/bedding setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
I haven't tried mine, but I am fairly confident it will...confident enough that I won't hesitate to try it!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Rollo
Texas, USA
July 12, 2013
I would think so, as it is very large in capacity.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
Yes!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a hot/warm water setting, or just cold water wash?

Asked by
mitva
95425
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
March 25, 2013
Yes, you can wash clothes in any of the following settings: hot, warm, ecowarm, cold, and tap cold.
But, all rinses are cold. I use the "warm" wash setting for most clothes.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
There is a hot water setting, but you can't choose hot water for all of the cycles, which is a bummer. Some of the cycles are restricting, meaning you can only choose certain water temperatures. There's hot, cold, warm & eco-warm.
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
March 20, 2013
Wash temp has 5 settings (Hot --> Cold). Rinse temp is all cold water, no options there.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
there are default settings for each type of cycle, but you always have the option to override them and choose the water temp. you prefer. (hot, warm, eco-warm, cold, and "tap" cold)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
Plenty of hot/warm WASHING options, but only cold RINSING. I've not noticed this being a problem, but I know some people prefer warm/hot rinsing, too.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
Yes, there are warm and hot wash settings, but I believe all rinse cycles are cold.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
Yes, there are several temp levels: Hot, Warm, Eco Warm, Cold, and "Cold Wash" which takes a little longer, but utilizes cold water and a washing technique that is supposed to work as well as warm water, without the warm water.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
There are hot and warm watter washes. This machine is a little different in that it has temperature default settings based on the cycle selected, however, you can over ride them if you choose. Rinse is always cold water.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
Mitva 95425, There are 5 setting for water temperature. HOT, WARM, ECO WARM, COLD, TAP COLD. Those are your wash temperature setting, all of your rinse will be cold water rinse. The cycles on this machine are all preset for WARM water temp. You will manually have to change the temp setting if you want a hot/cold wash on a cycle that has a preset temp.
My personal preference is the TAP COLD. It uses less energy than the HOT and WARM settings. There is a cycle setting for Whites and the machine will automatically set up on a HOT water wash/cold water rinse, the cloths come out clean every time.
Good luck and I hope this response helps.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Not only is there hot, warm, cold; also: tap cold, & eco warm
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
there are several combinations to choose from, like hot wash, warm rinse:or warm wash, cool rinse:or
cold wash cold rinse and others.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is the lid handle vented?

Asked by
BD2M
Birmingham, Alabama
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 16, 2013
I am considering this model but am curious as to why the manufacturer designed a vent into the lid handle? My concern is that this unit would be installed in my laundry room under some cabinetry and any vented steam would have an adverse effect on the wood cabinet.

Owner comments appreciated.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
BD2M,
The vent is there so if you happen to leave a load of cloths in the washer longer than a day, Mildew will not build up in your machine or on your cloths. I live in FL, do not have wood cabinets, and use the white setting on the washer (HOT WASH/COLD RINSE). Never seen excess steam or moisture come out of the vent.
I also love the fact that when you are finished with your laundry, you have the ability to flip the handle back to air out the washer with out leaving the lid up. (see photos attached)
It's a great machine and I would recommend it anyone... a great purchase.
Good luck with what ever you choose.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
I wondered the same thing! I haven't had the experience of steam coming out of the vent. We have storage on top of our washer and nothing has seemed to be affected by it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
I've not noticed any steam coming from the handle. And I would assume your cabinetry would be high enough that the top can open all the way, so even if there was steam, I would guess there would be plenty of room for it to dissipate before hitting the bottom of the cabinets - just a guess, though!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
I don't think you would have any problem at all. We love the fold back lid - keeps tub fresh when not in use.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
The "vent" on the top of the lid is simply to dry out any moisture left in the tub AFTER washing is complete. You do not have to leave it open all the time. The lid should be locked when the machine is washing; therefore, "steam" will not be coming out of your washer through the vent. After cycles are complete and you take the clothes of the machine, you can unlock the vent acess and leave it open, or simply leave it closed.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
viking628
Branchburg, NJ
February 15, 2014
The lid handle is vented to permit air circulation to dry the tub and eliminate potential odors that could arise. Since the warmest temperature you could possibly use is about 125 degrees (the same temperature as your faucet hot water), steam should not be an issue. As a note, look at washers with agitators and they all have a gap at the hand hold for the very same reason. A plus for the LG is that the handle can be unlocked and used to prop the entire lid open, which does an even better job of air drying the tub.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LGAnswers
April 18, 2013
I see what you mean, and I reconfirmed with tech support, there is NO vent on top of the unit.
Thank you for your question! Have a great day!
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
JerryZ
Campbell, Ohio
April 20, 2013
I do not notice any steam.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you wash waterproof items such as mattress pads, water repllent jackets?

Asked by
Evon
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LuminaBella
Dana Point, CA, USA
March 27, 2013
No, the manual specifically states not to do this. This washer spins extremely fast when removing water and also spins during the wash cycle to push wash water through the fibers. Waterproof and resistant items will inhibit this and may result in an imbalance causing excessive vibration,noise and could damge the machine. I have a WT1101C
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX
February 9, 2013
No, the instructions state specifically no waterproof items.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
February 19, 2013
Instructions explicitly state "No Waterproof items".
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
auntieannie
February 9, 2014
Washed three of my down jackets, they are water repellant. Washed them on a delicate cycle in warm water, paused the machine a couple of times to push the jackets down into the water, pushed the ''extra water' option, had a short spin cycle to be gentle on the down, they came out beautiful. I dryed them in my new lg gas dyer companion to this washer model, with two tennis balls on low heat. Had to run two manual drying cycles to get the down dry and had to manually fluff the jackets after they were dry.They ended up looking like NEW, very pleased. Don't know about rubberized items.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Char
March 11, 2013
I haven't tried yet but I noticed other machines had labels that said you couldn't and this one did not have that label. I am guessing you can but be prepared, as with any washer for some water to get trapped inside the mattress pad... which just means you have to ring it out before you put it in the dryer. I have washed waterproof stuff in a front loader before and it just has a hard time getting all the water out sometimes. If you are ok with that, then you should be ok with this washer.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
No. The machine has a label on it that says these items cannot be washed in it.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
NO, instructions state no waterproof items should be washed in this washer.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
No. The instructions declare no waterfproof items
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
No, you cannot wash any waterproof items. The manual says no, although it doesn't give you a reason as to why. That seems like a common thing with newer, HE top-loader washers.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
No, the instructions say not to and I assume that goes for tennis shoes too.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
NO
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Slider
MN
August 27, 2013
It is not recommended to wash or spin water-proof or water-resistant items even if it the label says it's fine.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What happen if the load is to heavy?

Asked by
John
Alberta
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 19, 2013
I am wondering about the max capacity
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
The owner's manual suggests that 20 lbs is the maximum load. I've washed a quilted king size cotton bedspread in mine with beautiful results.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
I don't believe there is a "weight" shut-off. I have packed my unit to the brim and have had no problems. The most likely issue will be an "unbalanced" tub. When this happens, the machine pauses, beeps, and waits for you to adjust the load distribution and then you hit the resume button and it starts back up.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
I have washed king comforters and they came out fine. You just cannot load clothes above the top of the tub. l don't know the weight capacity. But, if the load is too heavy or not loaded correctly.the machine will stop spinning and a warning light will come on. You will need to re-arrange the items in the washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
John, The machine is designed to adjust to any size load. When you use the proper settings/cycles you should be able to load your washer. The manual says to not go past 1/2 way above the drum. I've done two sets of sheets in one load and it was half way up the drum. I used the Bedding cycle the first time I washed two sets of sheets and the machine had an error indicator on it. I changed the load cycle to the heavy duty cycle and no more errors. The max number of jeans I will wash is 8 pairs.
I hope this helps you!! Good luck with your new washer :)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
We've never reached max capacity in this washer ! It will take very big loads and even has a cycle for heavy bedding. You could easily wash a king comforter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
sha4146
Glendale, AZ, USA
June 20, 2013
It will give you an error code.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What will happen if you use "regular" and NOT "HE" detergent?

Asked by
g
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
August 2, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
You might be able to use regular detergent, if you add water to the detergent before you put it in the machine. I think regular detergent is too thick and might stop up the dispenser. Not sure, but I think your warranty is void, if you do not use "HE" detergent. You might check the information in your instruction booklet. I gave my regular detergent away when I purchased my new washer and only use "HE". You will find that you will use very little "HE" detergent to wash your clothes. I don't have to purchase detergent nearly as often since I started using "HE". I love my new washer. It not only saves money on detergent, but also on water. You don't have to guess on the water level. The washer uses only the amount of water needed for each load.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Slider
MN
August 27, 2013
Regular detergent will suds up more and will coat the inside of your machine. After time that film will make your clothes smell and will interfere with the spin cycle and draining of water from your washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LGAnswers
August 2, 2013
It may damage sensors and/or other parts of your new laundry unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
Clothes will not be as clean because it won't rinse as well and it will leave a residue on the tub and maybe clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RobertR
Reno, NV, USA
August 14, 2013
If you use the regular detergent, you'll get more suds. To help with this, just use a second rinse/spin cycle instead of just one. Also, don't use the regular soap when you are doing a very large load as you do run the risk of the suds coming out of the top of the machine. Any medium size load or less with an additional rinse cycle and you'll be just fine. I know because I had the same question because I had just bought a large amount of 'regular' soap before my washer was delivered.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
I've only used HE but I understand from others that non HE detergents leave a film on your clothes.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
Too many suds. There are many websites that discuss how to minimize the suds, e.g., use only a tablespoon or so of non-HE detergent per load.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How does it wash delicates such as bras, blouses, and sweaters?

Asked by
Cor5
ohio
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LastOstrogoth
Bonney Lake WA
January 23, 2014
Being a man I don't have any of those types of clothing. However, I am an avid cyclist and cycling clothing is very expensive and needs to be either handwashed or on a delicate cycle. I have washed my cycling clothes every week since I bought the washer and have found it to be very gentle, but also gets the items perfectly clean.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
I found with the small loads, unless I put a towel or a few other heavier things in, I get an error code and it won't continue on until I adjust the load. With large loads it is awesome. It is easy on clothes, since it doesn't have a wringer in it. Clothes come out very wrinkle free.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN, USA
January 23, 2014
My bras and sweaters are handled well in this machine. I really like the fact that they don't come out disfigured like they would in my old machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Suzanne
Sierra Madre
March 4, 2014
There is a delicate setting that works very well. You can also adjust the water temperature.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I have not tried just a delicate load but have put certain things in it that were "hand wash" and they came out fine. It does not agitate like a regular washer, it's much more gentle. I was very surprised that the heavier clothes would come out clean as well and the delicate, but it does.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Gentle washing action does not cause any problems for delicates
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
Yes, the delicate cycle is truly that. This machine is much better at that than my last one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
luvsrivers
Pasadena, CA
January 23, 2014
It washes all kinds of washable items without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
January 24, 2014
Very well. Use delicate cycle if you are in doubt. I wash them on regular cycle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Slapshot98
Greand Rapids, MI
January 26, 2014
It actually washes them quite well, since it has so many cycle options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
LGAnswers
January 3, 2014
It washes thorough and gently.
Here are two informative videos about LG Top Load Washers:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5so5DyopIRI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBZP7zpVwUo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is your shortest cycle.

Asked by
eva
chicago
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
giordi
July 26, 2013
Spin Only = 13 minutes
Rinse + Spin = 24 Minutes
Speed Wash = 35 minutes
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
July 26, 2013
The speed wash setting is 35 min.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
July 27, 2013
There is a "speed wash" for lightly soiled clothes that is 35 minutes. I believe that is the shortest choice.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
35 minutes
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I have not had a speedy cycle but it does have a speed wash cycle. Does not say how long it is (it's for a quick, lightly soiled load). Normal load is about 1 hour so speed wash should be much less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
August 1, 2013
Permanent press is about 57 min
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Dave
Indiana, USA
October 1, 2013
Speed Wash cycle is 35 min.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the modified efficiency factor (MEF)? is it 2.2 or greater? and what is the water factor (MF)? is it 4.5 or greater?

Asked by
m
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 23, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
March 25, 2013
MEF - It indicates how many cubic feet of laundry can be washed and dried with one kWh of electricity; the HIGHER the number, the greater the efficiency.

WF - a LOWER number indicates lower consumption and more efficient use of water.

MEF: 2.56
WF: 3.82
= CEE Tier 3 (most efficient model category)

Thank you. We appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
I do not know. However, this appliance is both Energy Star compliant and CEE (Consortium for Energy Efficiency) Tier III-rated. This tier compliments the Energy Star qualification and has been applied based on the Modified Energy Factor (MEF) and the Water Factor (WF) for a given product, as supplied by the manufacturer. Energy Star and CEE Tier III ratings indicate that the appliance will save you the most in terms of electricity and water use. This washer is both.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the front part of the lid unlock and collapse?

Asked by
Jordan
FL
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 7, 2013
Just wondering why the front 3 inches of the lid unlocks and folds .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
So any moisture in the tub can evaporate.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alangski
Champlin, MN, USA
September 30, 2013
This will allow the inside of the tub to dry while the lid is closed.(this area is a vent)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
R6789
September 17, 2013
It unlocks and folds to allow for venting of the wash drum, if you do not unlock and vent, be sure to leave the lid open to prevent foul smells from accumulating in the drum.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RCLO
Lutherville, MD
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2013
I previously answered this question without going back to look at my washing machine. I was surprised to see the "collapsible" feature on the lid. I now believe that the feature, when collapsed, allows the lid to be fully shut, while still providing a relatively large opening for the interior to vent and dry. Sorry for my earlier, incorrect response.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JoeJ
Dunwoody, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2014
The handle is vented just below the grip so there is always some airflow. I believe Jordan is referring to the two little manual slide latches. (not the lid lock that you hear engage & disengage at the beginning and end of the cycle). I assumed that this feature allows a little more space to grab the lid handle in tight quarters - possible avoiding skinned knuckles or pinched fingers if you have over the washer cabinets. If it's not in locked position, you still have to hold it forward so it is i the same position as extended by time it is closed all the way or the safety Lid locking mechanism (as opposed to the handle lock) can't engage. While the owners manual does tell you how to slide the little locks - it doesn't explain why you might want to (manufacturer might want to call out that feature.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RDT1234
April 15, 2014
the lid unlocks and folds back so that you can air out the machine without having the lid fully opened. allows the machine to dry out and maintain a fresh smell. if you close the lid right after removing the wash it takes longer for the tub to dry and it summer heat can create a musty smell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
It doesn't. The lid simply closes and locks (when power is turned on). The lid unlocks when the on-off switch is pressed again or when the cycle finishes. Nothing folds or collapses.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Curious, whats the most bath sized towels that you have washed in this model?

Asked by
2knoxs
Spring, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
November 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
happywasher
November 30, 2013
We do 7 large bath towels, plus a bunch of handtowels and washcloths at once. I can do sheets from 5 beds in one load, easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Its huge dont worry about it. I dont know the number but I run this half as often as the old one cause it holds twice as much.. I dont have a count though.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Clean1
Hampton, VA
January 23, 2014
The most I have washed at once is six but they were heavy bath towels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Malialaine
New Orleans, LA, USA
December 10, 2013
5
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
KennethCityMom
Kenneth City, FL
December 14, 2013
Six. I wouldn't do more than six.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
UNIQUE
Lynn, MA, USA
December 27, 2013
20 towels
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Have washed from small to very large beach towels. Because there is no agitator the whole tub is available for dirty clothes/towels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Don5512
Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
16 bath towels. I like the washer except it constantly goes out of balance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
luvsrivers
January 23, 2014
I've never counted the towels, but it is a large capacity washer. I can put a large comforter and a couple of blankets in one load without any problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
I've washed about 8 towels in this machine with plenty of room left over.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
ingolfsa
Atlanta, GA
January 24, 2014
I've washed six full-sized bath towels, and probably could have fit up to eight. It does caution against loads that are too large, although I've never had any trouble with even my largest loads.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Slapshot98
January 26, 2014
We just line the edge with them until the machine looks full. No problem for the machine, just make sure your dryer has good capacity
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The lid of the machine touch my cabinets on top when it opens. Is there any adjusments on the bottom to make it shorter? Want to buy it but too tall

Asked by
Litz
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX
May 24, 2013
There are no adjustments. I had to install it further out from the wall to fit under my cabinets but it still fits with enough room in the util room. The cabinet door opens to less than 1/4" above the lid.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
Golly, I don't know of any adjustments to make machine lower. Hope you can figure something out, because you will simply LOVE your machine, if it works out for you. Because the tub is so deep, the lid really needs to open all the way up, so you can reach down to get your clothes out without bumping your head on the lid. Sorry I couldn't solve your problem, You might contact the manufacturer, LG, and they will probably be able to answer your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
August 1, 2013
Nope
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
You might be able to remove the adjustable feet, but then you couldn't level the machine easily, if needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Suzanne
Sierra Madre
March 4, 2014
We pulled our washer out so that the lid was able to stay open. Not the best solution but it worked and the washer if great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
The only adjustments is the leveling legs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is Hydro Shield? It is labled on both the washer and dryer.

Asked by
Debbie
Bulverde, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Familyman
February 11, 2014
It protects the control panel from spills. It is basicaly a layer of plastic.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viking628
Branchburg, NJ
February 15, 2014
Hydroshield is the water protective covering on the digital control panel.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
UNIQUE
Lynn, MA, USA
December 27, 2013
HydroShield Quality Assurance Program protects your structure from water ingress with sound design guidance, quality waterproofing products, proper installation, as well as qualified independent inspection programs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
1HappyCamper
Portage, IN, USA
April 9, 2014
Hydro shield is referring to the control panel basically meaning its waterproof and spill proof. Since the controls are on the front of the washer water or soap could damage the electronics these controls are protected "Hydro shield".

Smart drum,
When the drum senses that the load is unbalanced. To rectify the situation, it adds some water to the drum to help spread out the load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LGAnswers
October 7, 2013
My apologies, I am not finding "Hydro Shield" specified on either page (washer / dryer), please feel free to contact LG Live Chat https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support or call LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

from the pictures the drum looks the same as other WAVE machines but this one doens not advertise being a WAVE machine is it?

Asked by
aw
wisconsin
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
April 2, 2013
Hello, you are right this model is very effective but it uses different methods and is not categorized as wave force model. Thank you, have a lovely day!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Yes! The drum may look like the same size but it handles loads like it is huge!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX
April 5, 2013
I do not think it is.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much space is needed (minimum) behind the machine for installation? The hose bibs are off to the side, so only fo the drain pipe and water hoses.

Asked by
Joed
Los Angeles
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
December 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
December 16, 2013
The minimum installation clearance behind the unit: 4"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
You'll need only about 4" of clearance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
UNIQUE
Lynn, MA, USA
December 27, 2013
Half a body size
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Approx five inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LastOstrogoth
Bonney Lake, WA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
I would estimate 5" would be sufficient given the bend in the water hoses.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
vze1ptnr
Newport NH
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
6" clearance behind washer is plenty. That way the washer can breathe out the back.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
LOHouston
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
6"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Malialaine
New Orleans, LA
January 23, 2014
Mine is installed 4 inches from the furthest point in the center of the back.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
January 24, 2014
about 12 inches, just enough to fit hoses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
It said 4 & 11/16 " (less than 5 inches)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use the pod detergents?

Asked by
Mary
Granbury Texas
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Suzanne
Sierra Madre
March 4, 2014
We use the pod detergent from Costco. (Kirkland brand). It is very highly rated and works great. When we had a very large load we decided to use two. Don't do it. It creates too much soap. Our clothes are always clean with 1.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 16, 2014
Hi Mary, yes you can use the POD detergents. Several manufactures of detergents have made POD for use in the HE washers.

Just make sure the detergent package states this is for use with HE washing machines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sandyroamer
Va
January 21, 2014
I have used HE pods without a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
As long as the pod is one designated as HE, then you can use them. Your instructions will tell you how to add them to your wash.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Don5512
Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No. Liquid (preferred) or powder.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RCLO
January 23, 2014
No. The detergent has to fit in a small drawer that gets doused with water. A POD won't work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Not sure as I use the detergent dispensers that come within the machine. Works well this way as you can't overload with too much detergent.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Yes, you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
mnrman
New Jersey
March 5, 2014
Yes, as long as it is for HE machines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
The instructions are either liquid or powdered. You do have to use "HE" only detergents because the others cause too much suds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
MsDee
April 15, 2014
Yes. Just make sure its HE and simply just drop it into the load with your clothes. You may use one or two depending on the size of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Banging/Thurmping Noise

Asked by
KAMProperties
Athens, GA
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
November 16, 2013
My tenant just bought one & had the store install it. He says it is making a loud banging or thumping noise every so many minutes during it's cycle. Not sure why he thinks it's the landlords responsibility, but I am here trying to look into it for him. Any ideas on what the issue/cause/problem might be? Any help would be MUCH appreciated!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
AGH4
December 27, 2013
Are you sure they are loading the clothes around the parameter? You can't just throw them in, you need to line the parameter and make sure you do not cover the water jet in the bottom.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Daibhidh
Georgia
December 7, 2013
If it is doing this on a consistent basis (meaning with most every cycle and not just with heavy loads), my guess would be the load-leveling function that it performs through the cycles. This involves a "swishing" of the tub to help distribute the load evenly; however, while this is more audible than most functions for this machine, I wouldn't classify it as "loud" or "banging" - maybe "thumping" is best due it's back-and-forth action during this function.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
One cause could be an improperly-leveled machine, causing the drum to thump when spinning. (The drum spins during the wash cycle, as well as the spin cycle.) Check that the drum is centered visually and use a small level on the drum to check levelness. Check all four legs to ensure they're touching the floor and the machine doesn't rock.
A second cause could be the hoses banging against the wall (or something else) when the water turns on and off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
I have put wet towels into the machine and it caused loud thumping noise for awhile until machine settled and adjusted the load. Under normal conditions the machine does not make loud thumping noise. Make sure the machine is level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LOHouston
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No idea. Mine makes NO sound. You can barely hear it running. Tell him to use the dial in diagnostics. You hold the phone up to the machine and it will tell you what is wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I would think that the machine isn't level or the load isn't level (but the machine tries to level the load itself so that should not be the problem unless it is giving a code on the machine). I would call the store and have them come back out. That is not a normal sound for the regular wash cycles
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LGAnswers
November 22, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your inconvenience.

Please contact LG Live Chat https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support or call LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000 for questions regarding the functioning of the washer.

Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
MsDee
April 15, 2014
Make sure its leveled.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many gallons of water does this washer use?

Asked by
happymom
SC
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
auntieannie
February 9, 2014
I have not seen this information in the manual, would be good to know how much water it uses for each cycle and weight. When I first got the machine,I put in a full load and saw that clothes were still partially DRY in the middle of the cycle, I felt uncomfortable and rightly so, the clothes had not been cleaned well but he end of the cycle. I ran another cycle and pushed the button for extra water, which is one of the options, and the clothes came out very well. I don't know how many gallons are added using the 'extra water' option. I am still experimenting. My sense is, if anything, this machine does not use ENOUGH water on some of the cycles, again, cannot give you an actual gallon figure.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
September 9, 2013
This washer has a water sensor; it uses the amount of water that it needs. Though I don't have exact figures, I can tell you that compared to my old top loader we are seeing an increased savings in water use!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dave
Indiana, USA
October 1, 2013
A lot less than my old agitator. It will vary with the amount of clothing in the tub. My first impression was there was not enough to wash the clothes, until I saw the results.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
NicolefromTN
February 4, 2014
The washer adjusts the water after you put your load in. You never choose the size of your load, it will sense the weight and adjust the water for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
It does not say but it uses very little water compared to a regular washer. In fact, I didn't think the clothes would come out clean with such little water but they do. If I had to guess, I would say around 2 gallons or less. Don't know how it cleans but it does. Amount of water is based on the weight of the clothes (machine weighs them and determines how much water is needed).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
CleanFreaks
Sugar Land, TX, USA
March 15, 2014
As the machine calibrates for the dry load weight and cycle selection is how the water usage is determined. Keep in mind when you select 'bulky/heavy' cycle the wash tub fills to its max to accommodate for the cycle selected and not so much on the dry weight. It has washed our King Size coverlet without any problem, no 'off-balance' issues. Ran like a champ.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »