Looking for Answers about Lithonia Lighting 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture?

Customer questions and answers for
Lithonia Lighting 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture

The 360 Degree Fixture Mounted Motion Sensor from Lithonia Lighting is designed to save energy and money by automatically turning lights on when you need them and off when you don’t. Perfect for operating single or multiple fixtures in commercial and residential locations. It is easy to install and wire to LED or fluorescent bay lights, strip lights and wraparound light fixtures.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions
 | 
34 Answers
Overall rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Lithonia Lighting 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture

Question

Is there a trick to getting it to work?

Asked by
midnightgolfer
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
July 18, 2013
I have the following fixture, attached to this sensor via only the "ballast bypass" factory connectors (which match the fixtures, and can only be connected one way, plus the ground-to-ground, of course.)

Lithonia Lighting 2 ft. White LED High Bay Light
Model # IBH 11L MV Internet # 203812710 Store SKU # 691941

The light turns on, but no matter what combination of pressing the button 2x, or no matter how many times, and no matter how long I wait, it stays on, for hours and hours, even if I wrap a towel around the sensor, to make sure it isn't picking up on some movement.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
July 25, 2013
Factory reset the device by pushing the programming button 9 times, wait three seconds, then push the button twice. Then cover the sensor with a box for 15 minutes to confirm timeout. If the problem persists, please contact the manufacturer tech support at 1-800-727-7483.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DIYer
June 25, 2014
Not that I am aware of. The green LED flashed in response to "button-pushing" and everything worked well.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
James
Dallas, texas
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 15, 2015
Yes, the white wire and white with red strip wire must be tied to the white wire on the light fixture. The instructions say to cap the white wire which is wrong
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
CFH
Rhode Island
August 29, 2013
I had the same issue. Every time the unit looses power it seems to need resetting. I didn't need the light to stay on for 15 minutes. And after doing the 9 Press reset, then 2 press I only pressed it once to set the sensor up on a 30 second timer. The light will remain on as long as motion is detected and then start the 30 second timer it works perfectly in our closet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ClydesdaleATL
Atlanta, GA
February 23, 2014
That sounds strange. I used on the same fixture and it worked great. I would call Lithonia tech support to see if there is a reset function.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
jkm78
poulsbo, wa
October 31, 2013
Does the light come on immediately after you apply power to the unit or do you have to have movement around the sensor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
pdq3
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
Yeah, as I said in my review, the included directions are not very helpful. One reviewer said use the connector with two wires as your hot and common in, and use the three wire connector as your hot and common out, with the white wire WITH the red stripe as your common out, just leaving the other white wire unconnected.

That was my plan, but it didn't work for me. The power went through, but there was no motion detection and no LED (like you're describing) (To be fair, I foolishly clipped off the connectors before I put the device up, so I'm not sure I had the right sets of wires.) It took some trial and error (always with black wires as hot and whites as common) and I ended up having to have both the white-with-red-stripe and white wires connected to common for it to work. You've got to have the green LED lighting up or it won't control the light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use it on florescent lights

Asked by
patrick
victoria, texas
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
May 11, 2014
i was told on one motion detector that it wouldn't work on florescents
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
May 12, 2014
This motion sensor can be used on LED and fluorescent bay lights, strips and wraps. Thanks for your question.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Artagain
May 13, 2014
Yes. The sensor is just a type of circuit between the switch/current and the fixture. The type of bulb used has no affect on it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DIYer
June 25, 2014
Yes, I installed this to control two 48" inch T-5 fixtures.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Qroxy
May 12, 2014
Yes, It worked very well with my high bat Flourescent light and can be programm for time you decide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
ataraxia
Lisle, IL
December 6, 2014
Yes. I have it installed with T5HO lights in my garage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
efdfirefighter
Ohio
November 7, 2014
Works great on my florescent lights!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
pdq3
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 30, 2014
Yes. That's what I'm using it for and it works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Stress
January 16, 2015
Yes, I just used it successfully with a fluorescent strip light mounted in my kitchen pantry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use multiple sensors on a long string of lights to detect motion on either end?

Asked by
JED1
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
July 3, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Atlanta GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 4, 2014
Hi JED1,

The way motion sensors work is that the sensor goes on before the light itself.

With that said, you would break up the lights with 2 power sources so that both ends would detect motion on either end.

However, you cannot connect 2 sensors on one source.

Joseph
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dawg
Cincinnati, Ohio
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
You can use multiple lights with one sensor. The motion sensor is very sensitive.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Qroxy
Pomona, California.
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Yes, it'll detect at 360 degree and works great for 30' high bay warehouse.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be used as an outdoor sensor

Asked by
larry
phoenix
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
February 9, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
February 17, 2015
No, this sensor is not designed to be used outdoors.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have a date when this product will be available?

Asked by
Karyn
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
March 27, 2013
Model # MSX12 Internet # 203995562 Store SKU # 1000007683
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DIYer
June 25, 2014
Ordered in early June and received a few days later. Hopefully you have yours now.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ClydesdaleATL
Atlanta, GA
February 23, 2014
Is in stock
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
March 29, 2013
Hi Karyn
Thank you for asking. This current eta is the first week of June. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

only turns one light off

Asked by
billcip
hermitage, pa
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
March 11, 2015
I have the sensor connected to 2 flourescent fixtures. The wires are attached to the same output wires from sensor. One light goes out the other stays on. Any ideas?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Bubba
Las Vegas NV
May 3, 2015
It's only connected to one light fixture
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
James
Dallas, texas
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 15, 2015
Turns only one light on
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i use this motion sensor out doors

Asked by
Oscar
Chicago Illinois
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
December 18, 2015
I will be using it on 3 LED spot lights out door
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
upnorth
December 21, 2015
larry asked this in Feb 2015 and the answer was that this is not an outdoor unit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
December 21, 2015
This sensor is not rated for outdoor use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be used on a low voltage line (12 VDC for outdoor landscaping)?

Asked by
TurboBobM
Bluffton, SC
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
September 23, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
October 1, 2015
MSX12 is a line voltage sensor. So 120 or 277 must power the sensor, there is no minimum load output.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will it work if the temperature is below 14 degrees?

Asked by
CAF
Chicago
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
September 10, 2015
I live in Chicago and my garage is unheated, separated from the house...the winter temperature is often below 14 degrees...will the light switch turn on my Lithonia lights that are rated to 0 degrees or below?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
September 30, 2015
This fixtue has been tested and proven to work form 14 degrees to 160 degrees, beyond that we can not speak for it's performance.

Thanks for your question!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

This device worked great at first, then at night it no longer will turn off. The LED blinks continuously. I've attempted the 9 button reset.

Asked by
dannoz
atlanta ga
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
November 12, 2014
This device worked great at first, then at night it no longer will turn off. The LED blinks continuously. I've attempted the 9 button reset without success. This is installed controlling two lights in a car port. All day long it worked perfectly. Once night fell the lights came on amd remained on even with the sensor covered with aluminum foil. Hints?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
December 8, 2014
It sounds like this sensor is not performing properly. Please call tech support at 800-535-2465, press 1 for Sensor Switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can this sensor be used with a regular light in a bathroom

Asked by
Gene
st george utah
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
November 25, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JosephHDATL
Orange,Calfornia
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 26, 2014
Hi Gene,

When you say the word 'regular light', you are most likely referring to a light fixture that does not have a knockout on it, which is what this needs (1/2" diameter) for it to be effective.

The hole (or knockout) will safely allow the wires powering the motion sensor to pass, and also will help it fasten to the fixture.

Once this hole is created, then you can safely install the fixture after making sure it is secure.

Joseph
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to wire it

Asked by
Powderhound
Pismo beach
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
November 22, 2015
My old sensor had three wires, black, white and red. How should I wire this one? Do I put the white and red from the fixture together? I connected only the white and black, the led flashed but the fixture did not turn on. I don't want to mess with the red wire unless told to . . .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
November 24, 2015
The MSX 12 is a line voltage sensor. If not using the ballast disconnect plugs, the white w/ red stripe is the neutral, one black goes to the line voltage power coming in, and the other black goes to the load. The black wires are interchangeable. The white wire gets capped off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the delay timer need to be reset at the unit whenever there is a power outage?

Asked by
mike
california
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
January 2, 2016
After reading the reviews it sounds like whenever there is a power outage the unit has to be reset for the delay timer. Can this be done at the wall switch or do you need access to the sensor?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
January 5, 2016
Thank you for your question. The sensor does not lose it's settings when there is a power outage. To change the time delay of the sensor, you would perform this action at the sensor's push button.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

To use it with regular switch?

Asked by
Kim
Atanta, GA
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
January 17, 2016
Should I use it with regular switch? When I come in the room I turn the switch on; when I leave the room I turn it off: What will happen?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
January 19, 2016
Thank you for your question. If you would like an override on switch, you would wire it in parallel with the sensor. If you would like an override off switch, you would wire it in series with your sensor. If using as an override on, the sensor will only work when the switch is in the "off" position. When in the "on" position, the lights will stay on. If using it as an override off, the sensor will only turn the lights on when the switch is in the "on" position. Also, the sensor will turn the lights after the occupancy time delay has expired.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I find a wiring diagram or manual?

Asked by
Paul
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
July 17, 2015
There was a wiring sheet but it wasn't helpful for my application. I need to know what the wire with red strip is for.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LithoniaLightingSupport
July 29, 2015
Please contact Sensor Switch directly at 1-800-727-7483 or SSI-Support@AcuityBrands.com
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work as a replacement for an outdoor recessed light fixture?

Asked by
ss
los angeles, ca
about 360 Degree Mounted White Motion Sensor Fixture on
October 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
1 of 1