Looking for Answers about Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke?

Customer questions and answers for
Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions
 | 
340 Answers
Overall rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Question

Do you have to use self propelled feature or can use it as a standard push mower without the self propelled feature?

Asked by
Tennessee
Tennessee
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 24, 2013
I have a pretty flat yard and enjoy the exercise without using the self propelled feature, but my wife will probably use the self propelled feature. Will the wheels "lock up" if the self propelled is not engaged?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mark
Canton, MI, USA
May 27, 2013
this mower push's very easy. i sometimes don't even use the self propel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Peggy
Cape Cod
May 28, 2013
No, you can use it with or without the self-propel feature really easily. There's a lever on the handle (for righties or lefties - doesn't matter) and use it want you want to, release it when you don't. You can also control how fast it self-propels itself by how far down you hold the lever. Sometimes we all need a little help!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 29, 2013
Yes, you can elect to not use the self-propelled feature. All you have to do is push and not engage the self-propelled levers that are located on the handle. On slight downhill passes, I do not use the self-propelled features.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
May 25, 2013
You can use it either way, push or self propelled.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 25, 2013
You can use the mower without engaging the self-propel drive, and the wheels will not lock up when doing so. If you do not push down on the butterfly throttles, the mower can be pushed and pulled in the same way as a mower that is not self-propelled.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
RARA
May 26, 2013
You can use it either way. This really is a easy to use mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
Yes, I'm not sure why you would want to, but you can push (or pull) the mower without using the self propulsion You just wouldn't engage it with the "thumb lever".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 26, 2013
You can just push it, it is very light and easy to push. There is minimal drag if pushed. The wheels do not lock up.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
May 26, 2013
No, the wheels will not lock up. You can both use the mower as you want.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
KenM
Virginia, USA
May 26, 2013
No...you do not have to use the self-propelled feature. The self-propelled feature is controlled with the speed control paddles. If you do not grip the paddles the self-propelled feature is off. The owner's manual also recommends not using the self-propelled feature when in tight quarters like mowing around trees to enhance manuverability.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
If you want to push, just push. You don't have to engage the drive wheels. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Antward
Hartselle, AL, USA
May 26, 2013
You can use it without engaging the self-propelled. It is a little harder sometime to push
but I push it manually when trimming and sometimes forget to engage it and don't notice it
The wheels don't lock up
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I also enjoy the exercise of pushing the mower and relying on the drive only when I need it. In the mulching function, yes, no problem pushing it. If you are bagging, your really going to get a workout! I should say, my health is very good, I am 55 years old, someone who is not active, would probably not like pushing this.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
Joey
San Antonio, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
I only use self-propel about half the time. Not using does not effect wheels or any function.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Have others noticed that in sections where the grass is thin, the mower will leave a line of uncut grass?

Asked by
Randy
Okemos, Michigan
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 27, 2013
When the grass is thick, the mower cuts all of it, but in sections where the grass has not fully filled in, the mower will leave a one-half to one-inch wide line of uncut grass.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 28, 2013
Performance can vary depending on turf conditions. It's also important to make sure the mower is set-up and running correctly. Double-check the height-adjusters (all should be set the same). Inspect the blades and sharpen/replace if necessary. The engine must be turning at the correct speed (if you have a throttle control, it must be set to FAST). Any servicing Honda dealer can completely inspect and evaluate the unit (including checking engine speed) to make sure it is operating within design specifications. Here's a link (copy and past) to find a dealer in your area:
http://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator
-Robert@Honda
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
James
Minnesota, USA
May 28, 2013
Yes, I have noticed it. The mower especially leaves grass on the right side of the where the bag chute is. I think it is just easier to see the clippings on thin spots in the yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LongD
North Carolina
May 28, 2013
We haven't noticed this. Where in the mower path does this uncut strip appear?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
May 29, 2013
This is tricky because there are several reasons for this type of problem, and I've not seen your issue as you have described it, however it may be lack of path overlap. . Let me say this. leaving behind a path of grass 1/2-2" is usually because you don't overlap your path. In other words we teach to have wheels overlap previous cut path by a wheel width making sure all is cut. What may be happening in your situation is in thick grass you don't realize you are missing this were as in thin grass you can see it. It is also possible that the thin grass is so thin it is being knocked over rather than being cut. This could be fixed by sharpening and balancing the blade, and walking slower. Uneven grass cut also comes from twin cutting blades one not as sharp or balanced as the other. A Single blade not sharpened, and balanced properly is another culprit. A Blade(s) turning too slow for the pace being walked; or with a rider driving to fast. Thick wet grass also cuts uneven. In your situation I go with not enough over lap.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Leko
Connecticut
May 30, 2013
I have notice lines of uncut grass but it's probably my mistake, normally like to overlap a little just to make sure.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
IndyReview
Indianapolis
June 4, 2013
I noticed that the grass at the outside edge of the mower was not getting cut properly. I looked at my blades and the blades were dull especially the outside edges. I sharpened the blades and have had no issues. It cut perfectly out of the box and only had this problem when the blades got dull
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Heartland
Kansas
June 8, 2013
I have the exact same problem. I have read where folks are taking the 2nd blade off and its helping. I debated on the Honda vs Toro. Sadly I'll be taking the Honda back today after using it 3 times and having the same results each time.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
dee
Pennsylvania
June 15, 2013
I am having the exact same issue, and I just purchased it today. It is on the right hand side and I ended up overlapping ALOT in order to get an even mow. I would return this to the store today, but now that it is out of the box I have no way of getting it back. When my husband returns from vacation, I'm going to have him sharpen the blades and return it if that doesn't do the trick.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Bean
Northern Illinois
June 25, 2013
Same problem here too inboth thick and thin grass. All wheels are on the same level. Uncut strip appears a feww inches inside the right side wheels. I have found the only way to eliminate this is to overlap where the wheel marks of the previous row is even with the exhaust - that is A LOT of overlap making this mowere more like 17" instead of 22".
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
ManvelMan
Manvel,Texas
August 10, 2013
I have a patch in my back yard that is extra thick, so I mow it BOTH directions..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Dave
Kansas
August 26, 2013
Not only did I notice this but if you got down and looked, there were a significant number of longer blades even in the middle of the cut that were missed. I have very healthy grass and I was not happy with the cut and returned the mower for the poor cut and the fact that the mulching was not much superior to my old Snapper Hi-Vac, which I kept, so I am repowering (putting a new engine on) that deck. I have been using my son's Hi-Vac and the cut is MUCH improved.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this mower rear wheel drive or front?

Asked by
Grass13
Wisconsin
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
August 5, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Lawnman386
Florida, USA
August 6, 2013
It is rear wheel drive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 6, 2013
Hi Grass13; all Honda self-propelled mowers are rear-wheel drive. This offers the best traction and control in almost all conditions. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
August 6, 2013
Rear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Will
Detroit, MI, USA
August 6, 2013
Rear wheel drive I believe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
OakieDoakie
Columbia, SC, USA
August 6, 2013
rear wheel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
August 10, 2013
Rear wheel drive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
jetapp
Georgia, USA
August 14, 2013
rear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Sphere360
Georgetown, OH
August 16, 2013
It is rear wheel and pulls the mower well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
HandyMan
Bartlett, TN, USA
September 16, 2013
Rear wheel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
JimG
September 29, 2013
Rear wheel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
mcknzy
Northwest Washington State
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 7, 2013
This is a variable speed rear wheel drive as are all Honda mowers.
Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the mower deck plastic?

Asked by
keg
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 27, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 27, 2013
Steel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
April 27, 2013
The new are made of NeXite a coposite matereial. The sales documents will tell you all about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 27, 2013
No, it's steel. I'm a mechanical engineer and I can tell you that this mower is well designed, well engineered and well built. It could have been made better, but only with a much bigger price tag.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
April 28, 2013
The deck is made of steel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
AustexEgger
Austin, TX, USA
April 28, 2013
No, it' s steel deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
April 28, 2013
It is not. But it is very lightweight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
April 28, 2013
No, the 3 in 1 does not have a plastic deck. There is a more expensive model(s) that has a plastic deck, but it is not the 3in1.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Mukeman
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
April 30, 2013
No. The mower deck is painted (silver) steel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
123Tennessee
Tennessee
April 30, 2013
No. It has some plastic molding but the deck is metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 1, 2013
No, the mower deck is metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
No, the mower deck is metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the difference between a rear-wheel drive and a front-wheel drive?

Asked by
Salli
Roswell, GA
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mcaeal
Livermore, ca
March 16, 2013
rear drive is like a most cars and the engine drives the rear wheels. Front drives the front wheels. Front is better for really hilly areas. Both work well on other conditions.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
March 21, 2013
Front wheel drive tends get light on the driving wheels when the bag gets heavy, losing some traction. The same holds true (or especially true) when mowing up hill. I prefer rear wheel drive.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
March 21, 2013
Some find rear wheel drirve ok for flat mowing but hilly mowing the front wheel drive does better.Truning is easyer front wheel. Rear bag makes a differance in the handeling with rear wheel drive more difficult,side discharge its beter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
Besides the obvious, front wheel drive is usually belt driven while rear wheel drive is gear driven. The thinking is that belts are easier and cheaper to change than a gear box system. However, I would go with the rear wheel drive unless you just have a very flat yard. There is more weight on the back wheels and they seem to "bite" better and get better traction with less wheel spin. Front wheel drive is a relative new option, and my advise would only to go with that option is you have a very flat or small yard. Both options however, would still be better than nothing.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
Well, simply put, either the rear wheels or the front wheels drive the mower. But, what you're probably wanting to know is which is better. There are pros and cons to both. Seems that the front wheel drive works better if you are on flat ground without many obsticals. Rear wheel works on flat ground, but has a small advantage on hilly ground as well as with obsticals since you have to slightly lift the front of the mower to go around the obstical.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
go with rear-wheel drive (more expensive) especially for slopes. when you turn, front wheels are off the ground - not sure how front-wheel drive would work well for that situation. rear-wheels are always firmly touching ground.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
The rear wheels push the mower on a rear wheel mower The front wheels pull the mower, with front wheel mowers. Rear wheel drive, is superior, in my opinion.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
On a rear-wheel drive mower, the rear wheels push the mower. On a front-wheel drive mower, the front wheels pull the mower. Typically rear-wheel drive mowers provide better traction, especially on lawns that are not perfectly level.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
when the speed is increased the rear drive mower's front end will lift slightly; that won't happen with front drive.
I find it more difficult to pull back and pivot with rear drive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 11, 2013
Hi Salli:

Self-propelled mowers have a drive lever on the handlebar; when you press this control, either the front or rear wheels will start to turn. Most new mowers turn the rear wheels (rear-wheel drive) but some others may use the front wheels (front-wheel drive). Generally speaking, rear-wheel drive is more flexible and easier to use. All Honda lawn mowers are rear-wheel drive. Hope this helps, -Robert@Honda
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
The rear wheels are the drive wheels only
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When you release the blade does the motor continue to run until you re-engage the blades

Asked by
debbie
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 11, 2013
Hi Debbie:

Not on this model; when you release the blade lever, the blades and motor both stop.

The feature you are talking about is called Roto-Stop (or Blade Brake Control), and models with this feature do let you stop the blades and the engine keeps running. In Honda's HRR series of mowers, Roto-Stop is availble on the HRR216YVA model; see link below. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mcaeal
Livermore, ca
March 16, 2013
no, if you brake the blade or release the blade, the more stops
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
I think I understand your question. The blade turns every time the motor is running, no exceptions. However to maintain constant operation the safety handle must be depressed while using the mower to keep the motor running. If you take your hands off the unit, the mower engine will die and stop the blades.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
This model, HRR216K9VKA, does not have the blade stop feature. When you release the blade control, the engine shuts down.

The comparable Honda model with the blade stop feature would be the HRR216K9VYA.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
The motor stops when you release the blade stop. To get the one where the motor stays running you have to go to the next model up ($100 more at the present time.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
motor turns off when you release the bar/blade. in fact, engine would not start when the bar is not held down.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
No, there is no clutch on this mower. The mower stops when you let the run bar go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
No when you release the handle the mower shuts down. Example would be if you were ready to empty the grass bag the mower would shut down. Very easy to start though.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Debbie,

If you mean when you release the "lever on the handle" does the engine stop, then yes it does. This lever must be held down to keep the engine is running. When let go, the engine shuts off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
NamDave
Charleston, SC, USA
July 3, 2013
No, the engine will automatically shut off when you release the handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this mower have a side discharge option, or is bag/mulch only?

Asked by
lancer
Ohio
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 28, 2013
Hi Lancer:

The most current version of this mower has a REAR discharge feature. Slightly older versions of this model had an optional side-discharge, but all units in stock now at Home Depot feature the updated model with REAR discharge built-in.

-Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
March 29, 2013
As far as I recall the HRH series are the side discharge units, I'm certain the model you are talking about is the HRR series and have the rear discharge only. The answer is found by looking at the body if the side is formed and no removable cover it is rear discharge only. Note too Honda did have a spring action door that when the bag is removed it closes this is a safety and a mulch feature. Remember a mulch blade doesn't discharge 'per se' it lifts and puts the clippings back into the turf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CHARLIE
Milton, FL, USA
March 30, 2013
The newest model with the selector switch does not have a side discharge, but rather a rear discharge when in the Clip mode. The bagger door when the bag is off, is in the down position & keeps grass from being thrown on your feet. In the Clip mode, a "flapper vane" underneath at the rear, can be adjusted a little, flow direction wise, with the selector switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
This mower doesn't have a side discharge option, just the bag/mulch as you mentioned. However, it is worthwhile to mention that the mulch option with the dual blade does a great job without clogging the mower. I just wouldn't use it on foot tall grass though.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
April 6, 2013
Bag or mulch only, no side discharge. However, the mower comes with a double blade and is quite efficient. Works extremely well.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
It actually has a rear discharge. If you want to use the discharge (not mulch or bag) then you set the selector to bag and leave the bag off. It discharges the grass behind the mower.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
3-in-1
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
Bag and Mulch only.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Lancer,

No side discharge on this mower - just a lever to select either bag or mulch...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
No is does not.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Mulch and rear discharge or bag
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

consumer reports claims this mower has "impressive side-discharge" does this really have side discharge?

Asked by
Richard
Galax va.
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CHARLIE
Milton, FL, USA
March 30, 2013
Not exactly side discharge. Unlike last years model, this one, if it is like the one I just purchased, has a selector switch toward the right side rear, that has Mulch, Clip, & Bag positions. It does not ":lock": in the Clip position as it does with Mulch & Bag. If you look underneath toward the rear, while moving the selector switch back & forth, you will see a "flapper vane" that opens & closes when the switch is moved. It has no side discharge, but discharges toward the rear in a direction determined by the position of the flapper door in the Clip mode. With the bag off, the bag "door" (that holds the bag in place) is also in the down position, & keeps the grass from being thrown back on your feet. If your mower does not come with the selector switch, then I don't believe you have a "Clip" discharge option at all. I have not seen any Hondas with a "side discharge", but I may not have seen all available models.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
No, it doesn't. Bag or mulch are the options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
No, there is no side discharge. To use the discharge feature you put the bag/mulch selector in bag, and then mow without the bag. The clippings come out under the flap that you pull up to put on top of the bag. When the flap is down there is about 2 inches of clearance for the clippings to come out. Not the best design, but it seems to work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MasterMower01
Orange Park, FL, USA
April 10, 2013
No side Discharge. It has a rear Discharge.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bubba
April 18, 2013
no it has a rear discharge, just remove the catch bag and slide the clip to bag......the grass will now come out the back and towards the ground not at you
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
No, this mower does not have side discharge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Richard,

No side discharge on this mower - just a lever to select either bag or mulch...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
fixitman
Waukee, Iowa
May 24, 2013
The "side" discharge is at the rear of the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
no, its a rear discharge, mulch, or bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 28, 2013
Hi Richard:

The most current version of this model has REAR discharge. Previous versions did offer an optional side-discharge chute. It may be CR was writing about the older version.

FYI, you can tell the versions by looking at the full model name on the serial number plate (back of the mower deck); the most current one has a "9" while older ones were "8" in the full model name.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This is a variable speed mower, but it says you cannot adjust the speed while mowing.

Asked by
John
Colorado
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 1, 2013
If, while moving, you want to speed up or slow down how do you do it? Do you have to stop the mower?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 2, 2013
The mower does not have multiple speeds as in a manual shift car, but is variable speed. It will go as fast or as slow as you want whenever you want. The farther you push the lever, the faster it goes. Let off of the lever and it stops moving.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 2, 2013
Hi John:

The SMARTDrive control does let you completely control the ground / travel speed of the mower. It's a spring-loaded rotary control. When released, the rear drive wheels are in neutral, and you can push the mower forward or backward. Turning the SMARTDrive control starts the rear wheels to spin, and they will go faster the more you turn the control. It will drive the mower any speed from 0 - 4 mph. You can also adjust the position of the control (like a tilt steering wheel on a car) to your preferences.

To stop self-propelling, just release the SMARTDrive control to disengage the drive. Release the blade control lever and the engine/blades will stop.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
April 6, 2013
You do not have to stop the mower to adjust the speed. Speed will increase as more pressure is applied to the Smart Drive. Less pressure means slower speed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
YOu can adjust the speed while moving. If you want to go faster just push the speed smart levers down further, and let up on them to slow down/stop. Basically opperates like the gas pedal on a car.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
yes you can adjust speed while moving - truly variable. there are 3 (or 5?) positions to set SmartDrive handle for your comfort, which you should not adjust while moving.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
You can adjust the speed by adjusting your "push" on the throttle paddles.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
You control the pace of the mower with your thumbs on the paddle switch. The more you push on the paddle the faster your pace will have to be. You can do this while mowing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
John,
Yes, you can speed up and slow down while moving, and no, you do not have to stop the mower to make any adjustments. The butterfly style throttle on the Honda mower works just like the throttle on a four-wheeler - just press it down further to go faster, or let up on it to slow down. It's a very good system, and I really like it better than some other brands squeeze-type speed controls.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
no, you can vary the speed while mowing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
April 2, 2013
When you just do something without thinking and then someone stops you and ask how do you do this and that- change speed or how do you...-one has to stop for a moment and think of his process. I also think their needs clarification on what is being asked. To get a clean quality cut you must have, 1) High engine speed for your blade to spin super fast, especially if you are mulching. The blades must move at a high rate of speed so the grass is being cut not knocked down. 2) The blade(s)must be sharp, and balanced. 3)This other factor for a quality cut is to be certain the forward motion of the mower is slow enough that the movement is coordinating with the speed of the blade. If the movement is to fast the grass will look knocked down not cut. If it is a twin blade (side by side) the grass will look like one blade isn't cutting. If the movement is too slow the grass won't bag or mulch properly. Now you know the reason for corrected speed, now on to answer the question. I'm not sure why the question is ask when the answer is in the owners manual. The variable speed for movement is how much pull that is placed on the motion lever and it can be adjusted as you mow. The older depress the clutch move the shifter (lever) to the next slot is done in the stopped position. You didn't give model number and their are 2 or 3 different 21inch auto choke models. The newer Honda offered at Home Depot has Varie speed smart drive that allows you to adjust the speed as you mow. If you walk fast the mower can move faster or slower if you so need too. Another speed adjustment is to depress the clutch select speed and move lever to the proper slot. This requires the mower to be stopped to change the speed. It is still 'veriable speed' because it has variable speeds to chose from. Variable speed means just that is has varieus speeds you can use to operate the machine. To access the various speeds requires you to read your owners manual and do what is required of you.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
No, use smart drive
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Honda HRR216K9VKA come with a mulching blade or do I need to buy one ?

Asked by
Marsh
Stafford, Va.
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 5, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
April 6, 2013
This model comes with a double blade, no need to purchase a mulching blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
From everything I can find on the Honda site, you do not need a separate mulching blade since this mower uses a double blade design.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Leko
April 16, 2013
The Honda comes with a blade that mulches better than any other brand. It's like a double blade that cuts the grass in small pieces, that itself sold the mower to me. Don't use the bag and select the mulching option and you are good to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
come with.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bubba
April 18, 2013
comes with twin blades, great for mulching. I love it clippings are very fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
It's a twin blade and it mulches great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Mukeman
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
April 30, 2013
The mower comes with mulching blades installed. Honda uses two (2) separate blades mounted together slightly offset from each other to ensure excellent mulching results rather than some mowers that only have one blade. Metaphorically speaking, it's kind of like a double-edge shaving razor does better job than just a single blade razor.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
there is no separate blade and you don't need to purchase one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 5, 2013
Yes, it does. It is the micro cut twin blade which is actually like having an upper and lower blade on each side of the physical blade. This method makes the clippings much smaller and quicker to decompose and also less clogging of the deck.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 5, 2013
HI Marsh:

All Honda HRR models come standard with twin mulching blades.

-Robert@Honda
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Yes it comes with a set of two blades
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why when it's cool does it take 50 pulls to start.?

Asked by
George
Newark De 19713
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 8, 2013
When it's hot it starts on 1-3 pulls but as it gets cooler it takes lolonger and longer. It restarts fine during use but cold starting is frustrating.
My 10 year old mower with B&Stratton always started. I think I bought the wrong mower.
Purchased May 30 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 9, 2013
I don't think you bought the wrong mower. I have never had to pull more than twice to start it. If it takes that many tries to start, the automatic choke on your mower might need to be adjusted. I wouldn't trade my mower for anything else on the market.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
Sounds like the auto-choke is not working correctly. If you purchased it in 2011 it "should" still be under warranty. Call Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
cliffdeal
San Jose
April 18, 2013
Try fresh high octane gas and a new spraks plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
It sounds like something is wrong with the choke. Seeing as you Purchased May 30 2011 your mower is still under warranty. I would get it in to have it looked at.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
funtime
Lakeland, FL, USA
April 30, 2013
Havent Had this problem , it starts within a couple pulls think its important to turn gas off , remember Gas should be over 86 Octane use 89 in mine would also check Sparkplug another problem if you dont turn gas off if it loads up takes long time to burn out thus causing carbon to form on Spark Plug
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
George,

Without being able to see your mower, it is not possible to completely answer your question. However, if the mower has been reasonably cared for it should not take 50 pulls to start. And from what you describe, the first thing I would inspect is the auto choke.
Also, since you bought your mower in May of 2011, then it should still be covered by the 36 month warranty from Honda, and you can bring it back to Home Depot (or any other Honda distributor) with your proof of purchase to use the warranty.
Here's a link with the details you need: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/b0/b091ae19-8d13-4f96-9359-e34aa6bca08c.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I live in Cleveland, OH and have this mower and always one pull, even in April
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Spike
Katy, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
Sound like the carb needs some attention. I suggest you get it repaired. The ethanol content in today's fuel is not good for these little engines and their soft parts, especially with the automatic chokes.

Use Stabil or something similer in the fuel to cut the ethanol content when you use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
replace the spark plug, engine oil, and oil filter. Make sure you are using good fuel without ethanol. I use sta-bil in my fuel and sometimes I add enzyme additive to it. Usually starts on 1-2 pulls cold start for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 9, 2013
Hi George:

Sorry to hear of the trouble restarting the mower. Depending on the exact serial number, your mower could benefit from some improved choke parts. Here's what to do:

(1) On the back of the mower deck is a serial number plate. The serial number should start with "MZCG-" then seven numbers. Write down the complete serial number.

(2) Here are some Honda dealers in your area; please give one of them a call, and discuss the starting problem. It may be related to a Service Bulletin Honda issued, Lawn Mower #98, "Engine Won't Restart." This problem may appear on mower in serial number range of MZCG-8400001 through MZCG-8669999.

(3) Based on the purchase date, the mower should be under warranty, and if the problem is confirmed to be a failed choke part covered by the Service Bulletin, Honda will usually pay for the repairs.

-Robert@Honda

Suburban Lawn & Equipment, Inc.
1950 W Newport Pike
Wilmington, DE 19804-3740
(302) 475-4300

Little's of Downingtown
221 Boot Rd
Downingtown, PA 19335-3402
(610) 873-2001

Gap Power Rentals Plus LLC
5399 Lincoln Hwy
Gap, PA 17527-9701
(717) 442-8970
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Check the choke and also the spark plug
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the handle adjustable for the variable heights of the operator?

Asked by
PH
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 5, 2013
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 6, 2013
Yes, the entire handle is adjustable in two positions - one high and one low. Also, the butterfly speed control lever on the handle is adjustable to many positions as well. Between these adjustments, it is able to be customized a great deal to individual preferences.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
May 6, 2013
Yes, there are two positions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RARA
May 9, 2013
There are 2 options to choose from.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
May 18, 2013
No... It's one size fits all. but I don't see why a taller person would have trouble.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
May 25, 2013
The handle can easily be adjusted to two different positions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Spike
Katy, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
You can adjust the angle of the handle at the base but not the height other than that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 6, 2013
Hello PH:

Yes, this model has a folding handlebar that can be adjusted to 2 different height settings. Also, the SmartDRIVE control itself can be adjusted to 1 of 5 different locations. Check out the video link here for details:

-Robert@Honda
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 6, 2013
It is not. But the control is.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
no.
the handle can fold away but length and position during mowing is fixed
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can bag be removed from mower?

Asked by
mulsher
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 5, 2013
can bag be removed from mower completly for just mulshing the clippings?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
May 5, 2013
Yes. The bag can be removed. The mower can also be used with the selector in mulch mode with the bag on the mower (without filling it).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 6, 2013
Mulsher,

Yes, the bag can be easily removed and then reattached to the mower when desired. There is also an easy to operate lever on the back of the mower to set for mulching. When this lever is set, it closes a door inside the mower to prevent clippings/mulch from being discharged into the bag if you chose to leave the bag on the mower while mulching.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 6, 2013
Hi Mulsher:

Yes, just lift the rear door and remove the bag. Allow the door to close, then set the Clip Director control to MULCH. That's it, you're ready to start mowing.

Check out the video clip here for details:

-Robert@Honda
User submitted photo
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
May 6, 2013
The bag is easily removable and easily re-installed. You can mow with the bag off - either to discharge the clippings or mulch (with the included "plug") or with the bag on to catch and discard the clippings.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
May 6, 2013
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 6, 2013
Yes, in fact, that's the only way I mow my lawn. The mower uses a double blade and most of the time you don't even see the clippings because they are so small.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
yes. after you empty the bag you don't have to replace it to continue mowing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
RARA
May 9, 2013
Yes it can. The directions state you can leave the bag on even when mulching though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Peggy
Cape Cod
May 14, 2013
Yes -- I don't know about your model, but mine even has a switch on the top of the base of the mower for bagging or mulching. I always mulch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
May 18, 2013
Yes, remove the bag and set to mulch... You can also set to bag and it will discharge out the back. The mower has a heavy plastic shield that covers the rear shoot where the grass is ejected.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
It can be removed for mulching and cutting if desired.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How easy is it for someone with limited upper body strength to start?

Asked by
DMA
RI
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 13, 2013
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 13, 2013
Honda engines are well-known for being easy to start, and most will start up on one pull. All Honda engines have a "compression release" feature which reduces the amount of effort required to start the engine. Just as important is the technique; *don't* just reach down and grab the starter grip and immediately yank as hard as you can. Pull the grip out slowly, maybe 5-10 inches, until you feel resistance on the line, then pull it briskly to start the engine. With fresh gasoline, you will almost always get a quick start on the first pull.

-Robert@Honda
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Peggy
Cape Cod
May 14, 2013
Super easy -- I'm a weakling and have no trouble. It's nice that it can start from the handle holder - it doesn't have to be down at the engine which requires a longer pull. I always got miffed that the cords required such a long, man-sized pull to start. This is really easy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Deuce
Lansing, MI, USA
May 14, 2013
Average pull strength compaired to other mowers but starts with one pull that's the difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
KenM
Virginia, USA
May 14, 2013
Very easy....once you reach the tension point on the starter cable a quick and easy pull will do it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 17, 2013
This mower is average in terms of strength required to pull the starter rope and get it going. For context, my wife is about 120 lbs and has no problem starting it on the first pull as long as she pulls it while putting some (but not all) of her strength into it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
May 17, 2013
This is best answered by an OT who can determined how much strength you have along with coordination. Then test your particular mower to determine compression strength, starter cord recoil spring tension,intake/exhaust value pressure. All these measurement give a measurement more precise the the numbers in the owner manual. Your OT may determine if you need an electric starter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
May 18, 2013
This mower is easy enough for my 12 year old son to start and he gets it started with minimal pull.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
SafeHarbour
May 19, 2013
DMA, I'm a 65 year old female with arthritis and I just bought my Honda Mower, took it home and was surprised how EASY the pull was to start the mower. It started on the first pull and every time after it started with just one pull. Good luck!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Brymstone
Houston, TX, USA
May 21, 2013
My ex-wife is a little woman - 5'1" and ~130lbs. She has no problems starting this mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Antward
Hartselle, AL, USA
May 21, 2013
Easiest mower i have ever started. Should not need alot of upper body strength.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 17, 2013
This mower requires no effort to start or no extra upper body strength is required to start this mower
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The right front wheel of my new Honda lawnmower does not always move along with the other 3 wheels on my mower. Will this problem go away?

Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 17, 2013
About 2 weeks ago, I got my new Honda Mower (Model HRR2169VYA ) delivered to my home . Yesterday, I used it for the very first time and all its main features worked great - including the blade stop system. However, I have one annoying issue that needs to be addressed. After adjusting all 4 wheels to a certain height for cutting, even on the floor of my garage, I noticed that the right front wheel does not always move along with the other 3 wheels, regardless of whether you move forward or backward. It seems that the trend of the right front wheel is not sitting solidly on the ground like the other 3 wheels. So, this would result in some loss of traction and the wheel sometimes does not turn or spin at all. Is this a factory defect from the manufacturing process, or can some sort of minor adjustment be made to the right wheel assembly to rectify this situation? How should I proceed? Please let me know. Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 17, 2013
Mine does do the same thing, my yard is sloping. I looked at the bolt and bearing sleeve, and believe they will loosen over time. Still a Great Mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 17, 2013
Without seeing your mower first hand, it is hard to determine the exact problem but this does not sound normal. It could be that the wheel just needs a little oil or some minor tension adjustment, which is what I would try first and see if there are any obvious defects, and/or bent or improperly installed parts. Once you have done this and if the problem is not found and corrected, then I reccommend taking the mower back to Home Depot for inspection. Also, since you just recently bought it, be sure to bring proof of purchase since it is covered by Honda's warranty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
May 17, 2013
The last paragraph of your question might shed light to the answer,you also have made sure that your floor is plumb-flat with no dips. Without out visual inspection I will base my answer on your words describing the problem. It sounds like the wheel you speak of may have the adjustment assembly misaligned or be set at height not as the others 3. To determine this it should be measured with proper precession machinist ruler and calipers. Because it is a new mower I would suggest taking it to your dealer for proper inspection. You could do this yourself if you have these tools and are comfortable using them. I strongly suggest the repair shop because you have a new mower under warranty. They will have access to blueprints showing the precise placement of the wheel assembly. If indeed it is a frame misalignment they will have the proper tools to properly make that repair. If it is a misalignment of the wheel assembly the factory may want photos to determine how and where the problem occurred and if their are any others needing repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
May 18, 2013
Mine is similar, but it does this with the front left wheel I am not really sure why, maybe poor assembly. I haven't really looked at it too closely, but it won't affect the way the mower works. I've been using mine for several months like that.. Most lawns are uneven anyway. If you are unhappy, I would suggest either taking it back or contacting Honda to see what they say.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 20, 2013
As others have said, all four wheels should touch the ground when the mower heights are all set to the same position and the unit is parked on a flat, level surface. While on non-touching wheel generally will not effect mowing quality, it's not the way the mower should be new out of the box. The easy fix is just to return it to Home Depot, and ask to inspect the new one there at the store to confirm it's totally level. You may also return it to an authorized Honda dealer to inspect, but be aware this is a very busy time for many shops, and it make take them a while to have a technician examine the unit. They may be able to provide repair/service to remedy the problem, but can't exchange it for a new one. -Robert@Honda
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
May 22, 2013
Hello everyone .. an update on the issue concerning the right front wheel of my new Honda mower.

The wheel issue has been resolved to my complete satisfaction ... I called a nearby Home Depot store and explained the issue to them. Since I had purchased my new mower online, and I was still within the 30-day period for making any returns to Home Depot, I was then directed to call "Customer Care" at their 1-800 number. After explaining my wheel issue to the customer representative, she approved my request to have my new mower returned to the nearby Home Depot store. So, I took the mower back to the store, and my bank card was then refunded the whole purchase price of the new mower. Next, after examining closely the wheels of another new Honda mower that was in stock at the store, I ended up re-purchasing the same model #HRR2169VYA. But this time, I'm happy to report that all four wheels on my latest new Honda mower are working fine like they are designed to do! In fact, while I was returning my new mower at the store, my companion also ended up purchasing the same Honda model for himself as well. Needless to say, he checked and did not have any problem with any of the wheels on his new Honda mower.

I now wish to express my appreciation to Robert@Honda and the others who took the time to respond to my mower question in this forum. Thanks for your many comments and helpful advices to me. Most of all, thanks to The Home Depot for their excellent customer service!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I just commented on another user with the same problem, had the same experience and think it's an alignment issue on the deck. I got a new set of brackets, but it did not help
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Randy
Okemos, Michigan
June 14, 2013
The right front wheel on my new mower also sometimes does not move along with the other three wheels. This never happens with the left front wheel, only with the right front. I don't think that this affects mowing quality. However, given that this seems to be a common experience for owners of these mowers, maybe Honda could look into this issue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Tomy
NJ
June 17, 2013
I had the same problem and the height adjuster on one wheel was bent. Returned mower and got a new one with no problems,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
the wheel probably just needs to be lowered to align with the other wheels. what height setting is it on?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 17, 2013
If the right front wheel is not turning or moving all the time I would double check the height adjustments on all four wheels to make sure one adjustment is not off, and a little wd 40 on the front wheel shaft could be your problem due to factory machining of the shaft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to restart the mower each time I empty the bag.

Asked by
JDH55
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 28, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
May 29, 2013
Unless the mower has the stop-blade system on it, you'll need to re-start the mower each time you empty the grass bag. For this Honda model HRR216K9VKA, it does not include the stop-blade feature on it. BTW, I recently purchased a new Honda mower (model HRR2169VYA) with the stop-blade system included. The stop-blade feature works fine and I strongly recommend it. For me, it's worth the extra cost to get it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 29, 2013
Yes. This particular model [HRR216K9VKA] uses a traditional flywheel brake system. When you release the blade control lever, both the engine (and blade) come to a full stop. While it is of course an easy-starting Honda mower, some customers prefer the engine to keep running. This feature is called Roto-Stop®, and when you release the blade control lever, only the blades stop turning, but the engine continues to run. Honda residential mower models with Roto-Stop offered by Home Depot are:

HRX217HYA (NeXite® composite deck, hydrostatic self-propel, Roto-Stop)
HRX217HZA, (NeXite composite deck, electric or pull start, hydrostatic self-propel, Roto-Stop)
HRR216K9VYA, (Steel deck, SmartDRIVE™ self-propel, Roto-Stop)

See the video link below for a short clip on how Roto-Stop works...

Lastly, there is one model that does not have Roto-Stop, but does have an electric start. So while the engine does stop when you let go of the blade control lever, you merely have to twist a key to get it started again after emptying the bag: It's the HRR216K9VLA (Steel deck, SmartDRIVE™, Electric (or pull) start)

You can see the full-line up of all Honda mowers sold by Home Depot; use the SEARCH too and search for "Honda 21"

-Robert@Honda
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
May 29, 2013
The answer is Yes.

When the engine is running, the blade is spinning. To start the mower you squeeze the safety handle against the main handle and pull the rope. It takes very little effort to start this mower, it is really easy to start. To kill the motor (and to change or empty the bag) you would have to let go of the safety handle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 29, 2013
We don't use the bag catcher but I can tell you that this mower restarts effortlessly! I've never had it not restart, in fact, I can't remember when it didn't start on the first pull. It doesn't have a "blade stop" feature so you would have to shut the mower off to empty the bag, but it won't give you problems on restart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Mikie
June 1, 2013
yes, there is a safety shut off on the handle when you let go. This is required on all mowers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
DanJ
Sugar Hill, GA, USA
June 2, 2013
Yes unless you tied something around the handle to keep the safety handle from turning the mower off. This mower is EASY to start and turns first pull everytime. It's not a big deal
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Four
Florida, USA
June 8, 2013
You'll certainly want to stop the mower before you remove the bag to empty it, so the short answer is Yes. In my experience, this mower is so easy to start (even with a weak pull by my 71 year old wife) that it shouldn't be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
AustexEgger
Austin, TX, USA
June 8, 2013
As the engine stops when you let go of the handle, yes. Not a big deal as these start so easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
yes but the auto choke starts in in one try usually
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
RICH
FLA
June 22, 2013
NO YOU DO NOT! ONE OF THE NICE THINGS ABOUT THIS MOWER
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 29, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use general automotive SAE 10W-30 for my Honda lawn mower?

Asked by
Anonymous
Fremont CA
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 21, 2013
What is the difference between Honda SAE 10W-30 and general automotive 10W-30? Please advise. Thanks!
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mark
May 21, 2013
i would use a quality synthetic grade 4 cycle oil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 26, 2013
SAE has a cleaning agent in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
As long as the automotive oil meets or exceeds the Honda recommendations, it is fine to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
LongD
North Carolina
May 28, 2013
There doesn't appear to be any significant difference between Honda 10W-30 and automotive 10W-30.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
May 29, 2013
One is formulated for an automobile and the Honda oil is formulated for your lawn mower. Are they interchangeable? Maybe, but why chance it? Oil is cheap, motor rebuilds/replacements are not.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Willy
June 9, 2013
I see no problem using automotive 10w-30 oil in your Honda mower. Just to be safe, it may be best to check the API specifics on the Honda oil (like API service SM/CF, SL,SJ,SH,SG). None of those may apply to your engine requirements because I just grabbed a quart of oil and read the label. If you happen by a Home Depot, check a Honda oil recommended for your mower & write down the API Service specifics.Then shop for any brand 10W-30 oil that meets (or exceeds) those specs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
nothing... motor oil is motor oil. The only difference is SAE or Synthetic. Synthetic will last longer between changes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mcknzy
Western / Washington.
July 13, 2013
Yes you can use standard 10-30 automotive oil.
Honda oil is the same only its branded with there name.
I use Castrol GTX in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
jfgj
Denver, CO, USA
July 17, 2013
You can use any automotive SAE 10w 30w oil. The Honda web site and instructions go over all of this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 21, 2013
Hi Sam:

No real difference, Sam. SAE 10W-30 is the grade (weight) of oil, and that part of the oil is the same for all brands. It's perfectly fine to use a non-Honda oil in your Honda mower, as long as it is marked SAE 10W-30. Change and fill it according to the owner's manual, and you'll be fine. The brand of oil used does NOT effect the warranty. Finally, when Honda certifies the engine for the EPA, we use regular petroleum oil, so we suggest owner's use it as well. Synthetic oil is fine, and again, no issues if you decide to use it, provided it is 10W-30, and you change/fill as stated in the owner's manual.

-Robert@Honda
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Spike
Katy, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
Short answer - Yes.

But, considering that your Honda was costly and you want to maximize its life, I would use the factory recomended oil. Also, put some Stabil in the fuel because these little engines do not like the ethnol content in the fuel these days. It is hard on soft parts.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the en giine require a special gasoline additive in order for the mower to operate effectively?

Asked by
Mammoth1
San Diego County
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 21, 2013
Some brands of mower's require a gasoline additive for the engine to run effectively and smoothly. My inquiry was if the the Honda engine was one of the engines requiring a gasoline mixture?If it does do you carry the product? Will the additive product still be available after the warranty has expired for the mower?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
March 21, 2013
We didn't except winter storage we used additive to keep fuel from spoil.The best is to drain the tank but still add antispiol.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
March 22, 2013
It doesn't require a special gasoline. However I strongly advise using ethanol free gasoline. It isn't available everywhere and you might have to do some detective work to find it. It will run smoothly on regular pump gas, but I've had trouble with other small engines, so I use ethanol free in all all of my small engines (i.e. string trimmer, chainsaw, leaf blower, etc.) One more recommendation - unless you go through a lot of gasoline in a short tome, I recommend a product called STA-BILl, available from Home Depot.. I consider it "extra insurance" to avoid carburetor rebuilds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 22, 2013
Hi Mammoth1:

All Honda mower engines run on plain, regular unleaded gasoline. No additives are required. The gasoline should have an octane rating of at least 86. Using any higher octane is not necessary, Make sure the fuel is no more that 10% ethanol; any higher amounts (E85, for example, has 15% ethanol) should not be used.

One more thing about fuel; if you expect the mower won't be used for 30 days or more, use a fuel stabilizer product to extend the storage life of the fuel. Honda makes such a fuel stabilizer, and other similar products are also available.

Complete details regarding fuel and avoiding fuel-related problems are outlined at this link:

http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/fuel-recommendations

-Robert@Honda

-Robert@Honda
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
The Honda mower I purchased doesn't need anything other than regular octane pump gas. However with the ever increasing problems associated with ethanol, it is always a good idea to shut the gas off to the mower (using the switch on the side of the engine) and allow the motor to die on it's own so no gas is left to sit in the motor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
In the manual, there is no reference to a special addative to add to the fuel. The only requirement is 86 octane fuel or greater, and you can use fuel with ethanol as long as it's 10% or less.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
No the Honda mower is a 4 cycle engine and has a place for the gas and a place for the oil separately. A 2 cycle engine is where you must mix 2 cycle oil with the gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 23, 2013
No, the manual states 89 octane or better fuel is recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
April 28, 2013
The Honda engine runs on regular gasoline. No additive is needed. However, Ethanol gas does have problems with long term storage. If putting your mower up for the winter, you should drain the gas and run the engine out of fuel.
For more info on Ethanol, Google phase seperation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
jfgj
Denver, CO, USA
July 17, 2013
No, it does not require an additive to the gas. Just make sure you use an 86 octane gas or above. Your manual goes over all of this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
No additive required
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you please tell me the outside dimensions of the box that this unit comes in so I can make sure I have enough room in my vehicle when purchasing.

Asked by
Jim
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 28, 2013
Ref: Honda lawn mower - HRR216K9VKA (SKU 404997)
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
May 29, 2013
The box's outside dimensions are: 19" high, 24" wide and 44.5" long. Since I do not own a SUV or minivan, my friend and I took my newly purchased Honda mower out of the box and placed it carefully inside the trunk of my 1999 Honda Accord. This was possible to do since the mower's easy-fold handle rests neatly on top of its engine, thereby allowing the mower to fit nicely in the trunk without any problem. As for the box itself, I was able to place it on the rear seat via the passenger's back door, but only after moving the front passenger seat forward to allow more room for the box to enter the car's interior. At the same time, I was able to store the mower's bag assembly inside the box during my drive home. Good luck with your Honda purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 29, 2013
45 x 24 x 19 inches are the outside box dimensions.
-Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
John
Winter Park, Fla. 32792
May 29, 2013
The box for the Honda is too big to close my trunk so I pulled the trunk lid down to the box and used a chock cord to keep the trunk lid down on the box. This was no new problem. Anytime I need to put a mower in my car trunk, this is how I do it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Joey
San Antonio, TX, USA
May 29, 2013
It hit in my Highlander but just barely. Take a box cutter and cut the box away. It's packaged with the handle folded so it'll fit without the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Randy
Okemos, MI
June 1, 2013
I think it would be helpful if the size of the box was included in the specifications. I have an Oldsmobile 88 and although I could get a Toro Recycler box to fit in my car, the Honda box would not fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Giants
June 4, 2013
44 inch long, 24 inch wide, 20 inch high
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
OldMustache
Sunnyvale, CA
June 7, 2013
The box is approximately 19 inches by 23 inches by 44 inches long. The lawn mower comes fully assembled with the handle folded over the mower in the storage position. I would be best to bring a tape measure with you and recheck these dimensions when you pick up the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
jfgj
Denver, CO, USA
July 17, 2013
I know it weighs 84 lbs but no longer have the box. Shipping is free from Home Depot so why not have it sent directly to your home.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
lawn mower man
michigan
July 22, 2013
2013 chevy Malibu fit in back seat not in the trunk.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do i cange the oil in my mower honda self propelled

Asked by
longrider
resaca,ga
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 22, 2013
Hi Longrider:

1. On the back of your mower deck, locate the model and serial numbers. Write them down.
2. Go to this site: http://powerequipment.honda.com/support/owners-manuals/lawn-mowers
and find your matching mower.
3. Download the manual, and in the MAINTENANCE chapter is a detailed and illustrated procedure for your exact mower to change the oil.

You'll need about 1/2 quart of fresh 10W-30 oil, a rag for any spills, and shallow drain pan. It's an easy 10-minute job. -Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 23, 2013
Warm the mower up, shut the fuel off on the petcock valve. Open the oil fill and tip the mower on its side draining the oil from the fill hole.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
April 28, 2013
The easiest way is to tip the mower on it's side with the oil fill on the lower side over a pan. It also helps to run the mower for a minute or so before draining the oil. This makes it warm and easier to run out into the pan.
Once it has drained, refill and go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mukeman
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
April 30, 2013
Refer to the owner's manual for the proper instructions to change the oil. If you no longer have the owners manual that came with your mower, you can go to the Honda Power Equipment website and download a copy (PDF file). You'll need to know the model number of your mower to get the correct owner's manual. The model number for your mower is stamped on a plate on the deck housing of the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
funtime
Lakeland, FL, USA
April 30, 2013
have a suction hose that removes the oil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Longrider,
Changing your mower's oil is easiest after the engine has been run for a while, when the heat has made the oil thinner. Then just remove the plug/didstick, and tip your mower sideways to pour the oil out of the filler tube into a low profile pan or container, and dispose appropriately.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
look in the owners manual... you remove the motor oil cap and tip the mower on its side to discharge the oil...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
August 10, 2013
To change the oil in this motor (and most lawnmowers now) you unscrew the oil dipstick and tip the mower on it's side. The oil will come out of the dipstick, so be prepared with an oil pan.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Tilt the mower on the Right side
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »