Looking for Answers about Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke?

Customer questions and answers for
Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.
Customer questions and answers:
111 Questions
 | 
858 Answers
Overall rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Honda 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Question

Can i keep the engine running if i walk away from it, to drink water ? Or do i have re start it again?

Asked by
Hector
Sarasota
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
July 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
19 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TheWoodGuy
Asheville, NC, USA
July 6, 2014
Safety feature. You have to restart the engine.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chief
Nashville, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
No. For safety reasons, once the bar on the handle is released, the engine will shut-off. Does not seem to be a problem since the mower normally starts with the first pull.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RichieRich03
Charleston, SC
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
If you walk away and let go of the lever it will automatically shut off.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bolivar
Matthews, NC, USA
July 7, 2014
It will shut off as soon as you let go of the handle bar.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ToddPDX
Portland, OR
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
You have to restart it, but the engine starts pretty easily.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
July 7, 2014
Unfortunately, once the blade control lever is released, the engine stops running. If it's important for you to keep the engine running, you could always tie a small piece of rope or string around the control (may be a waste of fuel but that's your choice). However, the mower starts and restarts very easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Cabosnow
Ogden, Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
NO. This is a safety feature. When you are not cutting grass, regulations (think lawyers) say that the blade must stop spinning. This is the easiest lawn mower to start that I have ever owned.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Miss2014
Mississippi
July 7, 2014
No. The blade control will cut off the mower if you walk away.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
TobyD
Christiansburg, Virginia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
No you can't do that with this mower. However, even if you could this practice is not recommended as is is very dangerous. You need to have full control of power equipment at all times.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
WDpcdoc
Vienna, WV
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
The short answer is No... This model does not have a blade brake which would allow the engine to run while you emptied the bag or moved objects from your path. The mower is so easy to start so there is no reason not to stop it.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
kaapie
Nashville,TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
There is no "idle" on this mower. Since it has such an easy start, it is no problem to stop it, and get a drink of water, and restart.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Hello Hector:

When you let go of the blade control lever on this model, the engine stops. So you would need to re-start the engine.

Other Honda models offer a blade clutch called Roto-Stop, that keeps the engine running and only stops the blades when you let go of the lever. Search for Honda model HRR216VYA.

-Robert@Honda
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
Rhett
Lexington, KY
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
No engine running when throttle is released. Cannot leave mower with throttle engaged!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
Happymower
Palm Harbor, FL
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Yes, if you were to walk away then you would release the lever that maintains blade rotation, and acceleration. However, the engine would remain running.
-12points
0out of 12found this answer helpful.
answer 15
Asked by
Rich
Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Mower will stay at a idle while the blade is in the stopped position well thought out for being safe
-5points
2out of 9found this answer helpful.
answer 16
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
on this particular model of Honda, there is no blade disengage, therefore when you let go of the safety bar the mower will shut off,,, but don't worry it's one of the easiest mowers that I've ever started,,,
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 17
Asked by
AlfoJr
League City, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily starts back up with one pull, even after long periods.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 18
Asked by
pocochel86
west des moines, iowa
July 7, 2014
It has to be restarted. Not particularly difficult ... the pull starter doesn't require a lot of strength. The clutch option is available on the next level up, for approximately $100 more. I couldn't justify the difference for that one minor convenience.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 19
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 4, 2014
I use a zip tie to lock the bar down so if I step away it will shut off, until I'm ready and cut the zip tie off
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any throttle control on this mower or is it always determined by the mower

Asked by
Nick
Ny
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
July 5, 2014
My old mower has a throttle control for engine speed so it can be idled down when not actively cutting; does the throttle get controlled by this in some way? I assumed the thumb paddles are only for the transmission, and thought maybe it was linked so it throttled up when the drive was engaged, but the responses from a question about using it without the Smart Drive negated that.
Is the engine always running at full cutting speed whenever it's started?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
15 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Miss2014
Mississippi
July 7, 2014
No. There is no throttle control.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
kaapie
Nashville,TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
No engine speed throttle, this is always "Full speed ahead".

Variable Speed Self-Propelled system: Easily adjust the mower's speed to your stride by rotating the control. 5 position adjustable control for comfort. Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph.

More info: http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/models/hrr216vka
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bolivar
Matthews, NC, USA
July 7, 2014
It is a constant speed and usually only varies slightly when you engage the power drive option.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
pocochel86
west des moines, iowa
July 7, 2014
Yes, the engine itself is always running at full speed. The paddles only control propulsion speed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dick
Naperville
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
The engine speed is constant. Releasing the blade control lever shuts off the engine. You can vary the travel speed through the smart drive control (thumb paddles).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Rich
Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Off / slow / full and is regulated by a governor also, whenever the drive control is activated the mower revs to top speed and when its dis in gauged it goes back to idle ,no it dose not stay in full engine speed this is one well worth the money mower its all most a joy mowing the grass
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
AlfoJr
League City, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Yes, it has no throttle. The engine runs the same when the paddles are compressed thru thick or thin areas of grass. The fact it has no throttle control has not presented a problem for me as it has plenty of power at any speed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
WDpcdoc
Vienna, WV
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
You are correct about the thumb drive only controls the ground speed. The mower runs full speed always but the governor compensates for heavy grass so it doesn't bog down but resumes back to normal speed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Brian
Cincinnati, OH, USA
July 16, 2014
No manual throttle control on the mower. The engine is always running at cutting speed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Happymower
Palm Harbor, FL
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you must engage the blade rotation by pushing down on the large yellow blade engaging button on the right side of frame and hold the black bar that runs along the main top bar where the acceleration paddles are. You will here the engine increase its power when you do this.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Chief
Nashville, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
There is no manual throttle control. The mower just seems to cut through anything and maintains a steady engine speed. It does not go faster and slower like my old mower. Seems to have plenty of power for my thick lawn turf without a high rev even with the self propelled engaged.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Kevlar
Dearborn Heights, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
One RPM for this mower that is optimized for maximum torgue.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
Chuck
Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
July 7, 2014
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if you so choose. I don't.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Hi Nick:

This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.

Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an adjustable throttle so you can idle down the engine.

-Robert@Honda
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 15
Asked by
DIY2014
Westchester County, NY, USA
July 7, 2014
Yes - full throttle. Auto-choke throttles up the machine automatically.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to use self propelled feature or can use it as a standard push mower without the self propelled feature?

Asked by
Tennessee
Tennessee
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 24, 2013
I have a pretty flat yard and enjoy the exercise without using the self propelled feature, but my wife will probably use the self propelled feature. Will the wheels "lock up" if the self propelled is not engaged?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RARA
May 26, 2013
You can use it either way. This really is a easy to use mower.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
Yes, I'm not sure why you would want to, but you can push (or pull) the mower without using the self propulsion You just wouldn't engage it with the "thumb lever".
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 26, 2013
You can just push it, it is very light and easy to push. There is minimal drag if pushed. The wheels do not lock up.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
May 26, 2013
No, the wheels will not lock up. You can both use the mower as you want.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
KenM
Virginia, USA
May 26, 2013
No...you do not have to use the self-propelled feature. The self-propelled feature is controlled with the speed control paddles. If you do not grip the paddles the self-propelled feature is off. The owner's manual also recommends not using the self-propelled feature when in tight quarters like mowing around trees to enhance manuverability.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
If you want to push, just push. You don't have to engage the drive wheels. :)
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Antward
Hartselle, AL, USA
May 26, 2013
You can use it without engaging the self-propelled. It is a little harder sometime to push
but I push it manually when trimming and sometimes forget to engage it and don't notice it
The wheels don't lock up
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I also enjoy the exercise of pushing the mower and relying on the drive only when I need it. In the mulching function, yes, no problem pushing it. If you are bagging, your really going to get a workout! I should say, my health is very good, I am 55 years old, someone who is not active, would probably not like pushing this.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Joey
San Antonio, TX, USA
May 26, 2013
I only use self-propel about half the time. Not using does not effect wheels or any function.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
mark
Canton, MI, USA
May 27, 2013
this mower push's very easy. i sometimes don't even use the self propel.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Peggy
Cape Cod
May 28, 2013
No, you can use it with or without the self-propel feature really easily. There's a lever on the handle (for righties or lefties - doesn't matter) and use it want you want to, release it when you don't. You can also control how fast it self-propels itself by how far down you hold the lever. Sometimes we all need a little help!
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 29, 2013
Yes, you can elect to not use the self-propelled feature. All you have to do is push and not engage the self-propelled levers that are located on the handle. On slight downhill passes, I do not use the self-propelled features.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
May 25, 2013
You can use it either way, push or self propelled.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 25, 2013
You can use the mower without engaging the self-propel drive, and the wheels will not lock up when doing so. If you do not push down on the butterfly throttles, the mower can be pushed and pulled in the same way as a mower that is not self-propelled.
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this lawn mower's gas tank hold one full gallon or one full quart?

Asked by
Randy
Okemos
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
July 10, 2014
Someone asked this question earlier and most respondents said that it holds one gallon. My sense is that it holds far less than a full gallon of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
14 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chief
Nashville, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
You are correct, Randy.
The spec. is incorrectly stated for this model. The tank is .25 gallon or 1 quart not 1 gallon.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
pocochel86
west des moines, iowa
July 13, 2014
One quart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brian
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2014
1 Quart
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Smitty54
LeRoy, Illinois
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
less than a quart. It does not hold as much gas as the older mowers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ericzs
32828
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 8, 2014
about 32 oz
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Je157rr
Bristol, TN, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
It holds 0.25 US Gal. 1 quart.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Pete
Front Royal, VA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 23, 2014
I believe it is one quart. If you want to get good power try to get no-ethonal gas. You can look on line for gas stations in your area that carry no-ethonal gas. With no-ethonal gas I can mow 3" grass of an half acre on one tank.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Wiplyr
July 29, 2014
It's a quart. The great thing about that is this mower gets great gas mileage. The other thing that is nice is that you aren't trying to "burn off" a lot of gas at the end of the season before you store it for the winter.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
AlfoJr
League City, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
I am not a tech from Honda so I can't be sure.. I agree it must be less than a gallon..more like a quart or liter or half gallon at most. Whatever it is, when I fill-up there is plenty of gas to mow my 150' x 75' corner lot of St. Augustine grass.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
ToddPDX
Portland, OR
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
This is in the manual. It's 0.25 gallons, which is a quart.

Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Kevlar
Dearborn Heights, MI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
The fuel capacity on this mower is 0.25 US Gallons, or one quart. Due to the engine efficiency, you will get a lot of grass cut before you run out..
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Happymower
Palm Harbor, FL
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
The tank holds 1 full gallon.
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 13
Asked by
kaapie
Nashville,TN
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Almost a full, about 0.98 Gallon.
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 14
Asked by
Steve
Centerville UT
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 7, 2015
Fuel Unleaded gasoline with a pump
octane rating of 86 or higher containing
no more than 10% ethanol by volume
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
See “FUEL SYSTEM MAINTENANCE”
on page 19 to prevent fuel-related
problems
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

consumer reports claims this mower has "impressive side-discharge" does this really have side discharge?

Asked by
Richard
Galax va.
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bubba
April 18, 2013
no it has a rear discharge, just remove the catch bag and slide the clip to bag......the grass will now come out the back and towards the ground not at you
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
no, its a rear discharge, mulch, or bag.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CHARLIE
Milton, FL, USA
March 30, 2013
Not exactly side discharge. Unlike last years model, this one, if it is like the one I just purchased, has a selector switch toward the right side rear, that has Mulch, Clip, & Bag positions. It does not ":lock": in the Clip position as it does with Mulch & Bag. If you look underneath toward the rear, while moving the selector switch back & forth, you will see a "flapper vane" that opens & closes when the switch is moved. It has no side discharge, but discharges toward the rear in a direction determined by the position of the flapper door in the Clip mode. With the bag off, the bag "door" (that holds the bag in place) is also in the down position, & keeps the grass from being thrown back on your feet. If your mower does not come with the selector switch, then I don't believe you have a "Clip" discharge option at all. I have not seen any Hondas with a "side discharge", but I may not have seen all available models.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
No, it doesn't. Bag or mulch are the options.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
No, there is no side discharge. To use the discharge feature you put the bag/mulch selector in bag, and then mow without the bag. The clippings come out under the flap that you pull up to put on top of the bag. When the flap is down there is about 2 inches of clearance for the clippings to come out. Not the best design, but it seems to work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Richard,

No side discharge on this mower - just a lever to select either bag or mulch...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
MasterMower01
Orange Park, FL, USA
April 10, 2013
No side Discharge. It has a rear Discharge.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
No, this mower does not have side discharge.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
fixitman
Waukee, Iowa
May 24, 2013
The "side" discharge is at the rear of the mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 5, 2014
no Richard, this particular model does not have side discharge,,,, but you can choose to use the bag,,,, or you can leave the bag off and use the mulch feature,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 28, 2013
Hi Richard:

The most current version of this model has REAR discharge. Previous versions did offer an optional side-discharge chute. It may be CR was writing about the older version.

FYI, you can tell the versions by looking at the full model name on the serial number plate (back of the mower deck); the most current one has a "9" while older ones were "8" in the full model name.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the en giine require a special gasoline additive in order for the mower to operate effectively?

Asked by
Mammoth1
San Diego County
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 21, 2013
Some brands of mower's require a gasoline additive for the engine to run effectively and smoothly. My inquiry was if the the Honda engine was one of the engines requiring a gasoline mixture?If it does do you carry the product? Will the additive product still be available after the warranty has expired for the mower?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
The Honda mower I purchased doesn't need anything other than regular octane pump gas. However with the ever increasing problems associated with ethanol, it is always a good idea to shut the gas off to the mower (using the switch on the side of the engine) and allow the motor to die on it's own so no gas is left to sit in the motor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
March 21, 2013
We didn't except winter storage we used additive to keep fuel from spoil.The best is to drain the tank but still add antispiol.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 23, 2013
No, the manual states 89 octane or better fuel is recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
In the manual, there is no reference to a special addative to add to the fuel. The only requirement is 86 octane fuel or greater, and you can use fuel with ethanol as long as it's 10% or less.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
jfgj
Denver, CO, USA
July 17, 2013
No, it does not require an additive to the gas. Just make sure you use an 86 octane gas or above. Your manual goes over all of this.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
No the Honda mower is a 4 cycle engine and has a place for the gas and a place for the oil separately. A 2 cycle engine is where you must mix 2 cycle oil with the gas.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
April 28, 2013
The Honda engine runs on regular gasoline. No additive is needed. However, Ethanol gas does have problems with long term storage. If putting your mower up for the winter, you should drain the gas and run the engine out of fuel.
For more info on Ethanol, Google phase seperation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
No additive required
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
BillS
Groton MA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2014
Mixing a gas stabilizer with the gas is highly recommended.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
March 22, 2013
It doesn't require a special gasoline. However I strongly advise using ethanol free gasoline. It isn't available everywhere and you might have to do some detective work to find it. It will run smoothly on regular pump gas, but I've had trouble with other small engines, so I use ethanol free in all all of my small engines (i.e. string trimmer, chainsaw, leaf blower, etc.) One more recommendation - unless you go through a lot of gasoline in a short tome, I recommend a product called STA-BILl, available from Home Depot.. I consider it "extra insurance" to avoid carburetor rebuilds.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 5, 2014
according to the Honda engine manual, you can use gasoline with less than 10% ethanol,,,,, the manual also states you should use a gas with at least 89 octane or higher, I don't know all these answers saying 86 gas is okay,,, according to the Honda manual it's not okay,,,,, I used to use 93 or 92 octane gas with 10% or less ethanol ,,,,,,but now I've found a gas station that sells ethanol free gasoline,,,, and it's under Marine gas,,,,,, so for all my small engine two strokes and all of my four stroke engines I use and 90 proof ethanol free gasoline, if I'm going to store it for 3 to 4 months, I would use a product that Home Depot carries called stable,,,,, it's highly recommended,,,,,,,,,,, in the long run for the motors longevity, it's best to use a ethanol free gasoline,,,, just Google gas stations in your area with ethanol free gasoline,,,, or it could be called Marine gas,,,,,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 22, 2013
Hi Mammoth1:

All Honda mower engines run on plain, regular unleaded gasoline. No additives are required. The gasoline should have an octane rating of at least 86. Using any higher octane is not necessary, Make sure the fuel is no more that 10% ethanol; any higher amounts (E85, for example, has 15% ethanol) should not be used.

One more thing about fuel; if you expect the mower won't be used for 30 days or more, use a fuel stabilizer product to extend the storage life of the fuel. Honda makes such a fuel stabilizer, and other similar products are also available.

Complete details regarding fuel and avoiding fuel-related problems are outlined at this link:

http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/fuel-recommendations

-Robert@Honda

-Robert@Honda
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

This is a variable speed mower, but it says you cannot adjust the speed while mowing.

Asked by
John
Colorado
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 1, 2013
If, while moving, you want to speed up or slow down how do you do it? Do you have to stop the mower?
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
yes you can adjust speed while moving - truly variable. there are 3 (or 5?) positions to set SmartDrive handle for your comfort, which you should not adjust while moving.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
April 6, 2013
You do not have to stop the mower to adjust the speed. Speed will increase as more pressure is applied to the Smart Drive. Less pressure means slower speed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 2, 2013
The mower does not have multiple speeds as in a manual shift car, but is variable speed. It will go as fast or as slow as you want whenever you want. The farther you push the lever, the faster it goes. Let off of the lever and it stops moving.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 2, 2013
Hi John:

The SMARTDrive control does let you completely control the ground / travel speed of the mower. It's a spring-loaded rotary control. When released, the rear drive wheels are in neutral, and you can push the mower forward or backward. Turning the SMARTDrive control starts the rear wheels to spin, and they will go faster the more you turn the control. It will drive the mower any speed from 0 - 4 mph. You can also adjust the position of the control (like a tilt steering wheel on a car) to your preferences.

To stop self-propelling, just release the SMARTDrive control to disengage the drive. Release the blade control lever and the engine/blades will stop.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
YOu can adjust the speed while moving. If you want to go faster just push the speed smart levers down further, and let up on them to slow down/stop. Basically opperates like the gas pedal on a car.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
John,
Yes, you can speed up and slow down while moving, and no, you do not have to stop the mower to make any adjustments. The butterfly style throttle on the Honda mower works just like the throttle on a four-wheeler - just press it down further to go faster, or let up on it to slow down. It's a very good system, and I really like it better than some other brands squeeze-type speed controls.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
April 2, 2013
When you just do something without thinking and then someone stops you and ask how do you do this and that- change speed or how do you...-one has to stop for a moment and think of his process. I also think their needs clarification on what is being asked. To get a clean quality cut you must have, 1) High engine speed for your blade to spin super fast, especially if you are mulching. The blades must move at a high rate of speed so the grass is being cut not knocked down. 2) The blade(s)must be sharp, and balanced. 3)This other factor for a quality cut is to be certain the forward motion of the mower is slow enough that the movement is coordinating with the speed of the blade. If the movement is to fast the grass will look knocked down not cut. If it is a twin blade (side by side) the grass will look like one blade isn't cutting. If the movement is too slow the grass won't bag or mulch properly. Now you know the reason for corrected speed, now on to answer the question. I'm not sure why the question is ask when the answer is in the owners manual. The variable speed for movement is how much pull that is placed on the motion lever and it can be adjusted as you mow. The older depress the clutch move the shifter (lever) to the next slot is done in the stopped position. You didn't give model number and their are 2 or 3 different 21inch auto choke models. The newer Honda offered at Home Depot has Varie speed smart drive that allows you to adjust the speed as you mow. If you walk fast the mower can move faster or slower if you so need too. Another speed adjustment is to depress the clutch select speed and move lever to the proper slot. This requires the mower to be stopped to change the speed. It is still 'veriable speed' because it has variable speeds to chose from. Variable speed means just that is has varieus speeds you can use to operate the machine. To access the various speeds requires you to read your owners manual and do what is required of you.
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
You can adjust the speed by adjusting your "push" on the throttle paddles.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
You control the pace of the mower with your thumbs on the paddle switch. The more you push on the paddle the faster your pace will have to be. You can do this while mowing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
smack
May 7, 2013
no, you can vary the speed while mowing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
No, use smart drive
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
you can control the mower speed, just push the thumb drive a little bit down and the mower goes slow,,,, pushed down a little harder that more will speed up,,,,,, push down on the thumb drives all the way and you will be at the mowers full speed,,,,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why when it's cool does it take 50 pulls to start.?

Asked by
George
Newark De 19713
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 8, 2013
When it's hot it starts on 1-3 pulls but as it gets cooler it takes lolonger and longer. It restarts fine during use but cold starting is frustrating.
My 10 year old mower with B&Stratton always started. I think I bought the wrong mower.
Purchased May 30 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
replace the spark plug, engine oil, and oil filter. Make sure you are using good fuel without ethanol. I use sta-bil in my fuel and sometimes I add enzyme additive to it. Usually starts on 1-2 pulls cold start for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
Sounds like the auto-choke is not working correctly. If you purchased it in 2011 it "should" still be under warranty. Call Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
funtime
Lakeland, FL, USA
April 30, 2013
Havent Had this problem , it starts within a couple pulls think its important to turn gas off , remember Gas should be over 86 Octane use 89 in mine would also check Sparkplug another problem if you dont turn gas off if it loads up takes long time to burn out thus causing carbon to form on Spark Plug
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
George,

Without being able to see your mower, it is not possible to completely answer your question. However, if the mower has been reasonably cared for it should not take 50 pulls to start. And from what you describe, the first thing I would inspect is the auto choke.
Also, since you bought your mower in May of 2011, then it should still be covered by the 36 month warranty from Honda, and you can bring it back to Home Depot (or any other Honda distributor) with your proof of purchase to use the warranty.
Here's a link with the details you need: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/b0/b091ae19-8d13-4f96-9359-e34aa6bca08c.pdf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Spike
Katy, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
Sound like the carb needs some attention. I suggest you get it repaired. The ethanol content in today's fuel is not good for these little engines and their soft parts, especially with the automatic chokes.

Use Stabil or something similer in the fuel to cut the ethanol content when you use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
cliffdeal
San Jose
April 18, 2013
Try fresh high octane gas and a new spraks plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
It sounds like something is wrong with the choke. Seeing as you Purchased May 30 2011 your mower is still under warranty. I would get it in to have it looked at.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Check the choke and also the spark plug
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I live in Cleveland, OH and have this mower and always one pull, even in April
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
AdoptAPoleSaw
Central Florida
January 23, 2015
I have had similar experiences and just before I surrender, I remember to change the air filter. I live in Central Florida and some of the soil becomes powder like and it really gets caught deep in the filter. These beast need plenty of air.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
April 9, 2013
Hi George:

Sorry to hear of the trouble restarting the mower. Depending on the exact serial number, your mower could benefit from some improved choke parts. Here's what to do:

(1) On the back of the mower deck is a serial number plate. The serial number should start with "MZCG-" then seven numbers. Write down the complete serial number.

(2) Here are some Honda dealers in your area; please give one of them a call, and discuss the starting problem. It may be related to a Service Bulletin Honda issued, Lawn Mower #98, "Engine Won't Restart." This problem may appear on mower in serial number range of MZCG-8400001 through MZCG-8669999.

(3) Based on the purchase date, the mower should be under warranty, and if the problem is confirmed to be a failed choke part covered by the Service Bulletin, Honda will usually pay for the repairs.

-Robert@Honda

Suburban Lawn & Equipment, Inc.
1950 W Newport Pike
Wilmington, DE 19804-3740
(302) 475-4300

Little's of Downingtown
221 Boot Rd
Downingtown, PA 19335-3402
(610) 873-2001

Gap Power Rentals Plus LLC
5399 Lincoln Hwy
Gap, PA 17527-9701
(717) 442-8970
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 9, 2013
I don't think you bought the wrong mower. I have never had to pull more than twice to start it. If it takes that many tries to start, the automatic choke on your mower might need to be adjusted. I wouldn't trade my mower for anything else on the market.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Have others noticed that in sections where the grass is thin, the mower will leave a line of uncut grass?

Asked by
Randy
Okemos, Michigan
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 27, 2013
When the grass is thick, the mower cuts all of it, but in sections where the grass has not fully filled in, the mower will leave a one-half to one-inch wide line of uncut grass.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
12 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Leko
Connecticut
May 30, 2013
I have notice lines of uncut grass but it's probably my mistake, normally like to overlap a little just to make sure.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dee
Pennsylvania
June 15, 2013
I am having the exact same issue, and I just purchased it today. It is on the right hand side and I ended up overlapping ALOT in order to get an even mow. I would return this to the store today, but now that it is out of the box I have no way of getting it back. When my husband returns from vacation, I'm going to have him sharpen the blades and return it if that doesn't do the trick.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
James
Minnesota, USA
May 28, 2013
Yes, I have noticed it. The mower especially leaves grass on the right side of the where the bag chute is. I think it is just easier to see the clippings on thin spots in the yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
IndyReview
Indianapolis
June 4, 2013
I noticed that the grass at the outside edge of the mower was not getting cut properly. I looked at my blades and the blades were dull especially the outside edges. I sharpened the blades and have had no issues. It cut perfectly out of the box and only had this problem when the blades got dull
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Dave
Kansas
August 26, 2013
Not only did I notice this but if you got down and looked, there were a significant number of longer blades even in the middle of the cut that were missed. I have very healthy grass and I was not happy with the cut and returned the mower for the poor cut and the fact that the mulching was not much superior to my old Snapper Hi-Vac, which I kept, so I am repowering (putting a new engine on) that deck. I have been using my son's Hi-Vac and the cut is MUCH improved.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
LongD
North Carolina
May 28, 2013
We haven't noticed this. Where in the mower path does this uncut strip appear?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Heartland
Kansas
June 8, 2013
I have the exact same problem. I have read where folks are taking the 2nd blade off and its helping. I debated on the Honda vs Toro. Sadly I'll be taking the Honda back today after using it 3 times and having the same results each time.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Bean
Northern Illinois
June 25, 2013
Same problem here too inboth thick and thin grass. All wheels are on the same level. Uncut strip appears a feww inches inside the right side wheels. I have found the only way to eliminate this is to overlap where the wheel marks of the previous row is even with the exhaust - that is A LOT of overlap making this mowere more like 17" instead of 22".
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
ManvelMan
Manvel,Texas
August 10, 2013
I have a patch in my back yard that is extra thick, so I mow it BOTH directions..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
May 29, 2013
This is tricky because there are several reasons for this type of problem, and I've not seen your issue as you have described it, however it may be lack of path overlap. . Let me say this. leaving behind a path of grass 1/2-2" is usually because you don't overlap your path. In other words we teach to have wheels overlap previous cut path by a wheel width making sure all is cut. What may be happening in your situation is in thick grass you don't realize you are missing this were as in thin grass you can see it. It is also possible that the thin grass is so thin it is being knocked over rather than being cut. This could be fixed by sharpening and balancing the blade, and walking slower. Uneven grass cut also comes from twin cutting blades one not as sharp or balanced as the other. A Single blade not sharpened, and balanced properly is another culprit. A Blade(s) turning too slow for the pace being walked; or with a rider driving to fast. Thick wet grass also cuts uneven. In your situation I go with not enough over lap.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
jfsbndr
August 26, 2014
I know EXACTLY what you mean. I noticed that it's not always easy to have a constant self-propelled speed (since I'm human I sometimes go to fast or to slow). BUT this is what I have discovered. If I don't use the self-propelled feature and I just push it, my cut is much more consistent.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 12
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 28, 2013
Performance can vary depending on turf conditions. It's also important to make sure the mower is set-up and running correctly. Double-check the height-adjusters (all should be set the same). Inspect the blades and sharpen/replace if necessary. The engine must be turning at the correct speed (if you have a throttle control, it must be set to FAST). Any servicing Honda dealer can completely inspect and evaluate the unit (including checking engine speed) to make sure it is operating within design specifications. Here's a link (copy and past) to find a dealer in your area:
http://powerequipment.honda.com/dealer-locator
-Robert@Honda
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

is the mower deck plastic?

Asked by
keg
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
April 27, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mukeman
South Milwaukee, WI, USA
April 30, 2013
No. The mower deck is painted (silver) steel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
123Tennessee
Tennessee
April 30, 2013
No. It has some plastic molding but the deck is metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 1, 2013
No, the mower deck is metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
No, the mower deck is metal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 27, 2013
Steel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
April 27, 2013
The new are made of NeXite a coposite matereial. The sales documents will tell you all about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
cjsmcm
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
April 27, 2013
No, it's steel. I'm a mechanical engineer and I can tell you that this mower is well designed, well engineered and well built. It could have been made better, but only with a much bigger price tag.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
April 28, 2013
The deck is made of steel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
AustexEgger
Austin, TX, USA
April 28, 2013
No, it' s steel deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
April 28, 2013
It is not. But it is very lightweight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
April 28, 2013
No, the 3 in 1 does not have a plastic deck. There is a more expensive model(s) that has a plastic deck, but it is not the 3in1.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When you release the blade does the motor continue to run until you re-engage the blades

Asked by
debbie
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mcaeal
Livermore, ca
March 16, 2013
no, if you brake the blade or release the blade, the more stops
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
I think I understand your question. The blade turns every time the motor is running, no exceptions. However to maintain constant operation the safety handle must be depressed while using the mower to keep the motor running. If you take your hands off the unit, the mower engine will die and stop the blades.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 11, 2013
Hi Debbie:

Not on this model; when you release the blade lever, the blades and motor both stop.

The feature you are talking about is called Roto-Stop (or Blade Brake Control), and models with this feature do let you stop the blades and the engine keeps running. In Honda's HRR series of mowers, Roto-Stop is availble on the HRR216YVA model; see link below. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
motor turns off when you release the bar/blade. in fact, engine would not start when the bar is not held down.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
NamDave
Charleston, SC, USA
July 3, 2013
No, the engine will automatically shut off when you release the handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
This model, HRR216K9VKA, does not have the blade stop feature. When you release the blade control, the engine shuts down.

The comparable Honda model with the blade stop feature would be the HRR216K9VYA.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
The motor stops when you release the blade stop. To get the one where the motor stays running you have to go to the next model up ($100 more at the present time.)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Debbie,

If you mean when you release the "lever on the handle" does the engine stop, then yes it does. This lever must be held down to keep the engine is running. When let go, the engine shuts off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
No, there is no clutch on this mower. The mower stops when you let the run bar go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
meadowlands1134
United States
April 19, 2013
No when you release the handle the mower shuts down. Example would be if you were ready to empty the grass bag the mower would shut down. Very easy to start though.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the mower all put together, when you ship it?

Asked by
vinnie
Coldwater, Mi.
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
August 21, 2014
I will pay extra for someone to put it together. We are 76 and have a hard time figuring things out.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SDot
Indianapolis area
Home Improvement Profile: Other
September 16, 2014
Its a very minor assembly that needs to be done once taken out of the box. I'm a beginner with very little skills using my hands, and I was able to do it in 15-20 minutes. The bag is the main assembly that needs to be done.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DRIRPB
Frisco TX
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 1, 2014
You do need to put the handle in place and assemble the grass catcher. This is trivial to do. You may need someone to help you to get it out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
August 27, 2014
The mower arrives already assembled. All you have to do is move the handle into the upright position and add fuel. Mine came with oil already in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Perfectionist
October 1, 2014
No assembly required besides unfolding the handle. You will need someone to help you get it out of the box as it is bulky.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 4, 2014
yes all you have to do is this straiten out the handlebars and tighten, and put the bag on the metal frame if you're going to be baging grass, make sure you add the engine oil that it comes with, make sure you add just the right amount, to little your motor burns up too much oil and your motor smokes and you get oil mixed with the air filter and spark plug, good luck with it and read the manual so you know when to do your maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
the mower once shipped is 98% put together,,,,all you have to do is take it out of the box, extend the handlebars and tighten them,,,,, then you have to put your grass bag onto the metal frame it just snap into place,,,,,, if there's any oil you need to make sure the oil level is proper before trying to start the machine,,,,, I had mine shipped to my house, it took me 10 minutes maybe 15 if you include clip in the bag on the metal frame,,,, it was very very easy,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
larry
richmond, va.
December 4, 2014
yes it is. you have to add oil which was included with mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
tdb2284
Omaha, Nebraska
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 20, 2015
Everything except for the bag. You also have to put the oil and gas in, but they provide the oil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Honda
August 22, 2014
Yes, almost. The fabric grass bag must be snapped onto its metal frame (no tools). The mower will need oil (included in the box) added, and of course, fresh gasoline. That's it, ready to start and mow. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
ToddPDX
Portland, OR
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 3, 2014
Yes. As I remember, you have to cut it out of the box, move the handle, put oil(!) and gas in, and off you go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
JohnS
California, USA
February 12, 2015
No, you will have to do some minor assembly. If you cannot do it yourself, perhaps hire a local teenager as it's really easy to assemble. I don't think Home Depot will assemble it for you, nor ship it fully-assembled.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this mower have a side discharge option, or is bag/mulch only?

Asked by
lancer
Ohio
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
March 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
March 24, 2013
No is does not.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
1stMower
Fairfax, VA, USA
April 17, 2013
3-in-1
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CHARLIE
Milton, FL, USA
March 30, 2013
The newest model with the selector switch does not have a side discharge, but rather a rear discharge when in the Clip mode. The bagger door when the bag is off, is in the down position & keeps grass from being thrown on your feet. In the Clip mode, a "flapper vane" underneath at the rear, can be adjusted a little, flow direction wise, with the selector switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
March 29, 2013
As far as I recall the HRH series are the side discharge units, I'm certain the model you are talking about is the HRR series and have the rear discharge only. The answer is found by looking at the body if the side is formed and no removable cover it is rear discharge only. Note too Honda did have a spring action door that when the bag is removed it closes this is a safety and a mulch feature. Remember a mulch blade doesn't discharge 'per se' it lifts and puts the clippings back into the turf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
April 6, 2013
Bag or mulch only, no side discharge. However, the mower comes with a double blade and is quite efficient. Works extremely well.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Georgia24
Augusta, GA
April 2, 2013
This mower doesn't have a side discharge option, just the bag/mulch as you mentioned. However, it is worthwhile to mention that the mulch option with the dual blade does a great job without clogging the mower. I just wouldn't use it on foot tall grass though.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
April 9, 2013
It actually has a rear discharge. If you want to use the discharge (not mulch or bag) then you set the selector to bag and leave the bag off. It discharges the grass behind the mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 4, 2013
Lancer,

No side discharge on this mower - just a lever to select either bag or mulch...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
April 18, 2013
Bag and Mulch only.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
March 28, 2013
Hi Lancer:

The most current version of this mower has a REAR discharge feature. Slightly older versions of this model had an optional side-discharge, but all units in stock now at Home Depot feature the updated model with REAR discharge built-in.

-Robert@Honda
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 7, 2013
Mulch and rear discharge or bag
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The right front wheel of my new Honda lawnmower does not always move along with the other 3 wheels on my mower. Will this problem go away?

Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 17, 2013
About 2 weeks ago, I got my new Honda Mower (Model HRR2169VYA ) delivered to my home . Yesterday, I used it for the very first time and all its main features worked great - including the blade stop system. However, I have one annoying issue that needs to be addressed. After adjusting all 4 wheels to a certain height for cutting, even on the floor of my garage, I noticed that the right front wheel does not always move along with the other 3 wheels, regardless of whether you move forward or backward. It seems that the trend of the right front wheel is not sitting solidly on the ground like the other 3 wheels. So, this would result in some loss of traction and the wheel sometimes does not turn or spin at all. Is this a factory defect from the manufacturing process, or can some sort of minor adjustment be made to the right wheel assembly to rectify this situation? How should I proceed? Please let me know. Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
May 22, 2013
Hello everyone .. an update on the issue concerning the right front wheel of my new Honda mower.

The wheel issue has been resolved to my complete satisfaction ... I called a nearby Home Depot store and explained the issue to them. Since I had purchased my new mower online, and I was still within the 30-day period for making any returns to Home Depot, I was then directed to call "Customer Care" at their 1-800 number. After explaining my wheel issue to the customer representative, she approved my request to have my new mower returned to the nearby Home Depot store. So, I took the mower back to the store, and my bank card was then refunded the whole purchase price of the new mower. Next, after examining closely the wheels of another new Honda mower that was in stock at the store, I ended up re-purchasing the same model #HRR2169VYA. But this time, I'm happy to report that all four wheels on my latest new Honda mower are working fine like they are designed to do! In fact, while I was returning my new mower at the store, my companion also ended up purchasing the same Honda model for himself as well. Needless to say, he checked and did not have any problem with any of the wheels on his new Honda mower.

I now wish to express my appreciation to Robert@Honda and the others who took the time to respond to my mower question in this forum. Thanks for your many comments and helpful advices to me. Most of all, thanks to The Home Depot for their excellent customer service!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
the wheel probably just needs to be lowered to align with the other wheels. what height setting is it on?
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 17, 2013
If the right front wheel is not turning or moving all the time I would double check the height adjustments on all four wheels to make sure one adjustment is not off, and a little wd 40 on the front wheel shaft could be your problem due to factory machining of the shaft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 17, 2013
Mine does do the same thing, my yard is sloping. I looked at the bolt and bearing sleeve, and believe they will loosen over time. Still a Great Mower.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Raygun88
Prattville, AL, USA
May 17, 2013
Without seeing your mower first hand, it is hard to determine the exact problem but this does not sound normal. It could be that the wheel just needs a little oil or some minor tension adjustment, which is what I would try first and see if there are any obvious defects, and/or bent or improperly installed parts. Once you have done this and if the problem is not found and corrected, then I reccommend taking the mower back to Home Depot for inspection. Also, since you just recently bought it, be sure to bring proof of purchase since it is covered by Honda's warranty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Bubba
Southwest MI
May 17, 2013
The last paragraph of your question might shed light to the answer,you also have made sure that your floor is plumb-flat with no dips. Without out visual inspection I will base my answer on your words describing the problem. It sounds like the wheel you speak of may have the adjustment assembly misaligned or be set at height not as the others 3. To determine this it should be measured with proper precession machinist ruler and calipers. Because it is a new mower I would suggest taking it to your dealer for proper inspection. You could do this yourself if you have these tools and are comfortable using them. I strongly suggest the repair shop because you have a new mower under warranty. They will have access to blueprints showing the precise placement of the wheel assembly. If indeed it is a frame misalignment they will have the proper tools to properly make that repair. If it is a misalignment of the wheel assembly the factory may want photos to determine how and where the problem occurred and if their are any others needing repair.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
mindtrix
Greenwood, AR, USA
May 18, 2013
Mine is similar, but it does this with the front left wheel I am not really sure why, maybe poor assembly. I haven't really looked at it too closely, but it won't affect the way the mower works. I've been using mine for several months like that.. Most lawns are uneven anyway. If you are unhappy, I would suggest either taking it back or contacting Honda to see what they say.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 20, 2013
As others have said, all four wheels should touch the ground when the mower heights are all set to the same position and the unit is parked on a flat, level surface. While on non-touching wheel generally will not effect mowing quality, it's not the way the mower should be new out of the box. The easy fix is just to return it to Home Depot, and ask to inspect the new one there at the store to confirm it's totally level. You may also return it to an authorized Honda dealer to inspect, but be aware this is a very busy time for many shops, and it make take them a while to have a technician examine the unit. They may be able to provide repair/service to remedy the problem, but can't exchange it for a new one. -Robert@Honda
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Randy
Okemos, Michigan
June 14, 2013
The right front wheel on my new mower also sometimes does not move along with the other three wheels. This never happens with the left front wheel, only with the right front. I don't think that this affects mowing quality. However, given that this seems to be a common experience for owners of these mowers, maybe Honda could look into this issue.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Tomy
NJ
June 17, 2013
I had the same problem and the height adjuster on one wheel was bent. Returned mower and got a new one with no problems,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
JohnJ
Ohio
May 26, 2013
I just commented on another user with the same problem, had the same experience and think it's an alignment issue on the deck. I got a new set of brackets, but it did not help
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this mower rear wheel drive or front?

Asked by
Grass13
Wisconsin
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
August 5, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Will
Detroit, MI, USA
August 6, 2013
Rear wheel drive I believe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OakieDoakie
Columbia, SC, USA
August 6, 2013
rear wheel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Lawnman386
Florida, USA
August 6, 2013
It is rear wheel drive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
August 6, 2013
Hi Grass13; all Honda self-propelled mowers are rear-wheel drive. This offers the best traction and control in almost all conditions. -Robert@Honda
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill
California, USA
August 6, 2013
Rear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
jetapp
Georgia, USA
August 14, 2013
rear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Sphere360
Georgetown, OH
August 16, 2013
It is rear wheel and pulls the mower well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
HandyMan
Bartlett, TN, USA
September 16, 2013
Rear wheel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Nick
Chester, CA
August 10, 2013
Rear wheel drive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
JimG
September 29, 2013
Rear wheel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
mcknzy
Northwest Washington State
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 7, 2013
This is a variable speed rear wheel drive as are all Honda mowers.
Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to restart the mower each time I empty the bag.

Asked by
JDH55
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 28, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Happy
Silver Spring, MD, USA
May 29, 2013
We don't use the bag catcher but I can tell you that this mower restarts effortlessly! I've never had it not restart, in fact, I can't remember when it didn't start on the first pull. It doesn't have a "blade stop" feature so you would have to shut the mower off to empty the bag, but it won't give you problems on restart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Four
Florida, USA
June 8, 2013
You'll certainly want to stop the mower before you remove the bag to empty it, so the short answer is Yes. In my experience, this mower is so easy to start (even with a weak pull by my 71 year old wife) that it shouldn't be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
AustexEgger
Austin, TX, USA
June 8, 2013
As the engine stops when you let go of the handle, yes. Not a big deal as these start so easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
yes but the auto choke starts in in one try usually
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Bill
Carthage, TX 75633, USA
May 29, 2013
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WM
Edison, NJ
May 29, 2013
Unless the mower has the stop-blade system on it, you'll need to re-start the mower each time you empty the grass bag. For this Honda model HRR216K9VKA, it does not include the stop-blade feature on it. BTW, I recently purchased a new Honda mower (model HRR2169VYA) with the stop-blade system included. The stop-blade feature works fine and I strongly recommend it. For me, it's worth the extra cost to get it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 29, 2013
Yes. This particular model [HRR216K9VKA] uses a traditional flywheel brake system. When you release the blade control lever, both the engine (and blade) come to a full stop. While it is of course an easy-starting Honda mower, some customers prefer the engine to keep running. This feature is called Roto-Stop®, and when you release the blade control lever, only the blades stop turning, but the engine continues to run. Honda residential mower models with Roto-Stop offered by Home Depot are:

HRX217HYA (NeXite® composite deck, hydrostatic self-propel, Roto-Stop)
HRX217HZA, (NeXite composite deck, electric or pull start, hydrostatic self-propel, Roto-Stop)
HRR216K9VYA, (Steel deck, SmartDRIVE™ self-propel, Roto-Stop)

See the video link below for a short clip on how Roto-Stop works...

Lastly, there is one model that does not have Roto-Stop, but does have an electric start. So while the engine does stop when you let go of the blade control lever, you merely have to twist a key to get it started again after emptying the bag: It's the HRR216K9VLA (Steel deck, SmartDRIVE™, Electric (or pull) start)

You can see the full-line up of all Honda mowers sold by Home Depot; use the SEARCH too and search for "Honda 21"

-Robert@Honda
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
May 29, 2013
The answer is Yes.

When the engine is running, the blade is spinning. To start the mower you squeeze the safety handle against the main handle and pull the rope. It takes very little effort to start this mower, it is really easy to start. To kill the motor (and to change or empty the bag) you would have to let go of the safety handle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Mikie
June 1, 2013
yes, there is a safety shut off on the handle when you let go. This is required on all mowers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
DanJ
Sugar Hill, GA, USA
June 2, 2013
Yes unless you tied something around the handle to keep the safety handle from turning the mower off. This mower is EASY to start and turns first pull everytime. It's not a big deal
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Rich
FLA
June 22, 2013
NO YOU DO NOT! ONE OF THE NICE THINGS ABOUT THIS MOWER
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the smart drive be adjusted to make it less sensitive?

Asked by
L186
Pierre,SD
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
June 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
June 16, 2014
Yes it can. Very Easily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Mitch
Sequim
June 29, 2014
Yes just rotate the Thumb buttons down so you’re pushing on them later. You will not be pushing the buttons all the way on. The button is called a rheostat and it is used to regulate an electric current to the drive motors, the more you push on it the more current is allowed to flow to the motors and the faster the motor turns. The less you push on the button the less current is allowed to flow to the motor and the slower it will turn.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TobyD
Christiansburg, Virginia
June 18, 2014
You can adjust the handle up or down to a location that fits your hand best. This allows you more control. You cannot adjust the sensitivity though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
WDpcdoc
Vienna, WV
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 21, 2014
The more pressure applied to the paddles increases the speed of the mower. You can adjust the paddle position on the handle bar which might help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 4, 2014
you can adjust the position of the thumb drives either higher or lower but as far as the sensitivity goes you just have to try to get used to it,,,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
this smart drive is is as sensitive as your thumbs push and forward on the thumb drives,,,,, your thumbs barely push,,,, the mower barely goes,,,,,, your thumbs push all the way down the mower will go at its fastest speed,,,,, with the thumb gauges pushed halfway down the mower will be at a half way speed,,,,,,, I hope this helps you
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
DonHolbrook
Canton, GA
June 10, 2014
Yes. You can make it just about as fast as you want or less sensitive.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
ObioBuckeye
Northern Ohio
June 10, 2014
I do not believe so, you can adjust the position of the control though. I adjusted mine so that my lower palm rests on the control, that makes it easier for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
wiplyr
Oak Creek, WI
June 17, 2014
Sort of. You can easily reposiition the throttle on the handle bar and that should help but mostly you just need to use it for a few times to become accustomed to it. I know what you are saying. It took me a bit of time to get used to it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
bigtee
georgia
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 29, 2014
Yes ,look in the manual that came with your mower & it will show you the adjustment on the cable,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Rich
Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 22, 2014
The only way is to slowly push the controller handle down slowly just haft to get that feel or touch to were you and the mower become as one I do believe as you use it , the operation will become more natural to you good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Best place to store this mower?

Asked by
joey
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
August 25, 2014
Hello,

So the only option I have to store this mower is roughly a 10ft by 8ft shed and the air ventilation is not good, it gets very humid and there really is no air circulation. I will use the mower every 4 weeks. There is still some gas in the fuel tank. Maybe i am just better off buying the honda mower cover? Or can i make the shed storage work? Any suggestions?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honda
August 27, 2014
The Honda cover helps keep the mower clean and is made of breathable fabric. Using it and keeping the mower in a shed should work just fine. To avoid clogging the carburetor from stale fuel, use a fuel stabilizer or drain out the gasoline for best results. Even just four weeks can cause some fuels to decay and cause problems, especially in humid environments. -Robert@Honda
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
wiplyr
Oak Creek, WI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 26, 2014
I don't see a problem with the shed. But I would make sure the mower doesn't get put away when it's just been used and the engine is hot/warm. It also has a fuel "stop" which allows you to cut off fuel flow to the engine. I'd close that but let the mower run until the engine has no more fuel to burn.That process should be in your owners manual along with pictures to better describe this feature.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chuck
Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 27, 2014
Any place out of the elements - a garage or a shed. Unless you're worried about consuming fumes in the shed, combustability of left over fuel should not be a problem. Just keep it dry wherever when not in use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
August 27, 2014
If storing for an extended period of time, run the mower until the fuel is used up. Storing in the shed with a cover would probably be the best option. If storing for the winter, be sure to "winterize" the mower as per the instructions in the manual. It's very easy to do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JoeJoeDancer
Steubenville, Ohio
September 22, 2014
I am storing my Honda in a shed that gets hot and cold with the seasons.
I plan to winterize the engine soon, and buy the cover, so it will protect and keep
The mower free of dust, but will permit air to flow thru the cover.
Gas is hard on carburetors these days. Use the shutoff valve on fuel line, and run the mower
To burn the fuel left in the carburetor till the engine stops.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 4, 2014
the best place would be in a closed garage ,,,,, the second place might be an outdoor shed that closes,,,,

Whatever you do did not store outside even if your backyard is fenced in,,,, the moisture in the air will rust out your deck within a few years
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
the best place to store your lawnmower is in a garage,,,,,,if the garage is not a option,,,,, then I would most definitely cover it,,,,,, you don't have to drain the gas if you use a fuel stabilizer,,,,, Home Depot sells a product called stable,,,,, it is good for up to a year when mixed with your gas,,,,,,and after bringing it out of storage, you need to check your oil, if it doesn't look Clear then I would change the oil as well,,,,, I use a 10-30 SAE fully synthetic motor oil,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
AveragePerson
phila, pa
November 11, 2014
Best place to store these things are in your neighbor's garage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
BillS
Groton MA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2014
First make sure the gas contains fuel stabilizer. Also because of the humidity, you can cover the mower with tarp. That will prevent moisture condensation on the metal parts. Taking these precautions, it would be OK to store the mover in the shed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
JohnS
California, USA
February 12, 2015
Use the shed. It will give the mower better protection. But you will need to get ventilation in the shed. Perhaps leave a window partially open; or add gable vents to either end of the end walls; or add a screen vent to the door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Rich
Fla
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 8, 2015
In a shed if possible or cover with a good tarp do not use plastic as it holds moisture underneath the plastic and will rust the machine .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the "auto-choke" feature cause additional maintenance?

Asked by
joebagg
Mableton, GA
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 24, 2014
One reviewer goes into quite a bit of detail warning people off this feature, but on the other hand this mower gets good reviews, so I'm concerned and a little confused.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
terry
Houston, PA, USA
May 27, 2014
This mower starts unbelievably easily and did so right out of the box the fuel shutoff is a great feature (saves wasting fuel) and nothing I have ever owned has been as satisfying as this Honda mower The choke feature makes it this easy to start..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bamf
May 27, 2014
No, just have to turn off fuel supply at end of season and run mower till it stops. Otherwise you might have a hard start in the spring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Governor
Cortlandt Manor, NY
May 27, 2014
Joebagg: Not that I'm aware of. There is nothing written in my owners manual specifically about this feature but I believe it merely regulates the flow of fuel and saves the user the act of having to prime the carburetor Other than that, I see nothing written that says this feature requires additional maintenance.
Governor.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Brian
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 29, 2014
Not so far. I've had the mower for just less than 1 year and haven't had any issues with the auto-choke or increased maintenance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
hagetown
Kansas, USA
May 26, 2014
Not really extra maintenance, but there are two things the manual tells you to do. Always turn the gas off as you complete mowing and run the mower until it quits to clear the carburetor of fuel and then store like normal. Mine is easily starting on first pull even when I started it for first time this season. I have only had a year but this feature has been no problem for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Dick
Naperville
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 26, 2014
I suppose it could somewhere down the line. It is, after all, one more thing to go wrong. However, as it is, it means you can just start the mower with a pull of the string. No priming, no moving choke and throttle levers. I've had mine for a year and it's fine so far.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
ericzs
32828
October 4, 2014
I can't see how it could in less it breaks totally,,,,, but Honda is one of the best small engines on the market so I don't think you will have any problem,,,,. Mine works great
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Eric
Orlando ,Fl
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
the only way it could cause additional maintenance is if it broke all together,,,,,, other than that you never have to mess with it,,,,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Miget61
May 27, 2014
So far so good..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
Rich
Fl
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 22, 2014
Not that I can see! run stabilizer / carb cleaner in with the fuel this will really keep the problem at bay
good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
bobw
Long Island
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 12, 2014
It would be helpful if a Honda Tech would answer this question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use general automotive SAE 10W-30 for my Honda lawn mower?

Asked by
Anonymous
Fremont CA
about 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke on
May 21, 2013
What is the difference between Honda SAE 10W-30 and general automotive 10W-30? Please advise. Thanks!
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
mark
May 21, 2013
i would use a quality synthetic grade 4 cycle oil
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Willy
June 9, 2013
I see no problem using automotive 10w-30 oil in your Honda mower. Just to be safe, it may be best to check the API specifics on the Honda oil (like API service SM/CF, SL,SJ,SH,SG). None of those may apply to your engine requirements because I just grabbed a quart of oil and read the label. If you happen by a Home Depot, check a Honda oil recommended for your mower & write down the API Service specifics.Then shop for any brand 10W-30 oil that meets (or exceeds) those specs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bcm663
June 18, 2013
nothing... motor oil is motor oil. The only difference is SAE or Synthetic. Synthetic will last longer between changes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
mcknzy
Western / Washington.
July 13, 2013
Yes you can use standard 10-30 automotive oil.
Honda oil is the same only its branded with there name.
I use Castrol GTX in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
LongD
North Carolina
May 28, 2013
There doesn't appear to be any significant difference between Honda 10W-30 and automotive 10W-30.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Spike
Katy, TX, USA
May 28, 2013
Short answer - Yes.

But, considering that your Honda was costly and you want to maximize its life, I would use the factory recomended oil. Also, put some Stabil in the fuel because these little engines do not like the ethnol content in the fuel these days. It is hard on soft parts.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
TerryW
Cedar Park, TX
May 29, 2013
One is formulated for an automobile and the Honda oil is formulated for your lawn mower. Are they interchangeable? Maybe, but why chance it? Oil is cheap, motor rebuilds/replacements are not.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
jfgj
Denver, CO, USA
July 17, 2013
You can use any automotive SAE 10w 30w oil. The Honda web site and instructions go over all of this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
thehvacdude
Bay Village, OH, USA
May 26, 2013
SAE has a cleaning agent in it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
stindi
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
May 26, 2013
As long as the automotive oil meets or exceeds the Honda recommendations, it is fine to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
Honda
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
May 21, 2013
Hi Sam:

No real difference, Sam. SAE 10W-30 is the grade (weight) of oil, and that part of the oil is the same for all brands. It's perfectly fine to use a non-Honda oil in your Honda mower, as long as it is marked SAE 10W-30. Change and fill it according to the owner's manual, and you'll be fine. The brand of oil used does NOT effect the warranty. Finally, when Honda certifies the engine for the EPA, we use regular petroleum oil, so we suggest owner's use it as well. Synthetic oil is fine, and again, no issues if you decide to use it, provided it is 10W-30, and you change/fill as stated in the owner's manual.

-Robert@Honda
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 »