Looking for Answers about LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR?

Customer questions and answers for
LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Style is top priority in our newest top-load washer, and it shows from every sleek point of view. The easy front control panel is placed at the front of the washer for quick operation. The bright LED display makes it a breeze to enter washing settings with accuracy. And with its ultra-large 4.3 cu. ft. capacity, the inside story is just as impressive. Count on the washing performance and energy efficiency of ColdWash technology. And count on real dependability, thanks to LG’s Direct Drive Motor 10 Year Warranty. Search matching Electric Dryer Model DLE1101W or Gas Dryer model DLG1102W.
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions
 | 
332 Answers
Overall rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for LG Electronics 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Question

When you lean over to get clothes out of the tub, does your body touch the controls? Hate to purchase without seeing it first.

Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Char
March 11, 2013
Hi. You might touch the buttons but nothing will happen until you turn the machine on... so, I load the machine and then turn it on and make my selections on the pad. When it is done, the control pad is off again.. so even if you touch, no selections are made. Make sense? I haven't had any issues.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
a valid concern - but you have to push in with a little pressure to change anything. And you can only push the buttons once you've pushed the "start" button, so when you lean over to get the clothes, the machine is essentially OFF. They make it very easy to operate. I've included a pic - see, even cats think it's neat! :-)
Also, even though this machine is not on a pedestal like the front loading HEM's, it does have a deeper drum. I'm quite tall (5'10") and it's a bit of a reach for me - but not uncomfortable. If I had to lean down to unload a front loader, it would make my back hurt a lot!
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SueB
Crystal Lake, IL
March 2, 2013
The front panel is smooth and this is a none issue. If you are short you may have a problem reaching to the bottom of the basket because it is quite deep. I'm 5'9" and can reach it with no problem.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
Don't worry, I had to almost climb in to reach down there... Leaning on the touch panel/ controls does nothing. If it is running, you can't even open it. Once it starts to wash, the control panel can't be changed (if you have toddlers they can't reach up and change the settings. No knobs, no buttons to interest them.. it's a touch panel... And it is locked from accidentally changing it until you hit pause or stop or the cycle is finished. Then it clicks open and you can make changes then.

If it is off, it won't do anything because you have to turn on power to get it to do anything. So you can lean on it or climb in like I did until I had to get a stool to stand on to reach down into the giant stainless steel tub. LOVE IT!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
Not a problem...during the wash you pause the machine to unlock the lid and the controls are disabled and they are also disabled when the cycle is finished. You can't accidently change the settings or start the machine by leaning over the controls...I'm short, I know.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LuminaBella
Dana Point, CA, USA
March 27, 2013
It depends on how tall you are- I'm 5 foot even and my body does touch the controls although they have never been activated this way. I've started using a step stool to make getting the last of the clothes out easier and this also solved the body touching controls issue as well.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Sandy
Birmingham, Alabama
March 13, 2013
I am 5'7" and yes, I hang over the side, but have not had a problem with the buttons on the front. Probably, because you do not actually press the buttons as they are smooth and you must apply individual pressure to each button to program the wash.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Kal9
March 4, 2013
Sometimes...have had mine for 3 weeks...has not been an issue. Bought mine sight unseen as well so I understand your hesitation. No regrets here.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
auntieannie
February 9, 2014
Great question,very valid concern. I am 5'4 and have to lean over quite a bit to get to the bottom clothes. ( I look at it as a great stretching exercise). I touch the dial with my body but never turned anything on or off. I love this machine, it's stylish, quiet and has a cute little melody when it's done. Go for it.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Yes, I am 5'6" and still touch controls but they never get pushed per say because machine cuts off after load is complete and you have to push power button in order for other buttons to work. power button is to far to right for your body to touch. It also has a child lock feature that will not let you push any other buttons at all till you turn the child lock off.
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
January 25, 2014
Being only 5 foot tall, I have to use a stool to reach clothes. My body probably touches the controls, but does not press them and the on off button is not nearby.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
Yes, but the washing machine automatically turns itself off when the load is done. Also, even if it was on and you touched the controls, the pressure from your body is not enough to do anything. You need to push it with your finger. Nothing happens on the washer until you push the play button anyway, so you can press all of the buttons, but unless you shut the lid and press play- it won't do anything.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
Jeff
Colorado Springs
April 29, 2014
This not a problem for my wife or I, we are of average height.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
February 19, 2013
Depends how tall you are.
-5points
1out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you override the auto water level in order to soak items?

Asked by
Washerlady
Concord,nh
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 24, 2013
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
Yes,you can hit "pause" and it will stop and click to open (it locks when you start it and lid can't be opened until you hit pause or stop.) Then you can reset it to anything, even start over, or add softener to the tray etc. Or change your mind about the cycle you chose, or add more clothes.

You don't have to override it, however, to soak items, it has a setting just for soak.
It has a setting for extra rinse too, or if you just want to rinse out a delicate item, you can select "rinse and spin only". And there is a delicate cycle. Never seen so many options. I like to experiment to see what different settings actually do.
I like the machine, except for the long cycles (you can select "quick" cycle) and the tub is so deep I had to get a stool to stand on to reach down there! But I don't have to do nearly as much laundry anymore...it will do a very large load.
+8points
10out of 12found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LGAnswers
February 25, 2013
This model comes with a Soak option, but there is no override for the water level.
Thank you. We appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SueB
Crystal Lake, IL
March 2, 2013
Yes. You can either pick the auto sensing cycles or you can over-ride them and pick whatever you want. There is a soak cycle on this machine. It's very easy to use. It comes with a book, a quick guide but even without that it's very easy to follow the buttons on the front.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
not sure if this will address your question specifically, but there is a "SOAK" button you can press. I haven't used it yet, but the directions say that "it helps remove stains by adding a soak time before the end of the cycle. the cycle time will increase by 30 min. The agitation of the washer will be weaker during a soak cycle." Hope that helps!
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
You can add Soak to the cycle as a 'Special Use' but it does not override the auto water level.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
You sure can't. You have no control of the water level. The machine shakes side-to-side to gauge how much water to put in there and it fills by itself. If you add more clothes after the wash has started, it does the same thing and adds more water accordingly.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
March 20, 2013
There is an option for "Soak" but you cannot manually set the water level.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
There is a "soak" feature that adds 30 minutes to any of the regular cycles. However, I don't think you can just shut it off to soak things indefinitely, as it automatically drains after being off for 4 minutes as a safety feature.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
March 25, 2013
There is a "soak" setting. If you use this setting, it increases your wash time 30 minutes.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
July 27, 2013
There is a "soak" choice in the cycle selection. I haven't used it so can't say about the water level.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Dave
Indiana, USA
October 1, 2013
The machine has a soak cycle.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a hot/warm water setting, or just cold water wash?

Asked by
mitva
95425
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
There is a hot water setting, but you can't choose hot water for all of the cycles, which is a bummer. Some of the cycles are restricting, meaning you can only choose certain water temperatures. There's hot, cold, warm & eco-warm.
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
March 25, 2013
Yes, you can wash clothes in any of the following settings: hot, warm, ecowarm, cold, and tap cold.
But, all rinses are cold. I use the "warm" wash setting for most clothes.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
there are default settings for each type of cycle, but you always have the option to override them and choose the water temp. you prefer. (hot, warm, eco-warm, cold, and "tap" cold)
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
Mitva 95425, There are 5 setting for water temperature. HOT, WARM, ECO WARM, COLD, TAP COLD. Those are your wash temperature setting, all of your rinse will be cold water rinse. The cycles on this machine are all preset for WARM water temp. You will manually have to change the temp setting if you want a hot/cold wash on a cycle that has a preset temp.
My personal preference is the TAP COLD. It uses less energy than the HOT and WARM settings. There is a cycle setting for Whites and the machine will automatically set up on a HOT water wash/cold water rinse, the cloths come out clean every time.
Good luck and I hope this response helps.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
March 20, 2013
Wash temp has 5 settings (Hot --> Cold). Rinse temp is all cold water, no options there.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
Plenty of hot/warm WASHING options, but only cold RINSING. I've not noticed this being a problem, but I know some people prefer warm/hot rinsing, too.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
There are hot and warm watter washes. This machine is a little different in that it has temperature default settings based on the cycle selected, however, you can over ride them if you choose. Rinse is always cold water.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Not only is there hot, warm, cold; also: tap cold, & eco warm
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
Yes, there are warm and hot wash settings, but I believe all rinse cycles are cold.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
Yes, there are several temp levels: Hot, Warm, Eco Warm, Cold, and "Cold Wash" which takes a little longer, but utilizes cold water and a washing technique that is supposed to work as well as warm water, without the warm water.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
there are several combinations to choose from, like hot wash, warm rinse:or warm wash, cool rinse:or
cold wash cold rinse and others.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this large enough to wash a king size comforter?

Asked by
Susan
Florida
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 25, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JimB
Elgin, IL, USA
June 25, 2013
Yes, I washed my king size comforter and It came out clean and smelling nice after hanging out. This was a priority for me and it performed great< I did stay nearby to adjust the load when it went unbalanced, but no big deal.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
Absolutely! I probably have to wash 1-2 per week as I have potty training kids.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
giordi
July 26, 2013
Absolutely. My king size comforter takes up only about half of the tub. It's not so much that the tub is huge. It's that there is so much more space for clothes without the agitator.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
Yes, I have washed my king size comforter and it came out fine. Make sure you load it in the machine evenly around the tub. Do not cover the bottom center of the machine when you place the comforter in there.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
I guess that is going to depend on the density or thickness of the comforter. But I have washed two different king size quilts (separately, of course) with no issues at all. One is a king size to-the-floor bedspread that is at least half the thickness of a down comforter.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
August 1, 2013
Yes
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
Yes, it is pretty large. It has a bulky/bedding setting.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
KaraP
Apollo Beach, FL, USA
April 22, 2014
Yes! The tub is very large!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
I haven't tried mine, but I am fairly confident it will...confident enough that I won't hesitate to try it!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Rollo
Texas, USA
July 12, 2013
I would think so, as it is very large in capacity.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
Yes!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you wash waterproof items such as mattress pads, water repllent jackets?

Asked by
Evon
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
February 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LuminaBella
Dana Point, CA, USA
March 27, 2013
No, the manual specifically states not to do this. This washer spins extremely fast when removing water and also spins during the wash cycle to push wash water through the fibers. Waterproof and resistant items will inhibit this and may result in an imbalance causing excessive vibration,noise and could damge the machine. I have a WT1101C
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
auntieannie
February 9, 2014
Washed three of my down jackets, they are water repellant. Washed them on a delicate cycle in warm water, paused the machine a couple of times to push the jackets down into the water, pushed the ''extra water' option, had a short spin cycle to be gentle on the down, they came out beautiful. I dryed them in my new lg gas dyer companion to this washer model, with two tennis balls on low heat. Had to run two manual drying cycles to get the down dry and had to manually fluff the jackets after they were dry.They ended up looking like NEW, very pleased. Don't know about rubberized items.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX
February 9, 2013
No, the instructions state specifically no waterproof items.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX, USA
February 19, 2013
Instructions explicitly state "No Waterproof items".
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Char
March 11, 2013
I haven't tried yet but I noticed other machines had labels that said you couldn't and this one did not have that label. I am guessing you can but be prepared, as with any washer for some water to get trapped inside the mattress pad... which just means you have to ring it out before you put it in the dryer. I have washed waterproof stuff in a front loader before and it just has a hard time getting all the water out sometimes. If you are ok with that, then you should be ok with this washer.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
April 2, 2013
No. The machine has a label on it that says these items cannot be washed in it.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
No, you cannot wash any waterproof items. The manual says no, although it doesn't give you a reason as to why. That seems like a common thing with newer, HE top-loader washers.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
NO, instructions state no waterproof items should be washed in this washer.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
marcy
Clearwater, FL, USA
April 3, 2013
No. The instructions declare no waterfproof items
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
HardwareHappy
Grand Prairie. Texas
May 21, 2013
No, the instructions say not to and I assume that goes for tennis shoes too.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
NO
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Slider
MN
August 27, 2013
It is not recommended to wash or spin water-proof or water-resistant items even if it the label says it's fine.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Curious, whats the most bath sized towels that you have washed in this model?

Asked by
2knoxs
Spring, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
November 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
happywasher
November 30, 2013
We do 7 large bath towels, plus a bunch of handtowels and washcloths at once. I can do sheets from 5 beds in one load, easy.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Its huge dont worry about it. I dont know the number but I run this half as often as the old one cause it holds twice as much.. I dont have a count though.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Malialaine
New Orleans, LA, USA
December 10, 2013
5
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Clean1
Hampton, VA
January 23, 2014
The most I have washed at once is six but they were heavy bath towels.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ingolfsa
Atlanta, GA
January 24, 2014
I've washed six full-sized bath towels, and probably could have fit up to eight. It does caution against loads that are too large, although I've never had any trouble with even my largest loads.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
KennethCityMom
Kenneth City, FL
December 14, 2013
Six. I wouldn't do more than six.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Don5512
Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
16 bath towels. I like the washer except it constantly goes out of balance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
luvsrivers
January 23, 2014
I've never counted the towels, but it is a large capacity washer. I can put a large comforter and a couple of blankets in one load without any problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
I've washed about 8 towels in this machine with plenty of room left over.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Slapshot98
January 26, 2014
We just line the edge with them until the machine looks full. No problem for the machine, just make sure your dryer has good capacity
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Have washed from small to very large beach towels. Because there is no agitator the whole tub is available for dirty clothes/towels.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
UNIQUE
Lynn, MA, USA
December 27, 2013
20 towels
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is the lid handle vented?

Asked by
BD2M
Birmingham, Alabama
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 16, 2013
I am considering this model but am curious as to why the manufacturer designed a vent into the lid handle? My concern is that this unit would be installed in my laundry room under some cabinetry and any vented steam would have an adverse effect on the wood cabinet.

Owner comments appreciated.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
BD2M,
The vent is there so if you happen to leave a load of cloths in the washer longer than a day, Mildew will not build up in your machine or on your cloths. I live in FL, do not have wood cabinets, and use the white setting on the washer (HOT WASH/COLD RINSE). Never seen excess steam or moisture come out of the vent.
I also love the fact that when you are finished with your laundry, you have the ability to flip the handle back to air out the washer with out leaving the lid up. (see photos attached)
It's a great machine and I would recommend it anyone... a great purchase.
Good luck with what ever you choose.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MrsCH3
Colorado, USA
May 18, 2013
I wondered the same thing! I haven't had the experience of steam coming out of the vent. We have storage on top of our washer and nothing has seemed to be affected by it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ingolfsa
June 25, 2013
I've not noticed any steam coming from the handle. And I would assume your cabinetry would be high enough that the top can open all the way, so even if there was steam, I would guess there would be plenty of room for it to dissipate before hitting the bottom of the cabinets - just a guess, though!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
I don't think you would have any problem at all. We love the fold back lid - keeps tub fresh when not in use.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
The "vent" on the top of the lid is simply to dry out any moisture left in the tub AFTER washing is complete. You do not have to leave it open all the time. The lid should be locked when the machine is washing; therefore, "steam" will not be coming out of your washer through the vent. After cycles are complete and you take the clothes of the machine, you can unlock the vent acess and leave it open, or simply leave it closed.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
viking628
Branchburg, NJ
February 15, 2014
The lid handle is vented to permit air circulation to dry the tub and eliminate potential odors that could arise. Since the warmest temperature you could possibly use is about 125 degrees (the same temperature as your faucet hot water), steam should not be an issue. As a note, look at washers with agitators and they all have a gap at the hand hold for the very same reason. A plus for the LG is that the handle can be unlocked and used to prop the entire lid open, which does an even better job of air drying the tub.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LGAnswers
April 18, 2013
I see what you mean, and I reconfirmed with tech support, there is NO vent on top of the unit.
Thank you for your question! Have a great day!
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
JerryZ
Campbell, Ohio
April 20, 2013
I do not notice any steam.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How does it wash delicates such as bras, blouses, and sweaters?

Asked by
Cor5
ohio
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 1, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LastOstrogoth
Bonney Lake WA
January 23, 2014
Being a man I don't have any of those types of clothing. However, I am an avid cyclist and cycling clothing is very expensive and needs to be either handwashed or on a delicate cycle. I have washed my cycling clothes every week since I bought the washer and have found it to be very gentle, but also gets the items perfectly clean.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
I found with the small loads, unless I put a towel or a few other heavier things in, I get an error code and it won't continue on until I adjust the load. With large loads it is awesome. It is easy on clothes, since it doesn't have a wringer in it. Clothes come out very wrinkle free.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Suzanne
Sierra Madre
March 4, 2014
There is a delicate setting that works very well. You can also adjust the water temperature.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN, USA
January 23, 2014
My bras and sweaters are handled well in this machine. I really like the fact that they don't come out disfigured like they would in my old machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
January 24, 2014
Very well. Use delicate cycle if you are in doubt. I wash them on regular cycle
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I have not tried just a delicate load but have put certain things in it that were "hand wash" and they came out fine. It does not agitate like a regular washer, it's much more gentle. I was very surprised that the heavier clothes would come out clean as well and the delicate, but it does.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LGAnswers
January 3, 2014
It washes thorough and gently.
Here are two informative videos about LG Top Load Washers:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5so5DyopIRI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBZP7zpVwUo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Gentle washing action does not cause any problems for delicates
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
Yes, the delicate cycle is truly that. This machine is much better at that than my last one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
luvsrivers
Pasadena, CA
January 23, 2014
It washes all kinds of washable items without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Slapshot98
Greand Rapids, MI
January 26, 2014
It actually washes them quite well, since it has so many cycle options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What happen if the load is to heavy?

Asked by
John
Alberta
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 19, 2013
I am wondering about the max capacity
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
June 28, 2013
The owner's manual suggests that 20 lbs is the maximum load. I've washed a quilted king size cotton bedspread in mine with beautiful results.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jclarke
Chico, CA, USA
July 2, 2013
I don't believe there is a "weight" shut-off. I have packed my unit to the brim and have had no problems. The most likely issue will be an "unbalanced" tub. When this happens, the machine pauses, beeps, and waits for you to adjust the load distribution and then you hit the resume button and it starts back up.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
I have washed king comforters and they came out fine. You just cannot load clothes above the top of the tub. l don't know the weight capacity. But, if the load is too heavy or not loaded correctly.the machine will stop spinning and a warning light will come on. You will need to re-arrange the items in the washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Flvettegirl
DeLand, FL, USA
June 20, 2013
John, The machine is designed to adjust to any size load. When you use the proper settings/cycles you should be able to load your washer. The manual says to not go past 1/2 way above the drum. I've done two sets of sheets in one load and it was half way up the drum. I used the Bedding cycle the first time I washed two sets of sheets and the machine had an error indicator on it. I changed the load cycle to the heavy duty cycle and no more errors. The max number of jeans I will wash is 8 pairs.
I hope this helps you!! Good luck with your new washer :)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
We've never reached max capacity in this washer ! It will take very big loads and even has a cycle for heavy bedding. You could easily wash a king comforter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
sha4146
Glendale, AZ, USA
June 20, 2013
It will give you an error code.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What will happen if you use "regular" and NOT "HE" detergent?

Asked by
g
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
August 2, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
You might be able to use regular detergent, if you add water to the detergent before you put it in the machine. I think regular detergent is too thick and might stop up the dispenser. Not sure, but I think your warranty is void, if you do not use "HE" detergent. You might check the information in your instruction booklet. I gave my regular detergent away when I purchased my new washer and only use "HE". You will find that you will use very little "HE" detergent to wash your clothes. I don't have to purchase detergent nearly as often since I started using "HE". I love my new washer. It not only saves money on detergent, but also on water. You don't have to guess on the water level. The washer uses only the amount of water needed for each load.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Slider
MN
August 27, 2013
Regular detergent will suds up more and will coat the inside of your machine. After time that film will make your clothes smell and will interfere with the spin cycle and draining of water from your washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LGAnswers
August 2, 2013
It may damage sensors and/or other parts of your new laundry unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
I've only used HE but I understand from others that non HE detergents leave a film on your clothes.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
Clothes will not be as clean because it won't rinse as well and it will leave a residue on the tub and maybe clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RobertR
Reno, NV, USA
August 14, 2013
If you use the regular detergent, you'll get more suds. To help with this, just use a second rinse/spin cycle instead of just one. Also, don't use the regular soap when you are doing a very large load as you do run the risk of the suds coming out of the top of the machine. Any medium size load or less with an additional rinse cycle and you'll be just fine. I know because I had the same question because I had just bought a large amount of 'regular' soap before my washer was delivered.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
Too many suds. There are many websites that discuss how to minimize the suds, e.g., use only a tablespoon or so of non-HE detergent per load.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the washer come with the hoses?

Asked by
rachy
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RCLO
January 23, 2014
No. If you try to use your old hoses, the installers will not install the washer. You can use your old hoses if you want to install it yourself, but there might be warranty issues.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Slider
MN
January 23, 2014
No, but they are fairly inexpensive. I recommend the stainless steel hoses. Much more durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
January 24, 2014
No, you have to buy hoses if you mean connection to faucets. It comes with drain hose.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sandyroamer
Va
January 21, 2014
No
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LastOstrogoth
Bonney Lake WA
January 23, 2014
No, but a set of premium quality hoses can be bought for about $20.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LOHouston
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No, but good ones thru the store will cost you about $20
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
LGAnswers
January 20, 2014
Some units do include the hot and cold water hoses, it turns out this one does not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
No, we had to purchase the connection hoses separately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Don5512
Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No. I used my 1 year old hoses from my last washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
No, we had to buy the hoses prior to installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
You have to order them separate but it tells you which package to get. I think it was about $25.00
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
bill
vernon, nj
January 24, 2014
No it does not and I'm in the process of trying to have it returned.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is your shortest cycle.

Asked by
eva
chicago
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
July 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
giordi
July 26, 2013
Spin Only = 13 minutes
Rinse + Spin = 24 Minutes
Speed Wash = 35 minutes
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
sandy
Kansas
July 26, 2013
The speed wash setting is 35 min.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KS5dogsinthehouse
Kansas
July 27, 2013
There is a "speed wash" for lightly soiled clothes that is 35 minutes. I believe that is the shortest choice.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Evon
Rowlett, TX, USA
August 2, 2013
35 minutes
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I have not had a speedy cycle but it does have a speed wash cycle. Does not say how long it is (it's for a quick, lightly soiled load). Normal load is about 1 hour so speed wash should be much less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
August 1, 2013
Permanent press is about 57 min
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Dave
Indiana, USA
October 1, 2013
Speed Wash cycle is 35 min.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is Hydro Shield? It is labled on both the washer and dryer.

Asked by
Debbie
Bulverde, TX
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Familyman
February 11, 2014
It protects the control panel from spills. It is basicaly a layer of plastic.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
viking628
Branchburg, NJ
February 15, 2014
Hydroshield is the water protective covering on the digital control panel.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
1HappyCamper
Portage, IN, USA
April 9, 2014
Hydro shield is referring to the control panel basically meaning its waterproof and spill proof. Since the controls are on the front of the washer water or soap could damage the electronics these controls are protected "Hydro shield".

Smart drum,
When the drum senses that the load is unbalanced. To rectify the situation, it adds some water to the drum to help spread out the load.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
July 4, 2014
The controls are waterproof in case you spill something .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
UNIQUE
Lynn, MA, USA
December 27, 2013
HydroShield Quality Assurance Program protects your structure from water ingress with sound design guidance, quality waterproofing products, proper installation, as well as qualified independent inspection programs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LGAnswers
October 7, 2013
My apologies, I am not finding "Hydro Shield" specified on either page (washer / dryer), please feel free to contact LG Live Chat https://www.lg.com/us/support/message-customer-support or call LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can throw rug be washed ,bath,or/and kitchen, in this machine

Asked by
9876ga
mpls mn
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
October 21, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
skygienist
Lakewood, WA, USA
June 3, 2014
YES... I just did throw rugs yesterday. I put three in and the tub still had more room. I selected the cycle for Bulky/Bedding, as I figured it was similar with the weight. I also selected the Low setting for Spin. My rugs looked brand new when they came out. I was very impressed. And, the machine was very gentle and efficient in handling this type of load. It never sounded like it was struggling or ready to take-off during spin cycle. I am now searching the house for more rugs and big items to wash!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Jewels
November 16, 2013
Yes, I have already washed my bathroom rugs in this machine. Washed them very nicely.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
If the rug has a rubberized backing, I'd say no, because it would hinder the passage of the water through the material in the spin cycle and cause imbalance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Yes, I wash my bathroom rugs,. Just have to make sure weight is adjusted evenly and if not, add an old towel in works to balance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
slimkay
waggaman
May 13, 2014
I have washed my kitchen and my throw rugs in this machine but they were not large rugs. They came out beautiful.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LGAnswers
October 22, 2013
It depends on the rug, and what its label says. Also please make sure it has no water resistant materials.
Please take a quick look at this informative video: LG Top Load Washing Machine - How to Properly Load Your Machine:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBZP7zpVwUo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
kas464
November 1, 2013
Yes i have put rugs, large towels and comforters in it and it works great
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Molanza
Hellertown, PA, USA
January 7, 2014
Have washed all kinds of throw rugs and I put them in with regular laundry with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
dpkass
Miami, FL, USA
January 28, 2014
Yes- becase there is no agitator, it will fit, and there is a selection for these items.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
I've washed the bathroom rugs and a few small throw rugs in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Samm
Brunswick, Ga
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
I have washed a few rugs in mine, and it did fine. But don't waste your time trying to wash pillows in this washer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the modified efficiency factor (MEF)? is it 2.2 or greater? and what is the water factor (MF)? is it 4.5 or greater?

Asked by
m
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
March 23, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
March 25, 2013
MEF - It indicates how many cubic feet of laundry can be washed and dried with one kWh of electricity; the HIGHER the number, the greater the efficiency.

WF - a LOWER number indicates lower consumption and more efficient use of water.

MEF: 2.56
WF: 3.82
= CEE Tier 3 (most efficient model category)

Thank you. We appreciate your feedback, please give us a “thumbs up” if this answer is helpful to you; and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else.

Have a lovely week!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
I do not know. However, this appliance is both Energy Star compliant and CEE (Consortium for Energy Efficiency) Tier III-rated. This tier compliments the Energy Star qualification and has been applied based on the Modified Energy Factor (MEF) and the Water Factor (WF) for a given product, as supplied by the manufacturer. Energy Star and CEE Tier III ratings indicate that the appliance will save you the most in terms of electricity and water use. This washer is both.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the front part of the lid unlock and collapse?

Asked by
Jordan
FL
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
September 7, 2013
Just wondering why the front 3 inches of the lid unlocks and folds .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Unhappy1
Hampton, VA, USA
September 7, 2013
So any moisture in the tub can evaporate.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alangski
Champlin, MN, USA
September 30, 2013
This will allow the inside of the tub to dry while the lid is closed.(this area is a vent)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JoeJ
Dunwoody, GA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 26, 2014
The handle is vented just below the grip so there is always some airflow. I believe Jordan is referring to the two little manual slide latches. (not the lid lock that you hear engage & disengage at the beginning and end of the cycle). I assumed that this feature allows a little more space to grab the lid handle in tight quarters - possible avoiding skinned knuckles or pinched fingers if you have over the washer cabinets. If it's not in locked position, you still have to hold it forward so it is i the same position as extended by time it is closed all the way or the safety Lid locking mechanism (as opposed to the handle lock) can't engage. While the owners manual does tell you how to slide the little locks - it doesn't explain why you might want to (manufacturer might want to call out that feature.)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
R6789
September 17, 2013
It unlocks and folds to allow for venting of the wash drum, if you do not unlock and vent, be sure to leave the lid open to prevent foul smells from accumulating in the drum.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RCLO
Lutherville, MD
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2013
I previously answered this question without going back to look at my washing machine. I was surprised to see the "collapsible" feature on the lid. I now believe that the feature, when collapsed, allows the lid to be fully shut, while still providing a relatively large opening for the interior to vent and dry. Sorry for my earlier, incorrect response.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RDT1234
April 15, 2014
the lid unlocks and folds back so that you can air out the machine without having the lid fully opened. allows the machine to dry out and maintain a fresh smell. if you close the lid right after removing the wash it takes longer for the tub to dry and it summer heat can create a musty smell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Samm
Brunswick, Ga
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
So that it doesn't slam. It works well in the unlocked position
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RCLO
December 17, 2013
It doesn't. The lid simply closes and locks (when power is turned on). The lid unlocks when the on-off switch is pressed again or when the cycle finishes. Nothing folds or collapses.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does a full load wash cycle take ? Is the wash cycle longer with a "HE" vs standard top load machine?

Asked by
bmak246
North Carolina
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
June 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CC2127
Wilmington, NC
July 10, 2014
The cycles can actually be much shorter than a standard top load machine. With this washer in particular, there are at least 8 different wash cycles to choose from and you also select the soil level of whatever you're washing. If you choose "speed wash" on a normal soil level which is what I choose for all of our everyday clothes, the cycle is only 25 minutes long.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MsDee
June 30, 2014
There are a number of settings depending on what your washing. A normal load of cotton fabrics is 57 minutes and a quick wash is 35. All other special loads range in time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jrjmr
Modesto CA
July 4, 2014
It takes from 47 to 117 minutes depending on what you select. There is also a speed wash of 35 minutes and a delicate wash cycle.. I would imagine time varies between manufacturers. Generally speaking standard top loading machines are quicker and also front loading ones too by 5-10 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
chi3mama
Bella Vista, AR
June 29, 2014
To say it takes longer to do a load over the standard top loader isn't a true apples to apples comparison. The time it takes to wash depends on the cycle and options you choose. Here is how it breaks down for me once I stopped using my standard top loader. Let's say I am doing a load of color clothes and using a liquid fabric softener. I would choose the all color cycle with fabric softener option and a normal soil load which is the default on my new washer and the time is about 50 minutes to wash. I know you are thinking that is too long and you could do that load in less time on your standard top loader but the true comparison, apples to apples, comes into play. I can do the 4 loads I used to do on my old standard in one load in my new washer. Plus it senses the load, balances the load and uses the correct amount of water for that tub. So if it takes 20 minutes to do one load on the standard top loader plus the time it takes to load and unload each time, you have invested about 80 plus minutes just to wash those 4 loads plus you have to load and unload put in detergent and fabric softener. When you look at the way each washer really works then you see the benefit of this washer. I have done so many loads and still can't believe how much I love doing laundry. My standard top loader was extra large capacity and still had trouble doing queen quilts. This washer has a bulky items cycle and I have done queen quilts, shams, towels all in the same load without a problem and room to spare. Everything gets extremely clean, I have not had to worry about balance issues since the sensors do that for me but on my old standard if I did bulky and heavy items that was an issue from time to time. I also use less detergent, water and energy on my new washer and that saves me even more money plus time. So I have to say if compared correctly then this washer takes less time than the standard, because I do fewer loads a week. Hopes this helps with your decisions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
July 4, 2014
The standard cotton cycle is 57 minutes. Longer cycles are 1 hour 27 minutes. There is short cycle about 42 minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Shar
kerrville texas
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 5, 2014
50 minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Samm
Brunswick, Ga
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
I'm used to washers that run about 30 minutes; this one takes close to an hour.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Acadia
August 2, 2014
Average time is 57 minutes. You can choose a longer cycle of a short cycle of 35 minutes if you want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

from the pictures the drum looks the same as other WAVE machines but this one doens not advertise being a WAVE machine is it?

Asked by
aw
wisconsin
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
April 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LGAnswers
April 2, 2013
Hello, you are right this model is very effective but it uses different methods and is not categorized as wave force model. Thank you, have a lovely day!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CBC3
Lubbock, TX
April 5, 2013
I do not think it is.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Matt
MS
April 3, 2013
Yes! The drum may look like the same size but it handles loads like it is huge!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use the pod detergents?

Asked by
Mary
Granbury Texas
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
January 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Suzanne
Sierra Madre
March 4, 2014
We use the pod detergent from Costco. (Kirkland brand). It is very highly rated and works great. When we had a very large load we decided to use two. Don't do it. It creates too much soap. Our clothes are always clean with 1.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Lynn
Sykesville, MD 21784, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Not sure as I use the detergent dispensers that come within the machine. Works well this way as you can't overload with too much detergent.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 16, 2014
Hi Mary, yes you can use the POD detergents. Several manufactures of detergents have made POD for use in the HE washers.

Just make sure the detergent package states this is for use with HE washing machines.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sandyroamer
Va
January 21, 2014
I have used HE pods without a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LoriM56
Camarillo, CA, USA
January 23, 2014
As long as the pod is one designated as HE, then you can use them. Your instructions will tell you how to add them to your wash.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Don5512
Minnesota, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No. Liquid (preferred) or powder.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
RCLO
January 23, 2014
No. The detergent has to fit in a small drawer that gets doused with water. A POD won't work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Goldiloxiam
Memphis, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Yes, you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
mnrman
New Jersey
March 5, 2014
Yes, as long as it is for HE machines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
nomad
Pacific MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2014
The instructions are either liquid or powdered. You do have to use "HE" only detergents because the others cause too much suds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
MsDee
April 15, 2014
Yes. Just make sure its HE and simply just drop it into the load with your clothes. You may use one or two depending on the size of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there an issue with the lid lock? I have a Maytag which has a lid lock that has been screwy ever since I got it. .. Had to see about disconnecting

Asked by
Abouttobuyanotherone
america
about 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR on
May 8, 2014
Has there been an issue with the lid lock on this model? I realize it is there for safety reasons however I do not want to have to deal with the lid lock coming off in the middle of a wash and having to turn off and turn back on and restart- Just wondering -Thanks for your answers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Ronnie
Pickerington, OH
May 28, 2014
No issue with the lid lock... so far so good for us. When I push pause button it releases it after a second or so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
skygienist
Lakewood, WA, USA
June 3, 2014
I have found the Lid Lock to be very secure and not an issue with it unlocking itself at any point during wash/spin cycles. It is so secure, that when I have to stop the machine for any reason (forgot to put in soap, add another item, etc.) , it takes a few seconds to "click" and unlock, which would be good for anyone who may have a "curious" child trying to get in. No issues thus far with this feature.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
happywithLG
June 25, 2014
The lid lock works great. The lock initiates during the cycle and only comes off when you press pause or stop. All you have to do is pause the cycle and wait for the tub to stop spinning. About 3-5 seconds after the cycle stops the lid lock will automatically release. Have had no issues with it at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LGAnswers
Englewood, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 8, 2014
Hello Abouttobuyanotherone,
Thank you for your interest in the 4.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Front Control Top Load Washer Model # WT1101CW. There are no reports of any such issues with LG washers. You can always check Consumer Reports for any reported issues on any washer...IFV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
slimkay
waggaman
May 13, 2014
So far no issues with the lid lock.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
hlstavn
Santa Rosa
July 4, 2014
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Samm
Brunswick, Ga
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2014
I have not had any issues with the lid locked or unlocked
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »