Looking for Answers about Hotpoint 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White?

Customer questions and answers for
Hotpoint 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

The Hotpoint 3.6 cu. ft. Top Load Washer has Rotary Electromechanical controls for ease of use. The Dual action agitator gently moves your clothes to clean. Color lid instructions let you know how to get the best from your washer, while the maximum spin speed of 630 RPM removes water to make your drying time shorter. Hotpoint combines easy-to-use features with practical design to complement any kitchen. These appliances have been created to affordably meet the needs of busy lives.
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions
 | 
170 Answers
Overall rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Hotpoint 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White

Question

Hoses included?

Asked by
K
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 25, 2013
Home Depot specs for Hotpoint 3.7 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer say "Included Items"="Hoses,Power cord" , however, I just found the Hotpoint manual online which states hoses are NOT included with this model. Can someone verify hoses are included?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
sk365
Seymour, TN, USA
October 15, 2013
We bought hoses with ours, it prompted us to put them into our online cart before we finalized the purchase.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alangski
SE Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 29, 2013
Thank you, Home Depot, for updating the specification's page "Included Items" to say "Power cord," instead of "Hoses,Power cord."
That completely answers my original question, and prevents further confusion. -K
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jms4400
West Chester, PA, USA
October 29, 2013
The only hose that was included with my washer, was the "discharge drain hose", which drains the water out from the washer into the sink. The "intake" hoses from your hot and cold pipes are NOT included.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rhino
Phoenix, AZ, USA
September 25, 2013
Unfortunately, no hoses were included. I purchased some steel-braided hoses for about $20 from HD..the installers had them at the time of the delivery.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MichaelnTexas
Texas, USA
September 29, 2013
No hoses were included, but product description stated otherwise on HomeDepot website. When installer got to house I insisted that hoses be included. The installer had some hoses on the truck and said he would bill Home Depot for the hoses. This was the right thing for the company to do considering that the Home Depot site description is stated hoses were included. Unit does come with a power chord (its connected to the unit).
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Sherry
Mt. Bethel,Pa.
October 27, 2013
Hoses are not included.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Aprilcon00
Nashville, MI
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 12, 2014
They are not included. You have to purchase new hoses for it to be installed on delivery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
Dana
Northern California
March 26, 2014
I paid for 3 new hoses and am happy I got them. The hoses are the ones going from hot and cold water faucet to the unit, as well as the large, black hose that is used to drain out the water.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this model come with fabric softner dispensor?

Asked by
patty
pa
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 6, 2014
Hello,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. This unit does have a fabric softener dispenser.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Aprilcon00
Nashville, MI
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 12, 2014
Yes, It is located in the adgator remember to add some water to it. as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
mrmrslucky
New Jersey
August 13, 2014
Yes it does! pour softener into the open agitator and set the knob. so easy. Just remember to rest it when you're not using softener.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
VLB1103
Spanaway, Wa
August 27, 2014
YES!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Beth
Duluth, MN
September 3, 2014
Yes - it is easy to use too! It is located on the top of the agitator. You put in diluted fabric softener that dispenses during the rinse cycle. This feature does work really well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Neena
Peabody, MA
October 21, 2014
look on-line at homedepot.com. find that make and model and click on "specifications" and you will find all that info.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I add fabric softener when I add detergent, or must it be added prior to a rinse cycle?

Asked by
Dede
New York
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 22, 2014
Also, after the machine is working the selector knob spins - is that normal or is it loose? If so, can it be tightened without a service call?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2014
Hello, This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. The fabric softener should be added during the rinse cycle. You will want to turn your options knob to Fabric Softener when using softener. The knob should not spin freely, we recommend contacting GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PastorR
Neptune NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 25, 2015
Yes. There is a very easy to use fabric softener container built into the agitator. Works great, and is very easy to clean. It's a feature that sold me on the model I bought.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
exusmcdoc
Columbia,SC
April 8, 2015
Add fabric softener at the same time as detergent
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Barilady
Duluth. GA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 3, 2014
Hi, Dede!
I add fabric softener when I add my clothes at the start of the wash cycle. Just pour 1/2 the required amount into the center cup, and dilute with same amount of water. The element will distribute the softener at the correct time during the wash cycle for you. When I unload the wash, I typically take a wet-wipe and wipe out any residue before I run another load. I haven't noticed the selector knob spinning while it is running. You may want to call the service department--phone number is on the front of your owner's manual, and ask them about that.
Hope this helps!!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Malachi317
Ann Arbor, Michigan
January 6, 2015
You can add softener to the softener cup when you add detergent, yes.
Or, if you happen to catch it during the rinse cycle , you can add it during the rinse cycle (meaning the lid does not lock).
Although I find it easier to put the detergent and the softener in all at the beginning.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
NannaC
Fort Worth, Texas
December 10, 2014
You can add fabric softener when you add detergent as there is a place in the middle where you pour it. The knob thing should not spin...try tightening it up by turning it counterclockwise.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

does washer have a double rinse cycle?

Asked by
Jenn
nevada
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 17, 2014
two rinses instead of one
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 18, 2014
Hello Jenn,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. This model has Power Rinse, which is the same as a 2nd rinse. This is found on models that offer a Power Wash cycle. During the Power Wash cycle, the Power Rinse provides an automatic, second deep rinse to thoroughly remove detergent or bleach from your clothes.

Thanks so much for your question. Have a good day!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rob517
Michigan
June 22, 2014
It does not have a double rinse. If you select the "power rinse" cycle, it will fill with water that matches the load size selected during wash. It will then do a moderate 10 second "agitation" during fill, followed by a 2 minute and 25 second full agitation rinse once full, then a drain and spin out. If you need a double rinse you have to set the dial manually to do another rinse. The manual that comes with the washer is a general manual to cover several models.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BroncsBomber
West Milford, NJ
July 8, 2014
It does and the instructions recommend using the double rinse if you use liquid fabric softener.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
sarafin
butte county
June 24, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BonnieB
Maryland
July 21, 2014
It has a power rinse cycle that you can set when using fabric softener. I've had no problem with laundry rinsing well on the regular setting, go easy on the suds and I don't use liquid softener.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Janet
San Leandro CA
July 19, 2014
No.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you select the water temperature for the rinse cycle?

Asked by
SoapLover
Maryland
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 30, 2014
I've heard that in many new washers, you can't select the temperature of the rinse cycle, and that the default is a cold water rinse. Can I somehow get this washer to have a warm or hot water rinse? If not, what would happen if I manually add hot water to the tub when the machine is filling up during the rinse cycle? This is important to me because in my experience, warm/hot water rinses rinse more thoroughly than cold water rinses. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NannaC
Fort Worth, Texas
December 10, 2014
Yes, you can coose warm or cold.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Malachi317
Ann Arbor, Michigan
January 6, 2015
Um, no.
It has the Hot/cold, Cold/Cold, Warm/Cold setting that is standard for most 'old school' machines. I know that some of the digital machines have more advanced settings where you can choose a rinse setting independant of the wash temperature, but this one is not so fancy as that.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
spanky
Arcadia, FL
March 10, 2015
Cold water rince is the only choice on the machine, but If you are able to stay close to the machine, you can cheat the system. As soon as the rinse cycle starts, stop the machine. Reset it to the wash cycle, and select the temperature you want. After the water shuts off, stop the machine again and turn the dial back to rinse. The only thing that will still be cold is the water that sprays in during the spin cycle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
December 16, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. You are correct that today on most washers, all of the rinse temperatures are cold. This helps save energy without decreasing the quality of the rinse cycle. Cold water helps to cut sudsing action and assists in soap removal. Many detergent manufacturers recommend a cold rinse for these reasons. We would not recommend manually adding hot water for the rinse cycle. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Magoo
Cornersville, Tn
March 5, 2015
Yes, It has a dial for water temp.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
OlderWoman
Edmonds, WA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 22, 2015
You are right, the rinse cycles are all cold water. My guess is that you could hose in hot water and it would quit filling at the proper depth, but I have not tried it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does water level cover clothes?

Asked by
kris102
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
March 20, 2015
I don't understand the whole "it fills 14 inches on the super setting" thing, whether that's how high the water reaches when it's empty or when it's full. I don't just want my clothes to be wet, I want them to be swimming. In the HE machines I can't even see any water.

How high is the "super" level (halfway, to the top, etc.) When the machine is empty vs full?

Is there a way to make it fill to the top?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kris102
March 23, 2015
Thanks for the answers!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SF19
New Jersey, USA
March 21, 2015
The amount of water depends upon what size load you select. There are 4 settings - you can choose a little water or a great deal of water.

I've had my washer for a year and it does a great job. I'm very happy with my purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
M6234
Marysville, California
March 25, 2015
The water only cover the clothes. Never swimming in water, that's the old way apparently. It senses the load size
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
March 22, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. This is a very nice model that is not listed as an Energy Star model. It is necessary to use less water not only for the benefit of water and energy savings, but it is also necessary to keep clothes closer to the agitator wash plate in order to facilitate agitation or "turnover" of the fabrics. Rest assured that your clothes are washing just as well as they would in a traditional topload washer, but you are saving energy and water use. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
OlderWoman
Edmonds, WA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
March 22, 2015
The tub is 16 inches deep. I personally turned the Options knob to Power Rinse which makes it fill with a little more water too per the directions. When I tried the Super level one time there was so much water, it looked clear to the top, it worried me that it was too full. I haven't tried that again. I use the Extra Large water level and my clothes are swimming in water. I have never tried filling the machine with NO clothes just to see how deep the water is. But there is plenty of water. I am single woman. I don't know how many clothes you want to put in at one time! I bought this one because I read that the HE machines don't get the clothes wet. This one is like the old style machines that really used water. The only drawback is that it doesn't use much hot water. If you want hot water you have to turn off the cold water faucet. But I haven't needed that. I hope this reassures you. For me with clothes and water in the tub the Super level went clear to the top. I was afraid it might overflow.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Greg
Corpus Christi
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 5, 2015
I experimented with the different wash cycles water levels. The Super mode gets the water up to the top of the agitator. Somewhat disappointing were the rinse level water levels. Recommend using the Power Rinse option for best results. Power rinse water level is the same as Super wash water level.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer Agitation Question

Asked by
Lmak
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 22, 2013
We just bought this washer and during the wash cycle the agitator seems to move very slowly and not very forcefully. I guess I am used to our much older washer. Is this what it's supposed to do? We have only had it a couple of days. Clothes seem to be getting clean but just want to make sure it is working like it' should.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
September 23, 2013
Hi Lmak-this is Sue from GE. I am happy to assist you.

Your washer Model HTWP1400FWW features a Dual-Action Agitator to provide gentle, dual-wash action. The Dual-Action Agitator provides better circulation and turn-over of the clothes. The top half operates independent of the bottom half to help drive the clothes down into the water and up the sides of the washer.

Thanks for checking with us!
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PaintedBlk
Grants Pass, OR, USA
September 23, 2013
You're good to go. It sounds exactly like my own, 1 month old washer, which gets clothes 10x cleaner than my old, much more expensive, front loader.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dana
Northern California
April 1, 2014
I've wondered about that too, as I was used to my very old washer that made a lot of noise and moved the clothes around quickly. I was wondering if the agitator in this new machine really works. I couldn't check to see, as the motion stops when the lid is open. So I performed a little test:

I noticed the position of the clothes when I first put them into the machine. After the machine entered the wash cycle and agitated for awhile, I checked which clothes were near the top. Then I let the machine agitate a little while longer and checked them again. I did this a few times and saw that there were different clothes on top each time. So I can see that the clothes do move from top to bottom continuously, but slowly.

My clothes come out clean with no powdered detergent marks or anything, so I know it's doing a good job. It's quieter and seems to be gentler on the clothes. I'm very happy with this washer.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
rhino
Phoenix, AZ, USA
September 24, 2013
We noticed that also, but as long as it gets stuff clean, I'm not concerned.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
MichaelnTexas
Texas, USA
September 29, 2013
Glad to see your question, mine does the same thing so this must be normal operation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Home Depot Service offer full installation and removal services of the old unit?

Asked by
Newtenant
Weston, Florida
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 17, 2014
I would like to purchase the full package of delivery, home installation and removal of the old unit. Does Home Depot offer this service or can you point me to a GE certified agent that does?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
VLB1103
Spanaway, Wa
August 27, 2014
YES
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Zanne
Spartanburg, SC
August 24, 2014
They delivered mine a couple of weeks ago. Hauled away the old one. Hooked up the new one and tested it to make sure it worked and wasn't leaking anywhere.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Beth
Duluth, MN
September 3, 2014
Yes - the delivery company came and installed plus removed my old washer at no additional cost. They did an EXCELLENT job!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Neena
Peabody, MA
October 21, 2014
Home Depot does offer these services free of charge as long as your purchase is over a certain amount. I can't remember what the minimum but call them and they'll tell you if your have that coverage. Also, it should be noted on your receipt/paperwork.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
M6234
Marysville, California
March 25, 2015
My home depot did. Very nice job of it too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Clothes smell like the plastic

Asked by
Sonya
Maryland
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 14, 2013
Hello, there is a strong plastic smell in my clothes - especially the towels after washing. When will this go away or did a miss a cleaning step before use?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Sonya
Maryland
November 19, 2013
Thanks for your responses. I'm wondering if it is from the hoses. The smell is becoming unbearable, especially during spin cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
November 14, 2013
Hello Sonya,
This is Joyce from GE. I will be happy to help. Washer odors are usually caused by leaving the washer lid closed when not in use. This does not allow air to circulate and dry out the moisture remaining in tub area.

The air and moisture mixture becomes stagnant and creates an odor. When washer is not in use, leaving the lid up/open for air circulation will help prevent odor.

To get rid of odors inside of washer follow the steps listed below:

1.Fill the washer with hot water; set at regular speed and the longest wash cycle

2.Add 3/4 cup of a water softening additive which can be found in the laundry detergent aisle. (Baking soda or can be substituted)

3.Allow washer to complete entire wash and rinse cycle.

4.If odor lingers, repeat entire process.

Thanks so much for checking with us. Have a good day!
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
gedsons
New England
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 15, 2013
We have owned the Hotpoint 3.7 top load for about a month, and I can honestly say we never smelled plastic. The the tub is made of plastic, but we have never smelled plastic. That could be due to our previous washer wreaking of mildew. Any plastic smell would be a blessing compared to the front load mildew smell we had, even with the Affresh tablets.

We use Wisk detergent. You might see if that makes any difference as far as aroma.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dana
Northern California
March 26, 2014
The plastic smell goes away in about a month or two, I've found. I keep the lid open when not in use, and I used the intake fan in my laundry area for the first two weeks. The smell does go away, as I have found that new plastic smells do diminish over time.

I didn't find that the smell affected my clothes at all. Just the tub smelled, especially after hot water washes. But it's better now. I've had the machine almost three months.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BB55
nj
April 17, 2014
I just got mine and did not notice any plastic smell? Just enjoying clean smelling clothes!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can you use the reset knob for a more precise water-level?

Asked by
tedrik
san antonio, tx
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 12, 2014
Our present GE washer (died) had a really convenient reset knob-we could "hold" it in the turned position and water would continue to flow until we let go of the knob. I know that's not the intended purpose but it allowed us to fill way past the preset levels. Does this knob #reset# on the water level settings allow the same on this machine? Thanks! P.S. Hope for a quick answer as we are thinking of placing an online order.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
BonnieB
Maryland
July 21, 2014
Yes, it has a reset, very handy when I've needed to add more clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
M6234
Marysville, California
March 25, 2015
I don't believe so
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
April 13, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

If you wish to change the water level in a cycle after the fill has stopped and the cycle has started, you can turn the water level switch all the way to the Reset position and then back to the new water setting that you want. It would operate as your previous washer; however, the water level should not exceed the new setting that is selected.

I hope this helps! Thank you for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
BB55
NJ
April 16, 2014
I just got it, but I was able to just click the reset button and got the water level higher. I wasn't sure if I should use large or super setting for the towels I put in so I started at large. Once the water stopped coming into the drum I kept the lid open.. hit the reset and put it up to super which restarted adding more water. I'm not sure if you can hold it though? Haven't tried that yet.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
BB55
nj
April 17, 2014
I tried it and yes, you can just hold the reset button and water will keep filling.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of durability can I expect from a plastic basket? Will it last as long as a steel one would?

Asked by
Marjo
WV
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
September 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PaintedBlk
Grants Pass, OR, USA
September 16, 2013
Appliances continue moving towards plastics, where metals were prior. They've been shown to be quite durable, except for hard impacts. In your washing machine, don't drop a brick into it from more than a foot high, and that plastic basket won't be a failure part. You can expect the normal course of life in your unit, it'll eventually need a gasket, a belt, then when the motor starts failing, if not prior, it's definitely time for a new washer again.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jms4400
West Chester, PA, USA
October 29, 2013
We previously had a GE washer with a plastic basket, and it lasted us for 14 years with no problems related to the basket. When we replaced it, the reason was from a leak, unrelated to the basket. Hope this helps.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
September 16, 2013
Hi-Marjo-this is Sue from GE. We appreciate your interest in our Hotpoint 3.7 cu. ft. capacity washer model GHWP1400FWW.

The Extra Action Basket best conveys durability and reliability. The tough, durable polypropylene-base material is similar to that used in battery cases and football helmets. It will not chip, peel or crack in normal use, and it can not rust. This glossy finish provides great stain resistance. The ribbed design offers increased surface area of 24% to gently "squeeze" more water from clothes during the spin cycle. Up to 24% more moisture is removed from clothes resulting in reduced dry times, less clothing wear and tear and reduced energy usage.

Thanks for checking with us!
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
MichaelnTexas
Texas, USA
September 29, 2013
I would think the plastic would last just as long as steel and plus it wont be prone to rust.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this washer have an actual fabric softener dispenser?

Asked by
Jaclyn
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
October 26, 2013
I purchased a machine that I will be returning because the Home Depot website stated it had a fabric softener dispenser, and it doesn't.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
October 27, 2013
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.

Yes, this washer has an actual fabric softener dispenser.

Thank you for checking with us!
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
alangski
SE Michigan
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 29, 2013
Yes, and I really like the dispenser on this machine. We hated the dispenser on our last washing machine, so we bought one of those Downy dispenser balls which got disgusting over time.
THIS machine has the dispenser built into the center post. The manual says to put in the measured fabric softener, then dilute it with water to fill it to the top of the dispenser (which is simple to do while the tub is filling), and set the knob to "Power rinse cycle" to make it dispense.
We threw out the dispenser ball - it's no longer needed!
This is a simple, but effective machine. The only thing I haven't used yet is the "Pulse" cycle that's supposed to take the place of an actual "Gentle Cycle."
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jms4400
West Chester, PA, USA
October 29, 2013
Yes, Hotpoint model HTWP1400F1 has a fabric softener dispenser in the top of the middle agitator.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
TuckersMom
Indianapolis, Indiana
May 27, 2014
Yes, it does have the fabric softener dispenser built into the top of the agitator.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I see the agitator in motion?

Asked by
Bill
Denver, CO
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 2, 2014
Apparently this washer appears to have some sort of magnetic(?) strip on the inside lid side that acts as a sensor for when it's open or closed. Without removing it, is there something I can use to "trick" the sensor to see the agitator in motion?

I'm very impressed with this washer so far, but would like to judge the agitator.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
January 2, 2014
Hello- This is Lisa from GE. That is a good question. The agitator stops when the lid is open for safety reasons. We are unable to provide information as to overriding the feature. Thanks for checking!
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dana
Northern California
April 1, 2014
You can't see the agitator in motion, as the motion stops when the lid is open. But you can see if it's working properly by comparing the position of the clothes. Here's how: After the machine agitates for awhile, check which clothes are near the top. Then let the machine agitate a while longer and check them again. You will be able to see if it's working properly by seeing different clothes on top the second time. I've tried it and can see that my clothes do move from top to bottom continuously, but slowly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BroncsBomber
West Milford, NJ
July 8, 2014
The lid has a safety mechanism that stops the agitator from moving while the lid is open.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Biomess
Kansas City, KS, USA
July 31, 2014
What we did is used a strong magnet we had stuck on our refrigerator. Lift the lid and place the magnet on top of the magnetic sensor on the washer, and it will continue to run thinking the lid is closed. For safety reasons, do not let any young children watch you, they'll more than try it themselves and could end up getting hurt.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of system do the legs have to adjust for uneven floors?

Asked by
Diane
Glenwood Springs, CO
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
June 24, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
June 24, 2014
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to the leveling system on this washer.

All 4 legs are nylon with 1" hex head foot pad. Front legs are adjustable up or down an inch, rear legs are self-leveling. The bottom of the nylon feet are rubber.

To set the rear self-leveling system, tip the machine forward so that the rear legs are about 4" off the floor. Then drop the washer to set the rear legs. They will automatically adjust to the level of the floor.

I hope this information is helpful! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
BroncsBomber
West Milford, NJ
July 8, 2014
The feet unscrew to either lengthen or shorten the distance from the base of the machine to the floor. Adjust the legs until you find a level spot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Aprilcon00
Nashville, MI
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 12, 2014
Front legs are a screw type and back legs are spring which you just lift the machine up and down in the back and it will adjust to floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Janet
San Leandro CA
July 19, 2014
The back legs auto-adjust. When washer is empty, tilt if forward then let it go back down, Do this three times. It automatically adjusts/balances. My appliance guy showed me this. You can also manually adjust the front legs.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

My machine is not quiet.

Asked by
tton
carlsbad, ca
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 9, 2014
Just got this and used it for the first time today. I read so many reviews saying how quiet it is while agitating, you can only hear the water whooshing around. Not ours. While agitating the motor is very loud and can be heard throughout the house. Can not use it while someone is watching TV, or in the morning if someone is not up yet. Do I have a lemon?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
NannaC
Fort Worth, Texas
December 10, 2014
I would have someone check that out because mine is pretty quiet except it makes a clicking sound at the beginning of the wash cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SF19
New Jersey, USA
November 11, 2014
It sounds like you do have a problem with the machine. Mine isn't perfectly quiet.... I can hear a slight whirring sound from the motor as it agitates, but it's hardly intrusive. I'd get that checked out as it might be an indication that the motor isn't working properly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
BroncsBomber
West Milford, NJ
November 11, 2014
While I can't say you've got a lemon, something isn't right if it's that loud. I literally can't hear mine if I'm standing more than a few feet away.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
GE Answers
November 13, 2014
Hello,
This is Lisa from GE. Check to see that the shipping rod was removed. On models with a shipping rod, it is located on the right side panel, toward the bottom of the washer, between the front and rear legs. It is 23" long and keeps the tub in place during shipping. If this rod has not been removed prior to operating the washer, the machine will vibrate and be noisy. Thanks for checking.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is metalic noise normal?

Asked by
BDT1
Las Vegas, NV
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
January 18, 2015
Washer was delivered yesterday, today I started a wash with a small blanket to test it and it sounds like I'm washing metal chains. Is this normal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
SF19
New Jersey, USA
January 20, 2015
Absolutely not! Get it checked out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
January 21, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE. I'm sorry to hear that your washer sounds like you are washing metal chains, and I'm happy to help you. Please check that the shipping bar was removed from the bottom side of the washer. Otherwise, please contact GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CHOOCHOO
PA.
May 23, 2015
HECK NO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
penn153
Suffolk, VA, USA
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 21, 2015
No that is not normal. You must be sure that all the shipping support and packing has been removed. You should get a leveler and make sure the machine is sitting level. This all was suppose to have been done by the delivery people, but you have to make sure that it was done. There is a shipping rod they have to remove. I ensure that they did remove all the shipping blocks and I checked and leveled the machine myself. I have had mines for almost 1 year with no problems. I can hardly tell it is running, that how quiet it operates. If you can get it right, have the service people come out and ensure your machine was installed properly. Hope this help you,
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Knocking sound normal

Asked by
TiaLeah
Gilbert, AZ
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 4, 2015
During the agitation, there is the regular wheezy sound of the agitator, but also every 3 seconds or so, there is a knocking sound. Also sometimes during cycles there is a loud popping sound. Are these sounds normal? This is only the third load Ive ever washed in it since purchased.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
PastorR
Neptune NJ
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 5, 2015
I notice a slight knocking noise when the washer goes from pulsing to rinsing, etc. That might be the loud popping noise -- when there's a heavier load it does sound louder to me. If the noise concerns you, call GE -- they are great at answering questions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dana
Northern California
April 5, 2015
I've had my machine a year. The machine makes the sounds you describe, at certain times during certain cycles. The sounds are normal, from my experience. My machine works great and I haven't had any problems with it this past year. Because of my family's needs, I end up doing a full load every few days, so the machine gets a lot of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
GE Answers
April 5, 2015
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. The normal noises that you would hear during the agitation are: metallic clicking, back and forth swoosh or light clicking during agitation, or motor whining up or coasting down in spin. If this is not what you are hearing, then please check that the shipping rod has been removed. It would be on the right side of the bottom of the washer if you are facing it. If this does not help, then we recommend contacting GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Greg
Corpus Christi
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 5, 2015
My washing machine is the same model purchased from Home Depot two months ago. My washer is extremely quite without an agitator wheezy sound. Other tips: Recommend letting the washer completely shut down prior to opening the lid after the final spin cycle. Recommend using the Power Rinse option.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the tub material made of?

Asked by
ddvp
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
April 27, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
April 28, 2013
Hello,

This is Donna with GE and I am happy to help with your question on the Hotpoint
washer model HTWP1400FWW.

It is a plastic ribbed Extra Action basket which removes more moisture than a smooth basket.

I hope this helps!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GE Answers
April 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for yur question on the Hotpoint Top Load Washer model # HTWP1400FWW.

The plastic ribbed Extraction Action basket removes more moisture than a smooth basket.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ar19
May 14, 2013
plastic
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Water Level

Asked by
Bob
NY
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
August 6, 2013
1) Does this washer fill ALL THE WAY UP when the load size is set to "Super"?

2) Also, does it fill all the way up on the Rinse cycle? This model doesn't appear to have an energy saving rinse like the HSWP1000MWW model does. Is that correct?

3) The machine doesn't have an Extra Rinse cycle, and I wish it did. Does it rinse the clothes well?

Needless to say, I can't stand the new HE machines out there and I'm in the process of getting rid of one right now. I'm just looking for a simple machine that actually fills up with water and actually cleans & rinses my clothes, things that the new, expensive HE machines don't do. I never had a problem doing laundry in my entire life until I started using HE machines. I'm done with them.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
August 7, 2013
Hello Bob,

Thank you for your question on the Hotpoint Top Load Washer model # HTWP1400FWW.

Washer today do use less water to meet the DOE guidelines. This washer offers a spray rinse. It does not fill up with water. Visually the water level is effected by how absorbent the fabric is that is being washed.

Manual Fill:

* If you select the SUPER load size, the washer will fill with approximately fourteen (14) inches of water.

* If you select the SMALL load size, the washer will fill with approximately seven (7) inches of water.

* Minimum water used is 20.9 gallons and maximum water used is 30.7 gallons per cycle.

I would personally recommend a model that does offer an Extra Rinse option.

I hope this helps!

Donna with GE
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SF19
New Jersey, USA
April 21, 2014
The issue you're having with the HE washer is one of the reasons I bought this machine. This is perhaps the last available machine that has electro-mechanical switches and dials (not electronic) and is most like the GE machine I just had to replace after 28 years.

It seems to use less water than my old machine but I've been very happy with the job it does cleaning my laundry. And while it does one rinse per cycle, you can opt for the Power Rinse, which will use more water (I haven't found this to be needed), or simply spin the knob back to "rinse" and manually run a second rinse without needing to go through the complete wash cycle again.

I'm very happy with this machine.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JDinHouston
Houston
August 21, 2013
I don't know the answer to most of your questions since I don't care enough to figure out how much water is inside. It does clean the clothes well and I don't have any issues with the rinse. Like you I saw too many bad reviews on the HE machines and wanted something basic. I have washed my king size comfortor in it with no problems. I'm a happy camper.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

After washing my dogs beds they were covered w/ hair & its all over the tub,even after I ran another rinse cycle.

Asked by
Maxwell
about 3.6 DOE cu. ft. Top Load Washer in White on
November 25, 2013
I didn't have this problem w/ my other machine.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GE Answers
November 26, 2013
Hi Maxwell-this is Sue from GE. We are happy to help. We suggest to choose the Power Rinse setting. The will provide a deep fill rinse for optimum performance. You can choose this setting even if you are not using a fabric softener.

I hope this is helpful!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lookitpal
Orlando
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
Because dog hair tends to stick in the washer tub, I would buy a detergent specifically designed to clean the inside drum of a washing machine. Good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
sarafin
butte county
June 24, 2014
try vacuuming them off before you wash them. :)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »