Looking for Answers about GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier?

Customer questions and answers for
70-Pint Dehumidifier

Humid air inside your home can cause a multitude of negative effects. From mold to structural damage to respiratory illnesses and more. A GE dehumidifier can help reduce the amount of moisture in the air in your home and some models include a removable bucket for easy disposing of collected water.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions
 | 
78 Answers
Overall rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier

Question

how many square feet does this unti cover?

Asked by
GinaD
Massachusetts
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
June 19, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 20, 2013
Hello GinaD,

Thank you for your question on the GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier Model # ADEL70LR.

Dehumidifiers are appliances that can be placed within rooms in a home to remove excess moisture from the air. When you choose a dehumidifier, selecting the right size is crucial to how effective the performance of your dehumidifier will be for that room or area. Buy a dehumidifier that can support your CFM and pints requirements. A 70 pint dehumidifier will handle up to 1300 square feet normally. The conditions of the room will dtermine the size and if more than one are needed.

Steps to size:
1. Use a hygrometer to gain an accurate humidity reading of the room or area you want to dehumidify.

2. Use specific characteristics of the room to determine its humidity levels if you do not have access to a hygrometer.
- If the room is extremely wet and contains standing water or puddles of water, the humidity will be between 90 and 100 percent and is considered "extremely wet."
- If the room only smells musty in damp or humid weather, the relative humidity will be between 60 and 70 percent and is considered "moderately damp."

3. Determine your air changes per hour (ACH) to calculate the airflow needed to properly dehumidify your room. Moderately damp humidity levels that fall between 60 and 70 percent will have an ACH value of "3."

4. Calculate the amount of square feet present in the room or area that you need to dehumidify.

5. Calculate the amount of cubic feet in the room you need to dehumidify by taking the height of the room and multiplying that value by the amount of square feet

6. Determine the amount of airflow or cubic feet per minute (CFM) you will need in order to dehumidify the room using your cubic feet and ACH values.
Multiply the cubic feet value by the ACH and divide the result by the number 60.

7. Determine the pints of moisture you need extracted from the air on a daily basis to properly dehumidify your room.

For moderately damp conditions, you will need dehumidifiers that can extract 10 pints (4.73 liters) of water within 500 square feet (46.45 square meters). For every additional 500 square feet (46.45 square meters), add 4 pints (1.89 liters). For example, for rooms that are 1500 square feet (139.35 square meters), you will need a dehumidifier that can extract 18 pints (8.51 liters) of water.

I hope this hekps!

Donna with GE
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
leepj
Manasquan, NJ, USA
June 25, 2013
believe btwn 2,000-3,000 sq. ft. depending on location and fan speed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Anonymous
June 29, 2013
Unfortunately, the answer to the question is not straight forward/simple. (Hence the reason that these units generally do not suggest a square footage of 'coverage'). According to the Energy Star website, a 2,000 square foot area would range from 22 to 37 pints per day of de-humidification - in general. It also states that the relative humidity for most structures should be between 30 and 50%.

Various other factors will impact those numbers - significantly. The biggest component is at what rate does humidity infiltrate [into] or occur in the area you want to dehumidify? If the area's ambient infiltration rate is 30 pints per day, you would need a dehumidifier that is a minimum of 30 pints per day to zero out infiltration (maintain target humidity level), plus an additional amount of dehumidification to remove the current excess humidity. So the answer to your question lies in the ability to determine humidity infiltration for the area you want to dehumidify.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
My unit is running in about 700 or so sq. ft and could very easily cover a great deal more than that.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit have an "auto-start" feature in case of a power outage?

Asked by
Marsh
Marietta, GA
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
October 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
jbonko1
Elyria, Ohio
October 10, 2013
yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PatInPaint
October 8, 2013
Hello Marsh!

This unit has a "Percent Humidity" setting on the touch panel that operates as on on/off control.

When the humidity is higher than the percent setting, the unit turns on. After humidity level is lowered below the setting, the unit turns off.

Most often during a power outage, the settings remain the same and when power is restored the unit begins operating under the most recent setting.

Water filling the chamber will activate the float switch and shut the unit off until the water chamber is emptied.

I recommend setting up the unit for continuous drip into a drain or automatic condensation pump to prevent having to regularly empty the chamber.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the fan shut down after the set humidity level is reached?

Asked by
Sammy
Canton, Ohio
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 10, 2013
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 11, 2013
Yes it can and will however the unit is best left running non-stop to avoid any potential icing and the humidity gauge is only accurate for the area immediately around the unit. Basically just let the thing run as much as possible. You won't regret it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
djcWI
Wisconsin
July 11, 2013
It is supposed to but I have one of the units where that feature fails.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Travis
Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
July 12, 2013
yes and once the area is under control it can be set to either 2 hour or 4 hour delays. also has 3 speeds and a digital display where it reads you the currant humidity and what you want the humidity to be either 35,40,50,60,70,or 80% humidity.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
Not in mine, but the humidity then changes value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the cord?

Asked by
Maddiegirl
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 22, 2013
May sound silly but can you tell me the length of the electrical cord? I need it to be at least 4 to 5' to reach the electrical outlet. Any help would be great. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 22, 2013
Hello Maddiegirl,

Thank you for you interest in the GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier Model # ADEL70LR.

GE dehumidifiers have a 72" power cord with a 3-prong plug.

Please do not use an extension cord or plug the unit into a surge
protector or multi-outlet adapter.

I hope this is helpful!

Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mary
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
August 13, 2013
It's about six feet long - it easily reaches my mid-wall electrical outlet but was about a foot short of reaching my ceiling outlet. Note that you should not use an extension cord with this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 31, 2013
It is slightly over 5' long. If you need more just use a 3 prong extension cord to get the extra distance you need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Suziles71
Hickory, NC, USA
August 1, 2013
The electrical cord is 4'
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
It will reach, as it is about that long.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Jasper
July 22, 2013
Cord is approximately 4 feet long.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The dehumidifier being continuously on

Asked by
Joe
NY
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 14, 2013
My dehumidifier is continuously on even when humidity goal is reached. I understand I should keep it on to maintain low humidity. However my question is if it runs continuously without stopping would it damage the product or shorten its product life? My second question is if I choose the 2 hr or 4 hr delay off, would it automatically restart again or it will remain off until I turn it back on? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 15, 2013
Hello Joe,

Thank you for your question on the GE Dehumidifier.

The automatic humidistat, sometimes called the humidity control, can be adjusted to suit your individual comfort level. It is built into your dehumidifier and automatically maintains a selected humidity level. It starts the dehumidifier when the humidity is high and shuts it off when the humidity is low. The control has settings from 1 to 10. 10 provides the greatest amount of dehumidification, while 1 provides the least.

Even when the control is set at the highest setting (10), the dehumidifier will run continuously during particularly humid periods due to humid air that seeps into the room through walls, doors, and windows. This will not shorten the life. The use of clothes dryers and similar equipment also adds moisture to the air. The continuous operation of the dehumidifier during such humid periods is normal and necessary to maintain desired humidity levels.

If sized properly, a dehumidifier should maintain the relative humidity level that is set on the controls. The optimum relative humidity level for a room is generally between 30% and 50%.

If the dehumidifier is oversized for the area, the unit may cycle on and off more often and some decline in performance could be noticed.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
If your basement is very humid, set at 35. The lowest the number, the more humidity it removes. Also set fan to desired speed. Can you check if this unit is set at CO or continuous use? If you use a water hose, it is meant to run continuously.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 31, 2013
It shouldn't damage the unit in anyway to have it running continuously. Could it shorten the life? Possibly but these units are designed to run for very long periods of time. It is essentially operating like your AC unit does, in fact it is nearly identical in many ways. If you run your AC constantly it can obviously have mechanical issues like anything else but this unit has been running constantly in my basement since I got it. I have a friend with nearly the same unit and it has been running for about 3 years non-stop. Nothing is perfect but this one is pretty solid!

The delay function will shut off the unit after "X"period of time. It does NOT start again automatically. That feature just makes sure it does not overflow or have other issues while you are not nearby.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the unit turn back on automatically without having to hi the start button if the power goes out and then comes back on

Asked by
peterW
caguas, Puerto Rico
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
June 30, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 2, 2013
Hello PeterW, Thanks for your great question! In the case of a power outage or interruption, this unit will automatically restart, in the settings last used, once the power is restored. Thanks for your interest in our GE products!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
It should unless you tripped a breaker or blew a fuse when the power went out. It could potentially freeze up if that cycle occurs quickly and its in a cool environment already.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height of the drain hose connection?

Asked by
Bob
Beverly
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 30, 2013
How far off the floor is the center of the drain hose connection?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mark
Maryland, USA
July 30, 2013
The center of the drain hose connection is approx 10 3/4" off the floor. Pictures attached.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Suziles71
Hickory, NC, USA
August 1, 2013
It's about 6-8 inches from the floor (estimated)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jonnybigguns
August 6, 2013
About 10 inches, on the left side of the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
6 to 8 inches. It is at the top of the water collection basket inside, once removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 31, 2013
Approximately 8-10" from the bottom of the unit. If your intention is to let it flow into a drain nearby it will be sufficient.
In my case it is not. I have a hose attached to mine that runs about 20 feet into a pump which is also lifting the water as it drains from my AC coil. Subsequently it pumps the water up and into another line which I have running in the ceiling and then down into a sink. Total water movement is about 35ft.
Gravity will do a pretty good job of letting the water move out of the unit but if it is going a longer distance as mine is you should have it elevated on a stand to get even more gravity flow out of it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Russ
Amherst, New Hampshire
August 13, 2013
About a 10-12 inches, on the left side. If you look at the front, it is about even with the bottom of the horizontal intake grill slots.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much heat does this unit put out? Am looking at interior office which can not be cooled conventionally

Asked by
bruceh2204
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 17, 2013
Room size is approximately 400 ft2.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 17, 2013
It will, without question, raise the temperature. Any of them will. How much? Depends on how often you run it and how hard it is working (how much is it pulling from the air).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimS
Danville, VA, USA
July 23, 2013
The heat output on this unit doesn’t seem to be near as bad as the other brands I’ve owned. When the compressor is kicked in and the unit is running, the heat coming out from the top of the unit in minimal compared to other dehumidifiers I’ve owned. With the other units, I could feel the heat they were putting out if I was anywhere near it, this one, not at all. That may be because it exits from the top of this unit instead of from the sides. But still, the air coming from this dehumidifier is just warm, not hot while its running. While the compressor is off, it’s just blowing out cool air. This is a big dehumidifier and for a 400 sq ft room you could actually go with a smaller unit that wouldn’t put out as much heat. Good luck!
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
It is not an air conditioner. The fan blows how or warm air from the top. It is meant to remove humidity from air. Works in my basement which is about 900 sq. ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why doesn't the unit shut down after it goes below the set % humidity? (GE 70 pint unit.)

Asked by
Carl
53074
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
June 6, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
I'm not sure why you would want the unit to stop at any given humidity level but that measurement is a very rough one and the atmosphere of your space can and will change very quickly. Moist air is heavy air and if you simply open a basement door it will "flood" the air space with humid air. The unit wants to pull moisture so you are better off just letting it run as often as possible down to at least 50% humidity if not more. While that may be uncomfortable for people it is what you want for a space to stay dry and mold or mildew free as possible.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
June 7, 2013
Hello Carl,

Thank you for your question on the GE dehumidifier.

Humidity is collected as frost on the evaporator until it reaches the saturation point, then the compressor cycles off. At this point, the room air temperature is warm enough to melt the frost into a drain bucket, thus removing humidity from the room.

The fan will cycle run within 3 minutes of the compressor cycling off. This allows a maximum amount of humid air to reach the evaporator.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How long do I need to let this unit set upright if I have to tilt it on its side?

Asked by
DampInTN
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
November 13, 2013
My craw space opening on the uphill side of my house and is very short. How long should I leave this unit unplugged after I put it in it's location for use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
I'd leave it for a few hours, at least. It's like a refrigerator or air conditioner, i.e., you don't want to start the compressor until everything has settled inside it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2013
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. I will be happy to assist you. There are no special precautions to take when moving a dehumidifier other than ensuring the bucket is empty.
Thanks for checking!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

HOW MANY PINTS DOES THE BUCKET HOLD

Asked by
JES
SALEM NH
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
June 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
leepj
Manasquan, NJ, USA
June 25, 2013
70 pints with auto shutoff when bucket is full. you can also remove the bucket and connect a garden house for direct drain - set and forget operation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Anonymous
June 29, 2013
Per the GE website under "Product Details", the bucket actually holds 17.5 pints.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
Gallons is a more reasonable measurement and I would guess at 1.5-2 gallons in the bucket. Much better to set up the unit to drain constantly with a standard garden hose fixture. The threads in the unit are set for exactly that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Travis
Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
July 12, 2013
it holds about 17 pints, and has a internal garden hose male end fitting to drain direct to sub pump,slop sink if you have that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
RickL
Marlborough, Mass
June 22, 2013
Just hooked this unit up yesterday. Poured out a full bucket and measured it. Not quite 2 gallons so the bucket capacity is ~ 15 pints. Strange since the website says 175 pints...not even close!

I'm going to hook up a hose anyway after I see exactly what the unit is pulling for water, etc.

RickL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RickL
Marlborough, Mass
June 22, 2013
Just checked the GE website......bucket capacity is 17.5 pints....not 175 pints as listed on the Home Depot Website. The 17.5 pints corresponds approximately to what I actually measured.

RickL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Russ
Amherst, New Hampshire
August 13, 2013
About 15
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
GE Answers
June 13, 2013
Hello Jes,

Thank you for your question on the GE Model # ADEL70LR.

It is a 70-Pint Dehumidifier.

* Dehumidification (pts./day) 70.0

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of hose am I supposed to use for this?

Asked by
MamaCozik
Michigan
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
August 1, 2013
I need to know what hose to buy in order to hook up to this dehumidifier so it will drain on it's own. There are a lot of hoses & I don't want to buy the wrong one.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Suziles71
Hickory, NC, USA
August 1, 2013
Hi MamaCozik,

A garden hose is all you need. I connected an old garden hose to the unit last night, ran it outside away from the house then cut off the rest (was a really long garden hose), it's working perfectly in our basement!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jonnybigguns
August 6, 2013
You can use and short hose that would hook up to an outside faucet. I used a 4 foot black rubber washing machine hose that I had.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
August 14, 2013
This humidifier uses a standard water hose. Just make sure it is long enough to reach from dehumidifier to drain. Also, make sure the water hose gasket is in, so no leaks. It screw in on the side, and you can reach by removing the water collection basket.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Tolbertino
Chester, VA, USA
August 27, 2013
It takes a conventional garden hose. If you don't have an old hose laying around just buy the least expensive shortest hose that you can find. Make sure that the hose has continuous fall throughout the entire run.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Russ
Amherst, New Hampshire
August 13, 2013
Any garden hose will work. The unit has the mail end; you will need a hose with the female end. I placed my unit near the sump drain in my basement. I had an old hose that had a leak, so I cut about 18 inches off near the female end and connected it to the unit, then ran the end into the sump. That way I can run the unit continuously and don't have to worry about emptying the tank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
A standard "1/2-inch" garden hose will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my unit will not automatically turn off when the tank is full..instead water spills on the floor.

Asked by
louann
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
May 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
May 13, 2013
Hello Louann,

This is Donna with GE and I am sorry to hear you are having this issue with your dehumidifier.

If the bucket is not replaced in the proper position when it is removed, it will cause the Water Level Control switch not to function properly. Please check.

If the problem continues, please return it to the retailer for exchange if it is under warranty.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
leepj
Manasquan, NJ, USA
June 25, 2013
check to make sure the tank is properly installed and fully engaged (pushed into the unit). The drain outlet at the top of the tank compartment is where the water drains into the tank. If still leaking, could be coming from somewhere else and a defective unit that you should replace.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
The leaver in the tank itself may be sticking. When you pull out the bucket it is on the right hand side (if you are facing the unit when you pull out the tank). A secondary issue may be that the switch is stuck inside the unit which the leaver activates when the tank is full. Check both as they are the culprits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Russ
Amherst, New Hampshire
August 13, 2013
There is a float on the right side of the tank that is supposed to turn the unit off when the tank is full. Check to make sure the tank is completely pushed back into the unit and does not wiggle. Also, make sure the float can move and is not jammed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it 'Energy Star' rated?

Asked by
Jim
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
June 23, 2013
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
leepj
Manasquan, NJ, USA
June 25, 2013
Yes, it's Energy Star qualified
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 2, 2013
The specifications show that it is Energy Star compliant.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
June 23, 2013
Hello Jim,

Thank you for your question on the GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier model # ADEL70LR.

Not all appliances require an energy label. Energy Guide label determination is all set by the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) labeling act.

Dehumidifiers do not require a label and are not rated Energy Star.

Donna with GE
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Water collecting in the bin inspite of connecting garden hose to drain the water in sump tank help!!

Asked by
new dehumidifier
cheshire, ct
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
August 18, 2013
I connected a garden hose to drain outlet but the water still collects in the storage bin what am I missing.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 19, 2013
Hi-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

*Make sure you have a good connection where the garden hose attaches and that there is a rubber washer properly installed in the end of the garden hose. If the connection is loose, gently tighten the connection with pliers.

*If the hose is pushed into a drain (like a standpipe), make sure it is not pushed in too far. If the hose is touching water, it won’t drain. Pull out the hose until the hose outlet is above the water line.

*Cut off any excess hose so that it is moving in a straight line to the drain.

*Avoid using an old or damaged garden hose.

I hope this is helpful. Thanks for checking with us.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tobinyon
Hudson, Ohio
October 17, 2013
The hose connects to the top of the bin which is the case in any brand. Water will collect until the level reaches where the hose is. You still need to empty and clean the unit regularly so sludge does not build up in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
You're probably not missing anything. Check your hose connection to make sure it's not cross-threaded and is tight. That hose connection is not the greatest thing in the world, and I had a heck of a time getting the hose on there correctly...and it still leaked. I emptied the bucket and tightened the hose a bit more...we'll see.

The only other possibility that comes to mind is that something in the hose connection (which is cheap plastic) is cracked or broken.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this dehumidifier work well in airconditioned basement

Asked by
Larry
New Albany IN
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
September 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 16, 2013
Hello Larry, this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, the dehumidifier should work well in your basement. A dehumidifier can be used in most areas that have excessive moisture, such as basements, living areas, laundry rooms, bathrooms, or cooking areas.

Place the dehumidifier in a location that will be between 41 degrees F and 91 degrees F. If the temperature falls below 41 degrees, the coils can become covered with frost, which will reduce the performance of the unit.

For best results:
~ Place your dehumidifier near the center of the area that you wish to dehumidify.
~ Make sure the unit is not blocked by any furniture, curtains, or blinds.
~ Good air circulation within an enclosed area is essential. Doors and windows should be kept closed.

I hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Syracusepro
New York, NY, USA
September 16, 2013
It does in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
It should, but they'll be fighting each other. The air conditioner is trying to cool the air, and it does this by moving heat from inside to outside with evaporating and condensation of a coolant. The dehumidifier, which uses the same principle of using cool coils to condense moisture is just trying to dry the air, so it exhausts the resulting heat from the coolant condensation coils into the room, which makes more work for the air conditioner.

Because an air conditioner is basically a dehumidifier with the coolant condensation coils outside the house walls, it will also tend to dehumidify the room as air passes over the cool coils inside the room (that's why air conditioners drip).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

External drain isn't working.

Asked by
Chris J.
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
September 16, 2013
That's not a question, I know. But the external drain on this dehumidifier is not working. Instead, water just collects into the bucket. The hose is brand new, with a washer, and attached firmly to the connector, so I'm fairly certain it's not leakng. I don't quite see how this is supposed to work. Is there some sort of sensor that redirects the water to the hose instead of the bucket?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 17, 2013
Hi Chris J.-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to address your concern.

If the hose is pushed into a drain (like a standpipe), make sure it is not pushed in too far. If the hose is touching water, it won’t drain. Pull out the hose until the hose outlet is above the water line. Also, cut off any excess hose so that it is moving in a straight line to the drain. The shorter the better. Basically, you are removing a drain cover to attach the hose so the water now flows into the hose instead of the bucket.

I hope this is helpful!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Russ
Amherst, New Hampshire
September 17, 2013
There is no sensor to direct the water. Check to make sure the bucket is fully pushed into the unit. Also check that there is no debris in the hose by blowing air through it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
There is no sensor; the hose connection simply diverts the collected water flow from the coils into a hose (if a hose is attached) instead of the bucket. Your problem is probably the hose connection...make sure it's not cross-threaded, and make sure it's tight.

I had a similar problem...water dripping from the hose connection, which filled the bucket after about a week. I tightened the connection...we'll see what happens.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Continuous operation question. My unit is set on continuous operation and has been runniing for three days.

Asked by
alangski
North Carolina
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
October 12, 2013
The humidity is still showing 80%. Is that normal and how much water should be coming out of the hose I have attached at any one time? There is no target number shown in the screen. It just shows the one 80% number and won't let me lower it by using the down arrow. One representative seems to think I have a faulty unit.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 13, 2013
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

When setting your dehumidifier to "CO" for continuous, it will not allow you to change the humidity as this "CO" means that it is set for continuous operation for maximum dehumidification.

The display will show the set percentage humidity level while you are setting the controls, and then it shows the actual (+/- 5%) room percentage humidity level. If you believe the display is significantly incorrect, then I recommend exercising your warranty if it is less than a year old and exchanging the unit.

I hope this helps! Thank you for contacting GE!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tobinyon
Hudson, Ohio
October 17, 2013
Continuous means it will run non stop even when desired humidity is reached. Unit displays current humidity reading but if you press the up or down arrows that is how you set your target humidity if not on continuous.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
Water comes out of the hose at a steady drip, the rate of which depends on how humid your air is. It will never come out of the hose as a stream. Based on your comment that you can't adjust the desired level, you have a defective unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Incorrect humidity level display?

Asked by
depot92
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
October 13, 2013
I have two other humidistats in the same room as the dehumidifier. The dehumidifier displays 65% relative humidity while my other humidistats show around 35%. How could the difference be that big? Is there a known issue with the humidity display on this dehumidifier?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Robert
Paramus, NJ
October 25, 2013
Yes the display is not accurate.But machine does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ImDryNow
Rochester, NY
December 21, 2013
Relative humidity is a tricky thing to measure and real accuracy requires constant calibration of fairly expensive equipment. Most of the digital units one can buy are only reasonably accurate within a range of, say, 30% to 70%, and are probably only good to +/- 5 or 10% at that...and I'm sure the humidistat on the dehumidifier isn't lab quality. Add to that the fact that R.H. is temperature dependent, and it starts to become clear that there could easily be a difference of 20% or more between sensors scattered around your room.

I found that the two readings (dehumidifier and external unit) tended to converge after a few weeks. I started with a similar difference, set the dehumidifier to 35%, and now the other humidity reading is at about 32%...an acceptable margin of error.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
October 14, 2013
Hi depot92-this is Sue from GE. I can certianly understand your concern and glad to provide assistance.

First, you may want to reset the electronics by unplugging the unit for 30 seconds or so. For best performance, allow 12"-18" of air space on all sides of the unit, and make sure to close all doors, windows, and other outside openings to the room. Place your dehumidifier near the center of the area that you wish to dehumidify. Place the dehumidifier in a location that will be between 41 degrees F and 91 degrees F. If the temperature falls below 41 degrees, the coils can become covered with frost, which will reduce the performance of the unit.

Also, if sized properly, a dehumidifier should maintain the relative humidity level that is set on the controls. The optimum relative humidity level for a room is generally between 30% and 50%. If the dehumidifier is oversized for the area, the unit may cycle on and off more often and some decline in performance could be noticed. A 70 pint unit is recommended for a basement that is extremely wet (laundry drying, wet floor, high load conditions).

Basement Room:
Damp: 40 Pints
Very Damp: 50 Pints
Wet: 50 Pints
Extremely Wet: 70 Pints

Definition of Moisture Levels:
Damp: Space feels damp and has musty odor only in humid weather.

Very Damp: Space always feels damp and has musty odor. Damp spots show on walls and floor.

Wet: Space feels and smells wet. Walls or floor sweat, or seepage is present.

Extremely Wet: Laundry drying, wet floor, high load conditions.

The dehumidifier features a 1-year replacement warranty through the retailer. The details can be found in the owner's manual.

I hope this information is helpful.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many amps does it run on?

Asked by
Rick
New Jersey
about 70-Pint Dehumidifier on
July 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
July 13, 2013
Hello Rick,

Thank you for your question on the GE 70-Pint Dehumidifier model # ADEL70LR.

Please see the power ratings below.

POWER / RATINGS:

Amps: 7.5
Circuit Size: 15 Amps
Voltage: 115.0 - Max
Voltage/Hertz/Phase: 115 / 60/ 1
Watts: 745

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MSPgriller
Minneapolis
July 31, 2013
Mine is running on a 15amp line and has nothing else drawing heavy from that breaker (a few lights) so I have had zero issues with power supply.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »