Looking for Answers about Generac 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch?

Customer questions and answers for
Generac 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch

Choose the #1 Selling Home Standby Generator Brand. Generac’s 20kW Guardian Series provides the automatic backup power you need to protect your home and family during a power outage. Connected to your existing LP or natural gas fuel supply, it kicks in within seconds of determining power loss—automatically—and runs for as long as necessary until utility power returns. Control your power. Control your life.
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions
 | 
363 Answers
Overall rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Generac 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch

Question

Less hook up, is the unit ready to run on nat. gas out of the box ? Thank you

Asked by
Chauko
NW Pa.
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
December 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
Mine ran on Nat gas out of the box. You have to change the venturi for LP.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GARS
December 26, 2012
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Bwest
Crescent City, CA, USA
January 8, 2013
Mine is propane powered, but I think you only need to make an adjustment on the engine to run NG.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
August
February 5, 2013
Yes, it can also be easily changed for use on LP.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey, USA
September 3, 2013
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 31, 2013
Yes it is. However, you need to insure the existing regulator will handle the additional load.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
The generator can run on either natural gas or propane with just the turn of a lever on the fuel system. Keep in mind that propane delivers more power to run the generator than natural gas.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Generac
December 5, 2012
Our home standby generators up to 48kw come set from the factory for natural gas but are easily field convertible to propane. To convert from natural gas to propane, and vice versa, you will want to reference the section in the owner’s manual titled “Reconfiguring the Fuel System.”
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the nexus transfer switch be located 50 Feet from a 20kw gen

Asked by
Randy
Greenwood Lake N.Y.
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
January 4, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
January 4, 2013
We as the manufacturer are unable to make recommendations regarding the maximum distance you are able install the generator from the transfer switch. It is recommended that the generator and transfer switch be installed as close to the fuel source and incoming utility meter as possible. If it is required that the unit be closer to one than the other, your fuel line installer and certified electrician will be able to appropriately size the fuel line and wiring for installation to ensure there are no loss in fuel pressure or voltage drop due to the distances. As long as the appropriate gauge wire is used, and the installation meets all applicable state and local codes, the transfer switch can be as far away as necessary. We recommend checking with your local inspector, as local codes may regulate these distances and locations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Bwest
Crescent City, CA, USA
January 8, 2013
I don't see why not. Mine is about 20 feet away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
contact Generac in whitewater wi I would think they would be able to supply either a duplicate or blank.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
August
February 5, 2013
Mine is 80' away. Just need to use the peoper wire size.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Of course
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 26, 2013
Mine is 88' away and works fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
January 24, 2013
The simple answer is yes. Most installations require more information than the simple answer can cover however. The Nexus transfer switch location has more to do with the location of your utility meter and your first means of disconnect than it does with your generator location.
New York state currently enforces a ten foot minimum distance between your generator and any LP fuel tank.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Home Depot do the installation of generac generators?

Asked by
Jack
Weston MA (near Boston)
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
January 30, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
August
February 5, 2013
They set you up with a local qualified contractor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hello Jack -

Yes. Home Depot contracts with licensed electricians to help you get your generator installed to factory specifications.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
I believe that Home Depot uses contractors for all home repairs and installations.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
They have contracted install/repairers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Buddy
November 12, 2013
they will contract with local companies for the install. You will usually be paying more because of the overhead.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
January 31, 2013
Hi Jack
Yes, we do offer installation for generators. Please contact us at 1-800-557-5221 for pricing and availability. See the following link for more information: http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/cat...
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
March 16, 2013
You would have to inquire at your local Home Depot OR use the "pop-up" on their web site. ( The pop-up usually comes up on the bottom of the screen while viewing a specific generator model. )They do provide installation but I can't speak for every location.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the length of cord?

Asked by
bigo
Washington court House, Ohio
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
November 20, 2013
Need to know as to where generator sits. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 22, 2013
As Generac’s 20kW Automatic Home Standby Generators do not come pre-packaged with a pre-wired switch, the length of the required wire would be determined based on the location from which you intend to install the unit. Furthermore, the required wiring would need to be provided by the unit’s installer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 20, 2013
There is no chord at all. This unit needs to be hard wired all the way.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Russ
Wolfe City, TX 75496, USA
December 31, 2013
I placed my generator next to my meter box
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Aero
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 23, 2014
Your question is worded incorrectly. There is no "CORD". It takes an electrician to wire the standby generator and transfer switch into your existing electrical panel and meter. This is a permanent installation that powers your house through your normal utility company, or in the event of a power outage, the transfer switch controls the starting and operation of the standby generator. Installation instructions explain the proper location of where the generator is to be placed in regard to the proximity of the home structure, windows, and doors.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 25, 2014
This generator requires hard wiring. There is no "cord". You can go to the Generators Webpage @ Home Depot and look in the specs for what the requirements are to wire this in detail. I would also suggest you have a professional do the install for you. Home Depot will gladly supply one for you if you want.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WiseOldMan
Houghton Lake, MI
January 6, 2014
Not sure of your "cord" question. You need to connect to the transfer box at your electrical input to house. You need to connect to gas supply. One or both lines should be buried & perhaps brought up through concrete or gravel base at generator. Get quotes from at least two electricians, one of whom is on Generac web site & may have special training, & listen to their suggestions. Make sure gas meter adequate for both generator and your gas furnace. You don't want entire gas supply pressure sucked up by generator so your furnace goes out due to generator taking all the gas. Buy cold weather kit & remote monitoring too. Shop Generac rebates of about $400 in fall, free monitoring, & please email mbauchan@bauchan.com for extra rebate paid both you and Generac owner who refers you if you make purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
The generator I received a picture of is the 20 KW Automatic Standby with the 200 Amp Service Entrance Rated Transfer Switch. This particular package does NOT come with ANY of the wiring required to install it. The reason - The 200 Amp Transfer Switch is intended to be installed as part of your "Service Entrance" up to 200 Amps. So the wiring HAS to be AT LEAST equal to the current carrying ability of your Utility Company Service.
Whoever installs this particular package would have to build the necessary interconnections required BASED on what you already have existing at your location.
The generator isn't limited to what you refer to as cord length, but I would have to see what you have in order to view limitations.

This particular installation usually calls for the Service Entrance Rated Transfer Switch to be placed between your Utility Power's Watt Hour Meter and your MAIN PANEL. This normally requires adjustment of your Service Entrance Conductors and that can require; notification of your utility electric company, loss of utility power while the work is being performed and inspection of the electrical work before power can be restored. Weather may be a consideration as your heat / ac, sump pump, well, refrigerator, freezer, etc. may be affected while the work is forcing the power to be off.
Depending on where you live, a permit may be required.

If your installation needs to be inspected AND the installation is as described as above then changes to your existing Service Entrance will be required.
With the above installation, the First Point of Disconnect is moved FROM your MAIN PANEL to the Service Entrance Rated Transfer Switch. The Bonding of the Neutral and the Ground is required to be done at the first point of disconnect. This means that the bonding in your Main Panel needs to be removed. A four conductor Service Entrance needs to be installed between your ATS and your Main Panel and the possibility exists that your Neutrals and Grounds be separated in your Main Panel.

This is more information than you asked for but it is information you may need.
Talk to; an associate, a Home Depot consultant, the contractor of your choice OR even those you know that have installed generators.

I have installed these. It's not as hard as it sounds and they're well worth the effort.
Be informed not surprised.
Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the transfer switch included?

Asked by
jcatblum
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
November 4, 2011
Please let me know if the transfer switch is included with this generator.
Thanks
+4points
7out of 10found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 5, 2011
Yes, this model includes a 200 amp Nexus Smart Switch, which features load management technology to let you back up your whole house by prioritizing electrical loads. If the generator approaches overload because too many appliances are being used at the same time, the switch will automatically turn off the highest demand loads--typically the central air conditioners--so that power will be available for the smaller, more important appliances. Later, when there is enough generator power available, it will turn those high-demand loads back on again. In this way you can back up your entire home with a smaller generator.
+15points
15out of 15found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
MisterEd
York, PA
November 23, 2011
Yes, Generac provides a 200 Amp Service rated transfer switch with this model.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
higg
Kenner, LA, USA
October 28, 2012
the 200 amp smart switch is included and works great,
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
August
November 13, 2012
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JIMCC
Dallas
December 22, 2012
YES
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey, USA
September 3, 2013
The 20 KW can come bundled with the 200 amp transfer switch or it can be purchased alone. I had to purchase my Generac alone and order a 100 amp transfer switch separately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My natural gas line is to far away from my main electrical panel. Can the the generac generator work on a sub panel?

Asked by
Mark
New jersey
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
November 11, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Foodieken
November 12, 2012
Hi Mark, yes by having a transfer switch, this generator can work on a sub panel. If you have other question about this generator, please post here and we will get you and answer.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
higg
Kenner, LA, USA
November 12, 2012
no, the transfer switch has to be connected to the main panel and power company. you can run the gas line or like I did I ran the electrical wire fron the generator to the transfer switch that I installed next to the main panel, where the power company feed connects. you can run the wire as far as you need, but you have to size the wire to the amps for the lenght of wire. If you run the gas line you have to increase the size of pipe to the lenght of the gas line run.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
August
November 13, 2012
The generator requires a seperation from your commercial power. This can be done with the transfer switch included which needs to be between the supply and the panel you wish powered. The generator is connected to the transfer switch not directly to any panel, unless you will be manually switching to generator and I definetly would not advise this. Check to see which is less costly: Wire from the gas line to the transfer switch or pipe from the gas line to a closer proximity of the transfer switch. *A Generac Dealer could come out and assist you with your decision making.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
I think it could only be safely attached to the main panel. We ran about 80 feet of wire so we could put unit near nat gas main line and then connected to our main 200 amp panel.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GARS
December 26, 2012
No, it needs the main panel. You can run wire from it to the panel or meet the gasline somewhere in the middle. You should have a professional come out and advise you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
The unit needs to connect to the main Circut breaker box as well as the sub panel. The real question is what to put in the trench gas or electric cables I would go for the gas I believe it would be more economical than the number of wires and size to transfer the current over a distance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Who makes the engine that powers the 5875 & at what sound level does it operate at ?

Asked by
Chauko
NW Pa.
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
December 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
December 7, 2012
The engine for our 20kW generator is an OHVI engine and it is made by Generac Power Systems in Whitewater, WI. The sound output for this unit is measured at 23 feet, and at normal load, it operates at 66 dB.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
Don't recall the engine maker. The sound level is about the same as a lawn mower. Love the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sparky
Cape May
January 17, 2013
IT is my belief that generac is the only generator manufacturer who actually manufactures the powerplant for their air cooled generators.sound level is as follows @23 feet and normal load 66db
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
generac made the engine for my 20K generator in Whitewater Wisconsin they have an additional plant in Waukesha Wisconsin.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Generac @ 66DB
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
James
Sebastian
September 24, 2013
For answers to this question I recomend you telephone Generac Support at 1-888-436-3722 .
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I find a replacement for the battery charger on the Generac 20 kw standby generator

Asked by
Hood
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
May 19, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
May 20, 2013
Replacement parts can be purchased through your local certified dealer. To find a certified dealer in your area, search your postal code here: http://www.generac.com/Service/DealerLocator/.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
August 14, 2013
You can use the Generac homepage for a list of dealers and service reps to locate one near you. The dealer should be able to order one for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
James
Sebastian
August 20, 2013
Go online to OrderTree.com they have over 30 Engine manufactures and a full line of parts for your Generac Generator. The the manufacture can not sell parts to the consumer directly, this is Generacs suggested source.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Home Depot will put you in contact with your local Generac repair. They can order you one from Generac. Expect a couple of weeks for the repair group to get it in as Generac is not quick with parts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
September 24, 2013
Contact your manufacturer. The user and installation manuals have the part number you need to ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 20, 2013
Look in the local yellow pages or online for a dealer near you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Size Needed?

Asked by
Charlie
New Orleans,La.
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
July 16, 2013
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
July 16, 2013
go to your main panel and add up all the circuits breaker amp rating you intend to run from the generator.

That will give you a guide as to the wattage of the generator you require.

I say guide because their are options that are available for additional money, That allow you to shut down a circuit when the demand is greater than you have available. Then they will restart when that demand lowers. ( shut down hot tub because freezer or refrigerator or washer require power.)
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
July 24, 2013
I suggest having a professional to visit your location and determine that for you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
Size of what?
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
James
Sebastian
August 20, 2013
Do you wish to know what size Generator or Transfer Switch ??
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GARS
August 22, 2013
Size needed depends on what will be powered. You can contact a professional.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Approx 4'x 2 1/2'x 2 1/2'
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how many hours a day can i run that generator?

Asked by
ex
miami
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
September 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey, USA
September 24, 2013
Continuously. You would just need to shut down for routine maintenance as per the recommended Generac schedule (200 hours between oil changes).
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
September 24, 2013
You can actually run it endlessly. However, you need ample fuel and it requires shut down for maintenance. EG; Check the oil and/or change it etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
James
Sebastian
September 24, 2013
The Generac Standby Generators are designed to operate 24/7 using proper Maintenance Requirements.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
September 24, 2013
The unit can run 24/7. However, it will need to be stopped periodically for an oil check. The unit will also shut down if the oil level becomes too low for safe operation.

Just be sure you have a steady and reliable supply of fuel and extra oil on-hand. It doesn't hurt to have a spare air filter and oil filter on hand too.

After our area of southeast Texas was struck by a hurricane my units were in operation for 3 weeks before normal utility power was restored. As I mentioned, I did have to stop the units about every 3 days to add oil. Once the power was restored I changed the oil and filter so it would be fresh the next time the unit was needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
misterjay
North Carolina, USA
October 1, 2013
You can run this continually but I would suggest you shut it down every 24 hours of use to check oil level.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 20, 2013
You need to change the oil every 200 hours. I would advise checking every 50. Checking requires that you turn the generator off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this unit air or water cooled?

Asked by
Sunmariah
Hollister
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
March 25, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
March 26, 2012
The 20kW automatic standby unit is an air cooled generator.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
higg
Kenner, LA, USA
October 28, 2012
the 20KW unit is air cooled
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
August
November 13, 2012
Air
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
AIR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey, USA
September 3, 2013
Air cooled.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WiseOldMan
Houghton Lake, MI
February 13, 2014
It is air cooled. Thus no antifreeze coolant to maintain or leak.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the liquid propane stored?

Asked by
Ladee
United States
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
September 8, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
September 11, 2012
The 20kW automatic standby generator will run off of propane stored in an external propane tank. The unit itself will actually run off of the propane vapor that collects at the top of the fuel tank, not off of the liquid form of propane. It is stated on the spec sheets as “liquid propane” as this is the form in which you purchase the propane by.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
November 10, 2012
LP is stored in a tank seperate from the generator and must be purchased from a local supplier.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
higg
Kenner, LA, USA
November 12, 2012
in a propane tank that you have to supply
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
In your tank which you can negotiate with your local propane dealer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
James
Sebastian
September 24, 2013
I recomend a rented 500 gal Propane tank from Amerigas an excellent company that responds to customer needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
WiseOldMan
Houghton Lake, MI
January 6, 2014
I opted for natural gas. Download the Generac manual from the web site and call 888-GENERAC if needed. Be sure you have adequate gas pressure at the generator to drive it and your gas consuming appliances. My installer indicated 50 feet of propane line wouldn't be too far to supply both 20 KW generator and furnace in house from propane pig in back yard. 20kw should adequately power all homes except mansions. Remember you won't run all things simultaneously. I selected the 20KW knowing it is more than expected under any reasonable situation because you won't simultaneously have four electric burners and oven running full blast on your range while also starting a freezer, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and furnace or air conditioner all at the same instant when motors demand highest power. Note too propane KW rating differs from natural gas KW rating slightly using the same generator. Suggestions: Buy the generator with the service rated 200 A whole house transfer switch. You need to connect to the transfer box at your electrical input to house & a sensor too. You need to connect to gas supply. One or both lines should be buried & perhaps brought up through concrete or gravel base at generator. Get quotes from at least two electricians, one of whom is on Generac web site as "approved installer" & may have special training, & listen to their suggestions. You may need both mechanical & electrical tradesman, but dual licensed person can do it all. Make sure gas meter is adequate for both generator and your gas furnace. You don't want entire gas supply pressure sucked up by generator so your furnace goes out due to generator taking all the gas. Buy cold weather kit & Mobile Link remote monitoring too for text messages and internet monitoring. Buy maintenance kit (air & oil filters & spark plugs) & buy right battery & top synthetic oil like Mobil 1 5W30 six pack. Break in engine by running 4+ hours per manual & change oil to Mobil 1. Shop Generac rebates of about $400 in fall, free Mobile Link monitoring, Home Depot two years same as cash & please email mbauchan@bauchan.com for extra rebate paid to both you and Generac owner who refers you if you make purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many circuits does it have

Asked by
Tom
Stroudsburg Pa.
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
November 3, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
November 9, 2012
The 20kW automatic standby generator, model 5875, will come with a 200 amp Nexus Smart Switch transfer switch. The Nexus Smart Switch does not have individual circuits, as it will power an entire panel, such as the home’s main panel, or a sub-panel that contains all of the circuits deemed necessary for use in an outage situation. We recommend contacting a certified installer or local certified electrician for assistance in determining the best generator and transfer switch for your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
November 10, 2012
The 20kw generators have no circuits. They are a supply. The circuits are what the supply gets hooked up to. Portable generators may contain circuits. .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
4 lines; 2 hot N1 & N2, a neutral and ground. So 120 or 240 VAC as needed. They hook to your main panel; so I'd consider it one circuit; plus a GFCI at the unit itself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GARS
December 26, 2012
The transfer switch in this unit does not have circuits. It hooks up to your existing panel box. It is a whole house transfer switch.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
I had to provide my own panel which I labeled Generator inside I have the option to set up as many breakers as I need total 90 amps. You could use the load modules to supply more breakers in the box but it can only supply a total of 90 amps at any time.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
February 27, 2013
This particular model comes with the 200 Amp Whole House Transfer Switch. It is installed between your Utility Meter and your MAIN Electrical Panel. It is intended to power all of the circuits in your MAIN Panel - however many are there. IF you have large loads that it may not be able to handle, it contains circuits which have the ability to "remove" them OR "limit" when they are allowed to run. You should talk to an associate or qualified person for more detail and / or options.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

If the generator doesn't come with a battery, what type of battery does it require

Asked by
Don
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
November 23, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JimCC
Dallas, TX, USA
December 21, 2012
I ordered mine from Home Depot, came with the unit. Don't recall battery number; but Home Depot site lists it, or call Generac CS; they're very helpful
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
battery I used and found in owners manual is a 26R size it fits and works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
August
March 20, 2013
The spec sheet lists several different batteries that will work with this unit. I choose the car battery equivelant as it is quaranteed for 4 years.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
The battery that Generac provided was an Exide 26R-60. It is a normal car battery that be cross referenced to any brand of battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Snowman
November 25, 2012
The 8 KW to the 20 KW share a common enclosure, making the battery compartment size the same. The Group 26R is commonly recommended to fit this compartment. It's a 12 Volt DC battery. If you live in the northern states it's recommended your battery has a minimum of 525 CCA. Personally, I like the Mega Tron which delivers 540 Cold Cranking Amps.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
November 25, 2012
Most of the residential standby generators, rated 8 KW - 20 KW, share a common enclosure which provides a common sized area for the battery to sit. They require a 12 Volt wet cell battery Group 26R and providing a minimum 525CCA in the northern states. Personally, I like the Mega Tron II battery MT26R which provides 540 Cold Cranking Amps.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Question

what size cold weather kit do I need for a 20kw?

Asked by
amber
kenai, Alaska 99611
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
December 31, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sparky
Cape May NJ
January 17, 2013
I see you are from alaska. To my knowledge Generac makes 2 different cold weather kits. Model #5948 which is intended for use with a 410cc or 530cc engine and is retrofittable to an older product. and Model#5947 which is intended for use with product utilizing a 760,992 or 999 cc engine and is also retro fittable to an older product. *** NOTE Due to the extreme temperature extremes common to your area I would strongly suggest contacting Generac at their website for their recomendation
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
since it is air cooled only need to keep battery warm and possibly a dipstick heater.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
August
February 5, 2013
They have 3 units. One for the Oil, one for the battery and one for the crankcase. You appear to be from Alaska so I would advise using all three.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Kit is sized for the 20KW from the factory so request one from Home Depot's install/repair company
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 20, 2013
You would be better off calling your local dealer and asking them as I have no idea where you live.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
January 1, 2013
The Generac Model 6212 Cold Weather Kit fits all of the Air Cooled Home Stanby Generators rated at 8 KW through 20 KW. It contains a "heat pad" for the battery to sit on and a "heat pad" that slips over the oil filter. I WOULD RECOMMEND YOU PERFORM AN OIL CHANGE BEFORE SLIPPING THE HEAT PAD OVER THE OIL FILTER UNLESS YOU ALREADY HAVE SYNTHETIC OIL IN USE. Regular oil can cake or sludge from the continuous heat - leading to poor oil flow through the filter. Prepare yourself for a cost of approximately $300 for the kit.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

how do we get more keys to the generator

Asked by
Bear
Red Lion, Pa, 17313
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
January 18, 2013
I took the only key we recieved for the generac generator to our local ace and they could not make an extra key. They sent me to the local locksmith, and he didn't have the blanks to make the key either, could not find the blank in any of his catalogs.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Generac
January 21, 2013
The 20kW automatic standby generator should have come with two sets of keys; one set in the breaker access door on the side of the unit, and the other set in the accessories bag, which is located in the battery compartment during shipping. If you did not receive the second set of keys, please contact Generac directly at 888-436-3722. Extra keys can also be ordered through a local certified servicing dealer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
January 29, 2013
contact generac in whitewater wisconsin.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
August
February 5, 2013
I don't know for certain, but try asking the company for blanks and take them to your local store.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hi Bear -

If you call Generac, a representative will be happy to help you find a replacement key. Be sure to have the serial number of your unit when you call. Also, if there is a number stamped on the actual lock on the unit, be sure to have that as well. The number is usually on the face of the lock, right next to the slot where you insert the key.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
My 20 KW came with 4 keys. If I'm not mistaken, all of these generators use the same keys. Call an authorized service center near you to purchase more keys.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
March 3, 2013
When I list web sites, they refuse to list my answer. So, find generac OR apelectric and either should be able to help.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How close to a brick wall can the generator be placed?

Asked by
Dudley
Claremore, Oklahoma
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
February 6, 2013
The manual indicates a min. of 18" from a wall. If that is because of heat danger I am placing it on a concrete driveway on the end of my garage, 18" would place it in harms way to be hit. The exterior wall is brick and it will still be 3 ft. from the garage door. I would like to place it approx. 12" from the wall. I purchased a 20kw unit.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
February 7, 2013
There are 4 sides the long side where the top tilts back too is the back for this example. The back requires enough to allow for the gas piping in my case 8". Looking at the unit from the front the right side is where the wiring enters the case and I would say at 24" clearance is required. The left side has vents and only needs minimal clearance the front requires the most clearance, the battery has to slide in from here, also the oil filter is changed from here and the the oil is drained from this side. I would like at least 36" here. I have never had any heat problems that would require more clearance.

Hope this is what you were looking for.
Chuck
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
March 20, 2013
Placing it less than 18" from a wall would hinder air flow and the unit is air cooled. I do not recommend less than 18" and you might void the warantee. You should contact the factory customer care department directly for a decision.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hi Dudley -

The air intake for the unit is on the rear. You may want to contact Generac directly with any questions you have for a 'non-standard' installation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
spaul40
Central Florida
June 5, 2013
Check the local code for this information. Where I live, the unit must be 5 feet away from the house. This is to prevent the exhaust gases from entering the house through the soffit and gassing the house occupants.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
I will answer your question based on my knowledge of my installation of a 20 KW in New Jersey. My unit is installed near a brick chimney. We maintained a minimum of the 18 inches but I also had to provide 60 inch distance from a basement window. Strictly in my opinion, I think 3 feet from your garage door is much too close as far as danger from exhaust fumes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
February 27, 2013
The installation distances are set by NFPA codes and standards. Your local codes and standards may even be stricter. They are based on the ability of the enclosure to contain an engine fire IF one were to ever occur. They are also based on the dangers of exhaust entering the structure and posing health risks. If you choose NOT to follow the minimum requirements AND something were to happen, your own insurance could challenge your claim. The guidelines are in place to protect YOU.
The back is the air intake. The hot exhaust exits the left end of the enclosure. Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a 400 amp transfer switch with the Generac 20 KW generator?

Asked by
Will
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
March 15, 2013
My electrician recommends that I use the 400 amp rated transfer switch opposed to the 100 or 200 amp switch.Does Generac make a 400 amp Nexus Smart Switch, and if so waht is the price? Are there any qualified Generac installers in the Killeen Texas area?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
August
March 20, 2013
Using a 400amp transfer switch makes no sense as the unit produces less than 200amps. The 200 amp switch handles this 20K unit readily.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hello Will -

If you call Generac directly, a representative will be happy to help you select any additional equipment you need for your particular installation. Many non-standard installation scenarios can be accommodated, as no two installations are exactly alike.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
spaul40
Central Florida
June 5, 2013
The unit included with this 20 KW generator can handled ALL of the current that the generator can supply. I 400 amp panel will not supply any more power then this 200 amp switching box will provide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
Don't believe you can. An electrician could answer this question
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
GARS
Mount Bethel, PA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 20, 2013
I don't understand the need for a 400a transfer switch so make certain with your electrician that it will be worth the additional $1,200.00 plus for one that has Service Disconnect as the Nexus 200a has . The generator puts out 166a and comes with 90a breakers. 200a is generally recommended.
I suggest you do some online research for yourself and call HD to ask them to send out someone for an estimate and second opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
March 16, 2013
Generac makes 100 - 400 Amp Nexus Smart Switches for single phase power. The price should be about $2,700 for the 400 Amp. There is no explanation why your electrician recommends the 400 Amp Nexus Smart Switch. Do you have a 400 Amp Service Entrance?
This particular 20 KW generator Model comes with a 200 Amp Service Entrance Rated Transfer Switch. If you do purchase the 400 Amp Transfer Switch then I recommend that you purchase a Model number to reflect the same. ( Don't get a 200 Amp Switch you have no intention of using. )
You can contact Generac at their web site if Home Depot isn't able to help you locate a qualified OR certified installer. ( If I list their phone number my answer will be rejected. )
Talk to an associate if you need assistance in your purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 20KW generator be used to provide emergency power to two, 200 amp service panels? If so, how?

Asked by
smitty
culpeper, va
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
March 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
March 24, 2013
No I do not believe it provides enough power. You have to run large cable in protective housing to the panel and I believe it would require at least 3 switch boxes I do not believe it reasonable or safe to contemplate this given the costs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
August
March 28, 2013
Anything is possible. However, if you have 2 - 200a services I seriously doubt 1 - 20K generator would handle the requirements. You need the advise of a professional on site.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hi Smitty -

It would be possible but, it would require some 'non-standard' installation techniques. You may want to contact Generac directly to make sure this does not void your warranty. As always, you want to take care not to overload the unit by trying to power too large a load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
spaul40
Central Florida
June 5, 2013
It can be hooked up to 2 - 200 amp switching boxes; HOWEVER, it will only be able to put out a total of around 90 amps or 1/2 of the total that the switch boxes can handle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
JimS
Fremont, WI
August 31, 2013
An electrician would have to tell you how. It only puts out a total of 200KW so the transfer switch would be shuffling the power around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
March 24, 2013
Not with the equipment shown. A single 200 Amp Whole House Transfer Switch in a 400 Amp Service application. It should never pass an inspection.
Then you have a generator, capable of 83 Amps trying to supply backup power to a 400 Amp installation. Some unique challenges present themselves there.
A lot more information would be required to make an informed decision.
It has been done through the use of an "Essential Circuit EZ Switch" where one meter feeds two 200 Amp Main Panels. The panels were in close proximity of each other. The loads were calculated. The "EZ Switch" was tied to the panel with the most need. The complete circuit(s) from the second panel were brought over to the "EZ Switch" through a common wireway. ( complete circuit meaning both the neutral and the hot. ) Grounding and bonding accomplished in the wireway. The circuits identified.
This was not an application where separate electrical billing was necessary.
It was not installed by the homeowner.
It has been in service for over two years.
The if and how varies on the existing service installation, your desired results and the cost you're willing to absorb in order to accomplish the task. What is shown was both affordable and functional.
Remember to review your findings. When the cost is driven up you may want to compare cost with a different generator package altogether. (moving up to the liquid cooled models for example.)
Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

do you only need one tranfer switch for this generater?

Asked by
jim
oakdale,ca
about 20,000-Watt Air Cooled Automatic Standby Generator with 200-Amp SE Rated Transfer Switch on
March 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
August
March 28, 2013
Only the one it comes with.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Chuck
Myrtle Point OR
March 28, 2013
Yes What I did was separated my circuits to 2 different panels. 1 has everything that both the generator and the power company support the other has only supported by the power company with room for expansion ON EITHER. yOU STILL HAVE THE OPTION OF OF THE POWER DRAW SENSORS IF YOU WANT TO SUPPORT MORE THAN THE GENERATOR CAN SUPPLY AT 1 TIME.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Paul
Beaumont, TX, USA
April 6, 2013
Hi Jim -

Yes. You only need one transfer switch for this particular generator. Upon failure of the power the system will wait 10 seconds to see if it comes right back on. If not, the generator's engine will start, run for 5 seconds to come to speed and the transfer switch will automatically engage, switching from utility power to generator power.

I have an all-electric home and the system has no problem running my 3 ton A/C and whatever lights and appliances I want to turn on, including television and computers. In addition to my A/C and other 'loads' on the generator, I can run one other 220 volt appliance such as the oven or the clothes dryer. Your results may vary and you always want to be careful to not exceed the rating of the generator.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
spaul40
Central Florida
June 5, 2013
yes, The transfer switch allows you to balance the load from the house. It delivers approx. 90 amps of 240V power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Aero
New Jersey
July 25, 2013
Strictly as an amateur, I can say that the purpose of the transfer switch is to have electricity supplied to your house from EITHER the utility company OR the generator.....NEVER BOTH! To the best of my knowledge, one transfer switch is what is needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Snowman
Northern New York
March 28, 2013
Yes, you should only need one transfer switch for this generator BUT it needs to be sized correctly and installed properly. There are no part numbers shown BUT this particular Model generator appears to come with a 200 AMP Transfer Switch Service Entrance Rated for up to whole house. Referred to as the Smart Switch. (Model 5875, Internet 202214407, Store SKU 221847, Store SO SKU 636673.)
So if your homes Service Entrance is 200 Amp OR Less then this transfer switch would be sized correctly.
This transfer switch should be installed between your Utility's Service Entrance Meter and your homes Main Panel.
It will become your Service Entrances "first point of disconnect" which means that you will be without power while it is being installed and some electrical changes will have to be made to meet the Electrical Code. ( largely grounding. ) Most states require an inspection whenever the Service Entrance cables are affected. So you will want to plan ahead and / or review the installation plan with your installer.
You should verify my beliefs, on the Model Package numbers, with an associate before purchase.
The same generator comes in different packages with different transfer switches so just insure you purchase the one that's right for you. Make your purchase a well informed one.
Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »